Make Up For Ever HD High Definition Foundation [DISCONTINUED]

3.6

2294 reviews

57% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Aqua, Cyclopentasiloxane, Neopentyl Glycol Diethylhexanoate, Mica, talc, PEG-10 Dimenthicone, Biosaccharide Gum-1, Phenyl, Trimethicone, Sodium Chloride, Lauroyl Lysine, Dimenthicone Crosspolymer, Glyceryl Caprylate, Methylpropanediol, Butylene Glycol, Phenoxyethanol, Chlorphenesin, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Sodium Myristoyl Glutamate, Cyclohexacyloxane, Methylisothiazolinone, Sorbitan Sesquileate, Silver Oxide, Propylene, Carbonate, Parfum (fragrance), Methylparaben, Fagus Sylvatica Extract (Fagus Sylvatica Bud Extract), Hydrolyzed Yeast Protein, [+/- CI 77891 )titanium Dioxide), CI 77491 (Iron Oxides), CI 77499 (Iron Oxides).


on 3/20/2012 11:03:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Curly, Other

Eyes: Blue

I was so excited about this product when I first bought it. I am extremely fair and I often have trouble matching my skin tone without it looking yellow-y. I first blended this product with a stippling brush and got a pretty nice look, but I actually find using my fingers gives a more natural look. I typically have fairly dry skin but I find my nose gets a quite oily around noon, which isn't typical for me. This is one of the most natural looking foundations I have used, especially since I've started using m fingers, I no longer set it with powder on my cheeks, just my nose. I received a sample of the MUF setting powder and have been using that on my nose and forehead, and I am loving it. I use it with either the green-based MUF primer or the nourishing primer from CoverFX if m skin is a bit drier that day. Also I find the packaging a little heavy, especially because I travel a lot, but I do like that it is transparent so you can see how much you have left.



on 3/20/2012 3:27:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I researched to find a dupe of this which lead me to purchase revlon photo ready foundation which sunk into my pores and make me look scaley (ew!). I saw that MUFE had a kit for under 80$ that included this foundation plus primer, powder, and a kabuki brush so I invested in the kit. I love this foundation and the coverage it gives, barely any need to cover up my acne and scaring with any concealer after, which is nice. My complaint is that it sinks into my skin and makes my chin extremely oily even though I use extra powder to keep that from happening. I wouldn't say I won't buy this again but I am open to trying other options even though I really love this foundation. It has also lasted me quite a while...I only need 2 pumps on a BAD day so the price doesn't bother me too much, especially since if I'm going to invest into any cosmetic product it is going to be my foundation. The lady matched me up a little too dark too, so I have to use some on my neck as well

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/19/2012 10:08:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Pro's:
1- the color matches my skin tone perfectly
2- looks really great

Con's:
1- breaks my skin out the next day
2- you really can't wear this foundation all day without your skin becoming an oil slick

I don't think the foundation is very breathable (I'm used to regularly wearing my smashbox bb cream which IS very breathable for skin, among other skin-health benefits for me). This is a foundation (along with my MAC) that is something I only wear for events or special occasions for a couple of hours at a time (4-5 at most). After I apply this stuff, my skin looks awesome because it blends into my skin so perfectly.

Would I buy it again? I don't know, I think I'm going to hold onto the one I got for a while anyway.


on 3/19/2012 9:54:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I ended up picking this foundation up after my old foundation, Vincent Longo's Water Canvas, didn't work well with my skin anymore. I chose something from MUFE's line for the simple fact that they have colors that actually match my skin. I've found that so many foundations (even high end ones) look fabulous when they're applied in the store but end up looking far too yellow or far too dark when I go outside in natural light. Not the case with this foundation.

I've been using the HD Foundation for almost a year and a half now and really have no complaints. I use this in conjunction with MUFE's HD Microperfecting Primer (in Mauve) along with Microperfecting Powder. While I don't have flawless skin by any stretch of the imagination, this combination of products somehow make my skin look passable - even good! It blends perfectly into my skin and has yet to oxidize or turn some weird phantom color in a different light. I also like the fact that this foundation comes in plastic bottle with a pump. I don't like having to dip my fingers into foundation or having to use a q-tip, and I really don't like glass bottles that I will invariably drop.

The only downside is that most of MUFE's line is a bit pricey. The products usually last forever and a day (ha!) and are of good quality, so I can justify the cost. For the time being, this foundation seems to work for me so I'll definitely repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/19/2012 2:36:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Tried...for awhile....I could never get it to work. I have VERY oily, acne prone skin. Even with a primer this foundation goes on flawless but after 1-2 hours my t-zone is almost dripping. I can't blot my face enough. My boyfriend even laughed at how oily my skin looked with this foundation. Although if the weather is really dry then this foundation does ok on my skin. Unfortunately I can't take it anymore and have switched to a different brand that controls my oil beautifully. It's a shame because this color (175) was a PERFECT match for my skin. If you do not have oily skin, this looks great! But it also transfers a little too much for my tastes. I bought 2 bottles and will not be buying again. I tried.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 3/17/2012 3:21:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I don`t know why this product has gotten such bad reviews, I like this a lot. I have combination skin with occasional breakouts and I rarely even have to use concealer, I like the coverage It gives and it makes my skin look pretty much flawless. Its not perfect though, around the winter I get some dry spots and it really does emphasize those. The price is also a bit high for my liking, I may give revlon color stay a try since its gotten such good reviews and its less that half the price. I apply this with my fingers after using the HD primer and finish off with rimmel stay matte powder to set.

Edit (13/06/17): should have edited this sooner, the colours of this foundation dont quite work for me I'd been using a shade that was too light for me and just bronzing a lot after application so I went to sephora to get matched for the right shade, they dont have one that matches :( Im right between two neither looked right, even the SA suggested I try something else because she didnt think either would work well for me. Lowered rating to 3 stars, I still like the formula but I wouldnt buy again due to the shades not being right.


on 3/17/2012 1:37:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have mixed feelings about this foundation. I live in a very cold and dry climate, with very harsh winters, and if i'm not SUPER moisturized it looks super dry on my skin and makes it look cakey. On the other hand this is the best color match I've ever had in foundation. I wear 118, and it is the exact color of my skin. I think i will give this foundation another go in the summer when my skin isn't so dry.


on 3/17/2012 11:58:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Black

This is a great foundation. I have tried many drugstore brands plus Clinique, Prescriptives (loved! but they discontinued), and NARS. MUFE HD color choices are great...I've had the closest color match to this foundation (173). This is NOT full coverage by any means, but that's exactly what I was looking for in a foundation. It's not cakey and doesn't feel suffocating at all. I always get compliments on my skin when I'm wearing this. It makes my skin look really smooth, silky, and even-toned, even though you can still see some faint flaws (hyperpigmentation) beneath. I took one point off because of the dewiness of this foundation. I would prefer more of a matte finish and I always have to blot my T-zone throughout the night when I'm wearing this or else it can start to look oily.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 3/17/2012 11:02:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

The coverage is not very good, after pre-concealing, applying the foundation and applying more concealer, you can still see my blemishes. Does NOT control Oil :( The 120 color shade matched me skin almost perfectly, though! Will not repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/14/2012 1:15:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Overall I like this product. I used Estee Lauder Double Wear Matte for years, but noticed that it started to turn orange on my skin. I guess this was a combo of oil and the chemicals in the product.

I went to MUFE HD foundation to avoid this and so far I'm pleased with the product. I use the 120 color and I find that the pump works great. I put 2 pumps on the back of my hand and use a stipple brush to apply the foundation. It has good coverage, but I then go over it with a cosmetic sponge to make sure that all is blended well and then I use a kabuki brush and use the Duo Matte MUFE power foundation to set my make up. This provides a very matte look which is what I need due to my large pores and oily skin. I still have to use oil blotters (about 3-4 per day) but I find that the make up lasts a long time even through this. I would purchase this again.


Back to Top