Make Up For Ever • HD High Definition Foundation • Foundations

rated 3.6(2190 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Merina on 1/1/2012 11:48:00 AM more reviews by Merina

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I am in love with this foundation. Yes it's $40 for 1 oz, but I think it's worth it. I'm a MAC NC40 and wear MUFE in 140 which is meant for those with medium skin with dark yellow undertones. I find it to be a tad too yellow so maybe I should try 127 Dark Sand instead. It gives full coverage without feeling cakey. It stays fresh pretty much all day long and is so silky smooth to apply.

Pros: Pump bottle. 2 pumps covers my whole face. Coverage. Satin finish. Wide selection of shades.

Cons: Price. Awkward huge bottle. Wish they made if taller and skinnier as it'd be easier for me to store but that's my personal preference.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Desilovesmakeup on 12/31/2011 5:52:00 PM more reviews by Desilovesmakeup

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

this foundation is amazing!!! i love this because of the full coverage it gives me! u can build it up and it wont look cakey at all. i have tried soo many different foundations and this is the one i keep coming back too and i recommend it, if ur looking for a full coverage. its the perfect color for me! i am number 125, although whenever i go to sephora they are always out of that color! Especially now for the holidays. Its a mission finding that color but thank god there was another sephora across the street. just set it with a powder because it is luminous, so after that its amazing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* emmgill on 12/30/2011 7:37:00 PM more reviews by emmgill

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love everything about this product. At first I didn't like it at all but I think that's because I tried it in winter and it's not great for dry skin. This has so many shades to choose from. I am number 120. It fits me perfectly.

This foundation makes your skin look so natural and radiant without looking like you have a huge amount of make up. i use my sigma flat head foundation brush to put this on. this is buildable as well if my skin is breaking out for whatever reason. This foundation builds well also. I tend to have a few different foundations because my skin changes to dry/ oily. So I use this in summer as well as my Laura mercier it red SPF 20 oil free moisture mixed with the radiance tinted.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 betteefelon on 12/30/2011 5:56:00 PM more reviews by betteefelon

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this product on the strength of others' recommendations. It's a pretty good product, but I didn't fall in love. I liked the wide range of skin tones, which provided a pretty good match, and the coverage was very good. It was highly blendable and pretty buildable without looking cakey. The reason I wouldn't buy it again, though, is that I didn't like the "finish" -- it looked very matte, which to me seemed unnatural. I'm used to my foundation having a little more luminosity. It was somewhat pricey ($40), and because I wasn't totally thrilled, for the price I wouldn't buy it again. Anyway, I can see why some people rave, but it wasn't for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 vsecret on 12/30/2011 1:12:00 AM more reviews by vsecret

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I'm kind of on the fence with this foundation. There are good things about it, like the fact that it's light weight. However, I find that this foundation gives only sheer coverage and that would explain the light weight feeling. I keep going back and forth between this and MAC studio fix fluid. The only reason I stopped using MAC was because I could never find the right shade for me. But with MUFE I found the perfect shade. I just wish it gave more coverage. I actually have clear skin, but there are those occasional breakouts and I find this foundation doesn't cut it. But if you are looking for sheer coverage, then yes this is a terrific foundation. If you want something with even medium coverage, look elsewhere!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 queenofchlorine29 on 12/29/2011 9:24:00 PM more reviews by queenofchlorine29

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I am shade 117. I love this foundation because it looks extremely natural when applied with a duo fiber brush. It can be sheered out even further with a damp sponge. I love the dewy glow it gives and the good coverage at the same time. I find that i have to use a concealer on acne but it covers up reddness very well. It is very long wearing as well. I wore it to a concert and it didnt move at all by the end of the night.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 nowadi on 12/29/2011 10:00:00 AM more reviews by nowadi

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I'm the number 120 in this and i have to say this is an awesome foundation, it has medium coverage and it glides on my skin beautifully, doesn't give you cake face at all. the only down side is that I'm looking for dewy finish and this is a satin finish but that's why i bought it, its close to dewy, i absolutely hate matte foundations. this is an amazing foundation. i'll buy it again for sure

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Popsi on 12/28/2011 11:08:00 AM more reviews by Popsi

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Purchased this recently in #115. Not enough coverage, though nice texture.

Going back to my trusted 12-year standby, Laura Mercier's Warm Ivory.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 keia1113 on 12/27/2011 11:58:00 AM more reviews by keia1113

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Other, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Im an nc42 & i bought this in shade 153. I love how this looks on me, it looks just like skin. The color match is dead on. It has medium coverage, and a liquidy consistency. Leaves such a nice finish to the skin.

The negatives are unless i set it with my ben nye final seal spray, it doesnt last all day, and it doesnt control oil.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 anemperorseffusivelove on 12/27/2011 11:40:00 AM more reviews by anemperorseffusivelove

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I give this product two stars because it is nowhere NEAR worth the $40 you shell out for it. I should have done more research before I got this foundation, but I unfortunately gave into the hype instead. First of all, while the description on the MUFE website claims the foundation is medium-to-full coverage, it is not. It is incredibly sheer, and if you try to build, the foundation transfers horribly and slips into the corners/creases of your face (and I'm only 22 years old and generally wrinkle free- wtf!?), even with a primer, and even then doesn't manage to achieve full coverage. So, yes, it's invisible in photos...but only because you might as well not be wearing anything on your face. Second of all, this foundation is oil-free but the silicones are disastrous for even the driest skin- OIL SLICK LIKE WHOA. Two hours and you're shining like you slathered your face in vegetable oil. I'll probably finish up this bottle just because I refuse to throw $40 in the trash, but I will never buy this for myself again. If you want an HD foundation for pictures and film, try another brand.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Make Up For Ever products

More Foundations products