Make Up For Ever • HD High Definition Foundation • Foundations

rated 3.6(2086 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 pinkclover on 10/4/2011 10:49:00 AM more reviews by pinkclover

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Just wanted to comment about some of the people using this foundation and experiencing breakouts. I wanted to try MUFE HD Foundation but sadly won't be purchasing because it contains sodium chloride which rates a 5, the highest level for being comedogenic. It took me a long time to figure out that this was a culprit in other foundations/tinted moisturizers ( and a lot of other products) I have used and made me break out. One of my favorites was Tarte Smooth Operator. I used this for a few years but was always bothered by pimples here and there, finally after going to zerozits.com to check ingredients I realized sodium chloride could be the problem. Sure enough my skin cleared after I stopped using Smooth Operator. I now use Laura Mercier TM and although it's not HG, I don't get pimples from it. Apparently some acne sufferers can use this w/o any issues but I know this ingredient aggravates my skin and wanted to let others know in case they have a reaction from it.

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tepandoro on 9/29/2011 10:50:00 PM more reviews by tepandoro

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This foundation is legendary for me as it made my acne scar-filled face look flawless on the day of my engagement party. I will definitely be using this for my wedding too :) I'm an NC25-30 and I got this in the shade 102. Suited me whether I'm a 25 or 30 because it has a very natural finish, it does not leave a white cast on the skin.


It does not cover ALL scars perfectly. Dark-reddish scars are not that flawlessly concealed, I had to use my Bobbi Brown concealer to conceal all that. But the texture and consistency of the foundation is just perfect for me. I have very dry skin, and this foundation provided enough moisture and made my face look dewy. My face was glowing in all pictures, and I was just aghast (in a good way!).


This foundation does not reflect light, which is why I would use this in ALL big events that I'm going to be attending. Picture-perfect skin stars with this foundation (and the primer!).


BTW, my engagement party was held in Indonesia where it's super hot and humid, and I only had touch it up by lightly brushing MUFE's Duo Mat powder over my face. I only touched up once during the event of about 6 hours. So it lasted pretty long for me :) I didn't even use a setting spray!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 KatieDruitt on 9/28/2011 4:30:00 AM more reviews by KatieDruitt

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This just feels like silk...AMAZING. I have been a MV+ fan for a long time. Bought the HD at Sydney IMATS...wow...what have I been missing out on!

Works much much better with the HD or Too Faced Primers and applied with a brush and not fingers. The colour match (#120) is perfect for me and fades my freckles to nothing. If only it would last till the end of the work day on my chin...but nothing ever does that!

I am in love! (Sorry hubby)

Please bring MUF to SYDNEY!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 mileanxhela on 9/27/2011 10:34:00 PM more reviews by mileanxhela

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I have used this foundation for a week now. I gave it a shot after I heard about all the raves....There was a wide range of colors which was nice since it is hard for me to find a good color match for my skin and I like the pump, packaging. I do like the fact that it is light and can look natural. .....This is where all of the positive things I have to say about this foundation stops. I have been scrubbing my face frequently this week just to make this foundation work for me, but it just doesn't. I don't like the consistency; it has this thin consistency like a tinted moisterizer. It does cover, but it exsentuates every pore and dry spot on my face even though I used my Hg scrub. After a few hours the foundation settles into my poors and it looks bad...so much for the oil-free properties! I really tried to like it, but I just can't. Every time I put it on I just want to wash it off. And it is so expensive..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 fallenstar8503 on 9/27/2011 6:52:00 PM more reviews by fallenstar8503

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is one of my favorite foundations. I used to use Lancome Color Ideal, but after they changed the formula, the color just didn't look the same. The foundation was either too orange or just too light, so I went to Sephora and was matched with one of these foundations. I really love the coverage of this foundation. If I feel like I need moderate coverage, I put it on my entire face. It covers my blemishes without being too cakey or heavy, and has lasting staying power. On days where I don't feel like I need all the coverage, I use it like a concealer and I love it. I've tried many different brands, but this is definitely my favorite. The color is perfect and coverage is great.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 EvaBenay on 9/27/2011 1:34:00 PM more reviews by EvaBenay

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I have very finicky skin, and most foundations I've tried have clogged/ broken me out. I have very sensitive/ acne/ reaction prone skin, but with the right products my skin calms down and behaves like normal skin. I have some large pores n my cheeks, and lots of indented acne scars, as well as a little bit of active acne around TTOTM. I also have a few pigmentation spots from past acne.

This foundation evens out my skin tone and covers pigmentation/ active acne without a problem. I swear my skin tone and texture actually improve when I use this. It doesn't emphasize pores or indented acne scars, and it doesn't get cakey. I will probably buy this again because it's one of the few FDTNs my skin has no negative reaction to, and the coverage is beautiful. The only complaint I have about this product is that it makes my skin a little dull/ grey. It has absolutely no glow to it. I have found this problem with Matt Velvet FDTN as well, which my skin also likes. I will repurchase until I find something that doesn't irritate my sensitive/ reactive skin, but also gives me a glow.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 fishsticks on 9/27/2011 9:23:00 AM more reviews by fishsticks

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I really liked this foundation when i first tried it. It gave me really nice coverage, just enough for my sort-of blotchy skin on my cheeks. It looks gives a natural non-oily finish and the lady who served me matched my skin tone perfectly. But I'm a teenager and naturally... I break out when I put something on that my skin doesn't like. I wore this for 2 days and i got 3 pimples... sigh i find it really hard to find foundation that wont break me out. Soo if you don't break out that easily and is looking for a foundation with nice coverage and you dont have heaps of blackheads where foundation tends to build up(it went around a large pore that used to be a black head and made it look heaps noticeable, lucky it was on the side of my nose nobody noticed)... i reccomend this for you.
Overall it was a really nice foundation but im going to continue my search for foundations that will not break me out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jenlulz on 9/27/2011 6:32:00 AM more reviews by jenlulz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've only been using this for a couple of days so I will update later if needed. So far, I think this is the "everyday foundation" I've been looking for. I haven't had any break outs or skin irritations with this but again it's been 2 days. Those probably would of happened by now but we'll see. My skin looks very natural with this, almost flawless.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jnbaisden on 9/26/2011 2:34:00 PM more reviews by jnbaisden

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I've been searching high and low for the perfect foundation for my sensitive, acne prone skin. I also have eczema. This foundation is so awesome that when I first wore it, I was so excited by the results that I keep looking at myself in the mirror so much that my husband kept asking me what I was looking for! This foundation makes me look flawless...LITERALLY! I actually went into Sephora to buy the MUFE Face & Body foundation, but my curiosity got the best of me so I only left with samples of this foundation and F&B. Although I have pretty decent skin, I have an uneven skin tone, and I prefer foundation to even me out. I love how MUFE HD feels lightweight, makes my skin feel ultra smooth, and is literally undetectable. My husband didn't even know I was wearing makeup the first time I wore this and he can usually tell because "he knows my skin" as he likes to put it (lol). I can't even find it on my own face. Plus, it covers the flaws I didn't even know I had! The best part of this product is that it is the first and only foundation that matches my skin so well AND does NOT cause any breakouts! I am sold. Once my sample runs out, I am definitely heading back over to my local Sephora to purchase this baby. I am in LOVE! =)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ackpooo on 9/25/2011 10:56:00 PM more reviews by ackpooo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I really love the coverage that this foundation gives me. It's light yet it still manages to cover all my blemishes and brighten up my [extremely dark] eye bags while maintaining a natural looking finish. It's also a perfect match to my skin (127)! However, because of my oily/combo skin, I won't be repurchasing this as much as I would like to. I don't know what it is about this foundation but even while using this with the milk of magnesia, my face ends up as a complete greaseball before the day has even practically begun. Normally when I use milk of magnesia as a primer, my face tends to stay matte throughout the day or at the very least I just get a dewy sheen at the end of the night. However, that is not the case with the HD foundation because by the end of the day, my face is shinier than a polished bowling ball.

I really would like to love this product but I think it would be better suited for those without oily skin. The price is a little hefty at almost $40 but if I could make this stay on my face for more than 2 hours, I would get it again simply because I really do think the coverage is amazing but for now I think I'll just stick to my Colorstay and Mat Velvet+ foundations.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Make Up For Ever products

More Foundations products