Make Up For Ever HD High Definition Foundation

3.6

2268 reviews

57% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Aqua, Cyclopentasiloxane, Neopentyl Glycol Diethylhexanoate, Mica, talc, PEG-10 Dimenthicone, Biosaccharide Gum-1, Phenyl, Trimethicone, Sodium Chloride, Lauroyl Lysine, Dimenthicone Crosspolymer, Glyceryl Caprylate, Methylpropanediol, Butylene Glycol, Phenoxyethanol, Chlorphenesin, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Sodium Myristoyl Glutamate, Cyclohexacyloxane, Methylisothiazolinone, Sorbitan Sesquileate, Silver Oxide, Propylene, Carbonate, Parfum (fragrance), Methylparaben, Fagus Sylvatica Extract (Fagus Sylvatica Bud Extract), Hydrolyzed Yeast Protein, [+/- CI 77891 )titanium Dioxide), CI 77491 (Iron Oxides), CI 77499 (Iron Oxides).


on 3/11/2012 4:24:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Tan, Neutral

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I love this foundation, but the thing that got me worrying was how I chose the completely wrong color. I was in a rush and I chose a color that was for darker skin tone that had a pink undertone. Since I bought this in Manhattan, NY, and it was only for few days staying during spring break, I couldn't return it. I did, however, chose to stick it out for a while and wear it. When I did wear it, I would only apply a little amount so I don't go overboard changing the complexion tone of my face. It is very moisturizing, it feels light on your skin, and it does improve the look of your imperfections on your face. I feel if I did get the correct color, it would even out my skintone. It leaves a matte look and looked decent on pics. I gave this to my older sister who has a slightly darker skin color than me, and next time, I am definitely going out to buy the right shade!! Never again will the same mistake occur.



on 3/10/2012 5:09:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Blue

The shade selection is great, and 115 is a great match for my skin but I didn't like this foundation. I moisturize before applying foundation but I don't use primer or powder, and on it's own this was nothing special. Even though the consistancy is fairly thin, it is very easy to apply too much because it seems to get more opaque as it sets and it feels too heavy on my face. The coverage is buildable but it gets cakey if you use too much. My skin is normal and occasionally gets a little dry, I found this really drying and it looks terrible if you haven't exfoliated.

UPDATE: I had to update this after seeing photographs of myself that were taken when I was wearing this. They look amazing. Seriously, this is hands down the best foundation for photographs I've ever used. It's weird because in real life it didn't look that great. Definitely worth a try if you are having pictures taken, but I don't like it for everyday wear.




on 3/10/2012 3:08:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I am a huge fan of this foundation! I am on my 2nd bottle of this. I wear shade 118 and it is a great match for me. It makes my complexion look flawless yet somehow still natural. Although I normally like to sheer it out by spritzing my brush with MAC Mineralized Charged Water, tap the brush into the foundation, and then stipple all over, it is excellet for medium-full coverage when I need it. I often skip concealer because this foundation gives me all the coverage I need. Lasting power is great with a primer underneath and I usually only need to blot once throughout the day, sometimes not at all. Love it!.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I have very oil skin and I've never used foundation because I was always scared it was going to be too heavy. I got the set this morning and my skin was perfect all day. I started with my lush breath of fresh air toner, oil free moisturizer, the makeup forever primer, a little bit of the foundation with a foundation brush and then the setting powder over it. After about 5 hours my nose got a bit oily so I used the powder on it and it was amazing I fell asleep with my boyfriend for 4 hours and I expected to wake up looking like a mess and my skin was still perfect In Place I was in shock! This stuff is amazing I would recommend it to anyone with oily skin it's Great


on 3/8/2012 9:56:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I've been wanting to try this for ages. I was scared because of my uncontrollably oily skin...ugh!!!! Best. Foundation. EVER! My skin looked amazing after a full night of partying till 5AM. I was shocked. I highly recommend this foundation. I don't however like the finishing powder. So I don't use it. I use my Clinique to set it & it works great! Love love love it!!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 3/8/2012 12:09:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I'm a true believer in you pay for what you get. This foundation is a-maz-ing, i can't get enough! It retails for $40, which is expensive in my terms, but i have no regrets. It's compatible with oily skin, you don't have to set it, maybe just your T-zone. I wear this from 6 in the morning to 9 at night, no irritation, no break outs. I plan to wear this for my brother's upcoming wedding. I'm amazed and satisfied. (:

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 3/7/2012 7:33:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Loved this foundation when I first put it on, but it settled on dry patches in my skin. I don't normally have those dry patches. I still think this foundation was a great color match and blended perfectly.


on 3/7/2012 12:57:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

One of my favorite foundations on the market! Love the color match and the finish! While it doesn't last all day for me, the great thing about this foundation is that when you do touch-ups, it doesn't look cakey. So I can confidently touch up by t zone around 3pm and not worry that I look like I have 5 pounds of foundation on!

http://mytakemyblog.blogspot.com/


on 3/7/2012 12:15:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I use this foundation with MUFE stippling brush 55N and I must say I love it so far. The coverage is medium to light, if one has dry areas or scars I do not recommend this or maybe over MUFE HD Serum that is very hydrating.
However the finish, especially for a light coverage foundation is very nice, matte but not chalky so I love it.
One other thing that makes it great for me is the unique color #115 (light) which is light enough but also pink enough to match my skin perfectly - I have yet to find another pale foundation that matches me so well.
Lasting power it's pretty good, haven't tried it in summer yet but it does not cake, ball up, or go out in streaks. When it goes it's more like a fade away which is good.
The only con is of course lack of SPF but since this is a professional brand and this foundation is aimed for indoor photo shoots especially close-ups, it's very understandable why it doesn't contain any.
I feel really happy to have found a really professional item from a professional brand.


on 3/7/2012 12:54:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

So, I haven't written a review in years (literally) and decided it was about time to finally write one again granted my recent experience with this foundation. I have mainly bounced around various drugstore foundations (Almay, Neutrogena, Maybelline, Revlon Colorstay) as well as been a MAC StudioFix Powder user for several years. I am getting older now (25) and my skin has gone from being oily and covered in zits to being slightly dry with less to cover up. That being said, I no longer need heavy coverage or matte foundations and wanted to experiment with various "HD", 'hydrating" and satin finish foundations.

I tried MAC's Studio Sculpt (NC40) but I hated it, it was bright orange (like every other foundation I try from MAC), oxidized on me and gave me awful coverage. It looked uneven and felt like it was just sitting in my pores.

Then my boyfriend's sister recommended MUFE HD to me and I also read that it was used by several celebrities including, yes, the makeup maven herself: Kim Kardashian. The Makeup Alley reviews on it were so so but I decided to at least sample it out.

When I FIRST walked into Sephora, they matched me to 170 and 173 and gave me the respective samples. Let's just say it was way, way, way too dark. Like oompa loompa dark. I tried to get re-matched on a different occasion and the lady matched me to 153 and gave me a sample. It was much better but it still appeared too orange on me. I got frustrated and started researching swatches online and decided 140 would be my best bet so instead of getting a sample, I walked in and bought it. I was definitely getting closer to my perfect color match but this color was still a little light and too peachy. I researched swatches again and realized 127 and 140 were almost identical but 127 had more yellow to it so I went back into Sephora and exchanged it for 127. This was much warmer and a better color match for me but after wearing it for a week or two, it still wasn't perfect and though I liked the shade, the undertone still seemed off to me.

When I walked in for a personal consultation at Sephora, the lady said she wasn't a huge fan of MUFE HD and instead had me exchange the foundation entirely for NARS Sheerglow in the color Syracuse. I ended up buying it but never used to it because when I got home, her application still seemed way too golden/orangey on me and I still felt like the quality of MUFE HD was much better despite the hell I had been going through to find a good color match. I actually walked into Sephora the very next day with the NARS Sheerglow I had bought prior, sat down with a MUA and explained my entire situation. I told her how I kept getting matched to the wrong color and how MUAs were trying to steer me to other foundations like NARS and Laura Mercier but I was determined to find the right color match because I liked the foundation that much.

After doing a lot of research, I told her that I felt like the two potential best matches for me would be 123 or 128. She agreed and put both of them on my jawline and we mutually decided that 123 made my face look brighter and blended seamlessly into my skin and even managed to match my neck. She ended up applying it all over my face and patted on some HD powder to help it stay put and what can I say? After months of trying a million colors, doing online research and even being duped into buying another foundation entirely I finally found my match.

For reference, Sephora's website says that 123 (Desert) is made for light skin with olive undertones but I consider myself medium with olive undertones and I do have a slight tan. Don't let the numbers scare you, 123 is darker than 127 and 127 is darker than 140 so the numbering system is not based on the depth or darkness by any means. I have also read that all the numbers ending in 3 in this foundation are meant for olive undertones (123, 153, 173.)

I am 25 years old, an NC30 in all of MAC's liquid formulations and a C4 in MAC's Studio Fix Powder. My background is South Asian (Indian, Pakistani and Bangladeshi) as a point of reference for anyone who is as frustrated as I was. I got samples of NARS Sheerglow in Barcelona and Stromboli to find the perfect color for me in that foundation out of sheer curiosity but as for my HG foundation right now, it HAS to be MUFE HD.

It blends in perfectly, makes my skin glow and look radiant, it lasts all day and gives medium coverage with a dewy finish. I have yet to take pictures with it on but I am pretty sure it will look fantastic. Also, even if the color match is off, it blends into your skin after a few minutes so I feel like even if I get tanner or lighter, I won't have to go buy another color.

I use this with Monistat Chafing Gel as a primer, Studio Finish concealer in NW30 for my under eyes, I buff it on with Sephora's Platinum #55 Airbrush and set it with MAC's MSF in Medium Plus.

HG Status for me! :)

****Update: I tried MAC's Studio Fix Fluid, Estee Lauder Doublewear, Revlon Colorstay, Dior Nude, Tarte Full Coverage, Lancome 24 Hour Teint Idole, Clinque City Base and Stay Matte Foundation samples over the past few months and MUFE HD still wins.

24 out of 28 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top