Make Up For Ever HD High Definition Foundation [DISCONTINUED]

3.6

2291 reviews

57% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Aqua, Cyclopentasiloxane, Neopentyl Glycol Diethylhexanoate, Mica, talc, PEG-10 Dimenthicone, Biosaccharide Gum-1, Phenyl, Trimethicone, Sodium Chloride, Lauroyl Lysine, Dimenthicone Crosspolymer, Glyceryl Caprylate, Methylpropanediol, Butylene Glycol, Phenoxyethanol, Chlorphenesin, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Sodium Myristoyl Glutamate, Cyclohexacyloxane, Methylisothiazolinone, Sorbitan Sesquileate, Silver Oxide, Propylene, Carbonate, Parfum (fragrance), Methylparaben, Fagus Sylvatica Extract (Fagus Sylvatica Bud Extract), Hydrolyzed Yeast Protein, [+/- CI 77891 )titanium Dioxide), CI 77491 (Iron Oxides), CI 77499 (Iron Oxides).


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Y'know what's a nice feeling? Shelling out for a HE, ultra-hyped product and finding out that, yes indeed, it's exactly as good as everyone has told you. I bought this in 110 and it's an exact match! It blends perfectly with my skin, and it leaves a nice matte, yet not overly dry or chalky, finish. I like applying this one with a sponge- I find it gives a really natural look with medium-full coverage. I don't have a lot of scarring or blemish issues, so I can't speak on that, but I really do like how well it evens out my skin tone. Pretty expensive for what it does, but I think it's worth it. I'd be hard-pressed to switch over to something else at this point!



on 3/24/2012 11:18:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

After hearing so much about this foundation, I decided to settle and actually buy it. I am NC25-30 in MAC, and after testing and trying out the shades 120,123,125, and 127, I finally settled on 120. I am Chinese with light-medium skin tone, and redness from acne scarring and medication. I have sensitive, acne prone, dry combination skin that tends to be oily combination in the summer.

The texture is runny and can be applied with a stippling brush, sponge, or a foundation brush. However, I like to use my fingers. It feels lightweight and gives medium coverage, enough to cover my redness and acne scars. I like this product because it gives a natural looking coverage. However, this foundation tends to oxidize a bit and dry out and irritate my skin, causing acne. I wear this foundation for going out at night and for photos, but I can't wear this everyday or else my skin would deteriorate. Not a fan of this as an everyday product, but great for photos.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 3/22/2012 6:29:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

High Def? Hmmm... I think someone was def. high when they formulated this stuff. It's dry. It's chalky. It's hard to blend. The colors were off. It appears to sit above my skin, rather then blend with it. Like a mask of bad coverage hovering just above my face. I have small pores, and this garbage made them appear HUGE.

I returned this stuff exchanged for MUFE F&B. Heavenly.

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.


on 3/22/2012 3:30:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel


So glad I tried the sample before purchasing. I loved the color match, it was my exact skin tone. I can wear this product by itself and get really good coverage without using any concealer underneath. Biggest con is how oily this makes my skin. I put it on this morning and within 2 hours I was super oily and I have needed to blot my skin several times throughout the day. Overall not the worst foundation, but if you have oily skin like I do then you should not use this product.


on 3/22/2012 11:23:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I love it because it you really can't tell that I have anything on. I cover up the worst of my blotches with a concealer and with this on top, you don't notice the bumps at all.

My only quibble is the price, but hopefully 30ml will last long enough to make it work it.


on 3/21/2012 10:45:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Ouch! My skin is not unusually sensitive - in fact, I rarely break out, but when I wore this for a couple of days I started developing these strange bumps and pimples on my cheeks. It took weeks to be rid of them, even though I only wore the product for a week. The coverage is good albeit heavy, but I would NOT recommend to anyone with sensitive skin.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 3/20/2012 2:27:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Man, I wish I didn't buy the hype on this product. It's the first foundation that I've ever used that caused my skin to become flaky AND breakout at the same time. Maybe it was the silicone in this product, but it caused some pretty wicked cystic acne around my nose and mouth. For the record, I do have really sensitive skin, but.. meh. Even Wet n' Wild foundation hasn't caused this much trouble.

The caveat here is that I [reluctantly] gave the product to a friend to use, and she hasn't experienced any skin problems.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/20/2012 11:03:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Curly, Other

Eyes: Blue

I was so excited about this product when I first bought it. I am extremely fair and I often have trouble matching my skin tone without it looking yellow-y. I first blended this product with a stippling brush and got a pretty nice look, but I actually find using my fingers gives a more natural look. I typically have fairly dry skin but I find my nose gets a quite oily around noon, which isn't typical for me. This is one of the most natural looking foundations I have used, especially since I've started using m fingers, I no longer set it with powder on my cheeks, just my nose. I received a sample of the MUF setting powder and have been using that on my nose and forehead, and I am loving it. I use it with either the green-based MUF primer or the nourishing primer from CoverFX if m skin is a bit drier that day. Also I find the packaging a little heavy, especially because I travel a lot, but I do like that it is transparent so you can see how much you have left.


on 3/20/2012 3:27:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I researched to find a dupe of this which lead me to purchase revlon photo ready foundation which sunk into my pores and make me look scaley (ew!). I saw that MUFE had a kit for under 80$ that included this foundation plus primer, powder, and a kabuki brush so I invested in the kit. I love this foundation and the coverage it gives, barely any need to cover up my acne and scaring with any concealer after, which is nice. My complaint is that it sinks into my skin and makes my chin extremely oily even though I use extra powder to keep that from happening. I wouldn't say I won't buy this again but I am open to trying other options even though I really love this foundation. It has also lasted me quite a while...I only need 2 pumps on a BAD day so the price doesn't bother me too much, especially since if I'm going to invest into any cosmetic product it is going to be my foundation. The lady matched me up a little too dark too, so I have to use some on my neck as well

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/19/2012 10:08:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Pro's:
1- the color matches my skin tone perfectly
2- looks really great

Con's:
1- breaks my skin out the next day
2- you really can't wear this foundation all day without your skin becoming an oil slick

I don't think the foundation is very breathable (I'm used to regularly wearing my smashbox bb cream which IS very breathable for skin, among other skin-health benefits for me). This is a foundation (along with my MAC) that is something I only wear for events or special occasions for a couple of hours at a time (4-5 at most). After I apply this stuff, my skin looks awesome because it blends into my skin so perfectly.

Would I buy it again? I don't know, I think I'm going to hold onto the one I got for a while anyway.


Back to Top