Make Up For Ever • HD High Definition Foundation • Foundations

rated 3.6(2207 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 uponbluemoon on 1/20/2012 4:17:00 PM more reviews by uponbluemoon

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I used to reach for this all the time if I'm going out at night. It provides a long-lasting matte finish even in the hottest clubs. It's definitely a thicker coverage than I normally wear.

Recently I've realized that the shade I use (118) is just a tiny bit too dark for me and I can't seem to find one that's just right. Until I find the right shade, I'll have to say goodbye to this foundation :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 elambie on 1/19/2012 9:16:00 PM more reviews by elambie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I recently got a sample of this product from Sephora along with the Matte Velvet foundation because I was unsure of which one I was going to want. The shade 115 matches me perfectly, even though I have yellow undertones (maybe the SA labeled it wrong..??). The coverage is medium, which is exactly what I wanted. Even though I have slight acne scarring from my teen years, the foundation evens out my skintone and covers the scars well enough to where I need very little concealer on top. It hasn't broken me out and stays really well over the course of the day. Granted, I've only worn this during the winter when my skin is normal type, so I'm curious to see how this holds up during the summer when I'm oily and sweaty. Either way, this is a fantastic foundation for myself in the winter!! Definitely recommend.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 milkypaw on 1/18/2012 7:21:00 PM more reviews by milkypaw

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

i was attracted to this foundation because it was oil-free & because it has a huge range of colors. after consulting with a sephora 'artist', i bought this foundation in 117. well, that was a mistake because the color was totally off. it made my face orange. i do, however, think that this foundation is great. the texture is lovely, it didn't feel heavy on my face, & it didn't damage my skin.
i didn't like that this foundation seemed to emphasize the dryness on my forehead.
it's also very pricey, at $40 a bottle. just because i had a bad experience with the color, i don't think i'd be willing to risk wasting my money again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 belovedhope on 1/17/2012 9:19:00 PM more reviews by belovedhope

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Not in love with this stuff. It didn't offer as much coverage as I hoped for, and it didn't seem to do much to enhance my complexion except my pores. However, the color range is wonderful-I was matched with 153 (medium skin with olive undertones). I haven't tried much makeup at this price level, but I am assuming there are better options out there for me. Won't be buying this one again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 qubanmaggot on 1/17/2012 8:48:00 PM more reviews by qubanmaggot

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm NC25 and #123 is perfect on me. I just tried it on today and my boyfriend said I had a doll-face look and it looked made-up in a very nice way. I felt super confident on campus. I loved the feel of it on my face. I just wish it was $20 dollars less. I never really tried liquid foundation before but this makes me want to look for a cheaper alternative. I love the pump on the bottle too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jjonesjj on 1/17/2012 3:49:00 PM more reviews by jjonesjj

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Not a good foundation for dry skin. Dry patches are emphasized to the fullest - even with a moisturizer and primer. I believe, as other reviewers have pointed out, this is due to the silicon (dimethicone) in the product. The visual effect is very similar to Smashbox Photo Finish (which I also think is unsuitable for dry skin) only with pigment.

That being said, the huge selection of shades is excellent. I have not found another foundation that matched my skin tone so perfectly. I am asian with not quite pale, but light, skin coloring and yellow undertones.

I wouldn't recommend this product for others with dry skin, but if you have normal skin with minimal redness or discoloration, this product would probably be great for you. I say minimal because the coverage is only slightly more than that of a tinted moisturizer.

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 jlzubiri on 1/16/2012 11:06:00 AM more reviews by jlzubiri

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

Ok so I got sucked in from all the "rave" youtube reviews about this foundation and decided to try it. Also I think the sales people at Sephora are told to push this product because they were all over me telling me this is the best foundation. I paid 80$ for the package of primer, powder and my foundation match.....which I truly regret now. I don't mind paying a little more for a great foundation but this is nothing special.

I think it is just a mediocre foundation...it has ok coverage and doesnt stay on that long. It does not give you an airbrushed look..it kind of sinks into your pores and can look blotchy after a couple hours and my skin is not oily at all.

If you want a little more coverage and a much better foundation Revlon colorstay is my HG and rivals over this foundation by lightyears. I would not buy HD again and just use it now for running to the grocery store or classetc.. and just trying to get my moneys worth out of it

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 notoriousnoe on 1/15/2012 9:43:00 PM more reviews by notoriousnoe

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is one of my HG foundations! For reference I wear #155 and i am a nc37-40. It is lightweight with medium coverage which is buildable. I find I dont NEED to set it with a powder but i prefer it. the HD powder is also awesome. It is a little expensive but well worth it since it covers all of my skin... I would rather splurge on a foundation than mascara or eyeshadows. BUY IT!! =)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Lepin on 1/15/2012 11:18:00 AM more reviews by Lepin

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

While on the prowl for a new foundation several SA's at my NYC Sephora raved about this. I was curious about the MUFE color wheel and immediately tested the recs. Shade 115 seemed perfect, I tested this on my chin and in Sephora lighting this looked rather nice. Well, upon real life app the following morning I soon discovered this color was indeed a tad too deep for my skintone, not offense, but noticable nonetheless. But, the real deal breaker was the coverage. This sank into and really enhanced my very small pores but offered inadequate coverage in my few problem areas, namely my slightly ruddy cheeks. Not a good look. Also, I tried this during the hot humid summer months so that may have been the culprit, seeing as this slid off like oil. For cold weather this might have worked for me but the next lighter color, 110, is just a tad too white. That said, for the price and the fact this IMO requires a primer and specific weather conditions to look HD, I will look elsewhere. Not the worst but clearly a very overhyped foundation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Lobbery on 1/15/2012 11:09:00 AM more reviews by Lobbery

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I initially tried this foundation years ago in the summer when my skin was oily. I found it had very poor coverage and sunk into my pores and didn't help with my shine.

Last month I got a sample of it when buying their Liquid Lift Foundation to give it another try since it's winter and my skin is quite dry and patchy.

Same thing; sunk into my pores, little coverage and now that I'm dry it really showed up my dry parts.

I'll give them one thing, they have a great color selection but I really don't understand the hype at all.

Sure wish it looked on me the way it does on the girl in the untouched promos !

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Make Up For Ever products

More Foundations products