Make Up For Ever • HD High Definition Foundation • Foundations

rated 3.6(2133 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 bblopez64 on 11/29/2011 9:19:00 PM more reviews by bblopez64

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I Love the way the MUFE HD foundation feels on my skin! Is very light and does not cake on. I bought it in shade #128 and it fits my skin color perfectly. I like to use it with the Smashbox Photo Finish Primer because it makes the application extra smooth. However when I don't use a primer with this MUFE HD I find myself using more product because of my dry skin. I would love this product even more if it were less expensive but I'm willing to sacrifice some extra change for now :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 mzlovely on 11/28/2011 10:17:00 AM more reviews by mzlovely

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

60% of people must have normal skin (no oilyness, and no acne scars or pimples) because I found the coverage for this to be as good as a tinted moisturizer (light coverage no matter how much I built or caked on) and staying power again, as good as a tinted moisturizer which for me is no longer than 2 hrs tops without looking cakey on the face. Definitely not worth no 40$ when I can find what it does in 7$ tinted drugstore moisturizer.
This is NOT a good idea for oily skin gals and it seemed to aggravate my exsisting pimples.. Bad. A sephora lady gave me samples of this foundation, cause I really want to find a foundation that can stay on my now oily skin face but however this was a wreck along with the Nars Sheer Glow. I think I'm pretty much done with Sephora foundations and going to try MAC foundations. Hopefully they're staying power is better and from what i heard less expensive.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* diamondtiara on 11/28/2011 3:15:00 AM more reviews by diamondtiara

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

OMG, this is awful. No, seriously, this is BAD. I don't know if I just got a bad color, or the formula disagrees with me or what, but this foundation is rotten.


For reference: I'm NW20 with mild rosacea, therefore I have pink undertones and fair, sensitive skin. I've pretty much found my HG foundation in Diorskin Nude. I wore a very light layer out to the mall today, and wound up rubbing my face a bunch after I started having a sneezing fit. Then, I went into Sephora and had an SA do some eye makeup on me. As she worked on my face with some makeup remover, she wound up removing my Diorskin Nude between my eyes and on my cheeks and offered to give me a touch-up. I told her what I wore on my skin, including the color (Cameo 022) and she left for a minute. When she returned, she had a bottle of MUFE HD in 115. "Are you cool with MUFE? I love putting this one on people!" I didn't have any objections, so I let her put a layer on with Sephora's Airbrush all over my cheeks and nose.


When I looked in the mirror, all I could think of was, "YELLOW." Then I came home and looked at my skin in my bathroom mirror, under brighter lights. Holy crap. I agree with other reviewers who called it "bizarre" "cakey" and "drying". Every single bit of dryness and bumpiness and every freaking line and pore in my young-looking skin was accentuated. Not only was I yellow, I was also aged another 5 years - I'm not exaggerating, I looked like I needed to take a bath in anti-aging moisturizer. I could see where the Diorskin was still on my chin and forehead, and those parts of my face looked flesh-colored, hydrated, and glowy. It was an amazing contrast in quality, and a great lesson in the importance of finding the proper shade. But even if MUFE HD was the exact color of my natural-born skin, I still wouldn't wear it even if you gave it to me for free; the formula seems like it would be a nightmare for dry-skinned girls. I'm pretty good at moisturizing, but I can tell that in the dead of winter, this foundation would make me look like my skin was flaking off.


All I can say is: Thank God for Sephora, where you can try new things for free. But, wow, are the SAs urged to push MUFE products on people? This is the third item by MUFE that an SA has kind of forced me to try, and I remain unimpressed. I find that kind of sad, because I really want to like this brand! Nevertheless, I'd be willing to bet that there are drugstore foundations out there that perform better than HD for a third of the cost. If you have skin anything like mine, I really suggest skipping this one. Mine was applied with a high quality brush by a professional MUA (she told me she used to work at MAC prior to working at Sephora) and the foundation was still a bad match for me in every way.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sukayna on 11/27/2011 3:47:00 PM more reviews by sukayna

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

one of the best foundations i've yet tried! the formula is light and spreads very nicely. what i also love is how easily you can mix it with other foundations to get your perfect shade-this is useful especially if your like me and get really tan in the summer and like 5 shades lighter in the winter! the finish is dewy, but not shiny and looks very natural. it is not much of a problem for my combination skin (oily T zone). you have to make sure your skin is in good condition before applying this though-it does tend to cling on to dry patches and flakes. make sure to exfoliate and moisturize in advance. i find this applies really well by buffing it in with my MAC 188 due fibre brush but it also works amazingly with just fingers if your skin is prepped well. the price is a little steep but this will last a while as i only need one pump for my whole face. I also love the packaging and pump dispenser. btw, I'm usually MAC NC35, Chanel Vitalumiere B30, BB Corrector in Peach and LM Silk Creme Sand Beige and I have yellow undertones and 128 is a great match

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 BeautifullyNatural25 on 11/22/2011 1:58:00 AM more reviews by BeautifullyNatural25

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

BEST FOUNDATION IN THE WHOLE ENTIRE WORLD!!
A lot of people seem to not be using it right then complain it doesn't work for them. I believe you should research a product and learn to use it correctly before accusing it of being a bad product because of your own misuse and lack of knowledge.
This foundation is very very lightweight but provides a MEDIUM coverage. It is NOT mean't to be a full coverage foundation so therefore if you keep layering it, it will get cakey as it dries quickly to a semi matte finish. If you have very dry to dry skin you don't need to set it as it dries to a semi matte finish but you can of course to make it longer lasting as always. I use this with a MAC 187 brush and I use 1 to 1 1/2 pump and it covers my entire face and neck (if needed) very nicely!! Great for any skin type as this is not greasy or oily. It has a liquid gel like texture and I love it!! Highly Reccommend!! :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jodhika1 on 11/21/2011 11:48:00 AM more reviews by jodhika1

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Black    

COLOUR: I got the one in #170. For shade reference, I wear Bobbi Brown's Foundation stick in Warm Honey, which matches me pretty well. In MAC, i'm probably NC44 as NC45 is too orange, and NC42 is too light. MUFE 170 is darker than the Bobbi Brown foundation, but lighter than MAC NC45 moisturecover concealer. It has a definite orange undertone to it, which I think they call caramel. But not as orange as MC's NC45.
TEXTURE: Amazing, somewhere between gel and liquid. The particles are so fine that when you apply it and take photos, it gives you an airbrush/blur effect. Fantastic.
PHOTOGRAPHY: Fantastic blurring of pores, no ashiness or grey/white cast on face. However, i have to say Bobbi Brown's foundation stick photographs better.
LASTING POWER: Quite long. It sets to a matte finish, so you don't need a setting powder. If you do set it, then it'd probbaly last longer. I don't. And i'm the kind that touches/rubs her face constantly. It held up pretty well to all of my rubbing and smearing. Hah.
PACKAGING: Pump is great, bottle is classy. What more do you want man.
PRICE: I got it in Sephora Singapore for a RIDICULOUS DAYLIGHT ROBBERY price of S$78, which is equal to US$60. If your jaw just dropped, imagine my pain. For that price, you get the same amount of product as say Revlon Colorstay. WHile the price is ridiculously jacked up here, if you buy this in the US or online, its probably worth it.
EDIT: I notice that Bobbi Brown's Warm Honey stick is yellower than this. If you have heavy yellow undertones to your skin, this might not be the color for you. As it is, it oxidises to a shade darker/oranger than my skintone. Taking another lippie off for this. I had tried 153 earlier and it was yellow, but too light. MUFE needs to expand their shade range. Or allow custom-mixing of colours when we buy, given the ridiculous price.

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 yaisan3 on 11/20/2011 7:15:00 PM more reviews by yaisan3

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Things you SHOULD know:

1. Medium Coverage (feels light on your face)
2. Dewy (NOT Oily, but more of a glow)
3. Lasts more than 8 hours (Provided you add a translucent powder)

Cons:

1. Price (roughly forty dollars).
2. Can wear off easily (if you touch your face frequently).
3. Intended for light use. Too much of it can produce a cakey look.

My skin:

-Oily t-zone and dry patches around cheeks
-Redness near t-zone
-Several red acne scars
-Little to no acne (a few small zits once in a while)
-A bit of discoloration (face is noticeably whiter than neck/body)

With that being said, I purchased this product after having used Bare Escentuals for over 4 years. I'm NOT a fan of cakey, over the top make-up. I'm 23 (not 30-35) and I prefer a natural (effortless yet flawless) foundation with little blush, some eyeliner, and some mascara. I was looking for a foundation that looked as effortless as powder but provided an even looking skin with a good amount of coverage for my redness and scars. I should note that I bought this accidentally. I meant to buy Matte Velvet + (because it had amazing reviews online) but for some reason picked this one up instead. My luck! The irony is that I thought this foundation would make me look oily, given that it's liquid but my husband and friends have noted that it actually looks less oily than when I used powder foundation. I was also afraid that it would break me out (most drug store products and MAC make up give me acne) but it didn't. Contrary to what others have said, this foundation provides MEDIUM (not light) coverage (I wouldn't recommend it for someone who has heavy acne), and lasts a while! Keep in mind I don't EVER touch my face for fear of acne. I only put two coats on. One overall coat and another to cover certain spots. I find that applying it with my fingertips or a sponge is easiest. I keep a transluscent powder with me which I use to touch up here and there but the make up itself has in various instances lasted over 12 hours! I would recommend it for anyone who has combination skin, little zits, discoloration, redness and wants a natural effortless everyday look.
I LOVE IT! I will continue to use it. The only reason I gave it a 4 out of 5 is that I acknowledge that it will not work on everyone and it's bordering on the pricey side.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JenniBee on 11/20/2011 3:12:00 PM more reviews by JenniBee

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I splurged on this one, but I have trouble skin so need to get really quality foundations, this is fantastic! I would recommend this especially for dry/sensitive skin like me. I CAN see this being a problem for oily skin, since it isn't doesn't really matte on your face.
I am so excited that this brings some life and moisture back into my face, and the coverage is flawless. Only have to use very little of it too, even with problem skin, so looking forward to it lasting a long time.
I was out on the town and someone told me I was 'gorgeous' and I know it was just the foundation : )

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 miss_lolo on 11/20/2011 5:32:00 AM more reviews by miss_lolo

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

Amazing choice of colours - I think this is the first foundation I have bought that is a perfect fit. Goes on really easily after moisturiser and gives a medium finish which I love and looks really natural.

It looks great when it goes on but I find it doesn't make it through the day. By mid afternoon my face looks dry and dull. Such a shame as everything else about this foundation is perfect.

I'd use it if I was heading out for dinner but I wouldn't rely on it all day..

For the price I'd like this to make it through the afternoon!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Ney on 11/18/2011 9:48:00 PM more reviews by Ney

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

So I've heard a lot of good things about this foundation prior to me purchasing it. The main purpose that I actually bought this product for was for a wedding that I had to attend and I thought this would be a great way to test this product. It's a great product my pictures came out perfect and my face didn't look whiter than the rest of my body! I actually used it with the HD primer and it stayed on my face which was great! The only reason that I rated this product 3 is because I have fairly dry skin and whenever I put this product (even when I have moisturized my face) on it tends to look caked and kind of dries up my face. The coverage is also on the heavy side for me. I don't think I will ever replace my MAC Mineral Foundation for this one...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Make Up For Ever products

More Foundations products