Make Up For Ever HD High Definition Foundation [DISCONTINUED]

3.6

2291 reviews

57% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Aqua, Cyclopentasiloxane, Neopentyl Glycol Diethylhexanoate, Mica, talc, PEG-10 Dimenthicone, Biosaccharide Gum-1, Phenyl, Trimethicone, Sodium Chloride, Lauroyl Lysine, Dimenthicone Crosspolymer, Glyceryl Caprylate, Methylpropanediol, Butylene Glycol, Phenoxyethanol, Chlorphenesin, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Sodium Myristoyl Glutamate, Cyclohexacyloxane, Methylisothiazolinone, Sorbitan Sesquileate, Silver Oxide, Propylene, Carbonate, Parfum (fragrance), Methylparaben, Fagus Sylvatica Extract (Fagus Sylvatica Bud Extract), Hydrolyzed Yeast Protein, [+/- CI 77891 )titanium Dioxide), CI 77491 (Iron Oxides), CI 77499 (Iron Oxides).


on 4/1/2012 1:05:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I don't know where exactly I stand with this product. I read all the hype about it, and I thought I should at least try it. First of all, the colour range is quite excellent...so no complaints there. I have combination/oily skin and apparently this product is oil free so I considered it a product that was suitable for my skin tone. The first time I applied it, my skin did look very nice (when photographed). I noticed that my blemishes were a lot less apparent than before, my skin looked even and fairly matte, and I had very little shine. However, after the first application..I started to notice that the foundation would sort of 'hover' over my skin. And what I mean by this is, that it seemed like it would not blend into my skin. I don't think it was my application of it, because I would buff it in, and I started to notice shine throughout the day. I want to love this foundation because of all of the reviews, but I will probably only wear it when I need to be photographed due to its ability to look very nice on camera.



on 3/31/2012 8:05:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

reading all the reviews about this foundation i honestly thought it was gunna be hg for me totally wrong..i have acne prone skin so i have bee using bp and my skin is really flaky i thought this was going to help that but just in two hours of wearing this foundation it looks soo digusting it accentuates my dryness horrible foundation...going back to laura mercier i love their foundations specially silk creme


on 3/30/2012 11:02:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

There's SSSSSOOOOOOOOO much hype around this product it's crazy, so let's bring things down to earth a little bit shall we?

First with the positives, there's such a nice shade range so it's impossible to not find your shade. Sure it may take some work... but once you find it you won't be dissapointed with the color match!
Also the packaging is awesome, great pump and plastic bottle. The coverage isn't bad...definitely NOT a full coverage foundation although many claim it is. It's more light to KIND OF medium :p Which I guess isn't bad if that's what you're looking for.

Now the negatives! This stuff made me SO DARN OILY. I have oily skin to begin with, and man this stuff really made me look like an oil slick. Literally 15 to 20 minutes after I applied it, I was shiny as heck! So basically this stuff would slide off my face. I can't comment on how it works with a primer though since I used this foundation before I used primers. But i feel like for 42$ a foundation shouldn't slide off my face this quickly :p

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 3/30/2012 9:42:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Brown

Looks nice for awhile but doesn't stay in place on my skin & also rubs off a lot.


on 3/30/2012 8:56:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

love,love,love this foundation!!
It feels like I have nothing on.Its gives me a flawless finish & a nice dewy (not oily) glow that I like.
I personally havent had any problems with breakouts.

I was an avid MAC foundation user for years but got tired of the really heavy,cakey look MAC foundations tend to have...plus, I wanted to try something new & I definitely made the right choice with the MUFE foundation.Its a bit pricey but well worth the cost.


on 3/29/2012 10:24:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Omg, My Fav foundation ever! I usually never go for liquid but after ready so many goos revieww I went to sephora to try it out and as soon as I seen the finish I bought it! Love ittt!


on 3/29/2012 2:52:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Although this has a slightly powdery finish and does not last all day, I love that it is very buildable in terms of coverage, easy to blend and looks great in pictures. This is definitely my going out foundation.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This sadly made me very oily. I went to Sephora and when she applied it, I was not too sure because I usually use MAC, and for those of you who have used MAC, you know it goes on and covers very well (for a little while). Anyway, when I tried it in the store I wasn't sure if it gave me the coverage I wanted and then about an hour or two later I looked like a total oil slick.


on 3/27/2012 3:14:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I just received this foundation today , and I was very excited to use it , I've heard so many good reviews about it .But I was very disappointed, the coverage is not all that, and I dont have any acne or scars ( the foundation i bought for $5 once covered better) its completely waste of money and not worth it at all .False advertisement .Will not buy again.


on 3/25/2012 9:51:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

My only regret is not trying this sooner. I am very hard to please when it comes to foundations. I have tried every high end brand and recently I was using La prairie skin caviar foundation which i thought was the best. (even though it was causing occasional breakouts).
I never even considered using a foundation under a 100 dollars thinking it couldn't compete when it comes to texture. I was so wrong.
I also purchased the Cle de peau silky cream foundation for a 120 and to justify my purchase I was convincing myself that the thick cakey look is ok. This HD foundation gives you good coverage while looking natural. If I try to get this coverage with La praire or Cle de peau I will look like I have masked my whole face. I am so happy with this HD.
Only if I tried sooner I would have saved hundreds of dollars....
I am using 117 and this is perfect for asians who tend to have a bit of redness.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top