Make Up For Ever • HD High Definition Foundation • Foundations

rated 3.6(2086 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 Candace8592 on 10/16/2011 9:19:00 PM more reviews by Candace8592

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I gave thsi a 4 for two reasons. One is that despite the amazing color selection even the lightest shade is a tad too dark for me and I have to mix this with another lighter foundation from a different brand. Also the price, it's expensive. if you can get around that though it's the best foundation I have ever used. It makes acne scarring basically disspear and really looks flawlesss on lasting all day. I would reccomend it to others but I will only repurchase it in the summer since I will be dark enough to use it :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Kedb27 on 10/16/2011 12:10:00 AM more reviews by Kedb27

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Perfect for summer!! It is a light foundation, specifically designed for HD cameras and film, so don't expect thick and heavy coverage foundation (such as Mac). I love this because it literally just feels like your wearing nothing. In summer, i plan to use only one layer. For now I'm using one layer, but to build a little more colour and coverage I apply a 2nd layer on the centre of my forehead, nose, chin and under eye area. It is impossible to use too much because it is very light. Better coverage and staying power than a tinted moisturizer and light enough to look like you don't have foundation on :) just great skin... perfect!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bridget12xo on 10/14/2011 1:44:00 AM more reviews by bridget12xo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

My favorite foundation thus far! I am a tinted moisturizer lover, but I needed something with more coverage for special occasions and to cover acne scars in photographs, etc. This foundation is amazing for people who don't want the caked-with-foundation look. It leaves skin smooth and glowy, not too matte or cakey. It has good coverage and is buildable. I usually put just one thin layer all over my face and another thin layer over zits and acne scars, and I don't even need concealer! The color I have runs a tad too yellow for me and the colors were kind of difficult to decide between with the lighting in my Sephora, but I did notice that had a good selection of shades.
Pros:
-not cakey
-leaves skin smooth and glowing
-good range of shades
-photographs well
-natural looking
Cons
-expensive ($40+)
-runs yellow

Give this a try if you want a natural but better look!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 PrButtrcup on 10/14/2011 1:31:00 AM more reviews by PrButtrcup

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this foundation. I have dry skin and it does not emphasize dryness or settle into little lines. I also have freckles and melasma (from pregnancies) and it evens out my skin without looking heavy. I use a foundation brush to apply and it blends perfectly.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Mrs15Heb on 10/12/2011 6:35:00 PM more reviews by Mrs15Heb

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Pros:
1. Feels like velvet on your HAND.
2. Somewhat easy to find a color match if you get matched at Sephora.

Cons:
1. $40 US
2. Sits in fine lines and wrinkles even with an anti-aging (RoC), anti-wrinkle (FusionBeauty), or anti-pore (2Faced Primed and Poreless) primer
3. NEVER SETS ON THE SKIN - STAYS WET ALL DAY even on me with dry skin... From when I applied in the morning to when I removed at night, after having set with HD microfinishing powder ($30 US and I do love that product).. it was wet.. I wiped my finger across my forehead b/c it was glistening... and foundation just came right off... So disgusting.
4. You will look like grease all day and it is not flattering.... although the perfect parts of my face looked nice like my cheeks, my forehead has small wrinkles/cracks in it and i'm not that old.. the foundation sunk right in no matter how I applied, with my fingers, foundation brush, stippling brush....
5. Slides off zits during application...doesn't cover.. and I did shake the bottle.. i didn't use too much at first and then tried to builld and the interaction b/w the foundation and MUFE's 5 pan concealer palette was a greasy mess... Turns out the concealer worked fine w/o the foundation ne where near it.

GOOD LUCK WITH THIS GIRLS but if I were you I'd go get some Revlon Colorstay and see how that compares to ne other foundations you've tried. SPF only 6.. doesn't interfere with pictures.. in fact, when I wear that I get the most compliments about my skin and don't need concealer, it looks the most natural when gently swirled on with a stippling brush.. I'm returning the MUFE HD, wearing my Revlon in the meantime, and exchanging for Tarte Amazonian Clay Full Coverage SPF 15.. much better ratings, wider variety of people like it and that one sounds more believable to me than the hype with the HD!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 joygasmxd on 10/11/2011 1:54:00 AM more reviews by joygasmxd

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

My HG. I'm used to using MAC foundations which tend to be very thick and dry really chalky, but this happens to be very light weight. My absolute favorite foundation by far.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* raspberrysorceress on 10/8/2011 8:04:00 AM more reviews by raspberrysorceress

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I really like this foundation, but I can't get past the fact that their lightest skin-shade 110 is considerably too dark and too pink on me. If there was a lighter, more neutral shade, this would be SO much better. This foundation leaves your skin looking flawless and it photographs so beautifully - your skin looking luminous and infallible. It blends seamlessly into the skin, and what I love most is that it's so lightweight yet it conceals imperfections so discreetly that you're left wondering how on earth it does it! It's not heavy whatsoever, yet it's extremely natural looking. It stays on the skin for a good length of time and requires minimal touch ups throughout. Living in Australia, I had to purchase this online which was a bit annoying. Bring MUFE here, please!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ashergill on 10/6/2011 11:20:00 PM more reviews by ashergill

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I ended up getting another foundation of course it wasn't needed but winter is coming around and though I love my nars sheer matte I wanted something a little thicker to test out. Getting matched is always a pain in the butt I was matched to 5 shades before so I was really hoping the mua at sephora today was different and could find my match easily and she did first swipe and I was set. I am a golden olive color year around and was matched to 153 golden honey. The foundation sinks into the skin and without any primer my face was flawless for 6 hours little if any oil. MUFE is the perfect foundation for pictures gives the impression of flawless skin and I think I am going to hold on to this for the rest of the season.

update: this is most definitely my hg foundation! I wore this today with primer and it lasted me a good 10+ hr day and you wouldn't believe how many people commented on my face today from telling me "there's something different can't put my finger on it but you look prettier than normal" to picky girls who never compliment telling me how great my makeup looked and asking what product I used to give me that luminous glow. If you find your match in this foundation get it! I don't use more than a tiny squeeze on my finger that I apply with a brush and it covers my face. I have a 2 faded acne scars on my chin and 2 on my left cheek and with one swipe they vanish albeit temporarily lol. I also have combination skin that is somewhat sensitive I was worried this might break me out but it hasn't and I don't think it will either =). Finally the search is over!!

**update2
Ive had this for probably a year nearly or so and in terms of color this is the most perfect match ive come across in my neverending search for the perfect foundation. However, the formula is no longer to my liking its drying and emphasizes dry patches or at least it does for my skin during the winter months.I am looking for another foundation that can give me this color but provide a dewy sheen.*fingers crossed* for tom ford..

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 janetchan216 on 10/5/2011 11:40:00 PM more reviews by janetchan216

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

After the ladies at the counter gave me and my 2 friends a makeover, we each bought a primer and a bottle of this foundation, which came to $100+!!! It's a HUGE amount of money for university students, so it hurt even more to find out after wearing it a handful of times that this foundation breaks me out a lot by the end of the day.

It looked so flawless when the lady put it on my face. All of our reactions was "Wow~~!!" when we saw each other having the foundation applied. The coverage was quite heavy I find, and it was a bit too pink for my skin tone.

But guess what? All 3 of us stopped using this foundation after a few applications! If only I can write a review for 3! Not to mention we all have different skin types but all have the same reactions. I tried to give it to my cousin who has similar skin tone, but she wasn't so sure. My friend tried to give it to her mom, but her mom didn't like it either!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 kisstheradio on 10/4/2011 2:39:00 PM more reviews by kisstheradio

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I used this foundation for a few months, and while I liked the natural look it gave me, I ended up switching to something else because HD foundation just didn't last on me. It would slip and slide over time on my oily skin, and it didn't wear very well. In addition, I feel like this is a very light coverage foundation, and typically, I like something with a little more coverage. It's unlikely that I'll buy this again (especially considering the price here in Canada).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Make Up For Ever products

More Foundations products