Make Up For Ever • HD High Definition Foundation • Foundations

rated 3.6(2178 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 Lobbery on 1/15/2012 11:09:00 AM more reviews by Lobbery

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I initially tried this foundation years ago in the summer when my skin was oily. I found it had very poor coverage and sunk into my pores and didn't help with my shine.

Last month I got a sample of it when buying their Liquid Lift Foundation to give it another try since it's winter and my skin is quite dry and patchy.

Same thing; sunk into my pores, little coverage and now that I'm dry it really showed up my dry parts.

I'll give them one thing, they have a great color selection but I really don't understand the hype at all.

Sure wish it looked on me the way it does on the girl in the untouched promos !

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 eimearsg on 1/15/2012 11:00:00 AM more reviews by eimearsg

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

i love this foundation! the finish is beautiful and the coverage is perfect, (medium but very build-able) i have it in the shade 127. once its applied, my skin looks totally flawless ! it really doesnt even feel like im wearing any makeup what so ever ! probably my main reason why i love it so so much! however i do have one little problem with this foundation and that is the staying power ! after about 3-4 hours i do see a little bit of shine, and tbh my skin isnt even oily so this kind of bothers me as i hate touching up my makeup when im out ! sooo annoying !!! the shine isnt really that bad i guess, it kind of just looks more dewy, but i tend to like a more matte foundation! this is my only problem with this foundation and it does not bother me that much, i suppose because the finish and overall look is sooo amazing i dont mind touching up every now and then ! overall i would recomend this to girls with normal to dry skin, if your skin is oily i would deffo tell you to use a mattifying primer and set it with a powder etc !

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 tworth34 on 1/11/2012 9:03:00 PM more reviews by tworth34

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

This foundation is um... interesting.
I absolutely love the texture, and it glides on my skin so smoothly without the help of a face primer. I'd say it's a good medium coverage, I almost barely need concealer (and I have acne scars and a bad skin complexion). It also gave my face a natural glow that doesn't look oily. And the finish is very natural looking. Oh, and my color matched perfectly and I have very light skin so that was a plus.


Now.. the reason why I probably wouldn't purchase this product again despite everything that's good about it.. is because it splits apart within atleast 5 hours, and gets SUPER oily looking. Like.. it's pretty bad. If I don't want it splitting apart I really have to pack on the powder which is fine by me, but the less makeup I have to go through, the better. I'd honestly rather put up with a so-so foundation that lasts all day rather than a good one that lasts a couple hours.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ericaXo on 1/8/2012 7:00:00 PM more reviews by ericaXo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Hazel    

Pros:
- GREAT color selection. This is the first foundation I have found that actually fits my fair skin without being to pink
- Silky texture
- Good coverage
- Weightless on the skin

Cons:
- Expensive
- Not good for oily skin

I have combination skin that leans more dry in the winter (for reference) The first few hours of wear is amazing, my skin really does look flawless. After about 6 hours I do notice some shine on my nose and forehead, but nothing major. To me its not a big deal to just touch up with some powder, it fixes the problem. I don't feel like you get a dewy finish with this foundation initially, but definitely at the end of the day it appears more dewy. There are a lot of negative reviews, but that because this foundation will not be good if you have oily skin. Use a good primer, set with powder. If your unsure of how it will work for you, ask the SA at sephora to give you a free sample, that's what I did.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 flowerlover on 1/8/2012 2:00:00 PM more reviews by flowerlover

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Not worth the money. Nice feel going on but doesn't look better on me that other foundations I have tried. No moist look on my dry face.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 cahall2 on 1/7/2012 6:11:00 PM more reviews by cahall2

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This was recommended my the SA at Sephora, and it hasn't worked well for me. My skin is combination, but tends toward dry. The texture and application of the foundation was great, and in the first 15 minutes after application it looked good. BUT it started to break apart on my skin after only about an hour - I have honestly never seen my skin look so oily! I don't know how this product does this, but it makes my skin look as greasy as a 17 year old kid working all day over a french fryer!
The product is buildable, which is nice, and they seem to have a good color selection (I'm usually pretty difficult to match). If this happens to work well with your skin type, I could see it being a nice product, but it definitely was not for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 silvia85 on 1/7/2012 3:19:00 PM more reviews by silvia85

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

A good foundation, but nothing worth the hype. I love it because of the colour match and silky texture. However, the coverage and staying power are very weak for such a pricey foundation and - although the colour is quite right for me - it makes my skill dull and not healthy looking.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Jeni0874 on 1/7/2012 9:07:00 AM more reviews by Jeni0874

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I love this stuff! Yes it's expensive, but I only use a tiny bit at a time so it lasts a good while. It gives my fair skin a much-needed boost by evening it out and giving it a soft glow. It's fine for every day use, but I especially love to use it when I'm going out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jenanasaurusrex on 1/6/2012 9:58:00 PM more reviews by jenanasaurusrex

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I think the consistency is really nice, but it has hardly any coverage (for me at least). Definitely not my favorite, especially for the price. I'm in the lightest color and I have a ton of rosacea on my cheeks. After I use this, I have to pile on the concealer. Not my favorite thing to do.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 allthatglimmers on 1/5/2012 7:34:00 PM more reviews by allthatglimmers

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love this product!! It gives me a flawless look even though I have a couple bumps on my forehead this foundation gave my skin a flawless glow even with the little bumps! It covers up redness good and you can chose whether you want more coverage with building or sheer coverage but even with the sheer coverage you still have that look to you. Such as my cheeks don't really break out and they are lighter than my forehead and chin so this evens out my skin tone and it leaves my cheeks super soft! This doesn't make me break out I have the perfect shade and it works great! Love this STUFF but it's expensive so BareEscentuals it is on a regular day.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Make Up For Ever products

More Foundations products