Make Up For Ever • HD High Definition Foundation • Foundations

rated 3.6(2190 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 DizzyNicky on 1/23/2012 11:54:00 PM more reviews by DizzyNicky

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have to say, I think this is my favorite liquid foundation of all time. I gave it a try because I heard it was the brand Kim K. uses (don't judge). The color selection is good, I found a great match for my skin. It feels light on your skin, the coverage is medium to full (buildable) and it doesn't bother my sensitive skin. There is no odor like with MAC Studio Fix or Revlon ColorStay. Its pricey at $40 a bottle, so I rotate in in with my other foundations. It lives up to the hype but there are other great foundations out there so as I said, I rotate it in with my other foundations.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BatFat on 1/23/2012 3:50:00 PM more reviews by BatFat

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this because of the hype surrounding it. Have been using it on and off, here and there, for about a year now. I honestly don't get the hype. It has medium coverage...doesn't me look marvelous in photos...I don't really get it.

For a foundation, I just think it does what it's supposed to do. No hype needed. I think the packaging is great, I love the pump. I got a decent match for my skin tone so that's nice too. However....$40? I could get the same results elsewhere for less money.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 anakala8 on 1/21/2012 7:40:00 PM more reviews by anakala8

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I really love this foundation! As of now, its my favorite one. I usually wear this on special occasions because its pretty expensive. $40... However, I think its worth it. Or at least try it out. The first time I went to sephora, they were sold out of my shade. So they gave me a sample size from the tester (along with a sample of the primer and the hd powder). Which was nice because I get to actually test it out before purchasing it.I loved it so much I eventually went back and bought a full size of the primer and the foundation. My best friend loves it too.

The shade #127 is a perfect match for me. I tried three shades and this one just simply disappered. It covers blemeshes pretty well. Its oil-free and it doesn't break me out. It doesn't have any SPF, which is great for photos. It has a pump which is very helpful! Be careful, cause the pump is removable and I didn't know that....and some of my foundation spilled because the pump was a tad loose.
I usually squirt about 1 and 1/2 pumps (maybe two) and it covers my whole face and neck. It has a matte finish...and I would say it lasts for most of the day, I would recommend setting it with a powder. Any kind of powder...drugstore or high end... I didn't buy the MUFE HD powder, but like I said before.... I bought the MUFE HD primer in Neutral(#0). Which also helps make the foundation last.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 uponbluemoon on 1/20/2012 4:17:00 PM more reviews by uponbluemoon

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I used to reach for this all the time if I'm going out at night. It provides a long-lasting matte finish even in the hottest clubs. It's definitely a thicker coverage than I normally wear.

Recently I've realized that the shade I use (118) is just a tiny bit too dark for me and I can't seem to find one that's just right. Until I find the right shade, I'll have to say goodbye to this foundation :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 elambie on 1/19/2012 9:16:00 PM more reviews by elambie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I recently got a sample of this product from Sephora along with the Matte Velvet foundation because I was unsure of which one I was going to want. The shade 115 matches me perfectly, even though I have yellow undertones (maybe the SA labeled it wrong..??). The coverage is medium, which is exactly what I wanted. Even though I have slight acne scarring from my teen years, the foundation evens out my skintone and covers the scars well enough to where I need very little concealer on top. It hasn't broken me out and stays really well over the course of the day. Granted, I've only worn this during the winter when my skin is normal type, so I'm curious to see how this holds up during the summer when I'm oily and sweaty. Either way, this is a fantastic foundation for myself in the winter!! Definitely recommend.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 milkypaw on 1/18/2012 7:21:00 PM more reviews by milkypaw

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

i was attracted to this foundation because it was oil-free & because it has a huge range of colors. after consulting with a sephora 'artist', i bought this foundation in 117. well, that was a mistake because the color was totally off. it made my face orange. i do, however, think that this foundation is great. the texture is lovely, it didn't feel heavy on my face, & it didn't damage my skin.
i didn't like that this foundation seemed to emphasize the dryness on my forehead.
it's also very pricey, at $40 a bottle. just because i had a bad experience with the color, i don't think i'd be willing to risk wasting my money again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 belovedhope on 1/17/2012 9:19:00 PM more reviews by belovedhope

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Not in love with this stuff. It didn't offer as much coverage as I hoped for, and it didn't seem to do much to enhance my complexion except my pores. However, the color range is wonderful-I was matched with 153 (medium skin with olive undertones). I haven't tried much makeup at this price level, but I am assuming there are better options out there for me. Won't be buying this one again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 qubanmaggot on 1/17/2012 8:48:00 PM more reviews by qubanmaggot

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm NC25 and #123 is perfect on me. I just tried it on today and my boyfriend said I had a doll-face look and it looked made-up in a very nice way. I felt super confident on campus. I loved the feel of it on my face. I just wish it was $20 dollars less. I never really tried liquid foundation before but this makes me want to look for a cheaper alternative. I love the pump on the bottle too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jjonesjj on 1/17/2012 3:49:00 PM more reviews by jjonesjj

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Not a good foundation for dry skin. Dry patches are emphasized to the fullest - even with a moisturizer and primer. I believe, as other reviewers have pointed out, this is due to the silicon (dimethicone) in the product. The visual effect is very similar to Smashbox Photo Finish (which I also think is unsuitable for dry skin) only with pigment.

That being said, the huge selection of shades is excellent. I have not found another foundation that matched my skin tone so perfectly. I am asian with not quite pale, but light, skin coloring and yellow undertones.

I wouldn't recommend this product for others with dry skin, but if you have normal skin with minimal redness or discoloration, this product would probably be great for you. I say minimal because the coverage is only slightly more than that of a tinted moisturizer.

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 jlzubiri on 1/16/2012 11:06:00 AM more reviews by jlzubiri

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

Ok so I got sucked in from all the "rave" youtube reviews about this foundation and decided to try it. Also I think the sales people at Sephora are told to push this product because they were all over me telling me this is the best foundation. I paid 80$ for the package of primer, powder and my foundation match.....which I truly regret now. I don't mind paying a little more for a great foundation but this is nothing special.

I think it is just a mediocre foundation...it has ok coverage and doesnt stay on that long. It does not give you an airbrushed look..it kind of sinks into your pores and can look blotchy after a couple hours and my skin is not oily at all.

If you want a little more coverage and a much better foundation Revlon colorstay is my HG and rivals over this foundation by lightyears. I would not buy HD again and just use it now for running to the grocery store or classetc.. and just trying to get my moneys worth out of it

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Make Up For Ever products

More Foundations products