Philosophy Hope in a Jar - for all skin types

2.8

1697 reviews

39% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water (Aqua), Lauryl Lactate, Behenic Acid, behenoxy Dimethicone, Glyceryl stearate Se, Glycerin, Behenyl Alcohol, Pentaerythrityl Tetracaprylate/Tetracaprate, Cyclopentasiloxane, Tocopheryl Acetate, Benzyl Alcohol, Retinyl Palmitate, Cyclohexasiloxane, Stearic Acid, Panthenol, Beta Glucan, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Oil, Xanthan Gum, Triethanolamine, Propylene Glycol, Geraniol, Limonene, Linalool, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Diazolidinyl Urea


on 1/19/2009 6:58:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I got this as a deluxe sample from Sephora what a waste. I am glad I did not spend money on this its way too expensive. It is just okay I have used better drugstore products and I have a drugstore phobia. Anyway this did not moisturize enough My skin feels soft but I would like more moisture for my dry spots if I put this too close to my eyes it burns. I don't like the smell either.



on 1/17/2009 6:16:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

i absolutely love this moisturizer. i just switched from hope in a bottle which made me skin dry out. i love how a little goes a long way with this moisturizer so the price is pretty reasonable. i really dont find anything horrifying about this scent but then again we all have different opinions about that topic... overall, this moisturizer makes my skin very smooth and definitely gave me a healthy glow with exended use.


on 1/15/2009 6:50:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Grey, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I agree with the comments about a strong lavender scent and a tingling/burning sensation sometimes. I also smell a black licorice scent (or the liquor that smells like licorice; I can't remember it's name, but it smells nasty to me). Most of the scent fades within minutes of application, but I do get an occasional whiff of it still an hour or so later and it's not great. I like the scent of lavender but this is just too much for me. I do not find this product soothing to my skin and I don't like how it goes from a great whipped consistency in the jar to watery on skin contact.


on 1/14/2009 10:39:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I really hate to down a product, but I got a sample of this product hoping some of these reviews were wrong. Well, they were right! How this product got out of the lab I will never know. The smell is so bad that it seems almost dangerous. I have dry skin and I could not see it helping it at all. I love some of Philosophies products, but not this one!! Nuff said.


on 1/14/2009 10:33:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

The stench of this product is horrendous. I can't see how people can either like the scent, or worse, can't really smell anything. YUCK! The "fumes" from this made my eyes burn. It was like the stink got stuck behind my glasses. Also, the odor lingers. I really didn't find it very moisturizing. Way too expensive for what it does. Terrible jar packaging. After about a week, I had HUGE cystic breakouts like I'd never seen before. This is definitely one of those products that you either love or hate. And me, I HATE it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/14/2009 10:19:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

THIS PRODUCT SMELLS!!!

my bf doesn't want to go near me when I have it on.... (hehe) and I don't blame him, I can't stand the smell.

EDIT: Wow, after I wore this twice via samples, my face / skin never felt so good! I'll put up with the awful smell to have skin like that again!


on 1/14/2009 11:19:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I guess i am quite the minority here...

I switched over to Hope in a Jar from the Clinique Dramatically Different Moisturizing Lotion a few weeks ago.. I had uneven skin tone and moderate breakouts on my forehead, chin, and jawline while using the Clinique (and also BE which i stopped using - a whole different story - my skin HATES it). Now I can honestly say that that has all changed! The HIAJ does have a funky smell to it but i don't even notice it all that much anymore. It has an amazing texture and soaks in very quickly and easily. Since using it my skin has never looked better.. very very minor breakouts here and there, my skin tone has drastically improved, and it has made my combination skin normal again! This is definitely a new staple of mine.. will be buying again as soon as my jar runs out!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/11/2009 11:03:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I don't really notice a strong scent with this- a faint one, but not anything too noticeable, and I'm usually very sensitive to scents. I like that I'm not allergic to this - my rosacea skin tolerates it just fine. I don't think it really does anything "extra" - its just a good, light, moisturizer for day or night. Not greasy at all, and sinks in quickly so I can put my makeup on and be out the door.


on 1/11/2009 12:22:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I agreed with the previous comment that it smells awful, it has a strong herbal smell. I got it as sample from Sephora, I don't think I will buy it in full size.


on 1/10/2009 12:45:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

this smells AWFUL! i recieved it as a sample gift from sephora. i chose this over three other options because i had heard so many good things about it. i was so shocked by the smell because it seems it gets lots of raves and good reviews. the smell is this overpowering plastic, almost like melted hot glue. smells very artificial and very strong. as soon as i put it to my skin and got a wif of it, i washed my face immediately. my cat was on my vanity and even gagged..


Popular Moisturizers


Moisturizing Cream
1266 Reviews
Strobe Cream
433 Reviews
Sweet Almond Oil
197 Reviews
Back to Top