Philosophy Hope in a Jar - for all skin types

2.8

1701 reviews

38% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water (Aqua), Lauryl Lactate, Behenic Acid, behenoxy Dimethicone, Glyceryl stearate Se, Glycerin, Behenyl Alcohol, Pentaerythrityl Tetracaprylate/Tetracaprate, Cyclopentasiloxane, Tocopheryl Acetate, Benzyl Alcohol, Retinyl Palmitate, Cyclohexasiloxane, Stearic Acid, Panthenol, Beta Glucan, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Oil, Xanthan Gum, Triethanolamine, Propylene Glycol, Geraniol, Limonene, Linalool, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Diazolidinyl Urea


on 1/24/2009 6:50:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

While some don't like the scent of this product, I find it kind of clean and synthetic smelling (which I like). Anyway, within a minute the scent goes away. Even though this is a cream, it is lightweight and fluffy. A little goes a long way and it exfoliates my skin gently. Every time I try something else, I always come back to my old standby, Hope I A Jar.



on 1/24/2009 1:50:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I received a sample of this from Macy's and I'm soooo glad I have never paid money for it because the stink is so overwhelming it made me literally gag! I had to wash my face again after putting it on because I could not take the stench. Then I sprayed perfume on by the gallon to help mask the toxic cloud this product left behind. Seriously, do people actually pay money for this stuff? I can't even describe how awful the smell is.....sort of like old, rotten fish, sweaty shoes, sour milk and bad litterbox. If you're tempted to buy this product, go stick your face in the dumpster behind McDonald's and save your money. You'll get the same effect.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/23/2009 6:31:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Holy nightmere, the smell!!! Ugh, almost washed my face again after putting this on. It was an ok hydrator, not great. This was a Sephora sample and thank goodness for that. I thought I'd give it a fair try for a few days but I just can't do it. The smell is is so overwhelming, I can't explain it. Will never buy this.


on 1/21/2009 6:07:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Tan, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Like some other reviewers, I received this as a Beauty Insider gift at Sephora. All I can say is, THANK GOODNESS it was a sample and I didn't have to pay for it. The light, whipped texture is actually nice, and it does a decent job of hydrating my skin. But I just can't get past the SMELL! For starters, I absolutely can not stand the scent of lavender, and Hope in a Jar just overwhelms me with it. It literally turns my stomach.

Once, while in Nordstrom, I was walking past the Philosophy counter and got into some small talk with the sales rep. I told her I HATED the smell of Hope in a Jar, and she agreed! She said it smelled like fish. It's pretty bad if even the sales lady can't get behind the product. Not to mention, HIAJ is kinda on the expensive side. I would never buy this.


on 1/19/2009 6:58:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I got this as a deluxe sample from Sephora what a waste. I am glad I did not spend money on this its way too expensive. It is just okay I have used better drugstore products and I have a drugstore phobia. Anyway this did not moisturize enough My skin feels soft but I would like more moisture for my dry spots if I put this too close to my eyes it burns. I don't like the smell either.


on 1/17/2009 6:16:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

i absolutely love this moisturizer. i just switched from hope in a bottle which made me skin dry out. i love how a little goes a long way with this moisturizer so the price is pretty reasonable. i really dont find anything horrifying about this scent but then again we all have different opinions about that topic... overall, this moisturizer makes my skin very smooth and definitely gave me a healthy glow with exended use.


on 1/15/2009 6:50:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Grey, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I agree with the comments about a strong lavender scent and a tingling/burning sensation sometimes. I also smell a black licorice scent (or the liquor that smells like licorice; I can't remember it's name, but it smells nasty to me). Most of the scent fades within minutes of application, but I do get an occasional whiff of it still an hour or so later and it's not great. I like the scent of lavender but this is just too much for me. I do not find this product soothing to my skin and I don't like how it goes from a great whipped consistency in the jar to watery on skin contact.


on 1/14/2009 10:39:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I really hate to down a product, but I got a sample of this product hoping some of these reviews were wrong. Well, they were right! How this product got out of the lab I will never know. The smell is so bad that it seems almost dangerous. I have dry skin and I could not see it helping it at all. I love some of Philosophies products, but not this one!! Nuff said.


on 1/14/2009 10:33:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

The stench of this product is horrendous. I can't see how people can either like the scent, or worse, can't really smell anything. YUCK! The "fumes" from this made my eyes burn. It was like the stink got stuck behind my glasses. Also, the odor lingers. I really didn't find it very moisturizing. Way too expensive for what it does. Terrible jar packaging. After about a week, I had HUGE cystic breakouts like I'd never seen before. This is definitely one of those products that you either love or hate. And me, I HATE it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/14/2009 10:19:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

THIS PRODUCT SMELLS!!!

my bf doesn't want to go near me when I have it on.... (hehe) and I don't blame him, I can't stand the smell.

EDIT: Wow, after I wore this twice via samples, my face / skin never felt so good! I'll put up with the awful smell to have skin like that again!


Back to Top