Philosophy • Hope in a Jar - for all skin types • Moisturizers

rated 2.8(1664 reviews)

Average Rating.2.8
Would buy this product again.39%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 eunice866 on 12/17/2008 11:46:00 PM more reviews by eunice866

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have found my HG moisturizer! I use this morning and night, and it is perfect for my dry combination skin. I use it in all seasons (summer AND winter) - that is how versatile it is! It has an extremely lightweight, whipped-like feeling, so it never feels greasy, but somehow is extremely hydrating. A little goes a long way with this product, so it will last you a while. I am on my second jar, and plan on sticking with this for a long time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pootiebear1031 on 12/17/2008 7:36:00 PM more reviews by pootiebear1031

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I received a sample of Hope in a Jar when I ordered a 32 oz bottle of Amazing Grace 3 in 1 from QVC. I decided to try the moisturizer because I am always up for trying something new. The texture of this moisturizer is kind of thick and it is also sticky. I really did not like the feel of this moisturizer on my face. Also the smell is awful!!!! I like to use facial cleansers and moisturizers that have a pleasant scent and the Hope in a Jar moisturizer does not have that at all. Also after I applied the moisturizer to my face my hands were left feeling sticky as well so I had to wash my hands. I really don't understand why this moisturizer is so popular but I know I will not buy this moisturizer. I am lucky that I had the sample and did not waste my money on this product. I will stick to my Kinara Lemon Eucalyptus moisturizer. It is light and has a nice lemon scent.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Fashionopolist on 12/16/2008 5:49:00 PM more reviews by Fashionopolist

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I really like this moisturizer but I don't love it. I've used it on and off for about two years now. I prefer it in the summer because it's not heavy. It gives my skin a fresh glow and leaves my complexion smooth. I need something more moisturizing for the winter though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tootswoots on 12/16/2008 1:58:00 AM more reviews by tootswoots

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

wow, that was horrible. tonight i ran out of regular night cream so i looked in to my samples bag, pulled out this HIAJ and put it on. It was on for about five minutes before i had to wash it off my face. It really did smell like it had gone rotten. very weird. Only after putting it on did I look did i read the MUA reviews. i'm not sure how well or not it works but it smells bad enough i threw away the sample. I didn't even want to use it on my legs.. (that's saying something cause i hate to waste!)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 RMulieri on 12/15/2008 4:52:00 PM more reviews by RMulieri

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I really wanted to like this product.Unfortunately, it broke me out and made my face look like an oil slick which is pretty hard to do since I have very dry skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 tanjan2 on 12/14/2008 5:17:00 PM more reviews by tanjan2

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Disappointed. That's really the take home message here. This moisturizer made my skin break out, and while I was wearing it, the stuff just felt like a sticky, gross mess on my face. It also has a very unpleasant smell. Will never repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 evaglam on 12/13/2008 11:39:00 AM more reviews by evaglam

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Made my skin feel greasy after a few hours. Didn't do much for dryness either. It gave me pimples too. Yuk.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 miskande on 12/12/2008 1:28:00 AM more reviews by miskande

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is honestly the worst moisturizer I've ever used. I received a sample of this from Sephora and couldn't even bear to go through the whole thing! It was way too oily for my normal / dry skin and clogged my pores, I even got white heads, which never ever happened to me before. It went straight to the rubbish bin. I will never purchase this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mazzly on 12/11/2008 2:54:00 PM more reviews by mazzly

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I've tried quite a few moisturizers from drug store bands to higher end, and this is by far the best. My skin has never looked better since I started using this product! The only thing I don't love about it is the smell. It doesn't smell horrible, but it's not the greatest scent out there. Definitely a must have product!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 celly on 12/6/2008 3:38:00 AM more reviews by celly

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

hated this. clogged my pores and made my skin all lumpy. i dont have senstive skin but this was way to rich for me. definitely would never repurchase, infact i only tried it as a sample and will never ever buy it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Philosophy products

More Moisturizers products