Philosophy • Hope in a Jar - for all skin types • Moisturizers

rated 2.8(1638 reviews)

Average Rating.2.8
Would buy this product again.39%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* belletrist9 on 11/8/2008 12:50:00 AM more reviews by belletrist9

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

A little bit of this moisturizer goes a really long way, however, it seemed like no matter how little I used, it still made my face look horribly greasy after an hour or so. The smell was quite strong, and it also pilled like crazy if you rubbed it too much. I didn't find that it acted as a very good primer for my makeup, but I was unable to use my BM primer because then the moisturizer would pill. It was really irritating brushing off little balls of moisturizer/primer and then picking the stubborn ones out of my makeup brush. Furthermore, I was not at all impressed with how it moisturized and it didn't do anything for my acne.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ouqtinvu on 11/7/2008 9:09:00 PM more reviews by ouqtinvu

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I really wanted to love this product. I have so much skin care from this company. I just can't get passed the smell - what is it? Lavander? WHY are they perfuming facial skin care products anyway? I'm going to finish it by using it on my forhead and neck - I just have to keep it away from my nose. Ridiculous. Will not buy again.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 jadedgirl on 11/6/2008 4:36:00 PM more reviews by jadedgirl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Black    

This cream was nice the first few days and then......... I broke out with bumps and pimples on my forehead! I was very disappointed and it smells funny! This one went right back to Sephora!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 melissa_k on 11/5/2008 1:34:00 PM more reviews by melissa_k

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I have mixed feelings about this product. First, as the name suggests, it comes in a jar, so you may or may not enjoy dipping your fingers into it. Second, it has kind of an odd scent. The fragrance wears off fairly quickly but it does not smell good to me. My skin feels soft and smooth from using this product but not especially moisturized. This is good in the humid summer when I don't need a lot of moisture but it is a little light for the winter months. I would probably repurchase this as a back up moisturizer or for the summer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 IntheFall on 11/4/2008 1:25:00 PM more reviews by IntheFall

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

This product is fantastic. I think it is a little overpriced but after continued use it has left my skin glowing. I think it takes a little time for the results to be seen. It's also light has a different texture than other moisturizers I've used. I used to use it all the time then switched and am back to using it again. I forgot what a wonderful moisturizer it is.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kams64 on 11/2/2008 9:48:00 PM more reviews by kams64

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I have to give my 2 cents here because of all the bad reviews. I really like this stuff! I like the whipped feel, and it sinks in quickly and makes my skin very clear and soft. The smell was weird at first but I actually like it now. A jar lasts a long time too. Obviously this doesn't work for everyone, but try a sample and give it a fair chance. I've used 3 jars of it now.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 rugbypeep on 11/2/2008 9:05:00 PM more reviews by rugbypeep

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I tried this at Sephora on the back of my hand and noticed it felt soft right away. I asked the girl if it would clog my pores. She said no due to the lactic acid it would actually clear my pores. Why do I always assume these sales girls know what they are talking about? I am about half way through my 0.5 and my pores are def clogged. I finally made the connection that it was the hope in a jar causing it. So i am going to use it on my hands.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Cinnabuns on 10/31/2008 3:44:00 PM more reviews by Cinnabuns

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is just average for a Philosophy product because I hold them to a higher esteem than other companies. Hope is a light moisturizing product, but you can actually feel it on your skin?!? I'm glad I only had a small jar of this so I could start using another product right away. Since there is no big thumbs up or thumbs down I'm not sure if I will purchase it again.
Update: 12-05-08 - I used this again and it gave my face a burning sensation!! WTF?!? It also smells rancid. I'm going to return it and ask if they have a sample that I can compare my jar with because maybe it had gone bad. That HAS to be it because I KNOW Philosophy would never let me dowm like this. :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 clare1976 on 10/31/2008 3:36:00 PM more reviews by clare1976

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love this moisturizer, and don't understand all the negative reviews it's been getting. It makes my complexion bright and glowing. I really notice the difference - when I don't use it, my skin looks dull and tired. I bought it because research I did said it was first developed for the medical field as a skin healing cream. That probably explains the slightly medicinal smell - although it also smells of lavender and I quite like it! The consistency is very thin and watery, and a little goes a long way. It also contains anti-oxidants, which is another reason I bought it. Can be expensive from shops, but I buy it cheaper on ebay for around 10 a jar, which isn't bad.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 myb222 on 10/31/2008 4:02:00 AM more reviews by myb222

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

When I first used this product, I thought I loved it. It moisturized and it was very lightweight. But then later realized that it wasn't all that. It makes my eyes water slightly when I first put it on. I use it sparingly now, it's defo not a good moisturizer for the winter months...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Philosophy products

More Moisturizers products