Philosophy • Hope in a Jar - for all skin types • Moisturizers

rated 2.8(1658 reviews)

Average Rating.2.8
Would buy this product again.39%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 evaglam on 12/13/2008 11:39:00 AM more reviews by evaglam

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Made my skin feel greasy after a few hours. Didn't do much for dryness either. It gave me pimples too. Yuk.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 miskande on 12/12/2008 1:28:00 AM more reviews by miskande

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is honestly the worst moisturizer I've ever used. I received a sample of this from Sephora and couldn't even bear to go through the whole thing! It was way too oily for my normal / dry skin and clogged my pores, I even got white heads, which never ever happened to me before. It went straight to the rubbish bin. I will never purchase this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mazzly on 12/11/2008 2:54:00 PM more reviews by mazzly

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I've tried quite a few moisturizers from drug store bands to higher end, and this is by far the best. My skin has never looked better since I started using this product! The only thing I don't love about it is the smell. It doesn't smell horrible, but it's not the greatest scent out there. Definitely a must have product!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 celly on 12/6/2008 3:38:00 AM more reviews by celly

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

hated this. clogged my pores and made my skin all lumpy. i dont have senstive skin but this was way to rich for me. definitely would never repurchase, infact i only tried it as a sample and will never ever buy it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 kelly8112 on 12/3/2008 1:46:00 AM more reviews by kelly8112

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I didn't like this product at all. I hated the consistency of the lotion. I found it very clumpy and had a hard time spreading it evenly over my face. I used it for over a month and it did nothing for skin. Would not repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 JennlovesRob on 12/2/2008 11:39:00 PM more reviews by JennlovesRob

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I wanted to try Hope in a Jar for the longest time and I received it as a gift. I heard so much hype about this product and I was really curious about. The texture is a little like whipped cream and when you place it on your skin it seems t o "melt" and leaves a shimmery look, that quickly does away. The smell I don't find at all offensive, like some people do. It's very much like lavender, so I guess if you don't like herbal or lavender like smells, stay away from this. The pro's about this product is that it keeps my skin smooth and it's great for after I do home chemical peels. The con for me is, that it's really not that great. It doesn't do anything really special, so for the price, it's just not worth it. I'd rather spend my money on a drugstore cream that works much better. Sadly, this is not for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dorkynerd on 12/1/2008 10:32:00 AM more reviews by dorkynerd

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Philosophy Hope in a Jar is a GREAT product. Speacially for people who have senstive skin. For the longest time, it was the only mositurizer I could use that wouldn't irrate my skin. (However, I have swtiched to Mark's For Goodness Face with SPF 30. WHICH IS AWESOME and half the price.) I think they could change the packaging. I would highly recommend a air tight pump! And this product is kinda pricey.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Tamathy on 11/28/2008 12:08:00 AM more reviews by Tamathy

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

Can't understand the appeal of this product. I tried it several times, and it broke me out every time-- not acne, either... little white bumps that took about a week to go away, like an allergic reaction or something. I've read through the reviews on this one here on MUA and on a few other sites, and many seem to experience breakouts/reactions to this. Get a sample if you must try this, and beware!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 sband201 on 11/24/2008 5:28:00 PM more reviews by sband201

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I don't mind the smell of this product and it is somewhat smoothing but I find that I break out using it. I normally don't break out very easily but something about it made my skin erupt, especially when I used it at night. Not good for my skintone-I wouldn't buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Joey2 on 11/23/2008 8:08:00 PM more reviews by Joey2

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This isn't a bad product and the smell isn't bad (lavender/herb fragrance). In fact, I would say the fragrance is very natural and the texture is fabulous - very whipped texture that turns watery on the skin. For my normal skin, it's fine for these drier winter months. My issue is that the fragrance makes my eyes water. I have incredibly sensitive eyes and the herbal notes cause issues. So, I won't buy the regular version again but would try the version for sensitive skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Philosophy products

More Moisturizers products