Philosophy Hope in a Jar - for all skin types

2.8

1691 reviews

39% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water (Aqua), Lauryl Lactate, Behenic Acid, behenoxy Dimethicone, Glyceryl stearate Se, Glycerin, Behenyl Alcohol, Pentaerythrityl Tetracaprylate/Tetracaprate, Cyclopentasiloxane, Tocopheryl Acetate, Benzyl Alcohol, Retinyl Palmitate, Cyclohexasiloxane, Stearic Acid, Panthenol, Beta Glucan, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Oil, Xanthan Gum, Triethanolamine, Propylene Glycol, Geraniol, Limonene, Linalool, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Diazolidinyl Urea


on 1/14/2009 11:19:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I guess i am quite the minority here...

I switched over to Hope in a Jar from the Clinique Dramatically Different Moisturizing Lotion a few weeks ago.. I had uneven skin tone and moderate breakouts on my forehead, chin, and jawline while using the Clinique (and also BE which i stopped using - a whole different story - my skin HATES it). Now I can honestly say that that has all changed! The HIAJ does have a funky smell to it but i don't even notice it all that much anymore. It has an amazing texture and soaks in very quickly and easily. Since using it my skin has never looked better.. very very minor breakouts here and there, my skin tone has drastically improved, and it has made my combination skin normal again! This is definitely a new staple of mine.. will be buying again as soon as my jar runs out!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 1/11/2009 11:03:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I don't really notice a strong scent with this- a faint one, but not anything too noticeable, and I'm usually very sensitive to scents. I like that I'm not allergic to this - my rosacea skin tolerates it just fine. I don't think it really does anything "extra" - its just a good, light, moisturizer for day or night. Not greasy at all, and sinks in quickly so I can put my makeup on and be out the door.


on 1/11/2009 12:22:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I agreed with the previous comment that it smells awful, it has a strong herbal smell. I got it as sample from Sephora, I don't think I will buy it in full size.


on 1/10/2009 12:45:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

this smells AWFUL! i recieved it as a sample gift from sephora. i chose this over three other options because i had heard so many good things about it. i was so shocked by the smell because it seems it gets lots of raves and good reviews. the smell is this overpowering plastic, almost like melted hot glue. smells very artificial and very strong. as soon as i put it to my skin and got a wif of it, i washed my face immediately. my cat was on my vanity and even gagged..


on 1/9/2009 9:33:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I thought this would be my go-to moisturizer after all the reviews that it got on Oprah and magazines, but after purchase I was so suprised by the horrible fake plastic gummy smell and mediocre moisturizing that I know this will not be a re-purchase. I will use it up when I think I can handle the smell that day. Maybe the DH can use it. Don't waste your money.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/8/2009 1:08:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I had a sample of this and it did nothing for my skin but make it look wack and break out=(.....I would never purchase this.


on 1/8/2009 1:00:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I actually bought hope in a jar with spf 20. Which I believe is much more moisturizing than the one without spf. I think this product is good for winter time, since it can be more drying. I recommend that people who have oily skin shouldnt use this product cause it can be pretty thick.


on 1/8/2009 12:24:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This did absolutely nothing for me. It smells awful. I would never recommend this to anyone.


on 1/7/2009 11:31:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Grey

Worms and rainwater. Thatís the scent.


This stuff had better work miracles because Iíve had it on my face for over an hour and it smells just foul as it did when first applied. The fumes are making my eyes burn, making it unsuitable for daytime use. It's making my face burn a little as well, but I don't detect any redness.


Time will tell how well this product performs; however tolerating the odor long enough to find out will be a challenge.


on 1/6/2009 3:45:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I tried this a few years ago and something in it irritated my skin. It burned and turned bright red. Actually, all Philosoply products that I have tried have had the same effect. Got this as a sample from Sephora and same results. I'm glad it works for some people but definitely not for me.


Back to Top