Philosophy • Hope in a Jar - for all skin types • Moisturizers

rated 2.8(1674 reviews)

Average Rating.2.8
Would buy this product again.39%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 helenahjoo on 12/29/2008 8:27:00 PM more reviews by helenahjoo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I had high expectations for this product but I didn't like it at all. It left a weird filmy layer on my skin. It didn't absorb at all. And I got some acne after using it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 jkaplan on 12/29/2008 12:08:00 AM more reviews by jkaplan

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I was excited to try this product, but was really dissapointed. At first I liked it because of its whipped texture and it seemed to melt into my skin. After a couple of days however, it made my face break out, it smelled awful, and it seemed to make the appearance of my skin worse. It also burned my eyes like crazy even though I tried to keep it as far away as possible. I ended up giving it away. It may work for others, but not for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* deliah008 on 12/27/2008 7:59:00 PM more reviews by deliah008

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

It really shouldn't have been called "Hope" in a jar. I thought I was the odd duck out, but my boss also tried it recently. 30 years apart and totally different skin types, but we both agreed on one thing: it's "despair" in a jar. And a stinking despair at that.

I had the worse end of the rope. The fumes from the cream was so bad, that as soon as I put it on, tears started to form. I had to wash the stuff off immediately, so I wasn't lucky enough to experience any positive effects of this "wonder."

My boss actually put it on for an entire night. She thought it odd that the scent was so chemical, but after waking up, her middle-age dry skin got even drier. So didn't work for her either.

I'd say try it at the counter before buying - and make sure the store has a good return policy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mayholic on 12/25/2008 6:11:00 AM more reviews by mayholic

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm obviously in the minority here, as I like this product. At first I was wary about trying it, since it had gotten pretty bad reviews here at MUA, but then I was just like, "what the heck". and bought a mini jar while getting some Urban Decay eyeliner at Sephora. I didn't use it the very first day I got it.. haha, wasn't THAT anxious and was kind of nervous since I have rather sensitive skin. The next day before I went to bed I put a few dots on my face and smoothed it in. The texture was really nice, like whipped cream or something, and it absorbed well. I hated the smell though.. gross but bearable. When I got up the next morning, I had one white head.. haha -___- but my skin in general is usually much worse and aside from that one white head everything else was perfectly smooth. I used it again that next night and then I woke up with perfectly smooth skin, no whiteheads or anything!! To be perfectly honest and fair, I used it at the same time as my Neutrogena Acne Stress Control 4 in 1 Hydrating Acne Treatment, but it definitely wasn't as effective as when I used it without HIAJ.. It's moisturizing, but I don't know if it'd be moisturizing enough for those gals in drier areas during the winter and such.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 plasticsqueegee on 12/23/2008 6:23:00 PM more reviews by plasticsqueegee

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

This was like rubbing a cloud on my face. The whipped texture is pretty spiffy and I think it moisturized my skin well overall. I don't mind the smell. It smells like lemongrass to me. I'm still looking for the cream that will transform my face into a supermodel's, though. This isn't it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* VintageAmbition on 12/23/2008 12:52:00 PM more reviews by VintageAmbition

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

Was so excited so try this because of all the hype surrounding it. First of all, although it didn't work out for me; I did love to whipped texture and how smooth it felt on my skin. However, this did nothing for my my combo/oily skin with the few dry patches from harsh cleansers and toners. It did't feel like it was moisturizing enough but I didn't want to try the formula for dry skin (it'd most likely be too rich for my skin type). It did have one of the most horrid rancid smells I've ever smelled from a moisturizer but it wouldn've been tolerable if I actually saw results and improvement of my skin; which I did not. All in all, give it a try. It must work great for some people or it would've never been so popular in the first place.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jjff on 12/22/2008 8:28:00 PM more reviews by jjff

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Pros: amazing whipped texture, moisturizes well.
Cons: contains lavender oil which is currently reported to be cytotoxic. I don't feel like using this product long enough to find out the hard way whether it does damage to my skin. I'd rather stick with something mild and/or enriched with proven antioxidants.

http://www.treatment-skincare.com/Lavender/Cytotoxicity.html

Another con is the lavender scent itself. Very pleasant at first if you enjoy lavender, it morphs into something nauseating once it warms up on the skin. No thanks!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lieutenantkeege on 12/19/2008 2:04:00 AM more reviews by lieutenantkeege

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I don't know what is so great about this product. I have sensitive skin and it's always hard to switch to a new product. Lucky that I asked for a small sample from store and went home to make sure it doesn't break out my skin. Well sure enough it did! Not only it made my skin red and blotchy for days, it was VERY greasy, even during winter times and I hated the smell, the feel of it on my skin. I will never buy or try this product again. After hearing all these good things about it on tv and in stores, this product was such an disappointment.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 dharbo on 12/18/2008 1:04:00 PM more reviews by dharbo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

If you can get past the medicinal lavender type scent this has then you will like this moisturizer. It really does moisturize your skin. It's light texture, almost souffle like, helps a lot in the summer months. I didn't breakout with this although its not 100% oil free. I only wish it would come in a tube instead of a tub container, I dislike dipping my fingers in this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jules007 on 12/18/2008 2:42:00 AM more reviews by jules007

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is a so-so moisturizer in my opinion with a whipped texture. It moisturizes ok, but sometimes my skin feels dry after a few hours. I don't like the herbal smell too much, I find it a bit strong.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Philosophy products

More Moisturizers products