Make Up For Ever HD High Definition Foundation

3.6

2249 reviews

57% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Aqua, Cyclopentasiloxane, Neopentyl Glycol Diethylhexanoate, Mica, talc, PEG-10 Dimenthicone, Biosaccharide Gum-1, Phenyl, Trimethicone, Sodium Chloride, Lauroyl Lysine, Dimenthicone Crosspolymer, Glyceryl Caprylate, Methylpropanediol, Butylene Glycol, Phenoxyethanol, Chlorphenesin, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Sodium Myristoyl Glutamate, Cyclohexacyloxane, Methylisothiazolinone, Sorbitan Sesquileate, Silver Oxide, Propylene, Carbonate, Parfum (fragrance), Methylparaben, Fagus Sylvatica Extract (Fagus Sylvatica Bud Extract), Hydrolyzed Yeast Protein, [+/- CI 77891 )titanium Dioxide), CI 77491 (Iron Oxides), CI 77499 (Iron Oxides).


on 3/17/2012 3:21:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I don`t know why this product has gotten such bad reviews, I like this a lot. I have combination skin with occasional breakouts and I rarely even have to use concealer, I like the coverage It gives and it makes my skin look pretty much flawless. Its not perfect though, around the winter I get some dry spots and it really does emphasize those. The price is also a bit high for my liking, I may give revlon color stay a try since its gotten such good reviews and its less that half the price. I apply this with my fingers after using the HD primer and finish off with rimmel stay matte powder to set.

Edit (13/06/17): should have edited this sooner, the colours of this foundation dont quite work for me I'd been using a shade that was too light for me and just bronzing a lot after application so I went to sephora to get matched for the right shade, they dont have one that matches :( Im right between two neither looked right, even the SA suggested I try something else because she didnt think either would work well for me. Lowered rating to 3 stars, I still like the formula but I wouldnt buy again due to the shades not being right.



on 3/17/2012 1:37:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have mixed feelings about this foundation. I live in a very cold and dry climate, with very harsh winters, and if i'm not SUPER moisturized it looks super dry on my skin and makes it look cakey. On the other hand this is the best color match I've ever had in foundation. I wear 118, and it is the exact color of my skin. I think i will give this foundation another go in the summer when my skin isn't so dry.


on 3/17/2012 11:58:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Black

This is a great foundation. I have tried many drugstore brands plus Clinique, Prescriptives (loved! but they discontinued), and NARS. MUFE HD color choices are great...I've had the closest color match to this foundation (173). This is NOT full coverage by any means, but that's exactly what I was looking for in a foundation. It's not cakey and doesn't feel suffocating at all. I always get compliments on my skin when I'm wearing this. It makes my skin look really smooth, silky, and even-toned, even though you can still see some faint flaws (hyperpigmentation) beneath. I took one point off because of the dewiness of this foundation. I would prefer more of a matte finish and I always have to blot my T-zone throughout the night when I'm wearing this or else it can start to look oily.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 3/17/2012 11:02:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

The coverage is not very good, after pre-concealing, applying the foundation and applying more concealer, you can still see my blemishes. Does NOT control Oil :( The 120 color shade matched me skin almost perfectly, though! Will not repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/14/2012 1:15:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Overall I like this product. I used Estee Lauder Double Wear Matte for years, but noticed that it started to turn orange on my skin. I guess this was a combo of oil and the chemicals in the product.

I went to MUFE HD foundation to avoid this and so far I'm pleased with the product. I use the 120 color and I find that the pump works great. I put 2 pumps on the back of my hand and use a stipple brush to apply the foundation. It has good coverage, but I then go over it with a cosmetic sponge to make sure that all is blended well and then I use a kabuki brush and use the Duo Matte MUFE power foundation to set my make up. This provides a very matte look which is what I need due to my large pores and oily skin. I still have to use oil blotters (about 3-4 per day) but I find that the make up lasts a long time even through this. I would purchase this again.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

For reference: nc30-35, warm with yellow undertones.

Good foundation. Just not for my skin type. I have oily skin and this does nothing for oil control, even with my usual primers and setting powders. I was sweating with this foundation on and this left patches all over my skin. Luckily I used my sister's bottle instead of purchasing it with my own money.

I used #128. Tad bit too dark for me. Would be perfect for nc35-37


on 3/13/2012 9:58:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I absolutely adore this foundation. I've been using it for over a year now and find it really suits my skin. I think it's a nice medium for those with dry, oily, combo skin. I've heard people from all skin types using it and loving it. I have oily skin and find that it lasts decently on me. The coverage is also right in the middle. It's not a full coverage, but it's not light either. I find that nice for when I want a more made up look, because I don't always like a lot of coverage unless it's for an event or I'm going out for quite a while. I recommend going to a Sephora and asking for a sample to try it out. It may not be for everyone, but it's worth testing to see if you like it. :)


on 3/13/2012 5:23:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

My HG foundation at the moment.
The foundation packaging is great in that it comes with a pump. I absolutely hate foundations that require you to purchase a pump separately (Estee Lauder Double Wear & NARS sheer glow yes I am looking at you ahem).

As for the product itself, I definitely enjoy the smooth airbrushed finish the foundation gives me. It is extremely forgiving and flattering in photos, which is of course the purpose of the foundation and it gives medium buildable coverage. The consistency is medium thin making it easily blendable as well, which is another plus.

One thing I do have to criticize about this foundation is that it clings to my dry patches. I have combination skin and where my skin is dry, it is really dry. This foundation unfortunately accentuates these dry patches and there is no way to remedy that, which I would have expected for such a cult product.

Overall I would say this is one of the better foundations I have tried with a wide range of shades and it is indeed HD, but beware if have dry/combo skin with dry patches since this will definitely accentuate them.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This foundation is horrible, it's chalky, cakey and doesn't look at all natural like it's supposed to. It flakes and cracks yet still manages to feel oily and gross on my skin. The only thing good about it is the color which was a perfect match for my fair skin. Oh and I also liked the pump. Everything else is awful!


Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Green

I really wanted to like this foundation but I just can't. I have 110 which is a good match for me, however it seems like after a few hours it turns darker and looks gross. It also seems to highlight any imperfection, like large pores or fine lines. I do like the pump packaging, but really that's all, which isn't much for something so pricey.
I'll be continuing my hunt for the perfect foundation.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

THE NUMBER ONE REASON YOUR FOUNDATION DOESN'T LAST! by Wayne Goss



Back to Top