Make Up For Ever HD High Definition Foundation

3.6

2290 reviews

57% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Aqua, Cyclopentasiloxane, Neopentyl Glycol Diethylhexanoate, Mica, talc, PEG-10 Dimenthicone, Biosaccharide Gum-1, Phenyl, Trimethicone, Sodium Chloride, Lauroyl Lysine, Dimenthicone Crosspolymer, Glyceryl Caprylate, Methylpropanediol, Butylene Glycol, Phenoxyethanol, Chlorphenesin, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Sodium Myristoyl Glutamate, Cyclohexacyloxane, Methylisothiazolinone, Sorbitan Sesquileate, Silver Oxide, Propylene, Carbonate, Parfum (fragrance), Methylparaben, Fagus Sylvatica Extract (Fagus Sylvatica Bud Extract), Hydrolyzed Yeast Protein, [+/- CI 77891 )titanium Dioxide), CI 77491 (Iron Oxides), CI 77499 (Iron Oxides).


on 4/20/2012 10:29:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I recently went to Sephora and purchased this foundation in 130 with the hd primer in neutral... I have to say, I thought I'd be a lot more impressed. I mean, it's okay, but not soo amazing that I'm going to buy it every time I run out. It has the ability to layer into a full coverage, but not for long periods of time. At the end of a long day (I work at a desk, so it's not like I'm jogging) I find I have to blot my face more often, and the make up 'separates' on my nose (I don't ever get oily on my nose..). But for the pros; the packaging is beautiful, and it DOES look beautiful in pictures. I'm not hating it, but I definitely won't be buying another one. I'll stick to revoln colorstay.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 4/20/2012 5:22:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I really like this foundation. It gives me great coverage and makes me look flawless in pictures and everyday life.I love the huge range of colors. It blends beautifully and lasts all day and night without fading. My only problem is that it can ocassionally cause me to break out with a few pimples, so i just try to use a light hand and that seems to help a great deal.


on 4/19/2012 7:45:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

At first I thought that it was too light and looked chalky. however, I changed how I applied it and used a primer and now I love it!

Edit: I still like this but only when my skin is good. Otherwise the lasting power is too short due to my oily skin, and I constantly have to touch up throughout the day. It's way too expensive for me to keep replenishing :(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/19/2012 2:05:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I love love love this foundation. It leaves my face looking flawless. That being said, this foundation is a medium coverage foundation and can look mask like sometimes if you put too much on. But that's like with any foundation. This isn't a matte foundation, which I prefer because it helps it look more natural. It's pretty long wearing on me, lasting through almost 12 hours of school (with only applying powder in the morning) and can even last through my workouts. It can also accentuate dry patches a little bit, but it's honestly nothing that exfoliation and moisturizing can't fix. The packaging is wonderful, it's sanitary and the pump is easy to control. It is a bit of a splurge because of the price, but I feel that it is worth the investment.


on 4/19/2012 1:52:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

After much searching and trying for a good foundation product I got the HD foundation in #110. I also bought some in the #117 since that had a bit more yellow. Here's what I do. I have a lot of splotchy redness on my face. So I mix my primer with a bit of this makeup. Then I rub it in with my fingers, and let dry. Now the redness has subsided substantialy and I put on a sheerer top coat of the 110 that matches my skin perfectly. Doing it it this way makes it look less like a mask.

I do notice that I need to moisturize to reduce some of the flakiness of my skin (even better to exfoliate before hand-baking soda works great for this.)

I really like that this is water based. I think it has nice medium coverage. It feels very light on the skin. Its great how it minimizes fine lines and pores. I set it with a mineral veil very very lightly.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/16/2012 10:58:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

BEST FOUNDATION EVER! I have tried all foundations..no joke! This is by Far the BEST. This does not aggravate acne one bit! In fact it actually clears it up?! I think it is the yeast extract which is found in many high end products like SKII. Yeast extract works to lighten blemishes. SOOO HAPPPY I have found the foundation for me!


Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I really wanted to like it! But it was so bad... I'm so glad I went to sephora and just got a sample and didn't buy it for $40! It makes your dry patches 10x worse! It doesn't make your skin look smooth at all! Makes your pores huge! I'll just stay with my revlon colorstay and bareminerals matte foundation!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/11/2012 12:23:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Grey

I was REALLY REALLY shocked by the bad reviews here....until I started reading the reviews and I understood why so many people are having a hard time with this foundation. LIKES LIKE LIKES PEOPLE! OIL AND WATER DON'T MIX! This is a WATER based product! I've read multiple reviews that have stated that this stuff slides off their faces and doesn't last and ends up looking crummy, then they list what other products they're using on their faces and it's like "OH! Well there's your problem!"

Oil and Water don't mix, simple as that. If you've had a hard time with this product try looking at the ingredients in your moisturizers, sunscreens, and primers. If any of them are oil based then this foundation is going to slide right off your face because water based products won't stick to oil based products, it's really that simple.

As for people saying that this products is breaking them out terribly. Again, water based foundation. It's far more gentle than many foundations out there looking at the ingredients. But I'm not saying that it's not responsible for some of these breakouts. There is no such thing as a hypo-allergenic, or a non-cosmodermic product. There is no testing method that can prove that. All that those terms mean is that they are unlikely to make you break out because it didn't cause breakouts, or blackheads on the back of a rabbit's ear. Everyone will react differently to different products, and what works well for me may not work well for you. But PLEASE keep in mind that you have to CLEAN your makeup brushes and sponges OFTEN with anti-bacterial soap. I can't tell you how many times I've heard girls say "oh I can't wear ____ because it breaks me out" only to look at their makeup tools to find them filthy.

But honestly, looking at these ingredients I find it very hard to believe that it's breaking so many reviews out. I'm calling shenanigans on the hipster/hater response here. This product used to be so highly rated by user and makeup artist a like, I can't help but notice the tendency that people have to take something that was popular and "knock it down a few pegs". This got a lot of positive light and now it's just "suddenly" taking a nose dive? Yeah, that doesn't happen unless there's a bad batch, or a serious formula change. Like I said shenanigans.

ONTO THE FOUNDATION ITSELF!

I am surprised to say the least. I'm a skeptic at heart and I found myself really liking this stuff. It looks like my skin, and a lot of foundations promise that but don't deliver, but this did just that. It looked like me, just better. I find it very difficult to find foundations light enough for my skin that are also nice. At 115 I find the foundation to be light enough for my skin without being overwhelmingly pink as the lightest foundations usually are. The shade range is excellent even catering to the darker skinned ladies out there which is nice to see. This dries out really fast so you have to work it more quickly than other foundations, but with a damp sponge it's not really that much of a problem. It builds really well, but I don't think it's really a full coverage foundation. Maybe you could build it to that, but you would need a lot of time and product.

This foundation is EXPENSIVE running at almost $50 for 1.01 oz! Yes, I know there are some out there that cost more, but considering that it's JUST a foundation, and it doesn't really have SPF, or treat acne, or aging, or any protection for the skin. I feel that that's a lot. But it is foundation at the end of the day, and it does the foundation role very well. Being that it is water based it feels like you're not really wearing foundation because it's so light. I find that it lasts all day providing that the products you use under it are also water based.

The packaging is, awesome. I love the pump, I also have Revlon's Colourstay, and as much as I love the product THE GLASS BOTTLE DRIVES ME NUTS! So the pump format is nice, and sanitary. The air tight pump bottle ensures that there aren't any nasty bacterial growths in the product that will cause problems on your skin, or discolouration of the product. Though I naturally have dry/combination skin, I feel like this product would work better with someone with normal to oily skin. If you have dryer skin I would suggest exfoliation before application just due to the mattness of this product.

So all and all, after quite a lot of jiber jaber. I think I will repurchase this again. But NOT as my everyday foundation. It's simply TOO EXPENSIVE for what it is. It's JUST a foundation, and I can't justify spending that much money on something that is just for vanity's sake, if it protected my skin as well, that would be another story. BUT I will be repurchase this product when I run out for the sake of photoshoots, and other special occasions when you are putting vanity a little higher up. For now I'll stick with my Colour Stay and maybe look at Clinic's Even Better foundation for my everyday use. I'll think about rebuying this when I find a coupon.

30 out of 40 people found this review helpful.


on 4/10/2012 7:31:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I really love this foundation. It gives that luminous look that everyone craves. But i returned mine because the color was all wrong and there wasn't a good color for me. and the brand does have a lot of color choice, just none that quite fit my undertone of yellow and pink. go to sephora and have someone match you. that's really the best way of knowing for sure that you've got the right color


on 4/8/2012 12:03:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I loved this color during the winter...I wore 140. However, now that I have begun to get more tan for the spring/summer, this foundation does not suit me well. I have a very tan (almost orange) undertone to my skin, so this foundation makes me look washed out even in very dark colors. It is strange. Overall, it is a great product that provided me just the amount of medium coverage I need. I have normal skin and did not see any change (good or bad) in my complexion when using this foundation. I am terrible about washing off my makeup after a long day, but it still did not make me break out. I will purchase the 140 when I am back to being a little more pale than I am in the summer.


Back to Top