Make Up For Ever • HD High Definition Foundation • Foundations

rated 3.6(2190 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 sharmilaa on 2/3/2012 11:23:00 PM more reviews by sharmilaa

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

What is the hype with this foundation?. My experience:
Texture/Finish is like polythene or plastic film on your skin. I want my skin to look soft focus, natural and clean/fresh. This does neither of them. Gives a weird film on the skin that looks horrible. I wore this for 45 mins in summers.I got out of my car & looked in the mirror - I looked dirty, tired greasy with pores flared up and the color had changed to greasy, muddy, dirty translucent orange, One of the worst foundations I have ever tried. Wasted 40 bucks. Even drugstore foundations look better than this and cost less!
I am giving 1 point for packaging and 1 for range of colors

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* faireyfantom on 2/2/2012 11:39:00 AM more reviews by faireyfantom

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I always find it amusing when a car company advertises an award in "initial quality." Most things are great when they are shiny and new. This foundation would get a 5 from me in "initial quality." By midday it's okay. By the end of the day not good.

The color match was superb. It applied beautifully. Looks natural. It didn't smell or feel weird. My only problem is it didn't last. This may last longer on somene with drier skin. I tried this over the HD primer too, BTW. I would not purchase this again nor would I recommend it for more than an hour.

My foundation testing over the last few weeks has produced a nugget of realization: products formulated to look good for camera generally do not last on me. In real life I don't get to stop what I am doing for touch-up's. I don't have a team of people standing around to fix my face constantly. Soooo, I think I am done whoring around for a while and going back to ELDW.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 OoBrittany on 2/2/2012 11:29:00 AM more reviews by OoBrittany

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Almost makes me look TOO perfect...too heavy for everyday wear, but good for special occasions and photos.

ETA: Turns greasy on me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 gabymanzo on 1/30/2012 4:02:00 PM more reviews by gabymanzo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Other    

So where do I began? I am shocked it has such mediocre ratings. This is the closest foundation I found to being "THE ONE"! Coming from Hispanic heritage and with very obvious yellow/olive undertones it has been a challenge to find a close match to my skin tone (NC40) that doesnt make me look "pink". I have tried drugstore brands, mac, clinique, lancome, etc. But none of them have ever been close to becoming my holy Grail. maybe except Revlon Colorstay in rich tan. Pros: WIDE array of shades for undertones, creamy texture that effortlessly blends into skin, medium to full coverage, feels uber lightweight, it has a satiny finish which looks very natural,
cons: slightly pricey but believe me i have had it for 4 months now and i am halfway through with it and wear it DAILY! yes the quality is that amazing. I only use one pump in cover my entire face wit no need for concealer. the only thing I am not loving about this foundation is that it is not good for those hot humid days, I wish it had a slightly longer staying power but then again I out and about for 8-10 hrs a day so I might be asking for too much. Nonetheless if your a cheapie like me u can always get a sample from the sephora counter to try it out before your invest in it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* xoxsexylv57 on 1/29/2012 9:14:00 PM more reviews by xoxsexylv57

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Other    

I really like this foundation - and while I wouldn't call it HG, it is definitely a stellar product. First, they have an incredible selection of colors that matches just about any undertone you can think of (which is fantastic). Second, I love the coverage and feel of this product on my face. It covers a lot (I can skip concealer with this) without making me feel like my face has been caked with make-up and I'm wearing a mask. However, you can definitely build this very easily to give yourself more of a full-coverage look. Third, this gives me a semi-matte or more satiny finish, which can be very difficult to find in a foundation. Plus, it lasts a very long time and does help keep some of the oilies at bay.

I will say though, even though I like this foundation, I find it to be a little much for day-wear. It makes your face look mannequin-perfect, and personally, I don't like looking overly "made-up" during the day. For the evening though, this foundation is perfect. It looks great on camera (also helped because you don't have to worry about sunscreen creating weird white casts) and lasts and lasts and lasts. I will definitely be buying this again when I run out, because it covers so beautifully and I know that I will be able to find the perfect shade match. Highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* RachaelSpiffy on 1/29/2012 4:37:00 AM more reviews by RachaelSpiffy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I went from liquid, to mineral swearing I would never go back, and then I went back because mineral was just messy. I thought I really liked MUFE's Mat foundation and I did but, then my mom had this and I am so happy. I love this foundation. I have oily acne prone skin so I thought the mat one would be so much better for me but, this turned out to have better coverage, last longer, and make me just feel good. I know people think this is a pricey foundation but, sometimes a product is just right for you. If this was $12 or $60 I'd buy it either way.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rhoyourboat24 on 1/27/2012 11:35:00 PM more reviews by rhoyourboat24

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

This foundation is amazing! It matches my skintone perfectly and has amazing coverage. I don't even need to use a concealor anymore. Despite the pricetag, one pump a day goes a long way for me so it lasts a couple of months. I will be purchasing this until they stop making it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jenlovesmac03 on 1/26/2012 4:32:00 PM more reviews by Jenlovesmac03

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I am always on the hunt to try new foundations and try out different coverages and such, well I got this foundation about 2 months ago, and it is honestly one of the best foundations I've used. I can't use Mac foundations because all they do is break me out and irritate my skin, so I decided to give this a try also surrounded by all the hype, I got matched with color 155 and it's the perfect shade for my skintone, comes in a nice bottle with a pump which is a huge plus. I apply this best with a flat top brush and get a really nice matte finish, I have oily combo skin and I don't need to touch up during the day, I've even worn this for over 10 hours and it still looks great. It is ridiciculously priced but when its a really good product why not?? I think it's worth it! Best part is the husband doesn't even notice I have this on and always compliments on how great my skin looks;)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 aldrinmoore on 1/25/2012 11:42:00 AM more reviews by aldrinmoore

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

after receiving this in 125 its ok.It doesn't make me wanna do cartwheels, looks ok in photos.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* xtinahb on 1/24/2012 11:55:00 AM more reviews by xtinahb

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I am a combo skin NC30/C4 light tan Asian gal and have #123. It is an average foundation for me. The pigmentation and match are really good; I only need a dime blob for medium coverage on my entire face. However, it is unkind to dry patches yet makes my T-zone shiny. The upside is that it is incredibly lightweight and I donít even feel it on my skin. I would not use this daily, but maybe (maybe) for special occasions where I need a FULL face, I would use this formula for the good coverage and lightweight feeling, as long as I bring a powder compact for shine. Glad I tried it just to have firsthand experience about all the fuss, but will not repurchase.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Make Up For Ever products

More Foundations products