Make Up For Ever • HD High Definition Foundation • Foundations

rated 3.6(2161 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 Jeni0874 on 1/7/2012 9:07:00 AM more reviews by Jeni0874

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I love this stuff! Yes it's expensive, but I only use a tiny bit at a time so it lasts a good while. It gives my fair skin a much-needed boost by evening it out and giving it a soft glow. It's fine for every day use, but I especially love to use it when I'm going out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jenanasaurusrex on 1/6/2012 9:58:00 PM more reviews by jenanasaurusrex

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I think the consistency is really nice, but it has hardly any coverage (for me at least). Definitely not my favorite, especially for the price. I'm in the lightest color and I have a ton of rosacea on my cheeks. After I use this, I have to pile on the concealer. Not my favorite thing to do.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 allthatglimmers on 1/5/2012 7:34:00 PM more reviews by allthatglimmers

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love this product!! It gives me a flawless look even though I have a couple bumps on my forehead this foundation gave my skin a flawless glow even with the little bumps! It covers up redness good and you can chose whether you want more coverage with building or sheer coverage but even with the sheer coverage you still have that look to you. Such as my cheeks don't really break out and they are lighter than my forehead and chin so this evens out my skin tone and it leaves my cheeks super soft! This doesn't make me break out I have the perfect shade and it works great! Love this STUFF but it's expensive so BareEscentuals it is on a regular day.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Lb8189 on 1/5/2012 7:08:00 PM more reviews by Lb8189

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Grey    

This foundation looks great on my very dry skin when first applied; however, as soon as I add the MUFE powder it starts to look cakey and flakey dry. Also as many others have said it looks best when lightly applied, but I have a lot of freckles on my nose and when I try to lightly cover them up it doesn't work so well... I don't have any blemishes so not a problem there. It does give an even toned look which is a plus for me and I absolutely love the pump. it doesn't seem to last long on me at alll, it caused crazy blotchiness even when I use urban decay DEW ME setting spray, I can't imagine what it would look like if I didn't use a setting spray. I do have to say though about an hour after application skin looks flawless in photos! I use shade 145.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 thelaziestKitty on 1/4/2012 8:31:00 AM more reviews by thelaziestKitty

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have this in the shade 153. It has a really nice natural finish that is dewy without being oily. It applies really nicely with a stippling brush and this method gives me much more coverage than using a more traditional foundation brush

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Magnificus on 1/3/2012 9:22:00 PM more reviews by Magnificus

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have combination skin that can get very dry in the winter, but somehow this foundation ends up making my face very oily - especially so if I don't use a powder on top. I think this would be better for normal to dry skin.

That being said, this foundation provides a light/medium coverage and will look cakey if you try to build it to full coverage. I'm an NC25 in MAC and the shade #123 matches me best. It does come in a lot of other colors, which makes matching a lot easier.

Personally, I'm satisfied with the coverage this gives me and how natural it looks when applied properly. It hides minor imperfections like light acne scarring and some redness. Your skin doesn't look matte or dewy, but it has the sheen a bare face has - if that makes sense. Another plus, is that this doesn't break me out.

I find that it's best to apply this foundation with a damp sponge, because any other method seems to apply this too heavily and doesn't blend well enough.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Musa15 on 1/3/2012 2:49:00 PM more reviews by Musa15

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I received 2 huge samples of this foundation in two shades 118 and 120 from Sephora, I am an NC25. I really loved the 118 as far as color match goes, it was perfect, and my neck and chest actually matched my face. BUT it does NOT last on me at all. I am not even super oily and it's winter!! I tried this with a primer (smashbox) and without a primer, I tried it with moisturizer and without moisturizer, I tried a sponge application, a buffing brush application, a stippling brush application and my fingers, i set it with every powder I own carebelnd, blot, studio fix...but it didn't change the fact that it wouldn't stay on my face. It looks perfect as soon as you apply it but I'd say within 2-3 hours it looks like a mess my blush looks all blotchy and I had to keep applying blot powder but it just ended up looking cakey with all the powder I ended up using. I'm used to pro longwear, which doesn't even need setting powder and it looks perfect all day, maybe I am being spoiled? I'd say this is wonderful for pictures, as I had some taken of me on New Years within an hour of application and my face looks pore less and awesome, but it doesn't last on me throughout the night. Thumbs down!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Rwood1 on 1/1/2012 11:57:00 PM more reviews by Rwood1

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

MUFE is my MUST HAVE FOUNDATION!!!!!! I LOVE LOVE LOVE this Hd foundation, Makes you look FLAWLESS in photo's. Even if you have numerous blemishes.
I ALWAYS use a MUFE full coverage concealer and then this foundation and set with a translucent powder or if i'm out of translucent powder I find that using my Mac powder and a little MUFE HD powder does the job!
Expensive but you DEF pay for the quality, It lasts long time too =)!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 totalmakeupjunkie98 on 1/1/2012 11:07:00 PM more reviews by totalmakeupjunkie98

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love this foundation!! The first time I bought it though, I got colormatched to the wrong shade. The lady decided to give me the third lightest shade even though I have pretty tan skin. That made sense. Anyways now that I have my right shade I love this!!(: I found that stippling this foundation is the best way to get full coverage. Swirling it or rubbing it will sheer it out. The best part about it though is how true it is to the HD name! My skin looks amazing in pictures and in 720p and 1080p videos. It's weird because this liquid foundation is so much more lightweight than the powder foundation I was using. I feel lie I'm not wearing anything!! The lasting power is really nice too. I put this on about 6:45 and school ends about 2:30. My skin looks flawless and perfect all day! <3 The only bad thing is that if I run out I'm screwed because I'm broke as a joke. But still everyone should buy this!!(: <3 no joke.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* edgexofxdesire on 1/1/2012 6:26:00 PM more reviews by edgexofxdesire

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

To preface, I have very oily skin that sits somewhere between NC20 and NC25 with primarily olive undertones and some redness. I generally steer towards more yellow based foundations so I picked this up in #117, which is admittedly not the best color for me as it is very light. But 120, which is one yellow based shade darker than 117, made me look orange and 123, which is the palest olive shade they have, was just too dark. But in the winter I have a tricky skintone that really never matches to any foundation, so I have to work with what I have. But that's not my main issue with this product. When I first apply it, it's amazing. I've never had such a flawless and natural looking foundation in my life (aside from Nars Sheer Glow, but that's a bit more 'glowy' than I would like). The MUFE HD genuinely looks like perfect, radiant skin. I follow up with my HG Maybelline Dream Matte Powder and figure I'll be set for a good 8 hours at least, right? Wrong. Less than four hours later my foundation has completely disappeared from my Tzone..and considering that's where I actually need decent coverage, that doesn't cut it. And this is with a primer and a setting powder. Talk about disappointing. I'm trying everything I can to try and get the most wear-time out of this foundation, but so far it's topping out at four hours every day. I guess it just can't hold up to my oily skin :( If anything changes and I find the miracle way to make this last, I'll update my rating. But for now this barely gets a 3 from me, simply for packaging, color range and the fact that it looks amazing while it lasts.

Update #1: exchanged for shade 118, which is a significantly better match, despite it having more beige undertones. Also picked up the Urban Decay De-Slick spray, so I'm hoping that helps with the staying power. Will update with results.

Update #2 (12/2/2013): I really do love this so much...I just wish I could get it to stay! Primer, foundation, powder and setting spray...and I'm still oily after 5-6 hours. It's not enough to keep me from using this, though! I'm willing to blot my face a few times a day if it means my skin looks as good as it does with this foundation. It's as close to perfect I've found this far. Upped to a 4/5.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Make Up For Ever products

More Foundations products