Make Up For Ever • HD High Definition Foundation • Foundations

rated 3.6(2172 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 jjonesjj on 1/17/2012 3:49:00 PM more reviews by jjonesjj

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Not a good foundation for dry skin. Dry patches are emphasized to the fullest - even with a moisturizer and primer. I believe, as other reviewers have pointed out, this is due to the silicon (dimethicone) in the product. The visual effect is very similar to Smashbox Photo Finish (which I also think is unsuitable for dry skin) only with pigment.

That being said, the huge selection of shades is excellent. I have not found another foundation that matched my skin tone so perfectly. I am asian with not quite pale, but light, skin coloring and yellow undertones.

I wouldn't recommend this product for others with dry skin, but if you have normal skin with minimal redness or discoloration, this product would probably be great for you. I say minimal because the coverage is only slightly more than that of a tinted moisturizer.

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 jlzubiri on 1/16/2012 11:06:00 AM more reviews by jlzubiri

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

Ok so I got sucked in from all the "rave" youtube reviews about this foundation and decided to try it. Also I think the sales people at Sephora are told to push this product because they were all over me telling me this is the best foundation. I paid 80$ for the package of primer, powder and my foundation match.....which I truly regret now. I don't mind paying a little more for a great foundation but this is nothing special.

I think it is just a mediocre foundation...it has ok coverage and doesnt stay on that long. It does not give you an airbrushed look..it kind of sinks into your pores and can look blotchy after a couple hours and my skin is not oily at all.

If you want a little more coverage and a much better foundation Revlon colorstay is my HG and rivals over this foundation by lightyears. I would not buy HD again and just use it now for running to the grocery store or classetc.. and just trying to get my moneys worth out of it

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 notoriousnoe on 1/15/2012 9:43:00 PM more reviews by notoriousnoe

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is one of my HG foundations! For reference I wear #155 and i am a nc37-40. It is lightweight with medium coverage which is buildable. I find I dont NEED to set it with a powder but i prefer it. the HD powder is also awesome. It is a little expensive but well worth it since it covers all of my skin... I would rather splurge on a foundation than mascara or eyeshadows. BUY IT!! =)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Lepin on 1/15/2012 11:18:00 AM more reviews by Lepin

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

While on the prowl for a new foundation several SA's at my NYC Sephora raved about this. I was curious about the MUFE color wheel and immediately tested the recs. Shade 115 seemed perfect, I tested this on my chin and in Sephora lighting this looked rather nice. Well, upon real life app the following morning I soon discovered this color was indeed a tad too deep for my skintone, not offense, but noticable nonetheless. But, the real deal breaker was the coverage. This sank into and really enhanced my very small pores but offered inadequate coverage in my few problem areas, namely my slightly ruddy cheeks. Not a good look. Also, I tried this during the hot humid summer months so that may have been the culprit, seeing as this slid off like oil. For cold weather this might have worked for me but the next lighter color, 110, is just a tad too white. That said, for the price and the fact this IMO requires a primer and specific weather conditions to look HD, I will look elsewhere. Not the worst but clearly a very overhyped foundation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Lobbery on 1/15/2012 11:09:00 AM more reviews by Lobbery

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I initially tried this foundation years ago in the summer when my skin was oily. I found it had very poor coverage and sunk into my pores and didn't help with my shine.

Last month I got a sample of it when buying their Liquid Lift Foundation to give it another try since it's winter and my skin is quite dry and patchy.

Same thing; sunk into my pores, little coverage and now that I'm dry it really showed up my dry parts.

I'll give them one thing, they have a great color selection but I really don't understand the hype at all.

Sure wish it looked on me the way it does on the girl in the untouched promos !

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 eimearsg on 1/15/2012 11:00:00 AM more reviews by eimearsg

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

i love this foundation! the finish is beautiful and the coverage is perfect, (medium but very build-able) i have it in the shade 127. once its applied, my skin looks totally flawless ! it really doesnt even feel like im wearing any makeup what so ever ! probably my main reason why i love it so so much! however i do have one little problem with this foundation and that is the staying power ! after about 3-4 hours i do see a little bit of shine, and tbh my skin isnt even oily so this kind of bothers me as i hate touching up my makeup when im out ! sooo annoying !!! the shine isnt really that bad i guess, it kind of just looks more dewy, but i tend to like a more matte foundation! this is my only problem with this foundation and it does not bother me that much, i suppose because the finish and overall look is sooo amazing i dont mind touching up every now and then ! overall i would recomend this to girls with normal to dry skin, if your skin is oily i would deffo tell you to use a mattifying primer and set it with a powder etc !

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 tworth34 on 1/11/2012 9:03:00 PM more reviews by tworth34

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

This foundation is um... interesting.
I absolutely love the texture, and it glides on my skin so smoothly without the help of a face primer. I'd say it's a good medium coverage, I almost barely need concealer (and I have acne scars and a bad skin complexion). It also gave my face a natural glow that doesn't look oily. And the finish is very natural looking. Oh, and my color matched perfectly and I have very light skin so that was a plus.


Now.. the reason why I probably wouldn't purchase this product again despite everything that's good about it.. is because it splits apart within atleast 5 hours, and gets SUPER oily looking. Like.. it's pretty bad. If I don't want it splitting apart I really have to pack on the powder which is fine by me, but the less makeup I have to go through, the better. I'd honestly rather put up with a so-so foundation that lasts all day rather than a good one that lasts a couple hours.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ericaXo on 1/8/2012 7:00:00 PM more reviews by ericaXo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Hazel    

Pros:
- GREAT color selection. This is the first foundation I have found that actually fits my fair skin without being to pink
- Silky texture
- Good coverage
- Weightless on the skin

Cons:
- Expensive
- Not good for oily skin

I have combination skin that leans more dry in the winter (for reference) The first few hours of wear is amazing, my skin really does look flawless. After about 6 hours I do notice some shine on my nose and forehead, but nothing major. To me its not a big deal to just touch up with some powder, it fixes the problem. I don't feel like you get a dewy finish with this foundation initially, but definitely at the end of the day it appears more dewy. There are a lot of negative reviews, but that because this foundation will not be good if you have oily skin. Use a good primer, set with powder. If your unsure of how it will work for you, ask the SA at sephora to give you a free sample, that's what I did.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 flowerlover on 1/8/2012 2:00:00 PM more reviews by flowerlover

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Not worth the money. Nice feel going on but doesn't look better on me that other foundations I have tried. No moist look on my dry face.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 cahall2 on 1/7/2012 6:11:00 PM more reviews by cahall2

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This was recommended my the SA at Sephora, and it hasn't worked well for me. My skin is combination, but tends toward dry. The texture and application of the foundation was great, and in the first 15 minutes after application it looked good. BUT it started to break apart on my skin after only about an hour - I have honestly never seen my skin look so oily! I don't know how this product does this, but it makes my skin look as greasy as a 17 year old kid working all day over a french fryer!
The product is buildable, which is nice, and they seem to have a good color selection (I'm usually pretty difficult to match). If this happens to work well with your skin type, I could see it being a nice product, but it definitely was not for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Make Up For Ever products

More Foundations products