Make Up For Ever HD High Definition Foundation

3.6

2221 reviews

58% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Aqua, Cyclopentasiloxane, Neopentyl Glycol Diethylhexanoate, Mica, talc, PEG-10 Dimenthicone, Biosaccharide Gum-1, Phenyl, Trimethicone, Sodium Chloride, Lauroyl Lysine, Dimenthicone Crosspolymer, Glyceryl Caprylate, Methylpropanediol, Butylene Glycol, Phenoxyethanol, Chlorphenesin, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Sodium Myristoyl Glutamate, Cyclohexacyloxane, Methylisothiazolinone, Sorbitan Sesquileate, Silver Oxide, Propylene, Carbonate, Parfum (fragrance), Methylparaben, Fagus Sylvatica Extract (Fagus Sylvatica Bud Extract), Hydrolyzed Yeast Protein, [+/- CI 77891 )titanium Dioxide), CI 77491 (Iron Oxides), CI 77499 (Iron Oxides).


on 3/1/2012 5:52:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

I feel like I have been using this long enough to write a decent review now. I have normal to dry, acne prone, NC15-20 (depending on the time of year) skin, and I really love this product. I wear 118, and it is just ever-so-slightly too dark for my face. However I tend to wear it very sheerly, so it actually perks up my face nicely. I think that in the summer time, it'll be a perfect match for me.

I like the versatility this product has. On its own, it is medium coverage, but buildable, I find. However, it also plays well with other products. I often mix this with my moisturizer for a more sheer coverage, and the finish is gorgeous. I have also had good luck mixing it with other foundations such as Revlon Colorstay. That gave me a long-wearing foundation that didn't flash back white in photographs. I find that when applying this foundation, the best way to go is either with a stippling brush or a damp sponge. I have tried it a few times with my fingers and it was somewhat on the streaky side.

This foundation wears really well on my skin and doesn't break me out. I usually just set it lightly in my t zone with a silica powder, and it doesn't get cakey throughout the day. I'm sure it'll require something a little more heavy duty to keep it in place in the summer months, but I'll adjust my routine as needed.

The only negative thing I have to say about this foundation is that it will emphasize your dry patches if you aren't properly primed and moisturized. It'll look great from 5 feet away, but when you get close to the mirror, you'll see flakes and patchiness galore. I've found that silicone-based primers don't help much, and that ones that sink more into the skin seem to help this foundation not to cling. Just a good moisturizer will do the trick though.

Overall, to me it is worth the price, and I'll be repurchasing when I run out.


Pros:
- wide variety of shades/undertones
- looks great in photographs, no spf
- can be worn sheerly, or built up for more coverage
- doesn't break out my very acne prone skin
- has a convenient, hygienic pump
- wears well throughout the day without breaking down and looking cakey
- does not emphasize the larger pores on my cheeks, even after hours of wear



Cons:
- $40+ price tag
- can emphasize dry patches if not properly exfoliated/moisturized

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.



on 3/1/2012 5:21:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love it!! I'll never use anything else.


on 2/28/2012 9:34:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

The best foundation I have ever worn.I only wished that it had a sunblock.


on 2/28/2012 12:33:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I LOVE this foundation. Definately HG for me. Goes on like a dream and goes so well with the HD primer. Whenever I use this foundation, my friends always tell me my skin looks flawless. I usually use this with some moisturizer under or if I am going out to a big even then I will use primer. Matches my skin perfectly. I have tried so many different foundations, I am glad I finally found one that works really great for me! I usually always set it with MAC MSF natural. LOVE LOVE LOVE. Will repurchase for sure! I recommend it to everyone who asks me for foundation recs.


on 2/27/2012 8:04:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have been using this product for a couple years, but im always changing foundations in between because this is no where near HG status. The only reason i keep it is because it does not irritate my skin (which is hard to come by), its lightweight and the colour is a match and with my pale skin thats pretty hard.

This foundation is NOT for anyone will combination skin. The second i put it on, i look greasy and need constant powder ontop of it. I assume this would work great for those with dry skin that want a dewy finish but thats not me. This also slides right off my face, primer or no primer. It does photograph well, but i have yet to run into a foundation that doesnt have SPF that doesnt photograph decently.

Will not repurchase... will try ELDW.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I saw soo many great revies on this product, so i was convinced!
I bought it, well actually i bought the MUFE complexion kit which came along with the foundation. When it comes to picking out the right shade, its amazing. They have SOOO many different shades you cant go wrong!
However, i have combination skin, and LARGEE pores. Along with very noticable blackheads on my noise and cheeks. And this foundation MADE IT WORSE.
On the areas where my skin wasnt as bad, like my chin and temples, the foundation works well with a foundation brush. However, if you have fine lines and combination skin, DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT. It may work wonders for people with smaller pores and more of a smoother complexion, but not for my skin.

FML.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/27/2012 12:24:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is, for now, only a first impression review. I will continue to update it as I get more experience out of using the product :) [I normally hate reviews written after only initial impressions but ...eh.]

Despite the fact that MAC matched me to NC37, then at my insistence NC35, then NC30 [ALL of which were too dark and above all ORANGE/yellow for me], I was matched for my winter shade to MUFE HD 120. And keep in mind that seems almost freakishly pale when you realize I'm South Asian. It's a perfect match. So perfect that I was annoyed at trying to find a shade since a couple looked so close. So perfect that it annoys me when it's on because I can't tell it's actually there. So, MUFE gets 11/10 for color choices.

My skin would normally be dry to normal, but it's dehydrated and acts excessively dry. Doesn't flake, because I use oil-based moisturizers. [Meaning...oils. Yippee!] When the MA put this on my face in Sephora, it seemed a little powdery and definitely not 'luminous' or anything amazing like I was hoping for after all I'd been hearing. In fact, it looked like a slight evening out and covering up acne scars. I'm not uneven or blotchy at all, but I do have quite a bit of blemishes and scars. Not a ton, the scars aren't super dark, but the blemishes are VERY difficult to cover up, particularly because my skin is no longer completely smooth. Wore off the blemishes much too easily when I tried to gently bat on blush, but that would happen with any foundation .... Still, this did a decent job and felt airy light. Did NOT look good with the HD powder - I know others like it, but my skin and the current environment are so dry that all it did was make the tested half of my face look powdery and slightly ashy. It was hours, in fact, before I could see even a small hint of the 'luminosity' so raved about. Once again, I USE OILS AS A MOISTURIZER lol. So it should have showed up immediately. And even then, not really .... I like a satiny 'dewy' effect.

When I applied it myself (using fingers; I feel like brushes will waste too much of this very expensive product), it seemed really too liquidy, even though I realize it's highly pigmented. I did have to do a second layer over the scarring. The first didn't seem to do anything on my face at all. Still nothing horrendously special, BUT, very nice coverage considering how light it is. But then my mom wanted to try my sample, and omg. What a difference. I didn't see her put it on, but when I saw her I remarked how glowy her face was. And this is a woman in her fifties that never wears makeup and put on a very sheer layer. And then throughout the night she got compliments on her skin [she normally does anyway, she has great skin for her age, but still - more so than usual] It actually DID give her that luminosity, immediately. So, yes, I'm plenty jealous. And that definitely shows the different ways it can react to different skin chemistries. Still, her layer was so sheer she might as well use a TM.

I'll keep trying and let you know my updated thoughts :) I had high hopes, but I'm trying to be critical, so hopefully it will grow on me or give me more insights :)

Oh one GREAT thing I do have to say - it did not oxidize on either me or my mum. Whoohoo!

update April 2012

Okay. I have to change my initial review. At first I wasn't too impressed, but the more I use it, the more I like it. Granted, I don't get a 'flawless face' like others do, because my face is itself not flawless. It does not cover up bumps. Actually, nothing covers my bumps. Sigh. And it will wear off those parts of my face. But since this is unavoidable, I won't include it in the review. For the perfect parts of anyone's skin, this looks amazing. It has a gorgeous, glowy skin finish. But the win factor [other than the amazing color selection] is the INSANELY small amount you have to use to cover your whole face! I am STILL working off the Sephora sample, and I have used it for full makeup, many, many times and am only halfway through. Shocking.

I stopped using oils on my face and stopped using fingers to apply. Ironically I am using less foundation. I take my brush and dip it THE SLIGHTEST bit into the liquid - just a couple hairs get covered, all in all maybe the volume of two small drops, or one regular sized 'drop.' This covers my ENTIRE face, including my very very scarry, blemishy areas. I dot it onto my cheeks, then stipple, then use downward strokes, then buff. It settles into the lines at my mouth periodically throughout the day, and I rub that away. I do not use this with powder, it would look terrible with my already dry skin. Keep in mind that all the foundations people raved about having to use very little of, I would always have to use more than 'very little.' Especially MAC studio sculpt [UGH].

Anyway. At this rate I see a bottle of this lasting me forever. The pigmentation, color selection, viscosity/texture, lasting power, skin finish, everything about this foundation is superb. I have yet to make myself look like a movie star, but this is as close as I'm getting on my own and left to my own devices.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/25/2012 11:52:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Lovely natural coverga


on 2/24/2012 3:29:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I've tried this in literally every shade that comes remotely close to my skin color and NOTHING matches. Either there's a geisha thing going on or I'm orange. There seems to be no in between. I don't like this foundation enough to try mixing anything, unfortunately, or I'd go that route. There ARE a lot of color choices, so hopefully you'll have better luck finding one if you decide to try this. It applies nicely, and offers kind of a dewy finish... I say kind of, because something struck me as being a little off about it. It was almost plasticky. I love a dewy finish, but this one was just a little weird and shiny or something. I don't know. I just didn't really like the finish on my skin. It does cover pretty well, but I'm not convinced that it's very buildable.

There are some major issues with this foundation, though. The biggest one is the lack of staying power. Obviously, it doesn't work very well with my skin type, since it is literally sliding off and caking after one to two hours. More than three hours and it has disappeared from my t-zone entirely and my entire face feels unbelievably disgusting. I've tried this at least five separate times and every time it seems to get worse. I've tried with moisturizer, without moisturizer, with primer and without. It just doesn't seem to matter. In fact it might even be worse with a primer. Additionally, it broke me out BADLY on my chin. I haven't had a breakout like this in a year or more...

It's definitely a one-star product for me. Very disappointing since it seems to work so well for other people, but I guess I'll keep looking.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/23/2012 9:56:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I had really high hopes for this foundation, and was really excited to try it. After hearing all the hype and having it recommended to me at my local Sephora, I finally decided to give into the fact that it was 40 dollars to have a foundation that wasn't drugstore and promised flawless, "HD" like skin. I was completely disappointed. I have very fair/porcelain skin with yellow undertones and the lightest shade offered 110 was way too pink based, despite the fact that my Sephora consultant matched me to it... I found that it enhanced the red undertones in my skin, and not only that, it was very drying and gave a plastic, tight effect, it was weird. It also didn't have enough coverage and agin seemed to enhance the redness of my blemishes instead of covering them up. That is the last time I will buy a non-drugstore foundation.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

THE NUMBER ONE REASON YOUR FOUNDATION DOESN'T LAST! by gossmakeupartist

Top Rated Make Up For Ever Products

image

Star Powder

88 reviews
image

Kabuki Brush

42 reviews
image

Eye shadows

73 reviews
Back to Top