Maybelline • Great Lash Mascara • Mascara

rated 2.1(5269 reviews)

Average Rating.2.1
Would buy this product again.26%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MalibuMands on 5/15/2014 3:25:00 PM more reviews by MalibuMands

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Other, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

All of the magazines I read keep telling me Maybelline’s GREAT LASH mascara is THE product to have. Eventually I caved and tried it. How could ‘America’s Number One Mascara’ let me down?


As soon as I opened the tube to try it out it became clear I wasn't going to love it - the brush is small and has widely-spaced bristles which just clumps my lashes together. Trying to separate and fan out my lashes using the wand resulted in poked eyes on more then one occasion.

After the eventual application my lashes still looked quite limp, as the wet formula gives no volume or length to my lashes. During the day I noticed that my lashes looked limp, and the mascara had started to flake a bit.


On the plus side; this mascara is easy to remove, and is cheap. If you prefer a natural look, the this may be worth checking out.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 vivalalita on 5/15/2014 2:32:00 PM more reviews by vivalalita

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This was everyone's first mascara in junior high. Oh those blissful junior high days of baby blue eyeshadow and blush overload craze.. yuck. And that's exactly how I feel about this mascara. How is it even being manufactured? Who buys this?? This stuff is the equivalent to a lash tint. No length, no volume, no curl. It just cremes onto your lashes and the equally crappy brush brushes your lashes together in a lash related clump disaster. Terrible terrible terrible!! This would be great for someone with amazing eyelashes who just wants color, or someone like junior high me, a young foolish girl who could afford nothing else and knew no better.

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 qhqy on 5/15/2014 7:58:00 AM more reviews by qhqy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Kinda don't understand why this mascara is so raved about. The wand isn't great, neither is the formula. It doesn't hold my curl well and it's so wet. The wand is so small and the bristles are so separated they don't give me volume or length! It's been around since the 70s/80s I believe which I don't get why it's such a cult classic- maybe the bottle and it's colours? Not sure. I love maybelline mascaras but somehow this one isn't for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Boujie88 on 5/14/2014 1:24:00 PM more reviews by Boujie88

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I will NEVER understand why this mascara consistently gets great reviews from makeup artists. It's just awful. Every now and again, I break down, buy it and try it just to see if it's as bad as I remember - and it always is.
It takes forever and a day to dry, makes my lashes hard, and it does nothing to length or thicken. I just don't get the hype. Blech.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 aquaris on 5/7/2014 9:51:00 PM more reviews by aquaris

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I honestly have no idea why this is a supposed "cult classic" beauty item. It takes so long to dry, and therefore ends up everywhere if you so happen to blink when applying. It's pretty clumpy too. There are so many better drugstore mascaras out there. However, some of my friends still swear by this stuff, so who knows.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 peacebeautylove on 5/6/2014 9:12:00 AM more reviews by peacebeautylove

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I was in need of a mascara and saw this and my local drug store and saw this and though "Ooh this is cheap and the other maybelline mascaras are good". I bought this mascara in brownish black. The packaging isn't very appealing. In my opinion it looked kind of cheap and tacky. The brush is small and thin so not much product was actually applied onto the eyelashes. This mascara is called "Great lash" but to me it was "No lash". It hardly made any difference to the appearance of my lashes. I bought this in water-proof but it still smudged during the day. I was very disappointed because I wasted my time even applying it because it hardly made any difference at all.
I honestly don't have anything else to say about it other than it didn't lengthen, volumize or make my lashes look "great".

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Heelsblog on 5/4/2014 6:45:00 AM more reviews by Heelsblog

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I had been reading a few reviews about this mascara and overall it seemed pretty positive so I thought I would check it out. However after using it I wasn't impressed, the brush is very thin so you don't really get much mascara on it to apply to your lashes. It doesn't clump which is a plus but overall there was barely a difference and I wouldn't be purchasing again.
Check out my other reviews on my blog =]
heelsssss.blogspot.com

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MellyRocker on 5/4/2014 1:16:00 AM more reviews by MellyRocker

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

omg those pics are nothing compared to the volume i get. you just gotta put a lotta coats.

ive never loved a mascara this much. its AWESOME.

its my HG mascara. apply a little for more natural look, or a lot for a more glam look.

i love both the curled and regular version of this forumla/wand. awesome.

UPDATE: I will say though that its waaayyy easier to get a more full look with the curled version of this formula. Use this one for a more natural look.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mnbeth on 5/1/2014 11:33:00 AM more reviews by mnbeth

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This is a good utilitarian mascara; no fancy bells or whistles, but gets the job done. However, I only purchase the Great Lash with the curved brush. That one gives my lashes nice shape without using an eyelash curler. The Great Lash regular brush does zippo for my eyes. I don't have a problem with it smudging, but it seems like many do. You definitely can't beat the price. For those who don't like it, try using the Curved Brush variety. You may have better results. :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jessicapereira1691 on 4/29/2014 9:58:00 AM more reviews by jessicapereira1691

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I like this Mascara its not my favorite but its great when I ran out of my favorite. I usually carry it with me in my makeup pouch when im on the go, perfect for touch up.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products