MAC • Mineralize Skinfinish in Lightscapade • Highlighters

rated 4.2(185 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 ktamp on 10/11/2011 3:09:00 PM more reviews by ktamp

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I'm very happy with this. It is by far my favorite msf. I use it as suggested by other reviewers as an all over finishing powder with a little extra over the cheekbones with my 165. It adds a really nice glow that completes my look. I've never seen the first release IRL so I cannot comment on how it compares to the first. I have two and both have clear veining with all colors present but don't appear as chunky as pics I've seen of the first version. Now that I finally have it , I believe it is a back up worthy product but not worth over retail price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 kole9339 on 10/11/2011 12:49:00 PM more reviews by kole9339

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I am disappointed that I spent $28 on this. I had to order mine online as there is not a MAC store/counter close to where I live. This arrived with no veining at all, just a solid champagne color. (I prefer TheBalm Mary-Lou Manizer if I just want a solid champagne highlighter)

I decided to give it a try anyways as it has such great reviews by others, but this really doesn't show up on my NW15 skin. I had to layer it on and it still didn't show up much. Perhaps it would work better for someone with a darker skin tone than mine, or in the summer when mine is just a bit darker.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 CrimsonSmile on 10/9/2011 7:23:00 AM more reviews by CrimsonSmile

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I am dissapointed in this product- I wish I had bough metiorites intsead, It doesn't show up as a highlighter on my NW10 skin- its quite powdery and not very glowy. I will end up swapping this away or using as a face powder.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sarahanne40 on 10/7/2011 9:28:00 AM more reviews by sarahanne40

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I am a new convert to MAC (well within the last twelve months) and when I saw the temptalia review she mentions (in the write up at least) that this would be a sort after item. So did a bit of research and got caught up in the hype and decided that I had to have it. I got it yesterday (day of store release in Europe) and I must say that it is nice and pretty to look at. Its finely milled and not glittery / chunky like other MSFs can be. I havent seen Perfect Topping, so I cannot compare, but I do like this as an all over MSF rather than a highlight - it gives a real glow which will be nice going into winter. I like it and if I ran out I would probably buy again (if it ever re-surfaces).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* icypeeches on 10/5/2011 7:31:00 PM more reviews by icypeeches

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Being that this was whispered about as unicorn blood in pan form, I had extremely high expectations. I thought lightscapade would be the end all and be all of highlighters. It is very pretty: smooth, not glittery, but imparts a pretty sheen. I use it all over with a 187 brush and a light hand as a finishing powder, and then the 116 to highlight my cheek bones, then mist with fix plus. I think this gives me a natural glow. However, there are a lot of other highlighters that can deliver similar results. A similar look could be created with guerlain meteorite as a setting powder and then dior amber diamond to highlight. I do think this is a backup worthy product, but not worthy of a price tag over retail. Edit: I saw that another reviewer said to add a cream color base underneath lightscapade. This really makes gives lightscapade a more high shine glow. Try it.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Evilyn1983 on 10/4/2011 5:39:00 PM more reviews by Evilyn1983

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Finally got my hands on this. Been reading reviews on it for years, and now that it's been repromoted I get to try it out. Mine does not have intense blue veining, but that doesnt bother me, although I wonder if it makes a difference? It works as a nice highlight. I'll use it from time to time, although I don't see the hype. I paid retail and being that it's MAC, the price seems fair to me.

Maybe because I'm more tan I don't see a big difference. I also have oily skin and don't really like shimmer anywhere other than my eyelids. *shrugs* I like my PERFECT TOPPING better, but it is pretty to look at. I gave it a 3 across the board. Not great, but not bad. It's ok.
Now I just need to try PLEASUREFLUSH...lol

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Lcaster on 10/3/2011 12:51:00 AM more reviews by Lcaster

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I got mine with the new release and I got some AMAZING veining. it looks identical to the original releases with the big blue and salmon coloured veining. feeling very lucky right now! love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Heechul on 10/3/2011 12:21:00 AM more reviews by Heechul

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

This is a subtle creamy cool-toned highlighter that shows up differently on the skin, than swatched on your hand. Many people are complaining about the MSF's not having veining, but the color swatched is the same before and after, also having the same effect.

This is lighter than the Perfect Topping but not as creamy looking, or shimmery. I like Perfect Topping for bigger impact, but this is nice use for everyday...


I bought this not thinking of it as a LE sought after product, but a nice item that I picked up.

If you bought yours just for veining, perhaps try another MSF.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Chibilein on 10/1/2011 9:02:00 PM more reviews by Chibilein

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Well I can not really comment on it yet. (So ignore my rating above) But I wanted to add something to the previous review. I live in Germany. I bought two Lightscapades. One for me, one for a beautyblogging friend. And I have to say, that indeed there is almost no veining at all on BOTH products. It raises the alarm a bit, if this MSF is really equivalent to the former ones. Maybe the repromote has lower quality. I don't know. Perhaps I am exaggerating.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 AxSDenied on 10/1/2011 7:03:00 PM more reviews by AxSDenied

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this with the repromote and was a little disappointed at the time. My version also lacked the beautiful veining that I saw all over the internet time and time again. But once swirled together it's just as good as the others. I like to look at mine as being already blended. It may not be as pretty as the others, but in the end you're just going to swirl your brush in it, mixing the shades together anyways, so I've forgiven it :D It still has the beautiful multishimmer and will get lots of use.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Highlighters products