St. Ives • Apricot Face Wash -- Blemish and Blackhead Control ] [DISCONTINUED] • Cleansers

rated 4.0(145 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued


rated 5 of 5 Jane4Jones on 6/23/2008 3:01:00 PM more reviews by Jane4Jones

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Other    

Love, Love, love this face wash. I have been using it for over 5 years with excellent results. It leaves my face looking clean, bright, and keeps blemishes away. My face is really oily, so this is not too drying for me. This is one of the only drug-store brand products I use and I wouldn't change it for the world!!! I use the St. Ives appricot scrub two times a week, which I love too and have been using for about 10+ years.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 littlemissrebekah on 6/8/2008 8:54:00 PM more reviews by littlemissrebekah

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This face wash is one of my favorites! St. Ives has some really great apricot products, and this face wash is no exception. However, I wish they could offer bigger bottles. This face wash comes in a 6.5 ounce pump bottle, and I go through it very quickly. You can get this product for under $4 at Target, Ulta, etc.

My face is kept clean and under control, and the tiny beads add scrubbing power to your wash. But be careful! I accidentally got a bead or two in my eye, and it hurt for a few hours. I use about two pumps whenever I wash, and I rinse my face morning and night. On the package, it says the product is gentle enough to use whenever you wash, but for me, twice a day is just right.

You can't go wrong with this apricot face wash. It smells so good, too -- just like a juicy apricot! I get frustrated when I can't find it at Target, which happens quite often. The scrub version of the Blemish and Blackhead Control wash is just as good, except it may be irritating for those with sensitive skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Goldie_Loks on 5/1/2008 1:02:00 AM more reviews by Goldie_Loks

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Ok, this stuff is really good! I thought I'd already found the best acne wash for my difficult to clear skin, but after using this, I can see I was wrong. In about a weeks time, this product cleared me up without causing ANY dryness or irritation like all other acne washes seem to do. I should mention that I always follow this product with my Clean & Clear Advantage Moisturizer, and use the St. Ives Invigorating scrub twice a week. It leaves my skin feeling clean but baby soft, it comes in a pump (convenient), and I love the way it smells! I agree with other reviewers, the "scrubbies" are practically non-existent, I actually wish this had MORE scrubbies! UPDATE: I have to alternate this with my Clean & Clear Advantage Cleanser (b.p. cleanser), in order to manage breaktouts, 1 lippie off for that! Still a good product though!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* swirly_whirl85 on 4/30/2008 4:04:00 PM more reviews by swirly_whirl85

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I like this product for a few reasons:
one is that it's super cheap and I can use it with reckless abandon. Two, I like that it has a high dose of 2% salicylic acid, as opposed to 0.5% like a lot of other cleansers. Three, I really like the light scent, the scrubbing beads and the fact that it doesn't strip my skin of moisture.
What I don't like is that fact that the cleanser feels a little greasy to me. It's also not strong enough to clean away all the dirt and makeup and I find that I need to use a toner on my face afterwards. An hour later my face looks shiny again if I use the cleanser alone. All in all, it's a nice light face wash that I like to use as a pick-me-up in the middle of the day. For nighttime I use a more heavy -duty cleanser.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Kat2004 on 4/24/2008 1:21:00 PM more reviews by Kat2004

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I've only been using this cleanser for a week but it really seems to be working for me so far...no irritation on my sensitive skin, cleans but doesn't overdry, and seems to help clear my acne prone skin. The little scrubbies are barely noticeable and the scent is nice.
Great buy for under $5.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Braandi on 4/18/2008 11:35:00 AM more reviews by Braandi

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

LOVE, LOVE, LOVE!! Holy grail product! I've tried everything under the sun for a daily wash that doesn't clog, dry, or irritate my combo eczema prone skin. I shutter to think of the $ I've dropped for high end cleansers only to get mediocre results. I grabbed this off of an aisle display at the local drugstore 3 months ago and can honestly say I've been using daily ever since. I have repurchased several times. Actually, I always buy extra, just in case.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Manillo on 4/7/2008 2:12:00 AM more reviews by Manillo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

****UPDATE: Raised this rating to 4 lippies because it wasn't until after I stopped using this regularly that I noticed the difference it made on my face. Without regular use of this product, my face becomes very flaky and blackheads begin to build up galore. This is a great exfoliator, but like I said, at the back of my mind I'm always worrying about those abrasive grains.****

I really don't know how to review this product entirely fairly. I mean, first of all I use this but the big grains scare me. I feel as though I am damaging my skin. So when I finish the tubes that I have, I'm no longer repurchasing.


Second of all, I really don't know how to tell if its working. Being that I CAN'T tell, I'm gonna go with the fact that it's not really doing that great of a job. My skin is fairly smooth, but it has been smoother from other products. Not to mention, I really don't see it getting rid of any blackheads/blemishes. I use this twice a day and it also hasn't done much for my cystic acne on my chin area. It does cleanse very well and is rather inexpensive. But I don't know, but I just don't think this is all it's cracked up to be.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kickyouonce on 3/28/2008 1:47:00 PM more reviews by kickyouonce

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Yes, I give this a 5, but only because I haven't found anything better for my skin. Let me tell you the canvas with which we're working here: sensitive, oily, with rosacea and seborrheic dermatitis, allergic to benzoyl peroxide. So that's quite a bit already.

This cleanser irritates NONE of my "pre-existing conditions," and it DOES help prevent future breakouts, despite what another reviewer said below. If I am traveling overnight and have forgotten this product and use something else............. breakouts. It is a great preventative if used daily.

The grains are actually nice -- not scratchy at all -- and they get in and remove the dead cells, which is what we want, right?

This is the only face cleanser I purchase and make sure I never run out. Price is fantastic, too!



    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* laurentothemax on 1/27/2008 7:06:00 PM more reviews by laurentothemax

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Paula Beguon hates St. Ives but I really like this face wash. I keep a bottle of this at my bathroom sink and a bottle in my shower. My boyfriend and I both use this. I use it for my oily + congested + blackhead prone skin and he uses it for his delightfully clear but oily enough to kill a sea lion complexion. I'm completely indifferent to the "microbeads." I can hardly feel them and I don't think they have any effects, negative or beneficial. I like the 2% salicylic acid, the sweet foaming action , the not overly scented or medicated smell and the fact that it costs 4 dollars a bottle. What I don't like is that I had to go to 4 drugstores to find it. I still use my alpha hydrox foaming cleanser on occasion when I need something really gentle but most of the time this is my morning and nightime cleanser. I've been using for 3+ weeks and i've not had any reactions or problems.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 susie312 on 1/22/2008 5:10:00 PM more reviews by susie312

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I've used this cleanser when it first came out, then stopped and used other things for whatever reason, and now i'm using it again. I really like it. I find that it exfoliate slightly, has acne medication (sacylic acid). My skin gets really dry during the winter, but by the end of the day it gets oily so i can't put too much moisturizer on, but that's a different story. But the fact that this cleanser has some microbeads in it is good because sometimes you don't want to clease AND scrub all the time so this is like two steps in one. Some people said that they hurt? maybe washing to hard or fast or just sensitive skin? I find this perfect! I will continue to use.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More St. Ives products

More Cleansers products