MAC • Lustre in See Sheer • Lipstick

rated 4.2(169 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.79%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Lepin on 2/11/2011 5:23:00 PM more reviews by Lepin

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Stunning coral with no funky orange hue and no odd Barbie pink hue. The peach/coral tone is neither too warm or too cool. But, the finish is greasy IMO and the staying power is ZERO. Looks amazing with my PPP complexion and is great alternative to gloss. I'm not a MAC fan of any sort but would fast become one if they made this exact color in a less lustre like longer lasting creamier formula. Many compliments received while wearing this...briefly. Lastly, the packaging is too utilitarian for my tastes and screams DS quality.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ambrnazz on 2/11/2011 5:03:00 PM more reviews by ambrnazz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

PROS: Really flattering muted coral-pink color, great for tanned skin, can be sheered out or built-up, not drying at all, doesn't sink in to fine lines.

CONS: As with most lustre lipsticks, the staying power is quite low. I find myself reapplying quite often.

Overall, I do love the shade and the finish and the texture and I am willing to put up with the poor lasting power due to the fact that I love the texture.

For reference, I am NC42.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rocksmom on 2/2/2011 5:00:00 PM more reviews by rocksmom

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This lipstick works really great for me. It is a nice nude/coral color on my lips. I never really thought of myself as a coral person, but I had a tinted lip balm that I really liked and the more I looked at it, the more I thought it looked coral. I took the leap and bought this lipstick today and it really paid off. I applied it with a brush so I could get a sheer, even coverage and then topped it with some clear gloss (Ultra Mentha Lip Shine from C.O. Bigelow). The result was really nice and didn't look too bright or orange against my fair, neutral skin. I can see this becomming my everyday lipstick.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 corgi75 on 12/9/2010 2:46:00 AM more reviews by corgi75

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I love this but find it fairly hard to pair other makeup colours with. The only look that I find it suits is a kind of 1920s pin-up with black liquid liner and a sheeny MAC Shroom eye. For reference I have hazel eyes, neutral fair skin and strawberry blonde hair.

It certainly brightens my face, is really moisturising and luscious on the lip however I always find I feel self conscious when I wear it - maybe the poster who said its like a colour in a kid's makeup kit is right. I feel like a bit of a bimbo with it on!

It has a fair amount of shine to it, has an average lasting power and is probably worth buying if you can carry off a glossy coral.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* murphysmomkk on 11/24/2010 3:21:00 PM more reviews by murphysmomkk

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

It's a rare thing that MAC disappoints me but this did. The color is lovely and while I know it's supposed to be sheer, this is really sheer and lasting power is zilch. It reminds me of the lipticks in a little girl's play makeup set ... barely shows up no matter how thick you put in on. And it's somewhat drying. I would never buy this particular shade again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ashleyrose87 on 11/10/2010 8:30:00 AM more reviews by ashleyrose87

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Gorgeous colour, its a reddish colour, but it has a fair bit of coral, looks quite natural on someone who already has quite pigmented lips, i wear it to work on a daily basis! Perfect consistancy also , non drying but not too shiny! x

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 wondrfull1 on 10/29/2010 9:01:00 PM more reviews by wondrfull1

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I grabbed this on whim yesterday and I'm so glad I did. I went to Nordstrom with some Back2Mac empties and had every intention of picking up a new red shade to add to my collection. I wanted Lady Danger, but found out it was only available at the MAC freestanding store. I didn't see any other reds I wanted, but See Sheer suddenly caught my eye.

I swatched it and thought that I must have ten colors like this, but I got it anyway. Once I got home and put it on my lips I realized I'd found my new favorite every day lipstick. The closest colors I have to it in my collection are Made to Order (now my OLD favorite every day color) and Ravishing. Ravishing is definitely more opaque since it's a Cremesheen. It's also a little bit lighter than See Sheer and more orange-coral. Made to Order and See Sheer are both Lustres, so they are buildable and more moisturizing than many of the other formulas. See Sheer is a pinker, less frosty Made to Order. It's also more flattering on my warm, fair, slightly freckly skin tone. I love that it's sheer enough that I can put it on without even looking in the mirror, too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 wonderhj on 10/16/2010 4:40:00 PM more reviews by wonderhj

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is a good shade to wear to work everyday. It's natural and very flattering on my Asian skin (pale with pink undertones). It doesn't last too long so you may need to keep applying to your lips after drinking and eating. It goes on smooth and silky.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 stephyrm12 on 9/19/2010 2:10:00 AM more reviews by stephyrm12

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

THIS IS WHAT I EXPECTED VIVA GLAM CYINDI TO BE! its a BEAUTIFUL reddish coral color! i have super pigmented lips and u see this color perfectly! its very moisturizing and yes, sheer.
EDIT: ive gave this an extra star, making it a perfect 5. ive been using it like every single day, no lie. my new hg lipstick! i L O V E it! (:

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nonliquet on 9/2/2010 12:14:00 AM more reviews by nonliquet

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

On my pigmented lips, See Sheer shows up as a reddish-coral that brightens up my (NC37-42) olive-tan complexion. Great shade to have especially during the summer. I usually wear it with an understated bronze eye and a peachy-brown blush.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Lipstick products