MAC Lustre in See Sheer

4.2

175 reviews

78% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 4/2/2011 4:45:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm

Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

This is a nice pink for dark skinned ladies. I'm a NW47, I pair this with a chesnut liner.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 3/24/2011 2:11:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Dark, Cool

Hair: Black, Relaxed, Other

Eyes: Brown

One of my most recent lipstick purchases. Saw it on a bloggers page, and it looked great on her. Glad I tried it because it's a keeper. Its not as bright as it seems. Mac lustre lipsticks are more sheer than anything. I wore it for the first time a few days ago and got many compliments. Paired it with Cork lip liner, and Mac's Richer Lusher cremesheen gloss over it. I also tried it with Mac's Temperature rising lip pencil(bright orange), shaded the lips in a little, and topped it off with Mac's Utterly Posh Dazzleglass. Great combo for a more bolder look!


on 3/20/2011 7:47:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is a really pretty color, but not something I could actually wear except once in a blue moon. On me (NW20, black/brown hair, brown eyes, rosey brown pigmented lips), See Sheer was definitely more of an orange coral (not a pinky or red coral). It reminds me of a softer version of Revlon ColorBurst Peach lipstick. It is beautiful. But it is like trying on a great party dress. It might be fun try on, but you have no place to wear it easily (at least in my case).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/19/2011 5:29:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I love this! It's the perfect coral in my opinion, a soft and beautiful blend of natural looking pinky-peach. I'd say it's sheer coverage and it looks so good, it's slightly glossy. I like it because it isn't obviously lipstick and I hate obvious, over the top colour on my lips. This is a perfect wash of coral against my tanned skin (BB 4.5) and again, I love the way this isn't overly obvious and over the top, it's very almost MLBB. Very summery and I love to pair it with a coral blush. It would be clever to make sure your lips are in good condition before applying (of course) because this would probably show up any dry patches quite obviously. I don't care that it's lustre and requires frequent application.

It smells very faintly of chocolate which I can't smell once it's on the lips. The packaging is nice, I like the bullet shape of it. Honestly, packaging doesn't really bother me so I'm not gonna say I love it or hate it but I've definitely seen better.

I will definitely buy it again (or get it with bac2mac!).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/9/2011 5:21:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

This is my everyday lipstick. It's got amazing texture and brightens my entire complexion. I've already bought 2-one for my makeup counter and one for my purse.

I have a strange dilemma of having slightly warm-toned skin (NC20) but naturally bluish-toned, mauvey, pigmented lips--the type that people get when they're cold. They're also habitually chapped and in need of exfoliation.

See Sheer is wonderful because it balances out the blue tones in my lips and turns my lips into a corally-bright watermelon color that actually looks kind of like it could be my natural lip color. It's so easy to use--no lip primer or liner needed and I can even swipe it on without a mirror if I'm really in a pinch because it's so sheer and fool-proof. It looks less corally on than in the tube because of those blue tones in my lips. It's got enough pigment to actually change the color of my lips though, unlike some other lipsticks I've tried (MAC Shy Girl, Rimmel Airy Fairy).

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 3/8/2011 5:22:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Interesting l/s See Sheer is...on me, because I have pigmented lips this can show up as a coral in some light, then a slight pink and in low light it shows brown. I'm not sure what to make of it. What it doesn't do is go blue at any time on me which is what I was looking for. It's nice with Guerlain bronzer and a touch of Nars Orgasm blush, but it's not a spectacular color that's for sure. Not sure I would get this again I might try Crosswires when I do Back-To-Mac.


on 2/11/2011 5:23:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Stunning coral with no funky orange hue and no odd Barbie pink hue. The peach/coral tone is neither too warm or too cool. But, the finish is greasy IMO and the staying power is ZERO. Looks amazing with my PPP complexion and is great alternative to gloss. I'm not a MAC fan of any sort but would fast become one if they made this exact color in a less lustre like longer lasting creamier formula. Many compliments received while wearing this...briefly. Lastly, the packaging is too utilitarian for my tastes and screams DS quality.


on 2/11/2011 5:03:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

PROS: Really flattering muted coral-pink color, great for tanned skin, can be sheered out or built-up, not drying at all, doesn't sink in to fine lines.

CONS: As with most lustre lipsticks, the staying power is quite low. I find myself reapplying quite often.

Overall, I do love the shade and the finish and the texture and I am willing to put up with the poor lasting power due to the fact that I love the texture.

For reference, I am NC42.


on 2/2/2011 5:00:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

This lipstick works really great for me. It is a nice nude/coral color on my lips. I never really thought of myself as a coral person, but I had a tinted lip balm that I really liked and the more I looked at it, the more I thought it looked coral. I took the leap and bought this lipstick today and it really paid off. I applied it with a brush so I could get a sheer, even coverage and then topped it with some clear gloss (Ultra Mentha Lip Shine from C.O. Bigelow). The result was really nice and didn't look too bright or orange against my fair, neutral skin. I can see this becomming my everyday lipstick.


on 12/9/2010 2:46:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this but find it fairly hard to pair other makeup colours with. The only look that I find it suits is a kind of 1920s pin-up with black liquid liner and a sheeny MAC Shroom eye. For reference I have hazel eyes, neutral fair skin and strawberry blonde hair.

It certainly brightens my face, is really moisturising and luscious on the lip however I always find I feel self conscious when I wear it - maybe the poster who said its like a colour in a kid's makeup kit is right. I feel like a bit of a bimbo with it on!

It has a fair amount of shine to it, has an average lasting power and is probably worth buying if you can carry off a glossy coral.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Lipsticks


Velvet Teddy
Velvet Teddy
215 Reviews
Liquid Lipstick
Liquid Lipstick
27 Reviews

Recommended for Medium Skin



Top Rated MAC Products

image

Deelight

42 reviews
image

Matte - Saddle

95 reviews
Back to Top