MAC Satin - Era

4.4

153 reviews

83% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 2/3/2009 6:06:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This color is my go to color when I'm in a rush. It's a nice beigy/brown that has a satin finish. Easy to put on with a bit of liner and mascara and you are done!



on 1/29/2009 3:13:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

this color is great! on me it looks like a beigey golden light brown. i can already think of all the other colors in my collex that i can pair it with. in a pinch, it works great as a subtle highlight as well! :D for reference, i am nc35, dark hair dark brown eyes.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/28/2009 4:24:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Dark, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Wow, I just finished reading the reviews and I'm reallly surprised by all the negative comments. Perhaps it is true that this works better on darker and more olive skintones because on me, an NC45, this is a perfect neutral shade. I've had this sitting around for months and while going thru one of my makeup purges, I finally tried it. It's a satin finish so it feels super silky. Its not as shimmer or beige as Naked Lunch as Era seems to have more of a gray undertone. I pair this with very dark brown shades such as Espresso and Brun and it looks perfect!


on 12/26/2008 10:52:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This isn't a shadow I would have ever picked out on my own to buy, because it looks rather drab in the pan. But I received it as an extra in a swap, and I've gotta tell ya, I like it quite a bit. The color falls somewhere between beige and taupe, and it has such a lovely sheen. My favorite way to wear it is in the crease, with a light color like Dazzlelight on the lid. Makes for a subtle, soft, natural look. I've tried it on my lid, but it kind of made me look ashy and dull. Maybe I just need to find a good color to pair it with that way. It's not something I'll wear every day, but it is a good basic versatile color to add to the colllection.


on 12/16/2008 10:33:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I had this color a long time ago. I tried and tried to make it work but just couldn't..it always ended up making my eyes look ashy. will definately not repurchase


on 12/15/2008 2:03:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

In my love affair with Era, I went through several pans. Now, I have one left, but haven't used it forever. I've just moved on and found better (for me) medium brownish colors for my lid color. Very close to Soba as noted in other reviews. This one has quite a bit more pink to it than Soba. As with Soba, some sparkle, but not enough to make it unwearable on "mature" lids.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/3/2008 12:01:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Update: I must have been insane the day I wrote this review. What had I seen in this color? It's a blah putty color that isn't very attractive on me. Unless I had dark or olive skin (and I don't - I'm dark-haired, but quite fair) I don't see how this can work for me. Took away all my lippies.

Where have you been all my life?? I LOVE this color. I only just started wearing shadows, and I don't like heavy looks. I have dramatic features, so when I wear eye makeup, it's just too much. I just like to "accent" and be subtle. This is gorgeous, though I realized this morning, I'd rather where it on my lid - straight - with no paint (I usually use ochre) because it's a "satin" and it's creamy. So it's sheer and gives a nice sheen. This with haux or charcoal brown in the crease is just a really nice everyday look.

Still searching for an even nice crease color...


on 11/27/2008 9:14:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I hate this color. This looks just like my eyelid color when I 1st wake up in the morning~gross and drab. I've had it for about 3 years and have tried to make it work a couple of times, but I always hate how it looks.


on 9/23/2008 1:54:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

really good basic natural warm brown color..a more accurate description of what this looks on MY lids is a darker beige tone, basically my lids but better. very pretty as a nice light wash on the lid. good quality as I'd expect from mac


on 9/7/2008 2:46:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Era is such a great neutral that I keep on coming back to time and time again. It's only a shade or two darker than my skin colour and I use it either on the lid with darker colours like Mulch in the outer corner or as a crease colour to tone down vivid shades and lusterous finishes. A very versatile eyeshadow!




Back to Top