MAC • Satin - Era • Eye Shadow

rated 4.4(151 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.83%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hotAsFiya on 1/28/2009 4:24:00 PM more reviews by hotAsFiya

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Wow, I just finished reading the reviews and I'm reallly surprised by all the negative comments. Perhaps it is true that this works better on darker and more olive skintones because on me, an NC45, this is a perfect neutral shade. I've had this sitting around for months and while going thru one of my makeup purges, I finally tried it. It's a satin finish so it feels super silky. Its not as shimmer or beige as Naked Lunch as Era seems to have more of a gray undertone. I pair this with very dark brown shades such as Espresso and Brun and it looks perfect!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Julesbait on 12/26/2008 10:52:00 PM more reviews by Julesbait

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This isn't a shadow I would have ever picked out on my own to buy, because it looks rather drab in the pan. But I received it as an extra in a swap, and I've gotta tell ya, I like it quite a bit. The color falls somewhere between beige and taupe, and it has such a lovely sheen. My favorite way to wear it is in the crease, with a light color like Dazzlelight on the lid. Makes for a subtle, soft, natural look. I've tried it on my lid, but it kind of made me look ashy and dull. Maybe I just need to find a good color to pair it with that way. It's not something I'll wear every day, but it is a good basic versatile color to add to the colllection.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 blushingrose on 12/16/2008 10:33:00 PM more reviews by blushingrose

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I had this color a long time ago. I tried and tried to make it work but just couldn't..it always ended up making my eyes look ashy. will definately not repurchase

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Andee on 12/15/2008 2:03:00 PM more reviews by Andee

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Grey, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

In my love affair with Era, I went through several pans. Now, I have one left, but haven't used it forever. I've just moved on and found better (for me) medium brownish colors for my lid color. Very close to Soba as noted in other reviews. This one has quite a bit more pink to it than Soba. As with Soba, some sparkle, but not enough to make it unwearable on "mature" lids.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 LilaGirl on 12/3/2008 12:01:00 PM more reviews by LilaGirl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Update: I must have been insane the day I wrote this review. What had I seen in this color? It's a blah putty color that isn't very attractive on me. Unless I had dark or olive skin (and I don't - I'm dark-haired, but quite fair) I don't see how this can work for me. Took away all my lippies.

Where have you been all my life?? I LOVE this color. I only just started wearing shadows, and I don't like heavy looks. I have dramatic features, so when I wear eye makeup, it's just too much. I just like to "accent" and be subtle. This is gorgeous, though I realized this morning, I'd rather where it on my lid - straight - with no paint (I usually use ochre) because it's a "satin" and it's creamy. So it's sheer and gives a nice sheen. This with haux or charcoal brown in the crease is just a really nice everyday look.

Still searching for an even nice crease color...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 jnjules on 11/27/2008 9:14:00 PM more reviews by jnjules

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I hate this color. This looks just like my eyelid color when I 1st wake up in the morning~gross and drab. I've had it for about 3 years and have tried to make it work a couple of times, but I always hate how it looks.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tracy1031 on 9/23/2008 1:54:00 AM more reviews by tracy1031

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

really good basic natural warm brown color..a more accurate description of what this looks on MY lids is a darker beige tone, basically my lids but better. very pretty as a nice light wash on the lid. good quality as I'd expect from mac

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 groda on 9/7/2008 2:46:00 AM more reviews by groda

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Era is such a great neutral that I keep on coming back to time and time again. It's only a shade or two darker than my skin colour and I use it either on the lid with darker colours like Mulch in the outer corner or as a crease colour to tone down vivid shades and lusterous finishes. A very versatile eyeshadow!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 annaalways on 8/22/2008 2:15:00 AM more reviews by annaalways

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is a sophisticated color for the lids It's just a couple shades darker than my pale, yellow toned skin. I used this as an all over lid color with Texture in the outer corners and Kid in the crease. That combo is a fail safe for me. Just add eyeliner and mascara! It blends beautifully. I love it even better than Soba which has a bit more yellow in it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lovescent on 8/21/2008 5:23:00 AM more reviews by lovescent

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

When I saw this color, I knew I had to get it. This color works great on days when I want to go for a lighter look. This color really opens up my eyes. I think this color goes great with shroom and brule.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eye Shadow products