Clinique • Line Smoothing Concealer • Concealers

rated 3.6(172 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 smilesmile7890 on 6/6/2010 4:09:00 PM more reviews by smilesmile7890

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This concealer is exactly like the covergirl's. They're both pink based, which doesn't work for my yellow NC25 Asian skin. Since this didn't work out for dark spots I tried using it for undereyes.
It's blendability is okay, but it doesn't smooth out lines! I have very tiny wrinkle underneath my eyes and when I put this on it gets super noticable! Forget finishing it with powder in hopes of matching it to your skin. The coverage is crap, it turns my undereye circles dark pinkish. I get better coverage from my foundation.
If you have pink undertones this might work, but seriously the covergirl one's EXACTLY like this and much cheaper. Just be careful if you have undereye wrinkles because it does not smooth it out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* prettyseaeagle on 5/23/2010 2:00:00 PM more reviews by prettyseaeagle

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Like the name suggests, the Line-Smoothing Concealer smooths over lines using a special bridge technology. I use this for touch ups over my existing makeup and it doesnt cake nor crease. Really amazing stuff but the shades are pretty limited. 03 Moderately Fair is too fair for my dark circles (creates reverse raccoon look, not pretty) but 04 Medium is way too pink and dark. I end up having to mix the both of them to get a correct shade.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dokibaesil on 3/14/2010 5:30:00 PM more reviews by dokibaesil

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I LOVE this product! The first concealer I've ever bought and fell in love. I have so many acne scars and this concealer covers them up so well. Sorry for the other guys and gals that don't have the perfect shade for this product but I found my perfect shade. This item blends very well and doesn't sink into the 1-2 premature wrinkles (that're clearing up!) I have under my eyes. Best of all, it doesn't feel heavy on my skin and doesn't break me out.
Buying again and soon!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 slumbergirl on 1/15/2010 4:19:00 PM more reviews by slumbergirl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I had high hopes for this concealer because I use to like Cinique products very much. Unfortunately it disappointed me Ė itís heavy and sticky, the shade is too dark for me (I use Light) and it is very visible when I set my face with powder. Also, when I try to conceal imperfections it tends to dry them out so it makes them even more visible.

When it comes to undereye circles Ė it gave me horrible eye lines and the coverage is not so good either (I have quite dark undereyes), it tends to darken even more when I put it around eye areas. Still, it reflects light nicely but thatís about the only nice thing I can tell about it.
Will not repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 madmermaid on 1/3/2010 2:16:00 PM more reviews by madmermaid

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

First off: the unsatisfactory color selection. I was bikini-clad on a California beach a while back, and some random guy walked by and exclaimed "Damn, that girl is white!" If a Clinique rep had been next to him, she would have nodded in agreement. The lightest shade in this concealer (02 - Light) is too dark. In basements and bars it looks great, but in bright light or outside, it's obvious that it doesn't blend well--you can see little beigy spots on my face where the concealer is. Shade 03, "Moderately Fair", looks even darker. What I need is a shade 01, which is mysteriously absent in this concealer (I have never been able to find it anywhere). Why would they start with 02? Please, Clinique, some love for us natural-born goths?

Second: the performance of the concealer itself. It works pretty well. When I dot it on and pat it in over moisturizer, it seems to go on flawlessly. I like the moderate-to-full yet smooth consistency. It does not fully disguise splotchy redness, but it makes it look better. The main problem is that it doesn't work so well on areas larger than a spot. If I try to cover my nose with a light layer and set it with powder, it seems to grab onto the powder somehow and bunch into lots of tiny speckles, through which you can see the redness I was trying to conceal. Without powder, it rubs off and settles into lines. So, I just skip my nose and use foundation there. Bottom line: it's better as a spot concealer.

Also, I love the tube and applicator. Very convenient and easy to dot in and blend (by patting) with my little finger. No need for a separate brush.

Overall, I like it and it is one of the best formulas I have used. So sad that the shade is wrong for me. I will keep using it until it runs out because I prefer beigey spots to splotchy redness, but I will probably not repurchase when I run out, unless Clinique decides to make this in 01 - Fair.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 snappalicious on 12/16/2009 11:51:00 PM more reviews by snappalicious

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Love. One of the only products I come back to again and again. I use this for under my eyes and even though I don't need to really smooth lines I find that it does an excellent job at hiding dark circles. It also is not noticeable at all (I have the lightest shade). It stays put all day and the best part is that because of the line smoothing feature it seems to not crease or make under my eyes look crepe-y. Would recommend for any age and any skin type.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 stephyya on 11/24/2009 2:36:00 AM more reviews by stephyya

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I like it , it covers most of my pores and spots and won't make my face dry or break out. It's a great concealer for people who have better skin condition or when you want a full coverage, this is your choice. But i have acnes all the time so i really like to find something natural .

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 stephxoxo21 on 11/21/2009 10:08:00 PM more reviews by stephxoxo21

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Love, love, love this concealer, it stays on forever and covers everything up! The best concealer ive used so far.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Tgallop on 11/8/2009 6:25:00 PM more reviews by Tgallop

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I've tried a lot of concealers...I have allergies which causes deep blue circles under my eyes. Most of the concealers I've tried have been cakey or too yellow - even the pricey ones. Decided one more try at the Clinique counter and the MA pointed this product out for me. I use the applicator (same as a gloss) to dab a bit under my eyes and then I smooth with a concealer brush. Stays put all day and is a great match. I bought mine in fair (I'm an NC 15). Can't live without it now!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Kayelle on 10/29/2009 10:52:00 PM more reviews by Kayelle

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This concealer matches my complexion well (I have it in Light), and gives a good level of coverage. The doe foot applicator is decent, and you get quite a bit for the cost. Not my favorite concealer, but a safe bet if you want something versatile and easy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clinique products

More Concealers products