H & M • H&M clothing in general • Clothes

rated 3.7(159 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.81%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 NYMinute on 2/19/2008 1:34:00 AM more reviews by NYMinute

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Okay, my rating refers to US stores. I have H&M clothes from the UK and France that are wonderful. Some of them are 8 years old and still look great! The stuff I have from the NYC and Chicago stores is not nearly as nice. I wonder, however, if the whole chain has gone downhill in the past few years. I haven't been to Europe for several years.

Anyway, the US stores are crowded and messy. The fabrics are mostly synthetic. The cuts are trendy, but -- for the most part -- a little too youthful for me.

These days I tend to buy T-shirts (which only last a season anyway), random accessories, and a few trendy pieces here and there. The stuff isn't even priced that well anymore. A few years ago I bought a cute leather purse there for $10. Now you can't find a leather purse at H&M to save your life!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 princess89 on 2/15/2008 6:31:00 AM more reviews by princess89

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

i love H&M!! over here in the uk its one of the most talked about and best stores!
i carnt see any fault! good quality clothes for a reasonable prices! all the latest trends!! great customer service in the ones ive been in!!

the only thing i could fault about the place is when its rather busy theres clothes everywhere on the floor and they dont really focus on you much in the changing rooms!

maybe in usa or canada it maybe different to over here in the uk!! but if your ever over hee in the uk go in a H&M and compare to see if its any different!!!

ive bought quite a few products from H&M and none of them have shurnk or gone funny in the wash!! you really should read the label on most of H&M products because they all vairy on different ways to wash them!!!!

ive never had to return anything either!! i could spend alt of time and money in H&M.

i really dont see some people have a problem with the place! but everyones got their own taste and maybe there is better stores in america than over here, but H&M is very big over here!!!

and id like to say i dont work there! alot of people think if a place gets a good reveiw the person who wrote it must work there! i dont! i do work in another retail store but it isnt H&M so if anything id be bad mouthing it but really carnt do that as it wouldnt be fair as i would be lying!

hope this reveiw helps some people if it dosent oh well ive wrote it anyway!! if anyone has anything to discuss or say to me about this review please msg me if you wish xxxxxxx

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mercymercyme on 1/27/2008 12:49:00 AM more reviews by mercymercyme

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I had no idea that H&M clothing was reviewed on MUA! I just stumbled upon it and figured that I'd put my two cents in. I LOVE H&M. I did a survey of my clothes recently and realized that half of my items were from H&M. Massive, timely selection; quick turnover of supercute accessories; usually interesting soundtrack offered for shoppers; often conveniently located.


My only complaints are that they offer no petite clothing - I'm 5'0 - so I have to get 2s and 4s, of which sizes they quickly run out. If I find a 2, in anything, I'm usually apt to pounce upon it and hoard, it even though the cut and color might be atrocious for me and I haven't yet realized it.


However, these are small complaints. H&M rarely fails. Sure, the clothes are cheap, and yes, I've worn through more than a few items. But I've noticed that I have staple items that I wear constantly (my slim-fitting beige canvas trench, for example, that I bought in 2002 and have worn pretty much every day for three months, or any amount of sweaters, tank tops, and a cute-as-hell stretchy green velvet blazer/jacket), and those items hold up well! Perhaps I just lucked out and bought the Methusela Pieces, or something.


At any rate, I'm especially effusive over H&M because I moved to an area that has none, and I gravely miss it (for the reviewer who surmised that more stores would lessen its appeal, I say, Bah! Bring them to Colorado! That would appeal to me). Most clothing options in my new home are far too uppity for my tastes and wallet, so I have to make do with a neighborhood Forever 21 for my cheap clothes fix. It's...just not the same.


That is all.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Sage6o4 on 1/10/2008 10:56:00 PM more reviews by Sage6o4

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I don't see what all the hype is about H&M. Seriously, it's nice, simple, cheap clothing, but it isn't anything different from Sirens. Nothing wrong with their clothes.. just nothing special either. Very overrated IMHO.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 tattedup617 on 1/2/2008 11:59:00 PM more reviews by tattedup617

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

i had really good luck at h&m during my pregnancy! they have pretty cute maternity stuff but also alot of the non-pregnancy clothes worked as well. i also think that if you want to pick up some fun accessories for the season the prices are really good.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ChuckysBaby on 12/15/2007 5:34:00 PM more reviews by ChuckysBaby

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

i love H&M!! i find everything there for not too much money. starting with the basics - tanks, tees, hoodies - to other stuff - button ups, jackets, trenches. even their bags & other accessories are nice!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Lizzy28 on 12/7/2007 8:32:00 AM more reviews by Lizzy28

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

When and if I buy new clothes, I always go to H & M. Clothes are cheap, trendy and they do carry the smaller sizes (I'm a size 4-6, which is harder to find overhere), also in underwear, esp. bra's. Okay, quality isn't that good (loose threads, buttons that fall off quickly), but it ain't haute couture and for the price it fits the bill. I also like their children's clothing for my son. And while you're there, check out the accessories; nice bags and jewelry!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bambi53 on 12/7/2007 6:12:00 AM more reviews by bambi53

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I like H&M clothes, because you can find anything for allmost no money. It's i great place to buy basis clothes, because its so cheap. Some of the clothes doesn't fit that well, because of the quality, but there really are some of it, that just fits perfect and look great.The underwear is also just great, and looks good! I own a lot of H&M clothes, most underwear, and i am going to continue to purchase it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mz_simmonz on 12/6/2007 2:21:00 PM more reviews by mz_simmonz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I like H&M, and I'm trying to get my girlfriends to stop criticizing the brand, which is ironic because they still buy crap from Forever21, which I think has even lower quality clothes and styles. I've bought several dress shirts and sweaters and tons of accessories from H&M and the accessories are actually what I love most about the store. They are a guilt-free purchase especially for someone who tends to lose things as soon as she wears them. I agree that the quality and the "craftsmenship" is not excellent, but this is just H&M here, not some couture line cut them some slack. It's great when you want to buy that cute top but are afraid that it will go out of style so you don't want to spend $200 on it so why not buy something similar at H&M for under $50? I've gotten compliments on the cute sweaters, (it was 100% btw) and since I bought it a couple years ago before a billion H&M stores started springing up on every corner, nobody knows where I got mine. You just have to choose the right items, some are pretty crappy, with threads hanging loose, and collars all crooked but you will find a few great basic pieces to mix and match with your higher end stuff (ie: $30 H&M sweater with your $300 pencil jeans, hair pulled back with a $2 H&M headband, and your wrist topped off with your fave designer watch) and you'll have a well put together outfit. Same goes with the stores themsevles. Some stores are immaculate, has tons of sizes and great customer service, meanwhile other stores are a mess with clothes strewn EVERYWHERE and have too much floor space so you're pretty much lost without a map. Overall, I like H&M but I predict that if anymore stores open up, it will definetely lose its appeal.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 littlemermaidcn on 11/27/2007 4:07:00 PM more reviews by littlemermaidcn

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Whatever the most trendy, you'll find one piece or two at H&M, but better not wash it, and be prepared to throw it away after one season, coz frankly the quality is one of the worst among high street stores. However, I'll keep on purchasing it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More H & M products

More Clothes products