Bare Escentuals Bare Minerals Original Mineral Veil

3.7

1077 reviews

63% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

NEW INGREDIENTS>>> Zea Mays (Corn) Starch, Corn Starch Modified, Zinc Stearate, Magnesium Stearate. (+/-): Iron Oxides (Ci 77491, Ci 77492, Ci 77499). OLD INGREDIENTS>>>Zea Mays (Corn) Starch, Aluminum Starch Octenylsuccinate, Magnesium Stearate, Zinc Stearate, Methyparaben, Propylparaben.


on 1/23/2013 2:37:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Blurs imperfections, is a nice colour and keeps your face fairly matte all day.
BUT it runs out fast as the amount in each package is small and it's costly to keep up.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.



on 11/29/2012 2:33:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Green

i always come back to this. its great to combat shine, and generally lasts a fair amount of time bc you dont need much. my only complaint is that it can make me look a bit chalky, i always have to put bronzer or blush over it, so im always looking for something better.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/17/2012 9:31:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I cannot beleive I have not reviewed this yet. HG HG HG! I love this stuff.
I have sensitive combo skin (NC30) that depending on the weather acts dry or can get too oily. I put my moisturizer on and then my foundaton or concealor depending on how much coverage I want or where I am going and then apply the mineral veil. After that I finish off with blush, eyeshadow etc. before no matter what I did my makeup would not last. it would slide off my face and disappear or be sitting on top of my skin waiting for me to make a mistake and it would smear on anything that would get close to my face. After I have started using mineral veil I can apply my makeup in the morning or for a party and it stays on all night. I do not have to look in the mirror once. I am a mom of 2 toddlers and I just do not have the time to sit and apply a million things to my face once a day forget checking ten times in a day and retouching.
I have taken one lippie off only for the packaging. Its jsut so messy. first the sticker in the container that is supposed keep the product in the bottom came off so half my product is in the top on the container and I have to pour some out onto the lid to use it.I also cannot use this stuff without getting some on my counter or sink. I wish BE would change to their new click and twist containers so I remove only as much I need. other than that I will not be without my mineral veil ever

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 10/12/2012 4:49:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Fabulous product, recommended to many. Visibly reduces pores. Bought this item repeatedly :-)


on 10/5/2012 10:39:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

This is a must have for any makeup back. It compliments any foundation and gives that airbrushed look. Only a tiny bit goes a long way and it seems to last all day. I got it in Illuminating for highlighting. I will definitely be buying this product time and time again.


on 9/27/2012 6:54:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

For many years, I didn't know what makeup to use, so I didn't use any. All the trouble of finding something that would be good for my skin, make my face look good, the right colors ... I had no idea of how to start, so I took exactly no action.

Then I was bridesmaid for my friend's wedding. Two of the other bridesmaids used their Bare Minerals kits on me. I liked what I saw, and I liked what I read ... the idea of loose mineral powder, instead of heavy caked-on foundation, was immensely appealing.

So I toddled off to the Bare Minerals store and got that 3-piece kit. 18 months later, it is still the only makeup I own. I guess this review is for the Mineral Veil component.

I religiously follow the steps the salesgirl showed me. No inclination or aptitude for experimentation, sadly; plus I cannot ever shake the fear that I'm doing things the 'wrong' way. So: first the foundation, then the 'Warmth All-Over Face Color', and lastly, the 'Mineral Veil.'

The powder feels light and airy on my skin. It seems to brighten my face, and make me look a little less 'made up.' I always finish up with Mineral Veil, and have never had problems with the underlying layers (i.e. foundation or blush) rubbing off. I dunno, I guess it makes the mineral layers feel smoother, less rough. I've never had any adverse reaction. I like, I'm a fan. Two amateur thumbs up!


on 9/27/2012 8:36:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I really like this product to put overtop of any foundation. The trick is to use a tiny bit of it. If you want an airbrush finish than you should not see any product on your brush. It is not meant to be worn on its own. It is supposed to compliment your foundation. It is super light and gives a very natural finish. It is an essential product of anyones make up bag!


Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Deep Dark, Neutral

Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I'm a DDD so the tinted mineral veil was recommended for me. I got this with a value bundle deal offered on the Bare Minerals infomerical. Anyway .... this powder is awful (just like B.M foundation) it's chalky & ashy even when using the slightest amount. No matter what foundation applied before it. After less than one hour it makes my skin shiny & greasy looking. How is that possible when my skin is DESERT SAND DRY? Although it sucks as a finishing powder its pretty decent for setting my under eye concealer. Doesn't look or feel cakey/dry but that reason alone wouldn't make me re purchase cause I prefer my Ben Nye banana powder for setting foundation & concealer.


on 9/13/2012 4:46:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is my HG of powders! I stopped buying the loose version because I use it up so fast. I can go through a pot of this in a month. So I'm now I'm using the compact version and like it just as much, if not better. I work for BE and this is so far the only product I can't live without.


on 8/7/2012 11:26:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is a pretty decent product - gives a nice matte finish and somehow minimizes my pores. BUT I wouldn't buy it again because I found out that the magical "MINERAL VEIL" is basically cornstarch + some additives. So I looked up how to make it online (google "homemade translucent face powder" or "homemade mineral veil") and just made it myself! I mixed a tbsp. of cornstarch, a 1/4 tsp. of cocoa powder (unsweetened) and just a smidge of nutmeg. Same results for pennies, NO weird chemicals I can't pronouce, and it smells better too! If this helped you please click the thumbs up button so more people see it, thanks.

P.S. Do not double-dip your brush into the powder if you want to avoid breakouts. What I do is tap a little powder onto my hand, dip my brush into that and then use any excess on my arms or wherever.

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.


Recommended for Normal Skin



Top Rated Bare Escentuals Products

image

Eye Brow powder

113 reviews
image

Vanilla Sugar

61 reviews
image

Mineral blush

58 reviews
image

Beauty

84 reviews
Back to Top