Bare Escentuals Bare Minerals Original Mineral Veil

3.7

1074 reviews

63% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

NEW INGREDIENTS>>> Zea Mays (Corn) Starch, Corn Starch Modified, Zinc Stearate, Magnesium Stearate. (+/-): Iron Oxides (Ci 77491, Ci 77492, Ci 77499). OLD INGREDIENTS>>>Zea Mays (Corn) Starch, Aluminum Starch Octenylsuccinate, Magnesium Stearate, Zinc Stearate, Methyparaben, Propylparaben.


on 10/12/2012 4:49:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Fabulous product, recommended to many. Visibly reduces pores. Bought this item repeatedly :-)



on 10/5/2012 10:39:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

This is a must have for any makeup back. It compliments any foundation and gives that airbrushed look. Only a tiny bit goes a long way and it seems to last all day. I got it in Illuminating for highlighting. I will definitely be buying this product time and time again.


on 9/27/2012 6:54:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

For many years, I didn't know what makeup to use, so I didn't use any. All the trouble of finding something that would be good for my skin, make my face look good, the right colors ... I had no idea of how to start, so I took exactly no action.

Then I was bridesmaid for my friend's wedding. Two of the other bridesmaids used their Bare Minerals kits on me. I liked what I saw, and I liked what I read ... the idea of loose mineral powder, instead of heavy caked-on foundation, was immensely appealing.

So I toddled off to the Bare Minerals store and got that 3-piece kit. 18 months later, it is still the only makeup I own. I guess this review is for the Mineral Veil component.

I religiously follow the steps the salesgirl showed me. No inclination or aptitude for experimentation, sadly; plus I cannot ever shake the fear that I'm doing things the 'wrong' way. So: first the foundation, then the 'Warmth All-Over Face Color', and lastly, the 'Mineral Veil.'

The powder feels light and airy on my skin. It seems to brighten my face, and make me look a little less 'made up.' I always finish up with Mineral Veil, and have never had problems with the underlying layers (i.e. foundation or blush) rubbing off. I dunno, I guess it makes the mineral layers feel smoother, less rough. I've never had any adverse reaction. I like, I'm a fan. Two amateur thumbs up!


on 9/27/2012 8:36:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I really like this product to put overtop of any foundation. The trick is to use a tiny bit of it. If you want an airbrush finish than you should not see any product on your brush. It is not meant to be worn on its own. It is supposed to compliment your foundation. It is super light and gives a very natural finish. It is an essential product of anyones make up bag!


Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Deep Dark, Neutral

Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I'm a DDD so the tinted mineral veil was recommended for me. I got this with a value bundle deal offered on the Bare Minerals infomerical. Anyway .... this powder is awful (just like B.M foundation) it's chalky & ashy even when using the slightest amount. No matter what foundation applied before it. After less than one hour it makes my skin shiny & greasy looking. How is that possible when my skin is DESERT SAND DRY? Although it sucks as a finishing powder its pretty decent for setting my under eye concealer. Doesn't look or feel cakey/dry but that reason alone wouldn't make me re purchase cause I prefer my Ben Nye banana powder for setting foundation & concealer.


on 9/13/2012 4:46:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is my HG of powders! I stopped buying the loose version because I use it up so fast. I can go through a pot of this in a month. So I'm now I'm using the compact version and like it just as much, if not better. I work for BE and this is so far the only product I can't live without.


on 8/7/2012 11:26:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is a pretty decent product - gives a nice matte finish and somehow minimizes my pores. BUT I wouldn't buy it again because I found out that the magical "MINERAL VEIL" is basically cornstarch + some additives. So I looked up how to make it online (google "homemade translucent face powder" or "homemade mineral veil") and just made it myself! I mixed a tbsp. of cornstarch, a 1/4 tsp. of cocoa powder (unsweetened) and just a smidge of nutmeg. Same results for pennies, NO weird chemicals I can't pronouce, and it smells better too! If this helped you please click the thumbs up button so more people see it, thanks.

P.S. Do not double-dip your brush into the powder if you want to avoid breakouts. What I do is tap a little powder onto my hand, dip my brush into that and then use any excess on my arms or wherever.

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.


on 8/5/2012 9:07:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is a good mineral veil, but pretty standard as far as mineral veils go. I have bought large sizes 20-30gms off ebay for a much better price, I would never pay full retail for this. It does what it's supposed to do, set makeup and help maintain a matte complexion. But, you can get basically the same mineral veil or something a bit different for better prices, there are many competing products out there. It's really up to individual preference on this one.


on 7/25/2012 8:42:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I think this is such a wallflower product but so useful to have in my make-up kit. It is great for it's use as a setting powder and for me makes my pores vanish, but that is not essentially why I like it so much! OK, I am a fan also of BE eye shadows, glimpses, shimmers etc. and also use some other similar mineral eyeshadows called Pure & Simple which I tend to select in more natural tones. At times I've purchased something and on using it discover it has more shimmer in it than I'd like for during the day but not to panic! After apply my shadow and before mascara I can neutralise the shimmer and indeed the intensity of ANY colour (I prefer a natural look) by applying a sweeping of Mineral Veil across my lids. It also means I don't have to check for and creasing or be constantly checking my appearance because there's so much else to do in life. Mineral Veil helps me forget about my make-up and wear it with confidence.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This claims to impart a flawless, airbrushed complexion. I did not get that at all. I have relatively good skin, I just wanted something to blur whatever slight imperfections/flaws my skin had. I saw no difference at all. When trying o layer this, I looked so powdery. Not oil absorbing whatsoever. I've had people comment on how shiny my face looks. Embarrassing! Does not cover pores. Overall, did not achieve what it said it would. Disappointing. Will not repurchase.


Recommended for Normal Skin



Top Rated Bare Escentuals Products

image

Eye Brow powder

113 reviews
image

Fruit Cocktail

57 reviews
image

Vanilla Sugar

61 reviews
image

Mineral blush

58 reviews
Back to Top