Bare Escentuals • Mineral Veil • Loose Powders

rated 3.7(1046 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.63%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 orangenotepad on 12/27/2011 9:54:00 AM more reviews by orangenotepad

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Ugh. This does not work well on my combo skin. I bought this to set my liquid foundations since the assistant at the Macys counter reassured me it would help control oil without clogging my pores or upsetting my sensitive skin. Wrong, wrong, and wrong. My face managed to look both oily and chalky at the same time after using this product. It emphasized what little wrinkling I have around my eyes. And it clogged my pores. And it gave me dry flaky spots around my nose that picked up all the sparkle of the product.
Will return. Will not repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 doubleclicks on 12/3/2011 1:57:00 AM more reviews by doubleclicks

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

i love this stuff! i'm currently using estee lauder double wear light and although i love the foundation for the staying power, it leaves my face feeling sticky - and this is where the mineral veil comes in. it helps my face stay matt and smooth, and most remarkably it lasts almost throughout the day and makes me feel comfortable. this is saying something as i have oily skin and without this mineral veil my skin is an oily mess by mid afternoon. the only issues i have with this product is that it has a slight tendency to cake up at acne prone areas of my skin and create small patches, so i have to be careful to apply just a thin layer. it also comes in a loose powder form so it can get pretty messy sometimes. but all in all, it does everything i expect a loose powder to. till i find something even better, its a definite repurchase!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 carissarose on 11/27/2011 3:50:00 PM more reviews by carissarose

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Complete and utter garbage. All this is, is a translucent powder filled with tiny particles of shimmer. If you believe that putting this over your already POWDER foundation will 'set' your makeup, you've been truly brainwashed into the Bare Escentuals marketing hype. You cannot set powder with more powder! It doesn't make any sense. Putting more powder over powder will literally do nothing. It's just more powder that you're caking on your face. All you'll end up looking like is a shimmery, powdery dry mess. And for the record, ALL makeup is mineral makeup. The claims that this makeup is more 'natural' than regular powder are completely and 100% false. They are lying to you. Traditional loose powder is made up of the same exact 'minerals' as mineral makeup: zinc oxide (which by the way is not made from the earth, it's actually synthesized in a lab), iron oxides, titanium dioxide, mica, starch, bismuth oxychloride, etc. It's all the same. Powder is powder is powder.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* melangerehab on 11/21/2011 11:30:00 PM more reviews by melangerehab

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I kinda like the feel of this on the skin, it is soft and somehow cooling, but it's really not necessary or helpful. I use other translucent powders and they have a lot more staying power and are better at, say, mattifying the skin. This is just an unremarkable product, IMHO.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Menolikepolos on 11/20/2011 3:21:00 PM more reviews by Menolikepolos

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Didn't set my makeup well, did nothing for oil control, make my under eye look dry and cakey. Reject.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 123456j on 11/13/2011 5:10:00 PM more reviews by 123456j

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I got this product as part of a set from Bare Escentuals, which also came with 3 brushes, a mineral foundation, a mineral blush, and bronzer.

Peronsally I didn't like the foundation nor the bronzers and the brushes were super rough, BUT the mineral veil was GREAT! I used it with other makeup (tossed the fondation, bronzer, and brushes). But you need to invest in a good brush for this product and shake out the excess before you apply it.


This is a good finishing powder for an all-over (very slight) glow, or as a high-lighter for cheek bones. It is a very subtle sheen which doesn't make you look oily or sweaty. It is far more superior product compared to the rest of the line.... and works really well on top of other foundations.


However, it's not cheap by itself and there are many more products out there delivering similar results. As I am not a fan of this brand overall, definitely will not repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 kristay on 11/10/2011 1:47:00 AM more reviews by kristay

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I used to really like Bare Escentuals's face products, but I've changed my tune after the past couple of years. I've used the Mineral Veil as a setting powder after applying foundation and concealer, and the results are just disappointing. Instead of a flawless finish, my skin looked very very dry and blotchy. I've also found that it doesn't even do that great of a job of keeping my foundation in place.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 goldsgymrat on 10/29/2011 4:49:00 PM more reviews by goldsgymrat

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using the Tinted Mineral Veil for many years. It is very hard for me to find a mineral powder that matches my skin color and the color that I have been using is a little too light for my skin color. I use Mineral Tan Veil to get a a little color on my face and to set my foundation. It does a decent job of controlling the shine as well. After reading some of the reviews that this product contains corn starch, I will try to find a different product to use.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 snjlowe on 10/29/2011 9:32:00 AM more reviews by snjlowe

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Love love love the stuff. I even finish with this when I use other foundations. I prefer the illumination mineral veil as it gives a bit of a youthul look to my over 40 dull skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Neophiliac on 10/8/2011 11:42:00 PM more reviews by Neophiliac

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

There are both positive and negative qualities to Bare Escentuals Sheer Mineral Veil. The translucent veil is good for fairer skin tones. As others have pointed out, you have to blend all over you face or you will end with random oily and flawless patches throughout your face. Also, the photo-shopped look does not last for hours. You must periodically touch up throughout the day. On the upside, because you need so little to dust on your face, the product will last. However, stay away from the TINTED mineral veil. I made the mistake of buying this product thinking it would match more closely with my honey-colored skin. Big mistake. It looks like crushed terracotta. So unless you have reddish skin, stay way from the tinted mineral veil.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bare Escentuals products

More Loose Powders products