Sebastian • Shaper Plus Hairspray • Styling Products

rated 3.8(156 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 galadriell on 7/12/2006 3:06:00 PM more reviews by galadriell

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Generally I don't like using hairspray, but this one is quite ok. Doesen't make hair stiff, allthough it looks kind of dry. What I really don't like abput the product is the smell.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 maylinglai on 6/30/2006 10:27:00 AM more reviews by maylinglai

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using this product since it first came out. They changed the formula! Does not hold my hair the way it used to and I find myself using more. Any suggestions for a replacement?

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AsiaChick on 5/12/2006 4:15:00 AM more reviews by AsiaChick

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I just started using hairspray recently because I use velcro rollers to give me the volume I covet, so I don't have much experience with different brands of hairspray yet, other than Big Sexy Hair. That was a disappointment. I bought Shaper Plus because of the good reviews on here and it says on the can that it's supposed hold up all day and it's humidity resistant. So far it's proved to be a flexible hold, letting my hair keep it's bounce. Moreover, it's not heavy and stiff. It doesn't weigh my hair down like the hairspray I mentioned. I don't feel like I really have anything in my hair. Also, I'm very happy that this has done a pretty good job of holding up in humid weather, like in Houston where I live. I'm still going to search and see if I can't find better. Until then, I'm gonna continue using this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 angelarock on 4/29/2006 11:21:00 AM more reviews by angelarock

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This is my favorite hairspray. It keeps my straightened curly bangs tamed and frizz-free without feeling stiff or sticky. After trying dozens of other brands, I always come back to this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* courtlee128 on 4/20/2006 2:37:00 AM more reviews by courtlee128

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I really like the original Shaper hairspray but this one falls a little short to me. Also ladies, when you buy any of the hairspray products, make sure you have someone that works where you're buying it test spray the product for you. These bottles were causing some trouble and not spraying correctly a while back when I worked at Trade Secret. They shouldn't have a problem testing the can for you so ask.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 dublin_mudslide on 4/9/2006 9:39:00 AM more reviews by dublin_mudslide

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I love love love this hairspray. I have tried most of the drugstore ones, and some salon brands, but this one is my absolute favourite. It smells very 80s (Giorgio perfume, anyone?) but is light after awhile so only you can smell it. This is the only hairspray that holds up in humidity---perfect for summer. I use this everyday, and am never disapointed. Gives great body, lifts, and tames flyways---which is great for my fine hair. The only problem is if you spray too much its a little sticky, this usually happens to me with the smaller version. The main reason I only gave it 4 lippies was because of the price...nearly $20 Canadian...I'll have to conserve and only buy it once a month.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* missnat on 4/2/2006 9:29:00 PM more reviews by missnat

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Terrific product, but the smell is sickening, like chemicals and bug spray, and very strong, so it followed me around all day. That's a deal breaker.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 glamorpus on 4/2/2006 9:10:00 AM more reviews by glamorpus

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I agaree with afinn307--this product has changed. It used to be a great hairspray with just the right amount of hold and a fragrane that people always complemented me on. Now it falls into the useless category. Too bad, it really was excellent before.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sierra4emu on 3/21/2006 8:35:00 AM more reviews by sierra4emu

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I am constantly on the lookout for the perfect hairspray and any time I try something new, I ALWAYS COME BACK TO THIS! It never leaves a residue feeling on my hair and is perfect for every day use.







    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 afinn307 on 2/2/2006 9:31:00 PM more reviews by afinn307

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

This used to be my favorite hairspray and had used it for years. Then a few months ago I purchased a can and noticed it didn't work nearly as well. I thought that maybe I just got a bad "batch" and purchased another can. Same problem - wasn't holding nearly as well as it used to, plus it smelled slightly different. Finally after about three cans of wasted money and frustration, I finally got smart enough and asked the clerk at Trade Secret if something had changed. To my relief, she confirmed that, in fact, Sebastian had changed the formula due to some California regulation. At least I wasn't losing my mind! Has anyone else come across this with Shaper Plus and noticed that it has changed into such a crappy product? The good news is I finally found a better replacement in Back to Basics Green Tea Hairspray. Love that stuff! Such a great hold, but super natural with no stickiness at all. Anyway, curious if anyone else has noticed the formula change. UPDATE: Tried Matrix Amplify and LOVE it even more that BTB Green Tea! Thanks MA!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Sebastian products

More Styling Products products