Hermes • Eau des Merveilles • Fragrances

rated 3.8(158 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.65%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 sushi82 on 2/11/2007 8:11:00 PM more reviews by sushi82

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Very nice scent... less citrusy than I would have liked or imagined, but the intensity is amazing. Lasts all day. The packaging is gorgeous (the finest epitome of art and luxury) and given the fact it came from Hermes, I guess the price is right... even if it was over $100 CDN for 100 ml (which I assume is like, 50 cents a spray)... which I think is diabolical for anything that doesn't save your life or turn water into wine. I'm just glad it wasn't MY money that bought it, and I still get to timeshare/ borrow it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sucrose77 on 1/24/2007 2:05:00 PM more reviews by sucrose77

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I have a sample of this, and I keep reaching for it because the opening notes are so attractive: a bright orange, a little spice, something warm and almost leathery (the ambergris?). And I keep reading good things about it, which make me think: maybe I can wear this after all. So I spray it on, and am convinced I love it for about a minute. It has a very strong and unique orange note--I think they call it "bitter orange"--but it smells extremely artificial to me. This is the one note that dominates, to my nose, and no matter how wonderful the other notes are they can't compete with that orange. This is one of those fragrances that I can admire for its original composition but makes me physically sick to wear.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 cs30 on 1/4/2007 5:38:00 PM more reviews by cs30

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

all i have to say is, to all of you lovers of merveilles, please stay as far away from me as possible!!! one sniff, my face goes white and my stomach literally turns. cleaners, solvents, pine sol, hospitals, funeral homes, maybe a little formaldehyde. i touched the bottle, and couldn't get the scent off my hands no matter how hard i tried. the worst part is, someone in my office has taken to it, so now i have to cover my nose for a good hour while i wait for their skin's ph to neutralize it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 morris4489 on 12/30/2006 12:14:00 AM more reviews by morris4489

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Okay I don't own a bottle of this -yet. However I do plan to purchase it soon. I got a sample of it and feel in love right away. Yes at first I thought it smelled a little unisex but loved the way it smelled still. So I asked my husband what he thought and he said he liked it too but would rather smell it on me than to wear it himself. Anyway I like it regardless who would wear it because it smells soooo good!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SpinDiva on 12/23/2006 12:52:00 PM more reviews by SpinDiva

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Other, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

Add me to the citrus and patchouli camp... Smells a bit like a Jo Malone... except without the Jo Malone base note that I don't like. This could be a summer staple - but will have to hold for warmer weather. I like it - and I don't typically like beach-ey or citrus-ey scents!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LittleGnome on 12/21/2006 8:11:00 PM more reviews by LittleGnome

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I agree with the reviews that mention this being 'beachy' or like the ocean- but it doesn't have a calone or aquatic note- more a salty air note, if anything. This is not a sweet fragrance at all- it's woody, peppery, a bit grassy, citrussy and has a wonderful ambergris base. While I don't find it too masculine, it is definitely unisex. I find it very energizing and at the same time soothing, like walking at the beach. It lasts on clothes well, as another reviewer mentioned. I don't find it too strong or too weak. The bottle is also very pretty, but the sprayer can be a little annoying. I think it's a very sexy frag. Good for a lot of occasions but especially nice for fun, relaxing or casual times.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 TresMode on 12/18/2006 7:23:00 PM more reviews by TresMode

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This smell doesn't even deserve to be called a perfume. Yes, it's that bad. Just a musty very cheap cologne kind of smell. I don't know what sexy, beach, ocean smell people are talking about. The name totally misled me, should have been named eau des stinkeilles!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* wcw74 on 11/10/2006 4:29:00 PM more reviews by wcw74

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Yes, this is a very polarizing fragrance...one that you either love or hate. Unfortunately I fall into the I hate it camp. Upon first spritz, I get a whiff of citrus and ocean, but that only lasts for 5 seconds. Then it degrades (imo) into some weird peppery piney powder smell. Reminds me of a closet for some reason, and I could not stand it. I think it just doesn't work with my chemistry, at least I've been using a sample so I didn't feel any guilt when I threw it out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SensualSusanna on 10/15/2006 1:41:00 PM more reviews by SensualSusanna

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Ok I admit it -- I bought this for the bottle. It's fun! It denotes all fragrance should be... playful, sensual, personal. When I owned this bottle I stood it on its side and sometimes laying down. It was fun. But alas, the juice was not as fun as the bottle. It smelled like pure firewood on me. Not the way I want to smell. I got a strange chemistry for Hermes. Sample before you buy -- or buy and swap -- cause the bottle is fun!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 2000wattsmile on 10/5/2006 9:01:00 PM more reviews by 2000wattsmile

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

With all the love-hate drama surrounding this fragrance, I bought this unsniffed, thinking I would definitely be joining the lovefest, based on the way it was described by enamored posters. Not so. Somehow, this smells masculine yet very perfume-y, and that's not a good combination. It also smells cheap. Highly disappointing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Hermes products

More Fragrances products