NYX • Mega Shine Lipgloss • Lip Gloss

rated 4.3(185 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.84%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 rawortley on 3/5/2011 11:10:00 PM more reviews by rawortley

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I got this in LG136-DOLLY PINK...I love the color..at first (cause I got it in the mail) I was oh no...this is like HOT PINK..but when it goes on its more like a barbie pink, and its def wearable, especially if u conceal ure lips first. I smell the what everyone is talking about...doesn't bother me. I more of a consistency freak then smell..I mean if it was some horrible smell, but its not..I understand some people have a problem with smells (like I said mines consistency) BUT if u don't then it wont bother u! It's not to sticky BUT not to thin either...I fell asleep and my lips felt so moisturized when I woke up..couldnt remember what I had put on..til I saw lipgloss laying beside me...so if ure not eating, it has pretty good staying power.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Maderine on 3/5/2011 4:20:00 PM more reviews by Maderine

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I went through a major makeup purge recently and rediscovered these awesome glosses in the process. I have Beige, Garnet, Natural, and Nutmeg, and all are just great. They impart a semi-opaque layer of color with a nice (not glassy) shine, and they moisturize beautifully--my lips always feel better after a day of wearing them than they did prior to application! The doe-foot applicator is kind of long, which was weird at first, but now I'm used to it. The color of the glosses stays true and doesn't feather, which surprised me; I've worn some beautiful-colored glosses by NARS (most notably Bloodwork) that left me looking positively dreadful after a couple of hours, with lines I never knew I had showing up bright and clear. I haven't spent a full day in Garnet, so for all I know that might feather, but the other three do not. With regard to the cherry cough-drop fragrance, it seems that people either love it or hate it. It is strong, but I don't smell it a few minutes after application (and I kind of like it, anyway). I have super sensitive skin, including my lips, and I was a little worried at first that something that had a significant amount of fragrance might be irritating, but the reverse has proven to be true. (I wear L'Oreal Color Juice glosses, too, and they smell every bit as strong if not stronger.) All in all, these are impressive, inexpensive glosses, and I'm glad to have found them (again!).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sululu on 2/28/2011 11:05:00 PM more reviews by sululu

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

These are almost as good as Mac Cremesheens for fraction of the cost. They're not sticky, more creamy, and leaves my lips moisturized.

The smell is exactly like red cherry lollipops. I don't mind it at all.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 TopNotchCherrii on 2/17/2011 8:11:00 AM more reviews by TopNotchCherrii

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Again like others reading the hype made me travel to Ulta and go on a mission to try this product. Agreeing(sp?) with the person below me the cherry scent was overpowering kinda cough syrupy. I pushed past it to see if it was worth it also. After a couple of hours it just looked like my lips were greasy. The color payoff is nothing special IMO but then again i could have bought a more clearer color. I much rather prefer Revlon ColorBurst l/g over this as far as d/s l/g goes..

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 dzcml88 on 2/17/2011 6:35:00 AM more reviews by dzcml88

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm really sorry to all the fans out there, but I really don't get the hype surrounding this product.

As soon as I removed the cap/applicator, I was overwhelmed by the distinct cherry scent. That was honestly enough to turn me off the product. But because so many people rave about this product, I pushed past it.
On application.... it's alright.
Stays well - ish.
Shows up well.
Not too sticky.
I suppose it's definitely a value-for-money product.

Despite all the pros however, the overpowering cherry scent is nauseating enough for me to take off 3 lippies =S
Is such a strong fragrance really necessary in your lipglosses, NYX???

...I don't know. I'll have to wait and see if I get over it

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 kikirose on 2/16/2011 5:01:00 PM more reviews by kikirose

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I think these glosses are okay at best, they are just not super special to me. They don't last very long on the lips, being dark skinned most of the colors show up pretty sheer on me, they retail for about $5, which is not extremely high for a gloss but not that cheap either. The pros are that they are not sticky what so ever they do have nice colors, which some are pigmented and show up, they smell great, you get alot of products, about .50 oz. So if this lasted on your lips for a little longer, and didn't get streaky I would give it 5 stars

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ryoung001 on 2/14/2011 6:52:00 PM more reviews by ryoung001

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

OMG wow. wow. wow. picked up one of these today from Ulta and WOW! the texture is so awesome why didn't i know about these before?? The price is exceptional and they were even buy one get one 1/2 off. I might go but some more 0.0 lol love these

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* staciarose22 on 2/2/2011 6:52:00 PM more reviews by staciarose22

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Ok, I have well over 20 of these glosses... Every time I'm in Ulta, I manage to come home with a few more. The majority that I have are from online sites like Cherry Culture. It was more difficult to tell the actual gloss shade, but I checked their site today and the new swatches are pretty close. My most recent purchases were Cosmo and Sugar Pie. Cosmo used to be an ugly gray purple, but now it's a stunning foil effect pink with shimmer. Taupe used to be a milky beige that looked bad on pretty much everyone, but the shade has been updated. I haven't seen it in person, but I noticed more than half of my stash has been discontinued. Salsa was a pretty hot pink, and now it looks like a baby pink. There were some unique shades, like Sunrise, that they changed or got rid of in order to wipe the slate clean. What they have now is certainly more universal, but not unique. These are still great glosses for $5.49. The texture is smooth and creamy, and they last a reasonable amount of time. Now that I've compared the older with the new, I see that they are more sticky and not as smooth. That is why my two new ones last so long. I will sum it up with the changes that I've seen in a list.

1. Smokey Look- is now more pink.
2. Salsa- no longer hot pink.
3. Sunrise- not as special or unique now.
4. Cosmo- is a 360 degree change from what it was, which is a good thing.
5. Cady Shop is now Candy Shop, and I don't believe it's a sheer peach anymore. It looks pink.
6. Juicy Cherry- is gone.
7. Burgundy- was beautiful, and it's gone.
8. Plush Red- isn't as opaque and rich in color.
9. Too many shades are sheer, with almost no color at all.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jasminese on 1/28/2011 10:58:00 PM more reviews by jasminese

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I own this product in Beige and I love it! The gloss is very pigmented and shiny, my only complaint is the packaging. The little bow on top is absolutely adorable, but my complaint is that whenever I close the tube, there's always a little bit of product where the cap and tube meet! This isn't a big deal, but if I don't remove it m makeup bag becomes sticky!
5 stars for the gloss: pigmented, long lasting, good smelling, glossy but not mirror glossy (which I personally don't like)
4.5 for the packaging.
Definitely recommend though, I love NYX!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 michelley2231 on 1/26/2011 8:29:00 PM more reviews by michelley2231

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Love, love, love this gloss! A lot of people complained about the smell - but this is actually one of the things I like about it. It is fairly sweet smelling and kind-of reminds of those cherry cough drops that taste more like candy.

Love...
* Long lasting for a lipgloss
* Wide array of great, neutral & easy to wear bright colors
* Doe-foot applicator
* Great size/shape

Colors that I own are...
1) Beige - Everyone should own this color! It's the perfect neutral pink.
2) French Kiss - Nice for evening & over a lipstick.
3) La-La - I think this is a new color & perfect for summer.
4) Pink Frost - A little too pale & would probably not buy again.
5) American Queen - Hot purpley/pink & goes great with a shimmery white eye.
6) Perfect - A lighter version of with a hint of gold shimmer. Great color.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NYX products

More Lip Gloss products