The Body Shop • Seaweed Mattifying Day Cream • Moisturizers

rated 3.3(177 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.50%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 belladonna10 on 4/19/2011 11:52:00 PM more reviews by belladonna10

Age: Unknown   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

This has worked well on my eczema and acne prone skin, and does mattify but after a few hours my face still gets oily. Took about a month of use, but now my face is as clear as it's ever been. I also use the passion fruit face cleanser, which was only $2.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 NerdyGirl on 3/28/2011 2:18:00 PM more reviews by NerdyGirl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Out of the entire line, this seems to be the product that reacted the worst with my skin. For the first few days, it was GREAT. On day four or so I woke up with a huge breakout and this "line" was the only thing new to my routine. The algin and algae extract seem to not get along with my combo skin.
This makes me sad as this product does do it's job, and it feels good on my skin. It's a great consistency as well. It just does not work for me... will not repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Jinhee14 on 3/15/2011 10:21:00 AM more reviews by Jinhee14

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have very oily/acne prone skin and I bought this product because Ive read so many good reviews about it. my first impression was that I liked the scent of it, and I used this after I washed my face. As soon as you put it on, u get a cool sensational feeling, and it leaves ur skin feeling matte, but it is supposed to help with oil and shine control. Ive been using the same one i bought back in december and i really havnt noticed any change in my oily tzones, and i primarily use this as a primer. it leaves ur skin feeling kindof rubberish my boyfrend had said and it leaves your skin soft but does not help in fighting oily tzones. the price is good for the product - around $14 and ive been using the same container i got back in december for about 3-4 months now. i am contemplating whether or not i want to go buy another one, but maybe i wil and also try their toner as well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 xlucyxoxo on 3/10/2011 6:18:00 PM more reviews by xlucyxoxo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Keeps my oily t-zone shine free. I cant go a day without this. Or if I do, feel free to fry some eggs on my nose.

will re-purchase!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sarah2202 on 3/3/2011 9:39:00 PM more reviews by sarah2202

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have purchased the full size of this at least 5 times. It costs about $15 plus tax. I haven't been without it for the past 4 years or so.

I use this as a primer under my mineral makeup. It works so well! I find it leaves a thin film on my skin which sounds bad, but it is great b/c that is what the foundation sticks to. It must be all the 'cones in it that make this product a good primer. I am very acne-prone and I haven't noticed any clogging with use. I find the price is very reasonable, especially since one 50g tub lasts me over a year (used 2X/week). I would prefer a pump dispenser but I haven't had any issues with the tub.

It is lightly fragranced but that doesn't irritate my nose or my skin.

I don't wear this product when I am going bare-faced. On these days I use Vichy Normaderm instead, which leaves my skin super smooth... so smooth & matte that my mineral makeup won't stick to my face.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Lindseyxo on 2/21/2011 12:36:00 AM more reviews by Lindseyxo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Hands down, this is my favourite facial product. I would give up all other face cleansing products if I could get a never ending supply of this -- seriously.

It retails for $13, which at first I thought was steep, but purchased because I love The Body Shop. Immediately, I noticed a difference, as it completely absorbed into my skin and left it feeling fresh and light.

In long term use, I have noticed a really dramatic loss of excess oil on my skin. I do have combination skin and I find my oil zone is my forehead, while the rest of my face migrates between normal and slightly dry. Now, my forehead is regulated and I don't find myself having to use blotting papers or even a face rinse. In addition, the rest of my face is moisturized. It sounds so strange, but it really did work effectively and balanced my face.

Also, it reduced a lot of redness in my face. I spoke to a few other users, as well as my friends at The Body Shop, and they say this is normal. For me, that's a definite plus.

I know many people don't like this product. This is my favourite product in my entire washroom. My face is my biggest insecurity and this product helps me balance and be confident with my skin, which I think is a great thing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 rrrebelle on 2/7/2011 9:12:00 PM more reviews by rrrebelle

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

i love the texture and how it sinks just right after you apply it on your face. It leaves your skin feeling so soft. i have combination to oily skin and i needed a moisturizer that's not too heavy for my skin and i gave this a try. it gave me bad break out! i used it with the seaweed clarifying toner. it was only working for an hour after i put it on, after that my skin was back to oily! will not buy again and will not finish the one i bought.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 13am13i on 2/7/2011 3:39:00 PM more reviews by 13am13i

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Cool   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

During the christmas holidays they were having a sale on their miniature products ( 5 for $10.00 CAN) so I decided to give it a try. I don't really like that it's in a tub, but I make sure my hands are clean before applying. While applying this it looks as if it's moisturizing the skin but for me it ended up being a mere illusion. It mattifies yeah, but my skin looked sooo dry. Then again it is winter, and the harsh wind and frigid air do dry out my usually oily skin. At the moment I'm unimpressed with the product, but I will give it the benefit of the doubt that I may be using it in the wrong season....Truthfully I'm undecided on whether I'm going to purchase it again, but for now I'll say no...I may give it a try again in the summer (when my face resembles an oil-slick). I'm going to finish the little container by using it as a night-cream...meh

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 sweetlemons on 1/23/2011 1:15:00 PM more reviews by sweetlemons

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I shall be blunt; this is the worst moisturiser I have ever bought. I was expecting at least something decent as the shop assistant was really selling it to me. However, I had to apply 3x what I usually apply as it wasn't moisturising enough and I don't have very dry skin either. I also noticed it stung when I applied yet I continued use as normal as I didn't want to waste my money on something then throw it away - it wasn't a very painful stinging, just isn't what you expect from a moisturiser! The packaging could be improved, however the pot wasn't much of a problem, it was, in fact, useful for me because as I mentioned, I had to apply a lot to feel moisturised and so the pot helped me scoop out a lot at once. It also made my skin feel quite oily after a few hours, this may have been because of the amount I used - however I tried applying less and my face became tight and then became oily anyway.

The only pro I can say, is that it does mattify. Other than that, ladies, it is just not worth it! There are hundreds of other creams that are far better out there.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cassigail on 1/10/2011 11:31:00 AM more reviews by cassigail

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I love this moisturizer. I use The Body Shop's Seaweed line and their Tea Tree line and I love them both. The price is a little steep, and I don't like the packaging because I have to stick my finger in the tub and hope I don't use too much. However, it keeps my oil at bay for a good portion of the day (at least in the winter; I'm sure summer will be a different story). I don't really have combination skin; my skin is pretty oily all over, but this moisturizer has really helped. I recommend it. I bought the travel sized kit first, after being recommended this line by my sister-in-law, and went back the next week to buy the full size (they were having a Buy 2, Get 1 Free, sweet!) and I have not been disappointed. I love this stuff.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More The Body Shop products

More Moisturizers products