The Body Shop • Seaweed Mattifying Day Cream • Moisturizers

rated 3.3(189 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.52%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 AnnaManna69 on 6/24/2011 5:11:00 AM more reviews by AnnaManna69

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I'm currently through 2nd jar of this cream and I will definitely repurchase it again and again. It is a perfect day cream for combination/oily skin - it hydrates, so my face doesn't feel tight after cleansing (although if you have rather combination than oily skin, you probably need something richer as a night cream), has a lovely light gel texture, absorbs easily and, most importantly, totally mattifies. I would surely recommend this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 makeupmouse123 on 6/20/2011 1:56:00 PM more reviews by makeupmouse123

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I came across this jar of moisturizer at my local Body Shop store and thought it was really neat. It claimed to mattify your face using it's seaweed extracts. I was excited about it because my face can get really oily, especially in the summer. So I go home and put it on my face, and waited for it to dry. I honestly did not see a difference at all. Maybe it was my inexperience with moisturizers but to me, I did not see a difference. The packaging was cute and the texture of the product was light and gel-like, but i would not repurchase. I really wanted to like it for what it claimed, but it really did not make my skin matte.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* makeupaddict76 on 6/8/2011 4:04:00 PM more reviews by makeupaddict76

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I hated this product at first but I decided to give it go again and I'm glad I did. It's a gel texture, absorbs quickly and makes my skin totally matte. It's been moisturizing enough to wear it under makeup and has not broken me out. I purchased with with the cleaner, toner and treatment which I don't care for. It's very light and refreshing, I think I'm gonna finish the product at the end of the summer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 aceciul on 6/7/2011 7:05:00 PM more reviews by aceciul

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this product in the travel size to test it. It didn't worked for me. First I didn't liked the smell, it was like a men product but it has a really good texture and absorbs rapidly so my first impression was good. After 3 or 4 days my skin was a complete disaster. I had several breakouts and something I can't understand, I had lots of blackheads, so the cream was completely clogging my pores. It's been a month since I stopped using it and I still have some problems. By far is one of the worst products I've used in my life. Even if you don't react to this product the fact that it is comedogenic makes it a terrible thing, please don't use a product that can clog your pores.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jenn140XD on 5/30/2011 5:35:00 PM more reviews by Jenn140XD

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I am surprise this is not rated as one of the tops. I have used this product for 4 years and can't even remember how many jars I have ran through. This is the best mattifying product I have tried. Most mattifying products puts a layer on your skin and feels like it only prevents the oil from coming through but this product feels like it soaks it to moisturizes and controls the shine. There is still some shine after like 5 hours on my face but it is much improvement from a lot of products I have tried. I absolutely love this product and it lasts longer than it seems. When I first bought it, I thought it would be gone in a month or I would probably stop using it after a few tries, but it has been four years and I always have to have an extra one in my bathroom. I hope The Body Shop never stops making this product!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Nitala on 5/29/2011 6:30:00 PM more reviews by Nitala

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love the smell of the seaweed line, but this did nothing for my skin. It made my skin soft for a little while after I applied it, but it felt dry after a short while and I had to keep reapplying. It also made me break out after a few days.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* stls on 5/28/2011 11:02:00 AM more reviews by stls

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I like the scent, the gel-cream texture, it absorbs quickly, leaves skin smooth, soft, matt, doesn't break me out BUT I won't buy again because it's supposed to be a moisturising cream and it doesn't offer enough hydration to my combination/ acne-prone skin...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Caitlyn99 on 5/16/2011 12:21:00 PM more reviews by Caitlyn99

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

It's not the best moisturiser for me but it's the better moisturiser I have for now (my other moisturisers are not doing great for my skin). I don't love it but I don't hate it as well.

Firstly, what I like about this product is its texture and scent. It's like a watery gel and my skin absorbs it fairly quickly. It doesn't really mattify but my skin would look hydrated and a little dewy. The smell is, I wouldn't say subtle but it's not choking as well. It's pleasant to my nose anyway.

Alright, so that sums up the likes. And now we move on to dislikes. The main thing I don't like about this moisturiser is that after a few hours, my face gets oily anyway. Packaging is slightly inconvenient and not hygienic. Oh yeah! It doesn't have spf and skin whitening properties as well. As I live in a tropical country, I am constantly exposed to the sun. During the time of using this moisturiser my face looks darker than my neck does.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sanaplus on 5/15/2011 8:38:00 PM more reviews by sanaplus

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

i LOVE this cream. the first day i applied this to my skin, it was the first day in my life that i didn't feel oily at the end of the day, MIRACLE. now i'm into my second tub, i do feel that my skin is getting used to this product and my face does get a little dewy and glowy by the end of the day, but nothing too severe like before. i would really recommend this product to anyone, it does moisturize my combination skin pretty well in the spring/summer time. i haven't tried using this in the winter, but i think i would have to use my aveeno moisturizer in combination with it to avoid flaking. overall this product is AMAZING and saved my face! and it smells really nice and has a nice cooling sensation when you put it on your face, and you only need a pea-size for your whole face!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 juicyasfcuk on 5/8/2011 1:49:00 AM more reviews by juicyasfcuk

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

i bought a sample size of this at TBS and oh my it was terrible i used it for maybe 2 or 3 days and i found dry patches of skin all over my face i wanted to cry =( i have combo skin so i thought it'll make my T zone a little less oily but my t zone remain the same except for a little patch by the side of my nose. i use Garnier moisture rescue all through the winter and it was good but since summer is coming i thought i'd try something different but never again

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More The Body Shop products

More Moisturizers products