The Body Shop • Seaweed Mattifying Day Cream • Moisturizers

rated 3.3(185 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.52%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Jenn140XD on 5/30/2011 5:35:00 PM more reviews by Jenn140XD

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I am surprise this is not rated as one of the tops. I have used this product for 4 years and can't even remember how many jars I have ran through. This is the best mattifying product I have tried. Most mattifying products puts a layer on your skin and feels like it only prevents the oil from coming through but this product feels like it soaks it to moisturizes and controls the shine. There is still some shine after like 5 hours on my face but it is much improvement from a lot of products I have tried. I absolutely love this product and it lasts longer than it seems. When I first bought it, I thought it would be gone in a month or I would probably stop using it after a few tries, but it has been four years and I always have to have an extra one in my bathroom. I hope The Body Shop never stops making this product!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Nitala on 5/29/2011 6:30:00 PM more reviews by Nitala

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love the smell of the seaweed line, but this did nothing for my skin. It made my skin soft for a little while after I applied it, but it felt dry after a short while and I had to keep reapplying. It also made me break out after a few days.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* stls on 5/28/2011 11:02:00 AM more reviews by stls

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I like the scent, the gel-cream texture, it absorbs quickly, leaves skin smooth, soft, matt, doesn't break me out BUT I won't buy again because it's supposed to be a moisturising cream and it doesn't offer enough hydration to my combination/ acne-prone skin...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Caitlyn99 on 5/16/2011 12:21:00 PM more reviews by Caitlyn99

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

It's not the best moisturiser for me but it's the better moisturiser I have for now (my other moisturisers are not doing great for my skin). I don't love it but I don't hate it as well.

Firstly, what I like about this product is its texture and scent. It's like a watery gel and my skin absorbs it fairly quickly. It doesn't really mattify but my skin would look hydrated and a little dewy. The smell is, I wouldn't say subtle but it's not choking as well. It's pleasant to my nose anyway.

Alright, so that sums up the likes. And now we move on to dislikes. The main thing I don't like about this moisturiser is that after a few hours, my face gets oily anyway. Packaging is slightly inconvenient and not hygienic. Oh yeah! It doesn't have spf and skin whitening properties as well. As I live in a tropical country, I am constantly exposed to the sun. During the time of using this moisturiser my face looks darker than my neck does.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sanaplus on 5/15/2011 8:38:00 PM more reviews by sanaplus

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

i LOVE this cream. the first day i applied this to my skin, it was the first day in my life that i didn't feel oily at the end of the day, MIRACLE. now i'm into my second tub, i do feel that my skin is getting used to this product and my face does get a little dewy and glowy by the end of the day, but nothing too severe like before. i would really recommend this product to anyone, it does moisturize my combination skin pretty well in the spring/summer time. i haven't tried using this in the winter, but i think i would have to use my aveeno moisturizer in combination with it to avoid flaking. overall this product is AMAZING and saved my face! and it smells really nice and has a nice cooling sensation when you put it on your face, and you only need a pea-size for your whole face!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 juicyasfcuk on 5/8/2011 1:49:00 AM more reviews by juicyasfcuk

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

i bought a sample size of this at TBS and oh my it was terrible i used it for maybe 2 or 3 days and i found dry patches of skin all over my face i wanted to cry =( i have combo skin so i thought it'll make my T zone a little less oily but my t zone remain the same except for a little patch by the side of my nose. i use Garnier moisture rescue all through the winter and it was good but since summer is coming i thought i'd try something different but never again

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jeckapah on 5/7/2011 9:35:00 AM more reviews by jeckapah

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

It works well on me. :D The texture's okay, for it's not a cream, but gel-like. It leaves my face matte, moisturized, and fresh at the same time.
I've been using Seaweed Mattifying Day Cream for a year and it never cause any problem for my face.

Maybe I'll repurchase (I've used 2 jars of it), but I actually want to try for another day moisturizer from The Body Shop. Like Vitamin E or Tea Tree. :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mbquinn33 on 5/4/2011 12:57:00 AM more reviews by mbquinn33

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

This moisturizer is so great! I've been using it for years. I have combination skin and after i exfolliate and put this on it makes my skin soo soft and smooth without making it greasy at all. I love the smell, it is very light and refreshing. I totally recommend this to people with sensitive skin who tend to break out easily. It is by far my favorite moisturizer. I have stepped away from it before but I always come back for more! I give it an A+

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 belladonna10 on 4/19/2011 11:52:00 PM more reviews by belladonna10

Age: Unknown   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

This has worked well on my eczema and acne prone skin, and does mattify but after a few hours my face still gets oily. Took about a month of use, but now my face is as clear as it's ever been. I also use the passion fruit face cleanser, which was only $2.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 NerdyGirl on 3/28/2011 2:18:00 PM more reviews by NerdyGirl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Out of the entire line, this seems to be the product that reacted the worst with my skin. For the first few days, it was GREAT. On day four or so I woke up with a huge breakout and this "line" was the only thing new to my routine. The algin and algae extract seem to not get along with my combo skin.
This makes me sad as this product does do it's job, and it feels good on my skin. It's a great consistency as well. It just does not work for me... will not repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More The Body Shop products

More Moisturizers products