The Body Shop • Seaweed Mattifying Day Cream • Moisturizers

rated 3.3(180 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.52%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 juicyasfcuk on 5/8/2011 1:49:00 AM more reviews by juicyasfcuk

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

i bought a sample size of this at TBS and oh my it was terrible i used it for maybe 2 or 3 days and i found dry patches of skin all over my face i wanted to cry =( i have combo skin so i thought it'll make my T zone a little less oily but my t zone remain the same except for a little patch by the side of my nose. i use Garnier moisture rescue all through the winter and it was good but since summer is coming i thought i'd try something different but never again

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jeckapah on 5/7/2011 9:35:00 AM more reviews by jeckapah

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

It works well on me. :D The texture's okay, for it's not a cream, but gel-like. It leaves my face matte, moisturized, and fresh at the same time.
I've been using Seaweed Mattifying Day Cream for a year and it never cause any problem for my face.

Maybe I'll repurchase (I've used 2 jars of it), but I actually want to try for another day moisturizer from The Body Shop. Like Vitamin E or Tea Tree. :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mbquinn33 on 5/4/2011 12:57:00 AM more reviews by mbquinn33

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

This moisturizer is so great! I've been using it for years. I have combination skin and after i exfolliate and put this on it makes my skin soo soft and smooth without making it greasy at all. I love the smell, it is very light and refreshing. I totally recommend this to people with sensitive skin who tend to break out easily. It is by far my favorite moisturizer. I have stepped away from it before but I always come back for more! I give it an A+

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 belladonna10 on 4/19/2011 11:52:00 PM more reviews by belladonna10

Age: Unknown   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

This has worked well on my eczema and acne prone skin, and does mattify but after a few hours my face still gets oily. Took about a month of use, but now my face is as clear as it's ever been. I also use the passion fruit face cleanser, which was only $2.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 NerdyGirl on 3/28/2011 2:18:00 PM more reviews by NerdyGirl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Out of the entire line, this seems to be the product that reacted the worst with my skin. For the first few days, it was GREAT. On day four or so I woke up with a huge breakout and this "line" was the only thing new to my routine. The algin and algae extract seem to not get along with my combo skin.
This makes me sad as this product does do it's job, and it feels good on my skin. It's a great consistency as well. It just does not work for me... will not repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Jinhee14 on 3/15/2011 10:21:00 AM more reviews by Jinhee14

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have very oily/acne prone skin and I bought this product because Ive read so many good reviews about it. my first impression was that I liked the scent of it, and I used this after I washed my face. As soon as you put it on, u get a cool sensational feeling, and it leaves ur skin feeling matte, but it is supposed to help with oil and shine control. Ive been using the same one i bought back in december and i really havnt noticed any change in my oily tzones, and i primarily use this as a primer. it leaves ur skin feeling kindof rubberish my boyfrend had said and it leaves your skin soft but does not help in fighting oily tzones. the price is good for the product - around $14 and ive been using the same container i got back in december for about 3-4 months now. i am contemplating whether or not i want to go buy another one, but maybe i wil and also try their toner as well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 xlucyxoxo on 3/10/2011 6:18:00 PM more reviews by xlucyxoxo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Keeps my oily t-zone shine free. I cant go a day without this. Or if I do, feel free to fry some eggs on my nose.

will re-purchase!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sarah2202 on 3/3/2011 9:39:00 PM more reviews by sarah2202

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have purchased the full size of this at least 5 times. It costs about $15 plus tax. I haven't been without it for the past 4 years or so.

I use this as a primer under my mineral makeup. It works so well! I find it leaves a thin film on my skin which sounds bad, but it is great b/c that is what the foundation sticks to. It must be all the 'cones in it that make this product a good primer. I am very acne-prone and I haven't noticed any clogging with use. I find the price is very reasonable, especially since one 50g tub lasts me over a year (used 2X/week). I would prefer a pump dispenser but I haven't had any issues with the tub.

It is lightly fragranced but that doesn't irritate my nose or my skin.

I don't wear this product when I am going bare-faced. On these days I use Vichy Normaderm instead, which leaves my skin super smooth... so smooth & matte that my mineral makeup won't stick to my face.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Lindseyxo on 2/21/2011 12:36:00 AM more reviews by Lindseyxo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Hands down, this is my favourite facial product. I would give up all other face cleansing products if I could get a never ending supply of this -- seriously.

It retails for $13, which at first I thought was steep, but purchased because I love The Body Shop. Immediately, I noticed a difference, as it completely absorbed into my skin and left it feeling fresh and light.

In long term use, I have noticed a really dramatic loss of excess oil on my skin. I do have combination skin and I find my oil zone is my forehead, while the rest of my face migrates between normal and slightly dry. Now, my forehead is regulated and I don't find myself having to use blotting papers or even a face rinse. In addition, the rest of my face is moisturized. It sounds so strange, but it really did work effectively and balanced my face.

Also, it reduced a lot of redness in my face. I spoke to a few other users, as well as my friends at The Body Shop, and they say this is normal. For me, that's a definite plus.

I know many people don't like this product. This is my favourite product in my entire washroom. My face is my biggest insecurity and this product helps me balance and be confident with my skin, which I think is a great thing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 rrrebelle on 2/7/2011 9:12:00 PM more reviews by rrrebelle

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

i love the texture and how it sinks just right after you apply it on your face. It leaves your skin feeling so soft. i have combination to oily skin and i needed a moisturizer that's not too heavy for my skin and i gave this a try. it gave me bad break out! i used it with the seaweed clarifying toner. it was only working for an hour after i put it on, after that my skin was back to oily! will not buy again and will not finish the one i bought.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More The Body Shop products

More Moisturizers products