Clearasil • Vanishing Cream • Treatments (Face)

rated 3.6(153 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.71%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 VegaNYC on 12/2/2007 6:34:00 PM more reviews by VegaNYC

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

There's a reason why legions of consumers continue to make this one of the top acne products in the market - IT JUST WORKS. I always have a tube on hand for on the spot treatments and have even started to mix a drop with my night cream to keep my skin clear. I still breakout every so often (even at 30!), but among all of my expensive serums, creams, and lotions this is a keeper.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mhosler on 11/20/2007 8:51:00 AM more reviews by mhosler

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I have acne-prone skin with an oily T-zone and dry cheeks. When I got pregnant a few months ago, I didn't realize that I would be spending the entire pregnancy with constant PMS-like breakouts due to the elevated hormones! ProActiv wasn't doing anything once I got pregnant, so I went for my old high-schoool standby: Clearasil.

On the oily T-zone, Clearasil is great in preventing and treating pimples. On my dry cheeks, this stuff made my cheeks flake as if I had bad facial dandruff. Unfortunately, I still had to use this stuff on my cheeks because I'm one of those lucky people who get pimples in areas of dry skin. Even putting on a heavy moisturizer and using exfoliating cleansers didn't replentish enough moisture. If I decreased application to once a day, or skipped a day to try to let my ravaged skin heal, the pimples were promptly back. They were there: ready. Waiting.

So, last week I mixed the Clearasil 50:50 with a medium-heaviness oil-free moisturizer. And voila! My pimples have retreated, my face isn't nearly as flaky, and my husband says I have that "pregnancy glow." I keep trying to tell him that pregnancy has actually been very bad for my skin, and that the current results are really due to a complete change in cleanser, moisturizers and spot treatments, but he just wants to believe that the pleasure of being pregnant is reflecting upon my complexion.

After using up the first tube of this, I went to the dollar store and found 10% benzoyl peroxide for $1. MUCH better price, and just as effective.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 roses888 on 11/9/2007 2:52:00 PM more reviews by roses888

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I have been using this product for 28 years. It's the only thing that stops the bacteria and keeps my acne and oily skin under control. It has no bad smell to it at all and no added perfumes. I have never built up a tolerance to it in all these years, nor have I had a bad reaction to it either. I use it both morning and night. I can't use proactiv treatment because the consentration of benzol peroxide is not high enough. Clearasil uses 10% strength and proactiv is 2.5%. A big difference!
I love this product and wouldn't be without it! I have tried other products but always go back to my faithful clearasil! It's the only product that works for me. I wish I had bought stock in the company years ago. LOL!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bsteves06 on 10/15/2007 11:58:00 PM more reviews by bsteves06

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I have used this since high school and keep coming back to it. I've tried other brands but nothing works as well as this

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Samalama on 10/15/2007 7:31:00 PM more reviews by Samalama

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

this product is my absolute must have product. I have acne pro skin but wen i ever feel apimple coming on or already hve one i just put this cream on and 8 out of 10 times wen i wake up in the morn its gone! i LOVE this product!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 watevayou on 10/15/2007 7:00:00 PM more reviews by watevayou

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I'm 16, I have acne prone skin, and my pimples flare up whenever they please. I bought this in the moment of desperation.. This rating will be very forward and frank so here I go. The Bp is a cream like base, white, and pretty thick. I used this for about 2 weeks untill I gave up on it. It didn't make a difference in my acne. I mean some products show little results as in for worse or better.. this did nothing, natha. So Yeah I hate it. Waste of my money and I used up 3/4 of the tube too. Grr.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 collegestudent88 on 9/1/2007 6:35:00 PM more reviews by collegestudent88

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I think this worked on me at first but after a while, I think I acclimatized to it and it stopped working and didn't do much except dry out my face. Maybe that's because I used it all over my face and not as a spot treatment like it's made for. It is also a little expensive. Oh well, it makes me feel better to put this on if I get a pimple even if it doesn't work that well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Tramrak on 8/17/2007 1:27:00 AM more reviews by Tramrak

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

one summer when i was in highschool i got the worst braille-like bumps (closed comedones/whiteheads) ALL over my forehead! it was terrible and i was really freaked out by them, i went from having a few clogged pores here and there to 1,000! so i decided to try the good old standby, Clearasil, and prayed that it worked. well, it did, almost eerily well. within about 3 weeks all those bumps had either gone away on their own or been easily extracted by me! it was great. i just spread a thin layer over my whole forehead and that was all i used, with great results. however, i did notice that the more i used the Clearasil the more and more my skin adjusted to it and the less effective it was. however, i'd still recommend it, especially to someone dealing w/an onslaught of bumps they need to get rid of. it's cheap and it works!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* maybeiloveyou on 8/15/2007 2:07:00 PM more reviews by maybeiloveyou

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is great for spot treatments. If you put a fairly thick spot on a large pimple, it will have disappeared the next day. My gripe with this product is that it's drying (but that is to be expected), and that it leaves discolored marks where the pimples used to be (kind of like scabs). The marks fade in a week or so, but I'd rather not have them there at all. You can put a thin layer over your forehead, nose, cheeks, whatever, to prevent future breakouts or dry up smaller bumps. I wouldn't use this every day, and I definitely would not use this if I had sensitive skin. It will probably burn your skin right off.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 joonjooni on 8/15/2007 3:43:00 AM more reviews by joonjooni

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

The night I bought this, I dabbed a tiny bit on my blemishes and went to sleep. The next morning I found this product had given me awful chemical burns all over my face! (3 in total: two smaller ones about the size of a half-dollar coin on my left cheek and another huge one the size of a small apple on my right cheek.) The pimples were gone, but I was left with huge brown/red circles all over my face. I was forced to walk around with disgusting burns on my face that looked more like skin deformities than anything else.


They were incredibly painful and embarrassing, and kept getting worse and worse every time they peeled. In total, it took about two months for the burns to heal, and another month for the mark to go away. 10% BP is absolutely ridiculous. I'll never touch this product again.


FYI, I don't have sensitive skin, and I've never been averse to using BP in the past.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clearasil products

More Treatments (Face) products