Kerastase • Bain Satin 2 Shampoo • Shampoo

rated 3.8(166 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* spaflam on 12/28/2007 9:00:00 AM more reviews by spaflam

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Kerastase Products DO cost ALOT of money, but guess what... they WORK. I use Bain Satin on my fine, slightly dry, color-treated hair and it cleans gently without stripping any color. It also smells nice (not great, but not bad smelling) and has a good surfactant ability. Afterward I'll usually use the Masquintense Fine or Conditoner (Keraste or Alterna Caviar).

You get what you pay for with Kerastase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 run2thesun2 on 12/9/2007 2:46:00 AM more reviews by run2thesun2

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Amazing product! Nothing helps me manage my hair better!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sfhillerin on 9/28/2007 11:14:00 PM more reviews by sfhillerin

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

The only reason this gets knocked one lippie is because I like the smell of the Bain de Force better. If you have colored hair, go for the Bain de Force. If not, then this is the perfect shampoo. You don't even need a conditioner if you don't want to use one. It's so hydrating, yet not greasy at all.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pkuyken on 9/23/2007 7:39:00 AM more reviews by pkuyken

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I am going on month 6 with this product - and have used no other shampoos since Day 1. Not only does it clean my hair without drying it out, it leaves it silky to touch. I have just below collar bone mixed white and blond hair ( I am 48 years old) which is fine and wavy. I have always had to rotate shamposs my entire life before this shampoo - not so anymore. I use it every other shampoo without a conditioner - and my hair feels great! I have given away my aresonal of shampoos and conditioners I use Lait Vital 1 conditioner, and the oleo relax serum when I want straight hair, the olea curly mist stuff when I want to just go wavy. The Key to the Kerastase line is you HAVE to have a salon professional tell you what products are for you hair for what you want your hair to do. I hedge the expense of the products by buying the salon size containers on ebay. Another first for me as well. I also do an Aqua Oleum treatment about once every 2-3 weeks. Best product line ever if you have a Kerastase trained professional help you pick out your products.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* WindyCityGirl on 7/5/2007 10:49:00 AM more reviews by WindyCityGirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I am on the fence about this product. I've tried Oleo Relax, Elasto Curl, Bain Soleil and now this shampoo. The reason I am on the fence about is that it may be too moisturizing for me.

I've noticed ever since I started using it that around my crown area, top of my head, after I get out of the shower it feels weird, like I put greasy conditioner on my head. I can not use the Nutridefense conditioner I bought with this anywhere near my scalp when using this shampoo b/c I will get a greasy, weighed down feeling in my hair.

It's a very moisturzing shampoo, but may be too much for my hair (thin strands, tons of it but wavy and normal)

It's so moisturizing that I can towel dry my hair and then comb it out without any product in my hair, it detangles very good but it feels like something is already in my hair and may be weighing it down.

Last night I used my old Bain Soleil with the Nutridefense and my hair is more bouncy and not gunky feeling, so the shampoo may be way too much for my hair.

I bet it would be good for someone who has dry, damaged hair that needs a TLC shampoo. I would say this is almost like a 2 in one shampoo b/c of how moisturizing the shampoo is on it's own, sans conditioner.

***UPDATE**** 8/11/2007
I really do not like this shampoo-When I use it after I rinse and get out the top of my head looks oily and feels it-It is just way too much for my hair (thin wavy strands, but a sh*t load of it)
I think it would be good for those who have damage from highlighting or heat appliances, but too much for pretty normal hair-
I have used the other lines and this one and the Oleo Relax are not right for me-

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kv8109 on 6/25/2007 8:43:00 PM more reviews by kv8109

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is the best product line I have ever used. My hair is totally transforned. It had gotten dry after years of coloring and the texture completely changed after I had kids (became dry and brittle). Then I was turned on to this line and it's been great. My hair is full and feels silky after about 1 month of use. It's easy to style and there is absolutely no build up. I would definitely recommend it. Very pricey but worth it to me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 brokeinthecity on 6/20/2007 5:21:00 PM more reviews by brokeinthecity

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

First off, I won this as part of a Kerastase gift set, hence why I tried it.

Secondly... I love the smell, and I love the texture of the shampoo, but I can't see it justifying the price of it. I'll stick to my Thermasilk (cheaper), that's just as effective.

I also hate how the shampoo comes out, I hate having to fiddle with the caps on the Keratase products. But in general, not a bad product, it washes my hair, does what it says it's going to do.. but in the end, it's just a very very expensive shampoo.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jengdahl on 6/18/2007 10:43:00 AM more reviews by jengdahl

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

LOVE THIS shampoo! It's ridiculously expensive, but I get the nicest lather everytime and after two months of usage, my hair still hasn't become weighted down! It's very moisturizing, but not heavy. I have wavy, thick, highlighted hair, so it's definitely damaged (no way around that unless I stop lightening it), and it definitely on the drier side.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 dragonfly16 on 6/12/2007 11:24:00 PM more reviews by dragonfly16

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

After reading all the great reviews about the Karastase line, i decided to go ahead and try this shampoo + the Masquintense conditioner product. I was a little disappointed...was hoping for a this product to make my hair shiny, soft, etc. I did make it a little so softer, added a little shine, but nothing major. I wouldn't mind spending on these products if they had worked on me...but sadly, they didn't.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sexysylvia1211 on 5/29/2007 4:52:00 AM more reviews by sexysylvia1211

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

So i guess im in the minority here but I HATE this shampoo and cond with a passion. For ref my hair: fine, but lots of it, and dry/damaged due to years of colouring and straighteners. I was looking for a shampoo to transform my hair, and which better shampoo/cond combo to try than the infamous bain range from kerastase i thought?! This: weighed my hair down, had the most overpowering soapy horrible smell that lingered in my hair till i washed it again, felt very 'cheap', didn't lather well, I didnt find it moisturising either. MADE MY HAIR fall out loads which doesnt happen with other shampoos inclu d/s, and imo, is therefore the biggest over priced over hyped product around. Ive since switched to redken smooth down range which im loving!! also l'oreal prof repair range (In the yellow bottles) are loads cheaper and fantastic

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Kerastase products

More Shampoo products