Essie • Fiji • Polishes

rated 3.5(173 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.61%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 veronica8690 on 7/1/2012 12:04:00 AM more reviews by veronica8690

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Other    

idk how anyone could not love this color! its a white with a tint of pink to me. I love it! its soft but bold. only negative is i usually have to use 3 coats otherwise it is streaky.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 fashionbunny on 6/30/2012 6:52:00 AM more reviews by fashionbunny

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I love the colour of this... It kind of treads a fine line between high maintenance expensive and trashy... But in a good way. I just hate the application of it. It took me 5 coats to achieve anything wearable. But it's a gorgeous milky pale pink that is opaque, and finding this kind of colour isn't easy! I probably won't buy again because I'm not a pro at applying nail polish, but I will try and use it up.
Edit: After struggling with this for awhile, I have taken to using Revlon Colorstay 020 Pale Cashmere, which achieves a similar look though slightly less opaque and slightly more neutral compared to the pink of Essie Fiji, and I have to say I find it much easier and the overall effect is a lot nicer on me. Sorry Essie, fail from me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 pinkberry1 on 6/20/2012 6:24:00 PM more reviews by pinkberry1

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Streaky after 3 coats.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Pieran on 6/19/2012 7:18:00 PM more reviews by Pieran

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Summer = Fiji pedicures. Total Man-bait. Do not wear to outdoor bbqs and parties unless you're comfortable being the center of male attention wearing this nailcolor :)

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 kworndl on 6/18/2012 4:59:00 PM more reviews by kworndl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

This has to be the prettiest colour on the market right now and it's absolutely perfect for summer! Problem is, this nailpolish is quite streaky and it takes 3 coats to make it look completely opaque. Would I buy it again, yes because it's a beautiful colour. Is it annoying to apply 3 times to get it just right? Absolutely. This nail polish definitely has it's pros and cons.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gabriellavascocastro on 5/18/2012 1:15:00 PM more reviews by gabriellavascocastro

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I looooove this shade, I heard a bachelorette wore this shade and had to have it! It's definitely almost white babe pink on the warm side of a cool pink (if you compare it to french affair this one is warm, but generally it's a cool pink)! It is opaque in 2 coats and lasts very well on my nails with a great base and top coat! Too many coats make it chip easier (as with any polish).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 siobhanerin on 5/6/2012 8:30:00 PM more reviews by siobhanerin

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Fiji is a stunning baby pink. One of very few that is pale but goes on opaque. The formula for this polish is verrrry finnicky though. It goes on streaky and needs at least 3 coats to look smooth. It's a lovely neutral pink that looks very clean but not overdone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 LaurentEsq on 4/27/2012 6:50:00 PM more reviews by LaurentEsq

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Green    

This is a beautiful pale pink in the bottle, but it does not apply smoothly at all. It streaks horribly and even with 3 coats I could not get it smooth, but did manage to make it so thick that it wouldn't dry properly. I imagine only true professionals or those extremely talented at applying polish could make this look right. If Essie could get the formula worked out on this one I would buy it again, because the color is beautiful.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 nadienadie on 4/27/2012 11:04:00 AM more reviews by nadienadie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Other    

This polish is an off white, slight pinky colour, which verges more white than pink. Can be considered as an off white, nude-y slight pinky colour. I like the Essie brush.

I personally am not the biggest fan of Essie in terms of formula but suprisingly, with three careful coats this polish will be reasonably opaque. One coat of this polish is equivalent to two coats of standard sheer Essie polishes, if you know what I mean.

The good thing about this colour is that it is not as stark as white, white on me looks tacky on my hands. Due to the colour this colour will stand out, especially with my dark skintone.

However, I definately experience cuticle drag with this polish if you do not let each coat dry before adding a next one. Due to this reason this is not the polish to apply when you are in a rush, but when you have the time to carefully and leisurely paint your nails.

Due to this reason, I don't often reach for this colour but when I am stick of blues, reds, greens etc, I'll put this on.

As far as Essie goes, its obviously not the most original colour but for a very, very light pink it is okay. Wouldn't have minded it being a little more opaque in terms of formula for my taste, but oh well!

Probably would buy again, but, saying that, as I hardly wear it, not sure that will happen anytime soon!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kathrynb23 on 3/29/2012 7:35:00 PM more reviews by kathrynb23

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Although I love the colour, just a beautiful neutral baby pink. It's one of the most streakiest nail polish I've got!
On a usual day, I don't have time to apply 3-4 coats nor do I have the patient to do so.
I wish I could wear this colour more often.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Essie products

More Polishes products