Essie • Fiji • Polishes

rated 3.5(176 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.61%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 Chinadoll3 on 7/8/2012 10:41:00 AM more reviews by Chinadoll3

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I hate this nail polish, I hate it with a passion. As my first (and only!) Essie nail polish i had high hopes, i saw it in the shop and the milky pink drew me in. I assumed it would either transfer as a smooth and creamy pale pink or as a sheer glossy colour; both appropriate for school. I was horribly mistaken. When i put the first coat on it looked streaky and cheap, I popped on a second coat: still not opaque, and definitely to streaky to pass for sheer, third coat: messy and thick. Finally deciding i had nothing to loose, went on to a forth: thick, gloopy, patchy, white nails. The pink seems to dissapear and the resulting colour is unflattering and fake. Also i takes forever to dry due to the amount of layers and dents and smudges really easily, if you can get passed that its actually fairly long wearing, but i never leave it on long enough to test its longevity. HATE HATE HATE this, save your self the frustration and money, dont get it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 friedbutter on 7/2/2012 8:33:00 AM more reviews by friedbutter

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This polish applies pretty streakily. Three coats (one thin and two thick) still result in streaks, although they aren't too noticeable from a distance.

My main problem with this polish, though, is the color. It's very garish on me. The best way I can describe the color is cotton candy pink. I'm very pale and I need something softer.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 OKsusha on 7/2/2012 7:58:00 AM more reviews by OKsusha

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Fiji is the only color by Essie that is a staple in my beauty box. This is the only color I will wear anywhere and at any time. It is beautiful and surprisingly extremely long-wearing. I have repurchased this shade for years, and bring it in to my nail salon just in case they are out. Apply 2 coats for a thick opaque look.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 veronica8690 on 7/1/2012 12:04:00 AM more reviews by veronica8690

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Other    

idk how anyone could not love this color! its a white with a tint of pink to me. I love it! its soft but bold. only negative is i usually have to use 3 coats otherwise it is streaky.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 fashionbunny on 6/30/2012 6:52:00 AM more reviews by fashionbunny

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I love the colour of this... It kind of treads a fine line between high maintenance expensive and trashy... But in a good way. I just hate the application of it. It took me 5 coats to achieve anything wearable. But it's a gorgeous milky pale pink that is opaque, and finding this kind of colour isn't easy! I probably won't buy again because I'm not a pro at applying nail polish, but I will try and use it up.
Edit: After struggling with this for awhile, I have taken to using Revlon Colorstay 020 Pale Cashmere, which achieves a similar look though slightly less opaque and slightly more neutral compared to the pink of Essie Fiji, and I have to say I find it much easier and the overall effect is a lot nicer on me. Sorry Essie, fail from me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 pinkberry1 on 6/20/2012 6:24:00 PM more reviews by pinkberry1

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Streaky after 3 coats.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Pieran on 6/19/2012 7:18:00 PM more reviews by Pieran

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Summer = Fiji pedicures. Total Man-bait. Do not wear to outdoor bbqs and parties unless you're comfortable being the center of male attention wearing this nailcolor :)

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 kworndl on 6/18/2012 4:59:00 PM more reviews by kworndl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

This has to be the prettiest colour on the market right now and it's absolutely perfect for summer! Problem is, this nailpolish is quite streaky and it takes 3 coats to make it look completely opaque. Would I buy it again, yes because it's a beautiful colour. Is it annoying to apply 3 times to get it just right? Absolutely. This nail polish definitely has it's pros and cons.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gabriellavascocastro on 5/18/2012 1:15:00 PM more reviews by gabriellavascocastro

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I looooove this shade, I heard a bachelorette wore this shade and had to have it! It's definitely almost white babe pink on the warm side of a cool pink (if you compare it to french affair this one is warm, but generally it's a cool pink)! It is opaque in 2 coats and lasts very well on my nails with a great base and top coat! Too many coats make it chip easier (as with any polish).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 siobhanerin on 5/6/2012 8:30:00 PM more reviews by siobhanerin

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Fiji is a stunning baby pink. One of very few that is pale but goes on opaque. The formula for this polish is verrrry finnicky though. It goes on streaky and needs at least 3 coats to look smooth. It's a lovely neutral pink that looks very clean but not overdone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Essie products

More Polishes products