Maybelline • Instant Age Rewind Eraser Dark Circles • Concealers

rated 3.7(477 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 KJette on 2/22/2014 1:14:00 PM more reviews by KJette

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I have this product in the shade 'Neutralizer' and I really do love it. I'm fair skinned with yellow undertones and I have always had terrible under eye circles. After seeing good reviews on YouTube, I went ahead and bought this. I'm so happy I did!

First of all, yes, the packaging is a bit strange to look at, and strange to use. However, though the sponge tip sketches me out in terms of hygiene, it does a fantastic job of evenly distributing the product. I have had it for a month or so and haven't had any issues with pieces breaking (knock on wood!)

This yellow tones in this concealer are great for battling dark circles. I want to say though that if you have really stubborn dark circles like me, this concealer may not 'erase' everything, nor should you expect it to. This product does a fantastic job of neutralizing and brightening the darkness in that area, and gives my little Dream Lumi concealer wand a fighting chance to actually cover the remaining hints of darkness. Together, they work wonders.

I understand that many people want one product that can do it all, and maybe that is realistic if your dark circles aren't too bad. However, with the circles I have I know that it may always be a two-step process (or more) to cover them up. I will keep an eye out for something that can 'do it all', but as it stands, I love this product and appreciate what it does.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 beddy on 2/20/2014 4:16:00 PM more reviews by beddy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

Ive been looking for an on the go undereye concealer and this one is a great find. This product is watery and blends great. Ive had it on for about 5 hours today and it still looks good, not as great as when i had jst put it on but staying power is not bad. I wouldnt mind reapplying this since the tube and sponge is so easy to jst carry and apply in the car or on the go without a brush or dipping ur hands in a pot. Its not as moisterizing as i hoped but the moisture the easier product will slide off my face i suppose. I have this in light i am a nc20 in mac

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Playmate143 on 2/20/2014 2:38:00 PM more reviews by Playmate143

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using this product for over a month now, after all the raves on Youtube of this being a "must have" drugstore product, I caved and bought it, it was about $9.99 at the drugstore, It has a sponge tip applicator which can be good or bad, it's good because it applies the product where you want it, but it can be very easy to use too much because of the pen like clicking you have to do to dispense product. I'm not crazy about this product at all.

The first time I used it I didn't set it with powder and I swear half an hour later it was settling in and caking under my eyes ( I don't really use it for anything else, other than under eyes and nose area). When I did set it with powder, after a few hours it still didn't look that great at all, I don't have heavy bags or dark under eye circles but I feel like this product made my under eye area worse than it was to begin with, I have combo skin, and under my eye area tends to be dry, and this product emphazied my dryness even more which is not a good look.

I don't like to give up on a product too quickly, because I wanted it to work for me, but I don't like letting a $10 product go to waste and just sit in my makeup bag either, so I will probably try to find other ways to use it, and use it from time to time, but it's not a product I'm a fan of at all, and I definetly won't be re-purchasing it unless I can get it to work for me. Will update if that miracle happens (Insert hopeful face here)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* escebola on 2/20/2014 12:04:00 PM more reviews by escebola

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This is a thin concealer packaged in a funky bottle with a sponge applicator where product oozes out as you twist it. It looks and sounds a bit gross, but it actually aids in the application process, as it deposits and distributes an even amount of concealer as you go along. I'm not sure about it being very sanitary, unless you wash the sponge applicator (which may result in ruining it?). The formula is thin, but doeas a great job of covering circles and imperfections. I think this is available only in two shades (at least where I live): light and nude. While I've enjoyed using nude while being tanner , it is now a bit dark for me. Light is too light for me though, but I've started using it -after seeing it in a youtube tutorial- as a subtle under eye brightener (you know: painting a lighter shade triangle under the eye area to achieve the Kim Kardashian look, but not as evident) and it absolutely does the trick!

It dries matte, so you're better off using an eyecream beforehand. But if you do so, it won't settle into your fine lines, nor budge all day long.

Def. a keeper! And at a great price, too. Will repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mariella99 on 2/19/2014 7:04:00 AM more reviews by mariella99

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This review is for the shade "NEUTRALIZE". Having had dark under-eye circles most of my life, I am pretty obsessed with concealers and I've tried most of them from high end to low and from sticks to pans to tubes to powders and brush/twisty doodles (think Touche Eclat and its imitators). Lately, to complicate matters, I've been taking a turn around the dance floor with correctors, most notably Bobbi Brown...

But I'd read so many good reviews for Maybelline Age Rewind and I'd been wanting to try it for some time but the absence of testers put me off (it's one of the things I love about Sephora - right now, I'm sampling 3 different Bobbi Brown correctors to try to figure out my best shade). But I'd heard good things about the "Neutralize" shade of Age Rewind so decided to give it a try, figuring that since the instructions advise using concealer overtop, "Neutralize" should work. And I was right - work, it does! This yellow toned concealer really does a good job of neutralizing and also brightening the look of my under-eye area. It applies so nicely and, for the most part, the funny little "dabber" does a pretty good job of blending/stippling this into my skin. I can understand that a lot of people are concerned about hygiene issues and I'm also concerned that a number of people have had the whole thing stop working/dispensing product and these are both valid concerns; I am keeping my fingers crossed! But this is why I've given a low rating for packaging (I'd much prefer a squeeze tube and I would use my own brushes or sponges).

I do find that after using this, I don't actually need a separate concealer - just applying my foundation overtop gives enough coverage. And this concealer applies beautifully and doesn't settle into lines or make my eye area look dry. So it is a really nice product for a reasonable price.

***There seem to be 2 different concealers with the same name. The one I have looks like the one at the top of this page (clear package rather than white).

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 diggitybomb on 2/17/2014 3:18:00 PM more reviews by diggitybomb

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

i like this undereye concealer. sometimes i even used it to cover blemishes. it pretty easy to put on and supposedly the sponge is anti bacterial. It never broke me out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* desertwaya on 2/17/2014 11:47:00 AM more reviews by desertwaya

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this concealer. I use the shade fair, I'm roughly NC15-20, C1, etc. I use light to med coverage foundations to cover my red areas but I need just a little more coverage under my eyes. So after foundation I put this on and it's perfect, not too thick like BB and not too thin like other ds concealer. I almost returned this because I didn't use it right so I didn't like the results. The key to this is to dab on the product than use the tip to spread it around. I dabbed it on than used my finger to spread it and it had terrible coverage. But than I used the spongy tip it and covered nicely.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 terrydeben on 2/16/2014 12:31:00 PM more reviews by terrydeben

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I loved the original award-winning Instant Age Rewind under eye concealer. For the life of me, I can't imagine why they felt the need to change it. Not only is this version too dry and settles in my creases, I find it difficult to get the amount I want on the applicator. Maybelline, can we Rewind about 5 years, and bring back the old product?

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 OrangeUGlad on 2/15/2014 1:06:00 PM more reviews by OrangeUGlad

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

When I first got this concealer, I thought it was perfect. Covered up my dark circles well, nice texture, not too heavy, didn't crease too much, good staying power, the whole deal. I loved it. After about 3-4 months of using it, disaster struck. I was sitting in the car one morning and decided to pull down the mirror to check out my makeup. When I pulled the mirror down, this patchy oompa-loompa was looking back at me. My under eyes were caked with orange, and parts of my face that I had dabbed with the concealer to cover up scars and the like were all this really stark orange as well. I looked like I had tried to paint myself like a tiger but didn't quite know what a tiger looked like. I was horrified, and desperately tried to rub the concealer off, to no avail.
I don't know what happened. At first I thought that the concealer oxidized, but when I got home and tested it on my arm, it was really bright orange straight out of the tube. Maybe it oxidized in the tube, if that's a thing that can happen.
The more plausible explanation however, is that I bought the wrong shade. I just compared the bottles of this concealer and my usual foundation, and it is several shades too dark for me, even when comparing colour out of bottles (which are usually pretty deceptive). I'm always torn between buying medium shades or fair shades. I decided to get the medium shade for this concealer since I thought that from the bottle the only lighter shade that they had at the drugstore looked a little too light and more pinkish than I would have liked (there are no testers for this product at drugstores, unfortunately). Also, I guess it's worth mentioning that my bathroom lights are pretty yellow, so they must have played some part in making my concealer look better than it really was. I'm a huge idiot. I should have tested it out in natural light as soon as I had gotten it. I can't believe I walked around like this for 4 months.

Overall, it's a good concealer for a good price, but it's just not the shade for me, and thanks to my own idiocy I don't think I'll be trying the lighter shade. It'll probably look just as foul.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SHeust on 2/13/2014 11:17:00 PM more reviews by SHeust

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I have this in the concealer + treatment formula in "neutralizer." It is a yellow-toned, fair shade concealer that works pretty well to cover dark areas around the eyes and even helps a little bit to minimize puffiness.

You get a generous quantity in the glass tube this comes in, and you twist up the concealer into a domed sponge applicator that makes it easy to apply and blend in. However, sometimes the sponge puts it on a little more thinly than I'd like. This is good stuff but I still prefer the Dream-Lumi concealer from Maybelline for the same purpose. Comparatively, the lumi applies thicker and has the nice brightening highlight effect. Plus I think that the treatment ingredients (ingredients? This isn't a recipe!) of this have dried out my eye area a bit.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Concealers products