Bourjois • Healthy Mix Serum Gel Foundation • Liquid

rated 4.1(393 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 cealzie on 1/13/2014 11:26:00 PM more reviews by cealzie

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have a love/hate relationship with this product.
Most of the time it is simply a delight to apply and wear but man, just on /some/ days it SUCKS.
It has the ability to cling to dry patches (depending how it's applied, it should be applied with a light hand and not roughly rubbed into the skin cause that can exfoliate). So if you have dry skin- be careful with how you apply. Perfect for a normal skin or areas on your face that aren't dry and/or oily. Definitely not for oily skin.
It makes your skin look amazing and radiant but I wouldn't recommend in a very hot climate (cough cough Australian summers) regardless of how dry your skin is or how well you apply it because it can melt off even if you powder. Also kinda can come off if you wear glasses- make sure to lightly powder the area your frames touch your face ///after the foundation has set/// (that is v important otherwise it will look cakey).
Coverage is light and the shade selection kinda sucks- lucky that 51 light vanilla is perfect for me!
I got it on sale at my local priceline but even so it was still quite pricey for what it's worth, even in Australia where makeup is usually double the cost.
Absolutely lovely if you're having a good skin day and aren't breaking out!!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 franneh on 1/13/2014 11:22:00 AM more reviews by franneh

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I finally found my HG foundation! Previously, I was using Revlon's Nearly Naked foundation, but I found that it made my t-zone oily after a few hours. It also didn't have a pump, which made it messy and unsanitary. The Liquid Bourjois Health Mix Serum Gel Foundation is the perfect consistency - it blends like a dream and has just the right amount of coverage. Not too light and not too cakey. A little goes a long way too; I'm talking half a pump can cover my entire face. I have fair / olive skin-tone and I use the shade 53 Beige Clair. After a whole day, this foundation does not make my skin oily or break me out, and that's really what sets it apart from many foundations that i've used in the past. It also has a pleasant fruity smell to it.

I heard through the grape vine that Bourjois is owned by Chanel, so you can trust that the quality is outstanding. Overall, great product. Will definitely be repurchasing when I run out.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Chanel96 on 1/8/2014 6:59:00 AM more reviews by Chanel96

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

The foundatiom feels to light and abit oily on my skin when applied. It does last all day and has a nice smell to it. I wouldnt by this again as it didnt seem right for my skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 DiaryofaDyme on 1/6/2014 2:14:00 PM more reviews by DiaryofaDyme

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

This is the best drugstore foundation I've tried. In terms of consistency, it really feels like silk on the skin-it's invigorating, blends seamlessly, and has a slight fruity pleasant smell. I have combo skin and this works perfectly for me-not drying and irritating in the least, but also not oily-you actually feel like you're not wearing any foundation, which is the hallmark of a good foundation. Also, the pump packaging and small bottle is convenient. My only gripe is the color selection-I'm an NW25-30- and shade 52 was clearly too pale, whereas 53 was too yellow toned. Thus, I'm forced to mix the two shades. That aside, I really enjoy this foundation and feel it'll be with me for a bit.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Vanessamucho on 12/25/2013 8:02:00 PM more reviews by Vanessamucho

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

The gel makeup easy to blend in seamlessly and the color range seems fair for a DS brand. This foundation is clearly not for oily or combination skin. After a few hours, the foundation seemed to build up and "swell" almost in the areas where there was oil, powdering helped to stem this slightly but it still happens.
If you have combination/oily skin, avoid this foundation. Normal to dry skin, I would expect this to be a wonderful foundation for you.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Yzyz on 12/23/2013 10:49:00 PM more reviews by Yzyz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Amaaaaaaaaaaazing!
If my skin was a bit less flawed, it would've been the perfect foundation.

I'm saying this because I have terrible hyperpigmentation to the point you can notice the crazy redness all over my face from 20m away... yes it's that bad :(
and unfortunately this foundation is too light to cover all of it, although it does hide all redness! It does not hide but tones down some deeper coloured acne scars (eg: brown or purple).

Pros:
-light weight
-great fruity scent
-very spreadable
-not cakey
-lasts up to half a day (6-8 hrs)
-matches me (NC20 and 51 in this) perfectly (very fair yellow-undertoned asian skin)

Cons:
-price and quantity ratio
-not enough coverage (but then again, any higher coverage foundation would of been too thick for my liking and a little concealer on top of this one does the trick too)
(and also, most people would be happy with the coverage, I only have very terrible hyper pigmentation)

Overall, great foundation with most amazing consistency i have ever came across! Will definitely repurchase!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 tan0088 on 12/12/2013 12:41:00 PM more reviews by tan0088

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I really wanted to try this one out, and hoped it will work on my dry skin but this product is one of the worst I've tried, which is a real shame because I'm so in love with the original healthy mix foundation, that i was very disappointed with the serum.
This foundation is bad for dry skin, it flakes and clings on to the dry patches making them look ten times worse. Also the color I have 51 light vanilla is just yellow, its not like an undertone, but rather an overwhelming yellow tint.
tried to make it work with different primers and application methods but it's not for me.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 GarouxDesLarmes on 12/2/2013 8:41:00 AM more reviews by GarouxDesLarmes

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

This is really nice light, dewy foundation for light coverage. It's great on dry skin but I wouldn't buy it again only because I need heavier coverage. However, if you need light coverage only this is a good choice because it's similar to some higher end foundations but a lot cheaper.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* calooza on 12/2/2013 6:33:00 AM more reviews by calooza

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

For your reference: I have oily acne prone skin. It's winter time, but my skin is oily all year around. No foundation, even if it's targeted to oily skin, leaves me oil and shine free all day, even with Biore Perfect Milk underneath.

I have always heard that this serum foundation was not suitable for oily skin, that people with normal to oily skin should go for the regular Healthy Mix... Guess what? They were wrong. The brand says it's for all skin types (correct me if i'm wrong), so it all depends on your skin... It's oil free and hypoallergenic, so oily acne prone skins should be fine. This review it's what i experienced with this foundation, so you have to try it to see if it works for you, whatever skin type you have.

I tried the regular Healthy Mix in the past. I used one bottle of it, so my opinion is made. Initially, i was in love with the finish, the coverage, the consistency, the smell... everything. It never broke me out. But in a few hours i was an oily slick :-/ Also, it only lasts 6-8 hours (top) and it transfers a lot! I found out that it's not that natural looking. It was noticeable that i was wearing it, unless i used just a bit and spread it with my fingers, and the color oxidized to a shade darker...

Because it was said that the serum version was not suitable for oily skin, i never thought of even trying it. I was happy with Revlon Colorstay in the Normal to Dry Skin Version, and with the Garnier BB Cream for combination/oily skin. But in the last few months, my skin got better from acne, and Revlon Colorstay seemed too thick and too noticeable for me. Besides, for the majority of the year, there's no perfect color match for me (i'm between 150 and 180). So, i started my search for a foundation with a good color match and lighter coverage (not invisible, because i still have redness and a few blemishes to cover). I prefer a natural looking foundation to a mate foundation, so the finish was not a problem for me.

I saw the reviews for this foundation, and noticed that oily skin people also used it and love it, even thought there are negative reviews. I decided that it was worth a try. And i'm glad i did!

Package
- It comes in a hard plastic bottle with pump (some people say it's glass, but i don't agree).

Price
- It costs 19 euros in my country (South Europe) which i think it's a steal for a drugstore foundation!! But i can find it on sale, and bought it for 13,99 euros, which i think it's average for a drugstore foundation and for the quality you get.

Consistency
- Not thick, but not too runny either. It blends really well with the fingers. With a brush you have to really work it into your skin to not leave streaks. I prefer a brush, even if takes longer to blend it seamlessly.

Coverage
- It's light and buildable but it covers well. The redness from my acne scars and pimples doesn't pick through. I use a pump for all my face, and then half a pump for the areas that need more coverage. It's perfect for what i'm looking for... It looks like second skin, and you can't feel it.

Color
- I use 52. It's perfect for me, it doesn't oxidize and it has yellow undertone.

Finish
- It's semi-mate like it says on the bottle. Not shiny, just natural looking. It's velvety to the touch, not sticky. I always use powder after any foundation.

Performance
- After a few hours, the oil picks thought (i cannot escape from that) but it's really minimal, and my face doesn't look oily, it rather looks glowy, which i don't mind. It's nothing compared to the regular Healthy Mix. I blot and i'm good to go for a few more hours. I don't get this from the BB Cream by Garnier - you can see my skin is oily.
- Even though my face gets a bit oily, the foundation doesn't break down and the coverage stays in place, which i find amazing for this foundation. I was not expecting that. The only foundation i've tried that performs this way is Revlon Colorstay.
- When i blot it doesn't transfer.
- So far it didn't broke me out (fingers crossed)

I'm really happy with this foundation, and i will repurchased it.

If you have oily acne prone skin, i can't guarantee that the results will be the same, but for me it worth the try ;) You really have to try to see if it works with your skin.

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* FaceofMaleah on 12/1/2013 1:02:00 AM more reviews by FaceofMaleah

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm really not a huge fan of this foundation and quite honestly think it is a bit overhyped. I've owned 2 bottles of this foundation, both in the shade 51 which is a nice shade for those with really pale skin and light yellow undertones. The match of this foundation for my skin is amazing if nothing else is. I have super dehydrated skin and I feel like this foundation looks demi-matte on my skin and it does tend to gravitate towards my dry patches as the day goes on. The smell of this is lovely, it has a really nice texture and it very blendable but my Lancome BB Tinted Moisturizer has more coverage than this. About 5 hours in to wearing this, I start to look a bit blotchy and have to reapply it in areas. Not a really excellent foundation, very middle of the road. And it is quite pricey at $27 for a drugstore foundation. I will not repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bourjois products

More Liquid products