Nivea • A Kiss of Milk and Honey • Lips

rated 4.0(197 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 belle169 on 8/21/2012 7:49:00 PM more reviews by belle169

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Holy. Grail. Product.
Nivea has always been my favourite brand for lip balm, but this is definitely their best balm ever.
It has a smooth, light feeling on the lips, moisturises for a good few hours (obviously if you eat or drink you'll have to reapply; that just goes with the territory of lipbalms), and even when it wears off it leaves my lips feeling nice and smooth. The smell's pretty nice as well, I think it's slightly floral rather than milk or honey, but I like it. And the taste is very inoffensive and barely noticeable (and this is coming from someone who is very picky about the taste of lip products). Comes in a fairly big, sturdy tube, for a reasonable price: ~NZ$4 at the supermarket.
The only con I can think of is that there is no SPF in it. However, I hate the taste of lipbalms with SPF, and so I don't mind this at all. If I'm planning to be outside for a while I just apply a balm that does have sun protection.
LOVE, and will continue to repurchase. :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 lemonz4us on 8/21/2012 7:07:00 PM more reviews by lemonz4us

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I found this at Target for about 3 bucks. Though it's not exorbitant , it's slightly more pricey than say... Chapstick brand. It's not as pricey as some brands you find at department stores .
It's a yellow colored balm in a twist tube. The entire top comes off and you can twist the whole thing out . It smells a little like flowers? Maybe potpourri ? Idk . I'm not very judging when it comes to scents but for some reason I really don't care for this scent. It moisturizes really well . It glides on lips smoothly and instantly makes them hydrated and healthy looking. I can only compare this to weleda everon lip balm which is slightly thicker in texture and waxier . But I prefer the weleda because it smells like rose and honey . This doesn't really contain milk or honey . More like honey extract and non fat dry milk .plus they're near the end of the ingredients list so they're in small quantities . Overall it's better than other balms at the ds but not better than what I already have (weleda everon , silk naturals black lip balm, burnout coconut)
It has no SPF so I cant use this during the day .
I will not repurchase .

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Xaephan on 8/14/2012 8:39:00 PM more reviews by Xaephan

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Love this lip balm! Not too sticky, hydrates, great scent (a bit strong though), great packaging. I love the Nivea tubes, since if you twist while the lid is on, the product wont come up--I've ruined a couple of lip sticks and balms by sticking them into my purse and somehow twisting them in there.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 dove267 on 8/14/2012 7:54:00 PM more reviews by dove267

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Nivea's a Kiss of Milk and Honey is a great thin, waxy balm that is good for everyday. It isn't great if you have extremely chapped lips or as an overnight balm to heal flakes. The smell is delicious, but it is a bit expensive for a lip balm. Not the most moisturizing balm, but a great lip balm none the less.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 youcrazydiamond on 8/14/2012 7:16:00 PM more reviews by youcrazydiamond

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is a good everyday lip balm. I bought this in a pinch when I was at work and had forgot to bring a balm with me. It feels nice and creamy going on, and feels smooth on my lips. It seems to do a good job protecting them and relieving the dry, chapped feeling that drives me crazy. I especially love the packaging: a sturdy twist-up tube that keeps out grit and dirt and makes it easy to see how much you have left. The only major downside for me is the scent. I hate the scent. It is very strong and cloying, and reminds me of sour, rotting flowers. I find myself reluctant to use it for that reason, even though I like the way it feels and I think it works well. The smell is strong enough that I can smell it the entire time it is on my lips. That is the only reason I won't purchase this balm again. Remember, scent is subjective, so you may love it! It's a good balm.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Kalya on 7/29/2012 9:23:00 AM more reviews by Kalya

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I wanted to like this lip balm, as I like the Nivea original moisturizing creme (navy blue jar) a lot.
This balm sounds great 'milk and honey' and looks great. Applied on the lips, it is a terrible experience. My lips stung and seemed very sticky and greasy. The price was also high, especially since I had not bought this at a discount or sale.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* OhsnappitsEm on 6/21/2012 4:29:00 PM more reviews by OhsnappitsEm

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is the newest lip balm in my little collection and it is one of my favorites. Nivea lip balms have always been one of my favorites since discovering them a few years ago. This is my third one in addition to the kiss of moisture and the kiss of smoothness that I have tried. I've always been curious about this one and since it had great reviews I decided to pick it up. I really like the packaging it looks cute to me at least and it goes up all the way so you can see how much product you have, in addition to that you get more product than your usual drugstore lip balm. This balm is yellow and I was a little hesitant about it at first but it doesn't leave a yellow tint at all and goes on clear just like any other balm. It does not have any weird taste and the smell is decent,a little floral with a hint of honey. It goes on buttery soft and I can feel it moisturizing my lips the second it goes on, the moisture lasts a pretty good amount of time and it actually sinks into your lips rather than just sitting on them. Another great thing is that after it wears off my lips don't feel as dry and I don't feel like I have to apply this right away. I use this one on days when i'm just at home and its great to use at night as well. The only con would be that it doesn't have spf but I have my kiss of smoothness for that. This is great for the occasional dryness but I don't think it would help anyone with severely dry chapped lips but its a great daily lip balm and overall I would reconmend it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mantharay27 on 6/19/2012 7:24:00 PM more reviews by mantharay27

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

As you can probably tell from the rating being 5/5, I do like this product. I've noticed that it makes my lips much softer and smoother. Although I have been drinking a lot more water lately, so I might have to edit later.

If I apply too much, it doesn't feel like I have a weird build up on my lips the way Burt's Bees sometimes can. Also, it leaves a really nice shine that kind of reminds me of the way my lips look after I've had a drink of water or if I've eaten something oily (that sounds terrible, but it's a good thing!)

I also like that it has a yellow tint to it; I'm an anemic due to some genetic thing and when my iron levels get too low I find that my lips can be too purple and sickly looking. The yellow in this product helps to counteract the purple tinge and makes my lips look pinker, which is nice.

My only gripe is the taste. I'm a big fan of menthol in my lip balms (some people hate it, so if you hate menthol lip balms, give this a shot) and sweet lip balms feel uncomfortable to me at first. The first few times I used this, I hated the taste and smell, but I soon became accustomed to it and I quite like it now. It's not really like the Burt's Bees Honey one, it has a different kind of sweetness to it that I can't explain.

I like the packaging, too, because it clicks nicely when you close it. Which is probably a bad reason to like packaging, but still. The older ones have a bee on it and the newer ones don't, if that makes a difference to anyone, haha. Overall, I'll probably be buying it again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 astrogoob on 6/16/2012 1:08:00 AM more reviews by astrogoob

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

EDIT: Not sure what happened, but this stuff doesn't work the same way it used to. I'm pretty bummed and sad, but maybe there was a formulation change? Either way, I miss what this stuff used to do for my lips. Great when it works, disheartening when it doesn't. On the hunt for the perfect lip balm once more.
-
Old Review:
-
I'm extremely sensitive to menthol, so lip balms that have mint in them always make my lips chapped and shredded and bleeding in days. If you've got a similar problem, you'll know that this includes about 80% of all products out there. Here's my impression of this balm after two months of steady use:
-
This is the lip balm I've (we've) been searching for all my (our) life (lives). It's butter-smooth, but not oily or sticky. It actually sinks into my lips instead of rubbing off or disappearing to who-knows-where-but-definitely-not-my-lips. It takes effect almost immediately, leaving my lips moisturized and feeling full. It doesn't chap at all, and actually increases recovery time from damage done by other, pricer brands of balm.
-
The longer lid is great for me, since it's much easier to keep track of. I also like seeing how much of my balm I've used without wondering if I'll be able to screw the product back into the tube. Call me OCD, but it matters. Also a good thing - it's near impossible to get mysterious purse grit on your balm with this package design. Neato.
-
All other lip balms are the crappy ex-boyfriends you've had in the past that treated you wrong. This is prince charming. I never knew lip balms could actually do any good; previously I thought of them similar to bloodletting in terms of effectiveness, and waited and dealt with disappointment until science came up with something better. I actually looked forward to seeing this stuff *work*, as opposed to the old feeling of dread and impending disappointment as I watch the wreckage other balms leave in their wake. If this lip balm were a man, I'd take him home, introduce him to my mom, and have 17 of his children without complaint. I'm not even slightly tempted to try something better. This is the absolute best.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 historismus on 6/8/2012 11:18:00 PM more reviews by historismus

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

A new must-have-everywhere-I-go product for me. I alternate lip balms fairly frequently but I have just been loving this one. Unlike other lip products I've tried, I find that I don't have to apply this one as often because it keeps my lips moisturized and soft for longer. It does sit on the lips for a while, but it just feels and smells so lovely that I don't mind (taste is not as good but I can also live with that). Would recommend to anyone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Nivea products

More Lips products