Chanel • Shadowlights- Vega • Eye Shadow

rated 4.4(142 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.82%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bibliophile on 1/17/2004 11:40:00 AM more reviews by bibliophile

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I ordered Vega after reading so many rave reviews on MUA. I'm glad I did because this is great! Just looking at this shade before applying, I thought it was pretty, but nothing special. I don't know how to describe it, but this shade somehow transforms into gorgeous once applied. I have very oily eyelids, but this shadow lasted longer than any other ever has on me. I think it remained creaseless for about 5 or 6 hours all by itself. Later I used Lancome cream shadow (Colour Dose Eye in Bermuda Sunrise) underneath and that increased Vega's staying power to more than 12 hours. It might have lasted even longer if I hadn't removed it before bedtime. Also, Vega applied over the Bermuda Sunrise cream shadow looked absolutely stunning. I am not skilled at eyeshadow application. Somehow, Vega looked perfectly applied, even though I did nothing different than I ever have. This is the most I have ever spent on one eye shadow ($21.50), but I will definitely repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 NoraRebecca on 1/8/2004 1:01:00 PM more reviews by NoraRebecca

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Another rave for vega! This hits the taupe look just right. All other similar colors I've tried look muddy, dirty or just plain wrong on my skin. But this one looks and feels luxe, silky and beautiful. Looks boring in the package but it's magic on the lids.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 rkelly on 1/6/2004 2:06:00 PM more reviews by rkelly

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Purchased Vega based on great reviews at MUA. I'm a mmm/ggg with medium brown eyes. used alone this e/s makes me look tired which i usually look w/o makeup.

The only way i can make this work is to warm it up with another shadow.

I think this color is best suited for fair skinned blue eyed young women.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* joheinous on 12/30/2003 9:01:00 AM more reviews by joheinous

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I admit, I only bought Vega because of all the raves from blue eyed gals. My initial reaction was that it was going to go up for swap. It just seemed like nothing special. But, after playing around with it, I found that it has a special place in my makeup loot. When I used Stila Oasis and Golightly to warm it up a little, it really gave my eyes an interesting and natural great subtle day look. Not exciting, but really pretty. At 40, this is a big deal! I doubt I'd ever repurchase, because I can't ever imagine finishing this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* x0x0rebeccax0x0 on 12/14/2003 11:56:00 PM more reviews by x0x0rebeccax0x0

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I ordered this from sephora.com and when i opened it for the first time (i'd never tried it before) i was a little disappointed. it looked boring, basically. however, i tried it on anyway. i still wasn't blown away like i was expecting to be but it had a smooth silky consistency and was excellently pigmented. the color (a multi-faceted kind of silvery mauvey taupe)was nice but not amazing. BUT, as the day went on, i received SO many compliments on it, which really surprised me! i guess its a keeper then! hehe...i like how it looks polished and not 'out there'. either warm or cool tones could wear this for sure, but i think it might look a tad bit better on cool tones. this would be a nice everyday color for most, but its too dark for everyday use on my fair skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* JBGreenberg on 12/12/2003 10:08:00 PM more reviews by JBGreenberg

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I have never been dissatisfied by any Chanel products and this is no exception. The color is absolutely gorgeous and unique. There is nothing more that I can say that hasnít been said, but I promise you wonít be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ergi on 12/7/2003 1:05:00 PM more reviews by ergi

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I like this - it wears well, but isn't magic for small eyes. Vega went bruise-like as a wash; I need to apply along crease, lash line, and (lightly!) on lower lashes for a good effect (+ Stila Chinois as wash). Then, then the raves here come true - it looks subtle, defines my eyes, and gives the blue-grey a 'pop'. Still, it doesn't work on my pink skin days - the cool tone clashes (silvery greyed-plum overwhelms any taupe). The rosacea-prone should probably avoid this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bairn on 12/1/2003 11:39:00 AM more reviews by bairn

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Simply perfect. And I mustn't be so mean as to take away one lippy for that horrid price tag.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bitchyboss on 12/1/2003 4:28:00 AM more reviews by bitchyboss

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

love this like most of chanel's cosmetics. The quality is great.
The colour is another violet taupe that makes my hazel eyes look more green.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Dr_Luna on 11/27/2003 7:45:00 PM more reviews by Dr_Luna

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I still view this as the best tip I've gotten on MUA -- I ADORE Vega, will re-purchase, and hope Chanel never stops making it. I just wanted to add that those who like it should also enjoy Cargo's "Yukon" -- very similar effect, but in a more silvery violet shade of taupe whereas Vega is more mink-toned. Cargo is high quality and gives mucho quantity of product. But Vega is #1.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Chanel products

More Eye Shadow products