Maybelline Superstay

3.5

164 reviews

65% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 9/2/2010 4:38:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I don't like this at all .... It's soo dry when it sets, it will automatically make your skin look cakey and patchy. It is also very matte and it dries really fast so it's difficult to blend. Definitely not for undereye area!Maybe use it on very small sports. The color is weird since I got CREAM (I'm Fairly Light in BE, #120 in MUFE HD, Classic Ivory in Maybelline) and it was too light for me, it had a white-ish, gray-ish cast when it dried. Maybelline's Mineral Power is much better!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 8/22/2010 8:33:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is a great full coverage long lasting concealer. Did not budge all day. I found a good color match in Cream. I don't use this under my eyes as I find it too drying and cakey for that. But this is wonderful on blemishes and red marks, and holds up to my oily skin. Because it is so matte, I find it does not look natural over a large area of the face, but is perfect for spot coverage. It dries very quickly, so you do need to work fast with it. I normally apply by dotting where I need it, and tap/blend it in right away, then dot on the next spot and blend etc. It only takes a very small amount. I absolutely love this!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/3/2010 11:25:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

Love this concealer. It matches my skin color perfectly and stays longer than any other concealer I've tried so far. It is rather hard to blend and will accentuate your dry spots but to me it's worth the hassle for the "superstay" factor. Not a big fan of the wand applicator, seems a little unsanitary, but it does make it easy to apply without wasting any product.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

I am so happy with this concealer :) I can't comment on how it works on undereye circles, because I don't really have that issue, but I love the coverage it gives on blemishes and post-acne scars. A little goes a very long way with this, because it is very opaque. The color that I got, Medium Beige, matches my skin perfectly. It is summer right now and my face has gotten very tan, so I will probably have to get a lighter color later in the year. This sets pretty quickly, so I go one blemish at a time, dotting it on and them patting it in with my finger and smoothing out the edges. As with an concealer, make sure the area is well moisturized first, because any dry patches will be accentuated. It seems to blend in perfectly with my skin, and doesn't look cakey at all. After it has set, the staying power of this concealer is AMAZING. I even ended up going on a bike ride yesterday (12 miles in the hot Florida sun and humidity at noon) and it was still in place when I got home. I definitely recommend this :D

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/25/2010 8:19:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This concealer is sort of "meh" for me. I hate the liquid texture and am not a fan of the wand application, but it works well for me under the eye area. I don't have really heavy dark circles but on those days when they look particularly bad this does the job. In spite of the liquid texture this concealer dries fairly quickly and is a little difficult to blend. I end up putting barely a smidge on my finger and patting it under my eyes, and even then I have to work fast.
Unfortunately, under-eye circles are about the only thing I use this concealer for: it dries out any pimples I put it on and makes them look worse, and it's hard to use on an area larger than an inch or so because it dries so quickly. I don't think I'll be buying this concealer again.


on 7/25/2010 3:48:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Sad to say this concealer did not live up to its expectations. I tend to have dark under eye circles and I needed a really good concealer that would cover it up.The color I bought matched my skin almost perfectly. When I applied it it did help reduce the black circles but it was frusterating to blend in and left a white cast under my eyes.In the trash it goes.


on 7/20/2010 5:45:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I find that this concealer works very nicely for the undereyes as it does truly assist in brightening. It stays put and does not get cakey. As previously mentioned, Superstay can become a tad bit drying but it's nothing a little moisturizer can't fix. I work with this one eye at a time because it tends to dry faster than other concealer, but it's very easy to work with otherwise and is great for those days you want to use something quick but will have longlasting effects on the undereyes. I've been using this product a lot lately, but I find myself reaching for a more salmon-colored concealer when my eyebags are REALLY dark since Superstay sometimes doesn't give enoough coverage for those days when your eyes are just too dark. But on a daily basis when eyebags are just lightly to moderately dark, I definitely can rely on this concealer.


on 7/20/2010 2:52:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Pros:
-Great coverage
-Long lasting
-Pretty natural looking (at least when it's first applied)

Cons:
-Not a huge color selection (but more than other brands I suppose)
-Drying (be careful)
-Although the concealer stays on for long periods of time, I find it just kinda dries up and ages me after a few hours.
-Somewhat orangey looking
-The packaging is like a lip gloss tube with a little sponge applicator that you pump in and out. Unsanitary if you're applying this concealer on pimples.

I would not repurchase this product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/20/2010 2:52:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

i really like this stuff, i use it under my eyes and its a really good drugstore concealer.


on 7/20/2010 12:29:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

OK, This is one of the only concealers that has ANY staying power on my eyes. That being said there are some things you should know about it.

1. It is drying. Mix it 1:3 eye moisturizer if your greasy. 1:1 if you are dry. Make sure that the product you are mixing with is OIL FREE. This product doesnt like oils. So i highly recommend YES to cucumbers soothing eye gel. Ulta had it for $11 and on average it is $14, but for 1oz verses 0.5oz. this is the cheapest nicest stuff youll find. Mixes well with all makeup, even waterproof and is very non irritating and gentle with some nice hydration. This will also extend the set time as well as make the edges much easier to blend and absorbs clean.

2. This product does have an orange cast to it. So it is very nice for under eye area, but if you are looking for blemish concealer I would go with something else. If you choose to try this, know it runs very light. I had to get medium light and I am pretty pale. (usually 2nd/3rd up from most fair on lines like MUF, BB ect with allot of shade options) So if you think your cream, get one shade darker and just buy it from a place that allows you to return hassle free like ulta.

That being said. Most under eye heavy concealers that dont crease are drying and you really ought to mix regardless. This is the best that I have found for staying power maybe barring Estee lauder (trying that in the next few weeks)

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.




Back to Top