Maybelline • Superstay • Concealers

rated 3.6(160 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* OhsnappitsEm on 7/25/2010 3:48:00 PM more reviews by OhsnappitsEm

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Sad to say this concealer did not live up to its expectations. I tend to have dark under eye circles and I needed a really good concealer that would cover it up.The color I bought matched my skin almost perfectly. When I applied it it did help reduce the black circles but it was frusterating to blend in and left a white cast under my eyes.In the trash it goes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Simply2Smile on 7/20/2010 5:45:00 PM more reviews by Simply2Smile

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I find that this concealer works very nicely for the undereyes as it does truly assist in brightening. It stays put and does not get cakey. As previously mentioned, Superstay can become a tad bit drying but it's nothing a little moisturizer can't fix. I work with this one eye at a time because it tends to dry faster than other concealer, but it's very easy to work with otherwise and is great for those days you want to use something quick but will have longlasting effects on the undereyes. I've been using this product a lot lately, but I find myself reaching for a more salmon-colored concealer when my eyebags are REALLY dark since Superstay sometimes doesn't give enoough coverage for those days when your eyes are just too dark. But on a daily basis when eyebags are just lightly to moderately dark, I definitely can rely on this concealer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* foxysoxy804 on 7/20/2010 2:52:00 PM more reviews by foxysoxy804

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Pros:
-Great coverage
-Long lasting
-Pretty natural looking (at least when it's first applied)

Cons:
-Not a huge color selection (but more than other brands I suppose)
-Drying (be careful)
-Although the concealer stays on for long periods of time, I find it just kinda dries up and ages me after a few hours.
-Somewhat orangey looking
-The packaging is like a lip gloss tube with a little sponge applicator that you pump in and out. Unsanitary if you're applying this concealer on pimples.

I would not repurchase this product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Sarahkinz72 on 7/20/2010 2:52:00 PM more reviews by Sarahkinz72

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

i really like this stuff, i use it under my eyes and its a really good drugstore concealer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Harsiese on 7/20/2010 12:29:00 PM more reviews by Harsiese

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

OK, This is one of the only concealers that has ANY staying power on my eyes. That being said there are some things you should know about it.

1. It is drying. Mix it 1:3 eye moisturizer if your greasy. 1:1 if you are dry. Make sure that the product you are mixing with is OIL FREE. This product doesnt like oils. So i highly recommend YES to cucumbers soothing eye gel. Ulta had it for $11 and on average it is $14, but for 1oz verses 0.5oz. this is the cheapest nicest stuff youll find. Mixes well with all makeup, even waterproof and is very non irritating and gentle with some nice hydration. This will also extend the set time as well as make the edges much easier to blend and absorbs clean.

2. This product does have an orange cast to it. So it is very nice for under eye area, but if you are looking for blemish concealer I would go with something else. If you choose to try this, know it runs very light. I had to get medium light and I am pretty pale. (usually 2nd/3rd up from most fair on lines like MUF, BB ect with allot of shade options) So if you think your cream, get one shade darker and just buy it from a place that allows you to return hassle free like ulta.

That being said. Most under eye heavy concealers that dont crease are drying and you really ought to mix regardless. This is the best that I have found for staying power maybe barring Estee lauder (trying that in the next few weeks)

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MARINAWOLFE on 7/18/2010 1:45:00 PM more reviews by MARINAWOLFE

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I've tried lots of different undereye concealers for my dark circles. This is the best product yet and one of the cheapest that I've purchased. I will definitely buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AzoOutrageous on 7/9/2010 6:49:00 PM more reviews by AzoOutrageous

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this without my research, i like that fact that iit moved with your face and thought that would be perfect for under eye circles as they tend to have crinkly texture. This IS AMAZING STUFF.

My circles are ridiculously bad, i think they are a mix of bad health and sleep deprivation, unless its hereditary. I'm glad i can fix them now.

You can achieve natural results with a good amount of coverage, with one application. But this concealer will let you have a second coating, and actually not get cakey, wrinkley or whatever. It is so good.

GO BUY!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dulcetpurr on 7/7/2010 3:31:00 PM more reviews by dulcetpurr

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This concealer is practically bulletproof. If it can stay on in July Oklahoma humidity, I'll bet it can stay on anywhere. The pigmentation is great and it really does cover blemishes and/or scars.


It is a rather dry concealer, however, and can get cakey looking if you aren't careful with your blending. It somewhat settles into the fine lines underneath my eyes, but it's not the worst I've ever seen. If you have dry skin like me you should be careful with this concealer. Honestly I'd probably only use this on blemishes and scars as a spot concealer, I'm not real fond of using it under my eyes. It would probably be less cakey if you applied it under your foundation. Anyway, if you're oily skinned, I'd very much recommend this. The pigmentation and the way it stays on very much outweighs the cons of the product, at least in my opinion.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 1290145 on 6/29/2010 7:34:00 PM more reviews by 1290145

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is a pretty good concealer. It is definitely drying. I would not use this under the eyes without moisturizing. It has better coverage than the mineral power one. Slightly chalky finish. I believe that this works well on blemishes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 darkopacity on 6/21/2010 1:27:00 PM more reviews by darkopacity

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This has great coverage for a drugstore concealer but it just does not live up to its 24 hr no transfer promise. I find the Revlon Colorstay concealer stays on longer and is more water resistant compared to the Maybelline Superstay concealer, but the Revlon Colorstay didn't give me as much coverage and is not as buildable as Superstay is. This is a great concealer for good coverage and you can layer it on without it slipping off. It just doesn't 'superstay' on a person like me who moisturizes heavily before putting on makeup.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Concealers products