Laura Mercier • Tinted Moisturizer SPF 20 - Illuminating • Tinted Moisturizer

rated 3.7(169 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.65%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 henrysmom on 4/28/2011 9:01:00 PM more reviews by henrysmom

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Silver, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

A few months ago I had the experience of sitting in a large hall with 5 busloads of French men and women over 40 for several hours. I noticed that most of the women looked vibrant and youthful despite the lack of obvious plastic surgery. I tried to see if I could determine their secret and it dawned on me that most of them were wearing far less makeup than the average American, and that many had glowing skin (being uniformly thin and having certain fashion flair didnt hurt either). I talked to several of the women, who told me that they wore little makeup but spent money on facials, face creams,etc. I was so impressed, that I decided to re-think my makeup strategy.

I had tried TMs years before, but had dismissed them as not having enough coverae. But now, thanks to meticulous skin care and Renova, my skin isn't bad. I had heard good things about Laura Mercier TM and headed to Sephora. I initially bought both the regular and illuminating TM, thinking that the illuminating would be too shiny or sparkly. I mixed them together for awhile and was pleased with the results.

Then, two weeks ago I started using only the illuminating TM I use Bare. And boy did the compliments begin! I do not find it too shiny for my 52 year old skin, it gives a nice glow. Very minimal coverage, my imperfections still show through, but are minimized and softened. I put it on over my moisturizer/sun screen and a little concealer around my eyes only. I have been using a little blush and just a light dusting of powder over my T zone. I might apply more if I were looking for a more polished work look, but I don't wear much makup to work, I am a nurse and it wears off from the mask I often wear. I really am glowing! In a good way! I apply it with the sonia kashuk blue sponge, sort of dabbing it on. I don't have to use much, so I imagine it will last awhile, which is good since it is somewhat expensive. I also wish it were in a little pump bottle rather than a tube, but a minor point. Overall, I'd rate this very highly and recommend it to my 50+ friends. I love the way my skin looks so much better and more youthful!

UPDATE: I still like this product, but no longer wear it alone. Rather, I mix it with the regular TM or other foundation for all-over use, or use by itself over the cheekbone area. I like it by itself indoors, but outdoors it's just too shiny

ONE YEAR LATER: I am still using this, which is a miracle for me, as I change makeup approaches frequently. I still mix this with a matte TM (either Mercier or Sonia Kashuk). I generally wear it with a bit of Tarte cheek stain and get loads of compliments on my skin. I am wearing less makeup than ever before, and feel like I look younger. I am careful not to use too much of this when outdoors in the sun, but indoors it's fantastic. Have re-bought once.

27 out of 27 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jackiemac412 on 4/16/2011 1:08:00 PM more reviews by jackiemac412

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this TM... At first I thought that it was way too sparkly (made me feel as if I dipped my face in glitter), however, I was using a color that was too light. After trying the correct color, I was in love... Using this gives my skin a nice sheen, which is much healthier looking then a matte finish. I literally feel like my skin is simply glowing! This topped with a little MAC mineralized skinfinish natural and I'm all set!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 KATHNH on 3/31/2011 1:29:00 AM more reviews by KATHNH

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Silver   Eyes: Blue    

At sixty-one, I thought my skin was in pretty good shape but I also thought that normal foundations just sort of "sat" on my skin. They didn't enhance it when rubbed in and I realized I needed help.

After some experimentation, I ended up trying Laura Mercier's Tinted Moisturizer and I love it. Firt, it seems to soak in to my skin and make it look dewey and has a subtil sheen to it that is very attractive. I don't have much to cover up; at my age, what you see is what you get. I would be most uncomfortable in a heavy foundation. I'm glad I went the other way!

Although it's a bit pricey, a little goes a long way and I must mention I have very sensitive skin and this product doesn't make my skin break out. I also love that it has an SPF of 20 although I believe your moisturizer below does the job of protecting skin from the sun unless you use a lot of foundation or tinted moisturizer for it to do any good.
on.

I highly recommend this product for anyone, ages forty and up. It really makes your skin glow nicely!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kcleejackson on 3/26/2011 2:31:00 PM more reviews by kcleejackson

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I actually LOVE this product. For years I was using different foundations and every one of them broke me out. So far with this one no breakouts and it def gives a "glow". I have dry skin so it doesnt make me look a bit oily like others have said. I will buy this again for sure. Think it would be perfect for older women and anyone who has trouble getting the foundation on evenly b/c this blends like nothing else I've used.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pmburk on 3/9/2011 11:50:00 AM more reviews by pmburk

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I use several tinted moisturizers (Kiehl's is probably my favorite), but I love this tinted moisturizer. It gives very light, sheer coverage with a nice illuminating glow. It does have some shimmer, but it isn't overwhelming, and you can always cut it with the regular tinted moisturizer to tone it down. I'm 37 and I can wear this during the day with powder on top. I use this as I would a regular foundation - over my regular moisturizer, and then just powder on top. I don't need very much coverage or skin-evening, so I apply this with a makeup sponge dampened with MAC Fix+ or Julie Hewett rose water, so it blends easily & is more sheer. It blends amazingly well and looks gorgeous, sheer and natural. I top with Clinique blended powder or MAC mineralized skinfinish natural powder, and my face looks flawless and lasts all day. Decent amount of SPF and keeps my skin from drying out. Price is a little high, but the tube is very large. Definitely recommend this one!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 redhairedgirl on 3/8/2011 10:11:00 PM more reviews by redhairedgirl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

This product used under a regular tinted moisturizer will give your skin an amazing glow. Just use a little Laura Mercier Secret Camouflage to cover spots, and your skin will look so healthy (like you're not wearing makeup). I've found that a bit of sheer creme blush w/ a coordinating powder blush to set it is a nice compliment to this routine.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LuluPow on 3/3/2011 11:14:00 PM more reviews by LuluPow

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Grey   Eyes: Green    

I've been using this for a couple of years. I use it all year long. I apply eye cream and moisturizer first (I'm very dry). It blends amazingly and I get complements often on how great my skin looks; natural but glowy. If it's warm or humid, I use loose powder on my T-zone. Then I mist a couple of pumps of water over my face and let that dry.

I have used it with Laura Mercier primer when I want a more finished/foundation type look.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jostajoe on 1/3/2011 1:16:00 PM more reviews by jostajoe

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have no idea what has been keeping me from buying this!

I used to be a great fan of using Smashbox's backdrop cooling tint until the new formular came out about 2 years ago. The new formular is as great as the pervious generation but it "excited" my face that it turned me into an oil pit on my combination skin type. Ended up I let it go to a new home where my friend could use it.

Now.... I have found a great replacement! Granted, I do not wear this alone. After my daily skin care regime (i.e. cleansing, toning, putting on serum) I put this on as my moisturizer. I let the product sinks in for a minute before I put on either my MUFE HD foundation (but a super thin layer only!) or my Lancome's Ageless Minérale powder. I would put concealer on places where they need a little bit more coverage.

The tinted moisturizer really gives me that perfect glow and it helps to keep my makeup fresh all day. It doesn't break me out as far as I concern. My skin is soft and supple and what eles could I ask for? True enough it is on the expansive side, but a little goes a long long way. A dime size should be more than enough. Love it, Love it!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 smallpuppy on 12/30/2010 7:54:00 PM more reviews by smallpuppy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff is amazing mixed in with my Hg foundation Estee Lauder Double Wear! I get a flawless dewy complexion!! I can't wear this by itself bc it doesn't give me "enough"-let me change that to "any"coverage ( I have acne scars, and from time to time some pimples that look like volcanoes). This doesn't break me out and I have an extremely oily skin. The key is just to make sure that you wash off every makeup residue at night. I haven't had the looking like grease ball problem but then again I Do put powder on top I guess it helps. Anyways, I really like this tinted moisturizer! And I will definately repurchase

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 xsblingvegas on 11/3/2010 12:03:00 AM more reviews by xsblingvegas

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I mix this moisturizer with the regular one and I love how it gives glow on my face.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Laura Mercier products

More Tinted Moisturizer products