Unlisted Brand • Coconut Oil • Hair

rated 4.5(180 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.91%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* thebigtrout on 8/26/2010 12:17:00 PM more reviews by thebigtrout

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I wanted to give this one star because it clogs my pores so badly that it even clogs my pores on my face when I use it in my hair! It rubs against my face and causes me to get bumps everywhere. I learned long ago that when used on my face it broke me out and clogged my skin terribly. Now I am religious about reading ingredient labels on everything I use on my face to make sure it's not in there. Anything with coconut oil immediately creates the same reaction. The reason I didn't give this 1 star is that for people who don't get breakouts from it, it is awesome on hair in MODERATION. You can't use a lot or you'll get greasy looking, but if you put a little on your hands and lightly pass it through your hair, it does soften and tame frizzy hair wonderfully. Unfortunately for me, even in my hair it causes me face problems, so I'm out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Adriana265 on 8/25/2010 7:55:00 PM more reviews by Adriana265

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using coconut oil for nearly 4 years now & I don't intend on stopping anytime soon!


The thing I love about it is that it has so many uses!

- Body lotion. It does *not* take that long to absorb. I love using it after I've come out of the shower, slather it all over myself and rub in. I wait to get dressed for about 20 mins so it's completely absorbed. It lleaves my skin so soft, smooth and glowing! Regular body moisturisers moisturise me fine, but they don't leave my skin looking like J-lo's. Well, coconut oil does :] I'm not keen on the smell, but it doesn't linger for long. Oh, and my skin feels moisturized for DAYS on end. I can apply it on a monday and then apply no other body moisturiser until friday and my skin will still feel like silk. I also have those small red spots on my upper arms (KP? I don't remember the name) and after rubbing this on them, they disappear! If I stop using coconut oil they come back.



- Hair treatment. I use this pre-shampoo. I dampen my hands with water and run them through my hair, so my hair gets damp but not soaking wet. I then take some coconut oil, rub it between my hands until it turns to liquid, then spread it through the mid-lengths and ends of my hair. I pop a shower cap on and leave it on for 30 minutes, then wash/condition my hair in the shower as normal .It leaves my hair smooth and silky! I have chemically straightened, dyed hair, so obviously my hair is damaged somewhat. But when I use coconut oil on my hair, it looks frizz-free, no flyaways, soft, some added shine...like healthy hair basically. My hair is also quite more stronger since I started using this, and less prone to serious breakage. Even my hairdresser commented "your hair used to be so BAD...but it's really healthy now!"
NOTE:- I do find that this fades my hair colour faster if I've dyed my hair, which is annoying. And another bit of info; my cousin is a cosmetic scientist & said that if you rub coconut oil into your scalp then leave it on overnight and rinse the next morning, it can help get rid of dandruff because of its antifungal properties (most dandruff is caused by some fungal thing apparently?)...so we both got my mother to try this out as she has had really bad dandruff for the past 10 years or so - after about 4 months her dandruff started clearing!


- Shaving lubricant. On my underarms/legs/bikini line...anywhere! I wet my skin then slather coconut oil over it and voila! Smooth, moisturised hair free skin in an instant and I don't find myself getting ingrown hairs or irritation.


- Pre cleanser. If I ever run out of oil cleanser and can't afford to buy one for another week or two, I just use coconut oil. I heat it up in the microwave for 1 minute, then apply the oil on my face and massage in. It dissolves the makeup and grime from my face. I then follow up with my regular cleanser. It also leaves my face very moisturized and hydrated. I would never use this as a mositurizer on my face though, because I tried it before and it would always break me out (I have normal/combo oily sensitive skin). But as a pre-cleanser, I've had no problems.


Cooking oil - It's also a good replacement for regular cooking oils that you add to food or use to fry stuff with.



Weight loss - There have been several trials that showed coconut oil promotes a reduction in obesity. I replaced any cooking oils or butter with coconut oil and found it was easier to control my weight this way. You can even put it on toast instead of butter.



Sexual/personal lubricant - Coconut oil is really good for dryness in your lady parts, and even better, it has antiviral and antibacterial properties that are very helpful (it can also help prevent yeast infections). As for the sexual lubricant use...well, what can I say without getting too personal haha. It works well. Just make sure you don't use it with latex condoms as it can break the material down.



I would definately recommend coconut oil, it's pretty cheap, natural, and has many uses. Make sure you use EXTRA VIRGIN coconut oil though, and make sure it's in solid form.

31 out of 33 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 emmsbo on 8/1/2010 10:05:00 PM more reviews by emmsbo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I recently retrieved a half jar of this stuff from it's exile under my bathroom sink to use as body lotion (I wrote a separate review for that), and couldn't for the life of me remember why I stopped using it on my hair. So the other day I put it in for two hours, shampooed, styled as usual, and didn't see a problem. So I did the treatment today with a couple of modifications (massaged it into my scalp as well as my hair, left it in for two hours, then blowdried it for a couple of minutes to warm it up before shampoo-and-conditioning it out like normal) and the old trouble presented itself:

My hair looks glossy, frizz-free, strengthened and fortified, and shampoo commercial sexy, BUT it is not easy to curl. Since I standardly like my hair to be in bouncy curly styles, this is an issue; I'm afraid I'll be a greaseball with no style by tomorrow morning. Usually my hair holds a curl quite well, but this stuff makes my hair positively sleek.

That's not a deal-breaker, though; why should it be? For all the other benefits, it's totally worth it to have a day where my hair's a little heavier than I intended. I'm not going to do these two days in a row anymore, however; once a week might even be too often for my particular hairtype.

I'm currently using Nature's Way Extra Virgin Coconut Oil, but I don't think I'll bother about which brand I buy when I run out of this (a million years from now; it lasts FOREVER).


***

EDIT 5.23.11: So guess what? My hair-dryer broke the same week I bought the curly-girl book. Now that I've thrown out the heat tools, the silicones, and the sulfates (co-washing, still looking for the perfect routine, but it definitely involves Garnier Triple Nutrition), coconut oil is back in my regular arsenal. Along with the deep oilings, I like to scrunch a small amount of it through my curls on the second day after the shower -- eliminates the frizz from the humidity, clumps the curls back together, and adds shine. Love it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jenny2011 on 7/29/2010 11:07:00 PM more reviews by jenny2011

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Other    

I bought this to use on my seriously damaged hair. I put a little bit on my hand and rub it into my hair evenly. I use it four times a week. It's been a month. My hair now looks healthy and glowy.

I've been trying all kinds of oil to remove makeup. When my coconut oil first arrived in the mail, it was solid, but it melt during the summer. So I tried using coconut oil to remove my makeup and badly I was so tired and directly went to sleep. However when I woke up in the morning, there was no greasiness, and my skin felt so soft and moisturized. My friend tried this, and she felt the same way.

Plus I love the smell of coconut, makes me feel so summery and relax.

Overall, I love it in every single way...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 CaramelBae on 7/29/2010 9:27:00 PM more reviews by CaramelBae

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I love coconut oil! It is the best oil ever! I use it to moisturize my hair and it works wonderful, it definitely penetrates the hair instead of coating it. The only complaints I have is the packaging, I wish it was in a bottle for easier application, also I can not stand the smell of coconut =/ but overall this is a great product!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 eatmyshort on 7/27/2010 8:47:00 PM more reviews by eatmyshort

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Violet    

I think coconut oil does a great job of keeping dry hair from drying out. however, I am not looking to add oil into my hair. I am looking for moisture (the ability to hold on to water). I want something that'll make my hair feels light and soft. I don't want to look like a grease ball. It might work for some people but for me, it made my scalp break out with painful cysts. My hair was oily and sticking together without end. In the end, I gave up using coconut oil to moisturize my hair. It was attracting all kinds of dirt making me look dirty.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* aharb013 on 7/27/2010 1:07:00 AM more reviews by aharb013

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love using this as a body moisturizer! It is thicker than some other oils I have used to moisturize with, such as olive or grape seed oil, so it seems to moisturize better :) The one I got does not have a smell but apparently you can get some which smells lightly of coconut...mmmmm.

It turns solid in the fridge and is anywhere from almost solid to liquid outside the fridge depending on the temperature in your house. I leave it out and at night when it cools down a bit it is semi-solid, and during the day it is a liquid.

I would also use this on my face if I didn't have so many pimples. Maybe when I'm older!

You should try this stuff!

I have yet to use it as a hair treatment, but I will soon!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* anabolina on 7/27/2010 12:30:00 AM more reviews by anabolina

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Wow, this stuff is really great. I did a color correction on my hair last week followed by Ion 12A with 40 Peroxide and my hair was fairly damaged. I've been trying to control the damage and used grapeseed oil last week and colonut oil last week. I bought mine for $7 at Walmart and the container is huge. I've kept it beside the over for the past 6 months since I got it and so it stays in a partially liquid state. Coconut oil becomes a liquid at 76 degrees. I poured some into a bowl and nuked it for 30 seconds and swirled it around afterward and tested it with my finger. It was the perfect temp, slightly hot but not too hot. Since I needed to clean my kitchen anyway, I applied it at the kitchen sink to dry hair and wraped my hair with a plastic grocery bag. After last week and this week, I'm actually running out of bags, lol. I left it on for more than 2 hours and washed it out with Beyond the Zone Mouisturizing shampoo. The thing is that I only washed it once and toweled it try and went to sleep. Today my hair was awesome, but weighed down. It's weird it was weighed down but also had more movement if that made sense. I washed my hair again tonight with the moisturizeing shampoo and that is rare for me. I wash my hair 3 times a week so its usually every other day, but while my hair was fine for one day, it would be too oily the second day. Note that my hair is not normally oily. I can easily go 4 or more days without washing it if it didn't skeeve me out a bit. If your hair is more prone to oiliness, you'd be better served to shampoo it more to remove the coconut oil.My hair is so soft today and ridiculously shiny. It's definitely in better condition than before I color corrected it. I also liked the grapeseed oil and that wasn't azs intense and would probably be better for a more oily haired person since it washed out with one shampoo without weighing my hair down. I've also used coconut oil as a facial cleanser and it didn't break me out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kristentomlinson on 7/26/2010 5:32:00 PM more reviews by kristentomlinson

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Red, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This made my hair so smooth and shiny. I put it on and left it for two hours. I had to rinse and shampoo my hair twice though to get it all out. I only wash my hair twice a week because it's dyed and this helps keep it healthy and strong! My hairs health has improved so much after using this. I would recommend it it anyone who dyes their hair a lot and needs to improve it's health. It also feels great to give yourself a scalp massage with this wonderful smelling hot oil.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* agibeault on 7/17/2010 1:47:00 PM more reviews by agibeault

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

For hair, this is wonderful. For skin, I don't find it penetrates at all. But this review is for hair. I put a little bit in my hands, rub them together, then rub them through my hair. GREASE CITY - which is why you only want to do this at night and then wash your hair in the morning. It does make the hair nice and soft, and I will keep using it bc its so cheap and long lasting and I flat iron every day.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Hair products