Coconut Oil


186 reviews

91% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$


Cocos Nucifera Oil.

on 12/12/2010 7:34:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Black

I've been using coconut oil on my hair for about 6 years. Love love love it! It really keeps your hair super healthy. I flat iron my hair daily after blowdrying, even with Japanese straightening and my hair is super healthy. I use it about twice a week these days, before shampooing. I love the coconut oil/milk combo in the can you can purchase at Whole Foods. It's easier to wash out this way.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

on 11/19/2010 9:34:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

After reading rave reviews of Coconut Oil, I bought some today. I paid about $10 for a jar approx 500g.

I have thick, wavy, coarse, dry, dark brown eurasian hair. I bleached it approximately August 2008 and then dyed it dark until about January 2009 since then I have let it grow out.

My hair is terribly dehydrated. The last time I went to the hairdresser she could not believe how dry it is and kept saying "it's so dry!". It's a pretty sad state of affairs.

My hair does not handle leave in products very well as they build up in my hair and do not absorb. I have been looking for a good leave in product or treatment or anything that can help my hair for sometime.

I have used CO once and put it on my dry, unwashed hair. Then I put my hair in pig tails and left it for a few hours. I have now washed my hair (with my normal shampoo and conditioner) and cannot believe how shiny my hair is.

The ends (which still have some bleach / colour in it) were still pretty dry, but the "virgin" hair is soft and silky.

Also, I do not have the normal flyaways and frizz that I usually get after washing. I have put a tiny amount in the ends of my hair now that it is dry as a "serum". I will update again as I use it more often, but so far after one wash I am very pleased with the results.

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

on 11/6/2010 11:47:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I LOVE COCONUT OIL! I initially purchased a jar from GNC because I was having major overprocessing/shedding/breakage issues from relaxing my hair. I visited a cheaper hairdresser JUST ONCE and boy did I pay for it! Anyway, I couldn't tell if my hair was shedding, or breaking near the root where the relaxer was applied. So I read somewhere that massaging coconut oil into your scalp at night works wonders. I did that for a while and noticed a huge difference. I then started applying it to my hair (focusing on the ends) whenever I wore my hair up in a bun or ponytail. It worked wonderfully! So I took it a step even further, and whenever I deep condition my hair, I first apply coconut oil to my wet hair and scalp, then a deep moisturing conditioner (such as elucence or hair mayo) and sit under the dryer for about 20 minutes. I do this about 1x a week and my hair is AWESOME! Also, I started taking Biotin 5000 mcg, which has helped my hair grow soooo much.

Note: I read somewhere that in order for coconut oil to be effective on the hair and enter the hair shaft (and not just coat it), it should be applied to wet/damp hair. Not sure if that's true, but that's what i heard!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

on 11/5/2010 12:45:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I love love love using coconut oil on my hair! About 2-3 times a week, I'll apply a small amount (about 2 fingernails) to the ends. I then bun or braid my hair and leave it in overnight. The key to getting ANY oil out of hair is conditioner. I CO-wash exclusively, but I'm sure that using any non-cone conditioner after shampooing would be sufficient as well.I also put about one fingernail size to the ends before blow drying (on medium heat) and end up with soft, shiny hair all day.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

on 9/19/2010 6:53:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Olive, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I use this once a week, by tying my hair up and just rubbing the oil into the ponytail (totally avoiding my scalp and roots). Then I comb it through with a wide tooth comb, plait loosely and leave it in overnight. In the morning I shampoo my hair as normal at the roots, and give my hair a really, really good rinse out. Once my hair is dry it looks shiny, healthy, is easy to run a comb through, and doesn't feel heavy at all. In the beginning I was shocked at how pretty my hair could look!

The only issues I've come across is that I have stick straight, long fine hair, and if I curl it (which is normally once a week) the curl is not holding at all, and also dirt and dust seem to be attracted to my hair now. Apart from that, coconut oil is wonderful. I use the Cerebos Extra Virgin coconut oil, if this makes a difference.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

on 9/15/2010 11:56:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I've tried all kinds of high-end conditioners, oils and natural products, and this is hands-down the best thing I've put in my hair. I put it on wet or dry hair for an hour, apply some heat, then shampoo it out and condition my hair normally. I wake up with my hair at its softest, shinest and most moisturized.

It isn't a perfect process. It's messy to apply from the jar when it's liquid, and it's difficult to shampoo it all out. Plus, I find the effects largely only last till the next shampoo. But nothing can do a miracle for hair...and this is still far by the most effective product I've found.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

on 9/4/2010 11:21:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

great treatment i use once or twice a week on my hair. adds shine, manageability, and softens my parched hair :) i leave this on for about an hour, then shampoo and condition as normal.
just take care not to apply too much, primarily from the shaft-down and focusing on the ends; avoiding the roots altogether. be sure to spend an extra few minutes washing this out, longer than you really think you need. cheap and effective. loads of other health benefits and uses also..

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

on 8/26/2010 12:17:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I wanted to give this one star because it clogs my pores so badly that it even clogs my pores on my face when I use it in my hair! It rubs against my face and causes me to get bumps everywhere. I learned long ago that when used on my face it broke me out and clogged my skin terribly. Now I am religious about reading ingredient labels on everything I use on my face to make sure it's not in there. Anything with coconut oil immediately creates the same reaction. The reason I didn't give this 1 star is that for people who don't get breakouts from it, it is awesome on hair in MODERATION. You can't use a lot or you'll get greasy looking, but if you put a little on your hands and lightly pass it through your hair, it does soften and tame frizzy hair wonderfully. Unfortunately for me, even in my hair it causes me face problems, so I'm out.

on 8/25/2010 7:55:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I've been using coconut oil for nearly 4 years now & I don't intend on stopping anytime soon!

The thing I love about it is that it has so many uses!

- Body lotion. It does *not* take that long to absorb. I love using it after I've come out of the shower, slather it all over myself and rub in. I wait to get dressed for about 20 mins so it's completely absorbed. It lleaves my skin so soft, smooth and glowing! Regular body moisturisers moisturise me fine, but they don't leave my skin looking like J-lo's. Well, coconut oil does :] I'm not keen on the smell, but it doesn't linger for long. Oh, and my skin feels moisturized for DAYS on end. I can apply it on a monday and then apply no other body moisturiser until friday and my skin will still feel like silk. I also have those small red spots on my upper arms (KP? I don't remember the name) and after rubbing this on them, they disappear! If I stop using coconut oil they come back.

- Hair treatment. I use this pre-shampoo. I dampen my hands with water and run them through my hair, so my hair gets damp but not soaking wet. I then take some coconut oil, rub it between my hands until it turns to liquid, then spread it through the mid-lengths and ends of my hair. I pop a shower cap on and leave it on for 30 minutes, then wash/condition my hair in the shower as normal .It leaves my hair smooth and silky! I have chemically straightened, dyed hair, so obviously my hair is damaged somewhat. But when I use coconut oil on my hair, it looks frizz-free, no flyaways, soft, some added healthy hair basically. My hair is also quite more stronger since I started using this, and less prone to serious breakage. Even my hairdresser commented "your hair used to be so BAD...but it's really healthy now!"
NOTE:- I do find that this fades my hair colour faster if I've dyed my hair, which is annoying. And another bit of info; my cousin is a cosmetic scientist & said that if you rub coconut oil into your scalp then leave it on overnight and rinse the next morning, it can help get rid of dandruff because of its antifungal properties (most dandruff is caused by some fungal thing apparently?) we both got my mother to try this out as she has had really bad dandruff for the past 10 years or so - after about 4 months her dandruff started clearing!

- Shaving lubricant. On my underarms/legs/bikini line...anywhere! I wet my skin then slather coconut oil over it and voila! Smooth, moisturised hair free skin in an instant and I don't find myself getting ingrown hairs or irritation.

- Pre cleanser. If I ever run out of oil cleanser and can't afford to buy one for another week or two, I just use coconut oil. I heat it up in the microwave for 1 minute, then apply the oil on my face and massage in. It dissolves the makeup and grime from my face. I then follow up with my regular cleanser. It also leaves my face very moisturized and hydrated. I would never use this as a mositurizer on my face though, because I tried it before and it would always break me out (I have normal/combo oily sensitive skin). But as a pre-cleanser, I've had no problems.

Cooking oil - It's also a good replacement for regular cooking oils that you add to food or use to fry stuff with.

Weight loss - There have been several trials that showed coconut oil promotes a reduction in obesity. I replaced any cooking oils or butter with coconut oil and found it was easier to control my weight this way. You can even put it on toast instead of butter.

Sexual/personal lubricant - Coconut oil is really good for dryness in your lady parts, and even better, it has antiviral and antibacterial properties that are very helpful (it can also help prevent yeast infections). As for the sexual lubricant use...well, what can I say without getting too personal haha. It works well. Just make sure you don't use it with latex condoms as it can break the material down.

I would definately recommend coconut oil, it's pretty cheap, natural, and has many uses. Make sure you use EXTRA VIRGIN coconut oil though, and make sure it's in solid form.

33 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

on 8/1/2010 10:05:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I recently retrieved a half jar of this stuff from it's exile under my bathroom sink to use as body lotion (I wrote a separate review for that), and couldn't for the life of me remember why I stopped using it on my hair. So the other day I put it in for two hours, shampooed, styled as usual, and didn't see a problem. So I did the treatment today with a couple of modifications (massaged it into my scalp as well as my hair, left it in for two hours, then blowdried it for a couple of minutes to warm it up before shampoo-and-conditioning it out like normal) and the old trouble presented itself:

My hair looks glossy, frizz-free, strengthened and fortified, and shampoo commercial sexy, BUT it is not easy to curl. Since I standardly like my hair to be in bouncy curly styles, this is an issue; I'm afraid I'll be a greaseball with no style by tomorrow morning. Usually my hair holds a curl quite well, but this stuff makes my hair positively sleek.

That's not a deal-breaker, though; why should it be? For all the other benefits, it's totally worth it to have a day where my hair's a little heavier than I intended. I'm not going to do these two days in a row anymore, however; once a week might even be too often for my particular hairtype.

I'm currently using Nature's Way Extra Virgin Coconut Oil, but I don't think I'll bother about which brand I buy when I run out of this (a million years from now; it lasts FOREVER).


EDIT 5.23.11: So guess what? My hair-dryer broke the same week I bought the curly-girl book. Now that I've thrown out the heat tools, the silicones, and the sulfates (co-washing, still looking for the perfect routine, but it definitely involves Garnier Triple Nutrition), coconut oil is back in my regular arsenal. Along with the deep oilings, I like to scrunch a small amount of it through my curls on the second day after the shower -- eliminates the frizz from the humidity, clumps the curls back together, and adds shine. Love it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Back to Top