Unlisted Brand • Coconut Oil • Hair

rated 4.5(171 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.91%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* agibeault on 7/17/2010 1:47:00 PM more reviews by agibeault

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

For hair, this is wonderful. For skin, I don't find it penetrates at all. But this review is for hair. I put a little bit in my hands, rub them together, then rub them through my hair. GREASE CITY - which is why you only want to do this at night and then wash your hair in the morning. It does make the hair nice and soft, and I will keep using it bc its so cheap and long lasting and I flat iron every day.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* KatieRoxx on 7/10/2010 4:31:00 PM more reviews by KatieRoxx

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Went to Whole Foods and bought Nature's Way Efa Gold 100% Pure Virgin Organic Coconut Oil to use as a pre-shampoo treatment. Followed directions on label and have left in for at least 2 hours prior to shampooing. It does melt easily between hands. It helps a little with dryness, but I don't think this is a miracle worker. I do color my hair, but only about every 3-4 months. For the amount you get in a jar and the relatively low cost, it certainly was worth a try. I would have liked to use this as a leave-in conditioner as well as a treatment, but I find even using a very small amount, it just makes my hair look incredibly greasy so there ain't no way I'm walking out the front door with this stuff as a leave-in! My friend also used this product in her hair to try and combat some dryness and frizzies, but had similar results to mine. Helped a little, but just not an HG product for either of us. Am going to try using this on my nails and cuticles to see if it works better there to moisturize.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 amomentwhite on 7/10/2010 5:36:00 AM more reviews by amomentwhite

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

5 Lippies for this Holy Grail hair product. Picked it up from my local Health Beat (in Australia) for $9.95 for a huge bottle of the stuff. I just scoup some out of the bottle and rub it between my palms to liquify and rub into the dry ends of my highlighted hair and leave overnight. This is the only treatment I have ever used that truely soaks into your hair and doesn't just coat the surface. When I'm feeling extra inspired I will blowdry my hair after applying to oil so that it really sinks in good. Absolutely amazed with the results of this product. I am trying to grow out my shoulder lenght hair and with this product I feel my hair is healthy and protected. Just make sure you shampoo twice after applying and if you are going to use it to massage your scalp try not to use too much, just what is left on your fingers after applying to the ends will do the trick. Will never stop using this amazing and inexpensive treatment, nothing compares! If you don't have some, go get it - you will not regret it.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 martixbennett on 7/1/2010 2:25:00 AM more reviews by martixbennett

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I have been using this for the past two weeks, and I don't know what I did without it! My hair is fine, but I have a lot of it, it's also been bleached a ridiculous amount of times... my breakage was terrible. I have been using K-Pak treatments for years now, and I love them... they work... but I've been looking for something different (and cheaper). I have been putting this in my hair almost everyday for two weeks, either leaving it in over night if I plan on showering in the morning, or just an hour or so before showering if I do it at night. I use quite a bit, because I have so much hair and it is so damaged... and it smells so good I keep adding more. I was worried I was going to have to clarify a dozen times to get this out, but I just used my regular shampoo and conditioner (Redken Extreme) and it came out fine. No greasiness, and my hair isn't weighed down... my hair is softer, shinier, and breaks less! Wonderful product.
I have also been using this as a body moisturizer, and on my face at night only. After it absorbs it actually has a really nice finish, not greasy or shiny... just a nice sheen, it's just not practical for me to use in the morning and wait for it it dry before my makeup. I haven't broken out, and I've actually noticed less breakouts, less flaking and my skin feels amazing, of course. You really can't go wrong with this product! I got Nutiva Extra Virgin Coconut Oil at my local super store for about $18... it'll last for a long time, and has so many uses I will definitely buy this again and again!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Morganna777 on 6/28/2010 4:16:00 PM more reviews by Morganna777

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Other    

I have tried this and Emu oil works much better for hair and is known to penetrate deeper than coconut,deeper than ANY OIL.
BTW Beauty Brains is not an objective website , its is one of the worst websites to go to if you want unbiased information.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* frostythesnowman81 on 6/28/2010 4:06:00 PM more reviews by frostythesnowman81

Age: Unknown   Skin: Normal, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Pros:
All natural
Scientifically backed-up
Cons:
Messy

Bottom line:
http://thebeautybrains.com/2006/07/08/beauty-q-a-is-oil-good-for-your-hair/ The site above talks about how coconut oil is one of the best oils for your hair as it actually penetrates the hair shaft.

Recommended: Yes

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 asunta on 6/22/2010 9:14:00 PM more reviews by asunta

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

What is all the hype and good ratings with this for oil? have tried using before shampoo, after shampoo, as a conditioner, as a facial, as a moisturizer. I dont see or feel any difference as a skin care product, but as a hair treatment, yuck and sticky and greasy and gross. My hair was more oily than when i was in grade school . No thanks. I will try a drugstore leave in hair treatment instead! Sorry ladies, Im glad it worked wonders for all of you, hopefully i find a miracle product of my own. :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* XoXoSinCity on 5/25/2010 4:43:00 AM more reviews by XoXoSinCity

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I am absolutely in love with coconut oil for my hair. I have spent so many years being a hair products junkie from shampoos to masks to styling products and spending god knows how much money with no impressive results trying to tame my naturally wavy fine (but alooot of it) frizzy and pouffy hair. I also tried all the natural oils as they have soe many raves on mua (ie. castor, etc) and they were all horribly sticky, messy, and a nightmare to wash out. I really had given up on finding ideal hair products until a great stylist on here recommended I use coconut oil as a pre-shampoo treatment as it apparently really penetrates the hair to truly moisturize and balance, yet doesn't weigh your hair down which is a huge must for me. My hair has seen such a difference using this once a week. I bought the Nutiva Organic Unrefined VIrgin Coconut Oil as Whole Foods which honestly is the best there is not only for my hair but also for cooking as it jsut contains so many healthy fasts and vitamins. The jar really will last me forever as it goes such a long way. After I realized how well coconut oil works on my hair I also started using the Bumble & Bumble Creme de Coco Shampoo/Masque after I found out they were coconut oil based and WOW to say the least as to how for the first time ever my hair feels strong, shiny, smooth, and jsut smells amazing all before I even use styling products and heat tools. For my formally pain in the butt frizzy and pouffy waves that is incredible. Don't hesitate try this as I only wish I had even thought of it years ago! :)

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bsteves06 on 5/25/2010 3:26:00 AM more reviews by bsteves06

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

For reference my hair is fine, but there is a lot of it, and it's dry, and prone to split ends. it's also past my shoulders. I wash, deep condition, blow dry and straighten every 3 days.

I've been using this on my hair for a few weeks, and I've noticed a big difference. I leave the jar in my bathroom so it is soft, soemtimes it's pure oil, completly melted. I put a dab on the ends of my hair, maybe a bit more from my chin down. I usually do this the night before I wash my hair.

Wash and deep condition as usual. Then after I've towel dried a bit, and gently combed my hair, I take a tiny bit, and use it as a leave in ocnditioner. Just in my hair from my chin down. Don't use to much of this or your hair will be stringy. Then I use my normal Pantene straightening cream,a nd blowdry and flat iron.

I usually use Biosilk therapy, but this is even better! My hair is much softer. haven't had the nerve to try it on my skin yet. I've used it under my eyes, and on my lips, but I broke out. Could have been from something else though. maybe after I get my skin under control i willl try again.

i bought a good size jar of normal coconut oil, not organic or refined or anything, for about $4 canadian in the ethnic foods section at Metro.

Love it so far, and will continue to buy :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Fyankevich on 5/25/2010 2:59:00 AM more reviews by Fyankevich

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I read about the miracle of coconut oil on the Long Hair Community's Mane Forum, and I just had to try it for myself. This is great for smoothing down frizzies and adding shine. Just a small dab is enough. I usually add a small amount to the ends of my hair. For deeper conditioning, add a bunch to the ends before shampooing. You don't want to saturate your hair in this stuff before going out in public or you'll look like a grease ball. Again, just a little dab melted in between your palms, and rubbed onto the hair is perfect. I also use the coconut oil as a skin moisturizer. This stuff is awesome!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Hair products