Unlisted Brand • Coconut Oil • Hair

rated 4.5(174 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.91%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* aharb013 on 7/27/2010 1:07:00 AM more reviews by aharb013

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love using this as a body moisturizer! It is thicker than some other oils I have used to moisturize with, such as olive or grape seed oil, so it seems to moisturize better :) The one I got does not have a smell but apparently you can get some which smells lightly of coconut...mmmmm.

It turns solid in the fridge and is anywhere from almost solid to liquid outside the fridge depending on the temperature in your house. I leave it out and at night when it cools down a bit it is semi-solid, and during the day it is a liquid.

I would also use this on my face if I didn't have so many pimples. Maybe when I'm older!

You should try this stuff!

I have yet to use it as a hair treatment, but I will soon!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* anabolina on 7/27/2010 12:30:00 AM more reviews by anabolina

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Wow, this stuff is really great. I did a color correction on my hair last week followed by Ion 12A with 40 Peroxide and my hair was fairly damaged. I've been trying to control the damage and used grapeseed oil last week and colonut oil last week. I bought mine for $7 at Walmart and the container is huge. I've kept it beside the over for the past 6 months since I got it and so it stays in a partially liquid state. Coconut oil becomes a liquid at 76 degrees. I poured some into a bowl and nuked it for 30 seconds and swirled it around afterward and tested it with my finger. It was the perfect temp, slightly hot but not too hot. Since I needed to clean my kitchen anyway, I applied it at the kitchen sink to dry hair and wraped my hair with a plastic grocery bag. After last week and this week, I'm actually running out of bags, lol. I left it on for more than 2 hours and washed it out with Beyond the Zone Mouisturizing shampoo. The thing is that I only washed it once and toweled it try and went to sleep. Today my hair was awesome, but weighed down. It's weird it was weighed down but also had more movement if that made sense. I washed my hair again tonight with the moisturizeing shampoo and that is rare for me. I wash my hair 3 times a week so its usually every other day, but while my hair was fine for one day, it would be too oily the second day. Note that my hair is not normally oily. I can easily go 4 or more days without washing it if it didn't skeeve me out a bit. If your hair is more prone to oiliness, you'd be better served to shampoo it more to remove the coconut oil.My hair is so soft today and ridiculously shiny. It's definitely in better condition than before I color corrected it. I also liked the grapeseed oil and that wasn't azs intense and would probably be better for a more oily haired person since it washed out with one shampoo without weighing my hair down. I've also used coconut oil as a facial cleanser and it didn't break me out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kristentomlinson on 7/26/2010 5:32:00 PM more reviews by kristentomlinson

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Red, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This made my hair so smooth and shiny. I put it on and left it for two hours. I had to rinse and shampoo my hair twice though to get it all out. I only wash my hair twice a week because it's dyed and this helps keep it healthy and strong! My hairs health has improved so much after using this. I would recommend it it anyone who dyes their hair a lot and needs to improve it's health. It also feels great to give yourself a scalp massage with this wonderful smelling hot oil.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* agibeault on 7/17/2010 1:47:00 PM more reviews by agibeault

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

For hair, this is wonderful. For skin, I don't find it penetrates at all. But this review is for hair. I put a little bit in my hands, rub them together, then rub them through my hair. GREASE CITY - which is why you only want to do this at night and then wash your hair in the morning. It does make the hair nice and soft, and I will keep using it bc its so cheap and long lasting and I flat iron every day.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* KatieRoxx on 7/10/2010 4:31:00 PM more reviews by KatieRoxx

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Went to Whole Foods and bought Nature's Way Efa Gold 100% Pure Virgin Organic Coconut Oil to use as a pre-shampoo treatment. Followed directions on label and have left in for at least 2 hours prior to shampooing. It does melt easily between hands. It helps a little with dryness, but I don't think this is a miracle worker. I do color my hair, but only about every 3-4 months. For the amount you get in a jar and the relatively low cost, it certainly was worth a try. I would have liked to use this as a leave-in conditioner as well as a treatment, but I find even using a very small amount, it just makes my hair look incredibly greasy so there ain't no way I'm walking out the front door with this stuff as a leave-in! My friend also used this product in her hair to try and combat some dryness and frizzies, but had similar results to mine. Helped a little, but just not an HG product for either of us. Am going to try using this on my nails and cuticles to see if it works better there to moisturize.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 amomentwhite on 7/10/2010 5:36:00 AM more reviews by amomentwhite

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

5 Lippies for this Holy Grail hair product. Picked it up from my local Health Beat (in Australia) for $9.95 for a huge bottle of the stuff. I just scoup some out of the bottle and rub it between my palms to liquify and rub into the dry ends of my highlighted hair and leave overnight. This is the only treatment I have ever used that truely soaks into your hair and doesn't just coat the surface. When I'm feeling extra inspired I will blowdry my hair after applying to oil so that it really sinks in good. Absolutely amazed with the results of this product. I am trying to grow out my shoulder lenght hair and with this product I feel my hair is healthy and protected. Just make sure you shampoo twice after applying and if you are going to use it to massage your scalp try not to use too much, just what is left on your fingers after applying to the ends will do the trick. Will never stop using this amazing and inexpensive treatment, nothing compares! If you don't have some, go get it - you will not regret it.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 martixbennett on 7/1/2010 2:25:00 AM more reviews by martixbennett

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I have been using this for the past two weeks, and I don't know what I did without it! My hair is fine, but I have a lot of it, it's also been bleached a ridiculous amount of times... my breakage was terrible. I have been using K-Pak treatments for years now, and I love them... they work... but I've been looking for something different (and cheaper). I have been putting this in my hair almost everyday for two weeks, either leaving it in over night if I plan on showering in the morning, or just an hour or so before showering if I do it at night. I use quite a bit, because I have so much hair and it is so damaged... and it smells so good I keep adding more. I was worried I was going to have to clarify a dozen times to get this out, but I just used my regular shampoo and conditioner (Redken Extreme) and it came out fine. No greasiness, and my hair isn't weighed down... my hair is softer, shinier, and breaks less! Wonderful product.
I have also been using this as a body moisturizer, and on my face at night only. After it absorbs it actually has a really nice finish, not greasy or shiny... just a nice sheen, it's just not practical for me to use in the morning and wait for it it dry before my makeup. I haven't broken out, and I've actually noticed less breakouts, less flaking and my skin feels amazing, of course. You really can't go wrong with this product! I got Nutiva Extra Virgin Coconut Oil at my local super store for about $18... it'll last for a long time, and has so many uses I will definitely buy this again and again!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Morganna777 on 6/28/2010 4:16:00 PM more reviews by Morganna777

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Other    

I have tried this and Emu oil works much better for hair and is known to penetrate deeper than coconut,deeper than ANY OIL.
BTW Beauty Brains is not an objective website , its is one of the worst websites to go to if you want unbiased information.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* frostythesnowman81 on 6/28/2010 4:06:00 PM more reviews by frostythesnowman81

Age: Unknown   Skin: Normal, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Pros:
All natural
Scientifically backed-up
Cons:
Messy

Bottom line:
http://thebeautybrains.com/2006/07/08/beauty-q-a-is-oil-good-for-your-hair/ The site above talks about how coconut oil is one of the best oils for your hair as it actually penetrates the hair shaft.

Recommended: Yes

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 asunta on 6/22/2010 9:14:00 PM more reviews by asunta

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

What is all the hype and good ratings with this for oil? have tried using before shampoo, after shampoo, as a conditioner, as a facial, as a moisturizer. I dont see or feel any difference as a skin care product, but as a hair treatment, yuck and sticky and greasy and gross. My hair was more oily than when i was in grade school . No thanks. I will try a drugstore leave in hair treatment instead! Sorry ladies, Im glad it worked wonders for all of you, hopefully i find a miracle product of my own. :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Hair products