Joico Moisture Recovery Treatment Balm for Thick or Coarse Hair

4.4

80 reviews

85% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water (Aqua/EAU), Butylene Glycol, Dimethicone, Sorbitol, Behenyl Alcohol, Stearyl Alcohol, Behentrimonium Chloride, Cetyl Alcohol, Glyceryl Oleate, Fragrance/Parfum, Pentapeptide-29 Cysteinamide, Pentapeptide-30 Cysteinamide, Tetrapeptide-28 Argininamide, Tetrapeptide-29 Argininamide, Hydrolysed Keratin, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter), Olea Europaea (Olive) Fruit Oil, Hydrogenated Olive Oil, Astrocaryum Murumuru Seed Butter, Hydrolysed Algin, Sea Water/Maris Aqua/EAU De Mer, Clorella Vulgaris Extract, Isopropyl Alcohol, Phenoxyethanol, Aminopropyl Dimethcone, Glutamic Acid, Stearyl Dihydropropyldimonium, Oligosaccharides, Octyldodecanol, Steartrimonium Chloride, Arginine, Propylene Glycol, PEG-6 Methyl Ether Dimethicone, PEG-90M, Glycerin, Limonene, Benzyl Benzoate, Orange 4 (CI15510), Yellow 5 (CI19140).


on 4/6/2008 3:22:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This balm is very creamy, thick, and heavy indeed! My hair right now is completely damaged after bleaching black hair dye out of my hair to the point where it's melted away and is breaking like crazy. I'm trying to salvage what I can without cutting it all off :( I used Moisture Recovery too deep condition after a protein treatment. It's worked wonderfully. My hair feels 100% times better and more managable. It felt like straw and stiff before using Kpak and Moisture Recovery. If your looking for a heavy duty moisturizing treatment after a protein treatment...this is great!!!!!! I also use it with heat to get maximum moisture. I got it at Ulta. A little goes a long way! I'm sure over time it will build up, but it's very gentle and moisturizing!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 3/28/2008 7:28:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Green

It's very hard to find hair treatments that are just moisturizing. That said, it's also hard to find hair products that don't have a strong scent. But this product is a winner in both of those aspects. It provides intense moisture to my hair leaving it extremely soft and less frizzy. The scent is also very fresh and clean, I just love it! This one's a keeper.


on 10/10/2007 1:31:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I bought this based on MUA recs and am very happy to report I was steered in the right direction. My hair is thick, coarse and curly. I heatstyle everyday: blowdryer and flat-iron - EVERYDAY. While my hair is in great shape I know it needs something extra every once in a while. Hence the Moisture Recovery. I use this 3-4x a week and those are my best hair days. My hair is soft, shiny and silky. It looks incredibly healthy. It cost me about $21CDN and it is really worth it. I use a twoonie-sized amount, massage it in until I'm ready to end my shower and then rinse it out. Moisture Recovery is right up there with Biolage's Hydrating Balm and Wella's Power Mask - two other products I adore.


on 10/7/2007 1:21:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

This is probably the best conditioner I have ever used. I was previously using Biolage Conditioning Balm and have tried the Aussie 3-minute conditioner and tons of other conditioners to help my over-processed, dry, naturally wavy, poufy and frizzy hair. Nothing has worked as well as this product. I notice that my hair doesn't frizz and pouf as bad as before and it is much more manageable and shiny. I really love this product!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 9/26/2007 12:30:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

oh why didn't i find this product before i went out and spent tons of money on redken all soft heavy cream, matrix biolage hydrating balm, and joico k pak deep conditioner?


i find that is product does exactly what i want it do to. It's thick, spreads easily, coats my hair, helps me detangle my big, unruly, curly mop, and leaves my hair noticeably more manageable when dry. Also, the smell is divine.


However, let's talk price ladies. This is brutally expensive for me - I 'm a firm believer in the fact that 80% of the price we pay goes for packaging, advertisement, and branding (or brand whoring, as i like to call it). Anyhow, if i find another great deal on ebay, $5.00US for a tube) i would definitely purchase it again. If not, I'll happily stick with my Aussie 3 minute miracle - $3.00 CAN a bottle, and, for me, it works just as well. It also puts redken's all soft heavy cream to shame...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/24/2007 4:02:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Great product! I use this in between protein treatments on my coarse, dry, wavy hair, and it leaves it soft, manageable, and full of (controlled) body. Smells fantastic, too!


on 5/24/2007 12:44:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Wonderful, wonderful stuff!

I am overjoyed to have found this because I've been actively seeking an alternative to TIGI S Factor Serious Conditioner (good, but seriously expensive) that would not break the bank.

This took my dry, poofy, crinkly 4A hair and made it super-soft.

It is full of wonderful oils, which my hair likes. However, if your hair is oily, you may want to proceed with caution.

If you are hesitant about picking up a full size tube, you may wish to try the trial size. That's what I've done. The size is decent, 1.7 ounces. As one of the previous posters mentioned, a little goes a long way, so it will last you a while.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 4/14/2007 5:56:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm

Hair: Brown, Kinky, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I really love this treatment. I always use it after a protein treatment as a deep conditioner. It's really thick, so you don't need much, even for thick hair. It leaves my hair soft and detangled, which is an added plus.
Will definitely repurchase.
UPDATE: I still use is product regularly. It's the only conditioner I use on my hair when it's out of braids. I will continue to repurchase.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 1/15/2007 3:32:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This product made me love my hair again. It transformed my dry, frizzy hair into soft curls. It's definitely on my "must have" list.


on 12/17/2006 9:30:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

My hair isnít thick or coarse but Iíve often found treatments designed for such hair help put moisture and weight into my very fine but very frizz-prone long mane. This is a very thick balm that shouldnít be put near roots. On the lengths and ends, however, it works well to hydrate, smooth and soften my hair. The fragrance is wonderfully strong and lingers all day, which is nice. Itís perhaps the best smelling range of hair products Iíve ever used. Joico has impressed me with this new range.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top