Neutrogena • Shine Control Makeup • Liquid

rated 2.5(92 reviews)

Average Rating.2.5
Would buy this product again.30%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 xjiyoungg on 8/24/2012 6:15:00 PM more reviews by xjiyoungg

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I don't know why there are so many bad reviews. I think this product works very well. I have an oily/combo skin and I am prone to acne and this is by far the best foundation I've used. Before this, I used the neutrogena healthy skin foundation and it is better in that my skin isn't as oily as it used to be and it has a matte finish. I am korean and I have a light skin. I used quite a bit of money trying to find the right shade for me from neutrogena. I knew that neutrogena's foundation was the foundation that I wanted to stick to so I invested some money to find the perfect shade for me. I tried natural beige but it was too dark, next I used nude which I thought was okay but found out that it looks really dark when I'm standing in direct sunlight. Next, I used the natural ivory color which was pretty good, but since I tried a lot of the colors anyway, I went on to try the classic ivory. Honestly, I thought my skin would be right for classic ivory because of my yellow undertone, but it turned out that it was too white. That was a big shock. I am currently using natural ivory. I hope this is helpful for light skinned asians.

[Edit]
For about a few months now, I have been using Revlon Colorstay makeup. It probably isn't as healthy has this one, but it does have a staying power on my extremely oily skin. I guess that is what won me over. ><

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 smoorz4318 on 8/13/2012 2:04:00 PM more reviews by smoorz4318

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I bought this product because I need as much help as I can get when it comes to oil control. However, I found that this actually created more oil and that I need to blot several times around my nose and forehead (the main areas where I get oily). The packaging is similar to many foundations, where you have to pour it out. The product is thicker than the healthy skin foundation, so it is easier to control the amount you want. Also, the coverage is about sheer-medium to medium. I also found it really expensive, but hey, that neutrogena for you. All in all, I wouldn't recommend this product to anyone who suffers from really oily skin, but it might work for people with combo skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 4eyes on 8/8/2012 1:19:00 PM more reviews by 4eyes

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I have oily skin that produces an incredible volume of oil all day. My skin just pumps the stuff out, non-stop, so I am always shiny and blotting my face. I usually use Revlon PhotoReady, but saw this in Target and thought, what the heck, I'll give it a try. I think it was about $13.

When I got it home and opened it, I was horrified to discover that there was no seal inside. So, no box, and no seal outside or inside the very basic glass bottle w/ screw-top lid. I had visions of kids running up and down the aisles, picking their noses and touching the bottles, or worse, sticking their fingers in the bottles for a good laugh.

I've seen grown women opening containers and sampling non-sample mu, so my visions are not such a stretch. I e-mailed Neutrogena and, typically, got no response at all. Their packaging for liquid mu sucks in general, and they don't seem to care that a lot of people prefer pumps or squeeze tubes to a messy, splatter inducing glass bottle, or that they don't make their pkg at least tamper resistant. While a lot of other mu cos have moved on to 21st technology in pkging, Neutrogena has not.

However, some of their formulations are good, so after about a week of debating whether to try the bottle or return it, we had a really hot and humid day and I decided to try it. I have since used it for probably 20 days, not all in a row.

The color, Natural Beige 60 was a very good match for my medium pale, yellowish skin. The consistency was a thick and gloopy gel. It smells like paint, and there are lots of little gritty particles in it, which I assume is the rice protein designed to soak up oil. It's not that easy to spread evenly and it dries fairly fast, so I have to work fast and blend the edges before it dries.

It does sting if I've been using a lot of acne txs, but did not cause redness. Actually, I had to wash it off once because of the stinging. If left on, it might've caused redness. The coverage is not as good as the Revlon PhotoReady, which has a thinner consistency but better coverage and better pkging (pump bottle). I'd say the coverage is less than Revlon PhotoReady and MUCH less than EL Maximum Cover but a little more than Clinique Even Better or Neutrogena Skin Clearing liquid fndtn. It was more matte than the Revlon Photoready, but not by a huge margin.

If I apply it over LRP Anthelios XL 50 Fluide Extreme, it seems to ball up and come off of every surface EXCEPT the depression of each pore, which is NOT a great look at all. I don't need more dots on my face.

Overall, I might buy again but only if I couldn't get Revlon Photoready. It's also probably too drying for winter. It's not horrible, but the 19th century pkging and the slight burning effect are turn-offs.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 bohodo on 8/6/2012 1:42:00 PM more reviews by bohodo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Update/edit: I originally had a decent review on this product, but it made me break out. This was the only thing I changed in my makeup routine, so I assume it had to be the culprit. Sorry Neutrogena :/

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Baiju on 8/5/2012 10:39:00 PM more reviews by Baiju

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Medium coverage. Matte makeup, not much oil-control, and sort of hard to blend evenly. Pools into my pores. There are many better makeups than this one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 blueflamingo on 8/2/2012 7:00:00 AM more reviews by blueflamingo

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This foundation actually works for me. I tried it originally from a sample. First sample was gritty, second wasn't. I'm guessing there's some kind of rice powder or such? Didn't read the ingredients. Using a foundation brush, I don't feel it anyway. I don't find it settles into fine lines or pores, and the coverage is better than most and buildable. I wish it had more staying power, since foundation with an SPF20 would seem to be something designed for summer type weather (live in hot, humid Florida). The big bummer of this foundation is the bottle. Neutrogena design people, what were you thinking? The bottle opening is smaller than Colorstay, and at least the bottle I bought doesn't flow, so I have to use a qtip to get it out. That's going to mean a lot of waste at the bottom of the bottle. That alone might make it something I wouldn't repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* princess101 on 7/24/2012 9:57:00 PM more reviews by princess101

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I purchased this product while on a trip to the US (from Canada) as we don't have Neutrogena cosmetics available in our drugstore/mass grocery stores. I didn't read any reviews prior to purchasing this and am glad I didn't, as I know I would've skipped buying this.

For me, I feel like this is a lighter version of Revlon's Colorstay liquid foundation. It has the oil control capabilities that Colorstay provides, but without the heavy, mask-like finish. I apply this with a beauty blender and while I do have to work in sections, as this dries fairly quickly, the finish is what I would describe as satin-matte. It does not have a sheen, but is not flat looking as Colorstay can be.

I did not notice any of the fine grains while using the beauty blender, but did notice them when applying with my fingers. After applying with my fingers, I let the foundation dry and once I set with powder the small granules were gone---presumably brushed off by my powder brush.

The staying power is fantastic, as it lasted a full 12 hours with only a blot on my nose about 8 hours in. Even then, the foundation did not seperate or look shiny, but rather dewy.

I think those who don't like the heavier feel or full coverage of Colorstay should give this a try. The shade range is rather limited, but still worth looking at. For reference I am MAC NC25 and wear this in the shade Nude.

I do not care for the glass bottle packaging, as the foundation is damn near impossible to get out. I use a plastic spatula to scoop mine through the neck, as banging on the back of my hand has proved pointless. There is no easy way of transfering this to a bottle with a pump due to it's thickness. If anyone knows of a pump that would fit---PM me!

*I think results will vary depending on your application method and the products used to prep the skin prior to your foundation (ie. moisturizers, sunscreen, primer etc)

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lillicannon on 7/13/2012 8:13:00 AM more reviews by lillicannon

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I normally have major "settling into fine lines" problems but had none with this makeup. Perhaps this is because I take care of my oily skin very well: Tazorac, salicylic acid and moisturizer.

The makeup applied smoothly with a sponge, covered well but looked natural, and did last 3-4 hours before looking glowy, which is a very long time for my skin. Most foundations only last 1 hour before oil breaks through. There were only four colors, but the Buff worked well for my tanned skin, which in the winter requires the fairest color. Hopefully other people will like this so that they make more colors!

Texture is like a thick liquid, almost a cream. It is in a tall bottle so I just tapped the sponge on the top and got the right amount. It blends super-easily and is hard to over-apply. You have a bit of time to play before it sets, unlike Color Stay, which dries nearly instantly. Also, no weird smells!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ladyli3n on 7/5/2012 11:43:00 AM more reviews by ladyli3n

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have oily skin - in terms of being "oil-controlling" it did keep me matte longer then most foundations. HOWEVER, i will not be repurchasing this because its settles into fine lines really bad. it emphasizes any pores you have and can look quite cakey. If you have perfect skin and just want to even out, this might be for you. If you have any problems that your trying to hide - this will just emphasize it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lck2011 on 7/1/2012 11:22:00 PM more reviews by lck2011

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I'm very surprise that so many people dislike this foundation!!! I'm in totally in love with it!!! My skin is very oily (sometimes a couple hours after washing my face I can see the oil coming out of my porous) and on top of that I have rosacea, scars from acne and some black heads on my nose (they're not that bad since l stoped using mineral powder/foundation) my HG foundation is Estee Lauder Double wear, but is has a very high price tag, so l've been looking for drug store option for my everyday use, I came across to this one in one of my favorite beauty blogs, and after thinking a lot I bought it. So here's is my experience
1-. I have very oily skin and on top of that l live in Florida so is HOT and HUMID

2.- this is a light to medium coverage, but is buildable, l'm not big fan of heavy foundation cuze in the long run looks cakey and fake, I dont have a perfect skin but I can work with it and make look better, doesnt matter how much makeup you put in your face if you have a lot break outs and bumps a full coverage foundation is going to make it look worse. Sometimes I use some green primer to conceal my redness, I havent use yet with this foundation but it covers pretty much everything.

3-. yes is grainy, yep very weird the look of it remind me of mac sculp but the feeling is like a light exfoliator, it doesnt hurt me at all, I applied with a Elf Flat brush and it looks amazing

4-. the bottle is a pain, very hard to take the product out, what the hell they're were thinking???!!!

5-. it last for more than 8 hours!!! it wasnt complety matte but I had a natural glowy look no oil, I didnt bloat it with paper, l applied some of the shine control pressed powder (that only comes in one color) and wait for couple more hours and it look great!!!

6-. besides the packing that sucks, I love this foundation, it reatails around 12.99 (target) but if get one of those ulta coupons is easy to score a decent deal even less than $10 dollars

Tomorrow l'm getting the primer and also I will try to upload some before and after pics and no breakouts yet!!!!

UPDATE 07/03/12!!! JUST UPLOADED MY PICS, FOR APPLICATION I USE ELF POWDER BRUSH, I' M NOT WEARING ANY KIND OF PRIMER, GREEN PRIMER OR CONCEALER, THIS COLOR HAS A YELLOW UNDERTONES, NO BREAKOUTS YET, GOT THE PRIMER YESTERDAY AND I LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT FEELS GREAT ON MY SKIN :)

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Neutrogena products

More Liquid products