Neutrogena • Shine Control Makeup • Liquid

rated 2.5(84 reviews)

Average Rating.2.5
Would buy this product again.30%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 ladyli3n on 7/5/2012 11:43:00 AM more reviews by ladyli3n

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have oily skin - in terms of being "oil-controlling" it did keep me matte longer then most foundations. HOWEVER, i will not be repurchasing this because its settles into fine lines really bad. it emphasizes any pores you have and can look quite cakey. If you have perfect skin and just want to even out, this might be for you. If you have any problems that your trying to hide - this will just emphasize it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lck2011 on 7/1/2012 11:22:00 PM more reviews by lck2011

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I'm very surprise that so many people dislike this foundation!!! I'm in totally in love with it!!! My skin is very oily (sometimes a couple hours after washing my face I can see the oil coming out of my porous) and on top of that I have rosacea, scars from acne and some black heads on my nose (they're not that bad since l stoped using mineral powder/foundation) my HG foundation is Estee Lauder Double wear, but is has a very high price tag, so l've been looking for drug store option for my everyday use, I came across to this one in one of my favorite beauty blogs, and after thinking a lot I bought it. So here's is my experience
1-. I have very oily skin and on top of that l live in Florida so is HOT and HUMID

2.- this is a light to medium coverage, but is buildable, l'm not big fan of heavy foundation cuze in the long run looks cakey and fake, I dont have a perfect skin but I can work with it and make look better, doesnt matter how much makeup you put in your face if you have a lot break outs and bumps a full coverage foundation is going to make it look worse. Sometimes I use some green primer to conceal my redness, I havent use yet with this foundation but it covers pretty much everything.

3-. yes is grainy, yep very weird the look of it remind me of mac sculp but the feeling is like a light exfoliator, it doesnt hurt me at all, I applied with a Elf Flat brush and it looks amazing

4-. the bottle is a pain, very hard to take the product out, what the hell they're were thinking???!!!

5-. it last for more than 8 hours!!! it wasnt complety matte but I had a natural glowy look no oil, I didnt bloat it with paper, l applied some of the shine control pressed powder (that only comes in one color) and wait for couple more hours and it look great!!!

6-. besides the packing that sucks, I love this foundation, it reatails around 12.99 (target) but if get one of those ulta coupons is easy to score a decent deal even less than $10 dollars

Tomorrow l'm getting the primer and also I will try to upload some before and after pics and no breakouts yet!!!!

UPDATE 07/03/12!!! JUST UPLOADED MY PICS, FOR APPLICATION I USE ELF POWDER BRUSH, I' M NOT WEARING ANY KIND OF PRIMER, GREEN PRIMER OR CONCEALER, THIS COLOR HAS A YELLOW UNDERTONES, NO BREAKOUTS YET, GOT THE PRIMER YESTERDAY AND I LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT FEELS GREAT ON MY SKIN :)

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Tresor on 6/28/2012 9:52:00 PM more reviews by Tresor

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I have oily, sensitive, 40-something skin. I tend to use a bb cream first, then foundation, just a drop of each. Perhaps that's why it works fine on me, not others. This foundation was easy to blend, covered what it's supposed to, didn't look cakey or obvious and lasted all day without touchups. My only complaint is that my local stores don't carry my shade yet, an even number, so I have to blend 2 different odd numbered ones for a custom shade.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 designerleanne on 6/28/2012 11:23:00 AM more reviews by designerleanne

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I should have turned to makeupalley for reviews on this, rather than youtube. AWFUL. My main reason for trying this was because while I have oily/combination skin, my T-zone has been getting extra oily with the summer heat and I wanted a more matte foundation. I have minimal wrinkles and some visible pores on my nose and upper cheeks. These have always been easily concealed, even by tinted moisturizers. This foundation, however, settles into every pore, every line even the slightest crevice, is streaky and "dry" and does not cover any redness whatsoever. Looks like the equivalent of layers of heavy powder on my face. Returning today something I rarely do with drugstore makeup.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* songy67 on 6/25/2012 10:05:00 PM more reviews by songy67

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This one is housed in a glass bottle and doesn't come with a pump. It provides medium buildable coverage that looks natural and doesn't cake up throughout the day. In terms of 'shine control' I would give it maybe a 6/10 at most. I really enjoy how natural this looks on my skin and how long-wearing it is, plus the fact that it has SPF 20 in it. Unfortunately, it breaks me out. BADLY. I'm talking cystic acne that I can't even cover up. I wish this had worked out for me, but it wreaked havoc on my skin. Not worth it.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Blueeyedbobbi21 on 6/25/2012 12:34:00 AM more reviews by Blueeyedbobbi21

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

wow...why is this formula sooo gritty????

it just doesn't make sense. It really feels like they just added some sand into the mix. really weird :/

foundation should be pretty smooth right? lol Tested this foundation just on the back of my wrist..and the grit in in hurt my skin :(

def. not buying this. I really wanted to like this,but im not trying that gritty formulation on my face :O

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 bananachan on 6/24/2012 10:47:00 PM more reviews by bananachan

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Grey    

I don't hate this foundation, but it did not accomplish what it says it will do. I did not experience the grainy texture or the extremely fast drying time like others have. It gives me a fair amount of coverage; however, as for controlling shine, it completely fails. If it was just another foundation, it would be fine, but it is specifically labelled as shine control foundation. Even with mattifying powder I did not see the kind of staying power I expected. I'll finish the bottle, but after that I will not be repurchasing.

Edit 9-7-12: Blech. Now that I am further into the bottle, it is starting to feel more grainy than it did. Will definitely not finish this bottle.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 whocalledforcrazy on 6/23/2012 7:26:00 AM more reviews by whocalledforcrazy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

If you have: super oily skin, want a lot of coverage or have deeper toned skin this foundation is not for you. The foundation appears thick in the bottle and has a slightly grainy texture but it spreads on the skin beautifully, evens out skin tone (I have mild post acne marks and redness from skin allergies) and I had no problem with transferring. It also dries on the skin with a texture similar to using an HD powder (super soft). I put a dot on each cheek, forehead and chin then blended with my fingers and set it with my HD powder.

Me: mid 20's, dry skin, mild skin problems, fair-medium tone, likes less is more make-up

Pros:
Good coverage, light texture, doesn't transfer, no make-up make up look, not greasy or totally matte-perfectly in between, does not oxidize, gentle

Cons:
Not for super oily skin or deeper skin tones, not a lot of shades-can be hard to match, hard to get out of bottle, grainy texture (that goes away as you spread it), doesn't do much to cover active break outs.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 msog177 on 6/22/2012 5:57:00 PM more reviews by msog177

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm very surprised at the reviews for this foundation. I bought it yesterday, used it today (using my incredible BeautyBlender) and I love it. My skin feels light, the oils completely controlled. It's quite a buildable foundation, and the color (Classic Ivory) blended perfectly on my very pale skin. It's been on my face for over 8 hours and no oxidation whatsoever. Sounds like a winner to me. It's a tad expensive (I paid about $15 at Walgreens) and has no pump, but I do really like the product. I dusted some of my fragrance-free Coty powder, it set the foundation quite well, and I'm very happy with it. I love the fact that it has SPF 20. Very important.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lily91491 on 6/21/2012 5:01:00 PM more reviews by lily91491

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Am I the only one who doesn't think this foundation is terrible? Don't use to much product but it's a nice medium coverage foundation and I love the color match. I'm about an nc42 in Mac and I'm a fresh beige in neutrogena. The finish is semi matte I applied it with a flat top kabuki and I set it with mac blot powder no primer. It's really nice and held up fairly well (4 hours without touch ups on my very oily skin) without looking mask like

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Neutrogena products

More Liquid products