Neutrogena Shine Control Makeup

2.6

99 reviews

33% would repurchase

Package Quality: 2.5

Price: $$

Package Quality: 2.5

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

(Active Ingredients : Titanium Dioxide 3.2%) --- Water, Dimethicone, Methyl Trimethicone, Isononyl Isononanoate, C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Octyldodecyl Neopentanoate, Lauryl PEG-9 Polydimethylsiloxyethyl Dimethicone, Butylene Glycol, Dimethicone/PEG-10/15 Crosspolymer, Oryza Sativa (Rice) Seed Protein, Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Silica, PEG-9 Polydimethylsiloxyethyl Dimethicone, Sodium Chloride, Glycerin, Acrylates/Dimethicone Copolymer, Phenoxyethanol, Alumina, Caprylyl Glycol, Polyhydroxystearic Acid, Aluminium Stearate, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Silica Silylate, Disodium EDTA, Sorbic Acid --- may contain (CI 77891/Titanium Dioxide, CI 77019/Mica, CI 77491/CI 77492/CI 77499/Iron Oxides)


on 9/30/2012 9:40:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I bought this a couple of weeks ago in an attempt to return to liquid foundation after years of mineral powder loyalty. My "3" rating may seem mediocre, but I have been very pleasantly surprised. The color match was spot on for me. It provides just the right medium coverage for me without being cakey and certainly keeps my shine in check for several hours. More than I expected! Worth a try for those who don't relish spending tons on basic products.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 9/30/2012 8:23:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I loved this foundation the first two days I wore it. I'm very pale and I like foundations with a more yellow tone to them as they cancel out any redness on my face. Classic ivory had a very nice yellow tone to it and was just the right amount of sheer coverage I was looking for. I have dry skin and though this foundation says it's "Shine Control" I had no problems with it drying my skin out or making me flaky, if anything, it gave my skin a nice semi-dewy finish, just enough to make me look healthy. When applying I did notice it was, well, gritty. No other way to put it. I didn't look gritty on my face though, so I didn't really care, I did care when it started breaking my skin out. I stopped using it pronto, and my skin returned to normal after a week or so. What a bummer. I really liked this stuff. Oh well.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

First I want to say that I have VERY oily skin...I have not found a foundation that is full coverage without being too heavy. I got coupon for this foundation and figured Id try it. Well I was excited, even though the reviews were mostly negative. I tried it and now I understand what they mean by it being grainy. I used a wet sponge to apply it and figured this may help it from being overdrying or hard to apply. Nope! Still put it on and within 5 seconds it looked like my whole face was peeling. I went to touch my skin and it was coming off on my hands it lil peices of dried makeup. It was so gross. I did not have time to take it off so I wiped away all the grainy bits then it looked ok. After 1 hr my face was soooo oily. At end of day it looked cakey and gross...PLEASE STAY AWAY FROM THIS PRODUCT! But if udo find a good oil control or oil free foundation Please let me know.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 9/23/2012 4:33:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Usually I read a thousand reviews on a product before I buy it, but this was an impulse buy and when I got it home and read the reviews I was kind of bummed, as they weren't great. Anyways, I love this foundation, a lot. The coverage is really similar to Healthy Skin, they both have this amazing ability to cover spots, but still let my skin (and freckles!) show through. It does keep me shine free for a few hours longer than normal foundations, with powder of course. The 'grainy' texture doesn't bother me at all. I don't think I would have noticed had I not read the reviews, as when you apply this with a brush you really can't feel any of the grains. The packaging is horrendous, though. It's pretty, but the makeup doesn't come out easily and I always wind up just dipping my brush into the glob on top, which is totally unhygienic but there's really no other way to get it out. I may try storing it upside down to make getting it out easier. Would defs rebuy.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/17/2012 9:44:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Thick texture out of a plain bottle. Dries on my face to a powdery texture yet my face felt greasy after a few hours. Consistently broke out after using this product. Did not have same reaction when i would switch back to healthy skin foundation so for now sticking to that one.


on 9/17/2012 2:17:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Green

I just purchased this the other day at CVS because they were running a sale on Neutrogena products. I purchased the foundation (in Buff) and the matching Shine Control primer (which I will also do a review on).

First impressions:

*The foundation is very thick, and it doesnt have a pump, so I find it difficult to get out of the bottle
*I found it hard to choose my colour. I tried to match it to a bottle of Maybelline foundation that I use. I think the shade I got is a little too light, but the next shade up looked too dark.
*Texture is very strange, gritty almost.

Wearing It:

I put the Shine Control foundation on after the Shine Control primer. Again it was difficult to get out of the bottle. I applied a layer with a clean foundation brush and buffed it out with a stipple brush. I felt like there wasnt a lot of coverage on my skin for how thick the foundation seems to be. I applied a bit more to the areas where I have some problems (cystic acne scars, redness, etc). I still didnt think it covered as much as I would like. I applied HD powder over top and finished the rest of my look.

I work for a performing arts center, and it is our busy season, so I am often not at my desk, but running around the theatre or the ticket office, etc. My office is also very humid and sticky. This is FABULOUS for my already oily skin! :) I had applied my foundation around 7:45am. By 10:30-11am, my skin already felt oily and my t-zone was particularly terrible.

It is now 2:15 as I am writing this, and I have already had to touch up twice with my Mally Poreless face defender (which is awesome, fyi!). I also had to use my Boscia blotting linens. I actually feel like it is making my skin oilier than other foundations I have.

I am going to try the primer with another foundation, and the foundation by itself and then with a different primer, to try and see what is causing the problem...if it is the foundation itself or the primer.

I did buy them at CVS, so if i do not like them, I will definitely be taking advantage of their return policy.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I was really surprised to read the reviews on here about this foundation. After reading a magazine review of it last month, I was on the hunt! While I did notice some of the things that turned others off to this (grittiness, thickness, etc.) NONE of these were enough to deter me from it whatsoever. When you can't find a foundation with a beautiful finish that won't slide right off your face in an hour, you're willing to make some sacrifices.

I noticed the grittiness, but it certainly doesn't "hurt" as some said. Once it is applied, that texture is gone. The finish that it provides is spectacular and natural looking (Fresh Beige is my color of choice), and it has been a long time since I have been able to see a spec of foundation left on my face after a long day at work.

We all know that every product is not for everyone. But as for me, I will be purchasing again and again! I even hit Ulta already to buy more while it was on sale.


on 8/29/2012 11:40:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I actually liked the finish of this foundation. I didn't notice the grittiness people talked about here. I probably would have kept it as a mixer for colour quality of other formulas I almost like. However, I haven't broken out this bad in a couple years. I won't even swap this away, it's going in the trash. I have deep cystic pimples that will take forever to heal. This was the only part of my routine that changed.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/24/2012 6:15:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I don't know why there are so many bad reviews. I think this product works very well. I have an oily/combo skin and I am prone to acne and this is by far the best foundation I've used. Before this, I used the neutrogena healthy skin foundation and it is better in that my skin isn't as oily as it used to be and it has a matte finish. I am korean and I have a light skin. I used quite a bit of money trying to find the right shade for me from neutrogena. I knew that neutrogena's foundation was the foundation that I wanted to stick to so I invested some money to find the perfect shade for me. I tried natural beige but it was too dark, next I used nude which I thought was okay but found out that it looks really dark when I'm standing in direct sunlight. Next, I used the natural ivory color which was pretty good, but since I tried a lot of the colors anyway, I went on to try the classic ivory. Honestly, I thought my skin would be right for classic ivory because of my yellow undertone, but it turned out that it was too white. That was a big shock. I am currently using natural ivory. I hope this is helpful for light skinned asians.

[Edit]
For about a few months now, I have been using Revlon Colorstay makeup. It probably isn't as healthy has this one, but it does have a staying power on my extremely oily skin. I guess that is what won me over. ><


on 8/13/2012 2:04:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I bought this product because I need as much help as I can get when it comes to oil control. However, I found that this actually created more oil and that I need to blot several times around my nose and forehead (the main areas where I get oily). The packaging is similar to many foundations, where you have to pour it out. The product is thicker than the healthy skin foundation, so it is easier to control the amount you want. Also, the coverage is about sheer-medium to medium. I also found it really expensive, but hey, that neutrogena for you. All in all, I wouldn't recommend this product to anyone who suffers from really oily skin, but it might work for people with combo skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top