Neutrogena • Shine Control Makeup • Liquid

rated 2.6(95 reviews)

Average Rating.2.6
Would buy this product again.32%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 sportschick on 9/17/2012 2:17:00 PM more reviews by sportschick

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I just purchased this the other day at CVS because they were running a sale on Neutrogena products. I purchased the foundation (in Buff) and the matching Shine Control primer (which I will also do a review on).

First impressions:

*The foundation is very thick, and it doesnt have a pump, so I find it difficult to get out of the bottle
*I found it hard to choose my colour. I tried to match it to a bottle of Maybelline foundation that I use. I think the shade I got is a little too light, but the next shade up looked too dark.
*Texture is very strange, gritty almost.

Wearing It:

I put the Shine Control foundation on after the Shine Control primer. Again it was difficult to get out of the bottle. I applied a layer with a clean foundation brush and buffed it out with a stipple brush. I felt like there wasnt a lot of coverage on my skin for how thick the foundation seems to be. I applied a bit more to the areas where I have some problems (cystic acne scars, redness, etc). I still didnt think it covered as much as I would like. I applied HD powder over top and finished the rest of my look.

I work for a performing arts center, and it is our busy season, so I am often not at my desk, but running around the theatre or the ticket office, etc. My office is also very humid and sticky. This is FABULOUS for my already oily skin! :) I had applied my foundation around 7:45am. By 10:30-11am, my skin already felt oily and my t-zone was particularly terrible.

It is now 2:15 as I am writing this, and I have already had to touch up twice with my Mally Poreless face defender (which is awesome, fyi!). I also had to use my Boscia blotting linens. I actually feel like it is making my skin oilier than other foundations I have.

I am going to try the primer with another foundation, and the foundation by itself and then with a different primer, to try and see what is causing the problem...if it is the foundation itself or the primer.

I did buy them at CVS, so if i do not like them, I will definitely be taking advantage of their return policy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 TwiceBlessed on 9/5/2012 5:51:00 PM more reviews by TwiceBlessed

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I was really surprised to read the reviews on here about this foundation. After reading a magazine review of it last month, I was on the hunt! While I did notice some of the things that turned others off to this (grittiness, thickness, etc.) NONE of these were enough to deter me from it whatsoever. When you can't find a foundation with a beautiful finish that won't slide right off your face in an hour, you're willing to make some sacrifices.

I noticed the grittiness, but it certainly doesn't "hurt" as some said. Once it is applied, that texture is gone. The finish that it provides is spectacular and natural looking (Fresh Beige is my color of choice), and it has been a long time since I have been able to see a spec of foundation left on my face after a long day at work.

We all know that every product is not for everyone. But as for me, I will be purchasing again and again! I even hit Ulta already to buy more while it was on sale.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 LSpawn on 8/29/2012 11:40:00 AM more reviews by LSpawn

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I actually liked the finish of this foundation. I didn't notice the grittiness people talked about here. I probably would have kept it as a mixer for colour quality of other formulas I almost like. However, I haven't broken out this bad in a couple years. I won't even swap this away, it's going in the trash. I have deep cystic pimples that will take forever to heal. This was the only part of my routine that changed.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 xjiyoungg on 8/24/2012 6:15:00 PM more reviews by xjiyoungg

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I don't know why there are so many bad reviews. I think this product works very well. I have an oily/combo skin and I am prone to acne and this is by far the best foundation I've used. Before this, I used the neutrogena healthy skin foundation and it is better in that my skin isn't as oily as it used to be and it has a matte finish. I am korean and I have a light skin. I used quite a bit of money trying to find the right shade for me from neutrogena. I knew that neutrogena's foundation was the foundation that I wanted to stick to so I invested some money to find the perfect shade for me. I tried natural beige but it was too dark, next I used nude which I thought was okay but found out that it looks really dark when I'm standing in direct sunlight. Next, I used the natural ivory color which was pretty good, but since I tried a lot of the colors anyway, I went on to try the classic ivory. Honestly, I thought my skin would be right for classic ivory because of my yellow undertone, but it turned out that it was too white. That was a big shock. I am currently using natural ivory. I hope this is helpful for light skinned asians.

[Edit]
For about a few months now, I have been using Revlon Colorstay makeup. It probably isn't as healthy has this one, but it does have a staying power on my extremely oily skin. I guess that is what won me over. ><

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 smoorz4318 on 8/13/2012 2:04:00 PM more reviews by smoorz4318

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I bought this product because I need as much help as I can get when it comes to oil control. However, I found that this actually created more oil and that I need to blot several times around my nose and forehead (the main areas where I get oily). The packaging is similar to many foundations, where you have to pour it out. The product is thicker than the healthy skin foundation, so it is easier to control the amount you want. Also, the coverage is about sheer-medium to medium. I also found it really expensive, but hey, that neutrogena for you. All in all, I wouldn't recommend this product to anyone who suffers from really oily skin, but it might work for people with combo skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 4eyes on 8/8/2012 1:19:00 PM more reviews by 4eyes

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I have oily skin that produces an incredible volume of oil all day. My skin just pumps the stuff out, non-stop, so I am always shiny and blotting my face. I usually use Revlon PhotoReady, but saw this in Target and thought, what the heck, I'll give it a try. I think it was about $13.

When I got it home and opened it, I was horrified to discover that there was no seal inside. So, no box, and no seal outside or inside the very basic glass bottle w/ screw-top lid. I had visions of kids running up and down the aisles, picking their noses and touching the bottles, or worse, sticking their fingers in the bottles for a good laugh.

I've seen grown women opening containers and sampling non-sample mu, so my visions are not such a stretch. I e-mailed Neutrogena and, typically, got no response at all. Their packaging for liquid mu sucks in general, and they don't seem to care that a lot of people prefer pumps or squeeze tubes to a messy, splatter inducing glass bottle, or that they don't make their pkg at least tamper resistant. While a lot of other mu cos have moved on to 21st technology in pkging, Neutrogena has not.

However, some of their formulations are good, so after about a week of debating whether to try the bottle or return it, we had a really hot and humid day and I decided to try it. I have since used it for probably 20 days, not all in a row.

The color, Natural Beige 60 was a very good match for my medium pale, yellowish skin. The consistency was a thick and gloopy gel. It smells like paint, and there are lots of little gritty particles in it, which I assume is the rice protein designed to soak up oil. It's not that easy to spread evenly and it dries fairly fast, so I have to work fast and blend the edges before it dries.

It does sting if I've been using a lot of acne txs, but did not cause redness. Actually, I had to wash it off once because of the stinging. If left on, it might've caused redness. The coverage is not as good as the Revlon PhotoReady, which has a thinner consistency but better coverage and better pkging (pump bottle). I'd say the coverage is less than Revlon PhotoReady and MUCH less than EL Maximum Cover but a little more than Clinique Even Better or Neutrogena Skin Clearing liquid fndtn. It was more matte than the Revlon Photoready, but not by a huge margin.

If I apply it over LRP Anthelios XL 50 Fluide Extreme, it seems to ball up and come off of every surface EXCEPT the depression of each pore, which is NOT a great look at all. I don't need more dots on my face.

Overall, I might buy again but only if I couldn't get Revlon Photoready. It's also probably too drying for winter. It's not horrible, but the 19th century pkging and the slight burning effect are turn-offs.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 bohodo on 8/6/2012 1:42:00 PM more reviews by bohodo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Update/edit: I originally had a decent review on this product, but it made me break out. This was the only thing I changed in my makeup routine, so I assume it had to be the culprit. Sorry Neutrogena :/

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Baiju on 8/5/2012 10:39:00 PM more reviews by Baiju

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Medium coverage. Matte makeup, not much oil-control, and sort of hard to blend evenly. Pools into my pores. There are many better makeups than this one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 blueflamingo on 8/2/2012 7:00:00 AM more reviews by blueflamingo

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This foundation actually works for me. I tried it originally from a sample. First sample was gritty, second wasn't. I'm guessing there's some kind of rice powder or such? Didn't read the ingredients. Using a foundation brush, I don't feel it anyway. I don't find it settles into fine lines or pores, and the coverage is better than most and buildable. I wish it had more staying power, since foundation with an SPF20 would seem to be something designed for summer type weather (live in hot, humid Florida). The big bummer of this foundation is the bottle. Neutrogena design people, what were you thinking? The bottle opening is smaller than Colorstay, and at least the bottle I bought doesn't flow, so I have to use a qtip to get it out. That's going to mean a lot of waste at the bottom of the bottle. That alone might make it something I wouldn't repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* princess101 on 7/24/2012 9:57:00 PM more reviews by princess101

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I purchased this product while on a trip to the US (from Canada) as we don't have Neutrogena cosmetics available in our drugstore/mass grocery stores. I didn't read any reviews prior to purchasing this and am glad I didn't, as I know I would've skipped buying this.

For me, I feel like this is a lighter version of Revlon's Colorstay liquid foundation. It has the oil control capabilities that Colorstay provides, but without the heavy, mask-like finish. I apply this with a beauty blender and while I do have to work in sections, as this dries fairly quickly, the finish is what I would describe as satin-matte. It does not have a sheen, but is not flat looking as Colorstay can be.

I did not notice any of the fine grains while using the beauty blender, but did notice them when applying with my fingers. After applying with my fingers, I let the foundation dry and once I set with powder the small granules were gone---presumably brushed off by my powder brush.

The staying power is fantastic, as it lasted a full 12 hours with only a blot on my nose about 8 hours in. Even then, the foundation did not seperate or look shiny, but rather dewy.

I think those who don't like the heavier feel or full coverage of Colorstay should give this a try. The shade range is rather limited, but still worth looking at. For reference I am MAC NC25 and wear this in the shade Nude.

I do not care for the glass bottle packaging, as the foundation is damn near impossible to get out. I use a plastic spatula to scoop mine through the neck, as banging on the back of my hand has proved pointless. There is no easy way of transfering this to a bottle with a pump due to it's thickness. If anyone knows of a pump that would fit---PM me!

*I think results will vary depending on your application method and the products used to prep the skin prior to your foundation (ie. moisturizers, sunscreen, primer etc)

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Neutrogena products

More Liquid products