Chanel Lift Lumiere Fluid

4.0

84 reviews

66% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Aqua (water). Cyclopentasiloxane. Titanium dioxide. Ethylhexl Methoxcinnamate. Dimethicone. PEG-10 Dimethicone. Glycerin. Phenyl Trimethicone. Butylene Glycol. Boron Nitride. Polymethylsilsequioxane. Pro-Pylene Glycol. Sodium Chloride. Talc. Stearic Acid. Phenoxyethanol. Alumina. Camellia Kissi Seed Oil. C30-45 Alkyl Cetearyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer. Methylparaben. Aluminium hydroxide. Disteardimonium Hectorite. Disodium Stearoyl Glutamate. Tocopheryl Acetate. Psium Sativum. (Pea) Extract. Propylparaben. VP/Dimethiconylacrylate/Polycarbamyl/Polyglycolester. Alcohol. Sodium Citrate. Sodium Hyaluronate. Silica. Potassium Sorbet. Chlorphenesin. BHT. Glycyrrhiza Glabra (Licorice) Root Extract. Ethylparaben. Tocopherol. Denatonium Benzoate. [+/- (may contain) CI 77007 (Ultramarines). CI 77491, CI 77942, CI 77499 (Iron Oxides). CI 77891 (Titanium Oxide). Mica]


on 8/25/2009 3:13:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I cannot say enough good things about this foundation. For me, it is about as near perfect as I am going to find. I buy way too many foundations and can't wait til a new one comes out, so that I can rush right out and buy it. Other than this costing me totally unnecessary money, I end up using them a few times and then deciding I don't like them as well as I thought, leaving me on that never-ending search for foundation perfection. I finally came to the conclusion that I was never going to find anything that was perfect for me. Well, along comes Lift Lumiere and I may have to change my mind.

I should mention here that I have liked other Chanel foundations but have had problems with them irritating my skin, so I was somewhat skeptical to try this. Voila! This covers my imperfections and redness very well and leaves my skin looking luminous and dewy, but not overly so to where I look like a grease ball. It does not break out my sensitive skin and actually seems to make my mature skin look better. The real testament to this is that I finished the entire bottle and just went out and bought my second one yesterday. Can't remember the last time this happened!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.



on 8/13/2009 9:22:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

What a gold mine of information I have discovered here!

I am a Chanel Vitalumiere devotee, but last week in an absolute panic (foundation completely gone, important meeting 30 minutes away) rushed in to my local Chanel supplier only to find that my colour (20 Clair) was out of stock. She suggested I try Lift Lumiere (but I suspect, as she was from a neighbouring counter and not a Chanel rep, she did't have much of a clue).

I have REALLY struggled with it. I am used to smeering on Vitalimiere, gettin great coverage and perfect colour and rushing out the door.

This seems so hard! The colour seems a bit too pale, but mostly I just can't seem to get the application right. The comments here about waiting are so valuable: I know it looks better after a time, and also I can see I need to use less.

I was at the point of abandoning this product, but on the basis of these reviews I'll give it another shot!!!

Thanks so much

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 7/11/2009 12:27:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Hi! I have combo skin and do not agree with the reviewers who said this is not for oily skin! Well, we are all aware that we should not wear foundation all over the face like a mask , unless you want to look like you're wearing full-on make-up! I use this all over except on my nose and forehead. I do apply it on my cheeks, around my nose and temples, but not in the middle of my forehead and tip of my chin. The results are just great. I love dewy skin - HATE matte even though I have combo skin. If you learn how to apply it, you'll love it!

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is my HG foundation - LOVE IT! Lightweight yet evens out skin beautifully, dewy without being in any way sparkly, blends so easily, skin looks and feels as if you're not wearing any MU, and it lasts all day on me. Shade 05 Faience matches my skin perfectly, and I have had no breakouts from this gorgeous foundation. Will continue to repurchase forever!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 6/21/2009 7:10:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Very Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I guess that I will be the first sour apple about this foundation. The MUA at the Chanel counter is one of my favorites and asked if I knew about this and wanted to try it on during an event. I agreed. After she did a whole makeup look and I was going home, I examined my face in the mirror. I did not know what to expect but I thought that the finish was a little on the matte side. She also gave me two samples to try at home. I let some time pass and one day on a whim, I tried it. I had a little trouble blending this product and it seems as if you only need a little bit, which is a good thing. I am also reading that people are liking the color choices which are more suitable for their complexions. I like the Vitalumiere better. The color (Cameo or Clair) suits me and also the finish is a little dewier. I have extremely dry skin and Vitalumiere feels so much better on my skin. So I do not regret trying it as a sample but I will not be buying this for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/17/2009 10:05:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This foundation is perfect for certain skin tones. Comes with built-in pump, feels like the container is made of plastic (compared to pro lumiere).

First, keep in mind that the colors run differently than all other Chanel foundation colors. I've been a consistent Cameo in nearly all other Chanel foundations--in Lift Lumiere, 1.0 Ivoire was my match.

Second, my skin has recently become drier---and so this gave me a dewy finish. I grew to like the look. As an aside, the foundation looks perfectly good with a powder, but it does take some of the luminosity away.

Third, this foundation looked flawless on me for over 10 hours on a grueling, hot day (over 100 degrees for some parts). It lasts all day, really, and looks beautiful. Coverage is medium (heavier than Tient Innocence, about the same as Pro Lumiere)

Fourth, I experienced the same phenomenon as the other reviewers. The foundation seems to sit on the skin for the first 15 minutes, not looking very good. Then wooosh, it seems to settle in and become part of the texture of the skin.

Fifth--no clogged pores! My pores clog VERY easily, but this one did not do so.

Sixth--I highly recommend applying this with a foundation brush. Fingers are fine, but you can really control the coverage and get the flawless coverage with a brush. Many women in the age category to use this foundation don't typically want a mask-like look, and layering with a brush (using more ONLY where you need it, and very thin amounts everywhere else) really seems to work best with Lift Lumiere.

Overall--amazing product. Expensive, but really delivers.

25 out of 25 people found this review helpful.


on 4/25/2009 6:06:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Chanel formulated this foundation for maturing skin like mine, and I am very pleased with it. Lift Lumiere does not slip into my wrinkles, and gives my skin a softer, more youthful glow. I am 52 and I think this foundation helps to make the most of my skin.


My method of application is as follows: I apply it to my face using a dampened foundation brush (Chanel’s brush is wonderful), then I smooth it out with my fingers. I finish by blending with a dry makeup sponge. Be sure to use the product sparingly and to work quickly. Don’t be alarmed if this foundation doesn’t look very good when you first put it on, it will take at least 15 minutes for it to blend with your skin. Other reviewers have noted this characteristic, and it is definitely true.


I would highly recommend this foundation to anyone who would like to improve the appearance of their maturing skin.

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.


on 4/7/2009 9:49:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

Wow, I just bought this when I was out of town last week. I had heard good things about Chanel Foundations and wanted to try them but never have because I was happy with my MAC foundation.Well I went to the mall and got suckered in by a sales woman but I am glad that I did!! I had just opened a new bottle of my MAC foundation but had to ditch it because I was so excited about this Lift Luminere Fluid that I couldn't wait to finish the one that was already open! Anyway, the sales woman that ended up putting the product on me (not the pushy one) was really good. I had told her that I like a more full coverage foundation (which I think it gives) and a more dewey look. My MAC gives me a full coverage with a matte finish and it seems to go on like a mask but not this stuff!!! I got the soft bisque 4.0 and this just seems to glide right on, provides this luminescence that I coudn't even get with my strobe cream from mac and it just melts right in, my pores are less noticable and the color is absolutely perfect. I don't think it does much lifting though so don't get persuaded by that marketing! Also, I too don't use a setting powder, I like the dewey/glowy affect and haven't tried it with powder because I don't want to ruin it. You could perhaps brush powder on your nose and forhead to wipe out shine and keep your cheeks powder free and have the best of both words. I just feel like I have REALLY good skin and it doesn't look like I have foundation on at all. This stuff is VERY expensive (and this is coming from a department store junkie), my eyes about bugged out of my head when she told me how much but it's such a great product that I may have to rebuy!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


on 3/28/2009 12:38:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I really really loved this foundation when first applied. It gives a nice radiance on my skin and I had a great colormatch with cendre intensity 2.5. I had to powder down way too often, more than any foundation I've ever had and I decided this is just not meant for my combination skin. My tzone really comes across oily with this foundation after an hour. But, like I said, I really loved the look of this when I first applied it. I'm just not meant for this one right now. I paid $65 for it and had to return this and got the mat lumiere instead and was colormatched to beige. Lift lumiere would be great if you're normal to dry and looking for a little luminous radiance. It is definitely not meant for those with a tzone issue. I should have known, but somehow I got talked into getting this one instead of mat lumiere. My first instincts were correct and I shouldn't have doubted myself.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 3/10/2009 5:36:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Magical stuff. I have terrible luck with foundations: always have to combine at least 2 shades for a so-so color match, and have a difficult time finding something that works on my ridiculously dry skin...without being so heavy and oily it feels disgusting. Lift Lumiere fits the bill perfectly. It is not nearly as overtly moisturizing as Vitalumiere, so I thought it would not work for me. (I have long loved Vitalumiere--tho I do find it too heavy and thick, and the scent is strong, and the colors do not work for me!) With Lift Lumiere, as long as I moisturize thoroughly first, it works brilliantly. Even today, I didn't put quite enough moisturizer on before putting on the Lift Lumiere and I thought--damn, I'm going to look crepey and dry. But, as others have said, I let about 10-15 mins go by...and the magic happened. The foundation just...melded...with my skin. No caking or dry patches--just luminous and beautiful skin. I don't like to wear a lot of foundation, and I prefer sheer-ish coverage, so I use a little less than a pump of this for my whole face--again, as others have said, a little seems to go a long way with this. That relatively small amount perfectly evens my skin tone and make me glow--but never in an oily way. I've also mixed this 50/50 with moisturizer (on a particularly dry day) and the results were wonderful.

Color-wise, Ivoire works well for me. For once I don't have to mix 2 shades together! Very unusual for me--and especially with Chanel foundations (usually too yellow--even tho I have slightly yellow skin). I find this version of Ivoire to be slightly browner, rather than yellow as I find Gentle Ivory or as orange as I find Cameo in Vitalumiere. Ivoire seems to complement my skin color decently.
(UPDATE: 6 months later I still LOVE this foundation--but discovered (via photographs) that Ivoire is not the color for me. Too dark. I'm using Faience 0.5 now. It looks too light when I first put it on--then 5 minutes later is the perfect color on my skin. As I said before...magic.)

Overall, I strongly encourage other dry-skinned women, especially over 40, to try this one. Experiment a little. Use a fair amount of moisturizer first. And maybe use less foundation than you normally would at first. I hope, like me, you'll find this illuminates your skin beautifully. I have, after literally decades of looking, found my first Holy Grail foundation. Thank you, Chanel--and thanks all you MUA-ers who reviewed this and so encouraged me to give it a try!

(I will say that I can understand why less-dry-skinned people may not love this. I do get luminous from this, as I said. It's NOT at all oily on me: looks dewy and lovely yet my skin is dry to the touch. (Unlike with Vitalumiere, which is just plain oily, both in look and feel.) However, "luminous" or "dewy" might not be the look that naturally more oily-skinned people want.)

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top