Chanel • Lift Lumiere Fluid • Foundations

rated 4.0(81 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 tallulah_starr on 6/28/2009 5:44:00 AM more reviews by tallulah_starr

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This is my HG foundation - LOVE IT! Lightweight yet evens out skin beautifully, dewy without being in any way sparkly, blends so easily, skin looks and feels as if you're not wearing any MU, and it lasts all day on me. Shade 05 Faience matches my skin perfectly, and I have had no breakouts from this gorgeous foundation. Will continue to repurchase forever!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Louise on 6/21/2009 7:10:00 PM more reviews by Louise

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Dry   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I guess that I will be the first sour apple about this foundation. The MUA at the Chanel counter is one of my favorites and asked if I knew about this and wanted to try it on during an event. I agreed. After she did a whole makeup look and I was going home, I examined my face in the mirror. I did not know what to expect but I thought that the finish was a little on the matte side. She also gave me two samples to try at home. I let some time pass and one day on a whim, I tried it. I had a little trouble blending this product and it seems as if you only need a little bit, which is a good thing. I am also reading that people are liking the color choices which are more suitable for their complexions. I like the Vitalumiere better. The color (Cameo or Clair) suits me and also the finish is a little dewier. I have extremely dry skin and Vitalumiere feels so much better on my skin. So I do not regret trying it as a sample but I will not be buying this for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Rivoli on 5/17/2009 10:05:00 AM more reviews by Rivoli

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This foundation is perfect for certain skin tones. Comes with built-in pump, feels like the container is made of plastic (compared to pro lumiere).

First, keep in mind that the colors run differently than all other Chanel foundation colors. I've been a consistent Cameo in nearly all other Chanel foundations--in Lift Lumiere, 1.0 Ivoire was my match.

Second, my skin has recently become drier---and so this gave me a dewy finish. I grew to like the look. As an aside, the foundation looks perfectly good with a powder, but it does take some of the luminosity away.

Third, this foundation looked flawless on me for over 10 hours on a grueling, hot day (over 100 degrees for some parts). It lasts all day, really, and looks beautiful. Coverage is medium (heavier than Tient Innocence, about the same as Pro Lumiere)

Fourth, I experienced the same phenomenon as the other reviewers. The foundation seems to sit on the skin for the first 15 minutes, not looking very good. Then wooosh, it seems to settle in and become part of the texture of the skin.

Fifth--no clogged pores! My pores clog VERY easily, but this one did not do so.

Sixth--I highly recommend applying this with a foundation brush. Fingers are fine, but you can really control the coverage and get the flawless coverage with a brush. Many women in the age category to use this foundation don't typically want a mask-like look, and layering with a brush (using more ONLY where you need it, and very thin amounts everywhere else) really seems to work best with Lift Lumiere.

Overall--amazing product. Expensive, but really delivers.

25 out of 25 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dottier on 4/25/2009 6:06:00 PM more reviews by dottier

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Chanel formulated this foundation for maturing skin like mine, and I am very pleased with it. Lift Lumiere does not slip into my wrinkles, and gives my skin a softer, more youthful glow. I am 52 and I think this foundation helps to make the most of my skin.


My method of application is as follows: I apply it to my face using a dampened foundation brush (Chanelís brush is wonderful), then I smooth it out with my fingers. I finish by blending with a dry makeup sponge. Be sure to use the product sparingly and to work quickly. Donít be alarmed if this foundation doesnít look very good when you first put it on, it will take at least 15 minutes for it to blend with your skin. Other reviewers have noted this characteristic, and it is definitely true.


I would highly recommend this foundation to anyone who would like to improve the appearance of their maturing skin.

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 flchick75 on 4/7/2009 9:49:00 AM more reviews by flchick75

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Wow, I just bought this when I was out of town last week. I had heard good things about Chanel Foundations and wanted to try them but never have because I was happy with my MAC foundation.Well I went to the mall and got suckered in by a sales woman but I am glad that I did!! I had just opened a new bottle of my MAC foundation but had to ditch it because I was so excited about this Lift Luminere Fluid that I couldn't wait to finish the one that was already open! Anyway, the sales woman that ended up putting the product on me (not the pushy one) was really good. I had told her that I like a more full coverage foundation (which I think it gives) and a more dewey look. My MAC gives me a full coverage with a matte finish and it seems to go on like a mask but not this stuff!!! I got the soft bisque 4.0 and this just seems to glide right on, provides this luminescence that I coudn't even get with my strobe cream from mac and it just melts right in, my pores are less noticable and the color is absolutely perfect. I don't think it does much lifting though so don't get persuaded by that marketing! Also, I too don't use a setting powder, I like the dewey/glowy affect and haven't tried it with powder because I don't want to ruin it. You could perhaps brush powder on your nose and forhead to wipe out shine and keep your cheeks powder free and have the best of both words. I just feel like I have REALLY good skin and it doesn't look like I have foundation on at all. This stuff is VERY expensive (and this is coming from a department store junkie), my eyes about bugged out of my head when she told me how much but it's such a great product that I may have to rebuy!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* semarie on 3/28/2009 12:38:00 AM more reviews by semarie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I really really loved this foundation when first applied. It gives a nice radiance on my skin and I had a great colormatch with cendre intensity 2.5. I had to powder down way too often, more than any foundation I've ever had and I decided this is just not meant for my combination skin. My tzone really comes across oily with this foundation after an hour. But, like I said, I really loved the look of this when I first applied it. I'm just not meant for this one right now. I paid $65 for it and had to return this and got the mat lumiere instead and was colormatched to beige. Lift lumiere would be great if you're normal to dry and looking for a little luminous radiance. It is definitely not meant for those with a tzone issue. I should have known, but somehow I got talked into getting this one instead of mat lumiere. My first instincts were correct and I shouldn't have doubted myself.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* colorcat on 3/10/2009 5:36:00 PM more reviews by colorcat

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Magical stuff. I have terrible luck with foundations: always have to combine at least 2 shades for a so-so color match, and have a difficult time finding something that works on my ridiculously dry skin...without being so heavy and oily it feels disgusting. Lift Lumiere fits the bill perfectly. It is not nearly as overtly moisturizing as Vitalumiere, so I thought it would not work for me. (I have long loved Vitalumiere--tho I do find it too heavy and thick, and the scent is strong, and the colors do not work for me!) With Lift Lumiere, as long as I moisturize thoroughly first, it works brilliantly. Even today, I didn't put quite enough moisturizer on before putting on the Lift Lumiere and I thought--damn, I'm going to look crepey and dry. But, as others have said, I let about 10-15 mins go by...and the magic happened. The foundation just...melded...with my skin. No caking or dry patches--just luminous and beautiful skin. I don't like to wear a lot of foundation, and I prefer sheer-ish coverage, so I use a little less than a pump of this for my whole face--again, as others have said, a little seems to go a long way with this. That relatively small amount perfectly evens my skin tone and make me glow--but never in an oily way. I've also mixed this 50/50 with moisturizer (on a particularly dry day) and the results were wonderful.

Color-wise, Ivoire works well for me. For once I don't have to mix 2 shades together! Very unusual for me--and especially with Chanel foundations (usually too yellow--even tho I have slightly yellow skin). I find this version of Ivoire to be slightly browner, rather than yellow as I find Gentle Ivory or as orange as I find Cameo in Vitalumiere. Ivoire seems to complement my skin color decently.
(UPDATE: 6 months later I still LOVE this foundation--but discovered (via photographs) that Ivoire is not the color for me. Too dark. I'm using Faience 0.5 now. It looks too light when I first put it on--then 5 minutes later is the perfect color on my skin. As I said before...magic.)

Overall, I strongly encourage other dry-skinned women, especially over 40, to try this one. Experiment a little. Use a fair amount of moisturizer first. And maybe use less foundation than you normally would at first. I hope, like me, you'll find this illuminates your skin beautifully. I have, after literally decades of looking, found my first Holy Grail foundation. Thank you, Chanel--and thanks all you MUA-ers who reviewed this and so encouraged me to give it a try!

(I will say that I can understand why less-dry-skinned people may not love this. I do get luminous from this, as I said. It's NOT at all oily on me: looks dewy and lovely yet my skin is dry to the touch. (Unlike with Vitalumiere, which is just plain oily, both in look and feel.) However, "luminous" or "dewy" might not be the look that naturally more oily-skinned people want.)

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 anniemcleod on 2/15/2009 1:49:00 PM more reviews by anniemcleod

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a really lovely foundation, but has too much shine for my liking in the t-zone. After waiting 10 minutes it looked very shiny. I applied some powder but then about an hour later my t-zone was looking shiny again and I hadn't even been outside. The lightest color, Faience 0.5 was a little too dark. This will be a perfect product for those with normal to dry skin if there is the right color for you. I might have even put up with the shine if there was a lighter color as it does add some youthfulness to the complexion.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jillyjill on 2/13/2009 3:54:00 PM more reviews by jillyjill

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

After using Teint Innocence and loving the finish, coverage and luminosity, my skin changed and became more oily. I went to check out Mat Lumiere, but the SA suggested Lift Lumiere. After tolerating one of the worst Chanel makeovers ever, I went home, washed my face and reapplied Lift Lumiere. I used my LM primer then dotted a pump of foundation all over, then blended w/ my dampened w/ Fix+ MAC 187. It has medium coverage and covers my redness nicely. Faience 0.5 is a nice match for my NC15 skin. I really like the feel, it wears well and is oil free. A bit steep at $65, but well worth it.

EDIT 3/23/09
I wore this for about a month and decided it was making me oily. I had to blot way too often. It would be great for dry skin types, but my oily/combo skin couldn't take it. I returned it.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* beetee on 2/8/2009 11:48:00 AM more reviews by beetee

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Silver, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This is a very flattering foundation particularly for women of a certain age. For me the trick is to apply it over either moisturiser if I'm flaky or a primer if I'm not. I think it works best if you apply it sparingly. It doesn't look like anything special for the first 10 minutes or so but once it melds into your skin it is amazing. Pores and lines seem to vanish and your face really has that youthful glow that you want from a foundation. I put it on too heavily the first time I tried it and it was awful. It took me awhile to find the right amount but now that I have I'm really pleased with it. I use a slightly damp brush and a light touch and the result is more like the perfect tinted moisturiser than a full on foundation yet it covers any dark circles I might have and any other blemishes without looking mask-like or unnatural. I'm not sure if I'll be able to use this in the summer when my skin gets much oilier but as a cold weather foundation I doubt if this can be bettered.

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Chanel products

More Foundations products