Chanel • Lift Lumiere Fluid • Foundations

rated 4.1(77 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.68%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 flchick75 on 4/7/2009 9:49:00 AM more reviews by flchick75

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Wow, I just bought this when I was out of town last week. I had heard good things about Chanel Foundations and wanted to try them but never have because I was happy with my MAC foundation.Well I went to the mall and got suckered in by a sales woman but I am glad that I did!! I had just opened a new bottle of my MAC foundation but had to ditch it because I was so excited about this Lift Luminere Fluid that I couldn't wait to finish the one that was already open! Anyway, the sales woman that ended up putting the product on me (not the pushy one) was really good. I had told her that I like a more full coverage foundation (which I think it gives) and a more dewey look. My MAC gives me a full coverage with a matte finish and it seems to go on like a mask but not this stuff!!! I got the soft bisque 4.0 and this just seems to glide right on, provides this luminescence that I coudn't even get with my strobe cream from mac and it just melts right in, my pores are less noticable and the color is absolutely perfect. I don't think it does much lifting though so don't get persuaded by that marketing! Also, I too don't use a setting powder, I like the dewey/glowy affect and haven't tried it with powder because I don't want to ruin it. You could perhaps brush powder on your nose and forhead to wipe out shine and keep your cheeks powder free and have the best of both words. I just feel like I have REALLY good skin and it doesn't look like I have foundation on at all. This stuff is VERY expensive (and this is coming from a department store junkie), my eyes about bugged out of my head when she told me how much but it's such a great product that I may have to rebuy!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* semarie on 3/28/2009 12:38:00 AM more reviews by semarie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I really really loved this foundation when first applied. It gives a nice radiance on my skin and I had a great colormatch with cendre intensity 2.5. I had to powder down way too often, more than any foundation I've ever had and I decided this is just not meant for my combination skin. My tzone really comes across oily with this foundation after an hour. But, like I said, I really loved the look of this when I first applied it. I'm just not meant for this one right now. I paid $65 for it and had to return this and got the mat lumiere instead and was colormatched to beige. Lift lumiere would be great if you're normal to dry and looking for a little luminous radiance. It is definitely not meant for those with a tzone issue. I should have known, but somehow I got talked into getting this one instead of mat lumiere. My first instincts were correct and I shouldn't have doubted myself.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* colorcat on 3/10/2009 5:36:00 PM more reviews by colorcat

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Magical stuff. I have terrible luck with foundations: always have to combine at least 2 shades for a so-so color match, and have a difficult time finding something that works on my ridiculously dry skin...without being so heavy and oily it feels disgusting. Lift Lumiere fits the bill perfectly. It is not nearly as overtly moisturizing as Vitalumiere, so I thought it would not work for me. (I have long loved Vitalumiere--tho I do find it too heavy and thick, and the scent is strong, and the colors do not work for me!) With Lift Lumiere, as long as I moisturize thoroughly first, it works brilliantly. Even today, I didn't put quite enough moisturizer on before putting on the Lift Lumiere and I thought--damn, I'm going to look crepey and dry. But, as others have said, I let about 10-15 mins go by...and the magic happened. The foundation just...melded...with my skin. No caking or dry patches--just luminous and beautiful skin. I don't like to wear a lot of foundation, and I prefer sheer-ish coverage, so I use a little less than a pump of this for my whole face--again, as others have said, a little seems to go a long way with this. That relatively small amount perfectly evens my skin tone and make me glow--but never in an oily way. I've also mixed this 50/50 with moisturizer (on a particularly dry day) and the results were wonderful.

Color-wise, Ivoire works well for me. For once I don't have to mix 2 shades together! Very unusual for me--and especially with Chanel foundations (usually too yellow--even tho I have slightly yellow skin). I find this version of Ivoire to be slightly browner, rather than yellow as I find Gentle Ivory or as orange as I find Cameo in Vitalumiere. Ivoire seems to complement my skin color decently.
(UPDATE: 6 months later I still LOVE this foundation--but discovered (via photographs) that Ivoire is not the color for me. Too dark. I'm using Faience 0.5 now. It looks too light when I first put it on--then 5 minutes later is the perfect color on my skin. As I said before...magic.)

Overall, I strongly encourage other dry-skinned women, especially over 40, to try this one. Experiment a little. Use a fair amount of moisturizer first. And maybe use less foundation than you normally would at first. I hope, like me, you'll find this illuminates your skin beautifully. I have, after literally decades of looking, found my first Holy Grail foundation. Thank you, Chanel--and thanks all you MUA-ers who reviewed this and so encouraged me to give it a try!

(I will say that I can understand why less-dry-skinned people may not love this. I do get luminous from this, as I said. It's NOT at all oily on me: looks dewy and lovely yet my skin is dry to the touch. (Unlike with Vitalumiere, which is just plain oily, both in look and feel.) However, "luminous" or "dewy" might not be the look that naturally more oily-skinned people want.)

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 anniemcleod on 2/15/2009 1:49:00 PM more reviews by anniemcleod

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a really lovely foundation, but has too much shine for my liking in the t-zone. After waiting 10 minutes it looked very shiny. I applied some powder but then about an hour later my t-zone was looking shiny again and I hadn't even been outside. The lightest color, Faience 0.5 was a little too dark. This will be a perfect product for those with normal to dry skin if there is the right color for you. I might have even put up with the shine if there was a lighter color as it does add some youthfulness to the complexion.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jillyjill on 2/13/2009 3:54:00 PM more reviews by jillyjill

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

After using Teint Innocence and loving the finish, coverage and luminosity, my skin changed and became more oily. I went to check out Mat Lumiere, but the SA suggested Lift Lumiere. After tolerating one of the worst Chanel makeovers ever, I went home, washed my face and reapplied Lift Lumiere. I used my LM primer then dotted a pump of foundation all over, then blended w/ my dampened w/ Fix+ MAC 187. It has medium coverage and covers my redness nicely. Faience 0.5 is a nice match for my NC15 skin. I really like the feel, it wears well and is oil free. A bit steep at $65, but well worth it.

EDIT 3/23/09
I wore this for about a month and decided it was making me oily. I had to blot way too often. It would be great for dry skin types, but my oily/combo skin couldn't take it. I returned it.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* beetee on 2/8/2009 11:48:00 AM more reviews by beetee

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Silver, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This is a very flattering foundation particularly for women of a certain age. For me the trick is to apply it over either moisturiser if I'm flaky or a primer if I'm not. I think it works best if you apply it sparingly. It doesn't look like anything special for the first 10 minutes or so but once it melds into your skin it is amazing. Pores and lines seem to vanish and your face really has that youthful glow that you want from a foundation. I put it on too heavily the first time I tried it and it was awful. It took me awhile to find the right amount but now that I have I'm really pleased with it. I use a slightly damp brush and a light touch and the result is more like the perfect tinted moisturiser than a full on foundation yet it covers any dark circles I might have and any other blemishes without looking mask-like or unnatural. I'm not sure if I'll be able to use this in the summer when my skin gets much oilier but as a cold weather foundation I doubt if this can be bettered.

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tijanarm on 2/7/2009 6:40:00 AM more reviews by tijanarm

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I've been wanting to try this out ever since it first came out and when I read the review below the other day, I decided it was time to go and check it out. I completely agree with the reviewer below, however, I have to say my positive impressions about this fluid were not obvious immediately, even to me. I had the SA apply it on me (all over the face) and immediately I was sort of "hm, hm, nice but nothing special". So I decided to walk around the store for about 5-10 minutes and THEN looked myself in the mirror and absolutely LOVED what I saw. It is hard to describe exactly what it is that I saw (just like the reviewer below said, it's debatable whether there is any lifting), but I would probably describe it best as "softness" in my facial features and youthful glow. The results truly impressed me, especially since I am not into foundations at all (I honestly think of this more as a tinted moisturizer). If you are considering this fluid, keep in mind a few things:
1) I can see this working exceptionally well on dry skin. For normal to combo it may or may not work, depending on whether and how oily you normally get during the day (experiment with or without moisturizer underneath, this product has SPF 15 and is fairly moisturizing itself). I cannot see this working for oilier skins as it is not oil-absorbing and may make you more shiny. For some skin types this may be more of a "winter" vs. "summer" foundation.
2) This will not give you heavy coverage, but more dewy (non-shiny, though), luminous look. Although there is a light-to-medium coverage with this product, and will nicely cover minor imperfections (even out skin tone) if you are trying to hide major imperfections (e.g. acne scars, deep lines) this may not be for you. But, it did nicely tone down my dark circles under my eyes (I still need to use concealer, but that's because I have dark circles. For someone with not-so-dark circles, this may prove enough coverage) and it definitely brightens the eye area, too.
3) I do not use dusting powder to set this fluid and I strongly recommend that you don't in order to see the full beauty and effect of this product. I can see powder somewhat dulling the results of this gorgeous fluid. So, my advice, if you cannot pull off the "just fluid" look - there might be other better products for you out there so don't waste your money (this isn't cheap, it's $60 CAD).
4) Don't buy this without trying it out - both from the texture perspective, but also colour perspective. When I was choosing the colour I automatically reached for the lighter shade (20), but the SA recommended I also try one shade darker (30). Boy was she right! I would've never picked 30 as it looked too dark in the bottle for my light-olive complexion, but once she put both colors on (one on my one cheek and the other on the other cheek) I decided to go with 30, even though I technically could've pulled of both. It's just that 30 looked MUCH better. As I said, I would've never picked this colour for myself.
5) After you've tested this, put some blush/bronzer and give it 10 minutes or so before you look your full face in the mirror. This fluid needs a bit of time to properly "settle in" and show you your most beautiful face. Department store lights are not the best to show you how good this product is, however, you WILL notice the difference (especially in photos).
6) Price tag - this is expensive, as mentioned, $60 CAD for 30 ml.
Again, awesome product, highly recommended if you are in the right skin/age group and are willing to splurge.
UPDATE: I still think this is an awesome product, but I personally had to return it as it seems I am not in the right skin category to pull this off the way it should be worn (as I described). I just get waaaaay to shiny during the day. I guess I could wear it with primers and dusting powders, but it just dulls the effect down and this product does not deserve that. Again, make sure you try this out in the store before you buy (I obviously didn't do a good job of that), or even ask SA to give you a sample that you can take home and try one morning as your regular routine. I am really sad it didn't work for me, but I know there is a large group of ladies out there who will be extremely pleased with this product!

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Chanel products

More Foundations products