Philosophy • Hope in a Jar - for all skin types • Moisturizers

rated 2.8(1676 reviews)

Average Rating.2.8
Would buy this product again.39%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 emlah624 on 1/8/2009 1:00:00 AM more reviews by emlah624

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I actually bought hope in a jar with spf 20. Which I believe is much more moisturizing than the one without spf. I think this product is good for winter time, since it can be more drying. I recommend that people who have oily skin shouldnt use this product cause it can be pretty thick.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 foxyflo on 1/8/2009 12:24:00 AM more reviews by foxyflo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This did absolutely nothing for me. It smells awful. I would never recommend this to anyone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* FeatherHen on 1/7/2009 11:31:00 PM more reviews by FeatherHen

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

Worms and rainwater. Thatís the scent.


This stuff had better work miracles because Iíve had it on my face for over an hour and it smells just foul as it did when first applied. The fumes are making my eyes burn, making it unsuitable for daytime use. It's making my face burn a little as well, but I don't detect any redness.


Time will tell how well this product performs; however tolerating the odor long enough to find out will be a challenge.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 cmc1234 on 1/6/2009 3:45:00 PM more reviews by cmc1234

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I tried this a few years ago and something in it irritated my skin. It burned and turned bright red. Actually, all Philosoply products that I have tried have had the same effect. Got this as a sample from Sephora and same results. I'm glad it works for some people but definitely not for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* anuvasan on 1/6/2009 3:32:00 PM more reviews by anuvasan

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Oh well, this was 1.5 yrs back. I had dull skin and was not really regular with skin repair and maintenance due to other health issues.


Whenever i used yogurt mask, my face was really bright. So i thought if i purchase a good cream or lotion with lactic acid in it, it might be worth it. My hunt started. All my searches (darn search engines in drugstore.com and like) got me to philosophy hope in a jar. Price is expensive. So i had to think.


Ingredients:water, lauryl lactate, behenic acid, behenoxy dimethicone, glyceryl stearate se, glycerin, behenyl alcohol, cyclomethicone, pentaerythrityl tetracaprylate/tetracaprate, tocopheryl acetate, benzyl alcohol, retinyl palmitate, stearic acid, panthenol, betaglucan, lavandula angustifolia (lavender) oil, xanthan gum, triethanolamine, propylene glycol, methylparaben, propylparaben, diazolidinyl urea


Copied that from philosophy website. Lauryl lactate is not lactic acid...i came to know that the hard way :-(

Panthenol and betaglucan are ingredients which are promising for skincare, however it is not in first 5 ingredients. I have been reading ingredients list and trying to find out good dog food for so long.. so that practice eventually hit me now in skincare too, well it is worth researching..


Ok, is this a good buy? There are raving reviews...so based on that i did purchase (should have got a sample but i was so hopeful ). First week of application was in the night...i think i would definitely back a concept call PLACEBO EFFECT! So i thought all is great..until i saw my face in my 12x mag. mirror! Face was plugged with blackheads.

Immediately stopped..didnt apply anything for a week, except yogurt, honey..and aspirin mask. And only sunscreen in the AM..skin was back to almost normal.

It is very easy to get attracted to something endorsed by a celebrity especially a nice lady like Oprah! Mind is a very tricky thing.. it can get so convinced with marketing that we might end up losing hard earned money for a very cheap product like this under a big banner. I regret buying this and had to toss it off. This was the time i resolved myself to try basic things for skin care rather than looking into high end products.


Thanks for reading my review.


2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 thebeautyis on 1/6/2009 12:50:00 PM more reviews by thebeautyis

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I don't really understand why this is a cult product. I used to use Clinique Dramatically Different and switched over to this for about a month, just to see what all the hype was about. My skin looks worse, redness is more apparent, and my nose is still super dry. And it's really expensive. The only thing I like is the packaging - unlike the mosturizers you squeeze out like lotion, you can use every bit of this. Won't be buying this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 brendakay on 1/6/2009 10:11:00 AM more reviews by brendakay

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I have been trying this product for about 3 weeks now. So far I really like it. I am not that found of the smell but it does goaway once it is on my face. I have not had any problems with the product not soaking in my skin or breaking me out. I love to texture of the product. It almost feels like it is soothing to my skin. I would purchase this product again. I would like to now try all the products by philosphy.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Nokomi on 1/4/2009 4:47:00 PM more reviews by Nokomi

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This was nice, light and effective. However it has no sunscreen and is expensive. I don't think there's antioxidents in there and even if there were, the packaging would expose them to light and air, destroying them after the first few uses so they would be ineffective.

It is very nice, but I think there are better options out there that don't cost as much. I don't see the point in a lotion if it doesn't contain antioxidents.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 klsjackson on 1/3/2009 1:29:00 PM more reviews by klsjackson

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I got a sample of this from Sephora. The HIAJ with sunscreen. It was awful. It did not moisturize. It just sat on my face. It made me oily and effected the color of my powder foundation. Made it look muddy. I will not use again and definitely will not purchase. Save your money.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 bruno777 on 1/3/2009 3:21:00 AM more reviews by bruno777

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Dark, Cool   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I like this moisturizer in the winter months only. I have combination skin, however in the winter months my skin gets really dry so I use this at night and in the morning my skin is so smooth and soft. Use with a light hand. A little goes a long way. I would not recommend in the summer months if you have combination skin or oily skin, it would be too heavy. I took two lippies off because this moisturizer needs to come in normal to oily skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Philosophy products

More Moisturizers products