Philosophy Hope in a Jar - for all skin types

2.8

1696 reviews

39% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water (Aqua), Lauryl Lactate, Behenic Acid, behenoxy Dimethicone, Glyceryl stearate Se, Glycerin, Behenyl Alcohol, Pentaerythrityl Tetracaprylate/Tetracaprate, Cyclopentasiloxane, Tocopheryl Acetate, Benzyl Alcohol, Retinyl Palmitate, Cyclohexasiloxane, Stearic Acid, Panthenol, Beta Glucan, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Oil, Xanthan Gum, Triethanolamine, Propylene Glycol, Geraniol, Limonene, Linalool, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Diazolidinyl Urea


on 1/26/2009 10:37:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I had heard some great reviews of this product from various MUA's and figured I'd give it a shot. I'm always looking for a better moisturizer that doesn't clog pores, which the MUA's were saying it didn't do.

Let me first say that the smell is gag inducing! After the first day everything just went down hill. I put this on in the morning and couldn't identify what the smell was in my car and when I got to work it started to lightly burn me (which is a first)! I quickly washed it off and vowed to not use it again - haven't had any problems since!

I'm glad some people like it, the consistency was nice, it wasn't incredibly oily and I loved the simple packaging.



Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have to add my 2 cents for this product because never have I had a moisturizer work for my oily/acne prone skin. It is AWESOME. I don't mind the scent, it fades anyhow and eh, I kindof like it. The packaging is ok, a jar with screw on lid. A little goes a long, long way. When I first tried this, I got a small sample from sephora which lasted me an entire month, unheard of for me. It is a whipped consitency, not heavy at all and not greasy feeling, leaving my skin soft and never oily. I also use purity and mirodelivery exfoliating wash and these work great for me managing my unmanagable skin. Definately HG material and don't usually say stuff like that.


on 1/26/2009 6:28:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Dry, Dark, Warm

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Black

I got a sample from a purchase at Sephora. I wanted to like this but it just isn't for me. The smell of lavender mixed with burnt plastic is too much for me. Also, I don't see that it does anything special to my skin. Its very light which is good, but that seems to be the only good thing about it.


on 1/25/2009 4:16:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I used this for many years and loved it but when i had a spot of skin cancer removed from my face I needed something with SPF. The new version with SPF is just different than the original. Very Greasy and broke me out. I liked it because my face was rosy and so soft but not worth chancing another skin cancer episode. I've started using Caudalie day perfecting cream w/ SPF 15 and love it.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought the .5 oz for $15. I have never bought anything so small for so much.I heard people rave about this on the sephora website, but it personally doesn't work that well for me. It smells awful, and it moisturize my face somewhat, but not enough. I probably won't buy this product again, unless they lower the price.


on 1/24/2009 6:50:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

While some don't like the scent of this product, I find it kind of clean and synthetic smelling (which I like). Anyway, within a minute the scent goes away. Even though this is a cream, it is lightweight and fluffy. A little goes a long way and it exfoliates my skin gently. Every time I try something else, I always come back to my old standby, Hope I A Jar.


on 1/24/2009 1:50:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I received a sample of this from Macy's and I'm soooo glad I have never paid money for it because the stink is so overwhelming it made me literally gag! I had to wash my face again after putting it on because I could not take the stench. Then I sprayed perfume on by the gallon to help mask the toxic cloud this product left behind. Seriously, do people actually pay money for this stuff? I can't even describe how awful the smell is.....sort of like old, rotten fish, sweaty shoes, sour milk and bad litterbox. If you're tempted to buy this product, go stick your face in the dumpster behind McDonald's and save your money. You'll get the same effect.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/23/2009 6:31:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Holy nightmere, the smell!!! Ugh, almost washed my face again after putting this on. It was an ok hydrator, not great. This was a Sephora sample and thank goodness for that. I thought I'd give it a fair try for a few days but I just can't do it. The smell is is so overwhelming, I can't explain it. Will never buy this.


on 1/21/2009 6:07:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Tan, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Like some other reviewers, I received this as a Beauty Insider gift at Sephora. All I can say is, THANK GOODNESS it was a sample and I didn't have to pay for it. The light, whipped texture is actually nice, and it does a decent job of hydrating my skin. But I just can't get past the SMELL! For starters, I absolutely can not stand the scent of lavender, and Hope in a Jar just overwhelms me with it. It literally turns my stomach.

Once, while in Nordstrom, I was walking past the Philosophy counter and got into some small talk with the sales rep. I told her I HATED the smell of Hope in a Jar, and she agreed! She said it smelled like fish. It's pretty bad if even the sales lady can't get behind the product. Not to mention, HIAJ is kinda on the expensive side. I would never buy this.


on 1/19/2009 6:58:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I got this as a deluxe sample from Sephora what a waste. I am glad I did not spend money on this its way too expensive. It is just okay I have used better drugstore products and I have a drugstore phobia. Anyway this did not moisturize enough My skin feels soft but I would like more moisture for my dry spots if I put this too close to my eyes it burns. I don't like the smell either.


Popular Moisturizers


Moisturizing Cream
1267 Reviews
Strobe Cream
432 Reviews
Sweet Almond Oil
197 Reviews
Back to Top