Philosophy • Hope in a Jar - for all skin types • Moisturizers

rated 2.8(1638 reviews)

Average Rating.2.8
Would buy this product again.39%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 rbhint on 11/23/2008 5:56:00 PM more reviews by rbhint

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I have extremely dry skin and the regular formulation Hope in a Jar was not moisturizing enough. I decided to try the dry and sensitive skin formulation and love it! I really don't notice the smell at all. I think its a good thing heavy fragrance is not used in this product! I would recommend the dry formulation for anyone with normal or dry skin!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 megbenoit on 11/18/2008 8:48:00 PM more reviews by megbenoit

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

OMG! I really regret not reading the reviews before I bought this product. Luckily I only bought the small jar of it (still $16 bucks!!!) I totally agree with everyone that the smell is awful. I've used it for almost 2 weeks now hoping that the results would be worth it....but its not. I havent noticed a single difference in my skin, still dry in places. I usually stay oily in the tzone but dry in the cheeks and between my brows, needless to say I'm still dry...plus my face stinks. :( yuck

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 JKreider on 11/16/2008 2:55:00 PM more reviews by JKreider

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have only been able to use this product once. I just could not get over the smell! I actually had to put something else over this to try to mask the smell because it was making me sick to my stomach. If you are sensitive to smells (and I am not), please steer clear from this one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 tiny101 on 11/15/2008 1:06:00 AM more reviews by tiny101

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I read some pretty awesome reviews for this product, which resulted in me buying it myself! It really evens out my complexion, but only to a certain extent.
[ PROS ] - very light and so you only need a small amount for each application, absorbs fairly quickly, evens out complexion to a certain degree, did not irritate my skin
[ CONS ] - poor packaging (jar is fairly unsanitary), smells a little bit heavy and plastic-like, pricey, is not quite moisturizing enough (esp. for winter)
I would repurchase this again, but in the winter, I wouldn't be that eager to ... perhaps only in the summer time!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mitali79 on 11/14/2008 10:20:00 PM more reviews by mitali79

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

After hearing people rave about this moisturizer for a very long time I finally decided to try it. About three weeks ago my skin began to seriously react to seasonal cooling and drier air. I bought the smallest jar of this on Sephora and starting using it two weeks ago. Already I can tell that this is going to become my HG moisturizer.
The scent is lavender-esque - but definitely odd. It doesn't bother me as it does some people (and it doesn't bother my boyfriend either!) I absolutely love, love, love the texture of this cream! It's velvety but not heavy, and best of all, it sinks into my skin perfectly. There are two primary reasons why I will continue to repurchase this moisturizer: 1) it has not caused a single breakout and 2) it has not caused me any irritation whatsoever. I can even use it around my eyes without experiencing any burning, which is a big deal. The skin around my eyes reacts to just about everything - I've never found an eye cream that does not cause burning.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SensualSusanna on 11/14/2008 10:49:00 AM more reviews by SensualSusanna

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I can't get past the smell of this to judge it's moisturizing properties. The texture is whipped and almost plastic like --- but the smell is like rotting eggs. Bad.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 eethomps on 11/13/2008 8:13:00 PM more reviews by eethomps

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

When I tried this moisturizer I thought it was going to make my combination skin look oily. I was wrong! I absolutely love this stuff. My skin is beautiful now, thanks to this miracle potion!

And...the smell really isn't that bad. I think it smells a little herbal, like lavender.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 imagerl on 11/13/2008 12:29:00 PM more reviews by imagerl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I was really excited to try this product, and was very disapointed with it. Like others have said, the smell of it s really horrible. My boyfriend won't let me near him after I apply it. I've used the whole tub of it, and I don't see a change in my skin at all. I have very dry skin, especially in the winter months, and this product doesn't give me enough moisture at all. Although I actually liked the light whipped texture of the cream, it wasn't enough for me to want to buy it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* eritreanempress on 11/13/2008 10:53:00 AM more reviews by eritreanempress

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly   Eyes: Black    

I like this moisturizer. It's has a whipped consistency and is extremely concentrated so you only need a dab of it and you're good to go. I really hate the smell (herbal,lemony,rancid)and don't understand why these cosmetics company's feel the need to drown their products in fragrance.I don't think that it is worth the price considering you can get this in a drugstore for cheaper and fragrance free.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 melissav1981 on 11/9/2008 3:23:00 PM more reviews by melissav1981

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I bought a tiny jar of this at Sephora for $15 and I'm happy I only bought the tiny jar instead of dishing out the exorbitant amount of cash needed to purchase the regular size. I liked the consistency of the lotion when I was scooping it out of the jar but that's about it. It left my face feeling sticky and after two days of use, I broke out badly on areas of my face where I never break out. It doesn't moisturize and it smells weird, I can't believe Philosophy gets away with charging so much for this stuff. Once again I'll be going back to my Cetaphil cream, I guess I should learn my lesson and stop trying the expensive moisturizers out there because most of them tend to be overpriced crap.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Philosophy products

More Moisturizers products