Make Up For Ever • HD High Definition Foundation • Foundations

rated 3.6(2145 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 Musa15 on 1/3/2012 2:49:00 PM more reviews by Musa15

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I received 2 huge samples of this foundation in two shades 118 and 120 from Sephora, I am an NC25. I really loved the 118 as far as color match goes, it was perfect, and my neck and chest actually matched my face. BUT it does NOT last on me at all. I am not even super oily and it's winter!! I tried this with a primer (smashbox) and without a primer, I tried it with moisturizer and without moisturizer, I tried a sponge application, a buffing brush application, a stippling brush application and my fingers, i set it with every powder I own carebelnd, blot, studio fix...but it didn't change the fact that it wouldn't stay on my face. It looks perfect as soon as you apply it but I'd say within 2-3 hours it looks like a mess my blush looks all blotchy and I had to keep applying blot powder but it just ended up looking cakey with all the powder I ended up using. I'm used to pro longwear, which doesn't even need setting powder and it looks perfect all day, maybe I am being spoiled? I'd say this is wonderful for pictures, as I had some taken of me on New Years within an hour of application and my face looks pore less and awesome, but it doesn't last on me throughout the night. Thumbs down!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Rwood1 on 1/1/2012 11:57:00 PM more reviews by Rwood1

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

MUFE is my MUST HAVE FOUNDATION!!!!!! I LOVE LOVE LOVE this Hd foundation, Makes you look FLAWLESS in photo's. Even if you have numerous blemishes.
I ALWAYS use a MUFE full coverage concealer and then this foundation and set with a translucent powder or if i'm out of translucent powder I find that using my Mac powder and a little MUFE HD powder does the job!
Expensive but you DEF pay for the quality, It lasts long time too =)!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 totalmakeupjunkie98 on 1/1/2012 11:07:00 PM more reviews by totalmakeupjunkie98

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love this foundation!! The first time I bought it though, I got colormatched to the wrong shade. The lady decided to give me the third lightest shade even though I have pretty tan skin. That made sense. Anyways now that I have my right shade I love this!!(: I found that stippling this foundation is the best way to get full coverage. Swirling it or rubbing it will sheer it out. The best part about it though is how true it is to the HD name! My skin looks amazing in pictures and in 720p and 1080p videos. It's weird because this liquid foundation is so much more lightweight than the powder foundation I was using. I feel lie I'm not wearing anything!! The lasting power is really nice too. I put this on about 6:45 and school ends about 2:30. My skin looks flawless and perfect all day! <3 The only bad thing is that if I run out I'm screwed because I'm broke as a joke. But still everyone should buy this!!(: <3 no joke.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* edgexofxdesire on 1/1/2012 6:26:00 PM more reviews by edgexofxdesire

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

To preface, I have very oily skin that sits somewhere between NC20 and NC25 with primarily olive undertones and some redness. I generally steer towards more yellow based foundations so I picked this up in #117, which is admittedly not the best color for me as it is very light. But 120, which is one yellow based shade darker than 117, made me look orange and 123, which is the palest olive shade they have, was just too dark. But in the winter I have a tricky skintone that really never matches to any foundation, so I have to work with what I have. But that's not my main issue with this product. When I first apply it, it's amazing. I've never had such a flawless and natural looking foundation in my life (aside from Nars Sheer Glow, but that's a bit more 'glowy' than I would like). The MUFE HD genuinely looks like perfect, radiant skin. I follow up with my HG Maybelline Dream Matte Powder and figure I'll be set for a good 8 hours at least, right? Wrong. Less than four hours later my foundation has completely disappeared from my Tzone..and considering that's where I actually need decent coverage, that doesn't cut it. And this is with a primer and a setting powder. Talk about disappointing. I'm trying everything I can to try and get the most wear-time out of this foundation, but so far it's topping out at four hours every day. I guess it just can't hold up to my oily skin :( If anything changes and I find the miracle way to make this last, I'll update my rating. But for now this barely gets a 3 from me, simply for packaging, color range and the fact that it looks amazing while it lasts.

Update #1: exchanged for shade 118, which is a significantly better match, despite it having more beige undertones. Also picked up the Urban Decay De-Slick spray, so I'm hoping that helps with the staying power. Will update with results.

Update #2 (12/2/2013): I really do love this so much...I just wish I could get it to stay! Primer, foundation, powder and setting spray...and I'm still oily after 5-6 hours. It's not enough to keep me from using this, though! I'm willing to blot my face a few times a day if it means my skin looks as good as it does with this foundation. It's as close to perfect I've found this far. Upped to a 4/5.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 DCarter23103 on 1/1/2012 3:07:00 PM more reviews by DCarter23103

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Green    

I use shade 117 and this is an excellent foundation. Very natural looking but buildable. Goes on easily and you need very little to cover a lot when using a foundation brush. I finish with the HD finishing powder and the finish lasts all day. Definitely worth the money.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Merina on 1/1/2012 11:48:00 AM more reviews by Merina

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I am in love with this foundation. Yes it's $40 for 1 oz, but I think it's worth it. I'm a MAC NC40 and wear MUFE in 140 which is meant for those with medium skin with dark yellow undertones. I find it to be a tad too yellow so maybe I should try 127 Dark Sand instead. It gives full coverage without feeling cakey. It stays fresh pretty much all day long and is so silky smooth to apply.

Pros: Pump bottle. 2 pumps covers my whole face. Coverage. Satin finish. Wide selection of shades.

Cons: Price. Awkward huge bottle. Wish they made if taller and skinnier as it'd be easier for me to store but that's my personal preference.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Desilovesmakeup on 12/31/2011 5:52:00 PM more reviews by Desilovesmakeup

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

this foundation is amazing!!! i love this because of the full coverage it gives me! u can build it up and it wont look cakey at all. i have tried soo many different foundations and this is the one i keep coming back too and i recommend it, if ur looking for a full coverage. its the perfect color for me! i am number 125, although whenever i go to sephora they are always out of that color! Especially now for the holidays. Its a mission finding that color but thank god there was another sephora across the street. just set it with a powder because it is luminous, so after that its amazing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* emmgill on 12/30/2011 7:37:00 PM more reviews by emmgill

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love everything about this product. At first I didn't like it at all but I think that's because I tried it in winter and it's not great for dry skin. This has so many shades to choose from. I am number 120. It fits me perfectly.

This foundation makes your skin look so natural and radiant without looking like you have a huge amount of make up. i use my sigma flat head foundation brush to put this on. this is buildable as well if my skin is breaking out for whatever reason. This foundation builds well also. I tend to have a few different foundations because my skin changes to dry/ oily. So I use this in summer as well as my Laura mercier it red SPF 20 oil free moisture mixed with the radiance tinted.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 betteefelon on 12/30/2011 5:56:00 PM more reviews by betteefelon

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this product on the strength of others' recommendations. It's a pretty good product, but I didn't fall in love. I liked the wide range of skin tones, which provided a pretty good match, and the coverage was very good. It was highly blendable and pretty buildable without looking cakey. The reason I wouldn't buy it again, though, is that I didn't like the "finish" -- it looked very matte, which to me seemed unnatural. I'm used to my foundation having a little more luminosity. It was somewhat pricey ($40), and because I wasn't totally thrilled, for the price I wouldn't buy it again. Anyway, I can see why some people rave, but it wasn't for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 vsecret on 12/30/2011 1:12:00 AM more reviews by vsecret

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I'm kind of on the fence with this foundation. There are good things about it, like the fact that it's light weight. However, I find that this foundation gives only sheer coverage and that would explain the light weight feeling. I keep going back and forth between this and MAC studio fix fluid. The only reason I stopped using MAC was because I could never find the right shade for me. But with MUFE I found the perfect shade. I just wish it gave more coverage. I actually have clear skin, but there are those occasional breakouts and I find this foundation doesn't cut it. But if you are looking for sheer coverage, then yes this is a terrific foundation. If you want something with even medium coverage, look elsewhere!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Make Up For Ever products

More Foundations products