Make Up For Ever • HD High Definition Foundation • Foundations

rated 3.6(2206 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* amnahp12 on 2/27/2012 12:24:00 AM more reviews by amnahp12

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is, for now, only a first impression review. I will continue to update it as I get more experience out of using the product :) [I normally hate reviews written after only initial impressions but ...eh.]

Despite the fact that MAC matched me to NC37, then at my insistence NC35, then NC30 [ALL of which were too dark and above all ORANGE/yellow for me], I was matched for my winter shade to MUFE HD 120. And keep in mind that seems almost freakishly pale when you realize I'm South Asian. It's a perfect match. So perfect that I was annoyed at trying to find a shade since a couple looked so close. So perfect that it annoys me when it's on because I can't tell it's actually there. So, MUFE gets 11/10 for color choices.

My skin would normally be dry to normal, but it's dehydrated and acts excessively dry. Doesn't flake, because I use oil-based moisturizers. [Meaning...oils. Yippee!] When the MA put this on my face in Sephora, it seemed a little powdery and definitely not 'luminous' or anything amazing like I was hoping for after all I'd been hearing. In fact, it looked like a slight evening out and covering up acne scars. I'm not uneven or blotchy at all, but I do have quite a bit of blemishes and scars. Not a ton, the scars aren't super dark, but the blemishes are VERY difficult to cover up, particularly because my skin is no longer completely smooth. Wore off the blemishes much too easily when I tried to gently bat on blush, but that would happen with any foundation .... Still, this did a decent job and felt airy light. Did NOT look good with the HD powder - I know others like it, but my skin and the current environment are so dry that all it did was make the tested half of my face look powdery and slightly ashy. It was hours, in fact, before I could see even a small hint of the 'luminosity' so raved about. Once again, I USE OILS AS A MOISTURIZER lol. So it should have showed up immediately. And even then, not really .... I like a satiny 'dewy' effect.

When I applied it myself (using fingers; I feel like brushes will waste too much of this very expensive product), it seemed really too liquidy, even though I realize it's highly pigmented. I did have to do a second layer over the scarring. The first didn't seem to do anything on my face at all. Still nothing horrendously special, BUT, very nice coverage considering how light it is. But then my mom wanted to try my sample, and omg. What a difference. I didn't see her put it on, but when I saw her I remarked how glowy her face was. And this is a woman in her fifties that never wears makeup and put on a very sheer layer. And then throughout the night she got compliments on her skin [she normally does anyway, she has great skin for her age, but still - more so than usual] It actually DID give her that luminosity, immediately. So, yes, I'm plenty jealous. And that definitely shows the different ways it can react to different skin chemistries. Still, her layer was so sheer she might as well use a TM.

I'll keep trying and let you know my updated thoughts :) I had high hopes, but I'm trying to be critical, so hopefully it will grow on me or give me more insights :)

Oh one GREAT thing I do have to say - it did not oxidize on either me or my mum. Whoohoo!

update April 2012

Okay. I have to change my initial review. At first I wasn't too impressed, but the more I use it, the more I like it. Granted, I don't get a 'flawless face' like others do, because my face is itself not flawless. It does not cover up bumps. Actually, nothing covers my bumps. Sigh. And it will wear off those parts of my face. But since this is unavoidable, I won't include it in the review. For the perfect parts of anyone's skin, this looks amazing. It has a gorgeous, glowy skin finish. But the win factor [other than the amazing color selection] is the INSANELY small amount you have to use to cover your whole face! I am STILL working off the Sephora sample, and I have used it for full makeup, many, many times and am only halfway through. Shocking.

I stopped using oils on my face and stopped using fingers to apply. Ironically I am using less foundation. I take my brush and dip it THE SLIGHTEST bit into the liquid - just a couple hairs get covered, all in all maybe the volume of two small drops, or one regular sized 'drop.' This covers my ENTIRE face, including my very very scarry, blemishy areas. I dot it onto my cheeks, then stipple, then use downward strokes, then buff. It settles into the lines at my mouth periodically throughout the day, and I rub that away. I do not use this with powder, it would look terrible with my already dry skin. Keep in mind that all the foundations people raved about having to use very little of, I would always have to use more than 'very little.' Especially MAC studio sculpt [UGH].

Anyway. At this rate I see a bottle of this lasting me forever. The pigmentation, color selection, viscosity/texture, lasting power, skin finish, everything about this foundation is superb. I have yet to make myself look like a movie star, but this is as close as I'm getting on my own and left to my own devices.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Mhgroener on 2/25/2012 11:52:00 PM more reviews by Mhgroener

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Lovely natural coverga

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 hrhirene on 2/24/2012 3:29:00 PM more reviews by hrhirene

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I've tried this in literally every shade that comes remotely close to my skin color and NOTHING matches. Either there's a geisha thing going on or I'm orange. There seems to be no in between. I don't like this foundation enough to try mixing anything, unfortunately, or I'd go that route. There ARE a lot of color choices, so hopefully you'll have better luck finding one if you decide to try this. It applies nicely, and offers kind of a dewy finish... I say kind of, because something struck me as being a little off about it. It was almost plasticky. I love a dewy finish, but this one was just a little weird and shiny or something. I don't know. I just didn't really like the finish on my skin. It does cover pretty well, but I'm not convinced that it's very buildable.

There are some major issues with this foundation, though. The biggest one is the lack of staying power. Obviously, it doesn't work very well with my skin type, since it is literally sliding off and caking after one to two hours. More than three hours and it has disappeared from my t-zone entirely and my entire face feels unbelievably disgusting. I've tried this at least five separate times and every time it seems to get worse. I've tried with moisturizer, without moisturizer, with primer and without. It just doesn't seem to matter. In fact it might even be worse with a primer. Additionally, it broke me out BADLY on my chin. I haven't had a breakout like this in a year or more...

It's definitely a one-star product for me. Very disappointing since it seems to work so well for other people, but I guess I'll keep looking.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 snowwhite91 on 2/23/2012 9:56:00 PM more reviews by snowwhite91

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I had really high hopes for this foundation, and was really excited to try it. After hearing all the hype and having it recommended to me at my local Sephora, I finally decided to give into the fact that it was 40 dollars to have a foundation that wasn't drugstore and promised flawless, "HD" like skin. I was completely disappointed. I have very fair/porcelain skin with yellow undertones and the lightest shade offered 110 was way too pink based, despite the fact that my Sephora consultant matched me to it... I found that it enhanced the red undertones in my skin, and not only that, it was very drying and gave a plastic, tight effect, it was weird. It also didn't have enough coverage and agin seemed to enhance the redness of my blemishes instead of covering them up. That is the last time I will buy a non-drugstore foundation.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ninjagirl1979 on 2/23/2012 6:39:00 PM more reviews by ninjagirl1979

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Other    

I REALLY wanted to love this. It just doesn't work on my skin. I have large pores and a REALLY oily T Zone. Even with primer, this just doesn't hold up. It sinks into my pores and into fine lines. My search continues!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 KOuilhon on 2/23/2012 2:24:00 PM more reviews by KOuilhon

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I love this foundation! A friend recommended it and I'm so glad she did. I was using MAC face and body foundation before, but I found that it was super wet and slick after applying, even after waiting awhile. My setting powder would get all gooey and it just didn't look quite right. I love this MUFE foundation because it's still light and almost fluffy in it's application. Does not feel cakey at all, but still hides imperfections well. I dust some mineral powder on top to complete the look. Love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 exoticmakeup1234 on 2/23/2012 9:14:00 AM more reviews by exoticmakeup1234

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

LOVE this foundation ! it lasts longer than any other foundation i've tried . Its a little pricy but worth the money.i use this with smashbox photofinish primer and leaves it even more amazing!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dmeister3 on 2/15/2012 10:16:00 PM more reviews by dmeister3

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond, Curly   Eyes: Blue    

I am yet another person who is in LOVE with this foundation! First of all: PUMP! I love the pump! It's so silly for companies to make foundations without pumps.
I apply this with my Sigma F82 and I love the flawless finish it gives me. I'm in the color 110 and it matches like a dream. I am someone with an uneven skin tone and a fair amount of blemishes (probably due to my non-existant skin care routine xD) and it covers everything very well, I just use a bit of under eye concealer since my brush won't fit under my eye without stabbing it.
I orignally bought this because my Matte Velvet + was just too drying for the winter time, but I think I actually might love this foundation more!
I have decently dry skin and it doesn't really dry me out or flake, which is good. I use it with a powder (and even if I don't) it lasts all day and has minimal transferring. I will definately repurchase again and again.

EDIT: After about 2 weeks of use I have noticed my skin breaking out like CRAZY..and it's a little itchy so I'm unsure what is really going on since I'm not allergic to virtually anything. I'm going to keep using the foundation though to see what happens when I up my skincare.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Hamlanabean on 2/14/2012 1:41:00 AM more reviews by Hamlanabean

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Love this product, goes on smooth, texture is rich and there are so many shades to choose from you will find a match! It's good to use a finishing powder because if you have oily skin it'll show. So use a finishing powder and you'll look flawless.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 alexandradelc on 2/12/2012 4:44:00 PM more reviews by alexandradelc

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I'm in love with this foundation, I've heard so many great things about it i decided to buy it for once and try it myself, i love how natural it looks , you don;t feel it and it lasts long! It matches perfectly my skin tone and it doesn't make me break out I would definitely recommend this foundation!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Make Up For Ever products

More Foundations products