Make Up For Ever • HD High Definition Foundation • Foundations

rated 3.6(2155 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 ericaXo on 1/8/2012 7:00:00 PM more reviews by ericaXo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Hazel    

Pros:
- GREAT color selection. This is the first foundation I have found that actually fits my fair skin without being to pink
- Silky texture
- Good coverage
- Weightless on the skin

Cons:
- Expensive
- Not good for oily skin

I have combination skin that leans more dry in the winter (for reference) The first few hours of wear is amazing, my skin really does look flawless. After about 6 hours I do notice some shine on my nose and forehead, but nothing major. To me its not a big deal to just touch up with some powder, it fixes the problem. I don't feel like you get a dewy finish with this foundation initially, but definitely at the end of the day it appears more dewy. There are a lot of negative reviews, but that because this foundation will not be good if you have oily skin. Use a good primer, set with powder. If your unsure of how it will work for you, ask the SA at sephora to give you a free sample, that's what I did.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 flowerlover on 1/8/2012 2:00:00 PM more reviews by flowerlover

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Not worth the money. Nice feel going on but doesn't look better on me that other foundations I have tried. No moist look on my dry face.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 cahall2 on 1/7/2012 6:11:00 PM more reviews by cahall2

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This was recommended my the SA at Sephora, and it hasn't worked well for me. My skin is combination, but tends toward dry. The texture and application of the foundation was great, and in the first 15 minutes after application it looked good. BUT it started to break apart on my skin after only about an hour - I have honestly never seen my skin look so oily! I don't know how this product does this, but it makes my skin look as greasy as a 17 year old kid working all day over a french fryer!
The product is buildable, which is nice, and they seem to have a good color selection (I'm usually pretty difficult to match). If this happens to work well with your skin type, I could see it being a nice product, but it definitely was not for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 silvia85 on 1/7/2012 3:19:00 PM more reviews by silvia85

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

A good foundation, but nothing worth the hype. I love it because of the colour match and silky texture. However, the coverage and staying power are very weak for such a pricey foundation and - although the colour is quite right for me - it makes my skill dull and not healthy looking.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Jeni0874 on 1/7/2012 9:07:00 AM more reviews by Jeni0874

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I love this stuff! Yes it's expensive, but I only use a tiny bit at a time so it lasts a good while. It gives my fair skin a much-needed boost by evening it out and giving it a soft glow. It's fine for every day use, but I especially love to use it when I'm going out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jenanasaurusrex on 1/6/2012 9:58:00 PM more reviews by jenanasaurusrex

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I think the consistency is really nice, but it has hardly any coverage (for me at least). Definitely not my favorite, especially for the price. I'm in the lightest color and I have a ton of rosacea on my cheeks. After I use this, I have to pile on the concealer. Not my favorite thing to do.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 allthatglimmers on 1/5/2012 7:34:00 PM more reviews by allthatglimmers

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love this product!! It gives me a flawless look even though I have a couple bumps on my forehead this foundation gave my skin a flawless glow even with the little bumps! It covers up redness good and you can chose whether you want more coverage with building or sheer coverage but even with the sheer coverage you still have that look to you. Such as my cheeks don't really break out and they are lighter than my forehead and chin so this evens out my skin tone and it leaves my cheeks super soft! This doesn't make me break out I have the perfect shade and it works great! Love this STUFF but it's expensive so BareEscentuals it is on a regular day.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Lb8189 on 1/5/2012 7:08:00 PM more reviews by Lb8189

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Grey    

This foundation looks great on my very dry skin when first applied; however, as soon as I add the MUFE powder it starts to look cakey and flakey dry. Also as many others have said it looks best when lightly applied, but I have a lot of freckles on my nose and when I try to lightly cover them up it doesn't work so well... I don't have any blemishes so not a problem there. It does give an even toned look which is a plus for me and I absolutely love the pump. it doesn't seem to last long on me at alll, it caused crazy blotchiness even when I use urban decay DEW ME setting spray, I can't imagine what it would look like if I didn't use a setting spray. I do have to say though about an hour after application skin looks flawless in photos! I use shade 145.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 thelaziestKitty on 1/4/2012 8:31:00 AM more reviews by thelaziestKitty

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have this in the shade 153. It has a really nice natural finish that is dewy without being oily. It applies really nicely with a stippling brush and this method gives me much more coverage than using a more traditional foundation brush

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Magnificus on 1/3/2012 9:22:00 PM more reviews by Magnificus

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have combination skin that can get very dry in the winter, but somehow this foundation ends up making my face very oily - especially so if I don't use a powder on top. I think this would be better for normal to dry skin.

That being said, this foundation provides a light/medium coverage and will look cakey if you try to build it to full coverage. I'm an NC25 in MAC and the shade #123 matches me best. It does come in a lot of other colors, which makes matching a lot easier.

Personally, I'm satisfied with the coverage this gives me and how natural it looks when applied properly. It hides minor imperfections like light acne scarring and some redness. Your skin doesn't look matte or dewy, but it has the sheen a bare face has - if that makes sense. Another plus, is that this doesn't break me out.

I find that it's best to apply this foundation with a damp sponge, because any other method seems to apply this too heavily and doesn't blend well enough.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Make Up For Ever products

More Foundations products