Make Up For Ever • HD High Definition Foundation • Foundations

rated 3.6(2190 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* basmah on 2/10/2012 3:44:00 PM more reviews by basmah

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

This foundation is definitely not a good winter foundation for me. It tends to stick to dry patches, even after using a good moisturizer. This is less of a problem during the summer, when my skin tends to be more oily. I also hate the fact that the lightest colour is not available in my country, as that one is my best colour match. I tend to prefer a lighter coverage that can be build to a medium. This foundation on me is more a medium to full coverage foundation and I find it hard to sheer out. It also feels heavy on my face (probably due to the fact that I'm used to lighter foundations). I think this is a great foundation for people with normal/combination and perhaps even oily skin who prefermedium to full coverage. However, I am not one of those people and therefore would not repurchase this foundation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 VintageRain on 2/10/2012 3:24:00 PM more reviews by VintageRain

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

I purchased this foundation as I heard it was one of Kim Kardashians favourite foundations and I admire her flawless make up look, although I found it hard trying to track this foundation down at first but when I did I was hesitant as it seemed quite expensive but looked good so I thought I would just go for it as it would be worth it.

Another problem I had was trying to determine my shade over the internet but I eventually choose Golden Beige which turned out too dark for my everyday make up and instead I used it for going clubbing and when I had faked tanned. I was glad I choose a shade I could use along with my fake tan as I had got it for it's HD quality and especially for events in which photos would be taken. I personally didn't think it was that special though and it made my skin feel very oily when applying it. However, this did make it easier to blend.

I didn't hate the product but I personally thought it could be a lot better and I had really high expectations and the foundation just didn't match what I was hoping the foundation would do. I have tried cheaper foundations in which have been a lot better suited to my skin. I doubt I will be purchasing the foundation again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 KNGU on 2/8/2012 10:12:00 PM more reviews by KNGU

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using this foundation for about three months now and I am confident that I will not be switching to anything else soon. For reference, I'm NC 30 and use 127 Dark Sand and I apply this with a dense, flat-top brush. The finish is flawless and dewy on my combination skin. I use finishing powder if I want a more matte look. It does not break me out! Even though it is a full-coverage foundation, it's very natural looking and lasts all day. I know this is gross but to prove my point I kept it on while at the gym. Sweat was dripping down my face and after I was all done and dried off, the foundation did not smear off at all!!! I still looked fresh-faced. Please try this foundation. Ask for a sample if you're not convinced. Everybody must try it!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 raychel2661 on 2/8/2012 10:02:00 PM more reviews by raychel2661

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I've had this foundation for about 6 months in the shade 120. It's generally a pretty good foundation. My skin is not oily but my driest areas are my cheeks and sides of my lip. I find this foundation covers pretty well, but doesn't completely cover the slight darkspots i have from acne scaring. I use about 1.5 pumps and apply with a normal (paddle shaped) foundation brush and get a satin finish, not matte but not overly dewy, so dewy-ish I guess? Packaging I find is really chunky looking so I don't like that but I like that it has a pump applicator. Doesn't make skin break out my I find I have to use a heavy moisturizer in order to avoid my skin from feeling dehydrated around my dry spots.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* racheroonie on 2/7/2012 10:10:00 PM more reviews by racheroonie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I initially was skeptical about this product. My skin is very sensitive and has only shown to do well with one foundation- Almay's TLC. I tried this with the help of a helpful Sephora girl. The liquid is light, creamy and smooth, and goes on easily. The coverage is medium-to heavy. It goes well with the concealer and Microfinish powder. I definitely would recommend using the primer, concealer, foundation, and microfinish powder for the best effect. It creates a flawless finish.

This foundation never makes me break out, but could be a little oily for oilier skins. The packaging is amazing, but the product itself is definitely pricey. You're looking at over $100 for the set. To me, good make-up is well worth the money.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 slyo on 2/7/2012 2:21:00 PM more reviews by slyo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I wear this foundation for daily use.
I know it says full coverage/hd but it is far too moisturizing for my oily/combination skin to wear out at night/anywhere I might sweat-- since it will just melt off my face. I like how natural this foundation looks, I don't think it covers as well as my other full-coverage foundations, and I don't think it lasts anywhere near as long as my mac foundation. I use this because it is extremely fast and easy to apply and blend in, feels extremely light on my face, and gives me just enough coverage to go out and do the things I need to do. I have not tested this foundation for photo quality, but I didn't buy it for that. For those with dryer skin types, I think this would work amazingly well. As for those who have oilier skin like I do, Its just an ok foundation. I do want to note though-- I absolutely love the packaging.
I would compare this to Vincent Longo's dew finish liquid foundation.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Gtroia on 2/7/2012 12:09:00 AM more reviews by Gtroia

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Fornall the people that gave this a low review, they have no clue on what they are talking about. They mentioned cakey?!?! It's far from it! This foundation happens to be the best I've tried so far. At first I didn't like it much, I thinking what is the hype all about but as I started to wear on a day by day basis, I fell in love. It's so natural looking, its like you have nothing on and if you want more medium coverage just add another layer to your face. It also hydrates and makes your skin feel beautiful. If you haven't tried it , in say go and purchase this, its well worth the money.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Cayla29S on 2/5/2012 2:37:00 PM more reviews by Cayla29S

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I just got some of this as a sample because I have been wanting to try this for a while. It is a very nice foundation. I used it with my stippling brush and I love the finish of it. However for me personally this is too much coverage. I only applied one coat all over my face and I looked too made up. I don't have any blemishes or redness and I don't normally conceal anything other than under my eye so for me this was too much.

I used a primer underneath and I can honestly say that this oxidized on my skin. I have an oily t zone and I noticed that after a few hours my face looked a bit more yellow and it started to look cakey. I can see why most people like this. I feel like it left that dewy finish which I personally do not like. I would say that this a medium coverage.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 jedi_girl on 2/5/2012 2:13:00 PM more reviews by jedi_girl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I execute a fair amount of work to get a good makeup product for my skin tone. I like a good balance between texture, length of wear, colour tone etc. My expectations are not unreasonable, but they are fair given the other products on the market and what I know I *can* achieve.

First of all, this is NOT a full coverage foundation. It is a light-medium coverage foundation. Yes if you apply a primer it will become more medium coverage. And yes if you apply layer after layer you will get more coverage, but you will also get a cakey look. I think applying with a brush will probably also look different than applying with fingers, but I like to use fingers because its faster in the morning.

-The packaging was good, I like the pump and I like the see through clear bottle and clean cap.
-The shade and colour range is awesome. Even mixing the shades is awesome. This factor is probably this foundations top selling point, but it stops there.
-The texture actually reminds me of Shiseido Sunscreen lotion. Honestly, it really does. Its kind of oily at first with a bit of grit/texture in it (I don't mean that in a bad way, I just am not sure how else to explain it). Then it dries a bit matte (but doesn't stay matte). Its important to shake the bottle each time you apply it, otherwise the emulsifiers separate from the solids it appears (again, like Shiseido Sunscreen lotion. and I should clarify that I don't understand this separation, only that you need to shake the bottle to help get consistent looks with this product)
-Even when using my Hourglass primer I found that the foundation did not stay unless I *really* layered it on in the morning. A few days I noticed that by 3pm I got the look I was aiming for, but man is that type of performance hard to rely on.

Overall I just was not that impressed with this foundation. The coverage was not good enough and I did not like having to do so much work to get the right coverage without looking like a cake. I got tired of it.

My Nars Matte foundation is much more elegant and covering. It requires a well moisturized face to apply, but it covers well and has better lasting power.

In summary, other than the shade selection, I am not clear on what is so great about this foundation. If you want light coverage then try an all natural mineral powder foundation. They give great natural looking light coverage and boy do they ever last for hours, even without primer (which is hard for even me to believe).

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 darkmist on 2/5/2012 12:59:00 AM more reviews by darkmist

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

First off, I've avoided this product for a long time because when I heard the name "HD" I thought "oh dear god, this is one of those heavy duty cakey foundations" and ran in the opposite direction. I'm around N15-20 and want a natural medium coverage from a foundation so when I went into Sephora a couple weeks ago, I definitely was not looking for this. I was interested in the Nars Sheer Glow but when I told the SA I wanted natural med coverage, she really pushed for HD and suggested to try the MUFE HD on one side and SG on the other. I did and decided to not go for the SG since the colours were off (montblanc) and it looked really streaky on me. HD on the other hand looked absolutely beautiful - applied like a dream, made my skin look so even and smooth, not thick or cakey and all, and a natural glow. I tried a full face, walked around the mall for around 30-45 mins and things were looking good: not shiny, minimal colour change, etc. So I bought 115 and was all good. But once I hit the 1hr-1.5hr mark suddenly the foundation started oxidizing majorly - a clear shade and a bit darker. My face was significantly more yellow and tanner looking than the rest of my body and nearly more than 2 shades darker than my outer arm. I thought it might have been the girl caking it on so I tried a few more days. When I applied a very sheer layer with my fingers, no noticeable oxidization. But if I tried for light-med or med coverage with a brush, then my face started changing colours. I didn't want to get 110 and have to go around for 2hrs with a whitecast face before my skin looked normal so I exchanged this for the Diorskin Nude which I've been eyeing for ages and only oxidizes minimally on my skin. Really sad this didn't work.

PROS:
lightweight
great colour selection
makes skin appear very smooth and even
doesn't accentuate dry patches or dry scabs around acne
natural glow (I got a bit shiny after a full day but not deal breaker - blot a little with tissue and you're good to go)
solid medium coverage but still natural looking
very easy to blend

CONS:
oxidizes like crazy (I have combo skin - slightly more oily tzone, normal everywhere else. Skin is actually mostly normal right now since it's winter)
Pricier but not outrageous
Clearly wont be buying again since it didn't work out for me at all.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Make Up For Ever products

More Foundations products