Make Up For Ever HD High Definition Foundation [DISCONTINUED]

3.6

2293 reviews

57% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Aqua, Cyclopentasiloxane, Neopentyl Glycol Diethylhexanoate, Mica, talc, PEG-10 Dimenthicone, Biosaccharide Gum-1, Phenyl, Trimethicone, Sodium Chloride, Lauroyl Lysine, Dimenthicone Crosspolymer, Glyceryl Caprylate, Methylpropanediol, Butylene Glycol, Phenoxyethanol, Chlorphenesin, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Sodium Myristoyl Glutamate, Cyclohexacyloxane, Methylisothiazolinone, Sorbitan Sesquileate, Silver Oxide, Propylene, Carbonate, Parfum (fragrance), Methylparaben, Fagus Sylvatica Extract (Fagus Sylvatica Bud Extract), Hydrolyzed Yeast Protein, [+/- CI 77891 )titanium Dioxide), CI 77491 (Iron Oxides), CI 77499 (Iron Oxides).


on 5/1/2012 8:27:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I was sooo disappoint with this product...Srsly, I regret buying it. It was a waste of money!
The first time I used it was in winter, when the weather was chilly and dry...I wore the HD Primer as base n applied bobbi brown mineral powder on top so it will last longer...
I went out until late that night and it was working well at the first few hours but then it starts to get dry and my makeup started to get cakey somehow... At the end of the night, my skin just got so dry that it looks as if it was going to peel... I was frightened by the effect but I still believe that it wasn't my new foundation that caused me this trouble, I told myself it might be the BBmineral powder and the dry weather that made my skin so dry.

So the second time I used it was just a normal outing with frds.
I did not put on any powder this time because I am scare that it will turns out the way it was before, and it really did looks better. But the problem is that, the coverage wasn't good, it gets all cakey when i apply a little more pump( Not much at all) But it was still better than the first time I used it, I think it is because I applied my moisturizer before patting on foundation.
Then the real problem occurs, the foundation somehow leaves me with redness on my cheek the days after applying it...I gave up trying.

These kind of experiences just made me worry too much on using this product, ps. this product stinks! It smells like plastic and paints....Everyone out there who have dry and sensitive skin, this is just not what you'll be suitable for...I'm sorry to say but this product sucks! I don't normally write reviews on products, but I don't want people like me to be tricked with this product.... I hope this review helps altho it's very negative.



on 4/30/2012 10:05:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Other, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I finally got samples of this after hearing everyone rave about it and because you can't buy it in Australia I was pretty excited.. however this foundation did not agree with me at all! it looked chalky and ashy, accentuated EVERYTHING and was really difficult to work with. wondering if it was a bad batch or my skin just doesn't like it? However it felt amazing and silky on my skin, but so disappointed!


on 4/30/2012 3:26:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Really love the texture and feel of this foundation on my skin; it applies like a dream using fingers or a brush, doesn't settle into pores or fine lines and has an oustanding colour selction. The packaging is great with a pump that is easily controlled.
Having said all that, this isn't quite an everyday foundation for me as it doesn't have the staying power that my oily skin needs. I find that while this doesn't oxidise, it does seem to separate out on my skin and slip around after 4 or 5 hours. That said, I do find that for a night out, it applies and lasts well as a VERY light layer over ELDW to give a lovely finish that lasts well. I've had sucess mixing this in with ELDW when I want a lighter finish as well.
This is expensive, but I would expect to get a minimumof a year out of a bottle, so worth the $$


on 4/29/2012 6:09:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Green

Im very sad because i was so happy to try this oundation but it makes my dry pathes even worst then they was , i don't put nothing first maybe its because of that ... its don't cover any of my little breakout redness ( and im not that red just like a little bit ? ) Maybe i just don't know how to put foundation . Foundatoin juste never last in my face NEVER stay im so tired too try to find the foundation for my i don't have oily skin no dry skin just a normal skin and now i start to have a little bit of acne ( cause of the temperature where i am -.- ) anyway . i really hope this foundation will wirk im so sad :'( !


on 4/29/2012 3:20:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I was excited to finally try this makeup after the sale associate at Sephora told me it was amazing for Oiley skin. When I tried it in the store it was medium coverage, and my colour matched perfectly! But after 2 days of wearing it, I had to touch up about every 30 minutes with powder and I had never seen my face SO oiley in my entire life. I dont reccomend this makeup for oiley acne prone skin AT ALL, but I could see it looking amazing otherwise.


on 4/28/2012 10:14:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

The thin texture of this foundation makes it glide across my skin, very easy to apply and blend. I have oily/combo skin and even with setting powder, this foundation still made me super oily after a few minutes. I don't have this shine issue when using my favorite foundation (estee lauder double wear), so I don't recommend MUF HD foundation for people with oily skin. Coverage is light to medium, and it cost $42 from Sephora. I was not impressed with this product, mostly because it didn't even come anywhere close to looking good from a few feet away, let alone under the spotlight.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/28/2012 4:51:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I absolutely love this foundation. I currently have normal skin, with dry chin, but slightly oily t-zone.

quick points:
- i needed to use this with a primer (i use hourglass mineral veil)
- set with powder
- flawless coverage
- beautiful colour
- didn't break me out (sensitive skin)
- easy to blend (i use sigma F80)

I am NC 25 and use shade 118.


on 4/26/2012 6:23:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Great product, not to oily and many nice skin tone selections. If you don't enjoy spending money on makeup I recommend splurging on a good foundation that looks natural and getting the rest of the products on the cheaper side as it is quite pricey.


on 4/26/2012 11:59:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I'm a fan of the Dior Forever foundation as it gave great smooth coverage but was looking for something a bit less expensive. This was slightly less expensive but would rather shell out the extra few dollars to get Dior Forever next time. It has ok coverage. I didn't notice anything different in photos but maybe need to look closer next time. I like to have my pore covered and evened out and this didn't do the job. Maybe I need to add more layers? Also, I found this didn't last all day like Dior. For the extra trouble to put on my layers and that doesn't last all day, I'll give this a 3.


on 4/24/2012 9:31:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I found this hard to apply evenly, and the finish wasn't very natural looking. It was also very drying on my skin. Everyone's skin is different though, so try a sample if you're not sure. It might work for you. the colour range was good if your fair to medium skin.


Back to Top