Philosophy • Hope in a Jar - for all skin types • Moisturizers

rated 2.8(1659 reviews)

Average Rating.2.8
Would buy this product again.39%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Nokomi on 1/4/2009 4:47:00 PM more reviews by Nokomi

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This was nice, light and effective. However it has no sunscreen and is expensive. I don't think there's antioxidents in there and even if there were, the packaging would expose them to light and air, destroying them after the first few uses so they would be ineffective.

It is very nice, but I think there are better options out there that don't cost as much. I don't see the point in a lotion if it doesn't contain antioxidents.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 klsjackson on 1/3/2009 1:29:00 PM more reviews by klsjackson

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I got a sample of this from Sephora. The HIAJ with sunscreen. It was awful. It did not moisturize. It just sat on my face. It made me oily and effected the color of my powder foundation. Made it look muddy. I will not use again and definitely will not purchase. Save your money.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 bruno777 on 1/3/2009 3:21:00 AM more reviews by bruno777

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Dark, Cool   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I like this moisturizer in the winter months only. I have combination skin, however in the winter months my skin gets really dry so I use this at night and in the morning my skin is so smooth and soft. Use with a light hand. A little goes a long way. I would not recommend in the summer months if you have combination skin or oily skin, it would be too heavy. I took two lippies off because this moisturizer needs to come in normal to oily skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pocky on 1/1/2009 8:22:00 PM more reviews by pocky

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

My HG moisturizer was discontinued shorty after I discovered it and although I can still find the ocassional jar, I can't live my life praying for a mother lode at the CCO so I tried Hope in a Jar out of desperation. For a cult product, this is a very mediocre moisturizer...and that's being generous. It's not bad but also not worth the money. Philosophy should remarket Hope in a Jar as "For Normal Skin" because I can't imagine that it would work for everyone. I can already tell that it's going to be too heavy and greasy for my combo skin in the summer but neither is it rich enough for my dry winter skin. The lavendar fragrance isn't horrible but I don't like having fragrance in my skin care products. Hope in a Jar also doesn't absorb very well. I have to rub and rub (and rub and rub...) to get it to absorb into my skin and that's not good. One cold and blustery day, I tried Hope in a Jar under my sunscreen for extra protection against the wind and my makeup ended up pooling and slipping around my pores at the end of the day. I know it was the Hope in a Jar because I've never had that happen before. This might work for you and I hope it does but don't bet your skin on something just because it's called Hope in a Jar. Talk about not living up to expectations, Philosophy!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 loved on 1/1/2009 5:42:00 PM more reviews by loved

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Love, love, love. This is a lightweight moisturizer with a delicate lavender scent. I don't know what I did before I used this. It absorbs nicely, not greasy at all. I have to be careful not to get too close to my eyes because it is irritating. This particular item does not have SPF, which I wish it did because I don't like If Hope is Not Enough. I don't find this creates blemishes or irritates my skin. The only huge downfall is that it comes in a tub. I don't like sticking my fingers in it but, I don't have much of a choice. I just make sure my hands are well washed. Will definitely repurchase once I finish with my 8oz. tub - it lasts forever!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 helenahjoo on 12/29/2008 8:27:00 PM more reviews by helenahjoo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I had high expectations for this product but I didn't like it at all. It left a weird filmy layer on my skin. It didn't absorb at all. And I got some acne after using it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 jkaplan on 12/29/2008 12:08:00 AM more reviews by jkaplan

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I was excited to try this product, but was really dissapointed. At first I liked it because of its whipped texture and it seemed to melt into my skin. After a couple of days however, it made my face break out, it smelled awful, and it seemed to make the appearance of my skin worse. It also burned my eyes like crazy even though I tried to keep it as far away as possible. I ended up giving it away. It may work for others, but not for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* deliah008 on 12/27/2008 7:59:00 PM more reviews by deliah008

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

It really shouldn't have been called "Hope" in a jar. I thought I was the odd duck out, but my boss also tried it recently. 30 years apart and totally different skin types, but we both agreed on one thing: it's "despair" in a jar. And a stinking despair at that.

I had the worse end of the rope. The fumes from the cream was so bad, that as soon as I put it on, tears started to form. I had to wash the stuff off immediately, so I wasn't lucky enough to experience any positive effects of this "wonder."

My boss actually put it on for an entire night. She thought it odd that the scent was so chemical, but after waking up, her middle-age dry skin got even drier. So didn't work for her either.

I'd say try it at the counter before buying - and make sure the store has a good return policy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mayholic on 12/25/2008 6:11:00 AM more reviews by mayholic

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm obviously in the minority here, as I like this product. At first I was wary about trying it, since it had gotten pretty bad reviews here at MUA, but then I was just like, "what the heck". and bought a mini jar while getting some Urban Decay eyeliner at Sephora. I didn't use it the very first day I got it.. haha, wasn't THAT anxious and was kind of nervous since I have rather sensitive skin. The next day before I went to bed I put a few dots on my face and smoothed it in. The texture was really nice, like whipped cream or something, and it absorbed well. I hated the smell though.. gross but bearable. When I got up the next morning, I had one white head.. haha -___- but my skin in general is usually much worse and aside from that one white head everything else was perfectly smooth. I used it again that next night and then I woke up with perfectly smooth skin, no whiteheads or anything!! To be perfectly honest and fair, I used it at the same time as my Neutrogena Acne Stress Control 4 in 1 Hydrating Acne Treatment, but it definitely wasn't as effective as when I used it without HIAJ.. It's moisturizing, but I don't know if it'd be moisturizing enough for those gals in drier areas during the winter and such.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 plasticsqueegee on 12/23/2008 6:23:00 PM more reviews by plasticsqueegee

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

This was like rubbing a cloud on my face. The whipped texture is pretty spiffy and I think it moisturized my skin well overall. I don't mind the smell. It smells like lemongrass to me. I'm still looking for the cream that will transform my face into a supermodel's, though. This isn't it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Philosophy products

More Moisturizers products