Philosophy Hope in a Jar - for all skin types

2.8

1689 reviews

39% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water (Aqua), Lauryl Lactate, Behenic Acid, behenoxy Dimethicone, Glyceryl stearate Se, Glycerin, Behenyl Alcohol, Pentaerythrityl Tetracaprylate/Tetracaprate, Cyclopentasiloxane, Tocopheryl Acetate, Benzyl Alcohol, Retinyl Palmitate, Cyclohexasiloxane, Stearic Acid, Panthenol, Beta Glucan, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Oil, Xanthan Gum, Triethanolamine, Propylene Glycol, Geraniol, Limonene, Linalool, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Diazolidinyl Urea


on 1/27/2009 1:44:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Aww I love Hope In A Jar! I am surprised by the negative ratings as this product is the only time I ever heard bells when using! Now Im sounding a little crazy, but this is my HG product. Upon applying this moisturizer, my skin instantly feels refreshed and softened. Usually I feel like I have to grease myself up after washing my face, due to the tight dry feeling some cleansers leave behind. But the combination of Hope in A Jar and my Purity face wash completely makes my skin say ahhhhh. I have never considered myself acne prone until recent years and felt as if I had to choose between using harsh drying products that burn my face and make my skin dull, or heavily mositurizing products that make me glowy but break me out. Then my Best Friend bought me a Philosophy mini set for Christmas and within days my skin felt better than it ever has. I think the price is completely doable because Sephora offers various sizes at low to medium price points, and you do not need much to cover your entire face. Philosophy products as a whole seem gentle and good for the skin, but Hope In A Jar is by far my fave. Hope this helped:)



on 1/27/2009 3:14:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

The actual product is fine. It sinks into my skin well, seems to do a decent job of moisturizing, doesn't clog pores, and isn't greasy.

However. The smell is awful and lasts for a long time after application. The tiny amount of moisturizer I got for the $19 little tub lasted me like a month or so which is SO not worth it (Clinique dramatically different gel is $9 for a tube that lasts me 4-6 months!!) I had high hopes for this moisturizer but it isn't worth the price - it's mostly just a smelly, average moisturizer in expensive packaging.


on 1/26/2009 10:48:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Black

Oh no, this product was terrible on my skin! It felt so oily, greasy and not to mention major clogged pores the next day.


on 1/26/2009 10:37:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I had heard some great reviews of this product from various MUA's and figured I'd give it a shot. I'm always looking for a better moisturizer that doesn't clog pores, which the MUA's were saying it didn't do.

Let me first say that the smell is gag inducing! After the first day everything just went down hill. I put this on in the morning and couldn't identify what the smell was in my car and when I got to work it started to lightly burn me (which is a first)! I quickly washed it off and vowed to not use it again - haven't had any problems since!

I'm glad some people like it, the consistency was nice, it wasn't incredibly oily and I loved the simple packaging.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have to add my 2 cents for this product because never have I had a moisturizer work for my oily/acne prone skin. It is AWESOME. I don't mind the scent, it fades anyhow and eh, I kindof like it. The packaging is ok, a jar with screw on lid. A little goes a long, long way. When I first tried this, I got a small sample from sephora which lasted me an entire month, unheard of for me. It is a whipped consitency, not heavy at all and not greasy feeling, leaving my skin soft and never oily. I also use purity and mirodelivery exfoliating wash and these work great for me managing my unmanagable skin. Definately HG material and don't usually say stuff like that.


on 1/26/2009 6:28:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Dry, Dark, Warm

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Black

I got a sample from a purchase at Sephora. I wanted to like this but it just isn't for me. The smell of lavender mixed with burnt plastic is too much for me. Also, I don't see that it does anything special to my skin. Its very light which is good, but that seems to be the only good thing about it.


on 1/25/2009 4:16:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I used this for many years and loved it but when i had a spot of skin cancer removed from my face I needed something with SPF. The new version with SPF is just different than the original. Very Greasy and broke me out. I liked it because my face was rosy and so soft but not worth chancing another skin cancer episode. I've started using Caudalie day perfecting cream w/ SPF 15 and love it.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought the .5 oz for $15. I have never bought anything so small for so much.I heard people rave about this on the sephora website, but it personally doesn't work that well for me. It smells awful, and it moisturize my face somewhat, but not enough. I probably won't buy this product again, unless they lower the price.


on 1/24/2009 6:50:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

While some don't like the scent of this product, I find it kind of clean and synthetic smelling (which I like). Anyway, within a minute the scent goes away. Even though this is a cream, it is lightweight and fluffy. A little goes a long way and it exfoliates my skin gently. Every time I try something else, I always come back to my old standby, Hope I A Jar.


on 1/24/2009 1:50:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I received a sample of this from Macy's and I'm soooo glad I have never paid money for it because the stink is so overwhelming it made me literally gag! I had to wash my face again after putting it on because I could not take the stench. Then I sprayed perfume on by the gallon to help mask the toxic cloud this product left behind. Seriously, do people actually pay money for this stuff? I can't even describe how awful the smell is.....sort of like old, rotten fish, sweaty shoes, sour milk and bad litterbox. If you're tempted to buy this product, go stick your face in the dumpster behind McDonald's and save your money. You'll get the same effect.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top