Philosophy Hope in a Jar - for all skin types

2.8

1700 reviews

38% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water (Aqua), Lauryl Lactate, Behenic Acid, behenoxy Dimethicone, Glyceryl stearate Se, Glycerin, Behenyl Alcohol, Pentaerythrityl Tetracaprylate/Tetracaprate, Cyclopentasiloxane, Tocopheryl Acetate, Benzyl Alcohol, Retinyl Palmitate, Cyclohexasiloxane, Stearic Acid, Panthenol, Beta Glucan, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Oil, Xanthan Gum, Triethanolamine, Propylene Glycol, Geraniol, Limonene, Linalool, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Diazolidinyl Urea


on 2/9/2009 12:55:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I really liked this the first few times I used it. It really brightened up my skin and didn't leave me feeling oily. But after a few weeks of use I noticed my skin started breaking out so I stopped using it-my face cleared up right away after that. I think it may have to do with the fact that it comes in a jar and you have to dip your fingers in there. It may be transfering bacteria to the product despite me washing my hands before use. Also, I wonder how the ingrediants remain stable since as soon as you open it it's exposed to air. Not a horrible product but not wonderful either. May try it out again if the change to a pump dispenser.



Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I've been using this moisturizer every night for about two years now. I love the smell of it, it's very refreshing. I have slightly break out prone skin and this moisturizer hasn't made me have any flare ups. One container of this stuff seems to last foreeeevvver.


on 2/2/2009 7:02:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Broke me out horribly. It stinks. Very expensive


on 2/1/2009 4:45:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I used this for years and had great success with it, I always enjoyed the scent too, but had to switch to hope for congested skin once my breakouts got more severe


on 2/1/2009 4:30:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This review is for Hope in a Jar SPF 20, could not find it in the list. This mosturizer is the WORST thing I could ever done to my skin. I used it for two days... only two! the second day at night I saw the worst acne irritation in my chin and upper lip. It was like a bunch of little whiteheads and irritation. than God it is a long weekend and i dont have to go to the office until Tuesday. I am SO disappointed because this product is not cheap. For you ladies that are thinking of trying this, be careful and try a sample first. I gave it 1 lippie because I was not able to select 0 (zero).


on 1/31/2009 9:50:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I really wanted this to work for me but could not get past the smell! It smells awful! I used it one time and took it back.


on 1/31/2009 9:39:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I LOVE it!!!!!
It does smell like Lavender (which is a relaxing aromatherapy) and there is an ingredient that is called glycyrrhiza (which is licorice root extract).
It's sily and smooth and lasts forever and does the job at least for me. I've tried expensive creams to Ponds cold cream nd I like this by far the best.
Good Luck to those who try it!!


on 1/30/2009 5:08:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I received this in a kit of Philosophy skincare. I have to admit, the smell it terrible, but initially I dealt with it in hopes that it would work for my skin. I normally have oily skin, which can get dry in my T-zone, and some fine lines beginning to form. This moisturizer never seemed to be enough for the dry patches I had (which weren't THAT dry). It just seemed to sit on top of my skin, never really absorbing. Which creates another problem when you try to apply makeup, I finally gave up and just used it at night. I am currently on Accutane, so this has gone in the trash, as it isn't remotely moisturizing enough for my dry skin now. Also, my mom (51, dry skin) also tried the Philosophy starter kit when I purchased mine, and gave me her HIAJ because it wasn't moisturizing enough. Plus, I don't really like dipping my fingers into the jar every day. Overall, a terrible product in my opinion. I know it works for some, but I don't see how this can work for those with truly dry skin.


on 1/30/2009 1:25:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

i wrote a review for this product and originally gave it four stars, but i've changed my mind. i LOVE this moisturizer, it is definitely an HG. i was nervous about it at first because i still have young skin and it's easy for me to break out from moisturizers, but i've had only good results from this.

it starts off as a nice moussey texture but when you begin to rub it into your skin, it gets watery. i didn't like this at first because i like the moussey texture so much, but i've grown to appreciate it because it makes it absorb really quickly and it's easier to spread around without tugging this way.

this is plenty moisturizing for me WITHOUT feeling heavy, and since i live in florida that's a huge pro. i've only been using this through the winter, but i'm sure i'll love it all the same in the summer time. it doesn't make me oily and it fixed all of my dry patches, and it sinks in just as easily whenever i need to put a little extra on. i am in love.

the smell is kind of yucky, but it goes away pretty quickly. by the time i put my primer on, it's gone. it does stick to my hands though, so i make sure i rinse them off after use. it's kind of a medicine-y scent, i honestly think it's endurable (and i do have a sensitive nose) and not nearly terrible enough for me to discontinue use or like it any less.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/28/2009 11:57:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

I love Philosophy's fragrance line, but that's about IT. This product has THE worst smell to it. I can't image the makers of this letting it even hit the store shelves...do their noses NOT work? It's horrid...I can't say anything about the usefullness of this product because I washed it off right after I put it on.
ICK !!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top