Philosophy • Hope in a Jar - for all skin types • Moisturizers

rated 2.8(1676 reviews)

Average Rating.2.8
Would buy this product again.39%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bluemeanie on 1/15/2009 6:50:00 PM more reviews by bluemeanie

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Grey, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I agree with the comments about a strong lavender scent and a tingling/burning sensation sometimes. I also smell a black licorice scent (or the liquor that smells like licorice; I can't remember it's name, but it smells nasty to me). Most of the scent fades within minutes of application, but I do get an occasional whiff of it still an hour or so later and it's not great. I like the scent of lavender but this is just too much for me. I do not find this product soothing to my skin and I don't like how it goes from a great whipped consistency in the jar to watery on skin contact.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pattyshine on 1/14/2009 10:39:00 PM more reviews by pattyshine

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I really hate to down a product, but I got a sample of this product hoping some of these reviews were wrong. Well, they were right! How this product got out of the lab I will never know. The smell is so bad that it seems almost dangerous. I have dry skin and I could not see it helping it at all. I love some of Philosophies products, but not this one!! Nuff said.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* iloveMnMs on 1/14/2009 10:33:00 PM more reviews by iloveMnMs

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

The stench of this product is horrendous. I can't see how people can either like the scent, or worse, can't really smell anything. YUCK! The "fumes" from this made my eyes burn. It was like the stink got stuck behind my glasses. Also, the odor lingers. I really didn't find it very moisturizing. Way too expensive for what it does. Terrible jar packaging. After about a week, I had HUGE cystic breakouts like I'd never seen before. This is definitely one of those products that you either love or hate. And me, I HATE it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 shnarch on 1/14/2009 10:19:00 PM more reviews by shnarch

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

THIS PRODUCT SMELLS!!!

my bf doesn't want to go near me when I have it on.... (hehe) and I don't blame him, I can't stand the smell.

EDIT: Wow, after I wore this twice via samples, my face / skin never felt so good! I'll put up with the awful smell to have skin like that again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 envyxo on 1/14/2009 11:19:00 AM more reviews by envyxo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I guess i am quite the minority here...

I switched over to Hope in a Jar from the Clinique Dramatically Different Moisturizing Lotion a few weeks ago.. I had uneven skin tone and moderate breakouts on my forehead, chin, and jawline while using the Clinique (and also BE which i stopped using - a whole different story - my skin HATES it). Now I can honestly say that that has all changed! The HIAJ does have a funky smell to it but i don't even notice it all that much anymore. It has an amazing texture and soaks in very quickly and easily. Since using it my skin has never looked better.. very very minor breakouts here and there, my skin tone has drastically improved, and it has made my combination skin normal again! This is definitely a new staple of mine.. will be buying again as soon as my jar runs out!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kindergirl on 1/11/2009 11:03:00 AM more reviews by kindergirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I don't really notice a strong scent with this- a faint one, but not anything too noticeable, and I'm usually very sensitive to scents. I like that I'm not allergic to this - my rosacea skin tolerates it just fine. I don't think it really does anything "extra" - its just a good, light, moisturizer for day or night. Not greasy at all, and sinks in quickly so I can put my makeup on and be out the door.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 beauteacup on 1/11/2009 12:22:00 AM more reviews by beauteacup

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I agreed with the previous comment that it smells awful, it has a strong herbal smell. I got it as sample from Sephora, I don't think I will buy it in full size.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 stonefoxxx on 1/10/2009 12:45:00 AM more reviews by stonefoxxx

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

this smells AWFUL! i recieved it as a sample gift from sephora. i chose this over three other options because i had heard so many good things about it. i was so shocked by the smell because it seems it gets lots of raves and good reviews. the smell is this overpowering plastic, almost like melted hot glue. smells very artificial and very strong. as soon as i put it to my skin and got a wif of it, i washed my face immediately. my cat was on my vanity and even gagged..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 truley1 on 1/9/2009 9:33:00 AM more reviews by truley1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I thought this would be my go-to moisturizer after all the reviews that it got on Oprah and magazines, but after purchase I was so suprised by the horrible fake plastic gummy smell and mediocre moisturizing that I know this will not be a re-purchase. I will use it up when I think I can handle the smell that day. Maybe the DH can use it. Don't waste your money.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Princesa7 on 1/8/2009 1:08:00 PM more reviews by Princesa7

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I had a sample of this and it did nothing for my skin but make it look wack and break out=(.....I would never purchase this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Philosophy products

More Moisturizers products