Smashbox Photo Finish Primer

3.2

1715 reviews

47% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Dimethicone, Trisiloxane, Silica, Dimethicone/ Vinyldimethicone Crosspolymer, Ethylhexyl Salicylate, Retinyl Palmitate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Carthamus Tinctorius (Safflower) Seed Extract, Propylene Glycol, Water (Aqua, Eau), Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Extract, Cola Acuminata Seed Extract, Camellia Oleifera Leaf Extract


on 5/3/2009 2:01:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I have to oppose all the great raves out there. This product was recommended by my sis-in-law. She said it really made a difference on her. Her pockmarks are smoothened, her pores less visible. Read a ton of reviews about this & awards in major magazines. But I have to agree with the other reviewer. It does nothing for me, except another 2-3min additional on my make-up routine & another layer on my face. Maybe if you're using liquid foundation it's great, maybe. But I'm using MAC Sheer Pressed Powder only over VMV Hypoallergenics Sunblock. The silicone slides off like flakes when I touched my face after sweating. Total waste of money. Even the packaging's cap (got the travel size) is not even. It turns when a slight gust blows it!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 4/29/2009 6:48:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I did my own experiment and put this product on half of my face and nothing on the other half. After 4 hours both sides looked the same...still had makeup on but my face was oily and I needed to use blotting paper. The same again after 8 hours of wear. This stuff did nothing! It makes your skin feel smooth and siliconey going on, but after you put makeup on over it you can't tell you did another step at all. Will NOT be repurchasing.


on 4/28/2009 5:56:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I bought the travel size of this product hoping that it would cut down the oilies and make my skin nice and matte. Well it went on smooth and felt really nice on my skin...but after awhile, the oilies broke through and I looked shiny and my skin looked weird!! AND it broke me out!! Me nooo likey this stuff!!! Def will NOT be buying again.


on 4/26/2009 9:05:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Dark, Cool

Hair: Brown, Other, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I am so surprised at the bad reviews of this product. I love it now I will tell you I used bare minerals powder foundation and it goes on like porcelain but after a few hours in the day yes there is oily breakthrough. Compared to bareminerals primer you get more for your money and it is a bit smoother. I am going to try the mac matte and if I like that more I will be switching other wise I am staying right where I am. This is a winner.


on 4/25/2009 9:48:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I have solid brown skin. It is oily and porous. I am always looking for products that will matte my skin and minimize my pores. I bought this over-priced product hoping it wiuld prevent oil breakthrough. It did not.My makeup lasted about two hours. Which is about avergae for my skin with these types of products.
I think you are better off trying Netrogena, Clinique and
Iman oil control products before plunking down $40.00 for this mess. I am going to try the MAC primer product I have been reading about on MUA.


on 4/25/2009 2:03:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I do not like this primer at all. I don't generally like silicone-based primers because they make me break out. It does go on very smooth however the minute I apply my Guarlain foundation (I used extreme with this primer), the smooth base started to peel off in little bits and left me with white residues all over my face! (you know little things you get when you erase a pencil mark? that's what it looked like!).
I feel like this product just sits on top of my face instead of being absorbed into the skin. I would not buy this again. Big mistake


on 4/25/2009 1:38:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I have noticed a difference since I have started this product. It does make my makeup last longer. I have huge pores and this did nothing to help cover them, which is the main reason for buying this product. I won't buy again, and will try a different brand. Plus, it is way too expensive. I got the travel bottle for like $16.00. WTF?? that is super expensive.


on 4/25/2009 1:29:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I too, got caught up in the "hype" of the magical promises this product made, so I decided to make the investment with a kit that I bought at Ulta, which had several trial size products, including the Photo Finish. Thank goodness I didn't spend on only the Photo Finish, because it stinks!!! It made me break out all over, and made my normally even, not too sensitive skin ANGRY...also, I found that upon foundation and powder application after using this product, there were "little balls" that formed if the Photo Finish wasn't rubbed in perfectly in certain places. Never again will I buy anything Smashbox, as I am also not impressed with the quality of the other cosmetics that came in the kit.


on 4/25/2009 10:29:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

i recently bought the sephora beauty insider kit from smashbox which includes a .5oz size of the primer, which i've been dying to try for what seems like years.

i'm not all that impressed by it, honestly. it works pretty well, it keeps my face matte and very smooth the whole day, and it is truly a good product for me.

the issue i have with it is the price. this doesn't feel any different than the bare escentuals prime time foundation primer to me (fyi - i do use liquid foundation) and that one is, i believe, $15 cheaper.


on 4/25/2009 5:59:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I like this primer okay. It does good for smoothing out the texture of my skin, but it doesn't do much as far as keeping my skin matte. I got a travel size of this just to try it out and I won't be repurchasing it, because of the price and because it doesn't hardly do anything.


Back to Top