Smashbox Photo Finish Primer

3.2

1726 reviews

47% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Dimethicone, Trisiloxane, Silica, Dimethicone/ Vinyldimethicone Crosspolymer, Ethylhexyl Salicylate, Retinyl Palmitate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Carthamus Tinctorius (Safflower) Seed Extract, Propylene Glycol, Water (Aqua, Eau), Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Extract, Cola Acuminata Seed Extract, Camellia Oleifera Leaf Extract


on 5/13/2009 10:56:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I really like this primer. It feels great on my skin when I put it on. It does make my makeup last all day. The only thing I don't like about this is the packaging. The lid never stays on which I hate when I'm traveling. They should just make it a screw top lid for the larger bottle.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 5/13/2009 5:26:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this in a set that came with a full size & a travel size for $39.. Overall not a bad price.
I'm going to say that this product is just OK, I wear it mostly on weekends or special occasions just to feel like I prepped more but I cant really say that I feel like it makes a huge difference.
Maybe my expectations were too high, but I was hoping to have my skin look more fresh through out the day but I haven't noticed much change.
I like how it feels so I gave it 3 stars. I haven't broken out from it but I do get a pimple here and there that I never got before. I've been trying other things on my face so I'm not sure if this product is the culprit.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/13/2009 5:02:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

It's an okay primer, it's really heavy and I don't like the way it covers my skin when I put it on. I ddn't really use it enough to see if it would break me out.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/10/2009 2:04:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

This primer has a funny consistency to it. It feels sorta greasy and thick upon touch. But after applying it to the face, it dries down matte, leaves no residue, and leaves the face feeling silky smooth. However, I do notice that it has a slight chemical smell to it, even though it doesn't have any added fragrance to it.

I have used this primer over moisturizer and w/no moisturizer underneath and it still is able to keep my makeup looking reasonably fresh for around 4 hours before I start to see some oil breathru emerge. So, it doesn't provide mattifying of the skin all day and after an extended period of time, you will need to do a powder touchup or two (when one has to wear their makeup for 8 hours and longer). It is very pricey and even though it does offer positive benefits, I don't feel that its worth the over $30 pricetag it retails for.

It has a funny, sort of plasticy smell to it. Also, even though one can use it directly up to the undereye area, I do find that it does make my eyes water a bit. I do plan to use up the bottle of primer that I have. But, I don't plan to repurchase this stuff again. As, I find it to be good, just not great or worth the high pricetag either.

When the weather is cool or cold out, this product performs best at keeping one's foundation looking and staying fresher while on one's face. However, when the weather is warm/hot out, this product doesn't perform as good during the warm, weather seasons. Its oil controlling abilities don't last as long as needed. I am so over the hype over this product. As, there are much better face primers out there, that first of all are much, much cheaper and that actually live up to their claims. One of them being Rimmel's Stay Matte primer, which I truly feel is the best primer out there on the market today period.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/10/2009 3:02:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I've tried the original and the green tinted primer to hide redness, and I don't like either one. The green didn't glide onto my face at all like a primer should and definitely didn't hide any redness. The original seemed to almost flake up on my skin, it was weird. I like the Monistat much better as a primer, and it's way cheaper. Also, good luck getting all the product out of the bottle. Won't buy this again...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/7/2009 8:49:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Cool

Hair: Black, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Brown

I wanted to wait a while before giving this product an accurate review. So, I've had this for over 3 months. It glides on your face smoothly, you don't need a lot, and it does set your foundation which makes you look flawless as opposed to if you were do apply your foundation without a primer. Needless to say, this primer isn't the greatest (I've tried several that I think would win over Smashbox) and this didn't make me break out. I would have preferred if they had a section for unsure if you would buy again; because that's where I stand at this point. I may or may not repurchase -- depending!
It's more on the pricey side too, I think that is why I am undecided at this point. Rated 3 lippies because of the price

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is the first primer I've ever used so I don't feel like I can give an accurate "overall" rating because I can't compare it to other products. However, it worked very well! I bought the Smashbox sampler pack from Sephora and Photo Finish was provided and it worked like a charm I have very oily acne prone dark african american skin and I was having a house party and it was HOT in my house... checked the mirror and it looked like I didn't break a sweat!! Most the time I look like a huge shine ball LOL
Good Product- It works so I'm going to stick with it why spend money elsewhere!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Let me preface by saying that I loved the way that this made my face looked.My mu looked flawless and stunning.Of course after several days of wearing this I broke out in cystic acne (which I have not had since I was about 13).I think all of the cones in this product must have clogged my pores or irritated my skin.All I can say is that I am glad I just got this as a sample and didn't pay full price.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/3/2009 7:30:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have to add to the "No's" on this one. For me, this product does work, and I still use mine on occassion when I really need my face to look flawless... for a short time. It does smooth out any pesky lines or pores, and makes your make-up look smoother. BUT... it's full of silicone and clogs my pores. Every time I use it, if I leave it on all day, I will break out in a sort of bubbly clog somewhere on my cheeks. Not quite acne, which I almost never get, but more of a visible clog in the skin. It's gross. I believe in the concept of primers, but think that a better choice would be Korres (it has no silicone or other "cones") or better yet Clinique's City Block, which has tons of physical SPF. Unfortunately, neither of the above work quite as good as Smashbox, so I'd say if you're really going for a photoshoot, go ahead and use the Smashbox, then wash it off your poor face ASAP (exfoliate!). For everyday, nah.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/3/2009 3:21:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I must add my voice to the chorus of "NO's". This felt nice and smooth going on but I didn't notice any difference in my skin. I use Lancome Renergie liquid foundation, but I did not notice any difference in how my foundation laster. I have smooth Asian skin with small pores.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Primer/ Correctors


Back to Top