Smashbox • Photo Finish Primer • Primer/ Corrector

rated 3.2(1666 reviews)

Average Rating.3.2
Would buy this product again.47%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 katetdang on 2/9/2009 6:34:00 PM more reviews by katetdang

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I bought a trial size of this product because I wanted to try it before committing. I'm so glad that all I bought was the trial size because it majorly clogs pores! The thing is, it does work for what it was intended to do. It smooths over the texture of your face so that makeup goes on smoothly and keeps your face oil from leaking and melting your makeup. But it WILL break you out. Not huge deep cystic zits, but little bumps, exactly where you applied it--which go away in a few days. Beware, use it only if absolutely necessary, and apply very sparingly.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 8rtsy_chic on 2/9/2009 4:09:00 AM more reviews by 8rtsy_chic

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

Deeeeeeeeee-sgusting! I have dry skin and I still don't like the way this product works. It clogs up pores and makes my foundation clump up in odd areas. The other products like Givenchy "Mister Mat" and Prescriptives "magic line corrector" is the same silicone based pore clogging mess.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jaden08 on 2/8/2009 8:41:00 PM more reviews by jaden08

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Dark   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This was the worst primer i have ever tried, it made my pores look huge and my makeup just looked greasy, I clearly cant see what all the hype is around this silicone garbage. I am now using mufe all mat and i love it, i use that in conjunction with my mufe hd foundation. Would not recommend to anyone unless you like the greasy look.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Vixxan on 2/8/2009 8:18:00 PM more reviews by Vixxan

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Dark   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This product does make my make last longer and look better. I have oily skin with this primer I did look as oily as I do with foundation and powder alone. But the downside is the breakouts. I would continue to use this product if it didn't cause breakouts.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Buttercup86 on 2/8/2009 11:45:00 AM more reviews by Buttercup86

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I've never bothered to try this primer and I don't really know why. At first I thought I might like the photo finish light better, but after testing it out I didn't like the lotion like consistency of it. I love the regular version because it gives you that silky, smooth feel and makes your face feel the same way. I thought it might make my skin a little oily, but I have come to find out that it didn't at all. I am definitely a smashbox photo finish gal. I know there are a lot of mixed reviews on this product, I just think it really all comes down to personal choice. It is a bit expensive, 36USD but I believe the product will last a long time because you do not need much. The packaging is excellent to me, I love all things with pump. When I run out, I think I will definitely repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ilurvemakeup on 2/8/2009 11:02:00 AM more reviews by ilurvemakeup

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I got this primer from one of Smashbox's kits and after months of testing it out on my skin I still have so much product left! The one I have is the travel size tube. Before this product I was using the Monistat Chafing Gel which is said to be a dupe of the Smashbox primer - WRONG! The Monistat broke me out with so many blackheads I lost count trying to extract them off my face! The Monistat gives a more matte thick feeling and the Smashbox has a more healthy moisturizing feel to it and it didn't clog my pores! I even compared this to the Sana Clear Pore Putty (which is an absolutely crappy product!) and it does not compare at all - it flakes!!!

The Smashbox primer has helped a lot on my dry, flaky winter skin - love it! My foundation glides on a lot easier and smoother making it look flawless every time. It works even better and more matte when applied over Aloe Vera Gel as a moisturizer! Try it out :D

This is my HG primer, no more shopping for cheap dupes and Asian brand primers :) I'm planning on getting the light formula as I've been told it's great for summer when I'm an oil slick hehe

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 summergal on 2/7/2009 10:40:00 PM more reviews by summergal

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I think this is a really great product. I have the travel tube so I don't have any problems with the packaging. I really like the texture, it feels silky. I use the amount of probably the size of an m&m and that is all I need. No breakouts and keeps my makeup in place and looking fresh all day. Will definitely be repurchasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MyBeehive on 2/7/2009 4:18:00 PM more reviews by MyBeehive

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I don't love this at all. I have tried about 10 primers now and while this is cheap, it is really basic. Primers and correctors of all sorts have completely surpassed this product. This is like the standard GAP bra or something...lol, everyone has this lying around but uses something else most days. I like MUFE version much better, but since it's winter I go for the YSL SOIN PINCEAU ÉCLAT INSTANTANÉ Top Secrets Flash Radiance Skincare Brush, it's $$$ but so nice and great for travel. I also love Perfeckt, but that's pricey too. Anyway, this Smashbox product is good if you're young and don't yet have many skin concerns, but for others, look elsewhere.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 HiLLaCiLLa on 2/7/2009 4:41:00 AM more reviews by HiLLaCiLLa

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I really don't have much to say regarding this primer because, well, it does nothing for your skin or makeup.

I may be in the minority here, but it does absolutely nothing for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* chrisie on 2/4/2009 2:24:00 PM more reviews by chrisie

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

where to start.....I decided to try Smashbox products,since I never tried before.I ventured to there website.I saw really beautiful looks that they had for their collections.I noticed they were using this product before foundation.I purchased the trial size,just incase of not liking it.I tried this yesterday under my M.A.C. fluid foundation.It was nice at first,but then I noticed I wasn't getting the true color of foundation showing like when I wore it alone.I was very dissapointed in this =(
Trial size is going back,not worth keeping it~~~Sorry,Smashbox..foundation alone is best for my skin ^_^

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Smashbox products

More Primer/ Corrector products