Smashbox • Photo Finish Primer • Primer/ Corrector

rated 3.2(1663 reviews)

Average Rating.3.2
Would buy this product again.47%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 Vixxan on 2/8/2009 8:18:00 PM more reviews by Vixxan

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Dark   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This product does make my make last longer and look better. I have oily skin with this primer I did look as oily as I do with foundation and powder alone. But the downside is the breakouts. I would continue to use this product if it didn't cause breakouts.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Buttercup86 on 2/8/2009 11:45:00 AM more reviews by Buttercup86

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I've never bothered to try this primer and I don't really know why. At first I thought I might like the photo finish light better, but after testing it out I didn't like the lotion like consistency of it. I love the regular version because it gives you that silky, smooth feel and makes your face feel the same way. I thought it might make my skin a little oily, but I have come to find out that it didn't at all. I am definitely a smashbox photo finish gal. I know there are a lot of mixed reviews on this product, I just think it really all comes down to personal choice. It is a bit expensive, 36USD but I believe the product will last a long time because you do not need much. The packaging is excellent to me, I love all things with pump. When I run out, I think I will definitely repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ilurvemakeup on 2/8/2009 11:02:00 AM more reviews by ilurvemakeup

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I got this primer from one of Smashbox's kits and after months of testing it out on my skin I still have so much product left! The one I have is the travel size tube. Before this product I was using the Monistat Chafing Gel which is said to be a dupe of the Smashbox primer - WRONG! The Monistat broke me out with so many blackheads I lost count trying to extract them off my face! The Monistat gives a more matte thick feeling and the Smashbox has a more healthy moisturizing feel to it and it didn't clog my pores! I even compared this to the Sana Clear Pore Putty (which is an absolutely crappy product!) and it does not compare at all - it flakes!!!

The Smashbox primer has helped a lot on my dry, flaky winter skin - love it! My foundation glides on a lot easier and smoother making it look flawless every time. It works even better and more matte when applied over Aloe Vera Gel as a moisturizer! Try it out :D

This is my HG primer, no more shopping for cheap dupes and Asian brand primers :) I'm planning on getting the light formula as I've been told it's great for summer when I'm an oil slick hehe

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 summergal on 2/7/2009 10:40:00 PM more reviews by summergal

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I think this is a really great product. I have the travel tube so I don't have any problems with the packaging. I really like the texture, it feels silky. I use the amount of probably the size of an m&m and that is all I need. No breakouts and keeps my makeup in place and looking fresh all day. Will definitely be repurchasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MyBeehive on 2/7/2009 4:18:00 PM more reviews by MyBeehive

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I don't love this at all. I have tried about 10 primers now and while this is cheap, it is really basic. Primers and correctors of all sorts have completely surpassed this product. This is like the standard GAP bra or something...lol, everyone has this lying around but uses something else most days. I like MUFE version much better, but since it's winter I go for the YSL SOIN PINCEAU ÉCLAT INSTANTANÉ Top Secrets Flash Radiance Skincare Brush, it's $$$ but so nice and great for travel. I also love Perfeckt, but that's pricey too. Anyway, this Smashbox product is good if you're young and don't yet have many skin concerns, but for others, look elsewhere.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 HiLLaCiLLa on 2/7/2009 4:41:00 AM more reviews by HiLLaCiLLa

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I really don't have much to say regarding this primer because, well, it does nothing for your skin or makeup.

I may be in the minority here, but it does absolutely nothing for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* chrisie on 2/4/2009 2:24:00 PM more reviews by chrisie

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

where to start.....I decided to try Smashbox products,since I never tried before.I ventured to there website.I saw really beautiful looks that they had for their collections.I noticed they were using this product before foundation.I purchased the trial size,just incase of not liking it.I tried this yesterday under my M.A.C. fluid foundation.It was nice at first,but then I noticed I wasn't getting the true color of foundation showing like when I wore it alone.I was very dissapointed in this =(
Trial size is going back,not worth keeping it~~~Sorry,Smashbox..foundation alone is best for my skin ^_^

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 amnichols2 on 2/1/2009 4:17:00 PM more reviews by amnichols2

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I love this stuff! I understand all the complaints about the pump bottle, but I just avoid that problem by buying the travel size. It's a slightly better deal, and it's much, much easier to get the last bits out. I've been wearing Photo Finish for a few years, to make my foundation last longer and to spackle in a couple of big pores on my cheeks. At this point, wearing foundation without this primer feels kind of like putting on jeans without underwear: it's technically ok, and it looks fine to most people, but it just feels... icky.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Abirm on 1/31/2009 12:09:00 PM more reviews by Abirm

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

i love this.. whenever i wear makeup and i laugh and talk u can see lines and even under my eye u can see the concealer with lines veryyy uglyy but when i started using this primer it seriously was like a brand new face .. i look like the models in there photo shoots!! i loveeee
i find it really helpful and it makes the foundation glide on really easily and flawlessly.Create a perfect canvas for foundation application with this silky blend of vitamins A & E, grape seed extract and green tea. The best-selling formula helps to reduce the appearance of fine lines and pores for visibly softer skin.
Wear under foundation to increase its longevity, or alone for a velvety-smooth finish. Use after moisturizer and before foundation for complexion perfection. This skin-soothing blend of antioxidants, which can be worn alone or under foundation, works overtime to fill in fine lines and even out skin texture.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* StarsnRocketsES on 1/30/2009 8:12:00 PM more reviews by StarsnRocketsES

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Brown, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This product did not work well for me. I was really disappointed in this. It reminds me of Vaseline (the look and the feel of it). This did nothing to prep my skin for makeup. What a waste.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Smashbox products

More Primer/ Corrector products