Smashbox • Photo Finish Primer • Primer/ Corrector

rated 3.2(1651 reviews)

Average Rating.3.2
Would buy this product again.47%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lygophilia on 1/30/2009 3:56:00 PM more reviews by lygophilia

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I have heard nothing but raves about how great this product is, so when I purchased this product, I felt sorrow for how horrible it worked. I wore it under my foundation and within 2 hours I was super shiny and my makeup was starting to slide off. I have dry skin too. I have tried this product with and without moisturizer, powder foundation and liquid foundation, all with the same poor results. Definitely would not recommend this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 princessporkie on 1/29/2009 12:19:00 PM more reviews by princessporkie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I heard tons of raves about this product so I went out to buy it. I am not sure if it does anything for my face. I have fairly clear skin and after I put on this product I think it leaves my face feeling very silky but I am not sure if it does anything for the make up. I dont put on a lot of foundation. I can not say if it makes my skin look more smooth or flawless since I dont really have much imperfections on my face. It does leave it with a silky feeling but I think for the price of this one bottle I do not think it is worth it unless you put on a lot of foundation or powder.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* serrabird on 1/29/2009 12:10:00 PM more reviews by serrabird

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

As usual, they were raving about this on QVC and loving Smashbox. I was curious to try this. What on earth does this product particularly do better than other primers in the market?!! It is just a huge blob of silicone you slather on your face. You could do much better with Chanel's Luminous primer or Body Shop's cheap but great illuminating primer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Starla4807 on 1/28/2009 6:22:00 PM more reviews by Starla4807

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff used to break me out, I had to stop using it almost immediately. It made my skin look matte for all of 5 minutes and then it was shinier than ever... I'm pretty sure my foundation looks better without this. The Tarte one is a little better imo.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 make_up_maven on 1/28/2009 6:07:00 AM more reviews by make_up_maven

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Wow! I'm so glad I gave this product a 2nd chance. I tried a sample I got from Sephora last summer and I remember being "unimpressed" and wondering what all the hype was about. I recently got another sample in an order from Sephora and decided to give it another try - I am so glad I did. This primer stands head and shoulders about the rest (and I've tried them all). It matifies my skin without drying it out and I saw a MAJOR noticable difference in the texture of my skin from the very first use. My foundation glides on and I only have to use very little. My skin looks so smooth and luminous, no rough patches at all. A dramatic difference for me. When I look in the mirror, I can't believe it's *my* skin. It's the "look" I've tried to acheive my whole life. I immediately went to Ulta (dot) com and purchased the Jumbo size of this product which comes in a tube - it's two ounces, instead of one for $49. It will last forever as very little is needed. For me, this product is amazing. Any woman over 40 owes it to herself to try this product, it will make your skin look younger :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ShaLooLoo123 on 1/27/2009 11:52:00 PM more reviews by ShaLooLoo123

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I really liked this product when I first started using it. It smoothed out my skin before I applied my makeup and made my complexion look a whole lot better. Unfortunately, I started getting little bumps all over my face from it and when I stopped using it, my face cleared up. I wish this wasn't the case though because it does look amazing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 msdawn on 1/27/2009 6:05:00 PM more reviews by msdawn

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I really liked this primer until I started getting acne from it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Onyxopi on 1/26/2009 3:02:00 AM more reviews by Onyxopi

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This does nothing for my skin except cause breakouts. Iím very sensitive to silicone products. This is highly overrated and highly overpriced. For a cheaper alternative, check out Monistat Chafing Relief Powder-Gel. Don't let the brand name fool you. The ingredients are nearly identical.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jenren on 1/25/2009 7:05:00 PM more reviews by jenren

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I am so glad I decided to give this a second chance. I had tried this about a year ago but din't seem to notice any difference. I didn't understand what all the fuss was about until I got a sample a few weeks ago with a purchase and thought "what the heck, it's free, I'll use it." I'm so glad I did. I live in a dry climate and this winter has been particularly brutal. My skin has been suffering and my foundation has been looking dry and kind of rough. I remembered my sample and yesterday and out it on before my foundation, and voila, my skin looked smooth and flawless. No dryness or rough spots. I am now a believer, and I plan on purchasing a bottle of this right away.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 minxnzl on 1/24/2009 10:46:00 PM more reviews by minxnzl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I am really in two minds about this product. I think it works quite well as a matifier if used over moisturiser and NOT followed by foundation. It also appears to even skin out by smoothing over enlarged pores. But I have yet to find a way of applyimg foundation over it without it smearing as others above have pointed out.
Perhaps my biggest gripe is that it is packaged in a glass bottle pump so you can never get ALL of the product out...even with a cotton bud. ... Poor design.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Smashbox products

More Primer/ Corrector products