Smashbox Photo Finish Primer

3.2

1711 reviews

47% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Dimethicone, Trisiloxane, Silica, Dimethicone/ Vinyldimethicone Crosspolymer, Ethylhexyl Salicylate, Retinyl Palmitate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Carthamus Tinctorius (Safflower) Seed Extract, Propylene Glycol, Water (Aqua, Eau), Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Extract, Cola Acuminata Seed Extract, Camellia Oleifera Leaf Extract


on 4/25/2009 2:03:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I do not like this primer at all. I don't generally like silicone-based primers because they make me break out. It does go on very smooth however the minute I apply my Guarlain foundation (I used extreme with this primer), the smooth base started to peel off in little bits and left me with white residues all over my face! (you know little things you get when you erase a pencil mark? that's what it looked like!).
I feel like this product just sits on top of my face instead of being absorbed into the skin. I would not buy this again. Big mistake



on 4/25/2009 1:38:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I have noticed a difference since I have started this product. It does make my makeup last longer. I have huge pores and this did nothing to help cover them, which is the main reason for buying this product. I won't buy again, and will try a different brand. Plus, it is way too expensive. I got the travel bottle for like $16.00. WTF?? that is super expensive.


on 4/25/2009 1:29:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I too, got caught up in the "hype" of the magical promises this product made, so I decided to make the investment with a kit that I bought at Ulta, which had several trial size products, including the Photo Finish. Thank goodness I didn't spend on only the Photo Finish, because it stinks!!! It made me break out all over, and made my normally even, not too sensitive skin ANGRY...also, I found that upon foundation and powder application after using this product, there were "little balls" that formed if the Photo Finish wasn't rubbed in perfectly in certain places. Never again will I buy anything Smashbox, as I am also not impressed with the quality of the other cosmetics that came in the kit.


on 4/25/2009 10:29:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

i recently bought the sephora beauty insider kit from smashbox which includes a .5oz size of the primer, which i've been dying to try for what seems like years.

i'm not all that impressed by it, honestly. it works pretty well, it keeps my face matte and very smooth the whole day, and it is truly a good product for me.

the issue i have with it is the price. this doesn't feel any different than the bare escentuals prime time foundation primer to me (fyi - i do use liquid foundation) and that one is, i believe, $15 cheaper.


on 4/25/2009 5:59:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I like this primer okay. It does good for smoothing out the texture of my skin, but it doesn't do much as far as keeping my skin matte. I got a travel size of this just to try it out and I won't be repurchasing it, because of the price and because it doesn't hardly do anything.


on 4/25/2009 12:42:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

HYPE!!! Sure it got an award from Sephora-because so many people bought it after the "awards" it got, that companies pay for to advertise their products with in magazines!!!
*
Smashbox is a very bad kitty for making this product! I still love you Smashbox but you are very naughty!!! xoxo!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/24/2009 5:36:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I love this stuff! I'm almost finished with my third bottle. It feels so great on my face and i love the clean smell that comes with it. My makeup looks 50 times better with this underneath..the only thing i don't like about it is now i HAVE to use it...like before my makeup looked okay without it but when i run out and i have to wear makeup without it my makeup looks absolutely horrible...so its like once you use it your face NEEDS it..so thats the only thing i hate about it.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This product is probably one of the worst - if not the worst I've ever used.
It made me break out SO much within the first 3 days of using it.
Made my face horribly oily, and was just awful.
I don't think I've ever broken out this much.
Would not recommend to anyone, don't waste your money.


on 4/18/2009 12:29:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

So this is basically my first review on any item but I just wanted to say that I do love this product. It feels a bit weird at first once you put it on your skin, but if you wait about a minute before slapping on your foundation .. it starts to feel a bit better. I personally love this item and I find it does the job. It makes my skin super smooth and makes my makeup stay on way longer than it used to ! It's a bit on the pricey side for my taste, but it's worth every cent.


on 4/13/2009 9:36:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I soooo want to like it. I am still wearing it and waiting for something to happen.....So far, no luck at all!!!!!
I am very disappointed. So I guess at some point I will stop using it and put it away...It does nothing controlling the shine, especially worn under foundation. It's ok with loose or pressed powder but then again powder is matifying in itself.
For me, it was a waste of money. But apparently there are two categories of reviews on that product! So my advice is: try it several times before buying.

EDIT: see my review about the Monistat chafing gel.


Back to Top