Philosophy • Hope in a Jar - for all skin types • Moisturizers

rated 2.8(1638 reviews)

Average Rating.2.8
Would buy this product again.39%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jjff on 12/22/2008 8:28:00 PM more reviews by jjff

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Pros: amazing whipped texture, moisturizes well.
Cons: contains lavender oil which is currently reported to be cytotoxic. I don't feel like using this product long enough to find out the hard way whether it does damage to my skin. I'd rather stick with something mild and/or enriched with proven antioxidants.

http://www.treatment-skincare.com/Lavender/Cytotoxicity.html

Another con is the lavender scent itself. Very pleasant at first if you enjoy lavender, it morphs into something nauseating once it warms up on the skin. No thanks!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lieutenantkeege on 12/19/2008 2:04:00 AM more reviews by lieutenantkeege

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I don't know what is so great about this product. I have sensitive skin and it's always hard to switch to a new product. Lucky that I asked for a small sample from store and went home to make sure it doesn't break out my skin. Well sure enough it did! Not only it made my skin red and blotchy for days, it was VERY greasy, even during winter times and I hated the smell, the feel of it on my skin. I will never buy or try this product again. After hearing all these good things about it on tv and in stores, this product was such an disappointment.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 dharbo on 12/18/2008 1:04:00 PM more reviews by dharbo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

If you can get past the medicinal lavender type scent this has then you will like this moisturizer. It really does moisturize your skin. It's light texture, almost souffle like, helps a lot in the summer months. I didn't breakout with this although its not 100% oil free. I only wish it would come in a tube instead of a tub container, I dislike dipping my fingers in this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jules007 on 12/18/2008 2:42:00 AM more reviews by jules007

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is a so-so moisturizer in my opinion with a whipped texture. It moisturizes ok, but sometimes my skin feels dry after a few hours. I don't like the herbal smell too much, I find it a bit strong.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 eunice866 on 12/17/2008 11:46:00 PM more reviews by eunice866

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have found my HG moisturizer! I use this morning and night, and it is perfect for my dry combination skin. I use it in all seasons (summer AND winter) - that is how versatile it is! It has an extremely lightweight, whipped-like feeling, so it never feels greasy, but somehow is extremely hydrating. A little goes a long way with this product, so it will last you a while. I am on my second jar, and plan on sticking with this for a long time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pootiebear1031 on 12/17/2008 7:36:00 PM more reviews by pootiebear1031

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I received a sample of Hope in a Jar when I ordered a 32 oz bottle of Amazing Grace 3 in 1 from QVC. I decided to try the moisturizer because I am always up for trying something new. The texture of this moisturizer is kind of thick and it is also sticky. I really did not like the feel of this moisturizer on my face. Also the smell is awful!!!! I like to use facial cleansers and moisturizers that have a pleasant scent and the Hope in a Jar moisturizer does not have that at all. Also after I applied the moisturizer to my face my hands were left feeling sticky as well so I had to wash my hands. I really don't understand why this moisturizer is so popular but I know I will not buy this moisturizer. I am lucky that I had the sample and did not waste my money on this product. I will stick to my Kinara Lemon Eucalyptus moisturizer. It is light and has a nice lemon scent.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Fashionopolist on 12/16/2008 5:49:00 PM more reviews by Fashionopolist

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I really like this moisturizer but I don't love it. I've used it on and off for about two years now. I prefer it in the summer because it's not heavy. It gives my skin a fresh glow and leaves my complexion smooth. I need something more moisturizing for the winter though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tootswoots on 12/16/2008 1:58:00 AM more reviews by tootswoots

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

wow, that was horrible. tonight i ran out of regular night cream so i looked in to my samples bag, pulled out this HIAJ and put it on. It was on for about five minutes before i had to wash it off my face. It really did smell like it had gone rotten. very weird. Only after putting it on did I look did i read the MUA reviews. i'm not sure how well or not it works but it smells bad enough i threw away the sample. I didn't even want to use it on my legs.. (that's saying something cause i hate to waste!)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 RMulieri on 12/15/2008 4:52:00 PM more reviews by RMulieri

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I really wanted to like this product.Unfortunately, it broke me out and made my face look like an oil slick which is pretty hard to do since I have very dry skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 tanjan2 on 12/14/2008 5:17:00 PM more reviews by tanjan2

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Disappointed. That's really the take home message here. This moisturizer made my skin break out, and while I was wearing it, the stuff just felt like a sticky, gross mess on my face. It also has a very unpleasant smell. Will never repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Philosophy products

More Moisturizers products