Philosophy • Hope in a Jar - for all skin types • Moisturizers

rated 2.8(1674 reviews)

Average Rating.2.8
Would buy this product again.39%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 karmakat on 1/25/2009 4:16:00 PM more reviews by karmakat

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I used this for many years and loved it but when i had a spot of skin cancer removed from my face I needed something with SPF. The new version with SPF is just different than the original. Very Greasy and broke me out. I liked it because my face was rosy and so soft but not worth chancing another skin cancer episode. I've started using Caudalie day perfecting cream w/ SPF 15 and love it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jennifercheng on 1/24/2009 7:18:00 PM more reviews by jennifercheng

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I bought the .5 oz for $15. I have never bought anything so small for so much.I heard people rave about this on the sephora website, but it personally doesn't work that well for me. It smells awful, and it moisturize my face somewhat, but not enough. I probably won't buy this product again, unless they lower the price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jojohn11 on 1/24/2009 6:50:00 PM more reviews by jojohn11

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

While some don't like the scent of this product, I find it kind of clean and synthetic smelling (which I like). Anyway, within a minute the scent goes away. Even though this is a cream, it is lightweight and fluffy. A little goes a long way and it exfoliates my skin gently. Every time I try something else, I always come back to my old standby, Hope I A Jar.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Buttercat36 on 1/24/2009 1:50:00 AM more reviews by Buttercat36

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I received a sample of this from Macy's and I'm soooo glad I have never paid money for it because the stink is so overwhelming it made me literally gag! I had to wash my face again after putting it on because I could not take the stench. Then I sprayed perfume on by the gallon to help mask the toxic cloud this product left behind. Seriously, do people actually pay money for this stuff? I can't even describe how awful the smell is.....sort of like old, rotten fish, sweaty shoes, sour milk and bad litterbox. If you're tempted to buy this product, go stick your face in the dumpster behind McDonald's and save your money. You'll get the same effect.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 stacy2455 on 1/23/2009 6:31:00 PM more reviews by stacy2455

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Holy nightmere, the smell!!! Ugh, almost washed my face again after putting this on. It was an ok hydrator, not great. This was a Sephora sample and thank goodness for that. I thought I'd give it a fair try for a few days but I just can't do it. The smell is is so overwhelming, I can't explain it. Will never buy this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 psubaby on 1/21/2009 6:07:00 PM more reviews by psubaby

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Like some other reviewers, I received this as a Beauty Insider gift at Sephora. All I can say is, THANK GOODNESS it was a sample and I didn't have to pay for it. The light, whipped texture is actually nice, and it does a decent job of hydrating my skin. But I just can't get past the SMELL! For starters, I absolutely can not stand the scent of lavender, and Hope in a Jar just overwhelms me with it. It literally turns my stomach.

Once, while in Nordstrom, I was walking past the Philosophy counter and got into some small talk with the sales rep. I told her I HATED the smell of Hope in a Jar, and she agreed! She said it smelled like fish. It's pretty bad if even the sales lady can't get behind the product. Not to mention, HIAJ is kinda on the expensive side. I would never buy this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 salvarez on 1/19/2009 6:58:00 PM more reviews by salvarez

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I got this as a deluxe sample from Sephora what a waste. I am glad I did not spend money on this its way too expensive. It is just okay I have used better drugstore products and I have a drugstore phobia. Anyway this did not moisturize enough My skin feels soft but I would like more moisture for my dry spots if I put this too close to my eyes it burns. I don't like the smell either.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 PinkGLoss873 on 1/17/2009 6:16:00 PM more reviews by PinkGLoss873

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

i absolutely love this moisturizer. i just switched from hope in a bottle which made me skin dry out. i love how a little goes a long way with this moisturizer so the price is pretty reasonable. i really dont find anything horrifying about this scent but then again we all have different opinions about that topic... overall, this moisturizer makes my skin very smooth and definitely gave me a healthy glow with exended use.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bluemeanie on 1/15/2009 6:50:00 PM more reviews by bluemeanie

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Grey, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I agree with the comments about a strong lavender scent and a tingling/burning sensation sometimes. I also smell a black licorice scent (or the liquor that smells like licorice; I can't remember it's name, but it smells nasty to me). Most of the scent fades within minutes of application, but I do get an occasional whiff of it still an hour or so later and it's not great. I like the scent of lavender but this is just too much for me. I do not find this product soothing to my skin and I don't like how it goes from a great whipped consistency in the jar to watery on skin contact.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pattyshine on 1/14/2009 10:39:00 PM more reviews by pattyshine

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I really hate to down a product, but I got a sample of this product hoping some of these reviews were wrong. Well, they were right! How this product got out of the lab I will never know. The smell is so bad that it seems almost dangerous. I have dry skin and I could not see it helping it at all. I love some of Philosophies products, but not this one!! Nuff said.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Philosophy products

More Moisturizers products