Philosophy • Hope in a Jar - for all skin types • Moisturizers

rated 2.8(1659 reviews)

Average Rating.2.8
Would buy this product again.39%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 stonefoxxx on 1/10/2009 12:45:00 AM more reviews by stonefoxxx

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

this smells AWFUL! i recieved it as a sample gift from sephora. i chose this over three other options because i had heard so many good things about it. i was so shocked by the smell because it seems it gets lots of raves and good reviews. the smell is this overpowering plastic, almost like melted hot glue. smells very artificial and very strong. as soon as i put it to my skin and got a wif of it, i washed my face immediately. my cat was on my vanity and even gagged..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 truley1 on 1/9/2009 9:33:00 AM more reviews by truley1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I thought this would be my go-to moisturizer after all the reviews that it got on Oprah and magazines, but after purchase I was so suprised by the horrible fake plastic gummy smell and mediocre moisturizing that I know this will not be a re-purchase. I will use it up when I think I can handle the smell that day. Maybe the DH can use it. Don't waste your money.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Princesa7 on 1/8/2009 1:08:00 PM more reviews by Princesa7

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I had a sample of this and it did nothing for my skin but make it look wack and break out=(.....I would never purchase this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 emlah624 on 1/8/2009 1:00:00 AM more reviews by emlah624

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I actually bought hope in a jar with spf 20. Which I believe is much more moisturizing than the one without spf. I think this product is good for winter time, since it can be more drying. I recommend that people who have oily skin shouldnt use this product cause it can be pretty thick.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 foxyflo on 1/8/2009 12:24:00 AM more reviews by foxyflo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This did absolutely nothing for me. It smells awful. I would never recommend this to anyone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* FeatherHen on 1/7/2009 11:31:00 PM more reviews by FeatherHen

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

Worms and rainwater. Thatís the scent.


This stuff had better work miracles because Iíve had it on my face for over an hour and it smells just foul as it did when first applied. The fumes are making my eyes burn, making it unsuitable for daytime use. It's making my face burn a little as well, but I don't detect any redness.


Time will tell how well this product performs; however tolerating the odor long enough to find out will be a challenge.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 cmc1234 on 1/6/2009 3:45:00 PM more reviews by cmc1234

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I tried this a few years ago and something in it irritated my skin. It burned and turned bright red. Actually, all Philosoply products that I have tried have had the same effect. Got this as a sample from Sephora and same results. I'm glad it works for some people but definitely not for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* anuvasan on 1/6/2009 3:32:00 PM more reviews by anuvasan

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Oh well, this was 1.5 yrs back. I had dull skin and was not really regular with skin repair and maintenance due to other health issues.


Whenever i used yogurt mask, my face was really bright. So i thought if i purchase a good cream or lotion with lactic acid in it, it might be worth it. My hunt started. All my searches (darn search engines in drugstore.com and like) got me to philosophy hope in a jar. Price is expensive. So i had to think.


Ingredients:water, lauryl lactate, behenic acid, behenoxy dimethicone, glyceryl stearate se, glycerin, behenyl alcohol, cyclomethicone, pentaerythrityl tetracaprylate/tetracaprate, tocopheryl acetate, benzyl alcohol, retinyl palmitate, stearic acid, panthenol, betaglucan, lavandula angustifolia (lavender) oil, xanthan gum, triethanolamine, propylene glycol, methylparaben, propylparaben, diazolidinyl urea


Copied that from philosophy website. Lauryl lactate is not lactic acid...i came to know that the hard way :-(

Panthenol and betaglucan are ingredients which are promising for skincare, however it is not in first 5 ingredients. I have been reading ingredients list and trying to find out good dog food for so long.. so that practice eventually hit me now in skincare too, well it is worth researching..


Ok, is this a good buy? There are raving reviews...so based on that i did purchase (should have got a sample but i was so hopeful ). First week of application was in the night...i think i would definitely back a concept call PLACEBO EFFECT! So i thought all is great..until i saw my face in my 12x mag. mirror! Face was plugged with blackheads.

Immediately stopped..didnt apply anything for a week, except yogurt, honey..and aspirin mask. And only sunscreen in the AM..skin was back to almost normal.

It is very easy to get attracted to something endorsed by a celebrity especially a nice lady like Oprah! Mind is a very tricky thing.. it can get so convinced with marketing that we might end up losing hard earned money for a very cheap product like this under a big banner. I regret buying this and had to toss it off. This was the time i resolved myself to try basic things for skin care rather than looking into high end products.


Thanks for reading my review.


2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 thebeautyis on 1/6/2009 12:50:00 PM more reviews by thebeautyis

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I don't really understand why this is a cult product. I used to use Clinique Dramatically Different and switched over to this for about a month, just to see what all the hype was about. My skin looks worse, redness is more apparent, and my nose is still super dry. And it's really expensive. The only thing I like is the packaging - unlike the mosturizers you squeeze out like lotion, you can use every bit of this. Won't be buying this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 brendakay on 1/6/2009 10:11:00 AM more reviews by brendakay

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I have been trying this product for about 3 weeks now. So far I really like it. I am not that found of the smell but it does goaway once it is on my face. I have not had any problems with the product not soaking in my skin or breaking me out. I love to texture of the product. It almost feels like it is soothing to my skin. I would purchase this product again. I would like to now try all the products by philosphy.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Philosophy products

More Moisturizers products