Philosophy • Hope in a Jar - for all skin types • Moisturizers

rated 2.8(1671 reviews)

Average Rating.2.8
Would buy this product again.39%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 DaynaMichele on 1/27/2009 11:52:00 PM more reviews by DaynaMichele

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I got this product in a Philosophy "Best of" Kit for Christmas. In general, I love Philosophy, but this product wasn't a winner for me.

PROS
Cute little screw-top jar
A little goes a long way, so the jar will last a long while.
Light
Moisturizing

CONS
Expensive
Smells horrible
Broke me out

Although this is quite good in the way of moisturizing and it may not necessarily break everyone out as it did to me, this is not an outstanding product for the price. There are cheaper, more effective alternatives.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jbub on 1/27/2009 1:44:00 PM more reviews by jbub

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

Aww I love Hope In A Jar! I am surprised by the negative ratings as this product is the only time I ever heard bells when using! Now Im sounding a little crazy, but this is my HG product. Upon applying this moisturizer, my skin instantly feels refreshed and softened. Usually I feel like I have to grease myself up after washing my face, due to the tight dry feeling some cleansers leave behind. But the combination of Hope in A Jar and my Purity face wash completely makes my skin say ahhhhh. I have never considered myself acne prone until recent years and felt as if I had to choose between using harsh drying products that burn my face and make my skin dull, or heavily mositurizing products that make me glowy but break me out. Then my Best Friend bought me a Philosophy mini set for Christmas and within days my skin felt better than it ever has. I think the price is completely doable because Sephora offers various sizes at low to medium price points, and you do not need much to cover your entire face. Philosophy products as a whole seem gentle and good for the skin, but Hope In A Jar is by far my fave. Hope this helped:)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 liasaun1 on 1/27/2009 3:14:00 AM more reviews by liasaun1

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

The actual product is fine. It sinks into my skin well, seems to do a decent job of moisturizing, doesn't clog pores, and isn't greasy.

However. The smell is awful and lasts for a long time after application. The tiny amount of moisturizer I got for the $19 little tub lasted me like a month or so which is SO not worth it (Clinique dramatically different gel is $9 for a tube that lasts me 4-6 months!!) I had high hopes for this moisturizer but it isn't worth the price - it's mostly just a smelly, average moisturizer in expensive packaging.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 CattySpice on 1/26/2009 10:48:00 PM more reviews by CattySpice

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Oh no, this product was terrible on my skin! It felt so oily, greasy and not to mention major clogged pores the next day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 vansandt on 1/26/2009 10:37:00 PM more reviews by vansandt

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I had heard some great reviews of this product from various MUA's and figured I'd give it a shot. I'm always looking for a better moisturizer that doesn't clog pores, which the MUA's were saying it didn't do.

Let me first say that the smell is gag inducing! After the first day everything just went down hill. I put this on in the morning and couldn't identify what the smell was in my car and when I got to work it started to lightly burn me (which is a first)! I quickly washed it off and vowed to not use it again - haven't had any problems since!

I'm glad some people like it, the consistency was nice, it wasn't incredibly oily and I loved the simple packaging.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 princess_jess73 on 1/26/2009 9:16:00 PM more reviews by princess_jess73

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have to add my 2 cents for this product because never have I had a moisturizer work for my oily/acne prone skin. It is AWESOME. I don't mind the scent, it fades anyhow and eh, I kindof like it. The packaging is ok, a jar with screw on lid. A little goes a long, long way. When I first tried this, I got a small sample from sephora which lasted me an entire month, unheard of for me. It is a whipped consitency, not heavy at all and not greasy feeling, leaving my skin soft and never oily. I also use purity and mirodelivery exfoliating wash and these work great for me managing my unmanagable skin. Definately HG material and don't usually say stuff like that.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* glossyxlipz on 1/26/2009 6:28:00 PM more reviews by glossyxlipz

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I got a sample from a purchase at Sephora. I wanted to like this but it just isn't for me. The smell of lavender mixed with burnt plastic is too much for me. Also, I don't see that it does anything special to my skin. Its very light which is good, but that seems to be the only good thing about it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 karmakat on 1/25/2009 4:16:00 PM more reviews by karmakat

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I used this for many years and loved it but when i had a spot of skin cancer removed from my face I needed something with SPF. The new version with SPF is just different than the original. Very Greasy and broke me out. I liked it because my face was rosy and so soft but not worth chancing another skin cancer episode. I've started using Caudalie day perfecting cream w/ SPF 15 and love it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jennifercheng on 1/24/2009 7:18:00 PM more reviews by jennifercheng

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I bought the .5 oz for $15. I have never bought anything so small for so much.I heard people rave about this on the sephora website, but it personally doesn't work that well for me. It smells awful, and it moisturize my face somewhat, but not enough. I probably won't buy this product again, unless they lower the price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jojohn11 on 1/24/2009 6:50:00 PM more reviews by jojohn11

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

While some don't like the scent of this product, I find it kind of clean and synthetic smelling (which I like). Anyway, within a minute the scent goes away. Even though this is a cream, it is lightweight and fluffy. A little goes a long way and it exfoliates my skin gently. Every time I try something else, I always come back to my old standby, Hope I A Jar.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Philosophy products

More Moisturizers products