Philosophy Hope in a Jar - for all skin types

2.8

1697 reviews

39% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water (Aqua), Lauryl Lactate, Behenic Acid, behenoxy Dimethicone, Glyceryl stearate Se, Glycerin, Behenyl Alcohol, Pentaerythrityl Tetracaprylate/Tetracaprate, Cyclopentasiloxane, Tocopheryl Acetate, Benzyl Alcohol, Retinyl Palmitate, Cyclohexasiloxane, Stearic Acid, Panthenol, Beta Glucan, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Oil, Xanthan Gum, Triethanolamine, Propylene Glycol, Geraniol, Limonene, Linalool, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Diazolidinyl Urea


on 2/23/2009 10:54:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I got this as a sample from Sephora in a little tube and I can't see why anyone would buy this. It smells horrible, doesn't really moisturize at all... it actually seemed to evaporate right off my face! Thank goodness I didn't actually pay for this!



Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Green

This moisturizer did not work out well for me at all. My boyfriend refused to kiss me good-night when I was trying this product out because the herbal smell was so strong! It moisturized only as well as any drugstore brand for a much higher price--and it left my skin feeling a little greasy and unclean.


on 2/21/2009 9:25:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This is not a good product!! It smells AWFUL and its very thin. I don't even feel like i've moisturized after ive used it!! I have dry skin and it is definitely not good for it!! However regardless of your skin tone you shouldnt buy it because of the smell - its so overwhelming and disgusting!


on 2/21/2009 2:47:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I was excited to try this product, but very disappointed after using it. I have pretty normal skin, maybe a bit on the dry side during the winter months. Not only did my skin get red and blotchy afterwards, but it needed MORE moisturizer about an hour later.
I wasn't wild about the scent, but I could have lived with it, had the product done what it was supposed to.
Definitely a thumbs down for me.


on 2/20/2009 5:29:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I was really expecting more from this product and am quite disappointed. The texture is a nice light mouse that absorbs quickly. However, it did absolutely nothing for my complexion. In addition, I detest creams that don't come into a pump since it can easily get contaminated. Will not buy this again.


on 2/19/2009 12:36:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Grey

I was very excited to try this because apparently when it works....it works wonderfullly.

Not the case for me. This caused a topical dermatitis reaction in me. The day after I first applied it, I had raised, red, itchy rash on my cheeks. I skipped a night and tried again...but earlier in the evening, and the same thing happened again. I washed it off and wont be using it again.

I did patch test on the inside of my arm, and it was fine there.

So, I would suggest patch testing this maybe on a very small area of the cheek or neck, where the skin is as sensitive as the face...but just a small patch.

The hunt for a HG nightime moisturizer continues!


on 2/18/2009 2:06:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I really, really wanted to like this moisturizer. Why did I buy this? I thought that the price was okay, for such a large amount, and after all of these miracle stories that I have heard about this, I felt that I was missing out on something. What I was missing out on was the sample. When I applied this product, my face felt tight after about 5 minutes, meaning that no hydration had occurred. Looking at the ingredients, there is really no reason for this product to be placed in an obnoxious jar-style packaging. Now I am stuck with this jar!!


on 2/17/2009 9:04:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

No positives from me. This broke me out in record time. Never never again.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I tried the Sephora deluxe sample of this and it took me 4 days to see the problems it caused. I changed nothing but my moisturizer in those 4 days and now I have small itchy bumps all over my cheeks. I was hopeful that it would help with my breakouts, but no. I have even more now. And it didn't really moisturize, my skin felt just as dry before putting it on. Complete disappointment, I'll stay away from this.


on 2/16/2009 3:00:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Oh dear, I am not a fan of this! In my quest for the perfect moisteriser after a huge rethink of my skincare regime I decided to purchase HIAJ thinking it would be a cure for all. Very disappointed. Horrible smell, very chemically and almost like disinfectant. If this went anywhere near my eyes I would be in pain and teary for a LONG time. Did absolutely nothing for my skin, may have even contributed to the problems. I hated the consistency, did not feel like whipped mousse and found it sort of melted on contact with the skin. I hated the jar and unhygienic application of dipping your finger in. Overall, a massive disappointment and a huge waste of money.


Popular Moisturizers


Moisturizing Cream
1266 Reviews
Strobe Cream
432 Reviews
Sweet Almond Oil
197 Reviews
Back to Top