Philosophy • Hope in a Jar - for all skin types • Moisturizers

rated 2.8(1676 reviews)

Average Rating.2.8
Would buy this product again.39%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 sdr737 on 1/31/2009 9:50:00 PM more reviews by sdr737

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I really wanted this to work for me but could not get past the smell! It smells awful! I used it one time and took it back.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cyndinurse on 1/31/2009 9:39:00 PM more reviews by cyndinurse

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I LOVE it!!!!!
It does smell like Lavender (which is a relaxing aromatherapy) and there is an ingredient that is called glycyrrhiza (which is licorice root extract).
It's sily and smooth and lasts forever and does the job at least for me. I've tried expensive creams to Ponds cold cream nd I like this by far the best.
Good Luck to those who try it!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 adavid84 on 1/30/2009 5:08:00 PM more reviews by adavid84

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I received this in a kit of Philosophy skincare. I have to admit, the smell it terrible, but initially I dealt with it in hopes that it would work for my skin. I normally have oily skin, which can get dry in my T-zone, and some fine lines beginning to form. This moisturizer never seemed to be enough for the dry patches I had (which weren't THAT dry). It just seemed to sit on top of my skin, never really absorbing. Which creates another problem when you try to apply makeup, I finally gave up and just used it at night. I am currently on Accutane, so this has gone in the trash, as it isn't remotely moisturizing enough for my dry skin now. Also, my mom (51, dry skin) also tried the Philosophy starter kit when I purchased mine, and gave me her HIAJ because it wasn't moisturizing enough. Plus, I don't really like dipping my fingers into the jar every day. Overall, a terrible product in my opinion. I know it works for some, but I don't see how this can work for those with truly dry skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* flowersfade on 1/30/2009 1:25:00 PM more reviews by flowersfade

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

i wrote a review for this product and originally gave it four stars, but i've changed my mind. i LOVE this moisturizer, it is definitely an HG. i was nervous about it at first because i still have young skin and it's easy for me to break out from moisturizers, but i've had only good results from this.

it starts off as a nice moussey texture but when you begin to rub it into your skin, it gets watery. i didn't like this at first because i like the moussey texture so much, but i've grown to appreciate it because it makes it absorb really quickly and it's easier to spread around without tugging this way.

this is plenty moisturizing for me WITHOUT feeling heavy, and since i live in florida that's a huge pro. i've only been using this through the winter, but i'm sure i'll love it all the same in the summer time. it doesn't make me oily and it fixed all of my dry patches, and it sinks in just as easily whenever i need to put a little extra on. i am in love.

the smell is kind of yucky, but it goes away pretty quickly. by the time i put my primer on, it's gone. it does stick to my hands though, so i make sure i rinse them off after use. it's kind of a medicine-y scent, i honestly think it's endurable (and i do have a sensitive nose) and not nearly terrible enough for me to discontinue use or like it any less.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* iheartMUA on 1/28/2009 11:57:00 AM more reviews by iheartMUA

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I love Philosophy's fragrance line, but that's about IT. This product has THE worst smell to it. I can't image the makers of this letting it even hit the store shelves...do their noses NOT work? It's horrid...I can't say anything about the usefullness of this product because I washed it off right after I put it on.
ICK !!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 DaynaMichele on 1/27/2009 11:52:00 PM more reviews by DaynaMichele

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I got this product in a Philosophy "Best of" Kit for Christmas. In general, I love Philosophy, but this product wasn't a winner for me.

PROS
Cute little screw-top jar
A little goes a long way, so the jar will last a long while.
Light
Moisturizing

CONS
Expensive
Smells horrible
Broke me out

Although this is quite good in the way of moisturizing and it may not necessarily break everyone out as it did to me, this is not an outstanding product for the price. There are cheaper, more effective alternatives.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jbub on 1/27/2009 1:44:00 PM more reviews by jbub

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

Aww I love Hope In A Jar! I am surprised by the negative ratings as this product is the only time I ever heard bells when using! Now Im sounding a little crazy, but this is my HG product. Upon applying this moisturizer, my skin instantly feels refreshed and softened. Usually I feel like I have to grease myself up after washing my face, due to the tight dry feeling some cleansers leave behind. But the combination of Hope in A Jar and my Purity face wash completely makes my skin say ahhhhh. I have never considered myself acne prone until recent years and felt as if I had to choose between using harsh drying products that burn my face and make my skin dull, or heavily mositurizing products that make me glowy but break me out. Then my Best Friend bought me a Philosophy mini set for Christmas and within days my skin felt better than it ever has. I think the price is completely doable because Sephora offers various sizes at low to medium price points, and you do not need much to cover your entire face. Philosophy products as a whole seem gentle and good for the skin, but Hope In A Jar is by far my fave. Hope this helped:)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 liasaun1 on 1/27/2009 3:14:00 AM more reviews by liasaun1

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

The actual product is fine. It sinks into my skin well, seems to do a decent job of moisturizing, doesn't clog pores, and isn't greasy.

However. The smell is awful and lasts for a long time after application. The tiny amount of moisturizer I got for the $19 little tub lasted me like a month or so which is SO not worth it (Clinique dramatically different gel is $9 for a tube that lasts me 4-6 months!!) I had high hopes for this moisturizer but it isn't worth the price - it's mostly just a smelly, average moisturizer in expensive packaging.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 CattySpice on 1/26/2009 10:48:00 PM more reviews by CattySpice

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Oh no, this product was terrible on my skin! It felt so oily, greasy and not to mention major clogged pores the next day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 vansandt on 1/26/2009 10:37:00 PM more reviews by vansandt

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I had heard some great reviews of this product from various MUA's and figured I'd give it a shot. I'm always looking for a better moisturizer that doesn't clog pores, which the MUA's were saying it didn't do.

Let me first say that the smell is gag inducing! After the first day everything just went down hill. I put this on in the morning and couldn't identify what the smell was in my car and when I got to work it started to lightly burn me (which is a first)! I quickly washed it off and vowed to not use it again - haven't had any problems since!

I'm glad some people like it, the consistency was nice, it wasn't incredibly oily and I loved the simple packaging.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Philosophy products

More Moisturizers products