Philosophy Hope in a Jar - for all skin types

2.8

1701 reviews

39% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water (Aqua), Lauryl Lactate, Behenic Acid, behenoxy Dimethicone, Glyceryl stearate Se, Glycerin, Behenyl Alcohol, Pentaerythrityl Tetracaprylate/Tetracaprate, Cyclopentasiloxane, Tocopheryl Acetate, Benzyl Alcohol, Retinyl Palmitate, Cyclohexasiloxane, Stearic Acid, Panthenol, Beta Glucan, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Oil, Xanthan Gum, Triethanolamine, Propylene Glycol, Geraniol, Limonene, Linalool, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Diazolidinyl Urea


on 2/27/2009 4:19:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I may buy this product again, if I see ant results, but after three days, it just doesn't seem to be doing much for me. I am very dry and their Hope in a Jar for Dry, Sensitive Skin saved me from facial eczema and is my HG, but I don't know what to say about this. I like to use a lighter moisturizer right in the morning because HIAJ dry, sensitive is not always adequate when my skin is doing alright (like summer). I use MAC Studio Fix Lotion and it seeps in well, and wears well under makeup. This seems to wear well under makeup, but MAC's is cheaper and... DOES NOT SMELL LIKE BUTTHOLE! HIAJ dry, sensitive just smells like lavender. Not good, but not bad, and at least my boyfriend can kiss my cheek without then sniffing and asking me what kind of gross product I have on my cheek. It's hard for me to find a moisturizer to wear under makeup well. This does, but so do others.



on 2/26/2009 10:53:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've heard so much about this cream and had to try it myself. Well... big disappointment. First, the smell. I wonder how is this possible for a beauty product to have such unpleasant odor. Since many people love the cream despite the smell I forced myself to use it to see if it would do raved magic on my skin. Although my skin is not sensitive when I put this cream my eyes just burned and teared up so bad. First time experiencing such reaction in my life. I certainly didn't expect such thing from not so cheap cream. Also, it doesn't sink into the skin as " drink of water" but stayed on my skin and balled up under my fingers. Not giving up HOPE still using it to see the claimed results. So far used 1oz but no positive change.


on 2/26/2009 12:56:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I wanted to luv this product and I used half a jar hoping I'd eventually see some results. Yes, there is a medicinal scent but I got used it. I was hoping it would improve the clarity of my skin but never seen any difference. This moisturized never sank into my skin - it always sat on top no matter how little I used. Do not get this anywhere near your eyes because the chemicals drift up and made my eyes water and burn like crazy. I wish this worked for me. Maybe if I had dry skin this would work.


on 2/26/2009 12:43:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

I have been using this product for a couple of years now. The smell is not great, but it goes away quickly. I use it at night. It works well on my dry skin and helps to keep it soft and smooth. I wish it were cheaper, but it does the best job of anything I have tried.


on 2/23/2009 10:54:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I got this as a sample from Sephora in a little tube and I can't see why anyone would buy this. It smells horrible, doesn't really moisturize at all... it actually seemed to evaporate right off my face! Thank goodness I didn't actually pay for this!


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Green

This moisturizer did not work out well for me at all. My boyfriend refused to kiss me good-night when I was trying this product out because the herbal smell was so strong! It moisturized only as well as any drugstore brand for a much higher price--and it left my skin feeling a little greasy and unclean.


on 2/21/2009 9:25:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This is not a good product!! It smells AWFUL and its very thin. I don't even feel like i've moisturized after ive used it!! I have dry skin and it is definitely not good for it!! However regardless of your skin tone you shouldnt buy it because of the smell - its so overwhelming and disgusting!


on 2/21/2009 2:47:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I was excited to try this product, but very disappointed after using it. I have pretty normal skin, maybe a bit on the dry side during the winter months. Not only did my skin get red and blotchy afterwards, but it needed MORE moisturizer about an hour later.
I wasn't wild about the scent, but I could have lived with it, had the product done what it was supposed to.
Definitely a thumbs down for me.


on 2/20/2009 5:29:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I was really expecting more from this product and am quite disappointed. The texture is a nice light mouse that absorbs quickly. However, it did absolutely nothing for my complexion. In addition, I detest creams that don't come into a pump since it can easily get contaminated. Will not buy this again.


on 2/19/2009 12:36:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Grey

I was very excited to try this because apparently when it works....it works wonderfullly.

Not the case for me. This caused a topical dermatitis reaction in me. The day after I first applied it, I had raised, red, itchy rash on my cheeks. I skipped a night and tried again...but earlier in the evening, and the same thing happened again. I washed it off and wont be using it again.

I did patch test on the inside of my arm, and it was fine there.

So, I would suggest patch testing this maybe on a very small area of the cheek or neck, where the skin is as sensitive as the face...but just a small patch.

The hunt for a HG nightime moisturizer continues!


Popular Moisturizers


Strobe Cream
Strobe Cream
441 Reviews
Pure Perfection
Pure Perfection
35 Reviews
Magic Cream
Magic Cream
33 Reviews
Back to Top