Philosophy Hope in a Jar - for all skin types

2.8

1697 reviews

39% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water (Aqua), Lauryl Lactate, Behenic Acid, behenoxy Dimethicone, Glyceryl stearate Se, Glycerin, Behenyl Alcohol, Pentaerythrityl Tetracaprylate/Tetracaprate, Cyclopentasiloxane, Tocopheryl Acetate, Benzyl Alcohol, Retinyl Palmitate, Cyclohexasiloxane, Stearic Acid, Panthenol, Beta Glucan, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Oil, Xanthan Gum, Triethanolamine, Propylene Glycol, Geraniol, Limonene, Linalool, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Diazolidinyl Urea


Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This was an ok cream at best. It wasn't anything amazing & the only glow I got was from being shiny/oily looking after applying. It didn't absorb well into my combination skin (oily nose/forehead, dry cheeks). The smell was not appealing either. I had RIS a jar that was pretty full & was skeptical about the freshness because of the smell. When I compared it to a sample packet I just got, it was the same exact smell so I knew the jar hadn't gone bad. Would not purchase this & was glad I tried it first before shelling out money for it.
Try When Hope Is Not Enough in a tube -- it has the loveliest lavender scent & it is one of my staples.



on 3/9/2009 2:33:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm sorry, this isn't going to be a hugely useful review, but I just got a sample and it has the exact chemical/wet-dog smell of a freshly shampood carpet. Really gross. Can't imagine paying money for this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/8/2009 11:31:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I found Hope to be very moisturizing, but the cons seem to outweigh the pros. The pros or I should say, pro is that the cream-type moisturizer is very moisturizing. With that said, this moisturizer has a very strong smell. The smell is a mixture of herbs and tea; regardless, it was not something I cared for. Besides the scent, the moisturizer caused me to become more oily than usual. I have combination skin with a slightly oily t-zone, but after using this cream, my face was like an oil slick. My make up started to melt off my face. Boo. I would recommend this moisturizer for people who aren't planning to wear heavy make up or any make up at all. Other than that, I'm sure there are better moisturizers in the market.


on 3/8/2009 3:54:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Philosophy makes many of my very favorite products, however, Hope in a Jar is the one exception. It is terrible!


I bought the smallest $15 jar (.5 oz) in anticipation that it would be fabulous like their microdelivery peel set. Unfortunetly, it's not. Instead it smells bad. So much so, I never have worn at bedtime in fear it would offend my husband. Also, even after applying and rubbing it on, it doesn't seem to want to absorb into my skin. This is the ONLY cream that has ever refused to cooperate. It just sits there lacking the motivation to create a "healthy rose-glow" as the Sephora site promises.

Won't buy again. In fact, returning the jar I'm stuck with should be on my to-do list!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/3/2009 8:30:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I beleive my search for the perfect moisturizer has come to a hault. I've used pretty much everything, from moderately priced, to super expensive, and nothing, i mean NOTHING has come close to hope in a jar. i have combo skin, oily t-zone, and some redness on my cheeks.. occasional pimples here and there, and a few lines. THIS stuff, has basically taken care of ALL of my 'issues'. ONE product does everything I need. My lines seem to look better, my tone is MUCH better, it isnt breaking me out - and I look Dewy. I dont like The purity cleanser too much, but Hope in a Jar & the Hope in a Tube eye cream will probably be on my vanity FOREVER. its just THAT GOOD.


on 3/3/2009 4:54:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I am reviewing the SPF 20, I didn't want to start a new entry for it.
I'm also using in tandem with 'When Hope is Not Enough'. But I use this way way more.

Usage : been using over 3 months, not daily - but maybe 5xweek
Me : 41, some wrinkles, discoloration, uneven texture.
Biggest Concern : Wrinkles and discoloration


This has helped my wrinkles. I can tell the difference. I put this on my face, neck and chest and I can see it. This has helped with discoloration greatly. My skin texture is improved. It is smoother / softer and its noticeable.

Like other posters, this has made me break out a little. Small white pimples and sometimes just like a red rash. It sounds horrible I know, but I am really happy with the other results I am getting. This has made me photosensitive, and here is the down side :

I will not buy this with SPF if I do repurchase. If you put on enough to even get the SPF results, its too much. This cream is strong, can be oily-ish and I can't put that much on. I wear a primer with SPF so if I repurchase, no sunscreen.

Philosophy has a nice vitamin C powder you can mix in w/this that cuts the oiliness a lot, but that is just another product.

The jury is out on a repurchase. The breakouts are a big downer. Once I finish this jar, and really look at my skin, I will decide. I put 'yes' to repurchase on this review as of now, because as of now - I would.


1/30/09 edit : I haven't used this product for 2 weeks and I am getting the same small break outs. So, its not this. I am post partum, so I think its hormones.


on 2/27/2009 4:19:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I may buy this product again, if I see ant results, but after three days, it just doesn't seem to be doing much for me. I am very dry and their Hope in a Jar for Dry, Sensitive Skin saved me from facial eczema and is my HG, but I don't know what to say about this. I like to use a lighter moisturizer right in the morning because HIAJ dry, sensitive is not always adequate when my skin is doing alright (like summer). I use MAC Studio Fix Lotion and it seeps in well, and wears well under makeup. This seems to wear well under makeup, but MAC's is cheaper and... DOES NOT SMELL LIKE BUTTHOLE! HIAJ dry, sensitive just smells like lavender. Not good, but not bad, and at least my boyfriend can kiss my cheek without then sniffing and asking me what kind of gross product I have on my cheek. It's hard for me to find a moisturizer to wear under makeup well. This does, but so do others.


on 2/26/2009 10:53:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've heard so much about this cream and had to try it myself. Well... big disappointment. First, the smell. I wonder how is this possible for a beauty product to have such unpleasant odor. Since many people love the cream despite the smell I forced myself to use it to see if it would do raved magic on my skin. Although my skin is not sensitive when I put this cream my eyes just burned and teared up so bad. First time experiencing such reaction in my life. I certainly didn't expect such thing from not so cheap cream. Also, it doesn't sink into the skin as " drink of water" but stayed on my skin and balled up under my fingers. Not giving up HOPE still using it to see the claimed results. So far used 1oz but no positive change.


on 2/26/2009 12:56:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I wanted to luv this product and I used half a jar hoping I'd eventually see some results. Yes, there is a medicinal scent but I got used it. I was hoping it would improve the clarity of my skin but never seen any difference. This moisturized never sank into my skin - it always sat on top no matter how little I used. Do not get this anywhere near your eyes because the chemicals drift up and made my eyes water and burn like crazy. I wish this worked for me. Maybe if I had dry skin this would work.


on 2/26/2009 12:43:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

I have been using this product for a couple of years now. The smell is not great, but it goes away quickly. I use it at night. It works well on my dry skin and helps to keep it soft and smooth. I wish it were cheaper, but it does the best job of anything I have tried.


Popular Moisturizers


Moisturizing Cream
1267 Reviews
Strobe Cream
432 Reviews
Sweet Almond Oil
197 Reviews
Back to Top