Philosophy Hope in a Jar - for all skin types

2.8

1701 reviews

38% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water (Aqua), Lauryl Lactate, Behenic Acid, behenoxy Dimethicone, Glyceryl stearate Se, Glycerin, Behenyl Alcohol, Pentaerythrityl Tetracaprylate/Tetracaprate, Cyclopentasiloxane, Tocopheryl Acetate, Benzyl Alcohol, Retinyl Palmitate, Cyclohexasiloxane, Stearic Acid, Panthenol, Beta Glucan, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Oil, Xanthan Gum, Triethanolamine, Propylene Glycol, Geraniol, Limonene, Linalool, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Diazolidinyl Urea


on 3/15/2009 5:40:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

Wow, when they said this product stunk they weren't kidding. I've owned a plethora of moisturizers and this is the only one that I've owned that felt like I was putting Crisco on my face. It felt like it didn't sink into my skin, just spread on like a mask. I'm all about super moisturizing cremes, but this one doesn't cut it for me. I'll use it up because I don't want to waste it, but from now on I'm gong to mix it with my Juice Beauty apple moisturizer on my dry days.



on 3/15/2009 1:30:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

i hated this cream. it smelled really bad like iron and metal. and it made me breakout with a rash all over my face after a few days of using it. i tried it again about a year later and the same exact thing happen. maybe it's different for other people. not a fan. i had to spend lots of money and ended up giving it to one of my roommates cause it sucked so bad.


on 3/14/2009 11:29:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This I think would be better for dry and/or aging skin. I have combination to oily skin and all it did was smell terrible and grease me up. :(


Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is AWFUL. Smells terrible, doesn't absorb into your skin, and when I carelessly wiped my hands on my towel after applying it it turned the towel BRIGHT yellow. I am absolutely positive this is what did it, and the color would not come out in the wash. What a waste of money.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This was an ok cream at best. It wasn't anything amazing & the only glow I got was from being shiny/oily looking after applying. It didn't absorb well into my combination skin (oily nose/forehead, dry cheeks). The smell was not appealing either. I had RIS a jar that was pretty full & was skeptical about the freshness because of the smell. When I compared it to a sample packet I just got, it was the same exact smell so I knew the jar hadn't gone bad. Would not purchase this & was glad I tried it first before shelling out money for it.
Try When Hope Is Not Enough in a tube -- it has the loveliest lavender scent & it is one of my staples.


on 3/9/2009 2:33:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm sorry, this isn't going to be a hugely useful review, but I just got a sample and it has the exact chemical/wet-dog smell of a freshly shampood carpet. Really gross. Can't imagine paying money for this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/8/2009 11:31:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I found Hope to be very moisturizing, but the cons seem to outweigh the pros. The pros or I should say, pro is that the cream-type moisturizer is very moisturizing. With that said, this moisturizer has a very strong smell. The smell is a mixture of herbs and tea; regardless, it was not something I cared for. Besides the scent, the moisturizer caused me to become more oily than usual. I have combination skin with a slightly oily t-zone, but after using this cream, my face was like an oil slick. My make up started to melt off my face. Boo. I would recommend this moisturizer for people who aren't planning to wear heavy make up or any make up at all. Other than that, I'm sure there are better moisturizers in the market.


on 3/8/2009 3:54:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Philosophy makes many of my very favorite products, however, Hope in a Jar is the one exception. It is terrible!


I bought the smallest $15 jar (.5 oz) in anticipation that it would be fabulous like their microdelivery peel set. Unfortunetly, it's not. Instead it smells bad. So much so, I never have worn at bedtime in fear it would offend my husband. Also, even after applying and rubbing it on, it doesn't seem to want to absorb into my skin. This is the ONLY cream that has ever refused to cooperate. It just sits there lacking the motivation to create a "healthy rose-glow" as the Sephora site promises.

Won't buy again. In fact, returning the jar I'm stuck with should be on my to-do list!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/3/2009 8:30:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I beleive my search for the perfect moisturizer has come to a hault. I've used pretty much everything, from moderately priced, to super expensive, and nothing, i mean NOTHING has come close to hope in a jar. i have combo skin, oily t-zone, and some redness on my cheeks.. occasional pimples here and there, and a few lines. THIS stuff, has basically taken care of ALL of my 'issues'. ONE product does everything I need. My lines seem to look better, my tone is MUCH better, it isnt breaking me out - and I look Dewy. I dont like The purity cleanser too much, but Hope in a Jar & the Hope in a Tube eye cream will probably be on my vanity FOREVER. its just THAT GOOD.


on 3/3/2009 4:54:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I am reviewing the SPF 20, I didn't want to start a new entry for it.
I'm also using in tandem with 'When Hope is Not Enough'. But I use this way way more.

Usage : been using over 3 months, not daily - but maybe 5xweek
Me : 41, some wrinkles, discoloration, uneven texture.
Biggest Concern : Wrinkles and discoloration


This has helped my wrinkles. I can tell the difference. I put this on my face, neck and chest and I can see it. This has helped with discoloration greatly. My skin texture is improved. It is smoother / softer and its noticeable.

Like other posters, this has made me break out a little. Small white pimples and sometimes just like a red rash. It sounds horrible I know, but I am really happy with the other results I am getting. This has made me photosensitive, and here is the down side :

I will not buy this with SPF if I do repurchase. If you put on enough to even get the SPF results, its too much. This cream is strong, can be oily-ish and I can't put that much on. I wear a primer with SPF so if I repurchase, no sunscreen.

Philosophy has a nice vitamin C powder you can mix in w/this that cuts the oiliness a lot, but that is just another product.

The jury is out on a repurchase. The breakouts are a big downer. Once I finish this jar, and really look at my skin, I will decide. I put 'yes' to repurchase on this review as of now, because as of now - I would.


1/30/09 edit : I haven't used this product for 2 weeks and I am getting the same small break outs. So, its not this. I am post partum, so I think its hormones.


Back to Top