Philosophy • Hope in a Jar - for all skin types • Moisturizers

rated 2.8(1676 reviews)

Average Rating.2.8
Would buy this product again.39%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 Moonpetals on 2/13/2009 2:55:00 AM more reviews by Moonpetals

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Hearing about this on Oprah and every second person I got all excited and got some. I found it smelled strange and didn't absorb nicely. I kept trying it until I hated it. Then I thought about checking why everyone thought it was so great so I checked every ingredient in this cream....let me just say it's unhealthy and If I knew the ingredients in here in the first place I would have never tried it. I always say..."check what you're paying for" Cosmeticsdatabase.com
You can type in any ingredient and they will tell you all you need to know.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 mgjolley on 2/12/2009 11:49:00 PM more reviews by mgjolley

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I am very sorry to say this but I did tried very hard to think positive things about this product. In all, I don't think hope in the jar brings me any hope. 1, The smell is not very pleasant. I don't know if it is just chemical smell or something else. Anyway, it smells very very weird. 2, minutes after I put it on, the skin around my eyes started to hurt. I tried hard to ignore the pain but my eyes just hurt very badly. Eventually, I had to wash it off and do everything all over again. I threw away the rest of it. This is just my own experience. I have sensitive skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Lunesse on 2/12/2009 3:59:00 PM more reviews by Lunesse

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

My review is for HiaJ, the original formula for all skintypes sans SPF. I have normal skin that doesn't break out unless it's that time of the month. For me, this was a very light moisturizer that absorbed quickly into the skin and is never greasy. It's consistency is that of a whipped soufflé or cream. After a few uses, I've definitely noted a brighter and more even complexion. However, I do feel that this product has two downfalls. One is the smell. While I do not purchase serious skincare products for its smell, it's a very plastic clinical sort of smell. It's not offensive or strong by any means, but it doesn't smell like a bouquet, that's for sure. Second of all is the packaging. True to its name, it comes in a jar. Problem with this is that one would have to constantly dip their fingers into the product, which can contaminate it with bacteria and the like. Since they already have a different product called Hope in a Tube, I doubt we'd be seeing this in a squeeze tube anytime soon. If you are really concerned about getting bacteria into HiaJ, then I recommend purchasing the smaller .5 oz container. Or you could use some type of clean utensil to scoop out a bit for every application but it's a little inconvenient.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 hannahxyz on 2/12/2009 11:44:00 AM more reviews by hannahxyz

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have combination skin and my cheeks are always dehydrated. I bought this hoping that it will hydrate my skin without adding oil. The first week, it felts amazing. The cream gets absorbed right away leaving the face not greasy at all. But after about a month, my cheeks started to grow small red bumps. There could be two reasons. 1) this product made my skin reactive 2) it clogs pores and causes breakout. if my second guess is right, I suggest people with oily combination skin to be careful with this product. You might get breakouts. I still kept using it just because i paid almost 50 bucks (canada) for it.
I'm on the last bit of my first jar and I will not buy this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 katetdang on 2/9/2009 5:59:00 PM more reviews by katetdang

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love this moisturizer! It is is deceivingly light, yet extremely effective. It sinks right in and doesn't leave me feeling greasy. At the same time, I am on Retin A, and it is the only moisturizer that effectively gets rid of the flakeys that I get from the peeling associated with Retin A. I use it every morning underneath my sunscreen. The things I don't love about this moisturizer is that it smells of lavender (which is an ingredient) and lavender has a tendency to make me somewhat nauseous. However, the scent is very light, so I can live with it. The jar container is somewhat inconvenient though because it can get pretty unsanitary dipping into it day after day with your fingers.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 lvc80 on 2/9/2009 12:55:00 PM more reviews by lvc80

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I really liked this the first few times I used it. It really brightened up my skin and didn't leave me feeling oily. But after a few weeks of use I noticed my skin started breaking out so I stopped using it-my face cleared up right away after that. I think it may have to do with the fact that it comes in a jar and you have to dip your fingers in there. It may be transfering bacteria to the product despite me washing my hands before use. Also, I wonder how the ingrediants remain stable since as soon as you open it it's exposed to air. Not a horrible product but not wonderful either. May try it out again if the change to a pump dispenser.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 idontknowmomo on 2/8/2009 8:32:00 PM more reviews by idontknowmomo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I've been using this moisturizer every night for about two years now. I love the smell of it, it's very refreshing. I have slightly break out prone skin and this moisturizer hasn't made me have any flare ups. One container of this stuff seems to last foreeeevvver.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 RoseViolet on 2/2/2009 7:02:00 AM more reviews by RoseViolet

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Broke me out horribly. It stinks. Very expensive

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 toezies on 2/1/2009 4:45:00 PM more reviews by toezies

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I used this for years and had great success with it, I always enjoyed the scent too, but had to switch to hope for congested skin once my breakouts got more severe

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 karlaarce on 2/1/2009 4:30:00 PM more reviews by karlaarce

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This review is for Hope in a Jar SPF 20, could not find it in the list. This mosturizer is the WORST thing I could ever done to my skin. I used it for two days... only two! the second day at night I saw the worst acne irritation in my chin and upper lip. It was like a bunch of little whiteheads and irritation. than God it is a long weekend and i dont have to go to the office until Tuesday. I am SO disappointed because this product is not cheap. For you ladies that are thinking of trying this, be careful and try a sample first. I gave it 1 lippie because I was not able to select 0 (zero).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Philosophy products

More Moisturizers products