E.L.F. • Essential Eyelid Primer - Sheer • Eye Primer

rated 3.9(790 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 rose1234 on 9/9/2010 9:29:00 PM more reviews by rose1234

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

edit: after a few weeks of wearing and then not wearing the primer, it seemed that there was really no difference so I have stopped using.

Original post:
This is my first eyelid primer so I cannot compare the performance to others. I saw this in Target and I knew that this primer had great reviews, so for ONE DOLLAR, even on a budget, I was able to afford this, no problem.

I have found that just a very tiny, tiny bit is enough so I dab my finger on the little sponge applicator and transfer it to my eyelid area and under my eyes too for help keeping the concealer from creasing. Then, I do something else like my hair while I wait for it to dry.

This extends the wear of my WnW eye shadows to the point where I put the makeup on at 7:30pm and when I come home and take it off at 6:15pm, it is still there with no creasing and very little fading, if any. It is a big improvement. I do not see an increase in the vibrancy, and that would be nice, but for $1, I think I can live with it.




1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 BasiaMik on 9/7/2010 9:02:00 PM more reviews by BasiaMik

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I was so excited to find a cheap primer, I immediately ordered two of these on the ELF website. The primer, however, is a disappointment. It doesn't last the entire day. It's good until around 3/4pm, that's why I give it 3 lippies. Another good thing? The price is great. All that aside, the packaging seems to have air bubbles (not much product), the consistency is liquidy, and eyeshadow colors do not seem more vibrant. It's not a bad buy, but I think I'm going to invest in Too Faced Shadow Insurance after trying out UDPP. I liked UDPP but it's too expensive for too little product. Too Faced seems like a better deal, esp because most youtube gurus use it and rave about it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* girrl65 on 8/26/2010 6:19:00 PM more reviews by girrl65

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

So I bought this simply because I'm an eye primer addict and this was only $1. How can you pass up $1? I must say that I am a UDPP aficionado, so my standards for eye primer is pretty high.

I have been using this for several days now and I find it to be really excellent for most of the shadows that I wear. The majority of my shadows are Urban Decay, so the quality and pigmentation is all there. It doesn't need that much help. So with this primer and those shadows, I literally don't see a difference if I had used UDPP instead. I don't notice any creasing or fading and the colors look brighter and bolder. However, I don't gob this stuff on. I put a stripe on my lid and then blend it with my finger. If you try to use the brush to blend it, you get too much and THAT is what causes creasing (if your primer is so gobby that IT creases, you used too much). That and not applying this to clean eyelids. If you have dirt and oil on your lids, what do you expect? I think that's the case with any primer.

Although, when I use a low-quality or low-pigmented shadow, this primer really does not do much. I have made some really awful and cheap eye shadows wearable using UDPP, but this primer will not work for salvaging junk products.

BUT I don't really have a lot of low-quality shadows anyway so that isn't a problem for me. My only gripe with this is the primer kind of oozes out of the top a little bit and gets on the part where you screw that cap back on. I think that is kind of wasteful. Nevertheless, I will TOTALLY be buying this again. In fact, I will buy several next time I go to Target.

UPDATE: I have been using this for about 2 months now and it is amazingly epic. I will never pay $20 for eye primer again!

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MMnoob on 8/23/2010 9:49:00 PM more reviews by MMnoob

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is exactly the same thing as the ELF mineral eyeshadow primer and is only a $1. I know its not really that much difference for the money, but I think i'd rather buy this one instead. They both are kind of oily and thin but it works great. The only difference to the mineral one is that the tube is rubberized like NARS and has a potion shape to it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 DarleneAlene on 8/21/2010 4:51:00 PM more reviews by DarleneAlene

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I've been using Urban Decay Primer Potion for years and turned my nose up at this product for a long time. After some consideration, what's $1 to try something new out? We all know we've spent way more on products that were awful, even after checking out MUA reviews.

Please note I used UDPP primarily to keep my lids oil-free when wearing liquid eyeliner. The first day I tried this, I was scared and mixed it with UDPP just in case. Afterward, I used this alone and my eyeliner has been fine after a long day!

The product IS slicker to work with and DOES have a scent to it, but at 1/18th of the cost of UDPP, I do not care because it still gets the job done! HOORAY!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rhymingrealtor on 8/21/2010 6:00:00 AM more reviews by rhymingrealtor

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Green    

For me this has been the best primer I have ever used. The reviews are mixed, but I have tried many more expensive, some luckily via sample, some via purchase. I would have to say the only downside to this ( not really a downside) is I have to work fast because If I need to blend and I am not quick enough its really on there. No creases, works better with matte ES than frost but I prefer matte.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* oxnicoleox3 on 8/18/2010 2:43:00 PM more reviews by oxnicoleox3

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

For $1, It was a no brainer I had to try this. It was one of my first E.L.F purchases and I was happy with the prices. Although, I have to say this didn't reach my expectations. This is also the very first eye primer I have ever purchased. After a long day at work, I noticed my dark brown eyeshadow left a horribly obvious crease mark when I came home. I don't think the colors are more vibrant either. If you are going to buy this, I would recommend it with light and natural eyeshadows because dark colors only make obvious crease lines. I think I'm still on the hunt for a good cheap eye primer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pjw1209 on 8/18/2010 2:46:00 AM more reviews by pjw1209

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this as a backup to my e.l.f. Studio primer and it's nothing like the Studio version. I couldn't get past the fact that it is so oily. I felt like it was sliding right off my eye lids. I used this under my NYX white eye shadow base. Then, I had to add a mineral concealer to seal this, because it felt like my eyelids were so greasy and slippery.


I wore an earthly taupe shade, so I cannot speak to how long this primer helped my shadow to stay on, because it was an allover color wash. All I know is, I like the Studio product much better and I will keep this as a backup, in case I run out while I am waiting for my replacement Studio primer order to arrive. Stick with the $3.00 version in the future ~ it's much better than this one...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 WesleysMom25 on 8/13/2010 4:04:00 PM more reviews by WesleysMom25

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I really wanted to like this. I wore this primer with ELF eyeshadow. I put it on in the morning and by the afternoon it was almost completely gone. I think I will stick with my MAC paint pots. It might be more expensive than ELF primer but it will last longer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* earthymoon on 8/13/2010 2:00:00 PM more reviews by earthymoon

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

E.L.F primer VS. UDPP

E.L.F
price = $1
wear = 6-10 hours with minimal or no creasing (depending on shadow, skin type and conditions), some fading of color after 3-4 hours (cheaper shadows)
pigmentation = Shadow colors are somewhat intensified
application of product = doe foot wand, formula is creamy and requires a few minutes to dry (smooth finish)
application of shadow = shadow glides on smoothly and blends well

UDPP
price = $18
wear = infinity with no creasing
pigmentation = shadow colors are intensified and become very vivid
application of product = doe foot wand, formula is slightly pastey, dries quickly (tacky finish)
application of shadow = shadow must be pressed/tapped on lid and does not blend well

For me E.L.F wins because of the ease of blending and price. However I do reach for my UDPP when I want very vivid out there colors and super long wear when I know I'm going to have a 12 hour day.

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More E.L.F. products

More Eye Primer products