E.L.F. • Essential Eyelid Primer - Sheer • Eye Primer

rated 4.0(773 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 j3nnyisfunky on 6/28/2010 7:25:00 PM more reviews by j3nnyisfunky

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Only $1! OMG! I thought I'd give it a try, well durr, because it was super cheap! and I must say I think it's so awesome! it helps makes your eyeshadow color become more vibrant and it doesn't crease at all. I have monolids so it's key for the color to stay on especially when I blink. I haven't tried any other eyelid primer from any other brand only because they are ridiculously expensive. Maybe if I try out Urban Decay's primer potion I can change my mind about E.L.F's but for now, I love this product!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 luvmejoice on 6/23/2010 5:02:00 PM more reviews by luvmejoice

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I've started experimenting with eye primers and have gone from none to 5. The ELF primer is my latest addition and it is by far my biggest disappointment!
The product itself barely intensifies my eyeshadow, and I tried it with some good quality eyeshadows, not cheap chalky unpigmented ones.
I have oily lids, even UDPP has a hard time not creasing on me after 5-6 hours, even less when it's hot outside. This thing does NOTHING for the staying power. Actually, 2 days ago I wore my only MAC eyeshadow, Rondelle, with this and it almost instantly creased!
The consistency is horrible! Very wet and oily, like the reviewer below said, it's like foundation mixed with some shea butter or some other kind of lotion that makes it so liquid and runny!
I also dislike the packaging. The rubber stopper is useless because if you're not careful you can end up with primer splattered all over your makeup table or, even worse, all over your clothes! I guess I like the fact that it's a see-through container so that I know when I run out of it although at this rate I'm not sure I'll ever use it, let alone run out of it.
I live in Romania and ELF here is a little more than 2$. This works as if I was wearing no primer at all, a complete waste of money, even if the amount is so small.
I'm stubborn and hate to see something go to waste. I think I'll use this for swatching eyeshadows, even though it doesn't really improve their pigmentation but at least it's a way of using it instead of throwing it away.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 lisamaxum on 6/23/2010 4:44:00 PM more reviews by lisamaxum

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Product itself was blem. I can easily create a similar formula using body butter and a little bit of foundation. It held onto the eyeshadow well, however it did crease, which isn't surprising because it IS the summertime. I think the packaging is cute and the applicator is like many others. It's dirt cheap so I don't see why you wouldn't want to try this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bluechandelier on 6/9/2010 11:00:00 PM more reviews by bluechandelier

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

LOVE this $1 primer by E.L.F. I usually use MAC paint pot in "soft ochre" as my eyelid primer which is thick and a little on the pricey side. Compared to Urban Decay Primer Potion, I liked the E.L.F. primer better. They both performed the same, but spending only $1 made me enjoy it so much more. I HATE overpaying for things - especially makeup. Will definitely buy again and again. BTW ... I bought mine on ebay for 99 cents plus $2 shipping because my Target was out of stock.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 alissa2093 on 6/3/2010 10:39:00 PM more reviews by alissa2093

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

The Eyelid Primer works great, and paying $1 for it, makes it better. I reccomend this product 85 %! You can buy it on their website...

www.EyesLipsFace.com

I am a beauty guru so, if you have any questions, please e-mail me at alissa2093@yahoo.com thank you!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LadyBugGrl on 5/31/2010 9:56:00 PM more reviews by LadyBugGrl

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I didn't think this would be anywhere near as good as my Urban Decay primer potion...but was I wrong! I actually prefer this and it only cost $1. I must say that I am impressed with all my E.L.F purchases recently.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cjx3pooh on 5/22/2010 9:41:00 PM more reviews by cjx3pooh

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I'm surprised the ratings for this is so much lower than the Mineral primer. I bought this just wanting to try inexpensive primers and see how they turn out. I've tried the L'Oreal DeCrease as well as the E.L.F. Mineral eyeshadow primer. This one is the cheapest, so I didn't expect much.
However, I was pleasantly surprised that the texture of this is very similar to the mineral one, perhaps slightly more slick. I used this w/ the Maybelline Natural Smokes quad and it didn't crease until around 5 hours later, which is very good considering I have oily lids. In comparison, it's better than the L'Oreal DeCrease and just slightly worse than the E.L.F. Mineral eyeshadow primer.
As far as pigmentation goes, this goes on sheer, but doesn't really grab onto any eyeshadow I put on, so I'd have to use a cream base for the color to really show, hence the lippie off.
Since this is so cheap, I'll probably get a few more on my next E.L.F. purchase, but won't use it on nights when I really need my eyeshadow to stay.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* icarle on 5/20/2010 9:34:00 AM more reviews by icarle

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Like everyone else that hadn't try ELF yet, I was skeptical, Also because I could not actually believe that you could buy quality for just a dollar. Well, this just goes to prove that YES IT'S POSSIBLE and that what you pay when you buy cosmetics is advertising, branding, marketing............But not the product itself.

This primer is great. It makes my eyeshadow smooth and even, and it lasts all day long, and I'm talking 6:30 am to 9pm......!!
Great great stuff.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* goofyhusky on 5/15/2010 1:08:00 PM more reviews by goofyhusky

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

My eyelids are so oil that not just any primer would work - and this one definitely made my eye shadow stayed on all day with no creasing! Granted it's not perfect (package), it's something that works for $1.
look: 4/5. need to use a brush to smooth it out.
feel: 5/5. feels like its not there. won't get into my eyes.
lasting power: 5/5. lasts all day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* xBl0cPartyx on 5/13/2010 8:27:00 PM more reviews by xBl0cPartyx

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I loved this - I applied two coats and my eyeshadow went on perfectly, it creates a lovely smooth and even base.
As for people complaining that it doesn't make your eyeshadow pop - I didn't see anything out of order there. Then again, I like a more subtle look so having eyeshadow "pop" for me isn't a big deal.

As for the people who say that it doesn't dry... You must be caking it on or something, have you tried applying a THIN coat and then blending it in? All you need to do is open the tube, pat a little on your eyelids and then use a finger to blend it onto your eyelids. Lovely.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More E.L.F. products

More Eye Primer products