E.L.F. Essential Eyelid Primer - Sheer

3.9

848 reviews

78% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $

INGREDIENTS

Cyclopentasiloxane, Octyl Palmitate, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Dimethicone, Kaolin, Triacontanyl PVP, Propylene Carbonate, Titanium Dioxide, Barium Sulfate, Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), Mica (CI 77019).


on 4/2/2011 2:49:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

for $1 i wasn't expecting too much, but i thought it would be worth a shot. my e/s probably lasted 2hrs before it started creasing. if you have very oily eyelids like me, this probably won't work for you.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 3/29/2011 10:57:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Works just like it should, it's on the same level as UPDD for me. Of course since it's only a dollar its well worth the price! The only problem I have is that it doesn't dry clear (which doesn't matter too much since I'm putting eye shadow over it)on my NC 43ish skin. Regardless I've bought backups!


on 3/29/2011 9:39:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I figured... its a dollar, might as well give it a try. Bought it from Target, well as soon as I put it on it started to irritate my eyelid. Now maybe I got a bad batch, because I am not allergic to anything nor have I ever had a bad reaction from makeup. Strange... I left it on so it could dry and it creased immediately afterwards, plus it left an awkward top lid raccoon eye effect where it was lighter than my skin tone, even after blending. Needless to say, its going in the trash.


on 3/26/2011 3:18:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Other, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Whilst running around Target, the ELF section caught my eye. As my eyes skimmed the display, I let out a gasp. Was that the ELF tinted moisturizer? And $1 lipsticks? And other coveted products I've only seen on the website? (Although, I'm still waiting for the HD powder..) I quickly snatched these new products, and happily pranced home to try out my new goodies.
This eyelid primer retails for $1 and is packaged in a small sleek package. The applicator is a doe-foot -- which is actually a plus in this case. The product itself is slightly oilier than UDPP, but once you pat it into your eyelids... BAM! Insta-stay! This primer does not make your eyeshadows pop, but it does make them stay put! I have a bad habit of rubbing my eyes, and with this on, I can rub without fear or having messed up makeup.
4 stars for the packaging, as the logo wore off a few days after use. Better shape then UDPP... and better price as well! And 4.5 overall for doing it's job while saving my wallet from feeling empty :-)

*update*
it does rub off.. was being to excited about this product lol.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/25/2011 11:27:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is a good everyday primer for me. I don't think it works as well as UDPP. It doesn't keep shadow from creasing for as long and it doesn't make the colors as intense. However, since I mostly wear neutrals to work everyday, I don't need something to make colors more vibrant. For $1 this works perfect as an everyday primer. I don't find it to be too oily. And I like the light color it leaves on my eyes because my lids are dark and it helps even out my skin tone.
For very colorful looks, I still use UDPP.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/23/2011 12:41:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I got this product in a gift set that featured 5 items, it normally retails for $1 (this review is not for the Mineral version in the Studio Line that retails for $3).

This primer creased on itself, was difficult to blend over and did not grab color, so I used a TON of e/s to achieve an otherwise simple look. Needless to say, the additional work I put in ended up in a sloppy mess. I even tried it under their own e/s and it seemed incompatible still:( I wore this three days consecutively until I decided it is not for me.

On the plus side: The formulation feels comfortable on, is more moisturizing than most primers, dirt cheap and I like the consistency of the product.

I will not repurchase this item.


on 3/22/2011 12:23:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have been on an E.L..F. kick lately and have to say that I am really impressed with this line. I have to admit my inner makeup snob came out when I saw how dirt cheap this was, but honestly, after trying it, it works as good or better than my UD e/s primer potion! I feel like turning cartwheels over this. Who knew? And get this, its one dollar! I'm yelling, ONE DOLLAR people! How can this be possible? It really works, I'm telling you. For $1 what have you got to lose?


on 3/19/2011 12:40:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Hazel

For a dollar I didn't expect this product to last 12+ hours. My shadows started to crease around the 9/10hrs mark & 8hrs with a 45 min work-out. I can apply blend it out let it dry for 15 sec then start my shadows, didn't find it to be greasy/oily. Reason why I didn't give 5 lippies is because after the 2nd/3rd time using it the part were it stops too much product from coming out came off, hey for a dollar that fine. Have one as a back up right now.


on 3/18/2011 5:04:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is a good primer. I use it a lot and for the most part, it's effective in keeping my shadow from creasing. However, I find (for whatever reason) that it does not last as long as my UDPP. There have been days when I've noticed creasing on my lids after using this primer - a lot more often than when I use UDPP. I think it's best for 8 hours and nothing longer than that.


on 3/17/2011 1:31:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Red, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

this is a nice nice primer for me. i'm very light skinned but with very purply lids. (is purply a word?..spell check says no..) to get lighter colors to show up right on me i have to use a primer or concealer. i used my lightest shade of....the color workshop. yes the worst of the worst eyeshadows. to my great surprise they actually lasted a full work day..i even still had the shimmers left on my lid.
it's a creamy consistency, with a doe foot applicator. and even thou it says sheer it's really not, it's a very pale shade, think bare study in comparsion.
overall this is a win for me.


Back to Top