E.L.F. • Essential Eyelid Primer - Sheer • Eye Primer

rated 4.0(780 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 glowww333 on 8/8/2010 11:07:00 PM more reviews by glowww333

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Cheap and works 99% like UDPP on me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Starae on 8/8/2010 10:59:00 PM more reviews by Starae

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this knowing that I was going to buy other primers to try and that this one has some of unpleasant reviews, but I am really pleased with it.
It took me a while to figure out how much to put on to keep shadows from fading and creasing.

If you put too much or too little on it will fade and crease rather quickly.
When I take the wand out I wipe the excess off and then run it 3 times over my eyelid. Each time I've done this my shadow lasts for about 9+ hours.

I gave it a 2 for package quality because it's not a squeezy tube and you wont be able to get it all out with the wand.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BatFat on 8/2/2010 5:57:00 PM more reviews by BatFat

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I saw these at target for $1 and bought 5 in case I never see them again. I'm glad I got a lot because it works well for me. I used it under ELF eyeshadow and it increased the pigmentation and didn't crease for about 5 hours. I like the mineral primer by ELF better, but I suspect this is the same stuff haha. Still love my UDPP but can't afford it anymore so this is greeeeat alternative.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 smilingjaws on 8/1/2010 11:04:00 PM more reviews by smilingjaws

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

This is the second eyeshadow primer I've owned, first being Too Faced Eyeshadow insurance. Comparing this product to TFEI, I haven't experienced much of a difference between their performances. Because E.L.F.'s product has a wand, it makes for a slightly quicker application process. I use this primer for 1-3 neutral eyeshadow(s) and pencil or liquid eyeliner daily makeup application. My work is very strenuous and sometimes I spend 1/3 of my time sweating under the sun, but this primer keeps my eyelid makeup where I put it in the morning. It works splendidly for simple daily makeup and the price is a complete steal.

As for the bad smell an earlier MUA reviewer mentioned, I didn't even notice one before reading that comment. I can only smell this product if I have the container up my nostril, other than that the smell is nearly undetectable.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nikki5 on 7/14/2010 11:34:00 AM more reviews by nikki5

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I was actually very surprised how much I liked this primer. I wasn't expecting much for a $1 but this works pretty good for me. I have used many primers, UDPP (too drying), paint pots (too cakey), TFSI (ok), but was looking for a cheaper alternative since I go through them pretty fast. TFSI is my favorite high end primer, and actually this ELF primer works almost just as well. My shadows seem to pop more with TFSI but I wear light neutral looks anyways so that is not a big deal for me. I don't have super oily lids so that may be why this primer works for me. It has a very thin consistency but it holds my shadows in place for 8 hours which I think is pretty darn good for such a cheap product. I like that it is a concealer type color as well so sometimes I just put this on my lids to even out the skin and eyeliner and I am done! I have been using this everyday this summer in 100+ temps and it still works great! I will definitely continue to buy this!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 amomentwhite on 7/12/2010 6:03:00 AM more reviews by amomentwhite

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I purchased this product online after deciding I was simply unable to jusifty the price + postage of Urban Decay Primer Potion. At first I wasa little disappointed as the product only slightly increases the life of my eyeshadow. Considering I only paid $2.00 for this product, I wasn't too miffed about it. I have since discovered this somewhat oily product is great for priming blemishes that tend to flake throughout the day. I would give it a 5 if that was its purpose, but because its an eyelid primer, I'm giving it a 3. Worth a try if you have dry skin that flakes around blemishes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cadabeijos on 7/2/2010 4:13:00 AM more reviews by cadabeijos

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This does NOT compare to the Urban Decay primer potion. First of all, this stuff smells awful. I'm sort of afraid to use it, it smells that bad. It's much oilier than the UDPP, which makes application a little more messy. I haven't used it on my face yet--just swatched it on my hand and put some eyeshadow on it to check the staying power. It seems to do the job as far as being a primer to make your eyeshadow stick, but it definitely doesn't work as well as the UDPP. If you're after something really cheap that will hold your eyecolor for a little while, this will do. But, in my opinion, it's better to splurge a little for the UDPP or even MAC's paintpots, which will REALLY make your eyeshadows pop.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 j3nnyisfunky on 6/28/2010 7:25:00 PM more reviews by j3nnyisfunky

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Only $1! OMG! I thought I'd give it a try, well durr, because it was super cheap! and I must say I think it's so awesome! it helps makes your eyeshadow color become more vibrant and it doesn't crease at all. I have monolids so it's key for the color to stay on especially when I blink. I haven't tried any other eyelid primer from any other brand only because they are ridiculously expensive. Maybe if I try out Urban Decay's primer potion I can change my mind about E.L.F's but for now, I love this product!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 luvmejoice on 6/23/2010 5:02:00 PM more reviews by luvmejoice

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I've started experimenting with eye primers and have gone from none to 5. The ELF primer is my latest addition and it is by far my biggest disappointment!
The product itself barely intensifies my eyeshadow, and I tried it with some good quality eyeshadows, not cheap chalky unpigmented ones.
I have oily lids, even UDPP has a hard time not creasing on me after 5-6 hours, even less when it's hot outside. This thing does NOTHING for the staying power. Actually, 2 days ago I wore my only MAC eyeshadow, Rondelle, with this and it almost instantly creased!
The consistency is horrible! Very wet and oily, like the reviewer below said, it's like foundation mixed with some shea butter or some other kind of lotion that makes it so liquid and runny!
I also dislike the packaging. The rubber stopper is useless because if you're not careful you can end up with primer splattered all over your makeup table or, even worse, all over your clothes! I guess I like the fact that it's a see-through container so that I know when I run out of it although at this rate I'm not sure I'll ever use it, let alone run out of it.
I live in Romania and ELF here is a little more than 2$. This works as if I was wearing no primer at all, a complete waste of money, even if the amount is so small.
I'm stubborn and hate to see something go to waste. I think I'll use this for swatching eyeshadows, even though it doesn't really improve their pigmentation but at least it's a way of using it instead of throwing it away.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 lisamaxum on 6/23/2010 4:44:00 PM more reviews by lisamaxum

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Product itself was blem. I can easily create a similar formula using body butter and a little bit of foundation. It held onto the eyeshadow well, however it did crease, which isn't surprising because it IS the summertime. I think the packaging is cute and the applicator is like many others. It's dirt cheap so I don't see why you wouldn't want to try this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More E.L.F. products

More Eye Primer products