E.L.F. Essential Eyelid Primer - Sheer

3.9

838 reviews

78% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $

INGREDIENTS

Cyclopentasiloxane, Octyl Palmitate, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Dimethicone, Kaolin, Triacontanyl PVP, Propylene Carbonate, Titanium Dioxide, Barium Sulfate, Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), Mica (CI 77019).


on 3/14/2011 8:40:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

For a buck, this ain't half bad. It is a little 'greasy' in comparison to other eyeshadow primers, but the formula is thick enough to where that isn't a major problem.

Colours don't show up as vibrant on this as with UDPP, nor does it dry clear like UDPP, but it does a bang-up job at minimizing fading, holding frosts and light shimmers, and preventing creases for at least eight hours of wear.

If you're light-skinned, just starting with makeup, or in a serious financial pinch, I would recommend this product. Because it doesn't dry clear, however, I wouldn't recommend this to anyone with a darker skin tone. If you want your eyeshadow application to be true to pan, this isn't the product for you, either.

While I prefer my UDPP, I'd still buy this again in the future when I'm broke as a joke (which happens... yay, college life!)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 3/13/2011 11:24:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Kinky, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this Friday at Target for a $1.00, & wow I was really surprised this stuff really works. It lasted all day with no creasing whatsoever. My eyeshadow was easily blend able over it, & no dryness or irritation on my lids at all! I will definitely re-purchase!


on 3/3/2011 1:13:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I'm a newbie in the makeup world and then Elf is the best thing to start with. I've heard and read about primers and that they make the eye shadows last longer but I didn't feel like spending about 10 euros för a little tube of goo that I wasn't sure about using in the first place.

When a friend of mine told me about Elf cosmetics I thought "What the heck..." and ordered a couple of things and I must say, I'm impressed.

I get up about 6 o'clock in the morning and put on my makeup about half and hour later, when I come home from work at 16 o'clock and discovers that my makeup is almost the same as when I put it on it's a thumbs up from me. The packaging is simple but okay, the applicator does it's work of catching up some of the product but I have a feeling that it will be problem to use up all of it without cutting up the bottle...

I'm sure that there are other and much better products than this but I will hang on to this and I think that it will take time before I try something different.


on 3/1/2011 9:10:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

You know when you love a product so much that you KNOW its become a permanent staple in your MU collection? Well, this is one of mine. I've tried Urban Decay Primer Potion, etc - SO many primers. While I'm not saying this is BETTER than high-end primers, I'm saying that it works just as well.

It goes on SO smooth, so soft, so great. It makes colors pop, last longer & have no had ANY creasing problems since purchasing this. Will stock up like CRAZY. <3


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

From the moment I bought this product I hated it. I opened it up, pulling out the wand (not even quickly) and a huge glob came out, literally flying across the room!
It's too oily, especially when you first put it on. I have to wait for like 5 minutes with my eyes closed for it to dry!


Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

For a dollar u can not beat it! I have been using this product for months and no problems at all!


on 2/27/2011 6:36:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

no negative comments. my eyelids sometimes are shiny/oily so i use this after i put on my moisuriser and it works, esp if your going to put eyeshadow on it wont leave a crease mark on top of your upperlid. and thats just great. its dirt cheap and it works, and you only have to just use a tiny little bit and thats all.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/19/2011 2:15:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I have oily lids. UDPP works great on me. The now discontinued L'oreal HIP "paints" in a tube also do a very good job.
I tried both of the eyeshadow primers ELF has now. I tried the ELF Mineral primer for $3 and also the regular ELF primer for $1. The one for a $1 worked better for me, but that is not saying much.

The shadows show up okay, but they crease after about 4 hours. I tried different techniques (a little dab, a lot, leaving it a bit wet, letting it completely dry, etc.) and none of those techniques worked.

Glad it didn't cost too much, but staying power is not good on my oily eyelids.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/14/2011 10:21:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Great eyeshadow primer for $1.
A couple of issues...first it's impossible to get everything out the tube, but for a buck I just cut the tube and squeeze it out. Second it's a little greasy. Third...it's alway sold out at my local Target...so when i'm there and the stock has been replenish I grab about 5 of them. I don't like purchasing it through ELF website...I got signed up for a magazine subscription (not good...share info!)


on 2/14/2011 10:13:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Does a good job of keeping my lids less oily and prevents creasing for an affordable price. Highly recommended for people with oily lids.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top