E.L.F. • Essential Eyelid Primer - Sheer • Eye Primer

rated 3.9(798 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Catarah on 10/5/2010 2:13:00 PM more reviews by Catarah

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this on a whim from E.L.F.com hoping that it would work. I hate dishing out 20 bucks for a primer(UDPP) This stuff works! I does everything that UDPP does and for a fraction of the price. I don't think I'll ever buy UDPP again because this works just as good. My eyeshadow didn't crease, it brought out the pigmentation/and held it on my eyelids all day/night! Will repurchase!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 irisni on 10/5/2010 12:07:00 PM more reviews by irisni

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I bought a tube of this, because I was broke and out of my UDPP. I love it! It applies a sheer pretty peach color (very nice with my extremely fair skin) and my eyeshadows smooth over it smoothly, appear brighter than they would alone, and stay all day or all night.
I feel asleep one time without taking off my makeup (a no-no, but it happens) and when I woke up, my eyeliner and mascara were smudged, but my eyeshadow was almost perfect. After that I bought 3 more tubes from elf.
I will say that UDPP is better...but only a LITTLE. And the $30 dollar price tag isn't worth the SLIGHT bit of superiority it has.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ClaireJones on 10/5/2010 1:22:00 AM more reviews by ClaireJones

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I'll preface my review by mentioning that the e.l.f. eyeshadows primers are the first I've tried. I have not used any UDPP or other department store primer before. In the past I preferred to use mineral foundation powder on my eyelids before applying eyeshadow. I have purchased both the e.l.f. Mineral Eyeshadow Primer and the e.l.f. Eyelid Primer and have come to prefer the latter. The differences between the two are few, so one might as well stick with the less expensive option since they work about the same. The texture of the Eyelid Primer is kind of squishy and more watery than the mineral version, but applies smooth and sheer to the skin. I find the primer to be great for all eyeshadows, but a necessity for loose mineral shadows and products with lots of glitter fallout. Periodically, I do notice some creasing after a few hours, although it appears dependent on the type of shadow used.

Even with being so inexpenisve, the little tube has lasted me months. The shape of the packaging is kind of cute, and I like the rubberized finish of the tube. On the other hand, one of my few complaints concerns the shape of the tube. After the primer has been used for awhile, the contents accumulate in the top portion of the tube and become more difficult to extract with the applicator.

Overall, I have been very pleased with the performance of this product and have become an eyeshadow primer convert. I have purchased a few backups to ensure I always have primer on hand. I give this product a five, because even with a few shortcomings, the price makes it a solid purchase.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kyphie on 10/2/2010 11:40:00 AM more reviews by kyphie

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I am normally not a huge fan of ELF products, but I found that this primer(which has been sitting unused in my makeup bag for months) worked great when I used it under matte eyeshadows! I have been wearing a stila matte brown for the past couple of weeks and I had been having a really hard time getting it to apply evenly. I tried all my primers..NARS, UDPP and even the L'Oreal decrease and none of them worked well for me with this current eyeshadow phase I'm going through. Finally, I gave the ELF primer a try. Wonderful! The cocoa brown that I've been using on my lids applied evenly, lasted all day without creasing and even intensified the color. I'm glad I dug it out of the bottom of my makeup bag!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 michyg on 9/24/2010 1:25:00 AM more reviews by michyg

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I bought two of these primers because I thought why not only a dolllar? well I don't HATE it but i don't LOVE it... It does primer my lids nicely and is a fairly pretty colour (it does go on like a very light pinkish shade) BUT it doesn't really make my eyeshadow last much longer from what I can tell. But oh well for a buck I don't really care... I'm going to try the mineral one next haul though to see if there's a diff.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dawl_1015 on 9/19/2010 1:35:00 AM more reviews by dawl_1015

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Tan, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I don't really wear a primer when I wear eyeshadow, so I bought this product to wear on it's own. It has kind of a translucent sheen by itself, and evens out the color of your lids, so I use it alone on my eyes on days that I don't wear alot of makeup. It works like a subtle brightener for me, and I like it! I actually like that the consistency is more oily as opposed to thick or drying faster, it spreads nicely and doesn't cake or dry out the skin around my eyes like other primers/brighteners have. For $1, no one should be complaining! lol I haven't tried this under eyeshadow yet (I wear good quality shadows already, so I don't really need a primer with them?) but I will add an edit to this post if I ever do. For the purpose that I bought it for, it's good, and nothing beats a dollar. This has worked as well (if not better) for me than some of the more expensive eye priming/brightening products I've purchased at Sephora, for wayyy more money.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 woahitsbrooke92 on 9/14/2010 11:04:00 PM more reviews by woahitsbrooke92

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I received this in a MUA swap, so I wasn't lost a dollar. I usually use my Painterly paint pot, but I wanted to try something underneath that. I figured it would work just as fine as my NARS primer does beneath the paint pot, but I was let down. Don't get me wrong, it works for a few hours. But after about three or four hours of wear, it totally creases on me. Now, I know eyeshadows will usually crease on me because I have hooded eyes, but this is awful. L'Oreal De-Crease worked better on me than this stuff. I use a paint pot alone and I don't even get creasing. So, I'm pretty disappointed in this stuff. Goin in the trash.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sandia1 on 9/11/2010 2:09:00 PM more reviews by sandia1

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Dirt cheap cost. I have dry skin and my eye lids are no exception. This product is thin, and takes a couple of minutes to dry. I LIKE the fact that it is more on the "oily" side rather than one that's too tacky or dries too fast. I wore shimmery shades with it the first time I used it and they went on very beautifully, no problems blending and my shadows were very intense. I had 0 creasing with this product and would definitely buy it again. It may not be the best for those with oily lids. Regular UDPP might work better for the oily lids. I will compare this to UDPP Sin- this leaves a better canvas to apply shadows, IMO. Sin dries too fast and doesn't really do anything to amp up my shadows. For the price difference, it's a no-brainer. I'll still use Sin and my MAC paint pots, but I'll still use this as well.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 rose1234 on 9/9/2010 9:29:00 PM more reviews by rose1234

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

edit: after a few weeks of wearing and then not wearing the primer, it seemed that there was really no difference so I have stopped using.

Original post:
This is my first eyelid primer so I cannot compare the performance to others. I saw this in Target and I knew that this primer had great reviews, so for ONE DOLLAR, even on a budget, I was able to afford this, no problem.

I have found that just a very tiny, tiny bit is enough so I dab my finger on the little sponge applicator and transfer it to my eyelid area and under my eyes too for help keeping the concealer from creasing. Then, I do something else like my hair while I wait for it to dry.

This extends the wear of my WnW eye shadows to the point where I put the makeup on at 7:30pm and when I come home and take it off at 6:15pm, it is still there with no creasing and very little fading, if any. It is a big improvement. I do not see an increase in the vibrancy, and that would be nice, but for $1, I think I can live with it.




1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 BasiaMik on 9/7/2010 9:02:00 PM more reviews by BasiaMik

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I was so excited to find a cheap primer, I immediately ordered two of these on the ELF website. The primer, however, is a disappointment. It doesn't last the entire day. It's good until around 3/4pm, that's why I give it 3 lippies. Another good thing? The price is great. All that aside, the packaging seems to have air bubbles (not much product), the consistency is liquidy, and eyeshadow colors do not seem more vibrant. It's not a bad buy, but I think I'm going to invest in Too Faced Shadow Insurance after trying out UDPP. I liked UDPP but it's too expensive for too little product. Too Faced seems like a better deal, esp because most youtube gurus use it and rave about it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More E.L.F. products

More Eye Primer products