Revlon Colorstay Eyeliner

3.9

1562 reviews

73% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Cyclopentasiloxane, Ozokerite, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Polyethylene, Phenyl Trimethicone, Candelilla Cera (Euphorbia Cerifera {Candelilla} Wax), Tocopherol, Sorbic Acid, BHT, Methylparaben, Propylparaben. May Contain: Iron Oxides (CI 77491, 77492, 77499), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), MICA, Black 2 (CI 77266), Ferric Ferrocyanide (CI 77510), Carmine (CI 77470).


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Its an alright eyeliner - have it in brown and black. For me, it smudges and fades quickly - and doesn't have a very good staying power. Also, i have a really hard time removing it, even with makeup remover it takes effort to remove it. Leaves residue if you don't remove properly. Good design though, sleek with built in sharpener. However, there are better drugstore eyeliners for about the same price.



on 7/27/2009 3:33:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Great eyeliner, but not all colors are created equal!! The very first color I tried was charcoal, which is the BEST eyeliner I have ever come across! Did not smudge after a whole day hiking hills under the burning sun in Greece! So I proceeded to purchase other colors in black, navy, and brown, thinking it would just as great. Boy was I wrong! All the colors expect charcoal smudges. It is just not the same. Only the charcoal gets the highest rating from me, would not purchase any other colors from that line because they just do not work for me.


on 7/25/2009 4:50:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Cool

Hair: Black, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm on the fence with this liner. I only purchased this because I was tired of buying expensive (MAC, Stila, NARS, Dior, etc.) liners that just doesn't have that "staying power," as well as smudges. So, I decided to give this liner a try once again (haven't used it since high school). Here are my reasons for giving it 3 lippes: not as smooth as I would prefer, dries quick, fades after an hour or so; and it does tend to smudge (waterline) if you're not careful. I also forgot that it doesn't require sharpening, so if you prefer the extra fine pointed tip like I do, than this is not the liner for you. On the other hand, I do love the color pay off this liner give "true black". It is "waterproof" so it's hard to come off with just an ordinary facial cleanser. I'm still in the market for a great liner that won't fade or smudge!


on 7/24/2009 10:41:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

HOrrible! i hate this eyeliner

Pros: it provided with a sharpener, like the design
Cons: When i apply it, i had to apply it 3-4 times to have the black color on my waterline. and it fade out 30min i applied. i reapply (3-4 times) and it stayed for an hour and it smudge. i looked like i have dark circles.

i heard it was a good eyeliner so i brought but i made a big mistake. didn't like at all. waste of my money


on 7/23/2009 2:48:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Pros: Really cheap.
Creamy
Sleek looking
good amount of product

Cons: transfers and smudges after a few hours.
It fades after a while
Sharpener is...Okay.

Overall, it's a good drugstore eyeliner but after I finish using this, I won't repurchase.

*Edit: Ok so I'm changing the overall rating to 4. I think I'm really starting to like it. I mean yea, it does smudge. But it's super creamy and really pigmented. On top of a good base, it lasts for a long time :)


on 7/23/2009 12:09:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have bought this product over and over again! I use this on my waterline and to tightline. It is the only eyeliner that stays put on my waterline! I've tried MAC, Make Up For Ever and Urban Decay... Nothing quite compares. I will continue to repurchase.


on 7/22/2009 2:03:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This review is for the Revlon CS auto pencil in black. I don't know why I haven't reviewed this yet. I buy it over and over and over again! It can be a bit of a boar to apply if my lids are dry and haven't used primer, but it is BLACK and it stays put! I have to use an oil cleanser to remove it. It sets quickly, so if you plan on smudging, this has be done right away. I really love how it is truly black, and the price is good (especially with the frequent BOGO sales).


on 7/21/2009 2:46:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Silver, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

VERY GOOD STAYING POWER
Ok product. It does stay on a really long time. Basically all day at work from 9-6 even in humidity.


SLIGHT TENDENCY TO TRAVEL
The only time it travels is if i apply it to the bottom rim in which case it travels downward and gets a little smutty after 2-3 hrs.As far as staying power goes its the best pencil ive tried.


NOT SHARP ENOUGH
My major gripe is with that accursed sharpener.The pencil is micro sized and self advancing but the tip will *not* stay sharp enough to give me a thin clean line.

Even if ive just sharpened it. The tip round out to a dull ball point by the time im finished working on both eyes.

Usually it doesnt get close enough to the lash line. Theres a little bit of fleshy space between my lash and whatever line i draw with it b/c its not thin enough.

Furthermore when i try to wing out with this the ends look obtuse and messy b/c its not stharp enough to do the point. Line drawn with it are kinda indistinct instead of sharp and clean.


POOR SHARPENER
I hate the packaging. The sharpener is position so that it hangs off on end of the pencil. It keeps falling off n getting lost and the inside keeps getting clogged with khol i cant get out.

Ive switched to Loreal Infallible. Much the same product but with a sharpener that sits inside the pencil and has to be pulled out.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I used to like this product a lot but now im more in love with cream liners. This has never given me a perfect straight thin line it always goes on thick which can be prettty but when im going for a more natural look it doesn't work. It also never stays on my waterlinee and applys oddly on my lower lash line. I might keep using it for a little while but i doubt it.


on 7/20/2009 12:27:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is my favorite eyeliner!!! It goes on smooth and rich, and it lasts for hours, even while clubbing. I always go back to this eyeliner because the quality is excellent and the price isn't so bad. I just wish there was more of the product because I use it up within a few months.


Back to Top