Revlon • Colorstay Eyeliner • Eyeliner

rated 3.9(1518 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.74%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 jlin0913 on 6/16/2009 2:10:00 PM more reviews by jlin0913

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

I put this on my waterline and it smudges, I've tried it on my tightline and it also smudges. I didn't even get to finish the stick of eyeliner because it fell out and broke =T I don't know if other people had the same problem but I don't think I would repurchase however I would like to try their liquid version.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 geektastic on 6/16/2009 10:05:00 AM more reviews by geektastic

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

HG of all HG's...I don't even know what I would do if they DC'ed this.

I'm an Asian girl, and I have tried countless eyeliners that are raved about for lasting power...from low-end (NYC waterproof, Styli-Style) to higher end (UD, MUFE), but only Colorstay does it for me.
If I prep properly, this does not budge. If I don't (as long as it doesn't go on over greasy moisturizer/sunscreen), it may fade a bit during the day, but doesn't run all over my face, smear, and pool into my outer corners lol.
Plus, I adore retractable pencils (but if sharp tips float your boat, this has a built-in sharpener! genius!), and it's sooo much cheaper than MUFE or UD (I only buy during BOGOF haha)

Only cons are the color selection, they only carry neutrals :P

I've used black (a true black perfect for special occasions - no raccoon eyes!), taupe (great for everyday; very light, gives great subtle definition), charcoal (a medium gray, also great for everyday use), brown, black brown (both self-explanatory colors haha), and teal (really not very teal at all lol...more like a dark grayed greenish teal...when on, it looks pretty much like when I'm wearing charcoal haha)...I think I only have Vixen left! haha

My staples are taupe, charcoal, and black - taupe and charcoal for everyday colors, and black for special occasions :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Makeupfriend on 6/16/2009 12:18:00 AM more reviews by Makeupfriend

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I got one free with a mascara I bought and I love this eyeliner! The black one I have even has a little smudger that helps set and blend the line out. It lasts all day for me and even stays well on the waterline. I especially like that they have the convenient, built-in sharpener that I use on all my liners that are the twisty kids.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lacey911 on 6/16/2009 12:10:00 AM more reviews by lacey911

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Overall a fairly good eyeliner. I usually use CG outlast but of course they hadn't restocked yet, so I was stuck with my second choice. It goes on very smooth and has rich color to it, but it still doesn't match up with my CG. It wipes off much too easily when you don't want it to, then doesn't budge when you try to fix errors.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bubblysteph on 6/14/2009 10:38:00 AM more reviews by bubblysteph

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

This is an extremely waterproof eyeliner, which is also smudgeproof once it sets. This stays on lid for a whole day even better than my Shu Uemura drawing pencil. As a side note, I swatched Revlon and Shu on my hand to put them under the durability test. I tried to smudge them with a dry cotton bud and Revlon stayed on better though both had minimal fading. I then washed my hand under running water. Both didn't go away. I added some hand soap, Shu was gone rather effortlessly but the Revlon one still stayed put. Therefore make sure you have a good eye m/u remover to remove this.

The only occassion that I prefer my Shu pencil over this is when I water to waterline /draw a line at the upper waterline (this happens to clumpsy ppl like me when trying to tightline) as the pencil of this is slightly harder than my Shu. However, this still glides on nicely, but just more effort is needed. Sometimes when it's too hard, I'll need to "warm" the pencil by drawing a few storkes on my hand. Other than this and the price (lol), basically every aspect is on par with Shu, at least for me.

Btw, I don't really like the sharpener at the end as I find that it's slight tricky to use. I need to hold then pen really steady when I sharpen it. Being stupid and clumpsy, I wasted at least 1/3 of my first pencil! :o( I also noticed that this doesn't require frequent sharpening to retain the thin line you can get.

As for the shades, I only tried Black Brown, Brown and Navy. Black Brown is more like a black when on eyes. I'm happy with the brown one as it doesn't have prominent red or grey undertone there.

Overall, great stuff! I just wish Revlon will make more fun colours and have these selling here! :\

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 srakalla on 6/14/2009 12:32:00 AM more reviews by srakalla

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I used this product for five years, and was mostly satisfied. I used only the Noir Black, and loved the retractable, smudge-proof pencil. As of today, I stopped using it, and upgraded to liquid eyeliner. With Revlon, the liner faded to a light gray within a few hours, and I had to keep reapplying.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 DollxFace on 6/13/2009 7:02:00 AM more reviews by DollxFace

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Love this product . Sometimes you have to go over your line again to get it dark enough though.
Wears off sometimes, but overall I really like this product (:
Pretty expensive though . I like the sharpener idea .
Would repurchase.
( i have it in brown/brun )

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 babygirl218 on 6/12/2009 4:41:00 PM more reviews by babygirl218

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

i love this eyeliner! it hardly smudges.. well yah if you like rubb your eyes and stuff but this actually stays on pretty nicely:) it's really easy to take off too! i like it for it being cheap and good quality.
5/5 and yes i'd buy this again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 echarms23 on 6/11/2009 2:12:00 AM more reviews by echarms23

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I LOVE this eyeliner. I have been using this eyeliner since junior high, since then i have tried a bunch of different brands even mac and urban decay and it doesn't compare. This eyeliner stays all day long, it is great for your waterline and the upper lid. It doesn't smudge on me. I love the black brown color and the black. This is my HG eyeliner. I love it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sharee20 on 6/10/2009 8:21:00 PM more reviews by sharee20

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

twist up dispenser, fairly easy consistency to apply, slightly creamy, small point is nice, the color does not apply with enough pigmentation for me, would be great for someone looking for a very muted natural look...did one eye w/ UD primer and one without and the side w/o the primer lasted all day with very slight fading...the side with the primer was almost completely faded...there was some transfer to upper lid on both eyes

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Eyeliner products