Philosophy • Hope in a Jar - for all skin types • Moisturizers

rated 2.8(1676 reviews)

Average Rating.2.8
Would buy this product again.39%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 akc04 on 2/21/2009 9:25:00 PM more reviews by akc04

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This is not a good product!! It smells AWFUL and its very thin. I don't even feel like i've moisturized after ive used it!! I have dry skin and it is definitely not good for it!! However regardless of your skin tone you shouldnt buy it because of the smell - its so overwhelming and disgusting!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 redsmom on 2/21/2009 2:47:00 PM more reviews by redsmom

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I was excited to try this product, but very disappointed after using it. I have pretty normal skin, maybe a bit on the dry side during the winter months. Not only did my skin get red and blotchy afterwards, but it needed MORE moisturizer about an hour later.
I wasn't wild about the scent, but I could have lived with it, had the product done what it was supposed to.
Definitely a thumbs down for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 peachy905 on 2/20/2009 5:29:00 PM more reviews by peachy905

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I was really expecting more from this product and am quite disappointed. The texture is a nice light mouse that absorbs quickly. However, it did absolutely nothing for my complexion. In addition, I detest creams that don't come into a pump since it can easily get contaminated. Will not buy this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 SoPolished on 2/19/2009 12:36:00 AM more reviews by SoPolished

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Grey    

I was very excited to try this because apparently when it works....it works wonderfullly.

Not the case for me. This caused a topical dermatitis reaction in me. The day after I first applied it, I had raised, red, itchy rash on my cheeks. I skipped a night and tried again...but earlier in the evening, and the same thing happened again. I washed it off and wont be using it again.

I did patch test on the inside of my arm, and it was fine there.

So, I would suggest patch testing this maybe on a very small area of the cheek or neck, where the skin is as sensitive as the face...but just a small patch.

The hunt for a HG nightime moisturizer continues!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 HPPrincess on 2/18/2009 2:06:00 PM more reviews by HPPrincess

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I really, really wanted to like this moisturizer. Why did I buy this? I thought that the price was okay, for such a large amount, and after all of these miracle stories that I have heard about this, I felt that I was missing out on something. What I was missing out on was the sample. When I applied this product, my face felt tight after about 5 minutes, meaning that no hydration had occurred. Looking at the ingredients, there is really no reason for this product to be placed in an obnoxious jar-style packaging. Now I am stuck with this jar!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* olelala on 2/17/2009 9:04:00 AM more reviews by olelala

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

No positives from me. This broke me out in record time. Never never again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 sirensandsailors on 2/16/2009 8:41:00 PM more reviews by sirensandsailors

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I tried the Sephora deluxe sample of this and it took me 4 days to see the problems it caused. I changed nothing but my moisturizer in those 4 days and now I have small itchy bumps all over my cheeks. I was hopeful that it would help with my breakouts, but no. I have even more now. And it didn't really moisturize, my skin felt just as dry before putting it on. Complete disappointment, I'll stay away from this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 hva82 on 2/16/2009 3:00:00 PM more reviews by hva82

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

Oh dear, I am not a fan of this! In my quest for the perfect moisteriser after a huge rethink of my skincare regime I decided to purchase HIAJ thinking it would be a cure for all. Very disappointed. Horrible smell, very chemically and almost like disinfectant. If this went anywhere near my eyes I would be in pain and teary for a LONG time. Did absolutely nothing for my skin, may have even contributed to the problems. I hated the consistency, did not feel like whipped mousse and found it sort of melted on contact with the skin. I hated the jar and unhygienic application of dipping your finger in. Overall, a massive disappointment and a huge waste of money.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* thespacecowgirl on 2/15/2009 5:07:00 PM more reviews by thespacecowgirl

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I do not want to like this product. I got a deluxe sample of it from Sephora and figured I wouldn't like it, but I'll try basically anything once. I love this stuff. It absorbs easily, smoothing out dry patches without causing breakouts or making existing ones worse. It doesn't give me the greasies later. It makes my makeup look better and gives my face a nice glow (NOT shiny) when I wear it alone. It's too greasy for the really hot part of summer, but perfect the rest of the time. I used my little sample tube up and bought the 2 oz, thinking I'd rarely use it anyway...then I moved to Toronto from Dallas, and now I find myself using it every day. The good news it that it only takes a little bit, so the 2 oz jar will last me a long time. Not crazy about the scent (country gravy??) or the price, and also the packaging - the jar is not sanitary, and a certain amount of it is going to be wasted on my nailbeds when I scoop it out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 silver_aria on 2/13/2009 4:06:00 AM more reviews by silver_aria

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I think it's hit or miss with this one for a lot of people. I snagged myself a full size container because I had heard so many good things about it and figured that even if it didn't live up to its claims, I would at least be able to incorporate a gentle bit of exfoliation with the lactic acid. I am usually pretty good with products and up until this, I had never had an adverse reaction to a facial moisturizer. I put this on in the evening before bed and woke up with little bumps all over my face, they weren't red or itchy but it looked like I had hives all over my cheeks and the bridge of my nose. It took about a week for it to fade and I tried one more time just to make sure the reaction wasn't to something else I put on, but sure enough. The scent isn't giving this product any points either. I passed it onto a friend who had absolutely no problems with it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Philosophy products

More Moisturizers products