Philosophy • Hope in a Jar - for all skin types • Moisturizers

rated 2.8(1659 reviews)

Average Rating.2.8
Would buy this product again.39%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 hva82 on 2/16/2009 3:00:00 PM more reviews by hva82

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

Oh dear, I am not a fan of this! In my quest for the perfect moisteriser after a huge rethink of my skincare regime I decided to purchase HIAJ thinking it would be a cure for all. Very disappointed. Horrible smell, very chemically and almost like disinfectant. If this went anywhere near my eyes I would be in pain and teary for a LONG time. Did absolutely nothing for my skin, may have even contributed to the problems. I hated the consistency, did not feel like whipped mousse and found it sort of melted on contact with the skin. I hated the jar and unhygienic application of dipping your finger in. Overall, a massive disappointment and a huge waste of money.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* thespacecowgirl on 2/15/2009 5:07:00 PM more reviews by thespacecowgirl

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I do not want to like this product. I got a deluxe sample of it from Sephora and figured I wouldn't like it, but I'll try basically anything once. I love this stuff. It absorbs easily, smoothing out dry patches without causing breakouts or making existing ones worse. It doesn't give me the greasies later. It makes my makeup look better and gives my face a nice glow (NOT shiny) when I wear it alone. It's too greasy for the really hot part of summer, but perfect the rest of the time. I used my little sample tube up and bought the 2 oz, thinking I'd rarely use it anyway...then I moved to Toronto from Dallas, and now I find myself using it every day. The good news it that it only takes a little bit, so the 2 oz jar will last me a long time. Not crazy about the scent (country gravy??) or the price, and also the packaging - the jar is not sanitary, and a certain amount of it is going to be wasted on my nailbeds when I scoop it out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 silver_aria on 2/13/2009 4:06:00 AM more reviews by silver_aria

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I think it's hit or miss with this one for a lot of people. I snagged myself a full size container because I had heard so many good things about it and figured that even if it didn't live up to its claims, I would at least be able to incorporate a gentle bit of exfoliation with the lactic acid. I am usually pretty good with products and up until this, I had never had an adverse reaction to a facial moisturizer. I put this on in the evening before bed and woke up with little bumps all over my face, they weren't red or itchy but it looked like I had hives all over my cheeks and the bridge of my nose. It took about a week for it to fade and I tried one more time just to make sure the reaction wasn't to something else I put on, but sure enough. The scent isn't giving this product any points either. I passed it onto a friend who had absolutely no problems with it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Moonpetals on 2/13/2009 2:55:00 AM more reviews by Moonpetals

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Hearing about this on Oprah and every second person I got all excited and got some. I found it smelled strange and didn't absorb nicely. I kept trying it until I hated it. Then I thought about checking why everyone thought it was so great so I checked every ingredient in this cream....let me just say it's unhealthy and If I knew the ingredients in here in the first place I would have never tried it. I always say..."check what you're paying for" Cosmeticsdatabase.com
You can type in any ingredient and they will tell you all you need to know.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 mgjolley on 2/12/2009 11:49:00 PM more reviews by mgjolley

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I am very sorry to say this but I did tried very hard to think positive things about this product. In all, I don't think hope in the jar brings me any hope. 1, The smell is not very pleasant. I don't know if it is just chemical smell or something else. Anyway, it smells very very weird. 2, minutes after I put it on, the skin around my eyes started to hurt. I tried hard to ignore the pain but my eyes just hurt very badly. Eventually, I had to wash it off and do everything all over again. I threw away the rest of it. This is just my own experience. I have sensitive skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Lunesse on 2/12/2009 3:59:00 PM more reviews by Lunesse

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

My review is for HiaJ, the original formula for all skintypes sans SPF. I have normal skin that doesn't break out unless it's that time of the month. For me, this was a very light moisturizer that absorbed quickly into the skin and is never greasy. It's consistency is that of a whipped soufflé or cream. After a few uses, I've definitely noted a brighter and more even complexion. However, I do feel that this product has two downfalls. One is the smell. While I do not purchase serious skincare products for its smell, it's a very plastic clinical sort of smell. It's not offensive or strong by any means, but it doesn't smell like a bouquet, that's for sure. Second of all is the packaging. True to its name, it comes in a jar. Problem with this is that one would have to constantly dip their fingers into the product, which can contaminate it with bacteria and the like. Since they already have a different product called Hope in a Tube, I doubt we'd be seeing this in a squeeze tube anytime soon. If you are really concerned about getting bacteria into HiaJ, then I recommend purchasing the smaller .5 oz container. Or you could use some type of clean utensil to scoop out a bit for every application but it's a little inconvenient.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 hannahxyz on 2/12/2009 11:44:00 AM more reviews by hannahxyz

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have combination skin and my cheeks are always dehydrated. I bought this hoping that it will hydrate my skin without adding oil. The first week, it felts amazing. The cream gets absorbed right away leaving the face not greasy at all. But after about a month, my cheeks started to grow small red bumps. There could be two reasons. 1) this product made my skin reactive 2) it clogs pores and causes breakout. if my second guess is right, I suggest people with oily combination skin to be careful with this product. You might get breakouts. I still kept using it just because i paid almost 50 bucks (canada) for it.
I'm on the last bit of my first jar and I will not buy this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 katetdang on 2/9/2009 5:59:00 PM more reviews by katetdang

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love this moisturizer! It is is deceivingly light, yet extremely effective. It sinks right in and doesn't leave me feeling greasy. At the same time, I am on Retin A, and it is the only moisturizer that effectively gets rid of the flakeys that I get from the peeling associated with Retin A. I use it every morning underneath my sunscreen. The things I don't love about this moisturizer is that it smells of lavender (which is an ingredient) and lavender has a tendency to make me somewhat nauseous. However, the scent is very light, so I can live with it. The jar container is somewhat inconvenient though because it can get pretty unsanitary dipping into it day after day with your fingers.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 lvc80 on 2/9/2009 12:55:00 PM more reviews by lvc80

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I really liked this the first few times I used it. It really brightened up my skin and didn't leave me feeling oily. But after a few weeks of use I noticed my skin started breaking out so I stopped using it-my face cleared up right away after that. I think it may have to do with the fact that it comes in a jar and you have to dip your fingers in there. It may be transfering bacteria to the product despite me washing my hands before use. Also, I wonder how the ingrediants remain stable since as soon as you open it it's exposed to air. Not a horrible product but not wonderful either. May try it out again if the change to a pump dispenser.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 idontknowmomo on 2/8/2009 8:32:00 PM more reviews by idontknowmomo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I've been using this moisturizer every night for about two years now. I love the smell of it, it's very refreshing. I have slightly break out prone skin and this moisturizer hasn't made me have any flare ups. One container of this stuff seems to last foreeeevvver.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Philosophy products

More Moisturizers products