Philosophy Hope in a Jar - for all skin types

2.8

1701 reviews

38% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water (Aqua), Lauryl Lactate, Behenic Acid, behenoxy Dimethicone, Glyceryl stearate Se, Glycerin, Behenyl Alcohol, Pentaerythrityl Tetracaprylate/Tetracaprate, Cyclopentasiloxane, Tocopheryl Acetate, Benzyl Alcohol, Retinyl Palmitate, Cyclohexasiloxane, Stearic Acid, Panthenol, Beta Glucan, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Oil, Xanthan Gum, Triethanolamine, Propylene Glycol, Geraniol, Limonene, Linalool, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Diazolidinyl Urea


Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I hated this product. I never break out and this caused white bumps on my chin after only using it for 2 days! I will not repurchase.



on 4/14/2009 9:55:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Wow I really like this product. A lot. I was a bit hesitant after seeing the mixed reviews here on MUA but luckily sephora was offering a free philosophy starter kit to beauty insiders. After trying the kit I fell in love with philosophy products, and this hope in a jar is no exception.


Before receiving the kit I was a bit skeptical... I was thinking to myself it's just cleanser and moisturizer, it can't make that big of a diff... boy was I wrong! The moisturizer makes my skin sooooooo soft... even though my skin is naturally oily, it tends get dry flaky and tight immedietely after cleansing. Generally i'll apply moisturizer after this, but many moisturizers (ie neutrogena) would leave a film with my skin... kind of like moisturized dead skin cells... It was really gross. I thought that this was normal and that I wouldnt ever find a way around this... after using Philosophy's hope in a jar i've now realized there are far better products out there!


It does smell just a lil funky, but nothing thats worth throwing it out for, especially when considering the results. The smell is kind of herbally mediciny... kind of like aveda but not nearly as strong. I also have acne prone skin and break out often... this has not made me break out at all and thats a really big deal to me.


Overall I think this product is really worth it - it moisturizes my skin without leaving a film and my skin is absolutely silky smooth after it absorbs the product. I would highly recommend this product to just about anyone. Best of all, the tinest dab'll do ya! (which is great news considering the price!)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/12/2009 7:09:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

My 30-something skin has gone a bit bonkers over the past couple of years and Hope in a Jar with La Roche Posay cleanser seems to have calmed me down for now. I get dry flaky patches along both sides of my nose whenever I stop using this product. I believe the lactic acid keeps that at bay. Have to be careful how much you use, a tad too much and I am an oil slick on two legs. Gave packaging a "1" due to the dip-your-fingers-in jar. I do make sure that my hands are clean; but seems a bit unsanitary for this day and age. The upside of the packaging is that I can get every single bit of the product out. This a pump bottle you always leave $$ of product sitting at the bottom or in the siphon tube.


on 4/12/2009 2:26:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this product! I actually think it's very moisturizing. I did not need a lot of product to moisturize my whole face. I've been using the same 2 oz. tube for 5 months already and I haven't finished it all yet. However, my skin is naturally oily so I don't really need that much moisturizing but I use a lot of oil-control products that make my skin flaky and peeling combined with grease and it's just really nasty. This product just balanced it all out for me! First time I tried it it made my skin look glowy that I almost didn't need a blush. I did not have any problems with acne. There was a point where I felt it was too heavy for me but a few minutes after applying it, it does not bother me at all. It has this weird funky smell but it does not bother me that much. All in all, I think it;s a great moisturizer. I'm surprised a lot of dry skin-type people dont think it's moisturizing enough, maybe the dry-skin formula should work better for them.

All in all, I would buy this again if I have the budget. It;s just really expensive.


on 4/11/2009 11:39:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Horrible Product!!! Expensive and did not do anything for my skin.... For the amount of money I paid for this I expected some kind of result but nothing happened actually my skin go worst... Dry, flaky and broke me out!


on 4/11/2009 11:29:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Wow...this was actually really horrible, and I tend not to complain about anything. I recently ordered the Philosophy Microdelivery Peel and got this as a sample. In the past I had used Hope in a Jar for dry/sensitive skin and didn't care for that either, but I thought maybe it was just too thick for me.

First, the texture of this product is like cheap novelty hand lotion. It's thin and doesn't feel like it should moisturize anything. Second...and I have to put in the disclaimer that smells never bother me, and a lot of products that other reviewers couldn't stand because of the smell, I actually liked...the smell of this cream was completely disgusting. It was strong, chemical-y, and incredibly overpowering.

Oh...and after putting two layers of this crap on my face and STILL feeling dry, I had to re-wash and just use my Cetaphil. I would NEVER pay for this. I'm amazed it's so popular.


on 4/10/2009 2:06:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Love this moistrizer, my forehead and cheeks and neck are very dry while my nose is oily. This helped , I put a little more on my dry spots and a little on my nose.

Also, In this review along my jawline below my cheeks I have small bumps, Ive had them forever, so I know its not from this product,
Anyone recommend something to clear these up, and my nose is really clogged with dirt and blackheads, anyone reccomend something for these ? Biore pore strips do nothing except rip out my skin, last night I steamed my face with BOILING water and put a towel over my head for 5 mins then put one on, did nothing.
Please help.
Thank you :]
Message me or post here if you have any reccomendations for my problems.
Thanks :]


on 4/8/2009 8:30:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Excellent moisturizer. Hydrates skin perfectly. Leave skin glowy, but not greasy. Absorbs into skin quickly and tones your skin. Light. I actually like the smell a lot, but I could understand why others don't. The smell slightly resembles the smell of medicine. It made my skin brighter. However, it did not help in getting rid of blemishes, but it didn't cause me to break out either. I also do not like the packaging. The jar is cute, but it seems like it could easily get contaminated. Don't get too much into your eyes, or they'll burn, but that's pretty standard for most products. I love it.


on 4/5/2009 11:27:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Best moisterizer I have EVER tried. The smell is AWFUL but I eventually came actually love it since my brain would associate the smell with its extraordinary outcome on my skin! I have combination skin. Oily in the areas on both sides of my nose and on the middle of my forehead and dry on my cheeks. Nothing has ever been able to really moisturize my dry parts. After using HIAJ, my skin felt so smooth and soft, it was like I didn't have dry skin in the first place. I also love how its like a gel consistency and spreads out a lot with just a small amount. Also it absorbs really fast so I feel the results immediately. I hate those moisterizer lotions that have to sit on your skin overnight before it would truly absorb. It seems that many people have a bad reaction to it, but I still recommend to try it in a sample to see if your skin tolerates it. If it does, I totally recommend buying it cause its awesome.


on 4/5/2009 10:20:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

HORRIBLE allergic reaction. My face has broken out in hives, my eyes are swollen, and I am itchy all over my face and neck.


Back to Top