Philosophy • Hope in a Jar - for all skin types • Moisturizers

rated 2.8(1669 reviews)

Average Rating.2.8
Would buy this product again.39%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Monkey999 on 2/26/2009 12:43:00 PM more reviews by Monkey999

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I have been using this product for a couple of years now. The smell is not great, but it goes away quickly. I use it at night. It works well on my dry skin and helps to keep it soft and smooth. I wish it were cheaper, but it does the best job of anything I have tried.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 jekki012 on 2/23/2009 10:54:00 PM more reviews by jekki012

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I got this as a sample from Sephora in a little tube and I can't see why anyone would buy this. It smells horrible, doesn't really moisturize at all... it actually seemed to evaporate right off my face! Thank goodness I didn't actually pay for this!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 poetrygroupie on 2/22/2009 8:13:00 PM more reviews by poetrygroupie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

This moisturizer did not work out well for me at all. My boyfriend refused to kiss me good-night when I was trying this product out because the herbal smell was so strong! It moisturized only as well as any drugstore brand for a much higher price--and it left my skin feeling a little greasy and unclean.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 akc04 on 2/21/2009 9:25:00 PM more reviews by akc04

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This is not a good product!! It smells AWFUL and its very thin. I don't even feel like i've moisturized after ive used it!! I have dry skin and it is definitely not good for it!! However regardless of your skin tone you shouldnt buy it because of the smell - its so overwhelming and disgusting!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 redsmom on 2/21/2009 2:47:00 PM more reviews by redsmom

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I was excited to try this product, but very disappointed after using it. I have pretty normal skin, maybe a bit on the dry side during the winter months. Not only did my skin get red and blotchy afterwards, but it needed MORE moisturizer about an hour later.
I wasn't wild about the scent, but I could have lived with it, had the product done what it was supposed to.
Definitely a thumbs down for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 peachy905 on 2/20/2009 5:29:00 PM more reviews by peachy905

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I was really expecting more from this product and am quite disappointed. The texture is a nice light mouse that absorbs quickly. However, it did absolutely nothing for my complexion. In addition, I detest creams that don't come into a pump since it can easily get contaminated. Will not buy this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 SoPolished on 2/19/2009 12:36:00 AM more reviews by SoPolished

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Grey    

I was very excited to try this because apparently when it works....it works wonderfullly.

Not the case for me. This caused a topical dermatitis reaction in me. The day after I first applied it, I had raised, red, itchy rash on my cheeks. I skipped a night and tried again...but earlier in the evening, and the same thing happened again. I washed it off and wont be using it again.

I did patch test on the inside of my arm, and it was fine there.

So, I would suggest patch testing this maybe on a very small area of the cheek or neck, where the skin is as sensitive as the face...but just a small patch.

The hunt for a HG nightime moisturizer continues!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 HPPrincess on 2/18/2009 2:06:00 PM more reviews by HPPrincess

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I really, really wanted to like this moisturizer. Why did I buy this? I thought that the price was okay, for such a large amount, and after all of these miracle stories that I have heard about this, I felt that I was missing out on something. What I was missing out on was the sample. When I applied this product, my face felt tight after about 5 minutes, meaning that no hydration had occurred. Looking at the ingredients, there is really no reason for this product to be placed in an obnoxious jar-style packaging. Now I am stuck with this jar!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* olelala on 2/17/2009 9:04:00 AM more reviews by olelala

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

No positives from me. This broke me out in record time. Never never again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 sirensandsailors on 2/16/2009 8:41:00 PM more reviews by sirensandsailors

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I tried the Sephora deluxe sample of this and it took me 4 days to see the problems it caused. I changed nothing but my moisturizer in those 4 days and now I have small itchy bumps all over my cheeks. I was hopeful that it would help with my breakouts, but no. I have even more now. And it didn't really moisturize, my skin felt just as dry before putting it on. Complete disappointment, I'll stay away from this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Philosophy products

More Moisturizers products