Philosophy Hope in a Jar - for all skin types

2.8

1692 reviews

39% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water (Aqua), Lauryl Lactate, Behenic Acid, behenoxy Dimethicone, Glyceryl stearate Se, Glycerin, Behenyl Alcohol, Pentaerythrityl Tetracaprylate/Tetracaprate, Cyclopentasiloxane, Tocopheryl Acetate, Benzyl Alcohol, Retinyl Palmitate, Cyclohexasiloxane, Stearic Acid, Panthenol, Beta Glucan, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Oil, Xanthan Gum, Triethanolamine, Propylene Glycol, Geraniol, Limonene, Linalool, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Diazolidinyl Urea


on 4/5/2009 10:20:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

HORRIBLE allergic reaction. My face has broken out in hives, my eyes are swollen, and I am itchy all over my face and neck.



on 4/4/2009 1:56:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I was bought a pot of this for Christmas and was very excited to try it. I had heard all the hype about it being great for all skin types etc etc and had faith that this could be the moisturiser I needed to balance and treat my breakout prone, sensitive and reactive skin.

First of all the smell is rank, like burning plastic. And if you get this anywhere near your eyes you are going to know about it - it stings like a m*therbitch! However, I have to say the "whipped" texture feels lovely to apply and is a pleasure to rub into the skin.

I did feel that it took a long time to absorb and that it tended to sit on my skin without properly soaking in. However, it is worth pointing out that I am currently living in Malaysia where the climate is very hot and humid. It didnt really do anything for my skin at all - I dont think it broke me out but it certainly didnt improve anything either. I will keep this and use it when I return to the UK - in a colder climate I think this could be a different story...


on 4/2/2009 5:59:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

It smells funny, I do not like it.
Plus, it does nothing to my face. ( There's no hope in a jar!! )


on 4/1/2009 12:58:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I didn't want to like this stuff. The packaging is not well thought out, it smells funny, AND it's expensive. But it did so much good for my skin! I have really severe combination skin (my nose gets shiny with oil within like 30 minutes of putting makeup on, and my cheeks get dry and flaky, all at the same time), but it evened out everything wonderfully. I haven't had a bad breakout since I've been using it (about a month and a half now). The only reason I tried it is because it was one of the deluxe samples at Sephora, and I wanted to give it a chance, despite its bad reviews. I will buy it again if I can afford it, but I can't see myself running out anytime soon.


on 3/31/2009 4:19:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Green

I didn't think this product was horrible, but I didn't find it amazing either. Used as a moisturizer for night - could never dream of wearing in the day, I would look like I rubbed grease on my face. Didn't seem to cause acne? Can't say for sure. Maybe I should smell it again, I can't remember the scent?


on 3/31/2009 4:00:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I wonder if my extraordinary experience with this cream is because my skin is severely dry? Hmm. Anyway, I love LOVE love it! It smooths out my skin and (I think) smells fine - if a little strong of lavender. I've noticed the lines around my eyes disappear when I have it on, even after I apply makeup. This cream keeps my skin smooth and soft and feels refreshed after I put it on. Perhaps people were using too much? I found that just a tiny dab will cover my entire eye/mouth area, and a second dab helps my forehead. A miracle for extra dry skin - a little dab goes a long way!


on 3/28/2009 3:34:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Horrible horrible, my face broke out in a hot itchy flaky rash after using it for a couple of days. It took almost a week for my skin to recover. And the smell was pretty awful as well. Very glad I just bought a small sample size. I went fleeing back to my DHC moisterizer as quick as the postman could bring it to my door!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/25/2009 10:43:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

i did not like it. left my skin oily,


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

It makes my skin smooth and def evened out my complextion. Also I have noticed the fine lines in my neck decreasing.


on 3/21/2009 3:51:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Other

Eyes: Brown

No better and does nothing for me that the clearance CVS lotion didn't do... Very overrated.


Back to Top