Philosophy • Hope in a Jar - for all skin types • Moisturizers

rated 2.8(1671 reviews)

Average Rating.2.8
Would buy this product again.39%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 narita23 on 2/26/2009 10:53:00 PM more reviews by narita23

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I've heard so much about this cream and had to try it myself. Well... big disappointment. First, the smell. I wonder how is this possible for a beauty product to have such unpleasant odor. Since many people love the cream despite the smell I forced myself to use it to see if it would do raved magic on my skin. Although my skin is not sensitive when I put this cream my eyes just burned and teared up so bad. First time experiencing such reaction in my life. I certainly didn't expect such thing from not so cheap cream. Also, it doesn't sink into the skin as " drink of water" but stayed on my skin and balled up under my fingers. Not giving up HOPE still using it to see the claimed results. So far used 1oz but no positive change.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 sarahcinnamon on 2/26/2009 12:56:00 PM more reviews by sarahcinnamon

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I wanted to luv this product and I used half a jar hoping I'd eventually see some results. Yes, there is a medicinal scent but I got used it. I was hoping it would improve the clarity of my skin but never seen any difference. This moisturized never sank into my skin - it always sat on top no matter how little I used. Do not get this anywhere near your eyes because the chemicals drift up and made my eyes water and burn like crazy. I wish this worked for me. Maybe if I had dry skin this would work.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Monkey999 on 2/26/2009 12:43:00 PM more reviews by Monkey999

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I have been using this product for a couple of years now. The smell is not great, but it goes away quickly. I use it at night. It works well on my dry skin and helps to keep it soft and smooth. I wish it were cheaper, but it does the best job of anything I have tried.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 jekki012 on 2/23/2009 10:54:00 PM more reviews by jekki012

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I got this as a sample from Sephora in a little tube and I can't see why anyone would buy this. It smells horrible, doesn't really moisturize at all... it actually seemed to evaporate right off my face! Thank goodness I didn't actually pay for this!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 poetrygroupie on 2/22/2009 8:13:00 PM more reviews by poetrygroupie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

This moisturizer did not work out well for me at all. My boyfriend refused to kiss me good-night when I was trying this product out because the herbal smell was so strong! It moisturized only as well as any drugstore brand for a much higher price--and it left my skin feeling a little greasy and unclean.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 akc04 on 2/21/2009 9:25:00 PM more reviews by akc04

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This is not a good product!! It smells AWFUL and its very thin. I don't even feel like i've moisturized after ive used it!! I have dry skin and it is definitely not good for it!! However regardless of your skin tone you shouldnt buy it because of the smell - its so overwhelming and disgusting!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 redsmom on 2/21/2009 2:47:00 PM more reviews by redsmom

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I was excited to try this product, but very disappointed after using it. I have pretty normal skin, maybe a bit on the dry side during the winter months. Not only did my skin get red and blotchy afterwards, but it needed MORE moisturizer about an hour later.
I wasn't wild about the scent, but I could have lived with it, had the product done what it was supposed to.
Definitely a thumbs down for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 peachy905 on 2/20/2009 5:29:00 PM more reviews by peachy905

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I was really expecting more from this product and am quite disappointed. The texture is a nice light mouse that absorbs quickly. However, it did absolutely nothing for my complexion. In addition, I detest creams that don't come into a pump since it can easily get contaminated. Will not buy this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 SoPolished on 2/19/2009 12:36:00 AM more reviews by SoPolished

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Grey    

I was very excited to try this because apparently when it works....it works wonderfullly.

Not the case for me. This caused a topical dermatitis reaction in me. The day after I first applied it, I had raised, red, itchy rash on my cheeks. I skipped a night and tried again...but earlier in the evening, and the same thing happened again. I washed it off and wont be using it again.

I did patch test on the inside of my arm, and it was fine there.

So, I would suggest patch testing this maybe on a very small area of the cheek or neck, where the skin is as sensitive as the face...but just a small patch.

The hunt for a HG nightime moisturizer continues!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 HPPrincess on 2/18/2009 2:06:00 PM more reviews by HPPrincess

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I really, really wanted to like this moisturizer. Why did I buy this? I thought that the price was okay, for such a large amount, and after all of these miracle stories that I have heard about this, I felt that I was missing out on something. What I was missing out on was the sample. When I applied this product, my face felt tight after about 5 minutes, meaning that no hydration had occurred. Looking at the ingredients, there is really no reason for this product to be placed in an obnoxious jar-style packaging. Now I am stuck with this jar!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Philosophy products

More Moisturizers products