Philosophy • Hope in a Jar - for all skin types • Moisturizers

rated 2.8(1676 reviews)

Average Rating.2.8
Would buy this product again.39%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 Bimmy0813 on 3/8/2009 11:31:00 PM more reviews by Bimmy0813

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I found Hope to be very moisturizing, but the cons seem to outweigh the pros. The pros or I should say, pro is that the cream-type moisturizer is very moisturizing. With that said, this moisturizer has a very strong smell. The smell is a mixture of herbs and tea; regardless, it was not something I cared for. Besides the scent, the moisturizer caused me to become more oily than usual. I have combination skin with a slightly oily t-zone, but after using this cream, my face was like an oil slick. My make up started to melt off my face. Boo. I would recommend this moisturizer for people who aren't planning to wear heavy make up or any make up at all. Other than that, I'm sure there are better moisturizers in the market.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Aviolet on 3/8/2009 3:54:00 AM more reviews by Aviolet

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Philosophy makes many of my very favorite products, however, Hope in a Jar is the one exception. It is terrible!


I bought the smallest $15 jar (.5 oz) in anticipation that it would be fabulous like their microdelivery peel set. Unfortunetly, it's not. Instead it smells bad. So much so, I never have worn at bedtime in fear it would offend my husband. Also, even after applying and rubbing it on, it doesn't seem to want to absorb into my skin. This is the ONLY cream that has ever refused to cooperate. It just sits there lacking the motivation to create a "healthy rose-glow" as the Sephora site promises.

Won't buy again. In fact, returning the jar I'm stuck with should be on my to-do list!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 patsgirl321 on 3/3/2009 8:30:00 PM more reviews by patsgirl321

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I beleive my search for the perfect moisturizer has come to a hault. I've used pretty much everything, from moderately priced, to super expensive, and nothing, i mean NOTHING has come close to hope in a jar. i have combo skin, oily t-zone, and some redness on my cheeks.. occasional pimples here and there, and a few lines. THIS stuff, has basically taken care of ALL of my 'issues'. ONE product does everything I need. My lines seem to look better, my tone is MUCH better, it isnt breaking me out - and I look Dewy. I dont like The purity cleanser too much, but Hope in a Jar & the Hope in a Tube eye cream will probably be on my vanity FOREVER. its just THAT GOOD.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 SkinnyCow on 3/3/2009 4:54:00 PM more reviews by SkinnyCow

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I am reviewing the SPF 20, I didn't want to start a new entry for it.
I'm also using in tandem with 'When Hope is Not Enough'. But I use this way way more.

Usage : been using over 3 months, not daily - but maybe 5xweek
Me : 41, some wrinkles, discoloration, uneven texture.
Biggest Concern : Wrinkles and discoloration


This has helped my wrinkles. I can tell the difference. I put this on my face, neck and chest and I can see it. This has helped with discoloration greatly. My skin texture is improved. It is smoother / softer and its noticeable.

Like other posters, this has made me break out a little. Small white pimples and sometimes just like a red rash. It sounds horrible I know, but I am really happy with the other results I am getting. This has made me photosensitive, and here is the down side :

I will not buy this with SPF if I do repurchase. If you put on enough to even get the SPF results, its too much. This cream is strong, can be oily-ish and I can't put that much on. I wear a primer with SPF so if I repurchase, no sunscreen.

Philosophy has a nice vitamin C powder you can mix in w/this that cuts the oiliness a lot, but that is just another product.

The jury is out on a repurchase. The breakouts are a big downer. Once I finish this jar, and really look at my skin, I will decide. I put 'yes' to repurchase on this review as of now, because as of now - I would.


1/30/09 edit : I haven't used this product for 2 weeks and I am getting the same small break outs. So, its not this. I am post partum, so I think its hormones.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Hollytron on 2/27/2009 4:19:00 PM more reviews by Hollytron

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I may buy this product again, if I see ant results, but after three days, it just doesn't seem to be doing much for me. I am very dry and their Hope in a Jar for Dry, Sensitive Skin saved me from facial eczema and is my HG, but I don't know what to say about this. I like to use a lighter moisturizer right in the morning because HIAJ dry, sensitive is not always adequate when my skin is doing alright (like summer). I use MAC Studio Fix Lotion and it seeps in well, and wears well under makeup. This seems to wear well under makeup, but MAC's is cheaper and... DOES NOT SMELL LIKE BUTTHOLE! HIAJ dry, sensitive just smells like lavender. Not good, but not bad, and at least my boyfriend can kiss my cheek without then sniffing and asking me what kind of gross product I have on my cheek. It's hard for me to find a moisturizer to wear under makeup well. This does, but so do others.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 narita23 on 2/26/2009 10:53:00 PM more reviews by narita23

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I've heard so much about this cream and had to try it myself. Well... big disappointment. First, the smell. I wonder how is this possible for a beauty product to have such unpleasant odor. Since many people love the cream despite the smell I forced myself to use it to see if it would do raved magic on my skin. Although my skin is not sensitive when I put this cream my eyes just burned and teared up so bad. First time experiencing such reaction in my life. I certainly didn't expect such thing from not so cheap cream. Also, it doesn't sink into the skin as " drink of water" but stayed on my skin and balled up under my fingers. Not giving up HOPE still using it to see the claimed results. So far used 1oz but no positive change.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 sarahcinnamon on 2/26/2009 12:56:00 PM more reviews by sarahcinnamon

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I wanted to luv this product and I used half a jar hoping I'd eventually see some results. Yes, there is a medicinal scent but I got used it. I was hoping it would improve the clarity of my skin but never seen any difference. This moisturized never sank into my skin - it always sat on top no matter how little I used. Do not get this anywhere near your eyes because the chemicals drift up and made my eyes water and burn like crazy. I wish this worked for me. Maybe if I had dry skin this would work.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Monkey999 on 2/26/2009 12:43:00 PM more reviews by Monkey999

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I have been using this product for a couple of years now. The smell is not great, but it goes away quickly. I use it at night. It works well on my dry skin and helps to keep it soft and smooth. I wish it were cheaper, but it does the best job of anything I have tried.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 jekki012 on 2/23/2009 10:54:00 PM more reviews by jekki012

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I got this as a sample from Sephora in a little tube and I can't see why anyone would buy this. It smells horrible, doesn't really moisturize at all... it actually seemed to evaporate right off my face! Thank goodness I didn't actually pay for this!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 poetrygroupie on 2/22/2009 8:13:00 PM more reviews by poetrygroupie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

This moisturizer did not work out well for me at all. My boyfriend refused to kiss me good-night when I was trying this product out because the herbal smell was so strong! It moisturized only as well as any drugstore brand for a much higher price--and it left my skin feeling a little greasy and unclean.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Philosophy products

More Moisturizers products