Philosophy Hope in a Jar - for all skin types

2.8

1689 reviews

39% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water (Aqua), Lauryl Lactate, Behenic Acid, behenoxy Dimethicone, Glyceryl stearate Se, Glycerin, Behenyl Alcohol, Pentaerythrityl Tetracaprylate/Tetracaprate, Cyclopentasiloxane, Tocopheryl Acetate, Benzyl Alcohol, Retinyl Palmitate, Cyclohexasiloxane, Stearic Acid, Panthenol, Beta Glucan, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Oil, Xanthan Gum, Triethanolamine, Propylene Glycol, Geraniol, Limonene, Linalool, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Diazolidinyl Urea


on 4/1/2009 12:58:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I didn't want to like this stuff. The packaging is not well thought out, it smells funny, AND it's expensive. But it did so much good for my skin! I have really severe combination skin (my nose gets shiny with oil within like 30 minutes of putting makeup on, and my cheeks get dry and flaky, all at the same time), but it evened out everything wonderfully. I haven't had a bad breakout since I've been using it (about a month and a half now). The only reason I tried it is because it was one of the deluxe samples at Sephora, and I wanted to give it a chance, despite its bad reviews. I will buy it again if I can afford it, but I can't see myself running out anytime soon.



on 3/31/2009 4:19:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Green

I didn't think this product was horrible, but I didn't find it amazing either. Used as a moisturizer for night - could never dream of wearing in the day, I would look like I rubbed grease on my face. Didn't seem to cause acne? Can't say for sure. Maybe I should smell it again, I can't remember the scent?


on 3/31/2009 4:00:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I wonder if my extraordinary experience with this cream is because my skin is severely dry? Hmm. Anyway, I love LOVE love it! It smooths out my skin and (I think) smells fine - if a little strong of lavender. I've noticed the lines around my eyes disappear when I have it on, even after I apply makeup. This cream keeps my skin smooth and soft and feels refreshed after I put it on. Perhaps people were using too much? I found that just a tiny dab will cover my entire eye/mouth area, and a second dab helps my forehead. A miracle for extra dry skin - a little dab goes a long way!


on 3/28/2009 3:34:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Horrible horrible, my face broke out in a hot itchy flaky rash after using it for a couple of days. It took almost a week for my skin to recover. And the smell was pretty awful as well. Very glad I just bought a small sample size. I went fleeing back to my DHC moisterizer as quick as the postman could bring it to my door!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/25/2009 10:43:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

i did not like it. left my skin oily,


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

It makes my skin smooth and def evened out my complextion. Also I have noticed the fine lines in my neck decreasing.


on 3/21/2009 3:51:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Other

Eyes: Brown

No better and does nothing for me that the clearance CVS lotion didn't do... Very overrated.


on 3/16/2009 4:13:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

What a BIG disappointment. I bought this product after all the amazing raves on Sephora's website. I don't usually break out (and if I do, it's limited to mother nature's monthly gift), but when I started using this product, BREAK OUT HEAVEN. I have never seen my cheeks so ridiculously red and covered with pimples. It's like this moisturizer was built to create/highlight acne. The smell was tolerable, but never ever again will I buy into hype.


on 3/15/2009 5:40:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

Wow, when they said this product stunk they weren't kidding. I've owned a plethora of moisturizers and this is the only one that I've owned that felt like I was putting Crisco on my face. It felt like it didn't sink into my skin, just spread on like a mask. I'm all about super moisturizing cremes, but this one doesn't cut it for me. I'll use it up because I don't want to waste it, but from now on I'm gong to mix it with my Juice Beauty apple moisturizer on my dry days.


on 3/15/2009 1:30:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

i hated this cream. it smelled really bad like iron and metal. and it made me breakout with a rash all over my face after a few days of using it. i tried it again about a year later and the same exact thing happen. maybe it's different for other people. not a fan. i had to spend lots of money and ended up giving it to one of my roommates cause it sucked so bad.


Back to Top