Philosophy • Hope in a Jar - for all skin types • Moisturizers

rated 2.8(1683 reviews)

Average Rating.2.8
Would buy this product again.39%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 jeneefaa on 3/16/2009 4:13:00 AM more reviews by jeneefaa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

What a BIG disappointment. I bought this product after all the amazing raves on Sephora's website. I don't usually break out (and if I do, it's limited to mother nature's monthly gift), but when I started using this product, BREAK OUT HEAVEN. I have never seen my cheeks so ridiculously red and covered with pimples. It's like this moisturizer was built to create/highlight acne. The smell was tolerable, but never ever again will I buy into hype.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ginabinawina on 3/15/2009 5:40:00 AM more reviews by ginabinawina

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Wow, when they said this product stunk they weren't kidding. I've owned a plethora of moisturizers and this is the only one that I've owned that felt like I was putting Crisco on my face. It felt like it didn't sink into my skin, just spread on like a mask. I'm all about super moisturizing cremes, but this one doesn't cut it for me. I'll use it up because I don't want to waste it, but from now on I'm gong to mix it with my Juice Beauty apple moisturizer on my dry days.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 deck512 on 3/15/2009 1:30:00 AM more reviews by deck512

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

i hated this cream. it smelled really bad like iron and metal. and it made me breakout with a rash all over my face after a few days of using it. i tried it again about a year later and the same exact thing happen. maybe it's different for other people. not a fan. i had to spend lots of money and ended up giving it to one of my roommates cause it sucked so bad.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 mondloaj on 3/14/2009 11:29:00 AM more reviews by mondloaj

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This I think would be better for dry and/or aging skin. I have combination to oily skin and all it did was smell terrible and grease me up. :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 coloryouclingto on 3/9/2009 11:56:00 PM more reviews by coloryouclingto

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is AWFUL. Smells terrible, doesn't absorb into your skin, and when I carelessly wiped my hands on my towel after applying it it turned the towel BRIGHT yellow. I am absolutely positive this is what did it, and the color would not come out in the wash. What a waste of money.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 silverwing99 on 3/9/2009 2:50:00 PM more reviews by silverwing99

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This was an ok cream at best. It wasn't anything amazing & the only glow I got was from being shiny/oily looking after applying. It didn't absorb well into my combination skin (oily nose/forehead, dry cheeks). The smell was not appealing either. I had RIS a jar that was pretty full & was skeptical about the freshness because of the smell. When I compared it to a sample packet I just got, it was the same exact smell so I knew the jar hadn't gone bad. Would not purchase this & was glad I tried it first before shelling out money for it.
Try When Hope Is Not Enough in a tube -- it has the loveliest lavender scent & it is one of my staples.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 erynnia on 3/9/2009 2:33:00 PM more reviews by erynnia

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I'm sorry, this isn't going to be a hugely useful review, but I just got a sample and it has the exact chemical/wet-dog smell of a freshly shampood carpet. Really gross. Can't imagine paying money for this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Bimmy0813 on 3/8/2009 11:31:00 PM more reviews by Bimmy0813

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I found Hope to be very moisturizing, but the cons seem to outweigh the pros. The pros or I should say, pro is that the cream-type moisturizer is very moisturizing. With that said, this moisturizer has a very strong smell. The smell is a mixture of herbs and tea; regardless, it was not something I cared for. Besides the scent, the moisturizer caused me to become more oily than usual. I have combination skin with a slightly oily t-zone, but after using this cream, my face was like an oil slick. My make up started to melt off my face. Boo. I would recommend this moisturizer for people who aren't planning to wear heavy make up or any make up at all. Other than that, I'm sure there are better moisturizers in the market.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Aviolet on 3/8/2009 3:54:00 AM more reviews by Aviolet

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Philosophy makes many of my very favorite products, however, Hope in a Jar is the one exception. It is terrible!


I bought the smallest $15 jar (.5 oz) in anticipation that it would be fabulous like their microdelivery peel set. Unfortunetly, it's not. Instead it smells bad. So much so, I never have worn at bedtime in fear it would offend my husband. Also, even after applying and rubbing it on, it doesn't seem to want to absorb into my skin. This is the ONLY cream that has ever refused to cooperate. It just sits there lacking the motivation to create a "healthy rose-glow" as the Sephora site promises.

Won't buy again. In fact, returning the jar I'm stuck with should be on my to-do list!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 patsgirl321 on 3/3/2009 8:30:00 PM more reviews by patsgirl321

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I beleive my search for the perfect moisturizer has come to a hault. I've used pretty much everything, from moderately priced, to super expensive, and nothing, i mean NOTHING has come close to hope in a jar. i have combo skin, oily t-zone, and some redness on my cheeks.. occasional pimples here and there, and a few lines. THIS stuff, has basically taken care of ALL of my 'issues'. ONE product does everything I need. My lines seem to look better, my tone is MUCH better, it isnt breaking me out - and I look Dewy. I dont like The purity cleanser too much, but Hope in a Jar & the Hope in a Tube eye cream will probably be on my vanity FOREVER. its just THAT GOOD.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Philosophy products

More Moisturizers products