Philosophy Hope in a Jar - for all skin types

2.8

1697 reviews

39% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water (Aqua), Lauryl Lactate, Behenic Acid, behenoxy Dimethicone, Glyceryl stearate Se, Glycerin, Behenyl Alcohol, Pentaerythrityl Tetracaprylate/Tetracaprate, Cyclopentasiloxane, Tocopheryl Acetate, Benzyl Alcohol, Retinyl Palmitate, Cyclohexasiloxane, Stearic Acid, Panthenol, Beta Glucan, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Oil, Xanthan Gum, Triethanolamine, Propylene Glycol, Geraniol, Limonene, Linalool, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Diazolidinyl Urea


on 4/11/2009 11:39:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Horrible Product!!! Expensive and did not do anything for my skin.... For the amount of money I paid for this I expected some kind of result but nothing happened actually my skin go worst... Dry, flaky and broke me out!



on 4/11/2009 11:29:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Wow...this was actually really horrible, and I tend not to complain about anything. I recently ordered the Philosophy Microdelivery Peel and got this as a sample. In the past I had used Hope in a Jar for dry/sensitive skin and didn't care for that either, but I thought maybe it was just too thick for me.

First, the texture of this product is like cheap novelty hand lotion. It's thin and doesn't feel like it should moisturize anything. Second...and I have to put in the disclaimer that smells never bother me, and a lot of products that other reviewers couldn't stand because of the smell, I actually liked...the smell of this cream was completely disgusting. It was strong, chemical-y, and incredibly overpowering.

Oh...and after putting two layers of this crap on my face and STILL feeling dry, I had to re-wash and just use my Cetaphil. I would NEVER pay for this. I'm amazed it's so popular.


on 4/10/2009 2:06:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Love this moistrizer, my forehead and cheeks and neck are very dry while my nose is oily. This helped , I put a little more on my dry spots and a little on my nose.

Also, In this review along my jawline below my cheeks I have small bumps, Ive had them forever, so I know its not from this product,
Anyone recommend something to clear these up, and my nose is really clogged with dirt and blackheads, anyone reccomend something for these ? Biore pore strips do nothing except rip out my skin, last night I steamed my face with BOILING water and put a towel over my head for 5 mins then put one on, did nothing.
Please help.
Thank you :]
Message me or post here if you have any reccomendations for my problems.
Thanks :]


on 4/8/2009 8:30:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Excellent moisturizer. Hydrates skin perfectly. Leave skin glowy, but not greasy. Absorbs into skin quickly and tones your skin. Light. I actually like the smell a lot, but I could understand why others don't. The smell slightly resembles the smell of medicine. It made my skin brighter. However, it did not help in getting rid of blemishes, but it didn't cause me to break out either. I also do not like the packaging. The jar is cute, but it seems like it could easily get contaminated. Don't get too much into your eyes, or they'll burn, but that's pretty standard for most products. I love it.


on 4/5/2009 11:27:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Best moisterizer I have EVER tried. The smell is AWFUL but I eventually came actually love it since my brain would associate the smell with its extraordinary outcome on my skin! I have combination skin. Oily in the areas on both sides of my nose and on the middle of my forehead and dry on my cheeks. Nothing has ever been able to really moisturize my dry parts. After using HIAJ, my skin felt so smooth and soft, it was like I didn't have dry skin in the first place. I also love how its like a gel consistency and spreads out a lot with just a small amount. Also it absorbs really fast so I feel the results immediately. I hate those moisterizer lotions that have to sit on your skin overnight before it would truly absorb. It seems that many people have a bad reaction to it, but I still recommend to try it in a sample to see if your skin tolerates it. If it does, I totally recommend buying it cause its awesome.


on 4/5/2009 10:20:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

HORRIBLE allergic reaction. My face has broken out in hives, my eyes are swollen, and I am itchy all over my face and neck.


on 4/4/2009 1:56:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I was bought a pot of this for Christmas and was very excited to try it. I had heard all the hype about it being great for all skin types etc etc and had faith that this could be the moisturiser I needed to balance and treat my breakout prone, sensitive and reactive skin.

First of all the smell is rank, like burning plastic. And if you get this anywhere near your eyes you are going to know about it - it stings like a m*therbitch! However, I have to say the "whipped" texture feels lovely to apply and is a pleasure to rub into the skin.

I did feel that it took a long time to absorb and that it tended to sit on my skin without properly soaking in. However, it is worth pointing out that I am currently living in Malaysia where the climate is very hot and humid. It didnt really do anything for my skin at all - I dont think it broke me out but it certainly didnt improve anything either. I will keep this and use it when I return to the UK - in a colder climate I think this could be a different story...


on 4/2/2009 5:59:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

It smells funny, I do not like it.
Plus, it does nothing to my face. ( There's no hope in a jar!! )


on 4/1/2009 12:58:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I didn't want to like this stuff. The packaging is not well thought out, it smells funny, AND it's expensive. But it did so much good for my skin! I have really severe combination skin (my nose gets shiny with oil within like 30 minutes of putting makeup on, and my cheeks get dry and flaky, all at the same time), but it evened out everything wonderfully. I haven't had a bad breakout since I've been using it (about a month and a half now). The only reason I tried it is because it was one of the deluxe samples at Sephora, and I wanted to give it a chance, despite its bad reviews. I will buy it again if I can afford it, but I can't see myself running out anytime soon.


on 3/31/2009 4:19:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Green

I didn't think this product was horrible, but I didn't find it amazing either. Used as a moisturizer for night - could never dream of wearing in the day, I would look like I rubbed grease on my face. Didn't seem to cause acne? Can't say for sure. Maybe I should smell it again, I can't remember the scent?


Popular Moisturizers


Moisturizing Cream
1267 Reviews
Strobe Cream
432 Reviews
Sweet Almond Oil
197 Reviews
Back to Top