Seche Vite • Dry Fast Top Coat • Top/Base Coats

rated 4.0(1608 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 thecolormargaret on 3/22/2011 9:57:00 PM more reviews by thecolormargaret

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This top coat dries so fast, it's incredible and I am so pleased with the glossy flat smooth texture it leaves on my nails. But I've heard about the risk of birth defects - scary.
I'm not planning on having a kid now, but 5-6 years down the road.
I'll use it till I find a new one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* josette on 3/22/2011 9:47:00 PM more reviews by josette

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

My search is over - this is the BEST top coat ever. Really glossy and my manicure lasts at least 8 days. I think I got it at Sally's.
I apply a coat over freshly painted nails. Then every 2 or 3 days to really keep the gloss going.
Thank you, Makeup Alley reviewers for bringing this gem to my attention.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 srelliott214 on 3/22/2011 1:26:00 AM more reviews by srelliott214

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

LOVE this stuff! Expensive for top coat...but it's worth it when you think about the amount of polish and time and energy wasted when the polish is gone after a day.

It really does dry fast, the shine lasts long, and though it seems really thick when it goes on? It's not. I loooove it. The base coat is good too, but this top coat is by far the best stuff out there!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TeHNyboR on 3/22/2011 1:10:00 AM more reviews by TeHNyboR

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

A fantastic top coat! Makes my nail polish rock hard within 60 seconds, and my manicures are chip free for about a week! Will definitely keep repurchasing!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* summerrain1994 on 3/18/2011 6:29:00 PM more reviews by summerrain1994

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I purchased this product and didn't research it a head of time. For ten dollars, I knew it was a lot, but I remembered hearing about it.
I painted my nails and used it once, and then looked to MUA about it.

The moment I read the reviews, and the back of the bottle (which said it can cause birth defects), I trashed it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bambooflower on 3/18/2011 4:22:00 PM more reviews by bambooflower

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

*update*
I still love this polish. I've almost finished a whole bottle and started on my 2nd. The key to not having your nail polish peel off is to apply this while your polish is still wet. I usually apply SV after my 2nd coat of color has had about 10-15 minutes to dry. Then I let the SV dry for a few minutes so that it's dry to the touch, before I go about my usual business. If I'm going to shower, I try not to do it within half an hour of applying SV otherwise my manicure won't last as long.

I use it with all my polishes and it seems fine with them all: DL, Essie, OPI, Zoya, Julep, Sinful, etc.
---------------
I find this to be better than other top coats that I've tried (not that I've tried them all). Whenever I use this on my toes, the polish lasts forever - at least over 2 weeks. It goes on shiny and dries really fast.

When I use this on my fingernails, it makes my polish last longer but not by much. But I don't blame the top coat for making my nail polish chip - I blame all the stress I put on my hands (like washing dishes!). I do think the top coat helps make my polish last a little longer. And it makes things so much nicer and shinier, and when I paint my nails at night and finish with this top coat, I don't wake up with smudges on my nails. Not the case with Sally Hansen Insta-Dri (I still get smudges).

You have to get Seche Restore to fix the gloopy problem. But it fixes it nicely and restores SV back to its original state. Yes, that means another $10, but honestly, I have yet to meet a top coat that dries as fast as this one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 lyonka on 3/18/2011 3:57:00 PM more reviews by lyonka

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I've only used this twice, but I've had completely different experiences each time.

The first time I used it over a Sephora by OPI polish, and it dried very quickly with a rock hard and super shiny finish. My pedicure lasted for a week without chipping & I was very pleased.

The second time I used it over a China Glaze polish. Despite the polish being perfectly dry and dent-proof, as soon as I applied the top coat, the polish underneath got all soft again and almost completely smudged off my nail! It was as though the top coat re-liquified the polish underneath. Very bizarre!

Because of this wildly inconsistent performance I would not purchase this top coat again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 TheLooksForLess on 3/17/2011 4:00:00 PM more reviews by TheLooksForLess

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

i can't believe two of my fav products are featured on the home page, Seche Vita Dry Fast Top Coat and Mac Paint Pots in Painterly lol. i use this top coat for every manicure, with the exception of stamping designs. i use the Konad top coat for those manicure only.

what I love about this top coat - it dries fast so it has saved me a million dings, the brush is super soft and super wide so you can get your polish covered in a few strokes so that you do not smear your polish (especially if you are coating a design), and i love that you can put it on super thick and it doesn't seem to effect the coats underneath. some quick dry top coats are oily, this one is not.

a few cons and they pale in comparison to the pros, it stinks, but i don't mind that so much. the coverage on the ends of my nails recedes a bit after a few days.

this is not a pro or con of the product itself - please note that if you have thick coats of nail polish on, especially multiple layers of a creme polish, the top layer may be dry, but the under layers may still be susceptible to dings.

hope this helps :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ssnand on 3/17/2011 3:27:00 PM more reviews by ssnand

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

HG TOPCOAT!
I would always dent my nails no matter how long i let them dry, turing them into ugly, scruffed nails. After reading a lot of reviews for seche vite, I went a brought a bottle from london drugs for about $8-9 CAD.
After reading the instruction, I gave my self a manicure and used SV as directed. OMG I was amazed, this top coat dried my nails rock hard in not even 10 mins, with a nice glossy shine.After going to bed I woke up and inspected my nails and to my amazement NO SHEETMARKS!
You have to use it while your nails are still wet, otherwise your polish will chip and peel off. Also when SV starts thickening, you can put a couple drops of nail polish thinner, it makes it like new again :D

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nubletta on 3/16/2011 7:08:00 PM more reviews by nubletta

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is a good product. The price is generally higher than other top coats. Its cheaper to purchase at Sallys beauty supply.

Its performance is good. It makes your nails extremely shiny and dries them really fast. My complaint is the fact that it thickens the more you use it. I'm half way through my bottle and its ridiculously thick. I don't want to go through the trouble of using a thinner so I'm just going to try another top coat. Another complaint is shrinkage on the tips. I wouldn't purchase this again for those reasons.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Seche Vite products

More Top/Base Coats products