Seche Vite Dry Fast Top Coat

4.0

1701 reviews

76% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Butyl Acetate, Toluene, Cellulose Acetate Butyrate, Isopropyl Alcohol, Trimethyl Pentanyl Diisobutyrate, Butoxyethanol, Dimethicone, Benzophenone-1.


on 6/15/2011 8:00:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is the only topcoat I use. It dries out but I just add Seche Restore and it's good as new. It's super think and makes my nail polish come alive. This product changed my nail polish life.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 6/15/2011 7:57:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm

Hair: Red, Relaxed, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

This is the longest lasting top coat I've used and I've tried many. When used on my toes, the color lasts for almost a month and many times, I've removed it and there were no chips. On my fingers, the color lasts up to a week with this top coat. The only thing I don't like is the price, but It's worth it.


on 6/15/2011 7:51:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Great top coat! Feels like a shield over your nails lol. Chipping occurs probably a week after wear, which is amazing! It adds a very nice glossy smooth shine. Its a very thick consistency but it evens out beautifully without streaking. I will say however, put a really good amount on your nails because if you put too little and try and spread it, it might take of your polish a bit, that's what happen to me :/. I'd say only con is the smell, it has a very strong kind of paint smell, which I don't care for. Other than that, its awesome product! Love it! :)


on 6/15/2011 7:27:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I love this top coat. It is so shiny and pretty. It does dry in about 10 minutes, but it is only dry to the touch. I would say it takes a few hours for it to dry all the layers completely, especially if there are three. Your mani will still be prone to nicks and smudges before it is fully dry. But you can still do basic activities about 10 minutes after you use this. (I'm soooo impatient) If this is used EXACTLY correctly, your nails will not only look great, but the finish on them will be rock hard. I make sure the topcoat is like dripping off the brush when i put it on, it works for me. And it can prevent chipping, unless you put too much on, then your np will peel off. This is expensive though, and stinky. Plus it requires a TON of thinner halfway through the bottle. Annnnd the thinner must be seche restore which is also pricey. Also I really hate the shrinkage, but I can live with it, cause I usually change my nail color a lot. This is kind of a nail miracle for me for the most part. I think I'll buy Sally Hansen Rapidry in the red bottle but I will also be repurchasing this in the future!


on 6/14/2011 10:14:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I love how fast drying this is. I used to hate painting my nails and wouldn't do it because it was a waste of time... I was just going to dent my nails before they completely dried anyway. Enter Seche Vite! Now my nails always dry quickly and I can get back to my life while having beautiful, painted nails. I also love how shiny this makes my nails. I don't have any issues with chipping, but I also use CND Stickey as my base coat and typically CG, Essie, or OPI polishes. The one con (and why I give this a 4 and not a 5) is how thick it ends up being after a few months. I'm almost done with my first bottle, but I bought a bottle of thinner to save it or I would've had to toss it months ago. It literally gets thick like glue, but a few drops of thinner thins it back out to perfection. I already have a backup (only got it because it was 50% off), but I may try something else when this is gone, just for funsies.


on 6/13/2011 1:53:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This stuff really is bulletproof. This is the perfect top coat that I was looking for, and I've tried OPI's top coats and Essies. With those two top coats, my nail polish would peel off in sheets from the shower. Not this stuff! Dries really quickly, and nail polish won't chip. I don't know what the big deal is with the ingredients, but I only did a brief amount of research, none of which suggested I was gonna die or kill any unborn babies with this stuff, but if your that worried about it just take it outside and apply it real quick and your good to go. I did notice when I took of my manicure, my nails did seem really dry. Whether this is because of the top coat, or just the sheer fact that the nail polish was on my nails for so long, I'm not sure. But I always condition my nails in between mani's to try and minimize the damage.


on 6/12/2011 10:02:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Ok the only thing i like is that it dries quickly and doesn't leave sheet marks, but this stuff peels QUICKLY. Even when you're putting it over a high quality nail polish. I would do my nails at night... then i would be washing the dishes the next day and i would find that it started to peel. i hated it, worst part is that it's like 10 bucks at Sallys, at least i got a free Chine Glaze nail polish with it. ALSO... it gets really thick after about 2 months. Really? Why is there soooo much hype???? Am I using this product wrong or something???


on 6/12/2011 3:48:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Yes, yes and yes. I've used this product for years and have purchased it over and over again. I've actually had pedicures last over 2 months with a combination of this, sticky base coat and OPI polish. One reviewer stated that it worked well, then became hard to use. It does get thick, but I don't try and spread it on, I just use a very large amount and just move it around with the brush (if that makes sense). It's not really a spreadable product, and seems to last longer the thicker I apply it. It takes forever to dry completely, but when treated right, lasts FOREVER. I'm horrible at fingernails, but can make a mani last a month or more, easy. I find that if you try and paint it on, the color of your nails will actually be seen in the bottle, actually tints the clear top coat. Just let it almost drip onto your nails and let it dry forever, you won't regret it. The price is worth the year or more that it will last me! Come to think of it, i've had this bottle for over 2 years. My mani's last so long, I hardly have to use it!!!!!


on 6/12/2011 10:38:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Firstly, i would buy this again but it's not perfect. It leaves a great finish but after about a month the formula started becoming far stickier and it's difficult to work with now. I have to dab it on then try and spread it over my nail. I don't know if this is dud bottle but it's very annoying. Right after i bought it though it was perfect. Leaves nails shiny and polish would stay good for a week no problem.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

After a lifetime of not being able to keep even one layer of polish intact and unsmudged for a day, I finally discovered this lovely stuff. I'm having the most fun ever trying out different nail effects and polishes, knowing that I can pop this on at the end and it will safeguard my hard work against ruination. Yes, I've only been using it a week, but to my mind, even if it does thicken and cause some shrinkage, I'm still about a thosand per cent better off than I was before. For the very first time in my life, I'm thoroughly enjoying looking after my nails, not cursing how weak and crappy they were. I'll always have a bottle of this on the go from now on. Viva la Vite!!


Video Reviews & Tutorials

My top 5 fave beauty items, right now - Seche Vite dry fast top coat by Denim Vixen

Product Wars - Episode 13 by fionaman

Quick Tip: For Seche Vite Lovers by fionaman



Top Rated Seche Vite Products

image

Dry Fast Top Coat

1701 reviews
Back to Top