Seche Vite • Dry Fast Top Coat • Top/Base Coats

rated 4.0(1659 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 megan1309 on 5/14/2011 9:46:00 PM more reviews by megan1309

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Okay, so I once had a strong hatred for this product. Before I tried it. The reason being is because there is a warning label on the side of it talking about a chemical in it has been known to cause birth defects. Scary, yes. But then I did some research and from my findings saw that its about as much harm as smoking while pregnant. Which don't get me wrong, isn't to be taken lightly. I don't smoke. But I also don't plan on getting pregnant right now either. So for that I knock off 1 lippie.

Now as of the product itself I love. I HATE the strong smell. But I love what it does. My problem has always been the long drying time of nail polishes. Even if its 'fast drying', its not on me. I'd always smear my nails before they were dry... so annoying. This drys my nails to the touch in like 60 seconds and smudge proof in a couple minutes. Which totally beats the time I'd lay still for 30 minutes afraid I'd smear my polish.

I wouldnt say this chips on me. Its kinda like it drys so fast that after a few days theres a little bit of my nail exposed all the way across the tip. Now this could be because I work on a computer 40 hrs a week and am an avid YouTuber at night. But none the less I am nail polish obsessed and change my nails pretty often so this works perfectly for me. No matter what top coat and nail polish combo I use.. Nothing has ever lasted more than I'd say 5 days in perfect condition.

So for me this fits the bill.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 jessaroo392 on 5/14/2011 7:08:00 PM more reviews by jessaroo392

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Heard so many things about Seche Vite and was so excited when I finally decided to spend the 8.99 and get it. I've had it for about a week and have already had to repaint my nails 4 times due to this topcoat. Dries fast like it says, but is probably the worst topcoat I've ever used in that it does not keep my polish on my nails at all. All four times that I have used it, it made my polish literally peel off my nails in big chunks, always the very next day after doing my manicure. It wasn't normal chipping, it was peeling off in sheets. Tried varying the amount of topcoat I was putting on, tried actually waiting for my color to dry before putting on the topcoat, and it still does the same thing. Extremely disappointed in this product, especially after all of the rave reviews I have always heard. I will never buy it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 TheNailBuff on 5/13/2011 5:00:00 AM more reviews by TheNailBuff

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I consider this product to be essential. It does exactly what it says on the tin - dries your polish very fast and provides a resistant, highly glossy surface to the nails.
With this polish you need to really wrap your tips, or the polish underneath will very likely shrink.
The formula also has a tendency to get thick, so you will need to also get Seche Restore to bring it back to normal. If you go through it like lightning maybe it won't be necessary, but I paint my nails every day (and consequently use SV every day) and I still experience some thickening.

I buy this stuff in bulk and will without a doubt repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Jacabus on 5/12/2011 3:14:00 PM more reviews by Jacabus

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I got two mini bottles of these from a Beauty Supply Outlet for $1 each and I was so excited to go home and try them out when I did my nails. I put them on my toes first to try it out, and I was so disappointed. I don't know if the formula is very thick or the bottles were just old and that's why they were so discounted, but it barely came out of the bottle and I had to really slop it on my toes until it covered. It did dry really fast, though, but it was far too thick for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 numerology on 5/10/2011 9:23:00 AM more reviews by numerology

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I love this product. A LOT. I paint my nails all the time, and always use this as my top coat. It dries exceptionally fast, leaves a gloss like no other, and also vastly improves the appearance of ridges. The only reasons I am giving this a four is because the brush doesn't reach far enough into the bottle so it can be hard to get enough product onto the brush when the bottle is only half full, and I found that after a few weeks the formula got extremely thick and gloopy, making it very hard to apply and ultimately useless (you couldn't really brush it across the nail smoothly any more). A fresh bottle is heavenly, though, and has completely revolutionised the way I paint my nails!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* angelixia07 on 5/8/2011 4:31:00 AM more reviews by angelixia07

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff did work quite well as a fast drying top coat but it did have a few gripes. First, it was sort of thick and glopy, making it hard to apply and then I end up with a thicker coat than what I would want. I think the thicker coat ultimately ends up making my nails feel much thicker and harder. The thickness also contributes to a killer shine. Second, it dried my nails out quite a bit. This was the only thing that changed in my mani routine and after using it repeatedly for a few weeks, my nails were peeling underneath. I had to stop painting my nails for a while to let it grow out. But then I have never been one to use a basecoat, so maybe that would fix the problem. Third, this stuff smells pretty strong and it was sort of bothersome. Fourth, this isn't 3 free.


On a good note, I never got any np shrinkage from using this but I always wrapped the tips. And it does self-level so even if I wasn't perfect on the application, it fixes itself. For me, it really dries to the touch in fifteen minutes and all the way through in an hour, unlike what the bottle claims. But still that's a lot better than normal for me. Since then I've switched to Poshe. It dries in the same amount of time, but isn't as thick. I can get a thinner coat and is much easier to work with. It isn't as shiny as SV, but its good enough for me. It doesn't smell as strong and is 3 free.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 kkobi13 on 5/7/2011 6:13:00 PM more reviews by kkobi13

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Green    

I bought this top coat because I was using a cheap Jordana top coat that I bought for like 99 cents. I figured that despite the $10 price tag of seche vite, it would be worth it if my polish lasted at least a week. Ha! this is a disappointment, waste of money, and way overrated product. Made my polish come off in sheets. I actually recommend the Jordana top coat after using this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* polishnut on 5/7/2011 6:00:00 PM more reviews by polishnut

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Seche Vite Dry Fast Top Coat does EXACTLY what it says it does - it dries super-fast. It also leaves a highly-shiny, glass-like finish that protects the nail and polish and makes the mani much more durable. I've had no problems with cracking or crazing and can get a week of wear out of most polishes with this. This stuff can be tricky to work with - you have to apply it very fast otherwise it's going to start drying as you paint. The only downside to this one (and this is a deal breaker for some) is that it does sometimes cause the polish to pull away from the tips (shrinkage). I have had this happen with some polishes but not others. I've had it happen with only a two-coat mani as well as with a six-coat layering experiment. I've also had manis where I've had to use four coats of color, base, and top and had no shrinkage. I think it may depend on the polish manufacturer as to what SV plays nice with. What I tend to do is not use this with dark colors just in case it's going to decide to shrink on me. It also gets very thick very quickly so thinner is a must in order to get full use out of a bottle. All in all, I keep coming back to this because it works so well most of the time and I would definitely buy it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 NyreeA on 4/30/2011 6:11:00 PM more reviews by NyreeA

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brown, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Overrated. Dries fast and that's about it. People seem to love this but it just isn't that great to me. Sally Hansen makes products that are better than this one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sccs26 on 4/30/2011 5:52:00 PM more reviews by sccs26

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I really adore this top coat. It dries SUPER fast, the brush is about the size of an OPI nail brush, keeps my nails from chipping for 4-5 days, and makes my nails look very glossy. This price is a little expensive, but I think it's worth it if you need your nails to dry quickly and keep from chipping for almost a week.

I wouldn't say this is a must have due to the fact that there are many top coat from various brands that keep your nails looking nice for around 3-4 days like OPI's top coat. The only advantage you get with Seche Vite is it's fast drying time and about a day or two more of non-chipped nails.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Seche Vite products

More Top/Base Coats products