Seche Vite Dry Fast Top Coat

4.0

1688 reviews

76% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Butyl Acetate, Toluene, Cellulose Acetate Butyrate, Isopropyl Alcohol, Trimethyl Pentanyl Diisobutyrate, Butoxyethanol, Dimethicone, Benzophenone-1.


on 6/6/2011 1:27:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Quick review of a topcoat i wouldn't be without. I wear acrylics and when I apply this the day after my fill, it leaves a quick-dry (2 minutes, seriously), glossy finish that lasts 2 weeks. I work in a hospital and have to alcohol gel my hands 40 times a day at least.

Bonus!- don't bother to carefully apply it! Just a few quick generous strokes and it evens out beautifully. A MUST HAVE if you want your nails to always look fresh.



on 6/6/2011 1:13:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Seche Vite top coat is a good choice if your only concern is the speed of drying. I bought it because I always got sheetmarks on my nails since I paint my nails at night. The first couple of uses I was fairly happy with it. It dries completely within ten minutes. I've found, though, that i can never get it to apply evenly to the entire surface of my nail. I always end up with a little gap where the top coat didn't go. I attribute this to the fact that it is so thick. It has proven hard to manipulate from the very beginning but now that I am halfway through with it, it is practically impossible. I have to dip my brush in at least twice to get enough to smooth over my entire nail. Also, a problem that is more upsetting because it can't be looked past is that is has gotten bubbles in it, ones you can't work out because of how ridiculously thick the product has become. Another thing is that it shrinks the tips of my nail polish, which causes it to wear on the tips more easily. Before this topcoat, I had never had a problem with tipwear. The last thing I hate about it is that it makes me nauseous when I use it. I wasn't too concerned about the harmful chemicals until it literally made me sick to use it. So, I supposed if you don't mind buying a new $10 bottle of top coat every couple of months then this will be fine for you. I just can't stand being sick and having so much difficulty with getting it to apply nicely.


on 6/5/2011 10:46:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I never thought a top coat could actually work like this one did. I have 3 kids and a husband and I am a stay at home mom so, for me that means dishes 2 times per day and my polish rarely makes it a full day. So based on high reviews on youtube I grabbed a bottle at Target. I loved this stuff. It literally makes my polish last for several days with no chips just a tad bit of wear on the tips. Plus my nails dry super fast, which is exactly what my crazy life needs.The only issues for me are 1, the smell is pretty sharp. Honestly I had to hurry to use it because it is so strong. 2, after having mine for less than 6 months it's too goopy to even use anymore. I have heard about thinner and will have to look for it. Overall I like this product, I'm not pregnant nor trying to become so birth defects is not an issue for me. Also, I try to use this quickly like I said and not in a small area for ventilation reasons. I would and will buy this again but the fact that I got to use only 1/2 of mine is kind of irritating.


on 6/5/2011 10:08:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Ugh, toluene. Let me just get that out of the way. If you have other top coats, please use the 3 free or even 4 free ones on a rotating basis. If I have time (lazy saturdays, mostly) I will use my Sally top coats or my OPI top coats, but when I am in a hurry, I use this.

This top coat is amazing for drying time. It sets in a minute and is cured in 30 minutes. Very impressive. I found my second bottle at Winners and snatched it up. I have heard about the thickening effect, so I am going to Sally's to buy thinner eventually. I didnt believe the drying time until I tried it for myself. I was digging through my purse less than an hour after using it and there wasnt even a dent in my manicure.

Yes, this stuff wanted to take my polish off in a sheet, but I let this nail cure a bit longer and patched it. This was due to using too much SV on one nail. I have learned to apply thinner coats and have not encountered this problem again.

One lippy lost for the toulene (and a slight price point complaint) but overall I am very happy with this product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Ugh I really hated this stuff! I bought it because of all the great reviews it had, but every time I used it I got sick to my stomach, literally. Finally after the third use I realized it was the Seche Vite making me sick right after I would paint my nails. There is something completely lethal in this stuff. It did make my nails dry fast, but it wasn't worth the sick feeling after use. Bad, bad stuff.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/2/2011 9:14:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Okay, so the good things about this product is that it dries extremely quickly and gives a really nice shiny finish. However, I do have a lot of negatives about this product. First, for some reason mine is really thick, and I tried thinning it with nail polish remover, but now it's really bubbly and a weird texture. So hopefully that will change because I really don't want to have to buy a new one while I still have most of the bottle. Also, it makes the tips of my nails peel/ split because of the toulene I'm pretty sure. Another thing is it makes my polish peel off like the whole nail at the time (maybe because of the thickness?). It also is awful in the water, anytime I take a shower or go in the pool or anything it causes it to peel. So, I have really mixed feelings about this product because I absolutely LOVE the finish and look of it, but on the other hand it peels really badly.

**EDIT: still gets really thick and hard to thin, but I've added some pink and white polish and glitter to it to turn it into a milky pink glitter polish, which worked well. I started a new prep routine before I paint my nails, and started painting thinner coats, and so far I haven't had problems with splitting nails or peeling polish. So since I've figured out the problems I was having and know they aren't related to this top coat, gotta say this is my favorite top coat and the only one I'll use, it's so wonderful.


on 6/2/2011 10:58:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Worst stuff ever. I bought it because of the hype and rave reviews but HATED it. Would give it NO lippies but the lowest I can go is 1. It caused major shrinkage no matter what I did and was a waste of money. I will stick to my holy grail: Orly In A Snap!


on 6/2/2011 10:50:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I think this is a great product. I picked it up over the weekend and used it for the first time a few nights ago. So far, I haven't had any problems with chipping or tip wear. It dried my nails super quickly and I was able to hop right into bed without worrying about smudges. The only thing I don't like is the smell. The odor is intense and gave me an instant headache. I think from now on, I'll maybe pop outdoors while I'm applying seche vite.


on 6/1/2011 7:01:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

This top coat is great. It goes on quite thick but it dries very quickly and keeps my nail polish in place for much longer.

It is much better than any other fast drying top coat I've tried. Highly recommend.


on 6/1/2011 3:49:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I like the fact that you can put this on freshly painted nails and then within a couple minutes, it's dry to the touch. It won't be fully dry, so don't try to do anything crazy (like try to grab your keys inside your purse) because the polish is still likely to dent and smudge. The polish is pretty pricey, my salon has it for about 9.95 which is pretty insane for a top coat. I also don't like the fact that once you get down to about 1/3 or 1/4 left in the bottle, it's pretty thick and very had to work with. I'm searching for a cheaper alternative, but until then, I'll try to finish up this bottle.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

Product Wars - Episode 13 by fionaman

Quick Tip: For Seche Vite Lovers by fionaman

My top 5 fave beauty items, right now - Seche Vite dry fast top coat by Denim Vixen



Top Rated Seche Vite Products

image

Dry Fast Top Coat

1688 reviews
Back to Top