E.L.F. • Essential Eyelid Primer - Sheer • Eye Primer

rated 3.9(785 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* slimchicklovesMAC on 2/8/2011 10:35:00 AM more reviews by slimchicklovesMAC

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This was an okay product for me. I had been hearing such great things about E.L.F. on MUA and thought I would give this a try. I wasn't sure if I should get this one or the Mineral, so I got the reg since it was only $1. I'm AA and C7 in MAC. This primer did not dry to a clear finish. It left a whitish cast on my eyelids and made I had to work harder to apply my e/s to cover all the "white" areas. It did what it was suppose to do, hold my e/s in place all day. That's why I rated it a 4, if it dried clear, I would have given it a 5. I will not repurchase, b/c I have so many options - UDPP; TFSI, etc. If you are of a fair or lighter complexion, I definitely rec this for you, but my DDD skip it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lovalx95 on 2/3/2011 2:36:00 PM more reviews by lovalx95

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I absolutely love this primer....I have tried a few others and I still seem to get crease lines or no staying power. Even when I desperately scraped the sides to get some more product for a special occasion it still worked well. Love it...Just love it and whats even better..Its CHEAP!!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 calamityjane85 on 2/3/2011 2:10:00 PM more reviews by calamityjane85

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

love it. staying power is great, sometimes i have to run the wand around the inside to mix it up a little, but overall it works wonderfully. i also have udpp and this is a great cheap alt. will buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* abbyten on 2/3/2011 9:33:00 AM more reviews by abbyten

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

This works well as a primer, although not as well as Too Faced Shadow Insurance. I have discovered, though, that it works wonderfully as a highlighter/light concealer. I have a little bit of darkness under the eyes and on the inner corners, but most concealers are too heavy and make what crepiness I have look worse. This is lightweight enough that it just glides on, makes the entire eye area look much brighter and doesn't make wrinkles look worse. I've never tried Touche Eclat, but I have a feeling that this accomplishes the same thing at a fraction of the price.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 autumnus88 on 2/3/2011 9:13:00 AM more reviews by autumnus88

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Love this primer! Will repurchase again and again! Keeps my eyeshadow in place ALL DAY and I have oily eyelids AND I live in a very humid/ hot state (Florida). Love this and would definitely recommend it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 xSelena on 2/3/2011 4:24:00 AM more reviews by xSelena

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

One word: CRAP. A little too watery and doesn't even last an hour on my lids.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Wish83 on 2/3/2011 4:24:00 AM more reviews by Wish83

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have both this and the UDPP and I don't see a difference big enough to justify the price of the second one.
So I'll definitely buy the this one again (and save some money next time).
p.s.
I'm not giving it 5 lippies because I have very oily lid and I still haven't found the "perfect" primer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 littleshelly on 1/25/2011 7:32:00 PM more reviews by littleshelly

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Even though I am in my 40's I really just started using primer in the past few years. I've had oily and shine-prone skin all my life until recently. I have tried a few eye primers--Mary Kay, mark, Clinique--and have found that (especially for $1) this primer works just as well or in most cases better. The only thing I have found is that if I have forgotten to use my eye cream that my eyelids can look a little dry with this, but that is easily correctable with a small amount of creamy/moisturizing concealer. One bonus to this product that I think is very nice is that this primer actually helps cover my dark circles, it makes my eyelids a little lighter. I've never tried UDPP or TFSE, but the way I look at it I won't need to as long as I have this. Also, you can see thru the tube and see how much you have in the container. I find the wand very convenient, I dab it on my eyelids and blend out with my ring finger. The next time I order e.l.f. I am going to try the $3 Mineral Eye Primer, and see how that one compares. I am becoming a very big e.l.f. fan!!

Note: After using this for a month now I like it much better than the $3 mineral version, I recommend this cheaper one just because I think it performs better.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ndoodles on 1/22/2011 5:14:00 PM more reviews by ndoodles

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Probably one of the best quality for the price type of product! I mean, it doesn't work as well as UDPP but still works really well. If you are planning to do some crazy colors or major smokey eyes - I'd stick w/ UDPP... however, if you are wearing your everyday look to school or work - this will be what you are looking for! My shadows remained nicely on my lids and I see very little creasing and fading. I really like this stuff and since I use it almost everyday - I will repurchase this! Also, since UDPP is also a wand applicator - I am used to it. Plus it is in a semi-clear plastic container so I can see how much product I'm taking out. It's awesome.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Marchoiness88 on 1/17/2011 8:24:00 PM more reviews by Marchoiness88

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Sad product. For me the wand is bad...what? Did elf take an old lip gloss case and throw some primer in it or tannish liquid and call it primer. It's too watery. Too sheer, the whole idea of a primer is to make the eyeshadow sat on and pop...this did neither. My eyeshadow creased, my yellow eyeshadow was invisible on this primer unlike with white eye primers and bases. Elf was dead wrong for this....

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More E.L.F. products

More Eye Primer products