E.L.F. Essential Eyelid Primer - Sheer

3.9

847 reviews

78% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $

INGREDIENTS

Cyclopentasiloxane, Octyl Palmitate, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Dimethicone, Kaolin, Triacontanyl PVP, Propylene Carbonate, Titanium Dioxide, Barium Sulfate, Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), Mica (CI 77019).


on 5/27/2011 11:37:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I bought this a few weeks ago to test against TFSI, and I was not overly impressed. I have quite dry skin, so I have never had a huge issue with eyeshadow creasing/disappearing. This primer will keep my shadows on longer than not having any primer at all, but I did not find it mind-blowing by any means. Also, the packaging is annoying. A tiny, tiny bit of this product goes a very long way, and the wand applicator always has too much product on it, which causes me to waste product. I don't care that I paid 1 USD for this --- I do not want to waste product because I do not want to waste money. It does not brighten shadows or intensify colors, so this is a simple product that for the most part does what it should. I would repurchase if I had no other options because it's certainly better than nothing, but I will stick to my TFSI when I finish this one.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 5/27/2011 11:07:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I bought this product about a month ago and have given it a good try. I would have to say that I honestly can't tell a difference from when I use this product and when I just use concealer as a base. I suppose for the money ($1 most places in US) it's worth a go but I wasn't shocked by its mediocre results.
I would say give it a try.
Pros: cost, packaging looks nice, no color, stops creasing.
Cons: funky smell (not strong), doesn't hold color or make it brighter.


on 5/26/2011 4:38:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

The 1.50/$1 range eyelid primer although does help to bring out the pigment in some eyeshadows, isn't really worthy of calling itself a primer.
It makes the shadow harder to blend and my makeup creases and fades within two or three hours as usual. It also makes my eyelids oily which doesn't help with the fading.
The Mineral 3.00 range eyeshadow primer is not much better. I tried it hopefully, but it's pretty much the same.
I guess thats what you have to expect from something so cheap, but normally E.L.F's products are so much better!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/24/2011 11:55:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Love this!
Works just as well as UDPP & has better packaging.
It seems like a hit or miss for people but this was definitely a hit for me! My $1 tube has lasted me months! I will for sure purchase some more.


on 5/24/2011 9:43:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I was actually looking for the mineral primer as that has higher reviews, but my Target had this for $1, so I decided to grab it. I'm always on the lookout for the next great primer. I think I've found my HG. First off I wore this with my WnW Comfort Zone for a 10 hour shift and my shadow stayed exactly. It was almost eerie. I could actually still see a mistake I had made with my new crease brush, it was right there 10 hours later, not one speck of shadow had changed. And needless to say, no infamous creasing, bleck! I actually like the doefoot applicator, I swipe and then kind of spread and dab with my fingers and let it dry. I think this is it for me as far as primers. and for only $1, mwah! Thanks e.l.f.!


on 5/20/2011 9:32:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I was really hoping this would work out for me. As expected, it didn't.


First off, the eyeshadow would apply splotchy. I never experienced that with UDPP or my NARS e/s primer. This creased on me like nothing I've ever seen. Granted, I do have oily eyelids but I didn't expect to see a pool of that with an eyeshadow primer with eyeshadow on top! Luckily, it was only $1. I'm sticking to my NARS e/s base (expensive, but heaven for oily lids!)


on 5/15/2011 3:52:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Other

I initially gave this a really terrible review but it's grown on me since then. I've been using this every day for a while now and I am pleased to say my eyeshadow rarely creases when I am wearing this (only when it's super humid outside). It makes my eyeshadow go on fairly vibrant (not as well as it does with UDPP though). I use this on my lower lashline as well because I apply eyeliner there and this is where it doesn't do it for me. The liner lasts for a while but by the end of the day it has migrated down farther than I want it and it looks all smudge-y and gross. This never happens with UDPP. Plus the texture is sort of greasy. I'm not sure how well this will works for you girls with very oily skin (mine is normal leaning oily).
Bottom line: For $1, try it. It might work really well for you. I, however, will not be repurchasing, though I will try to finish my tube.


on 5/15/2011 12:42:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This primer works WONDERFULLY. I have very very oily lids and I've worn this primer with inexpensive shadow for more than 10 hours. I had very little to no creasing. I will say that i lightly dust my lids with transluscent powder first, apply the primer, and then apply my base. This primer is very affordable at $1....give it a try.


on 5/14/2011 11:13:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

all i can say is...amazing. i like the packaging way more than my UDPP. i am going to repurchase.


on 5/10/2011 7:27:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Other, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I can't believe this product doesn't have a big HYPE about it!! This is my new favorite primer! I love my UDPP and my Sephora Primer, but once I started using this again, I realized it worked just as great as the UDPP! The price is amazing, it's only $1!
Pros: long-lasting finish, price, wand applicator (It's not oddly shaped like the UDPP applicator)

Honestly, I can say that I would buy this a million times! This is probably one of Elf's best products I've ever purchased! Seriously, give this Primer a try! :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top