E.L.F. Essential Eyelid Primer - Sheer

3.9

837 reviews

78% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $

INGREDIENTS

Cyclopentasiloxane, Octyl Palmitate, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Dimethicone, Kaolin, Triacontanyl PVP, Propylene Carbonate, Titanium Dioxide, Barium Sulfate, Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), Mica (CI 77019).


on 5/6/2011 9:51:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Absolutely love this primer! It doesn't irritate my lids, keeps my shadow in place, doesn't crease for at least 8 hours, and its super cheap ($1)! What's not to love? Go get it! You won't regret it.



on 5/4/2011 10:07:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I have very oily skin and I prefer this eye primer to putting face primer on my eyelids. I like that it has a tint to it. The price is right too!


on 5/3/2011 8:36:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

This is quite an amazing product. I am an UDPP fan, so I compared the two. This felt really smooth and very soft. My UDPP feels like a cream and kind of thick, but this was just like a silky feeling when I applied it. I decided to put UD on one lid and this on the other. I then applied a teal e/s all over my lids and into my crease. I thought that both looked exactly the same. Both colors were bright, but my friend said the eye with UDPP looked a bit darker and brighter. Anyway, I checked back about 5 or 6 hours later and neither had creased. I rub my eyes a lot so both faded about the same time when I would rub them. I would say these are fairly equal products and honestly I think I will just but the ELF one instead of UD because it is so cheap.

****UPDATE: This no longer works for me....I crease crease crease. :/ I wont buy it again now!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I really like this. Works well and for the price, it's an awesome deal. However, my eyes have been super super puffy since I've been using it. I'm not sure if it's an allergic reaction to the primer, or just seasonal allergies...I'm thinking its the primer though because it has never been this bad. I will continue to use it because it works well, but I'll just make to take it off sooner than letting it meld all night.


on 5/1/2011 8:06:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

For $1 I wasn't expecting much but to my surprise this is a really great primer. It's just as good (if not better) than more expensive primers I've tried (ok lol, I just realized saying "more expensive" than this is like, everything, but my point stands). The ingredients are close (if not exact) to other primers I've used but granted, I haven't done a side-by-side to see which one this is attempting to duplicate, as ELF seems to strive for that. I only did a cursory label check to ensure there was no bismuth in it like UDPP, TFSI and a few others to avoid my allergy to that ingredient. None in here so that's already a win in my book.
You need just a thin layer (one swipe per eye), blend with a finger and done. It goes on easily, dries quickly, and sets to an invisible satin finish. It does have a light flesh-toned tint which does not show up when on. It's pretty sheer so I can't say it really evens out or covers up my lids, but I don't need it to. Shadoes of any type and finish (shimmers, mattes, creams, powders) blend over this like a dream, as does my eyeliner. In fact, I think a couple liners that were not working for me before now apply and wear better with this (PF Lash Booster is one. I could not get that liner to apply evenly or stay on prior to using this; over this it's like a different liner). I haven't had any creasing, fading or anything I started using this. I love the tube/wand; more sanitary, quicker and easier than primers in jars and tubes. And for a buck? hellz to the yeah I'll buy it again, and more than one. Everyone should try it at least once regardless of your opinion of the brand. Yes, it's cheap and you often get what you pay for, and I personally don't care for anything else in the ELF lineup but this little tube of wonders has reached HG status. I hope they don't stop making it, ever.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 4/30/2011 1:15:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Coarse

Eyes: Green

Yes, this product is cheap, only being $1, but it didn't work the way I would have liked it to. It was very thin & did end up making the shadows crease after awhile. It also started smelling bad after a few months, which I then had to throw it out. I didn't even use it that often because it didn't work the way I would have liked. Luckily I didn't feel bad because, as I said before, it was only $1. I wouldn't repurchase.


on 4/30/2011 12:35:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

For $1, this isn't too bad! Its a lot thinner than my HG, F-Y-Eye! (sniffle), but I have very oily eyelids and this lasts all day on me. I prefer to use my fingers to apply it, and my makeup doesn't budge. Great for everyday, but prolly would use something else for special occasions.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I LOVE THIS PRIMER. It was only a dollar and it does the job when I'm at work. It works great! My eye makeup does not move! If you are on a budget this is the product you want. I wouldn't recommend using this if on your wedding day but as everyday use and you don't want to use your expensive primers this is worth it. Trust me I had some doubts about it before buying but it really does do the trick. Goes on smoothly, you don't have to use too much and did I mention, it's only a dollar.


on 4/25/2011 11:10:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I saw some E.L.F. products at my local Target and saw this among them. I've been using the Loreal De-Crease eye primer, and it wasn't working very well for me at all, so I decided to buy this. This is a really good product for its price; I've used the Urban Decay Primer Potion before, and while it's very good, I simply cannot afford it at the moment. It goes on smooth, and a little goes a long way. I've tried wearing this all day and it did its job very well; by the end of the day my eye makeup hasn't moved an inch (without an eye primer my eye makeup just slides off after an hour or so). I've ordered 2 more of these, great product!


on 4/19/2011 8:13:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

For $1 its better than nothing! I would rather spend a $1 and wear this under my eyeshadow than spend $22 on UDPP for everyday wear. I have even tried a $25 primer than worked worse than this. ELF primer lasted on my lids for 6 hours without heavy activity. I did wear it to a long outdoor hike and It lasted maybe 4 hours. This is a good everyday primer good for someone who does not want to waste UDPP on regular days. I would not use this for special occasion, because the product is medicore and it quits working halfway through the day. Its like using a cheap powder versus a nice luxury finely milled powder.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top