E.L.F. • Essential Eyelid Primer - Sheer • Eye Primer

rated 3.9(745 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.79%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 rhymingrealtor on 8/21/2010 6:00:00 AM more reviews by rhymingrealtor

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Green    

For me this has been the best primer I have ever used. The reviews are mixed, but I have tried many more expensive, some luckily via sample, some via purchase. I would have to say the only downside to this ( not really a downside) is I have to work fast because If I need to blend and I am not quick enough its really on there. No creases, works better with matte ES than frost but I prefer matte.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* oxnicoleox3 on 8/18/2010 2:43:00 PM more reviews by oxnicoleox3

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

For $1, It was a no brainer I had to try this. It was one of my first E.L.F purchases and I was happy with the prices. Although, I have to say this didn't reach my expectations. This is also the very first eye primer I have ever purchased. After a long day at work, I noticed my dark brown eyeshadow left a horribly obvious crease mark when I came home. I don't think the colors are more vibrant either. If you are going to buy this, I would recommend it with light and natural eyeshadows because dark colors only make obvious crease lines. I think I'm still on the hunt for a good cheap eye primer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pjw1209 on 8/18/2010 2:46:00 AM more reviews by pjw1209

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this as a backup to my e.l.f. Studio primer and it's nothing like the Studio version. I couldn't get past the fact that it is so oily. I felt like it was sliding right off my eye lids. I used this under my NYX white eye shadow base. Then, I had to add a mineral concealer to seal this, because it felt like my eyelids were so greasy and slippery.


I wore an earthly taupe shade, so I cannot speak to how long this primer helped my shadow to stay on, because it was an allover color wash. All I know is, I like the Studio product much better and I will keep this as a backup, in case I run out while I am waiting for my replacement Studio primer order to arrive. Stick with the $3.00 version in the future ~ it's much better than this one...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 WesleysMom25 on 8/13/2010 4:04:00 PM more reviews by WesleysMom25

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I really wanted to like this. I wore this primer with ELF eyeshadow. I put it on in the morning and by the afternoon it was almost completely gone. I think I will stick with my MAC paint pots. It might be more expensive than ELF primer but it will last longer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* earthymoon on 8/13/2010 2:00:00 PM more reviews by earthymoon

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

E.L.F primer VS. UDPP

E.L.F
price = $1
wear = 6-10 hours with minimal or no creasing (depending on shadow, skin type and conditions), some fading of color after 3-4 hours (cheaper shadows)
pigmentation = Shadow colors are somewhat intensified
application of product = doe foot wand, formula is creamy and requires a few minutes to dry (smooth finish)
application of shadow = shadow glides on smoothly and blends well

UDPP
price = $18
wear = infinity with no creasing
pigmentation = shadow colors are intensified and become very vivid
application of product = doe foot wand, formula is slightly pastey, dries quickly (tacky finish)
application of shadow = shadow must be pressed/tapped on lid and does not blend well

For me E.L.F wins because of the ease of blending and price. However I do reach for my UDPP when I want very vivid out there colors and super long wear when I know I'm going to have a 12 hour day.

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 glowww333 on 8/8/2010 11:07:00 PM more reviews by glowww333

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Cheap and works 99% like UDPP on me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Starae on 8/8/2010 10:59:00 PM more reviews by Starae

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this knowing that I was going to buy other primers to try and that this one has some of unpleasant reviews, but I am really pleased with it.
It took me a while to figure out how much to put on to keep shadows from fading and creasing.

If you put too much or too little on it will fade and crease rather quickly.
When I take the wand out I wipe the excess off and then run it 3 times over my eyelid. Each time I've done this my shadow lasts for about 9+ hours.

I gave it a 2 for package quality because it's not a squeezy tube and you wont be able to get it all out with the wand.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BatFat on 8/2/2010 5:57:00 PM more reviews by BatFat

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I saw these at target for $1 and bought 5 in case I never see them again. I'm glad I got a lot because it works well for me. I used it under ELF eyeshadow and it increased the pigmentation and didn't crease for about 5 hours. I like the mineral primer by ELF better, but I suspect this is the same stuff haha. Still love my UDPP but can't afford it anymore so this is greeeeat alternative.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 smilingjaws on 8/1/2010 11:04:00 PM more reviews by smilingjaws

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

This is the second eyeshadow primer I've owned, first being Too Faced Eyeshadow insurance. Comparing this product to TFEI, I haven't experienced much of a difference between their performances. Because E.L.F.'s product has a wand, it makes for a slightly quicker application process. I use this primer for 1-3 neutral eyeshadow(s) and pencil or liquid eyeliner daily makeup application. My work is very strenuous and sometimes I spend 1/3 of my time sweating under the sun, but this primer keeps my eyelid makeup where I put it in the morning. It works splendidly for simple daily makeup and the price is a complete steal.

As for the bad smell an earlier MUA reviewer mentioned, I didn't even notice one before reading that comment. I can only smell this product if I have the container up my nostril, other than that the smell is nearly undetectable.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nikki5 on 7/14/2010 11:34:00 AM more reviews by nikki5

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I was actually very surprised how much I liked this primer. I wasn't expecting much for a $1 but this works pretty good for me. I have used many primers, UDPP (too drying), paint pots (too cakey), TFSI (ok), but was looking for a cheaper alternative since I go through them pretty fast. TFSI is my favorite high end primer, and actually this ELF primer works almost just as well. My shadows seem to pop more with TFSI but I wear light neutral looks anyways so that is not a big deal for me. I don't have super oily lids so that may be why this primer works for me. It has a very thin consistency but it holds my shadows in place for 8 hours which I think is pretty darn good for such a cheap product. I like that it is a concealer type color as well so sometimes I just put this on my lids to even out the skin and eyeliner and I am done! I have been using this everyday this summer in 100+ temps and it still works great! I will definitely continue to buy this!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More E.L.F. products

More Eye Primer products