E.L.F. Essential Eyelid Primer - Sheer

3.9

841 reviews

78% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $

INGREDIENTS

Cyclopentasiloxane, Octyl Palmitate, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Dimethicone, Kaolin, Triacontanyl PVP, Propylene Carbonate, Titanium Dioxide, Barium Sulfate, Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), Mica (CI 77019).


on 5/15/2011 3:52:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Other

I initially gave this a really terrible review but it's grown on me since then. I've been using this every day for a while now and I am pleased to say my eyeshadow rarely creases when I am wearing this (only when it's super humid outside). It makes my eyeshadow go on fairly vibrant (not as well as it does with UDPP though). I use this on my lower lashline as well because I apply eyeliner there and this is where it doesn't do it for me. The liner lasts for a while but by the end of the day it has migrated down farther than I want it and it looks all smudge-y and gross. This never happens with UDPP. Plus the texture is sort of greasy. I'm not sure how well this will works for you girls with very oily skin (mine is normal leaning oily).
Bottom line: For $1, try it. It might work really well for you. I, however, will not be repurchasing, though I will try to finish my tube.



on 5/15/2011 12:42:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This primer works WONDERFULLY. I have very very oily lids and I've worn this primer with inexpensive shadow for more than 10 hours. I had very little to no creasing. I will say that i lightly dust my lids with transluscent powder first, apply the primer, and then apply my base. This primer is very affordable at $1....give it a try.


on 5/14/2011 11:13:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

all i can say is...amazing. i like the packaging way more than my UDPP. i am going to repurchase.


on 5/10/2011 7:27:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Other, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I can't believe this product doesn't have a big HYPE about it!! This is my new favorite primer! I love my UDPP and my Sephora Primer, but once I started using this again, I realized it worked just as great as the UDPP! The price is amazing, it's only $1!
Pros: long-lasting finish, price, wand applicator (It's not oddly shaped like the UDPP applicator)

Honestly, I can say that I would buy this a million times! This is probably one of Elf's best products I've ever purchased! Seriously, give this Primer a try! :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/6/2011 9:51:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Absolutely love this primer! It doesn't irritate my lids, keeps my shadow in place, doesn't crease for at least 8 hours, and its super cheap ($1)! What's not to love? Go get it! You won't regret it.


on 5/4/2011 10:07:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I have very oily skin and I prefer this eye primer to putting face primer on my eyelids. I like that it has a tint to it. The price is right too!


on 5/3/2011 8:36:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

This is quite an amazing product. I am an UDPP fan, so I compared the two. This felt really smooth and very soft. My UDPP feels like a cream and kind of thick, but this was just like a silky feeling when I applied it. I decided to put UD on one lid and this on the other. I then applied a teal e/s all over my lids and into my crease. I thought that both looked exactly the same. Both colors were bright, but my friend said the eye with UDPP looked a bit darker and brighter. Anyway, I checked back about 5 or 6 hours later and neither had creased. I rub my eyes a lot so both faded about the same time when I would rub them. I would say these are fairly equal products and honestly I think I will just but the ELF one instead of UD because it is so cheap.

****UPDATE: This no longer works for me....I crease crease crease. :/ I wont buy it again now!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I really like this. Works well and for the price, it's an awesome deal. However, my eyes have been super super puffy since I've been using it. I'm not sure if it's an allergic reaction to the primer, or just seasonal allergies...I'm thinking its the primer though because it has never been this bad. I will continue to use it because it works well, but I'll just make to take it off sooner than letting it meld all night.


on 5/1/2011 8:06:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

For $1 I wasn't expecting much but to my surprise this is a really great primer. It's just as good (if not better) than more expensive primers I've tried (ok lol, I just realized saying "more expensive" than this is like, everything, but my point stands). The ingredients are close (if not exact) to other primers I've used but granted, I haven't done a side-by-side to see which one this is attempting to duplicate, as ELF seems to strive for that. I only did a cursory label check to ensure there was no bismuth in it like UDPP, TFSI and a few others to avoid my allergy to that ingredient. None in here so that's already a win in my book.
You need just a thin layer (one swipe per eye), blend with a finger and done. It goes on easily, dries quickly, and sets to an invisible satin finish. It does have a light flesh-toned tint which does not show up when on. It's pretty sheer so I can't say it really evens out or covers up my lids, but I don't need it to. Shadoes of any type and finish (shimmers, mattes, creams, powders) blend over this like a dream, as does my eyeliner. In fact, I think a couple liners that were not working for me before now apply and wear better with this (PF Lash Booster is one. I could not get that liner to apply evenly or stay on prior to using this; over this it's like a different liner). I haven't had any creasing, fading or anything I started using this. I love the tube/wand; more sanitary, quicker and easier than primers in jars and tubes. And for a buck? hellz to the yeah I'll buy it again, and more than one. Everyone should try it at least once regardless of your opinion of the brand. Yes, it's cheap and you often get what you pay for, and I personally don't care for anything else in the ELF lineup but this little tube of wonders has reached HG status. I hope they don't stop making it, ever.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 4/30/2011 1:15:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Coarse

Eyes: Green

Yes, this product is cheap, only being $1, but it didn't work the way I would have liked it to. It was very thin & did end up making the shadows crease after awhile. It also started smelling bad after a few months, which I then had to throw it out. I didn't even use it that often because it didn't work the way I would have liked. Luckily I didn't feel bad because, as I said before, it was only $1. I wouldn't repurchase.


Back to Top