Too Faced • Shadow Insurance, Anti-Crease Eye Shadow Primer • Eye Primer

rated 4.2(1551 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 vidadeashley on 8/17/2010 6:58:00 PM more reviews by vidadeashley

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I'm so glad I finally decided to invest in this product! I don't know how I ever went without it!
I actually couldn't decide whether to get Urban Decay or Too Faced, but I decided on Too Faced because the packaging is better. You can get more out of the tube without any wasted product. I like the fact that the product itself is really light and doesn't feel like I have anything on my eyelids when I apply it. A little goes a long way with this stuff! You just need the tiniest dot.

My shadows never crease, and they always last all day long until I wash my face at night!
I'd definitely recommend this product. The price may seem a bit steep, but seeing as you only use a tiny bit each time, it lasts forever! Definitely worth it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 heysailor on 8/17/2010 6:16:00 PM more reviews by heysailor

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I love too faced cosmetics, but I didn't care for this primer. I received this with a Too Faced shadow palette. It has a flesh toned nude matte color. I found the texture to be watery which I didn't like. It does keep shadow in place, but I've moved on to other shadow primers that work better in my opinion.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 stability17 on 8/17/2010 12:11:00 PM more reviews by stability17

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

best primer. easy to apply. nothing to depot. keeps shadow on all day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Adriana265 on 8/16/2010 11:34:00 PM more reviews by Adriana265

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff keeps my shadows on pretty much all day. No fading, creasing...and it's very moisturising on my sensitive eyelids too - unlike urban decay which dryed my lids out. My shadows blend easily over TSFI and come out more vibrant.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 fashionmerchandisingmajor on 8/15/2010 1:23:00 PM more reviews by fashionmerchandisingmajor

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

This is on my must have list. I originally got this as a sample from Sephora while I was actually buying an Urban Decay eye primer for my mother. Needless to say I had never used an eyeshadow primer and decided to start using it because the BA at Sephora advised me that I would love it. And she was RIGHT! A little goes a long way with this product and the texture is less heavy than the Urban Decay primer I bought for my mother. I tried my mother's Urban Decay after I ran out of my sample and I just didn't like it. The Urban Decay even creased and made my eyes feel heavy. So I certainly didn't fall into the Urban Decay hype like my mother did.
I was skeptical at first when trying the shadow insurance, or any eye primer for that matter because of my skin being super oily. I thought it was just another layer of MU to run down my face. But I am so glad I tried it because now I don't think I can live without it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* desertrose08 on 8/13/2010 5:00:00 AM more reviews by desertrose08

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

So I had a rather interesting experience with this product. For the first month I absolutely hated it and vowed to return it to Sephora. I thought I was doing everything right - all the youtube gurus had gone time and time again about how less is more when it came to eyeshadow primers and that you needed the tiniest amount possible. So I obliged and applied a thin coat of primer on my lids and waited for it to dry before applying eyeshadow and yet it creased every.single.time. within an hour or two. I figured I was just some kind of freak of nature with eyelids so greasy no product in the world could help me.

So the day before I decided to go to Sephora and return TFSI I decided to give it one last shot - but apply a lot* of product this time. I mean whats the worst that could happen - it would just crease again right? WRONG. It actually worked. My eyeshadow lasted ALL DAY and when I mean all day I mean over 12 hours. So I figured this was some kind of a fluke and I tried the same thing the next day, I applied a generous, even coat of TFSI all over my lid, waited for it to dry and applied my eyeshadow. Again it lasted all day. I don't go a day without TFSI now.

Point of the story is, if you tried TFSI and its not working for you, try to apply more than you were applying before and it just might work for you. I'm pretty sure my lids are as greasy as they get and my eyeshadow hasn't creased once since I've amped up the amount of TFSI I use.

*Note when I say a lot I mean about the size of a small button on each lid.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 erinisnice on 8/12/2010 2:03:00 PM more reviews by erinisnice

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is the only eye shadow primer I've tried, but I do like it. My eye shadow doesn't crease at all. The only problem is, if you use too much it can be very drying. I like that it comes in a tube so there is no waste. I probably won't repurchase just because I want to try some other brands first.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 BellamenteDulce on 8/12/2010 12:21:00 PM more reviews by BellamenteDulce

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I really like this! It keeps my eyeshadow put all day, no creasing at all. Even if I sleep with it on it still looks great in the morning. My only complaint is that sometimes it comes out of the tube very runny. It's $18, which is expensive, but well worth it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 1017 on 8/10/2010 3:45:00 PM more reviews by 1017

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

UPDATE 1/5/12: With time, I have changed my mind. TFSI feels a bit too slick when I apply these days. And now that UD Primer Potion has changed it's packaging, I don't have that scratchy doe foot going against my eyelid. All this time I thought it was the product and it turns out it was the delivery. Who knew!?!? Now I prefer UDPP as a happy medium between the slickness of TFSI and MAC Paint Pots.

ORIGINAL POST: I have tried UDPP, ELF, Paint Pots and this is by far my favorite. It goes on with just one tiny drip and a concealer brush. It makes all my shadows go on smooth and buttery. It is not wet and messy like UDPP or as pasty as Paint Pots. It is the perfect happy medium. And I love how it blends on my skin...heavenly!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* island_honey on 8/10/2010 3:40:00 PM more reviews by island_honey

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This eyeshadow primer is amazing. I have always used a cream eyeshadow for a primer. I was using MAC's Paint Pot and I was happy with it. However, I hate that I'm not able to use the entire pot before it dries up. I started to research for a new base and decided it was either this or Urban Decay Primer Potion. I did not like UDPP because it was too thick and drying. I love Shadow Insurance because it's silky and easy to apply on my eyelids. Unlike MAC's PP, I don't have to worry about even application or else the eyeshadows will look blotchy. Only a small amount is needed to help eyeshadows last all day without creasing. I live in Florida where the humidity is horrible but I never have to worry about creasing with this product. I love that I get the true color of my eyeshadows when using this primer. I've read about this separating in other reviews so I always give this a good shake before use to prevent any issues.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Too Faced products

More Eye Primer products