Too Faced Shadow Insurance

4.2

1619 reviews

77% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Isododecane, Talc, Cyclopentasiloxane, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Glyceryl Triethylhexanoate, Polyethylene, Trihydroxystearin, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Isopropyl Lanolate, VP/Eicosene Copolymer, Propylene Carbonate, Dimethicone, PEG 40 Stearate, Phenoxyethanol, Tocopherol, May Contain ( /-): Mica, Bismuth Oxychloride (CI 77163), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499)


on 11/3/2010 11:03:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I discovered this product when I got a free sample from Sephora, and it lasted me such a long time before I decided to go and buy the full sized one. I love this product. It makes my eye shadow last forever (even if I go swimming!) and there is no creasing. It also allows for better color payoff. This primer is amazing, and I will definitely rebuy when I run out, which won't be for a long time, since you only need the tiniest bit.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 10/31/2010 9:24:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I love this more than all of my other eyeshadow primers put together. Have tried UDPP, NARS, LORAC (apparently I only try primers that are all capital letters) -- oh yeah, and Smashbox. I always come back to TFSI. I have been using it almost every day for a year and am just coming to the end of my first tube.

As noted, sometimes it does separate, but a little bit of vigorous shaking ("I Whip My TFSI Back And Forth") makes it recombine with no problems.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 10/28/2010 1:29:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this product. I use it every day. It makes my eye shadow stay put for my 13 hour work days, NO creasing and NO fading throughout the day. It is awesome. I have also tried UDPP and I found it to be too drying, my lids would have flakes on them from the product. I do not have the problem with the Too faced.


on 10/26/2010 11:12:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I'm on the hunt for a replacement for this. The product separates into 2 parts - a watery silicone and a pigmented cream. Since it is in a tube, I try to squish it to mix them together and sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn't. When I do get them to mix the product is ok. I particularly like that it smooths out the skin on my eyelid as well as hold the shadow. However I never know what to expect. UPDATE: the solution was right under my nose: Maybelline Age Rewind, a concealer on one end and a YSL touche eclat dupe on the other - both great. The concealer is the best, the absolute best shadow primer. It goes on smoothly, great application and it lasts. Cheap too! Tossing the SI, who needs the hassle.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I wish there was a maybe for the "would you buy this product again". I am truly on the fence. At times it works really great for my oily lids and other times it creases as if I had on no primer.


on 10/26/2010 10:29:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

The best shadow primer! I even use it under liner only because I know it won't budge for the day. You only need a tiny dab. I love it much more then Urban Decay's shadow primer.


on 10/24/2010 6:42:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Shadow Insurance is definitely an improvement over no primer at all, but it's just a mediocre primer, and I wouldn't re-purchase. It does work to keep shadow from fading, about the same or maybe a little worse than my Lumene primer. However, this is much thinner than the Lumene, and it separates in the tube. It's impossible to mix it up, so you just end up with gobs of oil coming out instead of primer. I bought it for my mom, and I feel bad now because I know she's not impressed with the oily separation issue, and will be less likely to believe me when I recommend anything to her. For the price and the performance, I don't think it's worth it. If I want a primer in squeeze tube, I reach for Lumene, and otherwise Painterly Paint Pot is my favourite primer for lasting power.
Edit 11/14/10: So I checked in with my mom - she says she loves the primer. To be fair, she's never used anything else, but the fact that TFSI has got her using eyeshadows again (she hated the constant creasing) is a great thing. So I'm bumping this up to 4 lippies, but won't be buying it for myself.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/24/2010 3:59:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This works absolutely fine, though I think I still like Urban Decay better (with the exception of the wand used with UD which I do not like). Re: some comments about the liquid that comes out of the tube: be sure to store the tube tip-side up. Since I starting doing that I've no oozing out of the tube. Next I will try ELF's primer. Getting tired of spending $20 for a tiny tube for product.


on 10/23/2010 11:37:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I usually use Urban Decay primer but I thought I would give this a try. This one feels more wet and oily and it makes my shadow still crease a little. It was a gift from Sephora so I threw it away otherwise I would have returned it. Back to Urban Decay.


on 10/20/2010 1:17:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have only a sample of this from Sephora from about 1 and a half months ago and I still have a long way to go in the little sample jar! I loove this product. you need the tiniest little bit to cover your whole lid, and although when you first put it on it feels a bit greasy, it dries beautiful and clear. my mom recommended this product to me, because her co-worker uses it, and she can work through a whole day at the office, then go to the gym, work out for 45 minutes, then take a shower.. and her eyeshadow is still perfectly intact, crease-free! i thought that was insane, so i had to try it, and i can completely verify that statement. i've heard people complain that it's not as forgiving or easy to blend the eyeshadows as with UDPP, but i have never experienced that problem. i <3 tfsi!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top