Chanel • Vitalumiere Aqua Ultra-Light Skin Perfecting Makeup SPF 15 • Liquid

rated 3.9(790 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.68%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 hon1214 on 4/20/2011 2:31:00 PM more reviews by hon1214

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I went on a foundation sample raid at my local mall and out of MUFE Mat Velvet, Nars Sheer Glow, Nars Sheer Matte, By Terry Veloute, I have to say that Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua is my favorite. It's a pleasure to put on and very easy to blend. It's failproof when trying to attain a luminous even finish because of the workability of the formula. Definitely be very careful when choosing a shade for you. I suggest requesting a sample and then trying on for the day. The formula is so easily blendable and can be sheer so it's easy to fool yourself into the wrong shade in department store lighting. I have combination skin and I don't have to retouch if I've used a mattifying primer. I'm also asian but my skin can be a bit sallow so I like to combine BR30 and B30 together so the pink undertones combat the sallowness. Second to this foundation is the NARS sheer glow but only after a few hours of wear does it achieve the same look as the Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua. Hope this helps!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 influxious on 4/18/2011 9:48:00 AM more reviews by influxious

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

[EDIT2] -2 star. Not my holy grail anymore :( Unfortunately it leaves a noticeable (to me at least) slight whitecast in digital photography. I have a new favorite and it's Nars Sheer Glow in Barcelona, it has no SPF and photographs beautifully! [/EDIT2]

[EDIT] It's still my holy grail foundation :) The scent is so luxurious! I sometimes use this as a concealer because it doesn't cake up like my other face products! [/EDIT]

The BEST Foundation EVER! It's natural, refreshing, so smooth, blends effortlessly, doesn't clog my pores, lightweight, good coverage (medium coverage), long-lasting (it's stayed on my skin even after I exercised in the gym) and dosen't settle into pores or lines. I'm in the shade B40 Beige-Desert (I'm a MAC NC37) and it's an almost perfect match to my skin (it's just a little bit light for me).

Remember to shake this product very well before usage, as without doing so pours out a very, very watery texture. It should be a creamy texture that comes out on your hand, and as you blend it out it should be very watery. You can smooth on the foundation with your fingers (for the most natural finish) Or with a brush (for a flawless look - I use a Bobbi Brown foundation brush). If you like a dewy look, you can get away without setting with powder, I just use a bit on the t-zone and a very light dusting all over the face.

You will like this foundation if you want your skin to look natural, not looking for very heavy coverage, looking for a great everyday foundation with an SPF, not allergic to fragrances, don't mind spending a lot of money on a foundation, and want a lovely, semi-matte glow.

The foundation has 30mL's of product, a mineral filter, and a UVA/UVB protection of SPF 15. There is currently about 10 shades available. The �Beige- B� are warm to neutral shades. The �Beige Rose � BR� shades have a pink undertone.

Ingredients:

Active ingredients- Octinate 6% and Titanium Dioxide 5.6%

Other ingredients- Aqua (water), methyl trimethicone, alcohol, dimethicone, phenyl trimethicone, talc, butylene glycol, isododecone, polymethysisequioxane, acrylates/polytrimethlsilsesequioxane, acrylates/polytrimethysiloxymethacrylate copolymer, polymethyl methcrylate, peg-10/15 crosspolymer, alumina, aluminum hydroxide, phenoxyehtanol, c9-15, flouroalcohol phosphate, magnesium sulfate, parfum (fragrance), nelumbo nucifera flower, water, methlyparaben, triethoxycaprylylsilane, sodium hyaluronate, silica, tocopheryl acetate, diproylene glycol, polyrethane-15, bht, laminara digitata extract, tocopherol, propyl paraben, ethelparaben

May contain- CI 7707 (ultramarines), CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499 (iron oxides), CI 77891 (titanium oxide), mica

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bunnybo on 4/18/2011 9:19:00 AM more reviews by bunnybo

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This foundation is lovely, natural and light. The colour matches my skin perfectly. It is average price for a high end foundation and the packaging, whilst cheaper looking than typical, is perfect for the consistency and allows you to use every last bit. I'm more concerned about what's inside the bottle anyway. My only negative criticism is that it is slightly too matt for me. There is still a lovely glow but it makes the skin around my eyes look quite dry and the fine lines more noticeable. Even when I try to use a bit of extra moisturiser underneath, I feel the skin on my cheeks look quite crinkly. I love Chanel Prolumiere, however the number 20 is too light, and 30 is too dark. The 30 in this one is perfect. If only i could combine the benefits of both foundations I think I would have the perfect foundation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 happymichelle on 4/16/2011 7:13:00 AM more reviews by happymichelle

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is my first Chanel foundation, but I really am enjoying it. I didn't want to spend $45 on a foundation, but my philosophy is that since it's being applied directly onto my skin, I'd rather spend the money than question the integrity of the product (while I slather it on, haha).

I'm enjoying the fact that this is easy to apply. In my opinion, using your fingers is easier than a brush because it is so much easier to blend it into your skin without worrying about streaking. I do prefer wearing a really good moisturizer underneath (I use MAC Mineralize All-Over Lotion) because if I don't, I tend to get dry on my forehead and other random places. I set it with Estee Lauder Lucidity or MAC Careblend. After powdering, my SKIN--NOT the foundation--looks awesome. I never imagined makeup would make me look so flawless and polished without looking like I used tons of makeup.

Vitalumiere Aqua lasts around four hours on its own before it starts to get too dewy. Setting it with powder, it lasts about seven or eight hours. Not as long-wearing as Prolongwear or Estee Lauder Double Wear, but it never advertised to be. However with all things considered, this stays on pretty well. I even napped for a long time without needing to touch-up when I woke up.

I suppose the price is reasonable since I'm not paying for a fancy glass bottle with a pump (which, I have decided, must mean the contents must be really amazing since I'm paying so much!). Besides, I don't really use very much (two slightly less-than-pea-sized squeezes will sufficiently cover my entire face and while allowing me to layer on top of places I feel need more coverage). The amount I use for an adequate application is significantly less than the amount of MAC Prolongwear I used to use for my face. The packaging itself is no-fuss and dispenses the product well.

Would I repurchase this? Definitely.

Is it my HG foundation? Maybe. I'll get back to answering that in a few weeks.

For reference, I'm an NC40 in MAC, Tawny in Double Wear, and B40 in Vitalumiere Aqua.

By the way, today, my cousin wanted to try the foundation so I applied some of mine on her. She is at least a shade or two darker than I am, but we did it anyway. When I finished, I took a step back and noticed that the foundation didn't make her look grey or ashy at all. It didn't even look like she had foundation on. Actually, it just looked like her skin was a bit paler! We were very impressed.

*****************EDIT, 5/12/11******************

I have found that this is indeed a HG foundation for me. HOWEVER, I must mention that you do need to moisturize very well (or else you get dry patches) and you need to find a moisturizer that doesn't make the foundation scaly after a few hours. I tried using my standby Neutrogena Oil Free Moisture SPF 15 and when I looked in the mirror at work, my face looked like Reptile from Mortal Kombat. Aveeno Positively Radiant SPF 15 worked well underneath, although I don't really like it as a moisturizer in general. So far, my favorite moisturizer I've sampled to wear under Vitalumiere Aqua is Chanel Hydramax+ Active Gel Cream (go figure). If they had this formula with an SPF, I don't think I'd hesitate to buy it despite the hefty price tag. I might end up with this anyway if I can't find any other moisturizer that tickles my fancy.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Savvy9 on 4/14/2011 11:24:00 PM more reviews by Savvy9

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

This foundation has made such a difference in my skin and my confidence. I have oily acne prone skin and since I have started using this my acne has been clearing up. With the build-able coverage I don't need to use concealer daily. I typically wear matte finish mineral foundations and at the end of the day I am left with nothing on my face. This foundation stays put and gives a healthy glow (set with MUFE) rather than making me look like I dunked my face in olive oil or am over powdered and its still there at the end of the day. It doesn't seem to do a whole lot to control oil but at least the oil doesn't dissolve it and it doesn't come off when I use blotting sheets. I am going to continue to experiment with different mattifying bases.
I apply it with a real techniques angled foundation brush for a fuller coverage or a sigma f82 for a lighter coverage. I don't think I will ever buy anything else. I am so glad I was able to be color matched at #4... I might buy 5 to mix it with over the summer. I also love that the color I got is beige based not yellow I give up trying to color match my golden med brown skin. This is a beautiful foundation and worth every penny... though I would still love a discount... HG!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 EmilyyGrace on 4/12/2011 6:02:00 PM more reviews by EmilyyGrace

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I don't understand people who are saying this foundation has moved around. Maybe it is because my skin is naturally dry so this being a "glowy" foundation has done just that and given my skin a completely amazing glow. (Which is awesome because I have completely dull skin) and it seems to wear BETTER on me after several hours. (as i sit here it has been on for 6 hours and counting, and if possible my face looks more flawless than it did this morning. If you have oily skin obviously this will slide around, it is NOT a matte finish and it is water based. All in all, fantastic, especially for dry skin. Gives the best glow, great color match, dust some MUFE HD powder over it and you'll be set.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 unchainedheart on 4/11/2011 9:48:00 PM more reviews by unchainedheart

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I have very sensitive and oftentimes dry skin, so I have a hard time finding foundation to work for me. I also am very fair with freckles, so that makes it even more difficult. I had been using Smashbox Halo mineral powder for the past year+ and it did the job but would start flaking by the end of the day, particularly if my skin was very dry that day, so a water based liquid foundation sounded great to me. I went to the Chanel counter and had a great MUA, she tried both 10 and 20 on each side of my skin and we mutually decided 10 worked best for my skin tone. I have red tints but this foundation covers very well without needing much. I use a foundation brush, as recommended, and am able to apply lightly and evenly, quickly! While the $45 tag is rather pricey for a tube of foundation (especially when I have a $60 pot of Halo unopened in my bathroom), I'm happy with my purchase and will most likely repurchase after it runs out.

ETA: Today was one of the first warm days and by 6pm my skin still looked great, my blush wore off but foundation stayed in place. I wasn't a cakey mess, like I feared, but I could tell I still had coverage at the same time and wasn't bare skinned!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jazzminebrazil on 4/11/2011 7:31:00 PM more reviews by Jazzminebrazil

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

When I first heard about this foundation, I was immediately eager to try it out. Though the cost was a little pricey to me 45$ and $48.76 after tax I thought being as I always pick up drug store foundation why not treat myself... And I'm sure glad I did!
I've been using either MAC studio Fix or Maybelines Dream liquid mousse and have been pretty happy but I wanted something with not such a heavy feel and more of a matte finish, when I first tried this foundation the girls at the Chanel counter gave me lots of samples so I could make sure I really liked it upon trying it on I immediately noticed a very floral and fruity smell which I loved, and it was a very clever way to cover up the smell of the sun screen, when you squeeze the foundation out it's a very creamy texture and when your blending it, it blends so easily and you only really need a pearl sized amount to cover your whole face and the best part is the coverage is buildable, from light to medium. Also the foundation is oxidized which means your foundation just keeps getting better throughout the day which I took a huge notice to, I put it on and a few hours later I looked even better and kept getting better and better and not to mention all the compliments I was getting. Bottom line this foundation is amazing and definitely worth the money.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 tonir on 4/11/2011 3:23:00 PM more reviews by tonir

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I really wanted to like this foundation!. After all, the color selection is nice, and when you first put it on, it looks awesome, HG material.

HOWEVER, it doesn't wear well at all. What's worse is that it broke me out in some terrible chin cysts. My skin is acne prone. But lately it has been doing well thanks to a faithful Renee Rouleau product use and regular facials. Unfortunately, this makeup really broke me out. Enough to send me to my esthetician for some high frequency treatments! I know it was this makeup because I switched to another, and the breakouts stopped. Gave this one another try, and boom breakout city.

Why oh why did Chanel discontinue Teint Innocence???

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jferrarese on 4/11/2011 4:17:00 AM more reviews by jferrarese

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I really wanted to like this foundation...but no dice.

I am constantly on the prowl for THE foundation, my HG. I currently use BB Luminous Moisturizing Foundation and it's been the best but I still think there may be something out there that really gives me that perfect skin w/o looking makeup-y. That's why I was excited when I read the reviews for this.

Going to the Chanel counter, I received a generous sample (enough for 5 times) to try out. Where I live they don't seem to have the full scale of colors but luckily I don't need the BR tints. Settling on B10, and thrilled to have a foundation with SPF, I found it a bit thicker (coming out of the tube) than I expected a lightweight foundation to be.

That said, it spread easily and covered better than I thought. I was pleasantly surprised. But here's where the love affair ends.

A few hours later and, just like another reviewer, the foundation had shifted. I looked cakey mess. Even my husband noticed that my face really looked like it had foundation (or something) on it. Not a good look. I thought this was a one off so I used the sample not just this once but all 5 times. All 5 times, same cakey shifting. Pity...

So a 3 because it did well in the beginning but didn't withstand the test of time with me. The pancake makeup look doesn't help anyone look any better.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Chanel products

More Liquid products