Chanel • Vitalumiere Aqua Ultra-Light Skin Perfecting Makeup SPF 15 • Liquid

rated 3.9(801 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.68%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 xxkaykisses on 4/29/2011 11:41:00 AM more reviews by xxkaykisses

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I wanted to love this so badly. I have oily, non acne prone skin that needs light to medium coverage, so this was perfect. $45 is not bad for a Chanel foundation, and BR20 was a perfect (I'm talking dead on, looked like my skin) match.
I applied this a few different ways with a few primers. The best way I found was a stippling brush over a silicone primer, but fingers worked too. It looked pretty, but not the amazing second skin-like affect everyone was talking about. It looked average, even a bit cakey, set with powder.
Where this stuff failed was wear. I got oily within an hour and a half, and thats what normally happens with my tinted moisturizers. I had to blot a few times a day, and it transferred, sunk into my pores, and caked up over time. It didn't work 1/2 as well as a Chanel foundation should work for me.
Basically, I feel dumbfounded. Everyone was running around, screaming HG and how amazing this is for oily skin, but this worked only the tiniest bit better than my TMs, which is not a compliment. Maybe my 2-3 samples were all bad, but I got no long-wearing properties, transfer-resistant properties, or oil-control properties from this foundation. It didn't look totally amazing, and couldn't handle an hour or two of wear without coming off! Sad, because BR20 was the best match I've ever had, and it didn't oxidize a smidge.

EDIT

Wow. I got more samples, stopped using it with a silicone primer, and changed up my skincare routine to be less greasy. This stuff is magic. My skin looks flawless and gorgeous and it is truely a second skin. Lasting power could be better but I wear my makeup 12+ hours a day. Try it with cliniques DDMG, it made a huge difference.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 shibbyy28 on 4/28/2011 6:37:00 AM more reviews by shibbyy28

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Holy Grail. Makes my blemish-prone/scarred skin look flawless and natural. Thought nothin could be better than the MAT Lumiere but boy was I wrong. Amazing. Smooth. Soft. Gorgeous.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 asjdfkl on 4/28/2011 1:20:00 AM more reviews by asjdfkl

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is a pretty early review, so I'll change if necessary, but I'm really thinking that this may be my HG. I've been a fan of MUFE F&B for a long time, with two major concerns: it faded out to nothing by the end of the day on my oily skin, and the colors were all too beigey-pink. Enter Vitalumiere, with a comparable light texture, slightly more matte finish that lasts and lasts, and yellow-based shades! Woop! I'm wearing B20 on my NC20 skin. Salesperson wanted to put me in the lightest shade, which I didn't even try. I have the hardest time finding the right shade and I'm pretty convinced that this is it. Happy girl. Except for the damned price.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 trishy17 on 4/27/2011 2:32:00 AM more reviews by trishy17

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is my new HG foundation. I have oily skin and after an 8 hour day it hasn't slipped off my face and it doesn't block my pore's at all. I really like the fact is is so light as I hate feeling like my face is covered in makeup. Even though it is light is has great coverage and feels so soft on my skin. The price is a little scary though NZ$ 100 but for such a great foundation totally worth buying.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 littlemissk on 4/26/2011 6:32:00 PM more reviews by littlemissk

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I am in love with this foundation! So far, I have tried 3 Chanel foundations - Pro Lumiere, Mat Lumiere and Vitalumiere Aqua. I can honestly say that this is the best one out of the three! The formulation is very light so you don't even feel that you have foundation on your skin. I was also surprised at the pigmentation, as I was expecting it to be very very sheer. It glided on smoothly on my skin and I found that I didn't really need to use that much product to cover my entire face. By the end of the day, I found that it still stayed on my skin beautifully. This lead me to the conclusion that this foundation probably isn't the best one to choose for dry skin since I have very oily skin.

I do have one problem with this foundation though. When you apply it at first, it tends to look a couple of shades lighter than your skin. However, this foundation does oxidize so it gradually got a bit darker than the initial color. Soon enough, the foundation matched my skin tone and it really did make my skin look amazing. I just wish it would look that way the moment I apply it! Nonetheless, I got the shade B30 Beige- Sable (I'm an NC30 for MAC) and it was a good match. If you're hesitant to buy this foundation, you should really ask for some samples first. The sales assistant was kind enough to give me 2 samples of the shades B30 and B40 so that I could try them first.

I hope you found this review helpful! :)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 BritBrit17 on 4/26/2011 3:57:00 PM more reviews by BritBrit17

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Finally found something that works beautifully for my teenage oily/acne-prone skin! This foundation glides on effortlessly; it has a very sheer consistency once blended but gives a nice medium coverage. It has a gorgeous finish which is semi-matte (leans toward the matter side) but has surprisingly good staying power. It's water-based, so it removes so easily even though it lasts well on the skin. I don't use foundation every day, as my skin is still young and I don't want to layer makeup over it on a daily basis, but the vitalumiere aqua is truly a great everyday foundation for people who are young and have slightly oily skin. It is so lightweight! The packaging is very convenient, plastic so it's easy to carry in your bag. Just remember to take the cap off, place a sponge or a (clean) finger over the opening and shake the bottle before you apply the foundation! It's an expensive product ($45) but it's a worthy investment. People spend hundreds of dollars trying on a bunch of different foundations; in my opinion it's better to find a high-quality foundation that works for you and stick to it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* chanel277 on 4/26/2011 2:16:00 PM more reviews by chanel277

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Surprisingly enough this foundation didn't work for me. And I'm quite surprised to be honest cuz I adore all the other chanel foundations. This is the only chanel foundation that comes in a simple plastic bottle still looks cute and elegant but I prefer the classic glass packaging. The texture is very watery and you need to give it a really good shake before you use it. glides and spreads on the skin amazing and effortless giving a natural matte finish. The coverage surprisingly is very good this is definitely a medium coverage foundation and its definitely buildable so its quite easy to achieve full coverage which I like a lot. The staying power is good I've seen better to be honest but it certainly has good staying power. Wears very comfortable and feels like nothing on the skin .The problem I had using this was that tends to set into fine lines and cracks after a few hours and that for me is a deal breaker. The other problem I had with it was that its not moisturizing enough and its not mattefying enough either I don't know exactly how to explain it all I'm trying is if you don't have normal skin then I'm not sure if that foundation is gonna work for you . My skin is on the dryer sight and I could use a little bit moisture and I'm not getting it from this foundation. On the other hand if your skin is oily then probably this foundation probably would not be the best choice for you I'd say that if you have normal or slightly dry or slightly oily skin then this may be good for you

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jenniferashton on 4/23/2011 11:31:00 PM more reviews by jenniferashton

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using this foundation for about a week now and I am super impressed with how awesome it is. I am not a huge fan of liquid foundations because of the heaviness of the product and the mask like effect it can produce if not a perfect color match. The other problem is that given my pretty oily skin (especially in the florida summer months) make-up (nearly any makeup) just doesn't last. And so I was a BE girl for a long time. It produces a very nice effect that sadly only lasts for a few hours before it just disappears!

Then I met Chanel's vitalumiere aqua. I'd read about it in the magazines and thought the concept was interesting. I'd tried Chanel foundations before and had been impressed (more so than with other brands) but never so blown away as to consider anything HG and worth the repurchase...until I tried this!

The product is super fluid and blends easily and in no time at all. While other foundations required application with a brush this stuff can be applied easily with just your fingers and in probably half the time. The coverage is medium with a satin finish - surprising given the fluid texture. And best of all? You can't feel it! Light as...water!

Staying power is also very good. It's hitting 90 deg here in Florida and my make up stays fresh for nearly my entire work day, I'd say close to 7 hours. This is great for me considering how oily I am and I bet for those gals with normal skin it'll last all day. The foundation is $45 which of course makes me cringe but hey, if it's HG, I'll deal!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cyndiinphilly on 4/23/2011 9:01:00 PM more reviews by cyndiinphilly

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I am very happy with this foundation. I have tried for years to buy a chanel foundation and have bought many and returned them. The original chanel foundation, I think it was called Teinte natural was my HG for years. When they dc'ed it, I never found another Chanel foundation to match my skin. I tried lift lumiere in several colors and no dice after trying 3 shades. My favorite SA (Glenn at Macy's Cherry Hill) suggested this one. I resisted because my skin is dry, but he assured me it would be great. He put on BR10, which is a perfect match for me. I love the coverage, staying power and finish. it does not accentuate dry patches and gives a nice glow. My only issue is a bit of leakage. If you shake the bottle as directed with the cap on, mine leaked out and left a mess and wasted foundation. I've learned to take the cap off, hold my finger over the hole and shake. No leakage and no waste. HTHS

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 madvertsify on 4/23/2011 1:41:00 PM more reviews by madvertsify

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

I think i've found my HG! It's absolutely wonderful. I am NC20 and I use B020. And it's not too yellow at all.
it covers great (much better than LM tinted moisturizer which I love too) and leaves a very natural not made up finish. and my skin glows glows glows. when i entered into office all flustered cos i was late, the first thing my colleague said was "you look so beautiful even though u missed your train!" haha i was like "YAY!" in my head.... cos i felt it was worth the $$ :)
FYI i was choosing between Vitalumiere and vitalumiere aqua and went with aqua because I liked the finish better for my combination oily skin and I found a better match for my skin color.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Chanel products

More Liquid products