Chanel • Vitalumiere Aqua Ultra-Light Skin Perfecting Makeup SPF 15 • Liquid

rated 3.9(759 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.69%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 heather28 on 3/28/2011 10:39:00 PM more reviews by heather28

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

This foundation has a lovely light texture (almost like a gel), but it offers more than light coverage--I would say it is light-medium and can be layered to medium. It offers a beautiful finish and I really do like the way my skin looks in it. It is a satin finish that leans toward matte. I would say this offers a good 6-8 hours of wear. Because I live in the south and have oily skin, this will not work for summer months, but I love it for early spring, winter and fall. I have not experienced any breakouts from this foundation. It is heavily fragranced, so I would not recommend for very sensitive skin. I am nc-15 to nw 20 and B10 is a very good match. I would say this is a fairly unique foundation in that it looks incredibly natural, but also offers coverage and some longevity.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 camjauregui09 on 3/27/2011 2:01:00 AM more reviews by camjauregui09

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

Ok, this foundation is WONDERFUL.I'm an NC25 and i got the shade BR20. I have Beige Rose because it was the only one avaliable, tough i'm warm-toned this is from the cool-toned range because i read a lot of reviews saying hat de BR oxidaze very easily. So i take the risk and bougth it and i'm so glad i did!.
at first when i put it on it look a little weird because doesn't match me perfectly but then the color change and it matchs wonderfully.
The only reason that i'm not giving thins foundation 5 lippies is because sometimes my t-zone get a little bit oily but with my combination skin that nothing weird.

I think this foundation is totally worth the money and i love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* izzybella on 3/25/2011 5:53:00 PM more reviews by izzybella

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This was my first time trying a Chanel foundation. While it's not HG material, I don't hate it either. It's a good everyday foundation because it's lightweight and contains SPF, but I don't like it enough to spend money on it (I've been using samples for the past week).


Pros:
- Natural looking finish - evens out skin without appearing cakey
- Long lasting and doesn't break apart on my skin as the day wears on, even without a primer
- Did not cause any allergic reactions or breakouts (yet)
- Good color match (I wore B30)


Cons:
- Scent - smells soapy/powdery. Isn't too strong, but still noticeable throughout the day.
- Gets shiny mid-day on my combo skin
- Has a whitish cast in photographs due to the sunscreen.
- Price


For reference, I wore B30 and my other color matches are: MAC NC30, NARS Budapest/Punjab, Shiseido Ochre 20, Shu Uemura Nobara 954, Becca LSC in Camel, BE 1.2-2.0 light, EM Winged Butter.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 elizabetch on 3/25/2011 5:37:00 PM more reviews by elizabetch

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I am SO happy I tried this foundation. I have somewhat problematic skin - acne prone, so I have some marks that I like to cover. My goal with foundation is not to conceal every flaw - I don't have perfect skin, and I feel like when people try to fake it too much, it looks overdone and cakey. I'm really self conscious about visible skin make up! What i want out of foundation is to even out my skin, so I can use a bit of concealer on other spots (less overall make up on my face!) I hope I make sense so far.

This foundation is super easy and fast to apply. Shake shake shake, then apply like a moisturizer with fingers, or use a brush (similar results, but less wasted product with fingers). I LOVE the results - I've been using it for a few weeks and I find it lasts without primer, I just set with translucent powder in my t-zone. It leaves a pretty finish that's much less shiny than Vitalumiere, but not completely matte. It's so natural - people can't detect it on my face, it blends so perfectly.

I was matched to BR10 - a bit scary pink compared to other foundations, but works perfectly on my winter skin tone. I have not found it to oxidize to a different colour, which I have heard from other reviews on youtube. Also, it doesn't settle into pores, make my skin feel tight (I moisturize lightly before using any powders or foundations), break me out or dry me out - other common complaints. There is no universal product i guess! I'm just so glad it works for me - it's absolutely perfect for my skin (which can get oily in the day, but not too much now that I'm out of my teens!) At $48CAD, this product is 100% worth it for me.

I also LOVE the packaging - so compact compared to other 1 ounce foundation bottles. So it's light and portable too :)

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 kimf79 on 3/25/2011 5:05:00 PM more reviews by kimf79

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

So I am not super-impressed with this foundation. I was matched to the B20 beige color and got a few samples of this. From far away result looks pretty good. but if you look close us you can see the foundation settling into pores a bit. This is not a "bad" foundation, but certainly not any kind of HG for me. I do like the amount of coverage however, I guess light to medium. And as far as the feel of the foundation, it feels pretty light on skin - which is important for me. So if this looked the way I wanted it to on my skin than it would probably be pretty great, but its not quite there! UPDATE: I just tried one of my other samples of this and it looks awful, like caked on my skin. No thanks, chanel!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 aerobideb on 3/25/2011 1:34:00 PM more reviews by aerobideb

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

It's a blessing that I tried a sample of this product, because after reading the reviews, I was all set, with cash in hand, to buy it tomorrow! No likey!!

Basically this foundation behaves no better than my drugstore bought ones (Boots No7 Lifting and Firming, to name only one). After a couple of hours, I looked in the mirror ready to admire its reputed claims, only to be completely unimpressed. It had oxidised and sank into my pores - not good! A strange thing I noticed was that around my cheek areas, my skin looked tight, crinkly and dehydrated. Hmmm, so glad I tried the sample.

Take the hype with 'a pinch of salt'...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* maliastyle on 3/24/2011 3:42:00 PM more reviews by maliastyle

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I am not wildly impressed by this foundation, but I am delighted with it. At $48 CDN, however, I better be.




I was forewarned that Vitalumiere Aqua would not necessarily be the most ideal formulation for my combination to oily skin. However, I've learned over the years that the use of products specifically formulated for oily skin have not panned out best for me - the consistent attempts at blocking my oils have just caused my sebaceous glands to freak out on me and produce more. Besides, I've come to love the look of dewy and velvety as opposed to flat and matte. Having said that, I'm not aiming to look like a grease ball, and if Vitalumiere Aqua did just that, I'd have returned it pronto. However, it's not been that evil, and it's sitting quite well on my combination skin.




I was told this was meant to be applied using the fingers, but that doesn't work for me. I feel I'm just spreading the product around and not getting a good, even application. So, as I do with all my liquid foundations, I apply this with my trusty MAC 187, and the product distribution is even and light (yet buildable). My skin doesn't feel suffocated. In fact, it really does feel - and look - like second skin. When I'm having a slight breakout (due to hormonal changes and stress, I'll get a couple of pimples on my chin) this definitely isn't enough to cover, but on an otherwise good skin day, the sheer coverage of V. Aqua is enough for me. Someone with more challenging skin may require the use of concealer beforehand.




Does it keep the oilies at bay? Absolutely not. But I've never depended on a liquid foundation to do so, even the ones that are specifically manufactured for oily and problematic skin. It's why I always keep Shiseido blotting papers on hand. But if it's a natural, velvety smooth, second skin, soft focus look you're going for, and there's not a lot of coverage required, Vitalumiere Aqua is your girl. Unless you're sensitive to fragrance, in which case I'd recommend you turn to another product (or brand, for that matter). The scent of Vitalumiere Aqua is quite present (luckily I love it) upon application, although it does disappear in minutes. IMPORTANT NOTE: Shake this like crazy before pouring it out. I don't mean shake it a couple of times; I mean, shake it like crazy. Otherwise you'll get a lot of water, and a little of everything else. When shaken properly, you'll get a lightweight, almost gel-like consistency, which is what you want.




But is it worth the hefty price tag? Probably not. There are some Chanel items that for me, warrant the expense, but is this one of them? Considering I love Revlon Colorstay (a totally different animal, by the way, when it comes to foundation formulas) as much as this, probably not. Would I buy again? Sure. If it were discontinued, would I panic? No.

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 crispyleaves on 3/22/2011 7:46:00 PM more reviews by crispyleaves

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Stay away from this foundation!!! I have clear, smooth, normally flawless skin...with a tendency to be dry around the mouth area if I don't have enough moisture. I tried this on at the counter and it was fabulous...it did everything I every wanted in a foundation--made my face look even and toned, radiant, and the best part was that it looked like my skin and not some cakey mask. I take really good care of my skin and also I inherited great skin from my mom...so I usually don't need foundation...in fact, my skin looks best when I don't have any foundation on that has more coverage than sheer. But I do like to even out my skin with tinted moisturizers. And when I go out for auditions, I need to have foundation on so that on camera my skin doesn't look shiny. So when I tried this on, I was super excited...super excited...because I could even out my skin tone and make it look radiant. However, less than 1 hour afterwards...my face dried up like a prune. I had lines across my face every time I spoke or moved a facial muscle. Essentially, I started looking like the Mummy. Gross! And painful too! Then I looked up the ingredients and lo and behold...it has alcohol in it! Alcohol! Then I thought, well maybe I can put on a hydrating primer to see if that will circumvent the drying properties...yea...I was going into denial. That didn't work out either... And here is the worst part...the next day I broke out all over my face. I have not had acne this bad since early college. My face was really irritated and red and swollen. I don't understand how the makers of this foundation could ever let this out of the lab to sell on the shelves?!?! So needless to say...I returned that product. So lesson here: Stay away! Do not even put on your face once. It is damaging...

Now I have to invest in a concealer for the first time since college... :(

6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lipglosschic87 on 3/22/2011 12:37:00 PM more reviews by lipglosschic87

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

For reference, I am NC25 and the closest match for me was B20. To start off, I really like the feel and coverage of this foundation (and I have acne marks and hyperpigmentation!). It feels very light on your face and I would say it is medium coverage, but for someone with dry skin, it is not moisturizing enough. A huge negative for me personally was that it broke me out like crazy...it was the worst breakout I've had in a while and I had spent so much time getting it to a point where I was finally somewhat happy with my skin =(. It was very disappointing and my skin is still recovering from the breakouts. I will definitely not be repurchasing.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 marinesgirl on 3/21/2011 9:12:00 AM more reviews by marinesgirl

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Wow- this is my HG to end all HG's!!

I have combo skin that gets really oily on my forehead and nose. I use Colorstay, and that works great, but it's quite thick and heavy.

I recently purchased MUFE HD to get a lighter finish, however that stuff made me oily like no other- it just slipped off my face.

Someone rec'd this for me as an alternative to the MUFE, and I am SO glad I tried it! It is rather expensive, however I'm willing to pay good money to have my skin look this awesome.

I apply this with Sephora's Platinum airbrush foundation brush (#55), and it gives me flawless, even, beautiful coverage. I set with MUFE HD powder, and my skin does look airbrushed!

The staying power on this is great- it doesn't slip off or transfer to my phone (which I HATE), and I don't have to blot until I get home from work, which is amazing for me. I also find that cream blushes are easier to apply with this- with the MUFE HD, they would make me look even greasier, and with the colorstay, they would be impossible to blend. This awesome foundation just lets them blend right in and gives me that 'glowy' look that we all love.

This stuff ROCKS. Totally worth the price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Chanel products

More Liquid products