Chanel • Vitalumiere Aqua Ultra-Light Skin Perfecting Makeup SPF 15 • Liquid

rated 3.9(782 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.69%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 tonir on 4/11/2011 3:23:00 PM more reviews by tonir

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I really wanted to like this foundation!. After all, the color selection is nice, and when you first put it on, it looks awesome, HG material.

HOWEVER, it doesn't wear well at all. What's worse is that it broke me out in some terrible chin cysts. My skin is acne prone. But lately it has been doing well thanks to a faithful Renee Rouleau product use and regular facials. Unfortunately, this makeup really broke me out. Enough to send me to my esthetician for some high frequency treatments! I know it was this makeup because I switched to another, and the breakouts stopped. Gave this one another try, and boom breakout city.

Why oh why did Chanel discontinue Teint Innocence???

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jferrarese on 4/11/2011 4:17:00 AM more reviews by jferrarese

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I really wanted to like this foundation...but no dice.

I am constantly on the prowl for THE foundation, my HG. I currently use BB Luminous Moisturizing Foundation and it's been the best but I still think there may be something out there that really gives me that perfect skin w/o looking makeup-y. That's why I was excited when I read the reviews for this.

Going to the Chanel counter, I received a generous sample (enough for 5 times) to try out. Where I live they don't seem to have the full scale of colors but luckily I don't need the BR tints. Settling on B10, and thrilled to have a foundation with SPF, I found it a bit thicker (coming out of the tube) than I expected a lightweight foundation to be.

That said, it spread easily and covered better than I thought. I was pleasantly surprised. But here's where the love affair ends.

A few hours later and, just like another reviewer, the foundation had shifted. I looked cakey mess. Even my husband noticed that my face really looked like it had foundation (or something) on it. Not a good look. I thought this was a one off so I used the sample not just this once but all 5 times. All 5 times, same cakey shifting. Pity...

So a 3 because it did well in the beginning but didn't withstand the test of time with me. The pancake makeup look doesn't help anyone look any better.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 deenie2007 on 4/10/2011 2:03:00 PM more reviews by deenie2007

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this, very light and sheer but builable coverage. Feels great on and I like the squeeze bottle. The finish is also quite nice. The caveat is I have large pores and this seems to sink in and magnify them. Prob won't repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Selina_c on 4/9/2011 2:45:00 PM more reviews by Selina_c

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Blue    

Bought this after receiving a sample in a magazine and loving the finish of it. at that time i'd been fake tanning so was quite a bit darker than i am now. in my skin's natural state it is NC15 so i thought B10 would be fine. wrong. it's a shade too dark for my skin tone, and the SA even tried to make me buy B20 or B30! such a shame because in theory i loved this foundation. It even oxidises on my skin during the day which makes my face ORANGE. i've never had this happen before, such a shame :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bululu on 4/9/2011 12:49:00 PM more reviews by bululu

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I am very impressed by this foundation. I got a sample in Beige 40, a good match for my medium olive skin, especially in this season. The foundation has a lovely creamy texture, light but not runny and easy to blend with your your fingers, as recommended by Chanel. The result is much better than I expected. Although light and fresh, the coverage is really excellent and not at all like a tinted moisturizer. A little goes a long way and a very thin second layer achieves excellent results in terms of coverage. The finish is semimatte, a true glow without any satin or shimmer. A natural light lits up the face, the skin appears well rested and radiant without any mask effect.
And last but not least, it's impeccable all day long. Despite the running around and the very warm weather, the colour stays true all day long without any patchiness. Really a WOW product. Well done Chanel!
It goes without saying that I have bought it and elected best foundation so far!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MLWagner79 on 4/7/2011 12:41:00 AM more reviews by MLWagner79

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I gave this baby a full week's test drive thanks to generous SAs that loaded me up with samples (I mentioned I used to LOVE TI, but that it now doesn't work on my dry skin, so they were really nice about giving me samples before buying).

I am very very dry, with flaky patches between my brows and on my cheeks. I control this for the most part with argan oil but I still have issues with foundation not sitting right on my skin. My HG is MUFE F&B #20, and I am NC20.

I received samples in both B10 and B20. I think B20 is the better match, although a mix of both would probably work best for me, and even so it is pretty beige and not so much yellow. It is a close enough match for me that I wore it out in public all week, topped with MAC Careblend in Light Plus.

Price: Ugh. But it's Chanel, and for a Chanel foundation it's actually not bad at $45. And it's full 1oz size...my MUFE F&B is $38, so again, not bad.

Packaging: Feels a little cheap for Chanel, but I do like it. The squeeze bottle is easy to use and control, I actually prefer it to the pump on my F&B. The TI glass bottle felt more luxurious but really, who cares?

Product: I would compare this with what I WANTED NARS Sheer Glow to be. SG was a crappy, patchy flaky mess on me. The Vitalumiere Aqua was incredibly lightweight on (even with a couple extra passes over my nose and cheeks to hide redness), it didn't feel like anything on the skin. It looked like my skin, only perfected. It is not, however, a dewy finish like F&B. I would describe it as natural/satin...glowy without being shiny. I put one light layer all over, which evened out my skin. Then I dabbed two more thin layers over my nose and cheeks. No difference in the finish, except that the redness was gone. With some foundations it would start to get cakey, but not with VA. So you can definitely build this from sheer to medium without a problem.

The best part - this stuff wore like freaking iron all day. I work in a physician's office, running around all day and generally sweating. At 10pm, my makeup still looked perfect! And no primer!

I'm not *quite* ready to give up my F&B for this...but when I run out I will definitely reevaluate and see if that opinion changes when the time comes.

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 kpxbabii on 4/6/2011 3:20:00 AM more reviews by kpxbabii

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

So far, I really like this foundation. It's sheer coverage, and more like a tinted moisturizer, Personally, I prefer a tinted moisturizer to a foundation anyway because I have nice skin already. It gives that dewy look that I love and is very fairly priced for chanel! It was $45, which isn't bad at all compared to $55 for vitalumiere and prolumiere. I normally expect luxurious packaging, and this is where it falls short. However, I do love the squirt bottle, so I guess I shouldn't complain.

Edit: I broke out from this product. My friends also have issues with breakouts with Chanel foundations. What a shame.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Tege on 4/5/2011 3:21:00 PM more reviews by Tege

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I love this foundation! I have battled really bad skin for years now, and I have always been too scared to wear foundation, as I don't want my skin to breakout. But this foundation has never broke me out, and I have been using it for 6 weeks now! Which I am amazed by! :)
Also it is a perfect colour match for my fair skin tone (Beige-Tendre)
I really am in love with this foundation! Really is light and smells very fresh! It doesn't clog your pores, but it is quite medium coverage. Which is great as I don't like the 'obviously-wearing-foundation' look.
I would definitely recommend this foundation to anyone, especially coming into the summer, where a lighter foundation is more practical!
5* stars from me! :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 tmaries on 4/4/2011 5:34:00 PM more reviews by tmaries

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I like this foundation a lot, a little goes a long way. I have medium/fair nordic skin, and the B30 was a really good match for my skin.

I use a little amount of it, and the smell is suuuperyum! Love the fresh fruity flower smell. Iīm not looking for anything full coverage at all, I want my skin to show through, and I just want to eaven it out. And this does that! It sits really nicely on my skin, I find the consistency really nice and fluid, the Vitalumiere can sometimes be too heavy for me.

Itīs buildable to a medium coverage, but you can also get very light coverage with it, couse it blends out really nicely.

Only negative thing about it is that it does squeeze a lot of product out and can spill a little, if you arenīt careful.

Overall, really good foundation, it makes my skin look dewy, healthy, radiant and just beautiful. And no one can tell you are wearing it. Absolutely LOVE!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lorenanunez on 4/4/2011 2:54:00 PM more reviews by lorenanunez

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Love this foundation, is really light but you can build up almost full coverage. I use a tiny amount to cover all my face, just to even out my color, I'm not looking for full coverage. I bought B40, it's a perfect match for my skin, I'm a C35 (mac) and Buff (fluid treatment La Mer). I use La Mer all year long, but on summer it tends to fel kind of heavy, so I'm going to use this chanel foundation for everyday use and La Mer for special occasions. So far so good, it has a smell though,it's strong, but I like it, and it feels awesome in your skin, like you're wearing nothing.I totally recommend it, it's worth the price tag :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Chanel products

More Liquid products