Farouk CHI • 44 Chi Iron Guard • Styling Products

rated 3.3(179 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.50%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rallu on 12/7/2010 2:02:00 AM more reviews by rallu

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I found this just sitting in my bathroom and decided to give it one more try. It feels like hairspray, crunchy and makes my hair tangled. It may protect against the heat but I just can't stand the smell and the way it makes my hair feel. Threw it away.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 abril090 on 11/10/2010 11:59:00 PM more reviews by abril090

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff is awful. It made my hair stiff like stray and the smell-Yuck. It smells like cheap cologne.
The only thing good about this is the packaging. This is pricey for $12.95.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 abril090 on 11/5/2010 10:46:00 PM more reviews by abril090

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

The smell of this is terrible! It smells like men's cheap cologne. ugh! I used this four times and each time I used this, I wanted to wash my hair. I cant stand the smell of this. Plus, this made my hair stiff like hairspary. I have thick hair and my hair is better off without this junk.I'd rather not protect my hair from heat than use this product again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 jeungtae92 on 11/1/2010 8:56:00 PM more reviews by jeungtae92

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

i didn't like it too much. even though i made sure i didn't over spray on my hair, it made my hair pretty hard. i does hold style though. but i rather have just soft silky hair without any hold.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 wurquhart on 10/27/2010 2:47:00 PM more reviews by wurquhart

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

It works... makes hair kind of crunchy and the smell is pretty nasty but it does help with the heat

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 sarahmascara on 10/27/2010 11:02:00 AM more reviews by sarahmascara

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Oy... The smell! This product is HEAVILY scented, so if you're sensitive to certain perfumes, or you wear any kind of other scented product, be aware that CHI Iron Guard overpowers pretty much anything else in a 6 foot radius of your head. I am not a fan of scented products in general, because they often trigger migraines for me, plus I wear a very subtle perfume which is easily overwhelmed by styling product scents. But I hadn't encountered anything quite so strong until I bought a bottle of this stuff... I used it twice, and the results were ok, but the smell was the deal breaker.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 rocketinthesky on 8/22/2010 3:05:00 AM more reviews by rocketinthesky

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm surprised this hasn't been in the database!
Now, as a product junkie, when a beauty guru raves about a hair product on YT, I just have to try it for myself. I was pretty pleased with this product, and for one it smells amazing.
The only reason I won't repurchase, is because I don't like sprays, as you have to add a lot more, and the weird thing is, when I used my CHI flat iron, my ends would get frizzy, even after applying generous amounts and letting it air dry.
I have also found a better alternative that is a lotion instead of a spray.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 vivianfarrell on 8/20/2010 1:06:00 PM more reviews by vivianfarrell

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I love this product. A lot of people complain about it smelling like something for a man, but I really don't mind it, and it's only initial -- fades away after you straighten. I use other heat protectors, but this is the only one that actually makes my hair feel better over time using it. Way less breakage .It's a little expensive, but you can find it on sale most of the time. HG product that I always have. Love it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sallysellsseashells on 8/19/2010 10:59:00 AM more reviews by sallysellsseashells

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Erinnx is right about the smell & texture. But, the slight stickiness goes away once hair is fully dry. The directions say to use this on dry hair but I use it on towel dried hair before I blow dry it. After my hair is fully dry, it feels very soft and the stickiness goes away. I think I enjoy this more than the Redken heat spray they use @ my salon.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Silrayan on 8/10/2010 11:14:00 PM more reviews by Silrayan

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Why, why for so many years did I never use a heat protector?!
The first spray I tried was awful so when it ran out I bought this, because hey, I own a CHI so why not. It also actually works, which is a plus.
I find the smell very pleasant. And yes, while at first it is sticky and stiff in my hair, once I run the flat iron through, it's totally fine.
It does tend to make my hair greasier than before, so I end up washing it more often (and thus straightening it more). That is a drawback, but my hair still feels a million times better than before I started using it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Farouk CHI products

More Styling Products products