Farouk CHI • 44 Chi Iron Guard • Styling Products

rated 3.3(149 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.53%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 sarawrrxd on 2/10/2010 4:10:00 PM more reviews by sarawrrxd

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Excellent! My hair is significantly less damaged with my solia flat iron. I use with silk infusion and my hair is in the best condition it's ever been! I did not experience any stickiness; I just do light spritzes concentrated on my ends and it works great.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MichieKrum on 2/5/2010 8:53:00 AM more reviews by MichieKrum

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

At first I did not like this product. It was leaving my hair sticky and stiff. I realized I was using too much. Once I started using the correct amount I realized how great this product is! It really does protect my hair and makes it silky and straight. I actually love the smell. That is the main reason I kept on using it and found out how to use it properly. It is strong at first, but after a while it does go away and you can only smell it lightly thru-out the day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 megankm0621 on 2/2/2010 1:28:00 AM more reviews by megankm0621

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I really like this product, it protects my hair and smells good. I dont really like chi straighteners but i do like most of their hair products

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 LBUJenni18 on 1/31/2010 3:57:00 AM more reviews by LBUJenni18

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

So, to start off, this product works well, I can't say if it works better or worse than other products since I have not used any other heat protector since I don't really trust any heat protector.

This product does protect my hair since people always say how soft my hair is, and my hair is still silky like before, although I have been noticing a couple of split ends which surprised me since I didn't know I have split ends, I don't know if that is from straightening or if I had them from something else.

People say it smells like men cologne, so I'm guessing it does, I don't know what men cologne smells like so... Can't really say anything about it, I'm not bothered by it though.

When you put it on, you HAVE to brush/comb your hair so it will dry! People say it makes their hair heavy and greasy, that's because you have to comb it through, and you save product by combing because you're spreading it out. For me, I spray every section I will straighten, I'm very careful about that, that's why my hair is still healthy even though I straighten my hair daily. I spray it front AND back on my hair, some people just spray the outside of their hair, when, you have to do the inside as well, which is the other side of your hair facing your scalp. I spray my ends first, so I grab all my hair (I split it into two sections) then I spray two sprays on one side, then twist the hair around, and two more sprays; then I spray the mid-section - not the scalp, it will leave the hair greasy, then I straighten.

I HATE the nozzle thing on it though, it's so hard to spray, when I spray it, I have to hold it against myself and then spray, or hold the bottle and spray since the sprayer thing is not easy to spray. Also, you can't hold it down and spray, you have to press down each time you want to spray.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 livinglaughingloving on 1/25/2010 1:59:00 PM more reviews by livinglaughingloving

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I got this for christmas from my mom, and she left the price on. I do not think i will repurchase this CAD18$ bottle. It does it's job but it's not amazing. I acually love the smell it smells like hair salon :) I put my hair in to sections then spray it on my ends, let it dry and shake my hair a bit, then straighten my hair. It does average but i might search in to something cheaper and it is kind of sticky.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ochocho on 1/21/2010 10:46:00 PM more reviews by ochocho

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Black, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

Like the other reviewers for this product, I found the smell to be absolutely sickening. It's very strong, even if you use one spray. I could smell it for hours. I guess I would describe the smell as this sour, burn hair smell. If you were willing to push the smell issue aside, it works well. However, I will be searching for another product that does not make my friends gag.

EDIT: I want to be absolutely fair and raise the rating from a 2 to a 4. I don't notice the smell anymore, it's very light and goes away quickly. I realized that I was using way too much and that's why the smell was so strong. Like I said before, it works really well, so while I am not 100% sure i will purchase this product again, i'll consider it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* amyers2 on 1/18/2010 11:47:00 PM more reviews by amyers2

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I received this product for Christmas because I am constantly using hot tools (curling iron, blow dryer, etc). I really like it. My hair feels healthier since I have been using each morning before I blow dry hair. The only thing I don't like about it is the smell.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mistyMAClove on 1/18/2010 10:39:00 PM more reviews by mistyMAClove

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

OMG, i love this product so much, since i straighten my hair every day its a must!!!!! it smells so good and for $14.00, you get a lot of product!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 soozeq68 on 1/15/2010 7:02:00 PM more reviews by soozeq68

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is great protection for all you flat iron junkies. Spray you hair after it is dry and before you flat iron.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sehicks on 1/1/2010 12:58:00 PM more reviews by sehicks

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

This product is amazing and it does exactly what it is meant to do. I straighten my fine hair with a flat iron every single day and it is in great condition thanks to this product. I have been reading the negative reviews and the only thing I can agree with is that the smell takes a bit of getting used to. It is somewhat masculine but it doesn't linger once you heat style.
For the people who say it leaves their hair sticky and stiff, you may be using too much. What I like to do is just spray it onto my hands and run my hands through dry hair. I do this on three different sections of my hair (it dries fast) and then brush through it before I flat iron it. I recommend putting this on dry hair as opposed to wet hair. I think it is meant more for flat ironing than for blow drying so you may not get the best results from using it to blow dry your hair. The keys are not using too much (you dont have to saturate hair to make it work- just mist it on), and not using it as a styling spray- it is a heat protectant. It leaves my flat ironed hair perfectly straight, soft, and silky. GREAT heat protectant.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Farouk CHI products

More Styling Products products