L'Oreal Casting Creme Gloss

3.4

156 reviews

64% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 10/26/2011 4:18:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Sorry for my english I'm from Hungary but i will try my best :-).This is the first time I bought this product. I choose 415 shade.When I applied the colour was very nice but its different what it's showed after I washed and dried.It's gave a nice coulour for my cool skin undertone.I really looked more tan.It's not the colour what I waited for but still be nice .My only one problem is that it's shows a little purple reddish undertone and on the top of my head is a little lighter than the rest.I didn't find it very shiny.Maybe I was expecting a lot from a paint...But for this prize I think I had to get much more than I got.I wait after few hairwash how it's will be. I hope it's won't be more reddish.So it's will depance on it that i will buy it again or not.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.



on 10/15/2011 11:23:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is my favorite hair color product and i use this from 2005 every 2months and recently every 6weeks becouse my roots show too quick.I start using red tones for years,each one i test it-use it and never damaged my hair.Imagine how amazed got my work collegs when i said this is a semi-permanent color and i did home bymyself.They couldnt belive it,i have this very red color,really alive and such a healthy looking hair :-)
From last year i start testing new shades based on brown shades: Chocolate,Mahagoni(this is dark red),light brown,Iced Espresso,Chocolate Chip Cookie,Kastanie,Mousse au Chocolat,Praline.And my favorite is Chocolat535,which is so glossy looking and have some amazing red undertones.Most i love how delicate shows the red tones in full light..like a misterious autumn ..:-)
This is free ammoniac and have level 2 of coloration.
The smell is great,is really easy to use,i do it alone on entire hair,i dont even need someone else to check the back..i got some experience in the last few years:-)
I apply the product on dry hair,not washed from 2-3days(becouse i have thin,dry hair and frizzy),i start from roots and i dont use this entire hair often then 3months.
If my clothes gets spots from this product i just simply wash them at 60degresee(i always wear white t-shirt during coloring process) i never had any trouble by removing the stains completly.Also if i get stains on hair line or anywhere on skin,i just use scrub but ussualy i use nothing(if i dont leave the house that day).My trick is to dont rub the skin like crazy just wait before bed time,then i just do my night routin and use my face toner on the "area with stains"for few times.I always get the stains off with my toner,if not for first time,then next morning for sure the stain will be gone.I dont panic when i get dye stains,i know is not permanent so i just..avoid doing what i did last summer when i used a permanent hair color.Belive me i was in hurry and i used the scrub on neck near ear,soo much,rubb it and scrub it untill..i got bloddy scars ,so dont do like me,just remember,toner,or alcohol,or gently scrub mask..and then wait.I prefere waiting then beeing the freak with scars on forehead or neck.
I like using this product,becouse is really decent price,i get brilliant hair color and also i always get compliments back.
For beginners:dont use the entire tub if the hair is on neck line lenght,dont use this on fresh washed hair,dont use this on really dirty hair,dont mix the product with other products(becouse the shade will not be the same like on package),ONLY COLOUR THE ROOTS next time(not entire hair,in this way u will avoid really dry and damaged hair)always use the gloves to avoid freak nails,dont let the product on hair more then 1hour(u will get really dry,frizzy hair..like i always get when i forget to wash in time),DONT forget to use the tratament from box,is very important,that product will help the color to get fixed better in hair and show a strong color,also is nice like conditioner.Dont use any other mask or conditioner after u finish,dont wash your hair for few days(i dont wash mine for 5days) this is for long lasting color.Dont use any home made mask like banana,avocado,honey,youghurt..like i did,becouse the natural acidity will remove the color from your hair.Of course i use organic olive oil,castor oil,like pre-shampo tratament.
If i respect those rules and dont wash my hair to soon and use the tratament for 3times(i mean the entire tube,i have half back long hair),then i never have any trouble.Of course i use oil for dry ends every time i wash my hair.
This is my favorite ever coloring hair product,my HG!!!!!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 10/11/2011 5:11:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Green

Sooo.... I had some trouble with my hair and bought this in shade 6, just a natural dark blonde.

Super easy to apply, color is really chic and the final outcome is good!

However, my eyes hurt.... Like it is really strong or something and then I read about some girl getting allergic reaction and I got a bit scared.

Everything is fine now but Im not gonna buy this again.

DO THE ALLERGIC TEST FIRST!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/5/2011 9:38:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Its the best dye i have used!
I got dark chocolate and it does adzacly what it says on the box.


on 10/5/2011 8:08:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Ohh I hated this!! It smells horrible and really irritated my scalp (yes I did an allergy test). But the results... First of all it left my hair in a really dry and frizzy condition, like something from a bad permenant dye, where was the gloss? My hair looked way healthy before. But the colour! I used the shade iced blonde(910) on my already pre-bleached hair and wanted to use this to tone some of my brassy orange tones a bit. It sent my hair ACID YELLOW. Like canary yellow with a strong hint of green. I felt and looked horrid. I know that colour faults are usually a problem with the user choice and the adding a darker dye does seem to be more successful... but it really upset my hair as well which was not that damaged to begin with.


on 9/23/2011 4:55:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

ok, my original hair color is dark brown , i started using praline but i didnt like the results very much , it was a nice change and did give me a lot of shine however the shimmer didnt accentuate my complexion colour nicely , it made me look quite pale , i am NC30 with yellow undertones.. so i switched to chocklate 535 and this one is perfect on me , it has somewhat copper shimmer which has always worked and matched my skin .. but it is not golden so be careful it is somewhat reddish copper .. however it is beautiful on me .. now why i gave it 4 not 5 is because the information advertised is not very accurate , this is a PERMENANAT COLOR i.e. it does lighten my hair , so when the roots come out it is darker and i do retouch only .. in the start i thought the colour did wash out completely after 3 months (28 washes) so i used to dye the whole length of my hair every time .. this damaged my hair completely coz i did that like 3 times i.e. dying the whole length of hair .. so doing that like 3 or 4 times caused my hair to fry !!! .. then i discovered that i should only retouch the roots , i changed my routine some two years ago but i i had to cut my long beautiful hair when it was completly dry and porous from too much dying.. now it is meduim length and in perfect condition but again when retouching hair you have to ONLY COLOUR THE ROOTS! cause this is a permenanat color .. if you want to add the same tonality / reflection then you can leave it on the whole length for 5-10 minutes only and have that done every 4 months or so ..


on 9/14/2011 5:38:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Edit 29/10/11: removed 1 lippy, from 4 to 3, as this "semi permanent" colour washed right out after one wash. Bear in mind my hair is heavily bleach damaged so finds it hard to hold colour, but for covering up and blending in a bad colour job this simply doesn't cut it. I used nice 'n' easy after this to cover the crappy bits of my hair and it still looks perfect after a month. If you're using this on natural or only slightly damaged hair I'd consider giving this the benefit of the doubt. I used this in the old (liquid) formulation for years on my natural dark brown hair without complaint.

*** ORIGINAL REVIEW ***

I used this product in the shade Chocolate (535). This is meant to be a warm medium brown.

My hair is severely bleached, which I followed up with repair and moisture treatments, a neutral blonde filler, a further light brown colour as a base for red, then semi permanent red (directions) which had all but washed out when I applied this. The shade I chose is about one shade lighter than my natural hair, with about an inch of roots growing through. As my hair is quite porous I chose a slightly lighter shade, as if I dye it using my natural shade, it goes black.

Prior to using this product, my semi permanent red had washed out leaving only a horrible washed out pink patch at the roots, which I wanted to cover. Also, from having the warm tones stripped from my hair, my previous brown permanent dye was starting to look on the greenish, greyish, muddy washed out side. Not good. I chose the warm brown for this reason.

The colour came out absolutely beautiful, exactly the same shade as my roots, a medium warm brown. My hair is now evenly coloured although it doesn't look blocky. All great so far.

There are no indications on the box about using this on previously coloured hair. My hair was pretty crispy afterwards, but I'd expect this with any colour. My roots were perfectly soft and shiny, so take this comment with a pinch of salt. I've been using Casting for 15 years in its various forms, and it always made my natural hair feel lovely.

The packaging is an absolute load of ****!! This is the only colour I've used which doesn't have a flat-bottomed bottle. There's a fiddly hole you can cut out of the box to sit the bottle in, but when you pick it up again with gloved hands covered in dye, the box comes with the bottle. I ended up throwing it in the sink to keep it at peace. Be prepared for a bit of cleaning!

Overall, apart from the stupid bottle, I'd use this again. I want to grow my hair for a while so I can start getting highlights again, and wouldn't hesitate to use this again to cover over previously dyed hair, because of the beautiful colour result, despite other temporary drawbacks.


on 9/12/2011 6:46:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

In its natural state, my hair is curly (2C) with a halo of frizz, mid to dark brown with pure white hairs beginning to show at the crown, coarse textured, dry as the nun's proverbial, and quite thin. My wet ponytail resembles a hillbilly rat's tail, but when it's dry it can pouff to gargantuan proportions.

Permanents have taken a spectacular toll on my already damaged barnet. To remedy this, I recently I invested in the L'Oreal Professionel Cellular Repair shampoo and conditioner and it has been getting softer and shinier with every wash. Hurrah! I decided it was time to go down the semi-permanent route to minimise damage. My goal is to soften my hair with product so I can wean myself off the irons.

I went to the supermarket and the ONLY semi on the shelves was L'Oreal Casting Gloss. I wanted a cool-toned mid-brown and chose 'Brownie' This was my first error. I should have gone lighter because this stuff runs a lot darker than the box shade.

It was a pleasure to mix and apply, because the packaging and accessories have been well thought out to prevent mess. You make a hole using perforations along the side of the box and stick the colour bottle in it, which keeps it steady while you tip the developer into the colour bottle. The gloves were internal examination style latex. This is appreciated. I have attempted to use what seem to be plastic mittens that come with other brands.

The mixture was easy to spread through my hair and rinsed out cleanly. The Casting conditioner was a heavy, rich texture with an overwhelming fruity scent. The slip was brilliant and I was looking forward to swingy, shiny hair once dry.

Dry was the operative word after this. An hour later, my hair appeared to be exploding from my scalp with the texture of a rough-housed Barbie's. A charred dandelion puff has more definition. I couldn't get a brush through it at first and when I did, it rained broken hairs. What was left on the carpet would have made a serviceable blackbird's nest.

As for colour, 'Black Cherry' would be a better description of the initial result than 'Brownie'. This is to be expected with porous hair, but three washes later the only fading has been on the damned white hairs I was trying to cover in the first place. They are white again! It has pulled a strong red undertone which isn't especially flattering to my skintone (deathly pale, freckles).

In summary, I hated this and it made my hair look like shit. Proceed with caution.

Edit: Two weeks later and my hair is distinctly orange in sunlight. It looks... trashy. Sigh!

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.


on 9/4/2011 1:04:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I used to be Garnier Nutrisse hairdye girl but I switched to L'Oreal when I saw that Cheryl Cole (for those in the UK) was now advertising :-P could not resist one bit! I use 323 Dark Chocolate on my own hair and on my extensions. I only wash my hair extensions around twice a month and I've not dyed them for about a year and the colour is still as strong. However, on my own hair the colour fades pretty quickly (due to my very long and frequent showers no doubt) which means I have to re-dye after a couple of months for my own hair to match my extensions. Bit of a faff, but it's so easy to do and I don't see or feel any signs of damage. I would definitely recommend, my hair is super soft and shiny after using it (sounds like an advert lol) and continues to stay that way for a good few weeks. X


on 8/24/2011 12:18:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

purchased this in 613 (iced mocha)

this was meant to have more ashen tones but it's come out very golden, totally not what i was going for. like others have said, this ran dark on my hair despite following all directions carefully. a dark brown with very bright golden tones. i am NOT happy about this.



it was easy enough to apply and did not drip anywhere nor did it stain the skin or anywhere in the bathroom, which i guess is a plus. the hair color itself smelled better than the conditioner that came with it (that conditioner smells like a bad perm, EW!)


hair is straw-like now as where before it was very soft and manageable.


will not repurchase as the color "results" are not worth the waste of money or time.


1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.




Back to Top