L'Oreal • Casting Creme Gloss • Hair Color

rated 3.4(146 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.63%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 Dozhug on 8/23/2011 2:17:00 AM more reviews by Dozhug

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I have been using this for about two years after finally realising that using permanant hair colours was destroying my hair (I was a little slow on the uptake). Casting creme gloss has no ammonia which sold it for me.

I've tried just about every shade of brown in the range from light brown to dark chocolate (currently settled on medium brown) and have been pretty impressed with most shades.

Application is fairly easy, mix it up, apply and let develop for 20 minutes, unless you have bad regrowth. The only annoying thing is the bottle. It doesn't have a flat bottom so you have to make a hole in the box and sit in in that. Its too fussy.

My hair usually feels fairly soft after I dye it, as soft as you can expect considering what you've just put it through. The colour always turns out just a little darker than expected but usually fades to the proper shade after the first wash. With the right colour preserving shampoo I can go a month before I need to do a touch up so i'm happy with that.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 claudia1408 on 8/18/2011 2:51:00 AM more reviews by claudia1408

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I got this in CHOCOLATE BROWNIE because i had previously dyed my hair red and it didn't suit me so i decided to go back to my natural colour. This was perfect! The shade was very close to my own and it covered all the red so i wasn't left with any red tones! Also it smells great and it made my hair really smooth and shiny. I have yet to see how long it lasts but so far it gets the thumbs up for me!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 undyingfashionvictim on 8/14/2011 2:40:00 PM more reviews by undyingfashionvictim

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Hello! I just picked up the colour - 412 ICED COCOA. I had previously scoured the internet for reviews on this colour but only came up with 'iced chocolate' and the likes. Useless! So here I am, writing the first (maybe) review about this colour, how brave I was.

First of all, the colour IS GORGEOUS. I have naturally red hair, and very pale skin with freckles. Despite my mom almost crying that I was going to dye my hair (you have no idea how many 'booooo's I got from friends and family!) I decided I wanted to go a VERY dark brown. Imagine a little square of dark chocolate, then go a little darker. Yes, so almost black but not. Queue ICED COCOA. I left it in for 15 minutes and have a beautiful, cool toned (thank god, I didn't want any of my red/gold tones coming through!) and indeed 'Iced' dark dark dark brown hair colour. I assume if I left it on for 20 minutes it very well could have gone black. Which I don't mind and may do next time. It was very easy to apply, the colour is great for me (pink cheeks with yellow undertones on skin, this will rock your world)

I have yet to comment on lasting power, but let me tell you...the conditioner is just delish! Smells great and softens hair very well.

Side Note: I have used 'Amber' previously on my natural red hair and it went a dark auburn, not cute on me. Juss sayin', beware.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sikandria on 7/25/2011 7:18:00 PM more reviews by sikandria

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is a review for Castings creme gloss in chesnut honey-on my medium brown (COLOURED) hair this will show up as a medium reddish brown lil darker than the picture on the box.
Its easy to apply and takes 20 mins of development time which cos im so impatient is tolerable for me -just!
I have to say tho it does fade within about 12 days,i find myself reapplying every 2 weeks or so,yea i know terrible for the hair,my hair is quite resiliant so im ok with that ,creme gloss leaves my hair in a good condition but only if i dont use the conditioner that comes with it straight away,i use my own any one wil do.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Miffny on 7/12/2011 10:47:00 AM more reviews by Miffny

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

I have heavily foil bleached hair with tinted level 10 roots .I'm naturally dark blonde & I throw a lot of orange/gold and purchased Glossy Blondes in Light Pearl Blonde 1021 to get rid of the orange tones in my hair it was on sale in Kmart for $10.00 so I had nothing much to lose except the yellow gold tinge. This was my first time using L'Oreal Glossy Blondes Casting Creme Gloss as I thought it's a semi can't hurt my fine already tortured hair....well first off it is NOT a semi it has 25volume peroxide so be careful with it, it lightened my re-growth by a good full 2 shades & even though my hair was terribly dry it was the most beautiful pearl blonde very cool totally banished any brassiness.

Next time I am going to use it on damp hair as I didn't the first time as I somehow missed that info in the instructions .

All in all the colour is beautiful I will be purchasing again as I called the L'Oreal advisory as 1 box is too much for roots & was advised I can use 1/2 the tube to a little over 1/2 the peroxide mix for touch ups.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ArretezCharlotte on 5/30/2011 1:25:00 PM more reviews by ArretezCharlotte

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Somewhere around the January 2010 mark (I was about 18 and a half, anyway) I bought this stuff in a brown-black colour with a view to - you guessed it - dying my hair. By some miracle, I decided to break from tradition and actually perform the allergy test, which youthful recklessness and assumptions of immortality had always prevented me from carrying out hitherto. I put the stuff on my inner arm and for a short while, didn't give it a second thought.


I never actually got to apply the dye, because within hours, I was not only covered in dermatitis from head to toe, but all my lymph node zones (inner breasts, groin, back of neck on both sides, etc.) had broken out in repulsive, cavernous sores. I honestly looked like I had the plague. The really strange part was that even when left completely alone, some of these sores actually scarred (and normally I heal at a positively creepy rate, I actually got a 2nd-3rd borderline degree burn from boiling water that healed WITH NO SCAR in a fortnight).


My skin has honestly never been the same since. I wouldn't say it was exactly 'tough' before - I am, after all, still a spring chicken really - but it was never what I would describe as especially sensitive, other than to the sun. Now, almost anything breaks me out in eczema - a condition that I stopped suffering from at 2 years old.


Before you use this, or any other commercial dark or dark red dye, please do some reading up on the chemical PPD, which as far as I'm concerned is so evil that it's probably the 8th horcrux of Lord Voldemort. What so surprised me is that the concentration of the chemical in this product is so high, when it's a semi-permanent colourant! Normally, PPD levels in semi-permanent dyes are negligable in comparison and in some more natural brands (even natural brands are generally forced to use tiny amounts of PPD in the black dyes for them to work), there is no PPD at all in the semi-permanent dyes. There is absolutely no need to have this sheer concentration of toxic crap in a semi-permanent hair colourant.


Even if it produced a positively godly result on the hair, it wouldn't be worth it. I've been left with a lifelong sensitivity purely by TESTING a product on my wrist that contains a chemical to which I wasn't even allergic previously! I really would like to feel I've at least made an attempt to put people off taking this kind of gamble. It's easy to assume that because you're one of the lucky majority who can use it with no instantly visible ill effects, that no harm's been done and the project is 'gentle'. Not so - in researching the dangers of PPD, the medical profession has actually found a topic (for once!) that they all unanimously agree on - this stuff is poison, end of. I know that there are carcinogens and allergens and all sorts of other rubbish in 75% of the products out there, but the problems that PPD causes are not only very serious, but frequently immediate (see: all the cases of people's heads swelling up like the elephant man suddenly when they've used the same product umpteen times before), and solidly documented by medical research. It's not worth it, guys.

16 out of 21 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Lelloism on 5/15/2011 2:52:00 PM more reviews by Lelloism

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Being a natural blonde, I use the Glossy Blondes line of casting creme gloss, shade number 1010, the anti-brasiness one. I have been on and off on dying my hair myself, constantly going back to Toni&Guy because I was not satisfied with the yellow-ish outcome EACH brand has given me so far. Until I found this.

I do use another haircolour a few days before using this. It doesn't matter which one, as long as it's light blond and cheap (mostly I buy the cheapest one I can find, 1.80euros.), after all, it's the first treatment and a good one will go over it to fix the colour.

This one is easy to apply and smells rather good! It indeed gives a nice light blonde shade without the brasiness. Usually when I dye my hair I need to use a silver-shampoo right after dying it, but that is rendered unnecessary with this one. Also the hydrating cream that comes along smells awesome and really detangles my hair perfectly, making it smooth and shiny, I wish they would produce conditioners with that scent :)

The anti-yellow effect isn't permanent though. After a few weeks it starts to get yellow again but I find that Loreal expert shine blonde shampoo is the perfect sollution without making your hair look purple. And mostly by the time it starts getting yellow again, it needs to be dyed again anyhow.

The packaging is very practical and easy to use, only wish the gloves were of better quality.

I would definitely recommend this to any blonde who wants a few shades lighter and personally would definitely buy it again: easy to use, good coverage, nice smell, reasonably priced (15euros), permanent colouring that doesn't fade when washing, makes the anti-yellow promise come true. Next time I'm planning to try a few shades darker, hopefully I'll be as content with that one as with this.

A 4 for overall rating because it works better when used after a blonde treatment. On its own it works good too, but doesn't get as light as the package promises.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bracken2004 on 5/9/2011 9:16:00 AM more reviews by bracken2004

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought the shade MediumBrown. The colour came out a bit too dark on my hair, but it's ok, as my natural clour is quite dark brown. I found colour easy to apply, and it wasn't messy or drippy and it didn't stain the bath. It was also easy to rinse out. It does smell quite strong, but not too awful. My hair didn't feel too bad afterwards, a little coarse(my hair is curly) and it looks nice and shiny. The colour looks a little bit lighter on the top of my head(where i have a few greys) but apart from that, the colour is uniform. When I was choosing which colour, I was wondering whether to buy the Light Brown shade, but the colour on the box looked rather unnatractive, and I also looked at the Iced brown/chocolate shade, but I was worried it might be a little too warm and come out red on me. But I may try Light Brown next time and see what happens...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nesslee on 4/15/2011 6:29:00 PM more reviews by nesslee

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

compared to the previous version (l'oreal casting), the idea of having smth less liquid is good, and the packaging is more practical: i can use half of it and save the other half for later use. BUT its not worth the money because if you are dark haired and want to cover some white hair, its not efficient. it smells extremely chemical even after you rinse it and doesnt add any shine whatsoever. so, ill go back to the previous more liquid version.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BigEars on 4/8/2011 5:46:00 PM more reviews by BigEars

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I have highlighted hair which gets quite dark at the roots so I need a base colour. I started using Casting Light Iced Blonde when I could not get to a salon and my roots were showing. This colour lightens my own colour by a couple of shades and tones down any brassiness in my highlights. I now find I do not need to visit the salon so often, so I save and the condition is good. I would recommend this for anyone in the same position. Also the conditioner that comes with it is brilliant. if you have long hair like me, you will need two boxes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Oreal products

More Hair Color products