L'Oreal Casting Creme Gloss

3.4

152 reviews

63% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 10/5/2011 8:08:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Ohh I hated this!! It smells horrible and really irritated my scalp (yes I did an allergy test). But the results... First of all it left my hair in a really dry and frizzy condition, like something from a bad permenant dye, where was the gloss? My hair looked way healthy before. But the colour! I used the shade iced blonde(910) on my already pre-bleached hair and wanted to use this to tone some of my brassy orange tones a bit. It sent my hair ACID YELLOW. Like canary yellow with a strong hint of green. I felt and looked horrid. I know that colour faults are usually a problem with the user choice and the adding a darker dye does seem to be more successful... but it really upset my hair as well which was not that damaged to begin with.



on 9/23/2011 4:55:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

ok, my original hair color is dark brown , i started using praline but i didnt like the results very much , it was a nice change and did give me a lot of shine however the shimmer didnt accentuate my complexion colour nicely , it made me look quite pale , i am NC30 with yellow undertones.. so i switched to chocklate 535 and this one is perfect on me , it has somewhat copper shimmer which has always worked and matched my skin .. but it is not golden so be careful it is somewhat reddish copper .. however it is beautiful on me .. now why i gave it 4 not 5 is because the information advertised is not very accurate , this is a PERMENANAT COLOR i.e. it does lighten my hair , so when the roots come out it is darker and i do retouch only .. in the start i thought the colour did wash out completely after 3 months (28 washes) so i used to dye the whole length of my hair every time .. this damaged my hair completely coz i did that like 3 times i.e. dying the whole length of hair .. so doing that like 3 or 4 times caused my hair to fry !!! .. then i discovered that i should only retouch the roots , i changed my routine some two years ago but i i had to cut my long beautiful hair when it was completly dry and porous from too much dying.. now it is meduim length and in perfect condition but again when retouching hair you have to ONLY COLOUR THE ROOTS! cause this is a permenanat color .. if you want to add the same tonality / reflection then you can leave it on the whole length for 5-10 minutes only and have that done every 4 months or so ..


on 9/14/2011 5:38:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Edit 29/10/11: removed 1 lippy, from 4 to 3, as this "semi permanent" colour washed right out after one wash. Bear in mind my hair is heavily bleach damaged so finds it hard to hold colour, but for covering up and blending in a bad colour job this simply doesn't cut it. I used nice 'n' easy after this to cover the crappy bits of my hair and it still looks perfect after a month. If you're using this on natural or only slightly damaged hair I'd consider giving this the benefit of the doubt. I used this in the old (liquid) formulation for years on my natural dark brown hair without complaint.

*** ORIGINAL REVIEW ***

I used this product in the shade Chocolate (535). This is meant to be a warm medium brown.

My hair is severely bleached, which I followed up with repair and moisture treatments, a neutral blonde filler, a further light brown colour as a base for red, then semi permanent red (directions) which had all but washed out when I applied this. The shade I chose is about one shade lighter than my natural hair, with about an inch of roots growing through. As my hair is quite porous I chose a slightly lighter shade, as if I dye it using my natural shade, it goes black.

Prior to using this product, my semi permanent red had washed out leaving only a horrible washed out pink patch at the roots, which I wanted to cover. Also, from having the warm tones stripped from my hair, my previous brown permanent dye was starting to look on the greenish, greyish, muddy washed out side. Not good. I chose the warm brown for this reason.

The colour came out absolutely beautiful, exactly the same shade as my roots, a medium warm brown. My hair is now evenly coloured although it doesn't look blocky. All great so far.

There are no indications on the box about using this on previously coloured hair. My hair was pretty crispy afterwards, but I'd expect this with any colour. My roots were perfectly soft and shiny, so take this comment with a pinch of salt. I've been using Casting for 15 years in its various forms, and it always made my natural hair feel lovely.

The packaging is an absolute load of ****!! This is the only colour I've used which doesn't have a flat-bottomed bottle. There's a fiddly hole you can cut out of the box to sit the bottle in, but when you pick it up again with gloved hands covered in dye, the box comes with the bottle. I ended up throwing it in the sink to keep it at peace. Be prepared for a bit of cleaning!

Overall, apart from the stupid bottle, I'd use this again. I want to grow my hair for a while so I can start getting highlights again, and wouldn't hesitate to use this again to cover over previously dyed hair, because of the beautiful colour result, despite other temporary drawbacks.


on 9/12/2011 6:46:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

In its natural state, my hair is curly (2C) with a halo of frizz, mid to dark brown with pure white hairs beginning to show at the crown, coarse textured, dry as the nun's proverbial, and quite thin. My wet ponytail resembles a hillbilly rat's tail, but when it's dry it can pouff to gargantuan proportions.

Permanents have taken a spectacular toll on my already damaged barnet. To remedy this, I recently I invested in the L'Oreal Professionel Cellular Repair shampoo and conditioner and it has been getting softer and shinier with every wash. Hurrah! I decided it was time to go down the semi-permanent route to minimise damage. My goal is to soften my hair with product so I can wean myself off the irons.

I went to the supermarket and the ONLY semi on the shelves was L'Oreal Casting Gloss. I wanted a cool-toned mid-brown and chose 'Brownie' This was my first error. I should have gone lighter because this stuff runs a lot darker than the box shade.

It was a pleasure to mix and apply, because the packaging and accessories have been well thought out to prevent mess. You make a hole using perforations along the side of the box and stick the colour bottle in it, which keeps it steady while you tip the developer into the colour bottle. The gloves were internal examination style latex. This is appreciated. I have attempted to use what seem to be plastic mittens that come with other brands.

The mixture was easy to spread through my hair and rinsed out cleanly. The Casting conditioner was a heavy, rich texture with an overwhelming fruity scent. The slip was brilliant and I was looking forward to swingy, shiny hair once dry.

Dry was the operative word after this. An hour later, my hair appeared to be exploding from my scalp with the texture of a rough-housed Barbie's. A charred dandelion puff has more definition. I couldn't get a brush through it at first and when I did, it rained broken hairs. What was left on the carpet would have made a serviceable blackbird's nest.

As for colour, 'Black Cherry' would be a better description of the initial result than 'Brownie'. This is to be expected with porous hair, but three washes later the only fading has been on the damned white hairs I was trying to cover in the first place. They are white again! It has pulled a strong red undertone which isn't especially flattering to my skintone (deathly pale, freckles).

In summary, I hated this and it made my hair look like shit. Proceed with caution.

Edit: Two weeks later and my hair is distinctly orange in sunlight. It looks... trashy. Sigh!

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.


on 9/4/2011 1:04:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I used to be Garnier Nutrisse hairdye girl but I switched to L'Oreal when I saw that Cheryl Cole (for those in the UK) was now advertising :-P could not resist one bit! I use 323 Dark Chocolate on my own hair and on my extensions. I only wash my hair extensions around twice a month and I've not dyed them for about a year and the colour is still as strong. However, on my own hair the colour fades pretty quickly (due to my very long and frequent showers no doubt) which means I have to re-dye after a couple of months for my own hair to match my extensions. Bit of a faff, but it's so easy to do and I don't see or feel any signs of damage. I would definitely recommend, my hair is super soft and shiny after using it (sounds like an advert lol) and continues to stay that way for a good few weeks. X


on 8/24/2011 12:18:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

purchased this in 613 (iced mocha)

this was meant to have more ashen tones but it's come out very golden, totally not what i was going for. like others have said, this ran dark on my hair despite following all directions carefully. a dark brown with very bright golden tones. i am NOT happy about this.



it was easy enough to apply and did not drip anywhere nor did it stain the skin or anywhere in the bathroom, which i guess is a plus. the hair color itself smelled better than the conditioner that came with it (that conditioner smells like a bad perm, EW!)


hair is straw-like now as where before it was very soft and manageable.


will not repurchase as the color "results" are not worth the waste of money or time.


1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/24/2011 10:34:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This review is for the shade choclate brownie.

I got this on a two for 10 offer in boots a few months ago, I had only just dyed my hair auburn (Schwarzkopf salon style in frozen chestnut) and I loved the colour but three boxes later and there was still a couple of stubborn patches that would not take the dye at all. I wasn't specifically looking for this but it caught my eye and seeing that it looked EXACTLY like the schwarzkopf colour and that it was on offer I thought I would try and cover the patches with this instead.

seeing as the patches were scattered around my head I went ahead with the usual full head application and left it on for the recommened amount of time (I can't remember what that was 20 or 30 minutes I think.) The conditioner was the same size and packaging of the garnier nutrisse conditioners and smelt lovely.

This dye left my hair so soft and so shiny but far too dark, before I used it my hair was auburn, more red than brown. But this made it go dark brown/black with a reddish tint in the light. Nothing like the colour on the box. Needless to say I was fairly upset by this. The only good thing is that my hair was back to auburn in no time as it washed out after about 4 washes even with colour protect shampoo and conditioner, overall a very poor quality product.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 8/23/2011 2:17:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I have been using this for about two years after finally realising that using permanant hair colours was destroying my hair (I was a little slow on the uptake). Casting creme gloss has no ammonia which sold it for me.

I've tried just about every shade of brown in the range from light brown to dark chocolate (currently settled on medium brown) and have been pretty impressed with most shades.

Application is fairly easy, mix it up, apply and let develop for 20 minutes, unless you have bad regrowth. The only annoying thing is the bottle. It doesn't have a flat bottom so you have to make a hole in the box and sit in in that. Its too fussy.

My hair usually feels fairly soft after I dye it, as soft as you can expect considering what you've just put it through. The colour always turns out just a little darker than expected but usually fades to the proper shade after the first wash. With the right colour preserving shampoo I can go a month before I need to do a touch up so i'm happy with that.


on 8/18/2011 2:51:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I got this in CHOCOLATE BROWNIE because i had previously dyed my hair red and it didn't suit me so i decided to go back to my natural colour. This was perfect! The shade was very close to my own and it covered all the red so i wasn't left with any red tones! Also it smells great and it made my hair really smooth and shiny. I have yet to see how long it lasts but so far it gets the thumbs up for me!


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

Hello! I just picked up the colour - 412 ICED COCOA. I had previously scoured the internet for reviews on this colour but only came up with 'iced chocolate' and the likes. Useless! So here I am, writing the first (maybe) review about this colour, how brave I was.

First of all, the colour IS GORGEOUS. I have naturally red hair, and very pale skin with freckles. Despite my mom almost crying that I was going to dye my hair (you have no idea how many 'booooo's I got from friends and family!) I decided I wanted to go a VERY dark brown. Imagine a little square of dark chocolate, then go a little darker. Yes, so almost black but not. Queue ICED COCOA. I left it in for 15 minutes and have a beautiful, cool toned (thank god, I didn't want any of my red/gold tones coming through!) and indeed 'Iced' dark dark dark brown hair colour. I assume if I left it on for 20 minutes it very well could have gone black. Which I don't mind and may do next time. It was very easy to apply, the colour is great for me (pink cheeks with yellow undertones on skin, this will rock your world)

I have yet to comment on lasting power, but let me tell you...the conditioner is just delish! Smells great and softens hair very well.

Side Note: I have used 'Amber' previously on my natural red hair and it went a dark auburn, not cute on me. Juss sayin', beware.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Popular Hair Color Products


Olia
367 Reviews
Colorsilk
709 Reviews
Back to Top