Jonathan Silky Dirt

3.9

130 reviews

73% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water (Aqua), Cyclopentasiloxane, Cetearyl Alcohol, Vegetable Oil (Olus), Propylene Glycol, Tribehenin, Ceteareth-25, PEG-35 Castor Oil, Cyclohexasiloxane, VP/VA Copolymer, Tridecyl Stearate, Alcohol Denat., Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter), Fragrance (Parfum), Dipentaerythrityl Hexacaprylate/Hexacaprate, Synthetic Beeswax, Tridecyl Trimellitate, Polyglyceryl-3 Diisostearate, Polyglyceryl-2 Dipolyhydroxystearate, Phenyl Trimethicone, Dimethiconol, Hydrolyzed Soy Protein, Hydrolyzed Sweet Almond Protein, Glycerin, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Extract, Hydrogenated Coco-Glycerides, Irvingia Gabonensis Kernel Butter, Octyldodecanol, Cucumis Sativus (Cucumber) Fruit Water, Rosa Centifolia Flower Water, Camellia Sinensis (White Tea) Leaf Extract, Prunus Amygdalus Dulcis (Sweet Almond) Fruit Extract, Prunus Amygdalus Dulcis (Sweet Almond) Seed Extract, Cymbopogon Schoenanthus (Lemongrass) Extract, Gardenia Tahitensis (Tahitian Gardenia) Flower Extract, Punica Granatum (Pomegranate) Extract, Citrus Grandis (Grapefruit) Fruit Extract, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Extract, Ocimum Basilicum (Basil) Extract, Glyceryl Oleate, Euphorbia Cerifera (Candelilla) Wax (Candelilla Cera), Hydrogenated Vegetable Oil, Triethanolamine, Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Tetrasodium EDTA, Benzophenone-3, Pentaerythrityl Tetra-di-t-butyl Hydroxyhydrocinnamate, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Butylparaben, Ethylparaben, Propylparaben, Mica (CI 77019), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Benzyl Benzoate, Benzyl Alcohol, Limonene.


on 11/21/2007 4:43:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is my HG of hair care products. I have wavy/frizzy hair that has been impossible to manage all of my life. I got this product as part of a product test...and I am so glad I did. I use just a little of this product after I towel dry my hair, before blow-drying it straight. First of all, the smell is terrific :) But beyond that...my hair looks amazing! My hair is smoother, shinier, and has more body. I would pay any amount of money for this product...it is THAT good! Just be careful not to work too much of it into your roots because that will make your hair look greasy. I gave samples to both my mom and sister because I liked it so much...and they both ran out and bought it for themselves (and we all have fairly different hair types...my mom's hair is stick straight and my sister's hair is curly but not at all frizzy). So, just to let you know, it works for many hair types.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.



on 10/30/2007 2:22:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I actually really, really like this product. I took one point off for the price. Kind of expensive, but I use so little of this per application that I think It will probably last a year.
I have fine hair that's a little past shoulder length and has a bit of a wave. Sometimes I flat iron though. I just use the tiniest amount rubbed between my fingers then spread on mid to ends of hair. That gives me that piece-y, sort of funky look I sometimes want. You can easily brush through it though and it just gives hair more body.
I will re-buy this, although it will probably be months from now.


on 10/20/2007 5:27:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I like this product; I have very straight hair, and this makes my hair appear as if it is in perfect condition -- even when it's not (from hair drying or being too long between salon visits.) I rub a tiny dab between my palms and rub it through my hair when it's still damp, then blow-dry it. It's sort of perfect for me -- I can't even say it's expensive, because the one tube will last me forever -- but I remove one lippie because when I use too much, the cake-like smell bothers me. Too sweet-smelling; other than that, perfection.


on 10/14/2007 9:40:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I went out and bought this product because of all of the wonderful things I've heard about it from friends and reviews. However I really feel like it does nothing for me. I have long layered hair that tends to frizz on humid, hot days. It is expensive but you only need a little dab, so it should last awhile.
The smell is wonderful. That's about all that's good. Alas, in the LONG search of the perfect product this is NOT it and I don't plan on repurchasing.


on 10/11/2007 11:05:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

MMMM..Smells so good! Really nice for smoothing hair and adding some texture. You only need a very small amount. It will last a long time!


on 9/23/2007 8:49:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Violet

the way i use this product is apply it to damp hair and comb it very well , then let my hair air dry. The result is beautiful body and smooth hair,


on 9/18/2007 10:49:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

This is such a weird product...when I put it in my weird (thick, frizzy, coarse, chinlength) hair while damp, I never know what's going to happen. Sometimes it makes my hair look bouncy and clean, other times it makes it look greasy and weighed down. The only factor I can attribute this to is humidity. This product does nothing in the face of humidity. But I love it because it smells like almonds and it does help keep my hair in place on non-humid days. Otherwise I use D:Fi pomade/wax, which is very similar but has a lot more hold. The price is ridiculous considering how much I have to use though...that is my main complaint. 3.5/5 lippies.

EDIT: I USE THIS EVERY DAY WHEN MY HAIR IS LONG ENOUGH TO TIE BACK - SEALS IN MOISTURE AND ALLOWS ME TO AIR DRY TIED BACK SO I CAN USE HOT ROLLERS LATER ON WHILE STILL LOOKING SILKY/MOISTURIZED. ONE LIPPIE MORE FOR JSD :P


on 8/28/2007 4:59:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've been through 2 tubes of this and I really like it. It doesn't have a strong smell and I can't really over do it. I used to use Bedhead Manipulator, but now that my hair is long, it can make me look a little too greasy. Silky Dirt gives my longer, bushy hair a bit more "mess" and control so I can give it the undone look I prefer. It helps my ponytail stay in place and gives enough grab for buns and other hairstyles. If you want something nice and neat, this isn't the product for you.


on 8/27/2007 5:44:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Phenomenal product especially with medium to long length hair. I used to use Dirt when my hair was a shorter length, but Silky Dirt is amazing for adding tons of shine and hold with my long layers. The smell is a bit unusual although pleasant. The only key is to use a little bit. If too much is used it has a tendency to make the hair greasy. A bit pricey, but then again, you don't have to use much to get fantastic results.


on 8/27/2007 1:32:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

As one other reviewer said, I agree that this stuff makes my first day hair look like second-day hair, which for me means it is still thick-looking yet shiny and smooth. And this is great for times when I really need my freshly showered hair to behave. Further, unlike many of the reviewers I rather liked the smell and I didn't find it to be greasy or to weigh my (long, thick, slightly frizzy) hair down.

My main gripe with it is that it makes my second-day hair look like first-day hair! Day two after using this, I wake up to slightly frizzy, dull hair, which is a bit of a bummer. I think this happens because Antin's Silky Dirt leaves behind a fair amount of build up -- I can feel it when I run my fingers through my hair. That said, though, I've found the problem of second-day dull, frizziness is nothing Paul Mitchell's Super Skinny Serum can't fix; not sure about the ideological soundness of solving product buildup with more product, but in my experience, a nice, thorough wash can absolve a world of hair sins.

It should also be noted that my issues with this product are not big enough to stop me from using or buying it again, because there are times when I really need the service it provides -- for instance, right now I just got out of the shower and I NEED my hair to look decent in a few hours and can't afford to wait for it to fix itself my tomorrow morning, in which case, Silky Dirt really does the trick.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Popular Styling Products


Potion 9
437 Reviews
Mythic Oil
47 Reviews


Back to Top