Lily Lolo Mineral Foundation (all shades)

3.8

174 reviews

74% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Mica, Zinc Oxide, Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides, Ultramarine Blue


on 11/20/2011 7:07:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Best foundation on the planet.



on 8/14/2011 8:30:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I have found nothing better than Lily Lolo, which I have been using for five years now. Every so often, I decide I'd like a change of pace... a new product that's easier to get in the States or the latest "It" foundation, but I have never been able to find a product as good as LL. I'm in the shade Porcelain. Finding foundation pale enough for me in the States is an enormous challenge and it seems the Brits get it right. It's not only the color that's perfect, though; everything from its buildable coverage, to its staying power, to its finish is spot on. I acquired VERY sensitive, acne-prone skin during my university years and this does not irritate my skin whatsoever. The trick to keeping it looking great all day is using it with the right moisturizer for your skin type, but I imagine that's true of any foundation. It doesn't need a primer to stay put 8+ hours. I use with sparing amounts LL's concealers in Blondie and Blush Away to cover hyperpigmentation and blemishes.


on 7/27/2011 5:18:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I was hoping this product to be at least as good as the cheaper brands, but I was disappointed. It is not milled finely enough and accentuates blemishes and even fine lines as it settles in them. The sifter boxes are a bit easier to use, as the have more wholes, but on the other hand this makes the powder prone to spilling if not stored vertically.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/5/2011 11:38:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Violet

my skin type: fair, combo, sensitive

here are some pros about Lily foundation:

it's very affordable and sheer

here are some cons about this foundation:

1. it itches (probably from their micas being chemically treated?) who knows
2. with it being sheer, it has zero coverage. It's great for people who have perfect skin . But if you have some imperfection like hyperpigmentation, freckles, zits, etc. you are going to be sorely disappointed.
3. Within a few hour, the whole thing just disappears. What ever little coverage has all vanish into thin air.


another fail mineral for me. I am sticking to lucy minerals for now

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 5/25/2011 3:23:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Don't let the pretentious name and cheap packaging put you off an otherwise very good foundation. Available in a range of colours, the excellent customer service team, who were very swift to resond to my query, should be able to advise you with regards to your best shade for your skin. Less expensive but containing more product than Bare Minerals, I was happy to have found a bit of a bargain.


My two complaints about this foundation are that the powder can be drying, or perhaps it serves to emphasise already dry skin - so blend, , blend, blend and secondly this product is not widely stocked so if you don't want to purchase from the internet you may have to put a bit of effort into tracking down a local stockist.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/15/2011 3:43:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I really loved this when I first got it, but after a week I couldn't avoid the fact that it was making my skin itch. I persisted because I really wanted to like it, but it just doesn't suit me. It has good and bad points. Its very matt, not shiny at all, does not settle and crease and completely covers my blemishes, but like the previous reviewer, I found it a bit dull looking and it clogged the pores on my nose. You can achieve good coverage with this and it gives great sun protection, but it is easy to put too much on and start looking a bit cakey or chalky. I am very fair skinned and find that Porcelain is a perfect match for my jawline area but looks too pale all over so I have to mix them a bit (its rare for a powder to be too pale for me). Blondie was too dark on its own. They have brought out another shade in between the two now, but I wont be buying it again because of the itching. Its also quite drying on the skin so you need a good moisturiser/primer underneath. Even though my skin can be a little oily I did develop a couple of dry areas on my cheeks. Samples are cheap so its definitely worth a try - if it suits you they have a great range of shades. The price is more reasonable than most natural brands, £12.50 for 10g and a little goes a long way. Ingredients: Mica, Zinc Oxide, Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides, Ultramarine Blue

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/16/2011 5:03:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Kinky, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Having truly sensitive and reactive skin I had high hopes for the Lily Lolo brand and tried several samples. My skin is fair and quite flawless except for when I try to use foundations - then my cheeks become patchy. With this product, and the blushes too, my skin itched and I developed red splotches. I also noticed it was slightly pore-clogging on the nose, and in addition to this, I found the finish rather dull and cakey in comparison to light liquid foundations or tinted moisturisers.
I had the same experience with Prestige's mineral foundation, so I suppose I just can't use this type of make up base.


on 4/14/2011 6:23:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I am on my third pot of this. Scroll down for my routine with this. Firstly, I am NW15-20, truly cool-toned pinkish pale blonde and I switch between Porcelain and Candy Cane. NOT Blondie which was recommended to me, but that's simply too dark and yellow. Be aware that this is concentrated stuff and you can easily get too much on your skin, which will make your skin look cakey.

What I love about this is the versatility. You can mix it with whatever you want and achieve many different looks. I have dry skin, so I moisturise first and most of the time simply buff this in like others have described. But that's not all.. In the summer I like to mix this with my sunscreen and a tiny drop of shimmering facial whip by ELF and stipple it on with a flat top brush. Hello, luminous summer skin! My suncreen makes it fix onto the skin and I tell you, it's longer lasting than Colorstay - but a lot easier to remove, thus a lot gentler on my skin.

In the winter I like to buff this into my skin while it's still moist from my moisturiser and spritz a little Avene thermal water on top during the day. When I do this, I get perfect skin without looking dry. But it's important to moisturise dry patches before you powder with this and don't buff around dry patches - it will only make them stand out more. Instead, mix a little with you moisturiser and conceal dry patches with that before you powder your entire face.

Oh, what I also love about this is that it has absolutely NO shimmer. You can mix it in if you like, but the foundation on its own is matte. And it comes off so easily! Perfect, if you ask me.

One lippie off ONLY because Lily Lolo stopped shipping to Denmark and directs Danish customers at an agent who charges like £40 a pot. Not gonna happen, Lily Lolo, shame on you for ditching your customers like that! I now buy this from feelunique.

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.


on 4/13/2011 6:39:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

complete edit!! This gives no coverage whatsoever, unless you have zero blemishes, pores or imperfections. It is so thick its very hard to apply without it caking. It wears off in a couple of hours. I have oily skin and bought 2 or 3 of these mineral foundations before finally realising it's not great at all.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I love this - it is my HG foundation for my oily, acne prone skin.

i have been using this for 2 years now, and used to mix Porcelain and Candy Cane to get my ideal shade, but I have found the new China Doll shade is just right for me.

The coverage is buildable and I often just load up the kabuki brush and buff right onto the face rather than building slowly. If it looks powdery I mist a little moisturising toner over the top, give it a minute or two and I have perfect looking, dewy skin!

It doesn't break me out and has really calmed my skin down. I often get compliments when wearing it. I also like that it has SPF. It doesn't specify what level is provided, but a lot of the ingredients are natural sunscreens so on top of my SPF15 moisturiser I feel I get a decent level of sun protection for the UK.

Downsides are that it can be messy, and it makes me look even paler than usual in photographs.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top