Lily Lolo Mineral Foundation (all shades)

3.8

170 reviews

73% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Mica, Zinc Oxide, Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides, Ultramarine Blue


on 5/25/2011 3:23:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Don't let the pretentious name and cheap packaging put you off an otherwise very good foundation. Available in a range of colours, the excellent customer service team, who were very swift to resond to my query, should be able to advise you with regards to your best shade for your skin. Less expensive but containing more product than Bare Minerals, I was happy to have found a bit of a bargain.


My two complaints about this foundation are that the powder can be drying, or perhaps it serves to emphasise already dry skin - so blend, , blend, blend and secondly this product is not widely stocked so if you don't want to purchase from the internet you may have to put a bit of effort into tracking down a local stockist.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 5/15/2011 3:43:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I really loved this when I first got it, but after a week I couldn't avoid the fact that it was making my skin itch. I persisted because I really wanted to like it, but it just doesn't suit me. It has good and bad points. Its very matt, not shiny at all, does not settle and crease and completely covers my blemishes, but like the previous reviewer, I found it a bit dull looking and it clogged the pores on my nose. You can achieve good coverage with this and it gives great sun protection, but it is easy to put too much on and start looking a bit cakey or chalky. I am very fair skinned and find that Porcelain is a perfect match for my jawline area but looks too pale all over so I have to mix them a bit (its rare for a powder to be too pale for me). Blondie was too dark on its own. They have brought out another shade in between the two now, but I wont be buying it again because of the itching. Its also quite drying on the skin so you need a good moisturiser/primer underneath. Even though my skin can be a little oily I did develop a couple of dry areas on my cheeks. Samples are cheap so its definitely worth a try - if it suits you they have a great range of shades. The price is more reasonable than most natural brands, £12.50 for 10g and a little goes a long way. Ingredients: Mica, Zinc Oxide, Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides, Ultramarine Blue

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/16/2011 5:03:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Kinky, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Having truly sensitive and reactive skin I had high hopes for the Lily Lolo brand and tried several samples. My skin is fair and quite flawless except for when I try to use foundations - then my cheeks become patchy. With this product, and the blushes too, my skin itched and I developed red splotches. I also noticed it was slightly pore-clogging on the nose, and in addition to this, I found the finish rather dull and cakey in comparison to light liquid foundations or tinted moisturisers.
I had the same experience with Prestige's mineral foundation, so I suppose I just can't use this type of make up base.


on 4/14/2011 6:23:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I am on my third pot of this. Scroll down for my routine with this. Firstly, I am NW15-20, truly cool-toned pinkish pale blonde and I switch between Porcelain and Candy Cane. NOT Blondie which was recommended to me, but that's simply too dark and yellow. Be aware that this is concentrated stuff and you can easily get too much on your skin, which will make your skin look cakey.

What I love about this is the versatility. You can mix it with whatever you want and achieve many different looks. I have dry skin, so I moisturise first and most of the time simply buff this in like others have described. But that's not all.. In the summer I like to mix this with my sunscreen and a tiny drop of shimmering facial whip by ELF and stipple it on with a flat top brush. Hello, luminous summer skin! My suncreen makes it fix onto the skin and I tell you, it's longer lasting than Colorstay - but a lot easier to remove, thus a lot gentler on my skin.

In the winter I like to buff this into my skin while it's still moist from my moisturiser and spritz a little Avene thermal water on top during the day. When I do this, I get perfect skin without looking dry. But it's important to moisturise dry patches before you powder with this and don't buff around dry patches - it will only make them stand out more. Instead, mix a little with you moisturiser and conceal dry patches with that before you powder your entire face.

Oh, what I also love about this is that it has absolutely NO shimmer. You can mix it in if you like, but the foundation on its own is matte. And it comes off so easily! Perfect, if you ask me.

One lippie off ONLY because Lily Lolo stopped shipping to Denmark and directs Danish customers at an agent who charges like £40 a pot. Not gonna happen, Lily Lolo, shame on you for ditching your customers like that! I now buy this from feelunique.

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.


on 4/13/2011 6:39:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

complete edit!! This gives no coverage whatsoever, unless you have zero blemishes, pores or imperfections. It is so thick its very hard to apply without it caking. It wears off in a couple of hours. I have oily skin and bought 2 or 3 of these mineral foundations before finally realising it's not great at all.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I love this - it is my HG foundation for my oily, acne prone skin.

i have been using this for 2 years now, and used to mix Porcelain and Candy Cane to get my ideal shade, but I have found the new China Doll shade is just right for me.

The coverage is buildable and I often just load up the kabuki brush and buff right onto the face rather than building slowly. If it looks powdery I mist a little moisturising toner over the top, give it a minute or two and I have perfect looking, dewy skin!

It doesn't break me out and has really calmed my skin down. I often get compliments when wearing it. I also like that it has SPF. It doesn't specify what level is provided, but a lot of the ingredients are natural sunscreens so on top of my SPF15 moisturiser I feel I get a decent level of sun protection for the UK.

Downsides are that it can be messy, and it makes me look even paler than usual in photographs.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

this is a really good foundation for my normal- oily/ combination skin. as many of us oily gal's out there i do fear shine/ shimmer/ "glow" but with this foundation the sheen on my skin and cheeks looks absolutley natural! i agree that this foundation do tend to get a bit oily after a couple of hours. BUT, i do set it with the MAC fix+ face mist and a great finishing powder (MAC prep+prime finishing powder, which is amazing!). this combination makes my skin look so good throughout the day. i got quite large pores/ stubborn blackheads and they seem to vanish completly. as the ingredients state this DOES'NT contain any talc which was the main reason i picked this up in the first place, just because i wanted to fight my blackheads not grow them.
i got this foundation in warm peach (perfect for my winter nc15-20 skin) and in the slightly darker shades popcorn and warm honey. so im all set for the spring and summer aswell :)

all and all; great product! will repurchase.

uppdate 12-03-04: i dont use this anymore since i discovered the laura mercier mineral loose foundation which is superior to this one. but i still think its is a good less pricey alternative to the LM. i changed my review to a 3 from 5 as i realized there is even better mineral foundation out here.


on 3/26/2011 2:18:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I LOVE this product! It is great for my skin which is currently very sensitive. The coverage is ok, not as heavy as I usually use but it covers most of my imperfections and I might try the concealers later to see if that helps with the rest. I bought several of the sample pots online to find my colour. It's really good for pale skin because they have a lot of different shades. Usually I am always the lightest shade in foundation but Porcelain was too light so I am using China Doll.

The down side is it didn't stay matte for very long (2 hours on my very oily t-zone) but I began to use Bare Minerals Mineral Veil finishing powder with it and it works perfectly. I will definitely buy this again! I have bought the kabuki and super powder brushes and might try some of the blushes soon! HG foundation!


on 3/20/2011 4:21:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This is just an average powder not HG status if ur looking for a decent coverage,natural looking and lasting power this powder is not for u well not for me anyway=(


on 3/5/2011 4:07:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Tried Lily Lolo since the delivery is faster than EM.
This is the first foundation, liquid or powder, that made my skin itch. First I thought it's because of mica, but since I can use EM without any reactions, and even Maybelline (that contains bismuth), without any reactions, I was perplexed.

One reason can be that I find the formula a bit dry for my dry skin, now during the winter.
My other guess is that LL contains Ultramarine blue, which is a synthetic pigment. Ultramarine blue is known to be irritant since it contains sulphur/sulfur and people are know to be allergic to this.

But I will give this one more try and see what happens.

Apart from the itchy reaction I did like the colour (China Doll) and it covers well (not as good as EM though).

UPDATE 15/3/2011: Will not use this again. Still itches when I use it and it's actually making my skin even mor dry. If it works for someone else, I'm happy for you. Doesn't work for me. At all.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top