Lily Lolo • Mineral Foundation • Foundations

rated 3.8(152 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 MichelleLS on 9/19/2010 9:03:00 AM more reviews by MichelleLS

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

ok the ratings I gave for this were based on it being used as a foundation. I don't like it as a foundation, it just doesn't do anything for me and my skin. I have tried it loads but I still prefer the Clinique powder or a liquid foundation, I think if you have perfect skin it would look great but if you have uneven skin with large pores and spots here and there, no.
HOWEVER... it is fab as a concealer. I buy the sample sizes (99p I think) and use a little eyeshadow brush and just brush it over my spots and it covers brilliantly and lasts a long time. Its the best concealer I've used and if I were reviewing this in the concealer section it would get 5 lippies!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 deviousisland on 9/5/2010 11:21:00 AM more reviews by deviousisland

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I came across Lily Lolo through YouTube quite some time ago. I ordered some samples, and found that the Porcelain foundation matched me perfectly. I stopped using it after a while, as I noticed that my skin was becoming drier and more sensitive - nothing to do with the foundation, I might add, it was all down to stress. I started using a liquid foundation in the hope of adding some more moisture to my skin. It didn't work. I have since discovered Dr Hauschka's product which have dramatically repaired my skin, so I have gone back to my beloved Lily Lolo foundation. It is an amazing product. It doesn't clog pores, or irritate my skin. The colour range is phenomenal, and the coverage is amazing. The only issue I have with it is it's staying power - it does tend to dissipate a little around lunchtime, but that can be easily fixed with a setting spray or just by simply buffing over it when it starts to move. LL also do a lovely range of blushes such as Ooh La La as well as eyeshadows.

Love, love, love it!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mcacusher on 8/7/2010 9:38:00 AM more reviews by mcacusher

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I'm the other side of forty with a combi skin (prone occasionally to breakouts) and an uneven skintone which swings between olive/tanned in Summer to sallow in Winter.
I read that some shades in Lily Lolo's mineral foundations range cater for those with a yellow skintone. Having spent twenty-plus years looking for the perfect match for just that and sampling oodles of products - with little success - I am delighted to say my search is over now I've found Lily Lolo.
I sent for their 'Saffron' & 'Popcorn' samples at very low cost and set about trying both out.
As it is Summer my skin has a slightly darker yellow/olive tone than usual so the Popcorn was a little light, but the Saffron was just perfect, so I plumped for a full size jar of this shade.
The best test I've found for a foundation is to apply it in really good daylight and then weigh up the colour 'match' between the jawline and neck. Saffron, for me, matches up well. Previous foundations I'd tried either made me look beige or orange, but this is no longer an issue.
I apply several light layers of the mineral foundation - building up gradually - and a little more to those areas of my skin that are lighter and more uneven in tone i.e. just below my cheekbones. As I have quite visible pores either side of my nose and spreading slightly toward my cheeks, I don't go too heavy with the brush around this area.
The phrase 'you can't make a silk purse out of a sow's ear' springs to mind when I say Lily Lolo mineral foundation hasn't prevented my breakouts, but it also hasn't exacerbated them either which is great.
The foundation feels nice on my skin and I haven't noticed any areas that have been prone to caking throughout the day. I do re-apply - not just buff - to keep it looking fresh.
I'm guessing from the amount I have used to date, this single jar of Saffron is going to last a year or so (I wear it approx. 3/4 days a week), although I may need to swap to the Popcorn shade for my sallow Winter skin colouring. At 12.00 a pop I'm quite happy to have two jars on my dressing table.
I would definitely recommend Lily Lolo Mineral Foundation - particularly to those with uneven or yellow pigments in their skin - and am pleased to have discovered their products....thanks to the fabulous Make Up Alley and its reviewers.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 LeahManc on 8/6/2010 6:10:00 AM more reviews by LeahManc

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I love LL! Candy Cane is as close as I have found to a HG yet... so why I decided to try Warm Peach I don't know... its totally too yellow, and I'm really regretting it! Candy Cane is wonderful though, and I will repurchase at some point, liking the Benefit one I'm using at the min though so sticking with that for now. One prob I have with this is that if not buffed properly it does cake up, thats more down to my application though!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bracken2004 on 8/1/2010 6:58:00 AM more reviews by bracken2004

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I have been using this product for about 3 years and I really recommend it. I have sensitive, rosacea skin, and this foundation doesn't irritate it at all. I don't find it drying or shiny, i'ts easy to apply and lasts well on the skin without the need to re-apply. They have a grreat choice of colours and you can buy samples to try out the different shades. Delivery is very quick and I recommend their kabuki brush too. I use Blondie and it looks very natural on my pale skin.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 skibunny on 7/20/2010 4:11:00 PM more reviews by skibunny

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

The fact that you can buy samples very cheaply is great as I had to buy 5 of them to get my shade! You cannot go by the pictures on the website.

I use Warm Peach and have been using it for 6 months with no bad reactions on my very sensitive skin.

I think the price of 12.00 (plus 2.00 postage) is reasonable as it seems to last a good while. Though I do not wear too much of it. If I put lots of it on, my face looks cakey and the make-up looks obvious and unflattering.

My pores do not seem to get clogged with it either (which happened when I was using BE mineral make-up).

It does not feel heavy on my skin - then again I do put a lot of it on each time. In fact, I put a very light layer on initially, then another layer with plenty of buffing with a kabuki brush. If you put lots on in one go, it looks cakey.

It looks good for a few hours, but as I have oily skin, my face looks shiney after a few hours. Re-buffing is then necessary.

Also, it doesn't seem to be long lasting. If I leave my face alone all day, there looks like there's significantly less make-up on.

But overall, I will continue to buy Lily Lolo as I have had no major problems with it and I don't mind re-buffing with a kabuki brush every few hours to fix up my face.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 FillerbunnyBuddy on 7/19/2010 3:05:00 PM more reviews by FillerbunnyBuddy

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

This foundation drove me crazy trying to find my shade. I think I must have ordered around 6 samples! However, I am new to makeup so that explains it. I settled on Popsicle because it matched the best, but it is not exact (I think I am NC40-ish) I don't want to mix foundations so this is good enough. I use a kabuki brush to buff it in and it works really well.

EDIT 1: I decided to mix Popsicle with a sample of Saffron to get a closer foundation match. (I will update once I've worn it)
EDIT 2: This foundation really isn't suited to drier skin at all, it grips dry skin. I'm on Roaccutane and I thought this would cover my dryness. When mixed with moisturiser it does an ok job though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 trollhassel on 7/8/2010 6:26:00 PM more reviews by trollhassel

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Have been using this foundation for about a year now and I LOVE it! I have sensitive skin both oily and dry and my skin looks flawless with the Lily Lolo foundation. It's not heavy coverage but it does cover my acne scars.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 prettycunning on 7/7/2010 11:45:00 AM more reviews by prettycunning

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I have tried my best to like this foundation - unfortunately I really don't. Lily Lolo is still an excellent company - I think their customer service is great for example, and I do like the idea of supporting a little British company, but this foundation is a definate no-no for me.

Great colour range, the porcelian is an excellent match for my super pale skin tone - and it is unfortunately rare for cosmetic companies to cater for the fairest of the fair. It claims to be ideal for problem skin - but unfortunately I did not find this was the case.

When I first tried it I had fairly clear skin with no obvious breakouts - I found the coverage fine and was quite impressed, another plus is it doesnt tend to rub off on clothes or people, but application can get very messy. I used the Lily Lolo foundation brush to apply and buff, but although the brush is very soft, this really seemed to irritate my skin!

When I checked my reflection nearing the end of the day however - most of the coverage had vanished, and in other places seemed to have caked (around the nose especially!)

Never one to give up without a fight though, I recently tried it again while experiencing a very bad skin day. The powder may be good for covering a minor flush or pinkness - but it is USELESS when it comes to disguising a serious breakout, so this is definately on my list now of 'do not wants'.


2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Slanesha on 6/29/2010 9:15:00 PM more reviews by Slanesha

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This foundation as they call it, is a nice product which works pretty well. It covers up red skin (due to irritation etc.) nicely and leaves the skin looking like there was no make-up on at all. Doesn't keep skin matte for long, though, so those with very oily skin might wanna use some mattifying powder with this.
What it doesn't do is cover up those nasty red-purple(ish) acne scars. So for those who want a lot of coverage and don't wanna use concealers, should probably try another product.
And about the shades; really the best thing to do is to buy atleast 2 different shades cause the shades really look different irl than on the screen.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Lily Lolo products

More Foundations products