Lily Lolo Mineral Foundation (all shades)

3.8

166 reviews

72% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Mica, Zinc Oxide, Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides, Ultramarine Blue


on 4/13/2011 6:39:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

complete edit!! This gives no coverage whatsoever, unless you have zero blemishes, pores or imperfections. It is so thick its very hard to apply without it caking. It wears off in a couple of hours. I have oily skin and bought 2 or 3 of these mineral foundations before finally realising it's not great at all.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I love this - it is my HG foundation for my oily, acne prone skin.

i have been using this for 2 years now, and used to mix Porcelain and Candy Cane to get my ideal shade, but I have found the new China Doll shade is just right for me.

The coverage is buildable and I often just load up the kabuki brush and buff right onto the face rather than building slowly. If it looks powdery I mist a little moisturising toner over the top, give it a minute or two and I have perfect looking, dewy skin!

It doesn't break me out and has really calmed my skin down. I often get compliments when wearing it. I also like that it has SPF. It doesn't specify what level is provided, but a lot of the ingredients are natural sunscreens so on top of my SPF15 moisturiser I feel I get a decent level of sun protection for the UK.

Downsides are that it can be messy, and it makes me look even paler than usual in photographs.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

this is a really good foundation for my normal- oily/ combination skin. as many of us oily gal's out there i do fear shine/ shimmer/ "glow" but with this foundation the sheen on my skin and cheeks looks absolutley natural! i agree that this foundation do tend to get a bit oily after a couple of hours. BUT, i do set it with the MAC fix+ face mist and a great finishing powder (MAC prep+prime finishing powder, which is amazing!). this combination makes my skin look so good throughout the day. i got quite large pores/ stubborn blackheads and they seem to vanish completly. as the ingredients state this DOES'NT contain any talc which was the main reason i picked this up in the first place, just because i wanted to fight my blackheads not grow them.
i got this foundation in warm peach (perfect for my winter nc15-20 skin) and in the slightly darker shades popcorn and warm honey. so im all set for the spring and summer aswell :)

all and all; great product! will repurchase.

uppdate 12-03-04: i dont use this anymore since i discovered the laura mercier mineral loose foundation which is superior to this one. but i still think its is a good less pricey alternative to the LM. i changed my review to a 3 from 5 as i realized there is even better mineral foundation out here.


on 3/26/2011 2:18:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I LOVE this product! It is great for my skin which is currently very sensitive. The coverage is ok, not as heavy as I usually use but it covers most of my imperfections and I might try the concealers later to see if that helps with the rest. I bought several of the sample pots online to find my colour. It's really good for pale skin because they have a lot of different shades. Usually I am always the lightest shade in foundation but Porcelain was too light so I am using China Doll.

The down side is it didn't stay matte for very long (2 hours on my very oily t-zone) but I began to use Bare Minerals Mineral Veil finishing powder with it and it works perfectly. I will definitely buy this again! I have bought the kabuki and super powder brushes and might try some of the blushes soon! HG foundation!


on 3/20/2011 4:21:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This is just an average powder not HG status if ur looking for a decent coverage,natural looking and lasting power this powder is not for u well not for me anyway=(


on 3/5/2011 4:07:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Tried Lily Lolo since the delivery is faster than EM.
This is the first foundation, liquid or powder, that made my skin itch. First I thought it's because of mica, but since I can use EM without any reactions, and even Maybelline (that contains bismuth), without any reactions, I was perplexed.

One reason can be that I find the formula a bit dry for my dry skin, now during the winter.
My other guess is that LL contains Ultramarine blue, which is a synthetic pigment. Ultramarine blue is known to be irritant since it contains sulphur/sulfur and people are know to be allergic to this.

But I will give this one more try and see what happens.

Apart from the itchy reaction I did like the colour (China Doll) and it covers well (not as good as EM though).

UPDATE 15/3/2011: Will not use this again. Still itches when I use it and it's actually making my skin even mor dry. If it works for someone else, I'm happy for you. Doesn't work for me. At all.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


on 2/27/2011 9:17:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

First off i want to start by saying they have great customer service. They are almost like Alima minus the 3 free samples.

On to the foundation: The color that matched me was Blondie, and I am nc 20, maybe lighter in winter months. the coverage was lacking in comparison to Alima, and my face was oily after 1-2 hrs. Alima keeps me matte for 3-4 hrs ++ and I have really oily skin with medium sized pores, acne prone with acne scarring. Coverage wise I would pick Alima, because i dont have to use as much product to get the same coverage. those of you who are fans of EDM's old formula, Lily Lolo is the closest match in terms of texture that I have tried.


on 2/11/2011 12:50:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have tried & failed with foundation for SO long. My skin always ends up looking worse after applying it. I thought I had found my solution with MUFE Face & Body but this Lily Lolo mineral foundation is truly my salvation. I hate a really made up look but I need coverage for my rosy complection & I have open pores that suck up product & look hideous with everything i've tried previously (even with a primer I still get ugly make up plugs). My nose seems to repel foundation & everything ends up sliding off. I have combination skin which is also dehydrated, my t-zone gets really oily looking. Lily Lolo coped with all of this & looked fantastic. I didn't look "sweaty" like I have done with mineral make up that has a high sheen/light reflection to it. Several of the mums at school pick up commented on how good i looked the first time I wore it. I'm really not one to write a review but felt compelled to spread the news !! ...... BUY THIS it is worth it's weight in gold.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/23/2011 8:28:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

So happy with this powder. I'm NC20 so have it in Blondie which has yellowy undertones. It's a great powder and I apply it with ELF's much-loved Powder Brush. For those who think it's too thin, just keep applying more until you get the coverage you want. LL's service is excellent too and the fact you can try out different colours for about £1 each means no more wasting money on the wrong shade. A great product from a lovely company!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/12/2011 5:04:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I really like this product.

I've used Lily Lolo mineral foundation "blondie" for years now, and it's still my fave.

I actually use it like a concealer, but it works fine all over too. It covers dark circles and blackheads.

It doesn't last very long on my skin though. But I think it can be fixed with a primer.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top